Howard's Appliances

1 reviews & complaints.

Avoid Howard's Appliances in Upland, CA at all cost!
Posted by on
1458 W 7TH STREET, CALIFORNIA -- I will never do business with these people again! We made a simple purchase of a refrigerator and the delivery department was supposed to schedule for a time the next day. At 8:30pm, I am calling them to get the appointment. I am told that the appointment is scheduled for the evening....a real problem for me since I work the night shift. I am told that morning appointment would be available in two days...again, I work the night shift and sleep in the day. Not workable. The delivery manager stated that changes could and would not be made. He turfed the call to the store location. Selena, some employee, called back and gave me the same PR story. I have never called a customer service representative that was so uninterested in resolving an issue. She simply stated that this was the appointment time - take it or leave it. I, with my hard-earned money, chose to leave it.
     
Read 65 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
If you work at night and sleep during the day, when are you available for delivery?
jktshff1 on 2011-06-21:
People working during the day have to take off for deliveries, what's the difference between that and having to wake up for a little while?
SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-21:
Venice, I was thinking the same thing. I wonder if the OP commonly has this problem when they have something set up for delivery.
Churro on 2011-06-21:
The other day I was setting up appointments to get roofing estimates. I was upfront that I would only accept appointments after 4PM. Several of the roofing reps whined that they could only come out during the day. My reply, 'not my problem'. If you want a crack at my business you'll be out after 4 PM. End of story. Well of course the whiners came out after 4PM.

I do not take crap from people wanting my money. Business is done on *MY* terms or not all. I'm the customer. I am *ALWAYS* right. If it were me I'd tell Howard's Appliances to give me my money back and shove it where the sun don't shine.

Awesome review!
jktshff1 on 2011-06-21:
Just when did the op want the stuff delivered??...THAT is the question.
Scheduling an appointment for delivery and a sales call are two different situations. I agree that a sales call should be made on your terms, heck, that's what salesmen do, but deliveries are a different thing.
Anonymous on 2011-06-21:
Churro +1000. Your comments rock!!!
Churro on 2011-06-21:
Deliveries are part of the deal. You'd think a local/regional appliance shop would bend over backwards to keep business from going to a big box joint like Lowes who by the way I see delivering appliances on the weekend and all sorts of hours during the week.

When it comes to appliances there's too many options available to the customer to put up with 'Target' like treatment.
SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-21:
Churro, there is a reasonable expectation, though, when wanting delivery. If I was this business and someone told me that I had to deliver to them sometime between midnight and 6 AM, I'd tell them to find a business who will deliver between those times. The OP stated they couldn't do during the day, and they couldn't do during the night. What time does that leave exactly?
trmn8r on 2011-06-21:
Thankfully, it isn't possible to vote someone's comment "Helpful" 1000 times. That wouldn't be fair since you are only one person, whether you realize it or not.

The OP doesn't state an acceptable time that they wanted to to schedule delivery. "Evening" means 6-9 pm to me, "morning" 8-12 noon. To me, more flexibility is needed to accommodate delivery.
SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-21:
Trm, exactly. I've had several deliveries over the past few months since I just got a new home. Some companies had weekend deliveries (for a small extra charge), some companies could only do day delivery. Each time though, we requested that they call around 30 minutes prior to them getting to the house so that I could leave work and get to the house. It was a simple request, and each company fulfilled that request.
Churro on 2011-06-21:
And the OP's inflexibility resulted in this,

"She simply stated that this was the appointment time - take it or leave it. I, with my hard-earned money, chose to leave it. "

So in the end the only loser here is Howard's Appliances. They lost a sale probably to a big box retailer just crazy enough to cater to a customer's needs.
Anonymous on 2011-06-21:
Great review! Very helpful. I think I will be submitting a review myself shortly. I look forward to reading the comments.
Slimjim on 2011-06-21:
Appliances have very little mark-up and an independent with only a limited delivery crew and reach, such as this Howards seems to be, would have to be strategic with delivery schedules in order to not lose money. In other words, if they are in one part of town in the morning, there is neither time nor profit margin available to return back to a location area already covered and long since left by later day. A low end refrig, they may have made less than $100 bucks on total. Even higher end units may have netted only $200 profit. If they run back against a designed efficient delivery route, not only do they eat most of the profit up in delivery costs, but could burn half a day they otherwise could have squeeze a few deliveries for other paying customers.
Yes sometimes stores can deliver on demand next day, but not usually. Hope this helps explain why they passed on the sale.
Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
As jkt said, sales and deliveries are two different situations. Of course, a business is going to go out of their way to accommodate customers who are looking for estimates. But good luck to anyone who wants everything done on "MY" terms because they think they are "ALWAYS" right. Those people will miss out on good opportunities and end up settling for the bottom of the barrel.

Some people just don't understand that if they want something delivered, they are going to be inconvenienced in one way or another. It's just a fact. Deliveries are an inconvenience. Years ago, delivery times were limited. Today most companies have expanded delivery times to better accommodate their customers. I don't know of any business that will deliver around the clock, for reasons pointed out by Slim. If requested, however, they will call 30 minutes ahead of time, as Steve suggested.
Churro on 2011-06-21:
Still it all boils down to this

"She simply stated that this was the appointment time - take it or leave it. I, with my hard-earned money, chose to leave it. "

Who lost here? Not the OP. They'll find somebody who will accommodate their needs. When Howard's goes out of business they can sit back in smug indignation at all the customers they let slip away.

It's my money and if you want to earn you'll accommodate me or I'll find somebody who will. It's just that simple.
Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
If you read Slim's post, you will see that it's not necessarily the company that lost. It could in fact be the customer, who may end up paying more for something that still can't be delivered exactly when he wants.

Sometimes customers are so high maintenance that they're not worth keeping.
Churro on 2011-06-21:
Nope, It was howard's who lost. Customers can survive just fine without Howard's but the reverse isn't true.
Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
The reverse is true in many cases. Companies simply can't afford to continuously lose money by bowing down to customers' demands. It's a fact.
Churro on 2011-06-21:
Still the OP makes a great point. If a business refuses to meet your needs get your money back and find somebody who will. Worse case scenario you go back to Howards who will gladly offer you the same deal you refused earlier.

The customer has all the power if they're savvy enough to exercise that power like the OP did. Why this has become such a controversial topic is beyond me.
Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
Actually, it is a very controversial topic. It goes back to consumers' sense of entitlement and why they sometimes cut off their noses to spite their faces. I personally don't like seeing local businesses close their doors, which leaves the area with less competition and options. I like to think I'm in it together with my local stores, so I don't nickel and dime them or make unreasonable demands. I'm just grateful they survived the big-box invasion, and I do my best to keep them in business. They show their appreciation by offering highly competitive prices and excellent customer service. It's a two-way street.
Churro on 2011-06-21:
I applaud anybody who chooses to live their lives by their own individual consumer choices and their own individual consumer expectations. However I'll never understand why people feel the need to press their own individual consumer dogma on to other customers and call them unreasonable or infer its a negative 'sense of entitlement' if another consumer chooses not to share that same philosophy.

This OP flexed their customer muscles by taking their business elsewhere when confronted with a 'take or leave it' attitude. How that's worthy of attack is beyond me.
Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
Do you really not see that you do exactly what you accuse others of doing? It's funny, in an ironic kind of way.
Anonymous on 2011-06-21:
Good points Churro. I honestly think there should be some kind of warning label when you register and post a review about what to expect in the comment sector. At least the newcomers won't be taken as much by surprise.
Churro on 2011-06-21:
I seldom to never go after OP's. If I can offer up *FACTUAL* statements that sheds light I will or correct *FACTUAL* errors that might cause others reading the review to stumble then I will. On the occasions that I can actually help an OP I will and I have a lot of times behind the scenes. And if I can high-five an OP for sharing my same opinions then I most defiantly will do that Shout-out. I however try hard not to fault OP's for having differing opinions or handling situations differently than I would. I personally think its rude and at time flat out bullying.

In fact its the standing up to bullies aspect that probably keeps me coming back to this joint. Boy now there's a personality disorder I'll tell ya what.
Churro on 2011-06-21:
AshleyFurnitureRules, LOL.. yeah. A surgeons general warning.
Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
Ya just did it again!.. haha
Anonymous on 2011-06-21:
In fairness Churro, I could see some of this "devils advocate/tough love" philosophy effective in an AA or twelve-step like meeting. But not in the consumer world. Now as D.Commando once said if the OP's posted back months later to thank such and such for their tutorial on keeping an accurate check register... well I don't think that's happened or ever will.
Churro on 2011-06-21:
Funny you should mention check book registers. There for a while this site was flooded with complaints about unscrupulous banking practices and unfair fees. The comments almost always turned to attacking the OP, demeaning the OP and defending the bank's practices. In the end though it was all those people screaming foul in all forums that brought about change that seriously curtailed those onerous banking practices. And by the way greatly reduced the number of banking complaints. Those people complaining were absolutely right and justified in their complaints. Funny, huh?
Anonymous on 2011-06-21:
If I can find the link I'll post this. Lidman had posted some helpful material on some the banks underhanded tactics to run up NSF fees. I remember one titled "The $38 hambuurger".

Now if a "respected member" wrote a complaint about NSF fees, most likely the comments will be favorable to the poster.
olie on 2011-06-21:
Wait! Wait! Wait!! OP said that "WE" made the purchase. Are "WE" OP and minor children? OP and spouse/partner? OP and parents??

Might "WE" be able to accept delivery of the fridge?
Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
If you can't win, distract.

Could this get any more off topic?
Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
Good point, olie!
Anonymous on 2011-06-21:
Well if the OP does write back, it's highly possible that he/she meant to use the singular pronoun (I), instead of the plural (we).
Churro on 2011-06-21:
Perhaps 'We' both work the same shift. Who knows and again how's that relevant.

This is very simple. Howard's was unable to meet the OP's needs so the OP took his business else where. The OP needs no other rationale. None whatsoever.
Venice09 on 2011-06-21:
It's relevant because if the OP lives with another adult or adults, there's a chance someone in the house would be available to accept delivery at a mutually convenient time. I hope the OP doesn't regret taking his business elsewhere instead of trying to make arrangements with Howard's. I guess we'll never know.
Churro on 2011-06-22:
It's absolutely irrelevant because the OP has no obligation to conform to demands of an appliance dealer or justify their consumer wants and needs. It's simply enough to say I need you to deliver between this time and that time. If you can't then I will find somebody who will. It's just that simple.
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
It's absolutely relevant for reasons previously stated.
Churro on 2011-06-22:
No valid reasons were stated previously other than a false strawman built on the single occurrence of a pronoun.

The OP used the word 'I' seven times and the word 'We' once but in typical my3cents fashion the entire focus zoomed in on the exception and not the rule.

Still the 'Why' doesn't matter. Simply put the OP needed Howard's to deliver at a certain time. Howard's refused so the OP took their business elsewhere. How pronoun usage fits into that is beyond me.
Nohandle on 2011-06-22:
Churro, do you on a regular basis argue with a Wooden Indian in front of a cigar store? Sorry, I couldn't help myself. Carry on.
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
Actually, the pronoun usage is quite significant. "We" indicates that more than one person purchased the appliance, and "I" indicates that only the OP works nights and sleeps days, leaving the possibility that the other part of "we" is available to accept delivery.
Churro on 2011-06-22:
We'll simply have to agree to disagree on this one.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
That wooden Indian's name wouldn't happen to be Kaw-Lijah would it?
Churro on 2011-06-22:
"Churro, do you on a regular basis argue with a Wooden Indian in front of a cigar store? Sorry, I couldn't help myself. Carry on. "

It takes two to argue but nice that you single me out. Typical mycents. Stick up for an OP's right to consumer choice on a freaking site that bills itself the 'Consumer Revolution' and get nailed by one of the sites moderators.

Carry on
Nohandle on 2011-06-22:
I only pick on members I enjoy. It has nothing to do with being a Moderator. I believe you can dish it back just as quickly.
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
Churro, have you ever considered that your determination to side with an OP clouds your judgment?
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Like clouds in coffee.
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
Vanity can also cloud one's judgment.
Churro on 2011-06-22:
The OP wanted delivery at a certain time. The store refused. The OP took their business elsewhere and then posted a review relaying a consumer experience on a consumer gripe. I think most people walking the street would find nothing wrong with this and certainly wouldn't dwell on the use of a pronoun or tell the OP they were wrong for seeking terms suitable to their individual needs. That's the free market where consumer choice rules and will always rule.
Nohandle on 2011-06-22:
Venice, there's a fire hydrant out there somewhere. Perhaps you could argue there. Carry on.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Lol Nohandle! I have a sudden urge to p**...
Churro on 2011-06-22:
Sorry Nohandle. I had no call to snap at you.

You can however take comfort in the fact you witnessed the first time this year I've been wrong on my3cents. Now that's rare event I'll tell ya what. But serioulsy my bad.
Nohandle on 2011-06-22:
Hard to be humble ain't it? LOL Come on folks let's have a good debate or for that matter argument on a subject. There's nothing like a lively discussion.
Slimjim on 2011-06-22:
Churro, Howard's can't exist without customers, but they can exist fine by not selling something to one customer, whose needs to complete the sale, were beyond the store's capability to perform and still make a profit. The store declined to sell the box under the poster's terms due to unprofitably, or maybe even, the lack of personal to run a rogue delivery at any cost. I don't see this as anything that should prevent someone from shopping at Howard's after reading this. Next day my-time delivery requests are not something that should be expected in this industry. Try buying something at Sears and telling them you want it next day at a certain time.
Churro on 2011-06-22:
Slim, I'm not sure the OP is demanding next day delivery. The OP mentions something about a delivery option in two days but who knows. It is however clear the OP desired delivery at a certain time during the day and from what I can tell Howard's did a poor job at even attempting to accommodate that need. If I had to guess I'd say this is more about Howard's employee's poor people skills than it is about any logistics issues. Most people don't respond well to 'take it or leave it' offers especially when you can get what you need down the road at Lowes and learn how to grout your tub to boot.

I'm not in the industry but I would assume one of the few battles the independent appliance guys have a shot of winning over Lowes and Home Depot is on the customer service front and garnering customer loyalty. Bounce back sales are the gift that keep on giving. In this case it looks like Howard waved the white flag without even putting up a fight.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Interesting idea Nohandle. Perhaps on the community side, someone could start a topic like ,Walmart vs Target, and people can express why they like more or less about the others. etc and so on. Also maybe have teams, lol, we could also have a scorekeeper. I always felt debates about any subject(s) would be far more interesting if numbers were involved.

Also, in other words used that wouldn't make Emily Post proud would be disqualified from the debate.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:

Some modifications on last sentence...

Also, anyone using words that wouldn't make Emily Post proud should be disqualified from the debate.
Slimjim on 2011-06-22:
It's hard to say Churro, based just on this letter, of certain tones and how things were handled specifically. Unless Howard's showed uncalled for rudeness unprovoked about the whole thing, I'm just saying this isn't really something that deserves a complaint on the net. Passing on an unprofitable sale alone does not make a business bad. It actually makes them pretty normal and adds to their credentials on how they manage to stay in business in a tough economy.
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
Slim, thanks for explaining the obvious in a way that everyone should be able to understand. The fact is that some customers are not worth accommodating or even keeping in some cases. Businesses are in it to make a profit, not to lose money on a regular basis. It's not fair to assume the employees have poor people skills just because they are concerned about losing money and/or their own livelihood. And as we all know, if you give certain customers an inch, well, need I say it?
jktshff1 on 2011-06-22:
Venice, very well put.
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
Jkt, my comments here were not made for the sake of argument. I truly believe everything I said. If more people in my area had supported the local stores, the big box chains wouldn't have prevailed. I've watched business after business close its doors, giving us fewer and fewer options. That's why I try my best to support the ones that survived. I don't badmouth or threaten them or make unreasonable requests. And, as I said, I am rewarded with competitive prices and excellent customer service. It's a win/win.
jktshff1 on 2011-06-22:
Venice,again, very well put. My local stores have gone above and beyond many times and I continue to support them.
madconsumer on 2011-06-22:
great review.

very helpful!
Churro on 2011-06-23:
Still all the blustering and high fives aside this boils down to a simple case of bad customer service and consumer choice.

The OP states, "I have never called a customer service representative that was so uninterested in resolving an issue"

If this representative put the least bit of effort in trying to help this customer or care in saving a sale for her employer this would be a happy customer sale instead of a complaint. She didn't so here we are with a totally legitimate customer service complaint. It's just that simple.
Venice09 on 2011-06-23:
Say goodnight, Stew.
Anonymous on 2011-06-23:
Goodnight Stu.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >