[X]
Feedburner count

Hooked on Phonics


1 Reviews & Complaints

Hooked on Phonics, aka, What was not in the box
Posted by Maya1 on 10/08/2009
ROYAL PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- Complaint Description:
Purchased the Hooked on Phonics Learn to Read Kindergarten System. UPC # 713974010660 and 713974010653.

Packaging seemed to be in new condition, however, once opened, the package was missing:
* the yellow disk one
* the yellow Aa a apple flash cards.
In addition, the Hooked on Phonics *Learn to Read* game CD that is inside the User's Guide pamphlet does not work on my Mac as the packaging states it should.

I emailed the customer service unit, cs@hop.com, on September 21, 2009 with no response.

I then contacted the customer service department by telephone September 30, 2009 and again October 7, 2009.

Emailed the customer service unit again on October 7, 2009 with no response.

Employee, *******, who states he is a supervisor, 1-888-605-5055 ext ***, insists that I speak only with him. He is not resolving the issue, nor has any other 'customer service agent' sent an email, left a voice mail, or attempted to contact me in any way.

Desired Resolution:
I want the items that should have been in the box to begin with. * the yellow disk one
* the yellow Aa a apple flash cards.
* Hooked on Phonics *Learn to Read* CD (game CD that is inside the User's Guide pamphlet) that will work on the latest Mac operating system. These items should have been in the box, in working order.
     
Read 17 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-08:
Where did you buy it? From the manufacturer or a retail outlet?
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-10-08:
i didn't realize it was still on the market
good luck


tho to be honest, one of the best ways to teach kids how to read... is to simply read to them and follow along with your finger.

still good luck
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-08:
Pepper I have actually heard great things about HOP. It is a fabulous reading program that helps kids with learning disabilities read. Alot of elementary schools use it with their normal curriculum.
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-10-08:
o cool. ididnt know it worked. glad to see it does tho

good luck to the op
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-08:
Yes, Pepper, reading to children is the best way to teach them. They learn words and fluency from being read to by an adult. Unfortunately, too many parents are too busy to do it.
Posted by karleebarlee on 2009-10-08:
i never had anything like hooked on phonics and i entered kindergarten able to read. people need to slow down and spend more time with their children these days.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-08:
Karlee, in this economy, people simply need two incomes. It would be lovely if this were the 50s when moms could stay home and dad brought home the bacon and eggs. It ain't like that anymore. These days, people gotta eat and the kids are the ones who suffer.

Although, you would think the foodstamp moms who don't work would have smarter kids than those of us who do wouldn't you?
Posted by Eloise on 2009-10-08:
The OP has a valid complaint. They should give her the missing items or refund her money.

Most teachers HATE hooked on phonics. You don't need fancy systems to help your child learn to read. Read, Write, and Play with your kids and you'll be suprised with the results. They only need them to know their A,B,C's when they enter Kindergarten. For now give them every chance to explore their environment and their place in it.
Posted by Eloise on 2009-10-08:
Lady, Not true. I've been a Stay-At-Home-Mom since my oldest was born twelve and a half years ago. You'd be suprised how many SAHM there are.
Posted by JR in Orlando on 2009-10-08:
My understanding is that all the Hooked the Phonics discs are being given by the banks to new customers so that they can learn to read the information they get when they open a new account, so as not to get overdraft fees. Maybe that's where those missing discs are.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-08:
Hah!
Lol, JR.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-08:
Eloise, I know there are a lot of SAHM out there. I only meant there are not as many as there once was. They are a dying breed.

I as fortunate to be able to stay at home with mine when they were small. But once they entered school, we needed more money so I had to work. I applaud any mom who can stay home.
Posted by Eloise on 2009-10-08:
JR, too funny!
Posted by Maya1 on 2009-10-09:
Thank you all so very much for your support on this site. This morning I was notified by Hooked on Phonics that they will send out:
* the yellow disk one
* the yellow Aa a apple flash cards
Per the email the company does not have the final CD that will work on my computer (as was advertised on the side of the box).
All in all, my complaint is mostly resolved. I do appreciate your support!
My son has over 1500 children's books in his room that we love to browse and read together. This system will help me teach him the exception rules of reading and spelling that are unique to the English language. I look forward to having the full product that we paid for and the play/educational time that he and I will share learning this new system. Thank you all again!
Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-10-09:
Good luck to you in resolving your issue. Glad your son has so many books to choose from.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-09:
Mava, i am glad your son is learning the value of reading. My father is a firm believer in knowledge is power and instilled a love in me for the written word. I passed that love onto my girls. Our library totals nearly 3000 books and counting lol!
Posted by Nchim on 2012-03-26:
I'm sorry you had to go through that experience with hooked on phonics. I was fortunate to have a good experience, and I plan to buy more products. My son started using it when he was only 1. I have some videos of him here: http://www.oursmartkid.com/blog.php?entry_id=1331233634 and title=hooked-on-phonics-works-for-zay using the Preschool videos. Any recommendations on which of the Kindergarten products were most helpful for your child?
Close commentsAdd reply


Top of Page | Next Page >