Preview Review

Next Review

Interval International Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Exchanged for one property, II gave us a different property
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- We exchanged a week for a specific resort. We are now reviewing the certificate that was sent and it is for an inferior resort next door with a similar name. We have tried to call to fix the error, however the call center has advised us there is nothing they can or will do. We are not mistaken on the resort we agreed to exchange for and will continue to pursue a satisfactory resolution. The call center wants us to call back everyday which is unacceptable. I have investigated the cost difference between the 2 for a week and it approximately $1400 USD. This comes across as a shameful case of switch and bait.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to resolved this type of issue with II? We recently agreed to take over the timeshare from our parents and will be not likely to be continuing our relationship with II if this is not resolved. (I had an II membership 15+ years ago for many years and out of all the years, only had 1!! successful exchange. In every other instance, we settled on sub par properties that were in out of the way locations). My advice to others is to record any conversations with II when dealing with them. Any suggestions on how to resolve?

Replies
Advertisement
Interval International Timeshare Experience Is an Exercise in Frustration
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I would never recommendation purchasing a timeshare from Interval International. When trying to exchange a resort there is always very limited availability for exchange. My home resort incorrectly placed a lock on my timeshare unit over a year ago and I was told the situation would be resolved within 24 hours. Not the case and trying to resolve has been an exercise in frustration. I have friends who have purchased Marriott timeshares and are extremely happy with the customer service unlike my experience with Interval International. I really regret buying this timeshare and looking back should have bought through Marriott.

Replies
Is This Some Sort of Scam Interval International Is Running?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VALENCIA, CALIFORNIA -- I'm usually a skeptical person by nature, but this Interval International Time Share company make it so obvious that I am convinced they are a full on scam. For example, no representative will ever provide you their full names or representative IDs. Who does that in a customer service environment? Are all these reps in some sort of government witness protection program?

Secondly, they constantly pressure you to "deposit" your unused timeshare into their timeshare bank. Then they tell you to renew your membership, otherwise you can't search beyond the date of your membership expiration date. The moment you go ahead and pursue the membership and pay, they tell you "I'm sorry, there is no availability during the period you requested".

Coincidence, no. This has happened to me on 3 separate occasions. Then I deposit my 2 suite villa and they only have Motel 6-like suites available in every other calendar date except for the period I requested. Then folks who supposedly own a simple suite get offered up Villas at no upgrade costs for the exchange. How is that fair to us who paid for the larger villas?

They are the absolute worst in customer service. I would give them negative stars if it was possible. 1/4 star to make a point of how terrible these scammers really are. If you are thinking of joining, don't. Thinking of buying a timeshare, don't. It's one step below a pyramid scheme and two steps above a Ponzi scheme... save your money... travel unencumbered with your money.

Replies
Timeshare Value
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

No, I would not recommend anyone to invest in Interval International. We spent almost $10,000 in timeshare program - converting our resort to points so that we could swap all over the world. We were given this big pitch of how easy it is to swap and how much value we can get for the points but this is misleading and bogus. We are seeing over and over again that there is either limited or no availability for exchanges with our points.

I have been trying since June 2014 to do exchange for Thailand - nothing is available for December 2014. Yet on getaways, there is availability. Why aren't these places offered for exchange. It is like money is taken in advance from members and then we are expected to pay thousands more to take the vacation we want. More and more this is looking like a scam to me! No don't invest and please pass this on to your friends! We are very sorry we wasted our money on these scammers.

Replies
Advertisement
Again, My Experience With Interval International SUCK.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- Interval International does not give you all the information you need when you book through their company. We stayed at the Royal Haciendas resort in Playa del Carmen, QR on January 4-11, 2014. We were told that the hotel was all-inclusive. We paid over $1200.00 for our meals and learned that the cost did not include some items on the menu and drinks. We were charged a surcharge for meals that we wanted for both a meal and drinks. It was our understanding that all-inclusive included room, food, drinks, activities, etc. We quickly learned that this was not the case. My husband & I was disappointed with our accommodations. We do not plan to go to The Royal Hotels again.

Replies
Lack of Available Places to Stay
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

In the past several years we have noticed a steep decline in the availability of exchanges with Interval International. We are lucky since we can change from II to RCI and are looking to do just that. It is too bad, because we have been with II since 1993 and used to be able to get exchanges easily. Not anymore. Have tried to get Hawaii - no can do. Just looked at Massachusetts, one of our favorite destinations (stayed in the Berkshires two years ago and have stayed at Cape Cod a couple of times before that), and there is not one resort available to book from mid-May to mid-June.

Granted that we are a little late in looking/booking so I didn't expect too much. But the choices that do remain seem to be places that are not very interesting or not the place to go to in the summer (like Phoenix). So I think we will be saying good-bye to II and hello to RCI! Kind of sad since I just set up my membership for another 5 years. But it's worth it to get with a program that has a lot more availability (let's hope so, anyway).

Replies
Terrible Customer Service - People Are Like Robots
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I had a vacation ready to go a couple years ago but had to cancel my lock off side because my parties could not come. So they gave me a cancellation week with restrictions. I had to only reserve within the 30 day window. When came time there was only 5, hear me people 5 places in the entire Orlando area to get availability with all those properties! I had a 2 bedroom banked, only thing available were efficiencies and 1 bedroom when I had 4 guests two of which are grown boys.

So then I called interval and when they looked and they offered me property that was not even on the list online, some condo, community that rents out properties. REALLY? Then my question is, do they have some secret stash of properties? They did not try and accommodate me at all and I am a Gold Member (meaning nothing). Then I had to pay another exchange fee, yes that's right, a second fee of $149.00 when I paid it last year in order to exchange it in the first place. So I paid my maintenance fees, an exchange fee, a second exchange fee and had to accept a 1 bedroom when I had banked a two. Does anyone see something wrong with that?

So being that I was being terribly inconvenienced and they had such a limited inventory, I felt they should help me out some way. So I asked to be patched to customer service. Upon talking to customer service, they were like all choppy and robot like when they responded to me like they were being scripted.They don't think outside the box at all and have not real customer focus.

I asked for a waiver of the second fee since they could not accommodate our needs, me being downgraded versus upgraded. He told me that no he would not waive the fee and had all supervisor privileges and it's because I banked the week at the last minute. So I am being punished now by the company that I pay for service with?

Again, does anyone see a problem with this but me? So when I asked him could I speak to a manager. He told me that he was acting in the same way a manager is and is basically doing me a favor by Interval providing me a cancellation week at all. He then said that I did not have to take it if I didn't want it when it was clear that I needed a week. They were rude and over repeated attempts would not let me talk to a manager, kept saying they were in a meeting and left message for them to call me and never did. Interval is all about money and taking yours but the service had declined to what I classify today as Terrible!!!!

Despicable, I hope others respond because I am going to corporate and have my lawyer write them and at least they can give me an apology for poor service. If they had no other properties that is understandable if it is out of their hands, they can only work with what they have (I doubt this too in some way though), but what they could control they didn't/wouldn't and basically said to me was "oh well, so sad, too bad" when I pay my fee every year, on time, etc etc. Just no way to treat a customer, I am going to Shout this out till someone at II hears me!

Replies
The Worst Customer Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MIAMI FLORIDA -- Been a member for more than 10 years and definitely a decline in service, so horrible. Trying to track a credit they owed me. No one wanted to talk with me. I have called so many times trying to track it down as my bank has never seen it.

Replies
Advertisement
Great Customer Service
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

FLORIDA -- I have always had wonderful service from Interval International and they have always been very helpful and patient with all of my requests. Business-like and accurate.

Replies
Behind on the Times
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI FA -- The world is busy these days. I have 2 weeks banked. They only look for availability from 1- 60 days ahead. So putting vacation time in at work is VERY HARD. Any hotel will take up to a year to book for availability. So, seeing availability in peek seasons is impossible with this company.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Interval International Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
23 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Interval International
6262 Sunset Drive
Miami, FL 33143-4843
1-800-468-3782 (ph)
www.intervalworld.com
Compare Travel Services