Hotwire - Page 4

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 72 ratings and
142 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lack of Customer Service
Posted by on
This is the email that I sent Hotwire after speaking with 2 customer service reps and a manager not asking for a refund, but simply asking them a change in location:

Until this evening, I have had no complaints about Hotwire. I have been happy with the services that I have paid for through Hotwire and have received what I have requested and paid for until today. After making a hotel reservation for near the Detroit Airport by selecting DTW, but being placed in downtown Detroit, I called customer service, not to receive a refund, but to be relocated to a hotel near the airport as I had selected because I do not have the transportation to get downtown. I had 2 customer service reps suggest that I take a taxi. When I told them that not only was the issue one of transportation to the downtown hotel, but also financially I could not afford to pay a cab to the hotel 18 miles from the airport which is why I selected DTW, their response was that my circumstances did not merit your company to honor my request for a change in hotel. I believe that not honoring what I requested is having no merit. I again was not asking for a refund, but to simply honor what I had requested.

I know you have rules, regulations, and policies to abide by and I respect that, but I also know that sometimes there can be extenuating circumstances that allows for those policies to be over ruled as in with most businesses. This was a situation that your management could have made a judgment call that allowed a family impacted by the economy an opportunity to have one less stressor, not by refunding any money, but by simply providing what I paid for which is a hotel closer to the Detroit Airport so that I would not have to spend extra money taking a taxi 18 miles further which will cost me about what I will pay for the hotel you routed me.

Thank you for the forum to voice my comments not that I am looking for anything to come of it, but that when your representatives and management speak of merit, they should talk from a place from which they show it. I will post this comment on every website that I found that has launched other complaints about your service and email, face book, and twitter everyone I know and ask them to pass along my story. I hate that I had this experience, but I will not make the mistake of using your services again.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Ben There on 08/29/2009:
Was the hotel in the map area shown?
ATJ on 08/30/2009:
I don't believe it was, but I cannot say for sure. The map showed the DTW area but did not pinpoint the hotel in that area.
Close commentsAdd reply
Booking Unknown Hotel Through Hotwire Is A Crapshoot. Hotel May Not Be As Hotwire Represents
Posted by on
OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA -- Hotwire designated hotel class ratings are unreliable. Hotwire hotel specialist ignored information that "three star" hotel placed guest in one star accommodation.

The Hotwire customer is one bad roll of the dice away from a bad value deal, particularly when the hotel booking is for multiple nights. Since Hotwire quotes only the price, general location and a designated star rating of an unnamed hotel, the customer is especially reliant on Hotwire 1) that the hotel class rating is accurate, and 2) that the paid-in-advance Hotwire guest will not be placed in a sub par accommodation by the hotel.

My wife and I did not expect to get the nicest room when we booked a three star hotel through Hotwire, but we did expect to get a room and treatment commensurate with the star rating that Hotwire said we'd get. This did not happen when the hotel we booked turned out to be the Executive Inn and Suites in Oakland from June 10-13. While our expectations were met at three other Hotwire booked hotel stays, this was the only hotel that relegated us to second class hotel "citizen" status on account of our Hotwire booking. Although I emailed the hotel in advance of our stay requesting a room away from the traffic noise or one in the newer building if available (I had read the online reviews), the manager declined unless we paid extra; and so I know that better rooms were unoccupied. He then gave me a card for a special web promo offering a better deal (treatment?) my next stay if I booked directly instead of through Hotwire. We were not advised of the superior amenities and fitness room in the new section of the hotel either at check-in or by info provided in the room.

The accommodation and amenities we received did not measure up to the three star rating that Hotwire claims is based on "family style rooms" and "on-site dining". None of the hotel website photos depict the older hotel building room in which we were placed. Our dark and dingy room, too small for even a closet, overlooked (in order) Embarcadero Drive, I-880 and a busy rail line. The steady drumbeat of vehicle and train traffic noise made it nearly impossible to sleep past 6:30am. Our so called family room was so bad that it would have most likely gone unoccupied in the absence of a Hotwire paid-in-advance guest. The continental breakfast selections were not comparable to the hot food and fresh fruit choices that are now common in many budget hotels like Comfort Inns. While the coffee and juice selections were good, the lone hot food dish was the self serve waffles, which were not as good as those at a Comfort Inn in San Diego where we stayed. The pastries tasted no better than 1-2 day old packaged pastries from Safeway. The silverware was plastic and the coffee cups styrofoam. There was no fresh cut-up fruit.

On our return home, the Hotwire hotel specialist refused to even look at my fax indicating that this so called three star hotel was overrated. He said "We just gave this hotel its annual rating of three stars on June 12th." When I pointed out that the 12th was the last night I stayed there, and I didn't even email my information until the 24th, he made no offer to reconsider. While apparently reading from a script, he just kept repeating "Hotwire is confident that the hotel star rating for this hotel accurately reflects the quality of accommodation and amenities provided."

Hotwire does not back up its own star rating description guide claim that it determines its star ratings by "customer feedback" and that it "adjusts its ratings accordingly." Moreover Hotwire's claim that it "researches and acts on customer rating concerns" is contrary to my experience. Perhaps this is because the Hotwire star ratings guide promises to compensate hotel guests who have stayed at a Hotwire booked hotel within 60 days of a downgrade.

I was not even looking for compensation when I contacted the Hotwire hotel specialist, just a reason to believe that if I ever booked a hotel through Hotwire again that I could rely upon the star rating promised to reasonably reflect the quality of accommodation received. This did not happen. So book through Hotwire at your own risk.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
dan gordon on 07/05/2008:
suggest you consult bidding sites such as betterbidding.com or biddingfortravel.com next time. They have active member forums who exchange info on frequesntly offered hotels so your not bidding as 'blind.'
Jen. on 07/21/2012:
Agreed! Booked a 2-3 star hotel and it turned out to be a dump barely 1/2 a star.
Close commentsAdd reply
Hotwire Overcharging - Beware - Stay Away
Posted by on
Real life example of their low price claims:

Hi, I have stayed at a hotel reserved via Hotwire, reservation #:
xxxxxxxx. For this reservation I was charged 264.74. When I was
checking out from the hotel, I was given a receipt for 192.62. There's
about 70 difference. I kindly would like to request from you: 1.
Explanation in writing of this difference 2. Reimbursement of the
difference. I have faxed to you both receipts along with a letter using
fax # 262.364.2419 on April 15th I also spoke to a customer support
person on April 15th and she told me that to avoid confusion Hotwire
asks hotels not to reveal the actual rate to the customers and that she
apologizes for this incident but told me that Hotwire wouldn't be able
to reimburse me the difference. This made me to believe that 70 was in
fact the amount which Hotwire charged me for the Internet booking
service. That seemed pretty high charge and is spite to your pledge
found on :

http://www.hotwire.com/customer-care/index.jsp: Hotels
rooms, beds, details, city areas, amenities, special service requests,
hotel properties, pricing, discounts, check-in, parking, Double the
Difference Guarantee, international... and : Hotel: Savings off the
lowest retail hotel rate we've found in the last 24-48 hours for the
same neighborhood, star rating, and stay dates I'm not asking for
"Double the difference", only for the difference. Please let me know
ASAP what would be your decision in regards to this matter. Thank you,


Hotwire response:

Dear Sergey,

Thank you for contacting us regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn
Frisco Summit County, Hotwire Itinerary Number xxxxxxxxx.

I understand the receipt you received from the Holiday Inn Frisco
Summit
County shows a different rate than what you paid on Hotwire. I regret
the disappointment this caused you.

Just as you have been advised during your call to us, I can assure you
were not overcharged. The hotel showed you the Hotwire rate, before all
taxes and booking fees were added. These rates are specially negotiated
for Hotwire, and are generally far lower than the available rates
presented to hotel customers booking directly.

Our rates are non-commissionable, meaning hotels do not pay us for
bookings; instead we apply our booking fee and state taxes to the rates
they offer us. Some of our partners with higher retail rates can offer
us extremely low rates since we book rooms in bulk. Even with our
booking fees applied, we still offer the lowest available rates, and
back this up with our Low Price Guarantee.

Hotwire is unable to reimburse you for the difference in these rates.
The amount on the hotel receipt was not a publicly available rate for
you to book, and therefore does not apply for our double the difference
back offer.

We ask our hotel partners do not disclose the Hotwire rate on their
receipts, as it leads to confusion. We will address this with the
Holiday Inn Frisco Summit County to prevent this situation from
occurring in the future.

If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to reply to this
email or contact us directly at 1-866-HOTWIRE (468-9473). Thank you for
choosing Hotwire.

Sincerely,

Dave M
Hotwire Customer Care
www.Hotwire.com



Response to their response:

The hotel receipt shows the total and final cost of
staying there.
So your claim that taxes are not included into that
bill is baseless and false.

It appears that the ~$70 difference between yours and
the hotel's bill, all constitutes your booking cost.
It seems to be a bit excessive comparing to the
industry median.

Second, your advertised "Double the Difference" rule
states, that if I would find a comparable hotel
in the same area and the same dates, for lower price,
you'd double the difference.

In fact, I found the same hotel for the same dates for
lower price.
I appears to me that you have decided not to honor
your own "Double the difference" pledge.

If you would like to add anything to your previous
statements, please do so.

Otherwise, thank you for explaining your business
practices to me.


     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Hugh_Jorgen on 04/16/2008:
Were you under the impression that Hotwire was some sort of non-profit organization? You got the price you did because of Hotwire's buying power - you are trying to take advantage of a paperwork error by the hotel.

If you had gone to the hotel's web site before your stay and you had received a lower quote, then you might be able to argue with them about their guarantee - but you didn't do that. You were apparently pleased with the Hotwire price when you got it.
FoggyOne on 04/16/2008:
Always check rates for anything (plane travel, car rental, hotels) at the company sites before using a 3rd party agency, otherwise, you have no benchmark on which to make a decision other than "they said they were the best".
MSCANTBEWRONG on 04/16/2008:
Always book directly with hotels and avoid these "lowest price" 3rd parties. It will save a lot of headaches in the long run.
carlm on 06/27/2008:
Amazing how the firt post to a complaint is always a shill for Hotwire. These guys are sleaze! Stay away. They take responsibility for nothing. Disregard the first post to any complaint.
Ponie on 06/27/2008:
How about the second and third posts? Are they also shills? Or are they possibly people who know how third party hotel reservations actually work?
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad Experience
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DALLAS -- I will never use Hotwire again, I've used them on two different occasions to book a hotel and each time they held my money, but never gave me a confirmation on a room. I was told I had to contact The Risk Management Department at 415-343-8808. It's a answering machine, so you never talk to a live person. I ask Hotwire why would I be picked out of all the real scammers out here. I used Hotwire in 2010 for two separate hotel stays and I wasn't a risk then, so how I become a risk now. I feel if you don't give a conformation on a room don't hold citizens money on their credit card.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Error That Booked Multiple Hotels on My Card
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SEATLE, WASHINGTON -- We were trying to book a hotel and after I typed in all the info a pop up window stated that the transaction could not be completed due to a booking error, and that the payment was not processed. So we attempted one more time, and then decide to look at a different area on Hotwire incase it was an issue with that hotel. We received the same error. I figured there may be and issue with my card so I checked my bank statement online and realized that I was being charged for all of those bookings. This is not what frustrated me. I understand that technology is not perfect and there are glitches.

This is the part that frustrated me. After I discovered the error I called Hotwire's customer service. The associate told me that they did not charge my card and that it was my bank holding the money. Either way I have no money now and no hotel and I definitely don't see my bank at fault. The associate then proceeded to tell me that my card was kicked out of the system because the transaction didn't go through 3 times. He said even if I still wanted to book a hotel on Hotwire, that I was out of luck. He wasn't willing to help out in anyway. He said I needed to deal with my bank to resolve the issue.

I called my bank and they confirmed what I was already thinking. Hotwire was holding the funds.

Thanks for holding our money Hotwire and leaving us with out a hotel!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Ticia on 10/25/2014:
I think you were a victim of a phishing scam. They can show up as pop-ups saying that something didn't go through (and they haven't because the scammers stopped it with the popup) to make you put in your account number again. I was once a victim of it. Luckily for me, the person I called informed me that they would never use a pop-up and stayed on the phone with me and when it happened again he asked me for what it said and then informed me to click off and keep going on the real site.
Peter on 10/27/2014:
I missed the fact that you entered data in a pop-up window...a big no-no. Call your credit card company immediately to cancel those charges.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Fraud
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I received an email confirming a car reservation in Las Vegas and that $142 had been charged to my credit card. I called Hotwire immediately and told them that this was a bogus reservation, that I had not ever used Hotwire and certainly had not booked this car. They had my email and name correct but phone number and credit card bogus. I asked them to investigate and ask Hertz in LAS to check for who picked up the car and to let me know something so I could contact the authorities.

Needless to say they emailed back and said they would let me know something in 7 to 10 business days. Big Whoopie. Well the reservation date has come and gone and no further contact from Hotwire.

Have never used them and certainly will not now.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Peter on 10/08/2014:
Tell your credit card company immediately. Stop any payments they make. Your card number has been stolen.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Do Not, I Repeat Do Not Plan A Vacation Or Any Holiday Or Get Away, Using This Company.
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
MONTEREY, CALIFORNIA -- Hotwire is NOT THAT COMPANY, I assure you.

You may have used them in the past and everything worked out fine. . . . . but when things go sideways. . .. as they always can do with Travel and Vacation Planning. . . . .get ready for The Nightmare of your Lifetime

No Customer Service.

On Hold for 45-60 minutes.

Zero Compensation for your inconvenience

Zero Accountability

Nobody's a Supervisor

They won't do [snip], even though they totally [snip] you. . .. and now you're sitting in some airport terminal watching bags go around and around on the baggage claim thing while your 2 weeks of vacation for the WHOLE YEAR are ticking away.

Strap it on baby. . . .it's going to be a long ride with Hot Wire. . .better yet.. . . Just never give them you business in the 1st Place. . . .There's plenty of quality companies out there. . .these guys will ruin your whole day, week and vacation.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Never Again
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I booked a round trip ticket. Plans changed. I had purchased the insurance they sell on the website. It is total garbage and a scam. Couldn't use it. Didn't take my outbound flight, and didn't realize they cancel the entire flight if you don't take the outbound flight. I guess that's my fault for not reading the fine print. But Hotwire only sent me one tiny notification email about the canceled flight, less than two days before my flight. It got buried in my inbox while on vacation. Showed up to the airport only to find that I didn't have a seat on the plane. Hotwire should have called or texted me when my flight was cancelled, or at least flagged the email they sent. I called customer service but they were completely useless.

Also, about 3 weeks prior to this mess, they changed my flight time. The new time didn't work for me, so I called Hotwire to have them re-book the outbound flight for a different time. They told me it couldn't be done. So then I called Delta and it took about 60 seconds to change the flight at no charge.

Hotwire is alright if you don't have any issues with your ticket, but if there is even the smallest issue or if you need to talk to customer service for any reason, Hotwire is completely worthless. That's the gamble you take w/ Hotwire, and you will eventually get burned if you even semi-frequently.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Peter on 09/04/2014:
You learned 2 hard lessons. 1) if you cancel any leg of your itinerary all legs are canceled 2) buy directly from the airlines, if there are problems you only have to work with one person (the airline) rather than going through a 3rd party vendor.

Also, the insurance is usually only useful if you have a medical emergency not that you just changed your mind.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Facts About Hotwire
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
OMAHA, NEBRASKA -- Those that complain about Hotwire on their travel refunds needs to STOP there Bitching!! Any Adult with half a brain knows when booking any flight or motel is a "HUGE" RISK. If YOU are NOT WILLING to risk maybe losing your money, by changing your plans than do NOT pay ahead of time. Every travel agency are ALL alike. The person Bitching about there delay cause husband's medical issues has VERY RIGHT to get FULL PROOF. Some people are NOT SMART enough to weigh out ALL the problems that might happen when booking their flights a head of time. Instead they want to bitch at Hotwire instead of admitting what dumb shits they really are...Maybe Hotwire needs to send this person a Bottle to calm her down...These ridicules messages needs to be deleted. You ALL at Hotwire are running a business and a good business at that...Amen and Amen!!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Melissa shepard on 06/06/2014:
You must work for Hotwire !!!!
We were on a trip to FLA this March,and were charged by Hotwire and Alamo !!!
We had to return early,for very important reasons( we stayed 2 days and were charged the full 14 days,with both companies.
Who do you think you are to tell people to " stop bitching", you obviously never got screwed by them.
Funny this never happened on Orbitz.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Fraud
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- We just checked into a hotel in Los Angeles that we paid for through Hotwire. Hotwire billed it as a four star. What a total joke. We were told we were getting a four star, non-smoking room with free WiFi. Instead, we got a room the size of a shoebox that wreaks of smoke, WiFi which will only allow you to check your email but worst of all a room that is literally on the freeway. Even with the patio door closed and locked, the noise is unbearable and the hotel has no other rooms.

I called Hotwire and they told me that the only thing that they could do was offer us earplugs!!! Really? A four star hotel offers us ear plugs so that we can sleep through the freeway noise? To bill this hotel and this experience as a four-star one is nothing more than fraud!!! I will make sure to report Hotwire to every organization starting with the Better Business Bureau so that no one else has to deal with this experience!!! Never will I ever again give Hotwire one penny of my business. They should be ashamed of themselves.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
jonthethird on 04/23/2014:
People who book through Hotwire, Expedia, etc are NOT the guests of the hotel, but of the booking company. This means you get the lowest room available, the better rooms are taken by the hotels own customers.
Booking through the third parties may save you money, but do not expect the same quality room as if you direct booked.
BTW, if you call the hotel direct, you can often negotiate the same price as you get from the third party, as the hotel only gets 80% of the third party fees, and would like the full amount
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >