Humana - Page 3

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 36 ratings and
73 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Humana CompBenefits
Posted by on
Sometime in March of 2010, I found out that my son needed oral surgery for his teeth. I looked on my insurance company website www.mycbfed.com. I located a doctor that was close by to me. His name was Thomas A Knappe and he was located at 2300 E 120th Ave SWT. 118 Thornton, CO 80229. I specifically wanted to go close by. I went to this dental office and received an evaluation. To make a long story short, it turns out that Dr. Thomas A Knappe had been deceased. The new dentist no longer accepted Humana. The new doctor's office explained to me that on three different occasions, that they let Humana know this as well. Still to this very day, they have Thomas A Knappe listed as well. Humana told me to submit a letter to their appeals office, and so I did. Humana told me that it would take thirty days to process my appeal. One month later, I called up to find out my appeal, only to have them tell me they never received it. While I did not send it certified, I did dend it. I know that they received it because I work for the post office and mailed it myself. Humana simpply blew me off. To begin with, this is my second and last year with Humana. I purchased the insurance to help out with my sons braces. I figured that with this and two other dental insurances, I would not have to come out with much out of pocket. For my sons braces, Humana paid $0. My out of pocket expenses was over $5000. To top this out, the local dentis that my son was seeing, was having a hard time getting Humana to pay claims. Humana has ripped me off and I believe, failed to live up to my expectations. I did contact the BBB about Humana, but was told that there was nothing they could help me with.
     
Replies
Humana rip-off
Posted by on
OCALA, FLORIDA -- Insurance companies are a rip-off.

Last November I started researching prescription drug plans. After speaking with several companies, I chose Humana because it is a well-known company, the premium was reasonable and I was assured that my husband’s medication for diabetes would be covered.

I spoke with Mike, Terry, Ramiro and Jessica, just to name a few, regarding the fact that my husband’s prescription was Janumet. I was assured that while the Janumet is not a generic drug, there would be no problem getting it approved by the company’s Clinical Pharmacy Review Board. What a laugh!

I enrolled my husband the middle of December and received confirmation via a letter dated December 27, 2007. Later, we received a letter dated January 7, 2008 indicating that because we had not had a drug plan before, there would be a slight penalty each month (only for that year). That was something we could live with.

A letter dated January 10, 2008 was received providing details of his coverage.

Now comes the fun part. We started the process of getting Janumet approved. My husband’s doctor faxed the prescription to Humana. On January 9, 2008, I spoke with Brian to set up the information to have the prescription shipped every three months direct from their pharmacy and spoke with Tanieri at Humana regarding the forms to get Janumet approved. Humana faxed back a form to be completed, which the doctor’s assistant did on January 9, 2008. On January 12, I spoke with Deana at Humana to see if the form had been received (no, so the doctor’s office again faxed the form). On January 14, I spoke with Sandy at Humana to determine whether everything required had been provided. I was informed that the form had not been received. The doctor’s office again faxed the form.

On January 22, Robert at Humana said the form still had not been received. However, we did receive a one-month supply of the Janumet with the notation that no more would be shipped until the proper form had been received.

The following people and the dates I spoke with them give you an indication of the efforts I have made regarding getting the Janumet approved: Nicole (January 24) (the doctor’s office again faxed the form after being told it had not been received); Jeannie and Veronica (January 25); Alisha (January 28); Latosha, Donnie, Esther and Deanna (January 30); Francisco (February 4) who indicated the form had been received and was in the process of being reviewed; Danielle, Evy and Tina (February 6) (when I learned that no the form had still not been received despite being faxed by the doctor’s office five times).

I spoke with the doctor’s office on January 30 and was told they would again fax the form and then call to make sure it had been received so there could be no further delays.

On February 12, 2008, I called Humana and spoke with Amanda who transferred me to Sue. Sue confirmed that the form had finally been received but the authorization had not come through. I stressed the importance of getting this done since the medication was running out. I indicated that my husband had taken several drugs prior to Janumet and the Janumet was the one that worked. I told them that he really needs the drug. He already suffers from nerve damage in his feet due to uncontrolled diabetes.

Sue put me on hold for quite some time and then came back to tell me that the Janumet had been denied. She said Humana was not convinced that enough other drugs had been tried. I explained that I had been told that there would be no problem getting the Janumet approved and that that was the only reason I had signed up with Humana. She said this was not the first time she had heard that. While Sue was very sympathetic, there was nothing she could do.

Needless to say, I am going to cancel Humana. Since the enrollment period has expired, there is little hope of getting another plan in place this year, though I plan to try.

I think it is terrible that representatives of insurance companies can tell someone something, have them enroll in a plan, and then completely disregard the information previously supplied. A patient’s doctor should be the one to make the decision as to medication required. Diabetes is a terrible disease. When a medication is found that can control the disease, there should be no question of it being covered. Everyone knows the damage that can result when it is not controlled. Insurance companies are only in the business for the money. They try to push off old and outdated drugs on the unsuspecting public with little regard for the effects.

     
Replies
Denial of Claims
Posted on
I went to see a therapist for help with mental health issues. I called Humana/CorpHealth to see who I could go to. They gave me a referral to someone who was in network. After checking Humana's website a few weeks later, I found that the claims had been denied and Humana claimed that this therapist was "out of network".

Pretty funny, when I can find her on THEIR provider website of authorized providers.

I complained to Humana and to Corp Health, who takes care of their mental health referrals and again verified this provider was in network.

They have paid 2 of the 5 outstanding claims, the others are "Pending". Now, I get a letter stating they want to have a "panel review" to review "my concerns".

Apparently insurance companies can legally not pay their bills. There is no federal agency to complain to, you have to complain to your state, which I did. Humana will find any excuse under the sun to hang on to their billions and not pay the consumer- and I got my referral from them! Good thing it wasn't a heart attack. I'm sure if it was, I'd have another one when Humana denied the claim.

All Humana had to do was to verify what I told them was true. So, I guess they like to use stall tactics and not pay claims. Must be rough, when Humana raked in 3.2 billion last year! Maybe that's how they get their billions!

They could have done an internal review, verified that this provider was in network and paid the claims. That's it. That's what Humana agreed to do through Corp Health. And that's exactly what Humana did NOT do.

Humana still has not paid my claims after multiple calls, emails, letters and complaining to the state.

Must be nice, Michael Benedict Mccallister (Humana CEO) to have billions of dollars. Humana has consistently received over 100 complaints in my state for the past 3 years every year, and I'm sure it will go higher.

One can only hope Mr. Mccallister will have a serious illness and that his insurance company will deny him!

Then maybe you will know what your customers go through when your company denies claims that you said you would pay.

Too bad your company can get away with this. As a private citizen, I would be sued for not paying my bills.

Way to go Humana! And you say "your goal is to provide exceptional customer service"?????

You could start by paying your claims.

UPDATE- 9/27/07- Humana has started to process more of my claims after a month of customer service calls, emails, letters and a State Complaint. I was told this morning by someone at Humana Corporate that it was a claims adjudication error - whatever the hell that means. I guess a $3.7 billion company can't or won't make sure their computer system works properly. Maybe they do this deliberately so they can wait to pay on claims. Humana also said they cannot guarantee that this won't happen again and that "no billing system is 100% accurate"! Guess yours isn't you g-damn spawns of satan! Such a helpful company when it comes to NO-customer service. Hope you're as sick as I am of lame excuses these sob's come up with to not pay their bills. UBH told me the same thing 8 years ago. "Computer error"!

I even had a provider try to charge me for 2002 claims in 2003, claiming a "computer error". When I contacted my insurance, they said there was no outstanding balance on that account. I again had to complain to the State to get this provider off my back. Way to go! Let's just treat our customers like crap and rake in BILLIONS of dollars of revenue. Same crap, different day!

     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
They Do Not Honor a Medical Power of Attorney
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Today Saturday at 2: pm Pacific time , I tried to return a call we received from Rightsource phone number (855) 250-7660.
The representative who answered my call, his name is Kelli refused to honor the power of attorney that they on file have from my wife to me.
( Conversation record ref # 798994470918, ) he said, this medical power of attorney allows me only to verify address.
Why people make medical power of attorney to spouse?
This Humana is been nothing but headache. they are going to give me heart attack .
You out there Learn from my suffering.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Medications
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
My wife who is suffering from multiple scleroses has not been allowed to refill her Betaseon for more then 15 days. The reason...Humana is reviewing her medication . How long does it take? Humana doesn't know.
In the mean time, Humana did send her temporary medication.

Today, after being on the phone with Humana for 3 hours and been transferred from one employee to another, with no luck, at the end up talking to a manager there by the name of Deanna ( conversation ref. # 373727365110). This manager informed me that I cannot file a complaint over the phone about my dissatisfaction of the customer service at Humana and the only way to file complaint a about an employee of Humana is in writing to the grievance department.
In the mean time, she advised me to take my wife to the ER to get her Betaseron shots or to go buy it from my pocket. (To whom doesn't know . Betaseron is not a medication that you can buy from a pharmacy).

Now February is almost over and we could not get a refill.
We use to get the Betaseron from Biotech, but this month Biotech informed us that Humana did not allow them to refill it because they want the medication to come from Right Source pharmacy only.
The patients should stay without medication until Humana finish their review of the medication.
This what you should expect when you sign up with Humana.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Approval for Inpatient Cardiac Rehab
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LOUISVILLE. KY -- I am a ty year old woman who has Humana Medicare. I had a six way bypass and my surgeon wanted me to go to a rehab facility for a few weeks. I live in a tri-level home with 2 small children in the home and know one in the home to help me with my recovery. I spoke with the benefits section and was told I had coverage for rehab for 20 days at 0 copay and then 156 dollars a day. After 3 days of waiting for approval finally they called the rehab facility I was suppose to go to and said I was declined. They said my age I should be able to go home. They didn't take my surgeons expert opinion that I needed to be in the facility. Humana wants your money but does not want to pay for you to have the services you need.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Subscription Plans
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CINCINNATI, OHIO -- DO NOT BUY HUMANA RX INSURANCE! Humana has a cheap monthly charge that they use as a come on. However, there is first a $320.00 deductible to be satisfied. Then, their drug costs are way out of line. For example: I've had to pay $22.00 for a 30 day supply that my previous carrier charged $4.00, I've had to pay $117.00 for a 30 day supply that my previous carrier charged $40.00. They move what are Tier 1 Rx with other carriers to Tier 2 to be able to overcharge for what is clearly Tier 1.

I suffered a complete breakdown in communicating with them. They tried to contact my MD using the wrong phone and fax numbers. Both correct numbers were clearly written on the Rx. Further more, I was given two different fax numbers that my MD was to use to contact Rightsource.
Again - DO NOT BUY HUMANA RX INSURANCE!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Humana Won't Allow Pharmacy to Refill Rx I've Used for 27 Years
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
AUSTIN, TEXAS -- My Humana policy became effective February 1, 2015. I've been using Beconase since 1989 for my allergies. Each year, I get samples and try the new nasal spays on the market, but I always go back to the the tried true nasal spray that works the best for me. I live in Austin, Texas, the Allergy Capital of the World, and I have pollen allergies. We are currently in the worst season - with cedar still going strong and elm and oak starting up. This is the most difficult time of year for me - as far as my allergies.

- Humana Step 1 STALL TACTIC - Decline the request immediately and ask for additional info. Then, when the doctor responds to the request (my allergist submitted the information they requested, explaining why I need this drug I've been using for 27 years)...

- Humana Step 2 STALL TACTIC is Rejecting the information and closing the claim.

I am not clear how many times Humana will decline and reject before they will finally do the right thing - not even sure they will ever do the right thing. But it means that me and my doctor are in for some truly frustrating periods while we continue to try to get this eHealth company provider to do what they're supposed to do for their insureds - to fill the prescriptions the doctor prescribes and says are needed.

Today's Humana can't hold a candle to the old Humana...that company provided healthcare coverage - today's Humana works very hard NOT to provide the coverage they're contracted to give. Please don't make the mistake I made - Humana is not the company you want or need. Choose Blue Cross or United Health Care instead!!!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Very disappointed
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I called in on 1/23/15. Around 12:10pm I spoke with a male in the sales representative in enrollment. I advised him that I had enrolled through the marketplace back in December and they never submitted my application to Ambetter health insurance. I advised I had made my payment though the marketplace and Ambetter took my payment WITHOUT receiving my application. I then stated I went back to the marketplace and switched to HUMANA thinking I was going to get better customer service. The sale representative told me that the reason I was not active was because I hadn't paid my premium and that I had to pay even though HUMANA did not receive my application. I advised that I'm not to pay the premium until the marketplace sends my application. At this point I had asked the sales representative for a supervisor. The sales representative told me that I was going to get told the same thing by the supervisor and started to raise his voice. I asked for a supervisor several different times with my voice raised. I told the sales representative that he didn't need to be raising his voce at me. The sales representative replied will since your raising your voice then so am I. I asked for his name 7 TIMES and he never answered me then he put me on hold then disconnected the call. I was just trying to enroll through HUMANA and tell them my situation with the marketplace. I had the worst customer service experience of my life. Very disappointing.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Experience
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
KENTUCKY -- I enrolled in a Humana One after turning 26 and no longer being eligible for my dad's insurance through Humana with a big corporation. I assumed the service would be the same even though the plan may not be as comprehensive. This was a horrible assumption. I have had an issue with them 10 our of the 11 months I have been with them. They have randomly canceled my plan and I didn't realize until I received a termination letter. Charged me the $25 late fee after they canceled my plan. I used their online payment portal and the balance was never correct and it never would process my payment. Enrolling was a nightmare because they demanded my previous doctor fax over all of her notes about my last visit (I don't even think that's legal). I've spent hours on hold with them. Worst of all, I've never used them for a doctors visit or prescription. I have sufficient money to pay them every month. There is no way to make a formal complaint, and if I did, it doesn't matter to them. We need insurance reform, not healthcare reform. This is outrageous.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >