Preview Review

Next Review

Ironwood Communications Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Stole $50 From Me; Shoddy Installation.
By -

TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- I am in shock as to how many bad reviews are on here about this company. It makes me feel all the more angry, used, and cheated. For one, when my DirecTV was set up a year ago by someone from Ironwood it was the crappiest job I had ever seen. Cable wire came out of the ceiling from my son's closet. 20-30 ft of cable wire just dangling from the ceiling and lying on his closet floor. 2nd, they used a splitter to connect that cable wire from his room to the main receiver in our living room. (My son's closet is actually directly behind the wall that our main receiver was on). So, if my son goes into his closet at any time and touches that wire we lose signal.

So, I called DirecTV for another technician to come out. I simply wanted another wire ran into my son's room so the 2 receivers were not connected together via a splitter. I also wanted the living room wire to be fixed so it did not come through my son's closet ceiling.

This tech drilled a hole from the outside of my house, through the BRICK WALL and into my son's room. The cable wire comes into my son's wall about 3 ft up from the ground -- 2 black wires and a hole in the middle of his wall. No outlet protector, no protection from bugs or rain or anything from outside. Plus now we have property damage to the outside of our home because the idiot drilled through BRICK.

So, I called DirecTV again and complained of the job. Again, for the third time, a technician from Ironwood comes out. We wanted the living room receiver moved to a different wall (about 5 ft away from where it was.) We wanted the 20-30 ft of wire out of my son's closet. We wanted something else to be done about the wire coming through our brick wall and the holes around that wire.

The technician showed up on time. He came in our home talking on his cell phone. He had no work order with him. He didn't even know what he was there to do. When we told him we wanted the receiver in the living room moved to a different wall, he said it would cost $65. I told him that when I called DirecTV to set this up they told me it would cost $49. He said, "Well, let me check. They have had some price changes lately. Oh yes, it is $49." I thought, "hmmmm."

So then I asked if it would be billed to my DirecTV account. He told me "no, it's never just billed to your account. It has to be cash or a check and paid the day of service." Again, I thought, "hmmm." He proceeded to go outside and talk on his cell phone for about 15 min before he got started. However, this guy actually did a good job installing the receiver on the new wall. He did not fix the wire coming from my son's closet ceiling, nor did he touch the wire coming into my son's room from the outside brick. He hooked up the TV to our receiver and reset it. He waited for the satellite to load. He was finished. Less than 30 min of work.

My husband paid him $50. (He did not have the $1 change). He asked my husband to borrow a pen to fill out his paperwork. My husband signed it. He told my husband he would go get his copy. He then went out to his truck... and left. We had no receipt. No copy of the work order. Nothing. Funny thing is, today I looked at my statement online from DirecTV and guess what? I had been billed $49. I called them at 5 pm when I got home from work. I was transferred to 4 different people and on the phone 2 hrs.

Finally, someone told me they contract installation/repairs to Ironwood Communications, but they do not have a phone number or address to this company. And since we had no receipt showing we paid the tech IN CASH, we would more than likely be responsible to pay the $49 to DirecTV as billed. WHAT?? You mean to tell me that a billion dollar corporation, such as DirecTV, contracts work out to someone who represents them, yet they don't even have a phone number for them. (They said all work orders are submitted via a form on the computer).

After 2 hours of getting nowhere, I looked up Ironwood online. All I was hoping to find was a phone number so I could find out what was going on. Instead, I found hundreds of reviews from I don't know how many different websites. People that have been screwed royally by this company. I was in shock. How can this company get away with what they do?

I called DirecTV back. I ended up spending 2 more hours on the phone talking to 2 different people this time. Finally, a man from tech support (I am sorry, in all the people I talked to today I did not get his name), he got the $49 fee taken off my account. At that point, I told him $50 bucks is JUST $50 BUCKS! At this point, someone came into my home and stole $50 from me. They get paid by the job. So, he got paid by his employer to come out, plus he got a nice little $50 bonus. And DirecTV lost $50 because the people they contract out are dishonest. Not only that, we only switched from Dish Network to DirecTV a year ago so we could get the MLB package.

I told the guy from DirecTV that watching baseball is not worth what we have been through in a year. Even my husband said "screw it, we'll switch back." How many customers is DirecTV willing to lose? Why hasn't someone called an investigative reporter from 20/20 or dateline or something. Because according to the websites this happens all over America. If someone knows a way to contact someone to investigate, let me know. I will gladly do anything I can.

One more thing… after the guy from DirecTV refunded the charge tonight, he offered to set up someone to come out at NO COST and fix the things that were not fixed. Guess what??? It would have been someone from Ironwood!!! My husband said no thanks, he'll get a wire cutter to cut down all that wire from my son's closet and patch the holes himself.

At this point it isn't about the $50. It is about a company that gets paid money to do crappy work. It's employees can come into your home and destruct it, and all the while steal money from you as well. And they can get away with it because they have a "CONTRACT" and DirecTV claims to have no information regarding the company. One more thing... Ironwood is changing it's name to "DirecTV Home Services" nationwide. All phone numbers I found online are no longer working numbers. I found no website for this company. How can we stop them??

Replies
Advertisement
DirecTV Installation by Ironwood Communications
By -

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- You only have to Google "Ironwood Communications" to find a plethora of complaints about the company, it's customer service and it's employees. There is a reason for that. Ironwood's customer service is among the worst I have ever experienced. If I treated my customers the way I have been treated by Ironwood, I would have been out of business a very long time ago. It's unfortunate for me that I am limited in my cable choices and apparently DirecTV is limited in its choice of contractors. I'd be shocked to find out that DirecTV isn't losing customers on a daily basis because of Ironwood's lack of professionalism.

A couple of months ago my husband received a phone solicitation and through that ordered a package of high definition channels. When we realized that the billing for those channels started, but that we were not receiving them, we made a phone call. DirecTV sent us a part that we needed to install ourselves, but it didn't work.

Another month of phone calls to DirecTV went by before Ironwood was sent to the house to do the "upgrade". The appointment was set for 01/07/08. Not only was the contractor uninformed about the work that was needed, he was also clearly inexperienced. Six hours later, he and his partner that he called in to help, completed the "simple upgrade" and left. Shortly after, not only were we not receiving the HD channels, but we were not receiving ANY channels! Even our local stations were "unavailable."

I called DirecTV immediately and was told I'd need to call back at 7:00 the next morning. On 01/08/08, I called DirecTV, per their instructions and was placed on hold for 23 minutes. I was then walked through a "troubleshooting" exercise by an agent that clearly thought I was dumber than a bag of nails. These exercises didn't work (since the problem isn't with my remote control), she places me on hold for another 11 minutes.

She came back on the line to tell me that the next available appointment would be January 24 - two entire weeks away! I explained that this was unacceptable for a variety of reasons. First off, our satellite was working just fine, all we wanted was a simple upgrade, but because of errors made by an installer - we no longer have ANY TV channels. I am not looking for an appointment for service, I simply want Ironwood to correct what they did. This ought to put me at the top of the list - even if it means bumping another customer to a later time.

Furthermore, I work as a political consultant, and use a home office. I need to be able to access the Capitol channels, C-Span and at a minimum, my local news. I bill my clients by the hour, and so each hour that I am without access to these channels, I am losing money. Not to mention the embarrassment of having to explain to a client why I missed something that he/she may have already picked up.

I was then told that the next available appointment would still be January 24, but that I could be put on a wait list. However, if I choose the wait list option I have to forgo my Jan 24 appointment, so if the wait list doesn't pan out, then I'll have to call to schedule something for February. I asked for a supervisor, and was promptly "disconnected." I called back, was put on hold again, had to tell my story all over, and then had to hold one more time while a supervisor was tracked down.

Once I reached ** (a DirecTV supervisor) she was very helpful and put me in touch with a customer service rep at Ironwood Communications. Again, I explained my situation and asked that it be escalated to a supervisor that could bypass the dispatch system in order to received immediate service. I was placed on hold for 14 minutes while the rep searched for a supervisor that was willing to help me. She never found anyone, but left a message to have someone call me back. If I hadn't heard from ** the supervisor by 10:00am, I was instructed to call him.

Having never heard from **, I called and was told that he hadn't come in yet, and that no other supervisors were in the building. Having worked in call centers before, I feel fairly certain that Ironwood does not have an entire staff of customer service reps working unsupervised for any length of time.

Frustrated and feeling lied to, I agreed to leave another message and wait another 2 hours for a supervisor to call me back. No one called. At noon, I called again, and was told that this time they would send an e-mail explaining the situation to a supervisor and that I should expect to hear from someone "soon". This time I waited until 4:30 pm and having not received a phone call, I called back again. This time I'm told that another e-mail will be sent, but that I will have to allow 24 hours for a response. Now I have lost an entire day of work sitting on hold and waiting for return calls that never come.

Not having a spare 24 hours to wait for a phone call, on the morning of 01/09/08 I called Ironwood again. After having to explain my situation to 4 different people, and sit on hold for a total of more than 60 minutes, I was told that someone would have to call me back.

Thankfully this time, I did receive a prompt return call from **, a supervisor who was genuine and helpful. He dispatched a technician, also named ** who was able to be on site later that day. ** called me as he was leaving another job, to let me know his ETA. I felt like I had finally found a professional at Ironwood! ** was there when he said he'd be there, and when he left, our satellite was back on line. Unfortunately, within half an hour, our service was out again.

I called Ironwood, and again had to go through the same frustrating process of explaining my story to several people and spending excessive amounts of time on hold. The phone rep I spoke with explained that one of the problems was that there was no record of us having a service call. The technician had been asked to respond "off the books."

While I appreciate that this meant he was able to respond before the 24th of the month, I was horrified to learn that because Ironwood has no record of a service call to my house that as a homeowner I am liable if the technician had been injured on my property! Why would Ironwood be willing to put me at such great risk? The phone rep responded by saying, "Ma'am, we were trying to do you a favor." I wish you could have heard her tone!

The fourth day of this fiasco was spent calling, holding and waiting for a call back. A call that never came. Needless to say, it is 01/11/08 and I still have no service. I am sitting at home on what is now my 5th day away from work, waiting for that elusive phone call from a supervisor who will try to find an available tech to come out. Again, I have been asked to wait another 24 hours. I have calculated my losses at well over $1,000. A high price to pay for a couple of HD channels.

Replies
Poor Service in Every Way!!
By -

BELLEVILLE, ARKANSAS -- After reading all of the complains about Ironwood Communications, I only wish I'd investigated a bit further before signing up with them. Let me tell you my story… The installer was to show up at 4:30 pm. I took off work and my husband took off work to be there when they showed up. We waited around until 5 pm when we got a phone call saying the guy would show up at between 5:30 and 6:00. We told them to call us so we could give directions because our house is hard to find.

At about 6:30 we get a call and the man is lost. My husband tried to give him directions but it was like talking to a wall, so we told him to stay put and we'd meet him at a specific location and he could follow us to our house. We arrive at that location and he isn't there. He has continued to drive and is lost yet again. So we tell him to meet us at a second location. He does and we lead him to our house. By this time it's after 7:00. He gets out of the van and says "it looks like I'm working for free tonight". He walks around my yard for about ten minutes and says that he can't do it. He can get either locals or the regular satellite but not both.

I say I don't care about locals but he refused to do it without both parts. He says he needs us to cut down a tree before he comes back. Now, "this tree" is over 100 feet tall and about 6 feet wide. I wonder where he wants me to put this tree. On my house? Or maybe my electric wires? So, long story short, he leaves. My husband calls DirecTV and they say that he could have done it and he was just lazy. They set up a new installation date for 10 days later. Meanwhile I've already paid for the service. Why should I be penalized due to their incompetence?

The next day I call DirecTV back myself and tell them my story. They tell me to call Ironwood or that Ironwood would call me within 24 hours. I still have not received that call and my satellite is still not installed. I would highly advise anyone not to go through this company. They are liars and incompetent and refuse to make their promises or contracts good.

Replies
DirecTV
By -

PUYALLUP WASHINGTON -- My wife and I live in an RV. I called Friday the 25th to order HD satellite service from DTV. Later that day I was told that I had to work in Portland for the next 2 weeks. I called to see if I could change to an earlier appt if one was available, and of course, was told no. I reminded them that I would need a tripod to set my dish on, because I don't want anybody drilling holes or attaching anything to our RV. They said not a problem and she would add it to the work order. Monday I was coming back into town so I figured I would call to see if there was a cancellation and they could do it earlier and yet again, no was the answer.

So here it is Tuesday the 29th, and I get a call at 11 saying that "you are my last install for the day" and was I home. MY appt time was between 4 and 8 pm. I told him I was not at home and would be there at 4. Now mind you I spent 75 in gas and took off work early and drove 2.5 hours to meet with the installer. I asked him if he had a tripod for the dish and he said that in fact he did not.

I then called Ironwood and told the idiotic CSR that the tech is 4 hours early and didn't have the correct hardware. She spoke with dispatch, and then confirmed with me that they do not set up DTV for RV's. I then fought with them for hours trying to figure out what needed to be done. All in all, I won the argument after an email to them with a forward of automated email response from the AG's office.

Come to find out the HD dish will not fit on the tripod and a gentleman called me up and said they would be happy to set up regular non-HD equipment. Now this whole time I have been calling trying to get an earlier appointment and reminding them that I need a tripod for my dish BECAUSE I LIVE IN AN RV, and no one got the damn clue.

The service tech will be there at 3, I have spoke with him and confirmed with him that he has all the equipment. I am typing this rant at 6:05, and guess what? No tech to be found!! I have filed complaints with all the appropriate offices. Now shouldn't the person that signs you up know what can and cannot be installed? I hope he shows up, and after he does, no more IronHEAD Communications for me!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Customer Service
By -

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I agree with the other reviews of both Ironwood Communications and DirecTV. DirecTV because they don't care about the terrible service that their contractor provides and it doesn't appear they are doing anything to correct it. I called Ironwood Communications to arrange upgrade my current service to HD. I ran all the cables myself and even offered to install the dish and receiver, remember this is an upgrade all they have to do is unbolt one dish and replace it with the new one, OK there goes 2 minutes.

When arranging with the woman on the phone I was given the 4 hour spread of 1-5 pm Sunday, I asked if I could be in the first 2 hours because of a prior commitment at 3 pm that could not be changed, she said "call back at 11 am on Sunday to have them come between 1 and 3." I did this and was promptly told that I was scheduled between 3 and 5, exactly the time I had told them no one would be home. They showed up at 4:40, from other posts it sounds like I should be thankful they at least showed up.

Anyway I called the next day and was told the next available appointment was not for 3 weeks, I said drop of the equipment and I will install it, that can't be done because that is against company policy, my guess is that means they don't get paid by DirecTV. The next excuse the woman tried to give was that my equipment was not here yet to be dropped off.

I took 5 minutes to convince her that she had just been caught in a lie because the equipment had already been at my house the day before and the installer called to see if we were home. So now rescheduled for 13 days from now. Ironwood is a lost cause but DirecTV needs to get their act together.

Replies
Lack of Service - Lack of Gray Matter
By -

PENNSYLVANIA -- In posting this review I hope to be of help to others who are likely to suffer similar problems regarding Ironwood Communications and DirecTV. DO NOT BELIEVE THEM! THEY ARE INCOMPETENT! THEY HAVE NO REGARD FOR YOUR TIME! BRAZEN LIES! EXCUSES, EXCUSES, EXCUSES!

First appointment: November 16th 2006. Ironwood's installer arrives at around 3:00pm There is slight rainfall and since the installation involves high work) use of a ladder, the installer says that he is not comfortable working on a ladder while it is raining. I understand his reasoning as the satellite dish is just below the peak of our roof, two stories high. He said that my wife and I should call to reschedule the appointment which we did.

Second appointment: November 21st 2006. As always is the case with this type of business you are given a window of time as to when you might expect the installer. This appointment was 8:00am-12:00pm and Ironwood's installer arrived around 10:30am. The installer informed us that he did not have the correct cable box with him so my wife and I should call his office to set yet another appointment with IRON-HEAD, I mean Ironwood.

By the way my wife had phoned the Ironwood office in Pittsburgh Pa. the day before to verify two things. First was the type of receiver that was to be installed and second was that a tall ladder was needed to complete the installation due to the height of the roof.

Third attempt, today… we had an appt scheduled between 8:00am-noon. The installer showed up around 9:30 and started to assess the situation. He looked around and then made a phone call back to his office. He told us, he would need a 40 ft ladder and that he did not have one. He also had the wrong information on the work order - again! He said we would have to reschedule.

By this point we had had enough. We called DirecTV and told them what had happened. They tried to help and said they would work to get an Ironwood installer back out there today. At the same time Ironwood called directly and told us the first appt they had available was on Dec 8th. We explained that we waited long enough and that we preferred an appt later today or tomorrow at the latest. We went back and forth numerous times. We asked to speak to a supervisor but were told she was not available.

DirecTV attempted to help resolve the problem but in the end all they really did was continue to put us in touch with the Ironwood call center to resolve the problem. Round and round we went with dates all of which required us waiting days. We were told people would get back to us, but we waited and waited , in the end we had to call them.

We have spent over 14 hours trying to get DirecTV installed and all for nothing. DirecTV and Ironwood both have failed us and as consumers we will do all we can to discourage others from buying their services. Missing work, spending our time needlessly chasing customer DIS-SERVICE people to try to rectify this mess. AND WE ARE HELD HOSTAGE BECAUSE OUR CHOICES ARE SO FEW. When will companies realize that WE ARE THE CUSTOMERS.

Replies
Terrible Service Rip Off Company
By -

SCOTTSDALE, ARIZONA -- DirecTV and Ironwood Communications are the WORST Company I have ever dealt with. I hope someone can tell me if there is a class action suit going on with them because I want to participate. They told me I had a 90 day window to see if I wanted to keep the service before the early termination fee was activated.

I disconnected within 2 months because they never connected the DVD nor the remote never worked in one of our rooms. I called numerous times even spoke to a supervisor which he assured me he would have the tech call me to set up appointment. I never heard back from them. When I called again some of the phones had been disconnected or changed numbers. I left another message to no avail.

They did a shabby job on the wiring. I live in a community with an HOA and instead of laying the lines where they couldn't be seen, which would have been very easy to do, they dropped them right down the front of my house so the HOA started writing me letters. Now they want to charge me almost $400 for early termination. What kind of business is that when they are the ones at fault? Does anyone know of a class action suit?

Replies
Excellent Service Experience
By -

HAMMOND RANCH, CALIFORNIA -- I read many reviews here about the poor service quality by Ironwood Communications. I almost canceled the call. I was happy with every aspect of the service. I called a day before and was given the phone number of the Medford Oregon office that would do the install. Although DirecTV could not tell me the model number of the receiver that was to be installed, Ironwood took the time to contact the local office and give me the model number.

Still being skeptical, I called the local office a couple of hours before the appointment, and the receptionist assured me that Mr. ** would be doing the service and that she would ask him to give me a closer ETA. He did call and showed up when he said. He did an excellent job and explained everything as he went along. I am a very critical customer, and this was one of the best service experiences I have had.

Replies
Advertisement
DirecTV Installation
By -

OGDEN, UTAH -- I have had 4 service calls to my home. The first technician was very courteous and helpful. The second technician was in a hurry and left a mess behind. He was no courteous when I asked questions, instead he referred me to DirecTV to get my answer's. I was very disappointed in his service and dismayed when I had to have them return to my home for trouble we were having again.

Thankfully we had another good technician who called to come earlier. He was concerned about leaving enough cable in case we were to move location. He did a great job and was nice to be around (friendly). The last technician came and had to continue his service after I left. My 27 year old pregnant daughter was there and the tech did not leave until he was sure that she understood how the box worked and how to order pay per view.

It is a sorry effect how one bad experience can cloud over the good experiences. I hope that they continue to hire tech that believe the customer is important enough to reschedule another appointment due to courteous treatment of the current customer that will make sure that they understands what the equipment that they bought is supposed to do and how to use it. I am thankful for those who are representing a company that is concerned with customer care as well as installing properly.

Replies
No Shows for Ironwood Communications
By -

AUBURN, CALIFORNIA -- Jan 1: Ironwood tech comes out to install HD receiver. He encountered problems and stated (and wrote on the work order) he would be back on January 5th. Jan 5th: no show. I called DirecTV to complain. I received a call from an Ironwood supervisor stating a tech would be out Jan 12th. Jan 12th: no show. I called Ironwood and asked for that supervisor. He never called me back. Again, I called DirecTV. Another appointment for Jan 20th. We'll see if they show. I changed my work schedule to accommodate the techs. they could at least called me to cancel instead of me waiting around.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Ironwood Communications Rating:
38 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Ironwood Communications
6370 Nancy Ridge Dr
San Diego, CA 92121
858-546-0887 (ph)
comments@iwcom.net
Compare Cable/Satellite Services