Preview Review

Next Review

Interval International Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Interval International Timeshare Experience Is an Exercise in Frustration
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I would never recommendation purchasing a timeshare from Interval International. When trying to exchange a resort there is always very limited availability for exchange. My home resort incorrectly placed a lock on my timeshare unit over a year ago and I was told the situation would be resolved within 24 hours. Not the case and trying to resolve has been an exercise in frustration. I have friends who have purchased Marriott timeshares and are extremely happy with the customer service unlike my experience with Interval International. I really regret buying this timeshare and looking back should have bought through Marriott.

Replies
Advertisement
Is This Some Sort of Scam Interval International Is Running?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VALENCIA, CALIFORNIA -- I'm usually a skeptical person by nature, but this Interval International Time Share company make it so obvious that I am convinced they are a full on scam. For example, no representative will ever provide you their full names or representative IDs. Who does that in a customer service environment? Are all these reps in some sort of government witness protection program?

Secondly, they constantly pressure you to "deposit" your unused timeshare into their timeshare bank. Then they tell you to renew your membership, otherwise you can't search beyond the date of your membership expiration date. The moment you go ahead and pursue the membership and pay, they tell you "I'm sorry, there is no availability during the period you requested".

Coincidence, no. This has happened to me on 3 separate occasions. Then I deposit my 2 suite villa and they only have Motel 6-like suites available in every other calendar date except for the period I requested. Then folks who supposedly own a simple suite get offered up Villas at no upgrade costs for the exchange. How is that fair to us who paid for the larger villas?

They are the absolute worst in customer service. I would give them negative stars if it was possible. 1/4 star to make a point of how terrible these scammers really are. If you are thinking of joining, don't. Thinking of buying a timeshare, don't. It's one step below a pyramid scheme and two steps above a Ponzi scheme... save your money... travel unencumbered with your money.

Replies
Timeshare Value
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

No, I would not recommend anyone to invest in Interval International. We spent almost $10,000 in timeshare program - converting our resort to points so that we could swap all over the world. We were given this big pitch of how easy it is to swap and how much value we can get for the points but this is misleading and bogus. We are seeing over and over again that there is either limited or no availability for exchanges with our points.

I have been trying since June 2014 to do exchange for Thailand - nothing is available for December 2014. Yet on getaways, there is availability. Why aren't these places offered for exchange. It is like money is taken in advance from members and then we are expected to pay thousands more to take the vacation we want. More and more this is looking like a scam to me! No don't invest and please pass this on to your friends! We are very sorry we wasted our money on these scammers.

Replies
Exchanged for one property, II gave us a different property
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- We exchanged a week for a specific resort. We are now reviewing the certificate that was sent and it is for an inferior resort next door with a similar name. We have tried to call to fix the error, however the call center has advised us there is nothing they can or will do. We are not mistaken on the resort we agreed to exchange for and will continue to pursue a satisfactory resolution. The call center wants us to call back everyday which is unacceptable. I have investigated the cost difference between the 2 for a week and it approximately $1400 USD. This comes across as a shameful case of switch and bait.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to resolved this type of issue with II? We recently agreed to take over the timeshare from our parents and will be not likely to be continuing our relationship with II if this is not resolved. (I had an II membership 15+ years ago for many years and out of all the years, only had 1!! successful exchange. In every other instance, we settled on sub par properties that were in out of the way locations). My advice to others is to record any conversations with II when dealing with them. Any suggestions on how to resolve?

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Customer Service - People Are Like Robots
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I had a vacation ready to go a couple years ago but had to cancel my lock off side because my parties could not come. So they gave me a cancellation week with restrictions. I had to only reserve within the 30 day window. When came time there was only 5, hear me people 5 places in the entire Orlando area to get availability with all those properties! I had a 2 bedroom banked, only thing available were efficiencies and 1 bedroom when I had 4 guests two of which are grown boys.

So then I called interval and when they looked and they offered me property that was not even on the list online, some condo, community that rents out properties. REALLY? Then my question is, do they have some secret stash of properties? They did not try and accommodate me at all and I am a Gold Member (meaning nothing). Then I had to pay another exchange fee, yes that's right, a second fee of $149.00 when I paid it last year in order to exchange it in the first place. So I paid my maintenance fees, an exchange fee, a second exchange fee and had to accept a 1 bedroom when I had banked a two. Does anyone see something wrong with that?

So being that I was being terribly inconvenienced and they had such a limited inventory, I felt they should help me out some way. So I asked to be patched to customer service. Upon talking to customer service, they were like all choppy and robot like when they responded to me like they were being scripted.They don't think outside the box at all and have not real customer focus.

I asked for a waiver of the second fee since they could not accommodate our needs, me being downgraded versus upgraded. He told me that no he would not waive the fee and had all supervisor privileges and it's because I banked the week at the last minute. So I am being punished now by the company that I pay for service with?

Again, does anyone see a problem with this but me? So when I asked him could I speak to a manager. He told me that he was acting in the same way a manager is and is basically doing me a favor by Interval providing me a cancellation week at all. He then said that I did not have to take it if I didn't want it when it was clear that I needed a week. They were rude and over repeated attempts would not let me talk to a manager, kept saying they were in a meeting and left message for them to call me and never did. Interval is all about money and taking yours but the service had declined to what I classify today as Terrible!!!!

Despicable, I hope others respond because I am going to corporate and have my lawyer write them and at least they can give me an apology for poor service. If they had no other properties that is understandable if it is out of their hands, they can only work with what they have (I doubt this too in some way though), but what they could control they didn't/wouldn't and basically said to me was "oh well, so sad, too bad" when I pay my fee every year, on time, etc etc. Just no way to treat a customer, I am going to Shout this out till someone at II hears me!

Replies
Great Customer Service
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

FLORIDA -- I have always had wonderful service from Interval International and they have always been very helpful and patient with all of my requests. Business-like and accurate.

Replies
Behind on the Times
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI FA -- The world is busy these days. I have 2 weeks banked. They only look for availability from 1- 60 days ahead. So putting vacation time in at work is VERY HARD. Any hotel will take up to a year to book for availability. So, seeing availability in peek seasons is impossible with this company.

Replies
The Most Humiliating Experience in My 53 Years of Living
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, NEW JERSEY -- SAVE YOUR MONEY! Interval International is somehow affiliated with Paradise Village Resort. It was the worst resort we ever visited! It is definitely NOT a 4 or 5 star hotel as stated. Overall, I might give it a 1. First of all, the place is old and in need of a major make-over. Food was somewhat OK. Better food off premise. Water was a murky brown not the crystal clear blue we anticipated. Room service was horrible. We received the wrong item and it took 45 min. to receive the correct order. Then I had to fight for them to issue a credit for the wrong item. The people who manage the outside activities are a separate entity.

Staff was unfriendly unless you helped them earn a commission or purchased a timeshare. Our room smelled like urine for all of the 7 days. We opened windows, sprayed and alerted staff but no relief. There seems to be a tier system. Everyone involved in this scheme receives a commission. It's all about money. They can care less about making your visit enjoyable.

A person calls you at your house right before you leave for vacation. She tells you to avoid anyone at the airport who tries to sell you something. She says they're sketchy and you don't want to get involved in what they have to offer. The first day you arrive, people will be in the lobby to hunt you down. Once they get your attention, they feed you drinks and give you free and half price tickets for day excursions in hopes you will attend the 90 min. breakfast presentation.

The 90 min. breakfast presentation turned into an 8 hour interrogation! It is then that you find out INTERVAL INTERNATIONAL is affiliated with Paradise Village Resort. I have all the hotels, not Paradise, and you have to pay them yearly too! They break you down until you sign. You are at the mercy of very persistent salespeople who know their craft well. If one doesn't get you to sign another one comes over. If you still won't sign the "closer" stops by the table. Now you have 3 people trying to con you into signing the contract.

During this time, they lie, cheat and steal by offering free weeks, trips, memberships, etc. There is so much fraud, deception and misrepresentation going on in the presentation room. It makes me sick to think a human being can be so devious toward another human being just for the sake of taking your money.

Replies
Advertisement
Do Not Do Business With Interval International Time Share Company!
By -

My friend & I recently booked a trip through his time-share, Interval International, to go to the Costa Maya Reef Resort in Belize, Central America scheduled for 8/18-8/25/07. We booked this trip over the phone & gave the company representative our credit card information for charging the trip. The night before we were scheduled to leave, we attempted to contact the resort to ensure they were still accepting guests. We had some concerns due to
hurricane dean. No one answered the phone. So we spent the next few hours tracking the storm online & at that point it didn't appear that it would affect Belize at all.

So on Saturday morning, we boarded a US Airways flight bound for Belize. We arrived at Belize Int'l Airport at approx. 10am. We then boarded a Tropic Air plane for another 15-minute flight to San Pedro. Once we arrived at Fido's dock in San Pedro to board a ferry to take us to the resort, we were told by the ferry master that Costa Maya Reef resort was closed in anticipation of the hurricane. He gave us the resort owner's name & cell phone number.

I spoke to the owner personally & he informed me that he had contacted Interval International 2 days prior (which would have been Thursday) to let them know they would be closing that Friday because of the hurricane. Interval had our phone number and e-mail address and no one EVER attempted to contact us.

We then had to make other last minute arrangements to stay at another resort on the mainland, which ended up costing us thousands more than we had expected to spend. Because Interval International did not inform us of the situation, both of our lives were put at risk & we are out thousands of dollars because we had to make other arrangements.

When we returned home, we contacted Interval International numerous times in an attempt to get our money back. Each time, we were told they would not refund a dime. The last representative I spoke with, **, did admit that the resort contacted them to let them know of the closing in advance, but that it was OUR responsibility to contact THEM to get information in the event of a natural disaster. My impression of this company, and their specific handling (or lack thereof) of my situation left much to be desired. I find their practices & actions to be unprofessional, irresponsible, criminal & incompetent. BEWARE!

Replies
Dwindling Exchange Options/Poor Quality Accommodation
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PENTICTON B.C. -- We have been timeshare owners for 10+ years. We exchange through Interval International. When we first started exchanging, the accommodations were quite good and easy to book. We now find that places are substandard and the desirable locations are extremely difficult to get.... (Spain in January anyone?)

Our last exchange had a cat and cat bowls behind the lobby desk!!! This is the "5 star accommodation" we bought??? At a Vegas spot I overheard the front desk clerk tell a walk-in customer that he could book this location for 45.00 dollars/night!!!! We are ready to throw in the towel. Is anyone as frustrated as we are? It angers us that we will just have to walk away from the money we spent to buy this.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Interval International Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
23 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Interval International
6262 Sunset Drive
Miami, FL 33143-4843
1-800-468-3782 (ph)
www.intervalworld.com
Compare Travel Services