Preview Review

Next Review

J.B. Robinson Jewelers Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
False Advertising, Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STRONGSVILLE, OHIO -- 2 months after getting the ring, the rhodium plating wore off and the ring is yellow! I'm not talking about an off white yellow, but a very ugly yellow color! My fiance and I have gone to the store 4 times and spoke with corporate. They do not want to give us a refund.

BEWARE, the manager at the corporate office: "We can't tell what color the ring is under the rhodium plating until the plating wears off." They also cannot provide documentation as to what goes into the rings, as they don't manufacture the rings. Manager advised I will just need to bring the ring in for re-rhodium plating every 2 months. The plating process takes 2 weeks. When I asked the manager at corporate why they don't advertise their rings as they are: whitish gold with rhodium plating, he chuckled and said "No one advertises like that".

Per JB Robinson, a yellow "10k white gold" ring is not considered a defect, therefore is not covered under their lifetime warranty. However, rhodium plating is. Per the manager at corporate, after I advised I don't have the time to bring the ring in every 2 months, he stated: "Well that's not really an option for you." Per the manager at the store, rhodium plating is "common sense" therefore they don't have to mention it to their customers. False advertising! DO NOT BUY FROM JB ROBINSON!

Replies
Advertisement
Poor customer service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MORGANTOWN, WEST VIRGINIA -- I wanted a specific product so the store manager ordered my desired necklace and I had paid for 2 day shipping. 9 days later the store said they had received my product. I was a little mad, but I didn't care that much so picked up my product and went on my way. The real problem is that my girlfriend had only worn the necklace a few times (less than 10), the chain broke while on the stand. Clearly this was a defective product as it had not been pulled or tugged in and out of dozens of necklaces. It is the only one that has ever had a chain break.

Unfortunately, the pendant is permanently attached to the chain and cannot be swapped out. So I went to the store I had purchased it from and asked them if they could repair it. They immediately said they would not replace or repair it since I had not purchased the very expensive insurance they offered. My options were to either buy the 50 dollar insurance then or pay them to repair it there for 40 dollars. This is a very simple 5 minute fix, I was not asking for a new pendant or gems, and the store could have easily accommodated their customer.

In the end I left without getting it repaired. I would like to let anyone planning on buying from them that Kay Jewelers in the same mall is owned by same company and carries all the same products, has much better customer service, and if you are planning on purchasing one of their products go to Kay instead. I have bought many things from Kay and they have always made problems right.

Replies
Grandfathered Lifetime Repairs and Resizing Guarantee Before They Merged With Kay
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We bought wedding rings from JBR in Joliet IL (they recently closed) because they offered lifetime repairs and resizing in 1989 - prior to merging with Kay Jewelers. Then we moved to Texas. 10-12 yrs later, my husband's ring cracked and Kay Jewelers at Ft Worth TX Ridgmar Mall repaired it no questions asked. About 4 years later, the ring cracked completely through in the same spot. So when we found time we drove the 100 mile trip to Ft Worth. I thought I would get my ring enlarged since it was free lifetime resizing. We went about 12 times.

Just a NO. "You have to pay. Have you maintained the cleaning schedule?" Yes, but NO, we have to pay. They took the rings and would look into it. But NO, have to pay. Upon asking for our rings back, they didn't even bring the rings forward and asked if I still had any paperwork. "Sure," "OK, just bring back the certificate." "Well not that certificate." "The diamond inspection certificate was the only one we had. Hence free lifetime repairs and resizing." "Bring the other one back." Went home and realized we only had one. Go back and NO, WE HAVE TO PAY. Still haven't seen our rings.

They acknowledge that cleanings were all recorded electronically. They had my history, no problem. They would call when they came back. Get the call, go to pick up the rings. OH, WE HAVE TO PAY. They never sent them out. I remind them of the lifetime guarantee. Then they ask if I have the RECEIPT from 17 years ago. Well thankfully, JBR put everything in a cute little certificate envelope and my parents taught me to throw any expensive receipt in a metal lock box. Sure enough, receipts and credit card carbon copies are in there.

I show them the receipts to their surprise. They will send the rings out. Get a call for pickup. They never sent them out because OH, WE HAVE TO PAY. I am pretty ticked by now and ask what is the problem now. Oh, they claim I have never cleaned the ring. I tell them to look up the last repair they did a few years earlier. "Oh, ok, we'll send them out." AGAIN.

Get a call for pickup. Take my husband with me this time. Still no rings have appeared at the counter for months. I'm worried they have sold them or lost them. "Oh we can't send them out until you pay the repair fees." They claim now we have no repairs ever performed with them.

I demand my rings and my large grumpy husband steps up by me. I thought it was going to take an act of Congress to get my rings back. Finally I got the rings. I figure we will go back to Joliet IL when we were visiting. Well I finally remembered the rings last month and the store had recently closed down. Today I emailed JBR for assistance. Been married 25 1/2 years and still trying to get them to honor their free lifetime guarantee. Even have the ad we tore out of the paper back in 1989 when we were trying to figure out what jeweler to go to.

Since our 25th Anniversary was bust due to an accident, I was motivated to get our rings fixed. Looks like I may have to file a lawsuit. Good thing we have several lawyers in the family.

Replies
Was Scared Because Of Bad Reviews But...
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

NILES, OHIO -- Everyone is always so quick to write negative reviews so, I wanted to include a positive one. Shortly before my grandmother passed on she gave me her second set of wedding rings. My mom had them before me but she passed as well thus the rings went back to my grandma. These rings were very important to me since both women wore them. Upon getting engaged and getting grandma's approval I decided to use her wedding rings as my own. Sadly she passed before the wedding. Anyhow back to the rings.

They happened to be 2.5 sizes too big. Seeing how much they mean to me, sending them off for sizing was extremely scary. Especially, after seeing all the bad reviews and hearing nothing good except word of mouth. In my area there is NO local jeweler. Every store sends rings away for sizing so I chose J.B. Robinson based on least amount of bad reviews and positive word of mouth from friends.

Well I just got my rings back today four days early I might add. They are perfect. The fit is exactly right. There isn't a seam to be found where they were soldered together. The rings look brand new as they were professionally cleaned. I didn't realize this is what they truly looked like. The sales staff at the store were very patient and reassuring with my constant calling. I could not be happier and I want to thank J.B. Robinson publicly for doing such and amazing job and keeping my precious rings safe.

Replies
Advertisement
Batteries in Watches That Was Just a Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKEMOS, MICHIGAN -- My husband has many watches and took three in to get batteries. We were in there for over a hour to change the batteries. I told him "something is wrong. It shouldn't take that long." Finally the gentleman came out and said he couldn't get the back on one of them so it would have to be sent out, then he proceeded to say the he ended up breaking the other one so that one would have to be sent out as well, and then on the third watch it just didn't work when the battery was put it.

This was on June 12, 2014. They said it would take about 2 weeks. After about two or so weeks they called and said "one of the three were ready." We didn't get in there for a couple of days and when we went in nothing was there or ready. They couldn't give us a time frame really no answer at all other than it should be soon. We then received a call on the one to tell us how much it would cost to be fixed. We told them "no just send it back to us." I finally called about a month later to see if they were back yet the gentleman told me it would be back on July 15, 2014. We still did not hear a thing.

Finally he got a call that one watch was back. He went in, pick up the one watch and asked about the other one. Finally one of the gentlemen in there explained the other watch which was his mother of pearl Invicta would not be in for awhile due to the fact they had to order parts from Invicta. That gentleman was helpful and said they would fix the watch that wasn't working for all the crap.

So finally they called and said the Invicta was ready to be picked up. He went today and the mother of pearl face was cracked. Now all they want to do about it is a 50 gift card to use there... What a joke. You would think they would want to make all this right. This has been going on since June 12, 2014. I am so over all this crap with them. Do not get batteries in your watches changed there.

Replies
Customer Service Terrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOURBONNAIS, ILLINOIS -- For Christmas I received a Levian ring from JBR. 2 months later the main stone fell out. I was just folding laundry, I didn't hit it on anything. I also only wear the ring on weekends, jewelry is not allowed at work. The store was going to have it repaired, I insisted on a new one. They gave me the one in the case which needed to be sized. So they sized the one I had, I thought, and sent it out. Over a week later I go pick it up and they sized it to the wrong size.

The manager kept telling me it's the same as before. Finally she looked it up and they were in fact wrong. So it's being sent out yet again. The customer service is terrible there, and no one knows what they are talking about. My husband and I both spend a lot of money in there and we will now be going somewhere else.

Replies
Don't Let Them Get Over You
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

FORT GRATIOT, MICHIGAN -- In 2013 I purchased earrings on my account with them with a deposit down to get the no interest terms for pay back. Long story short, after months I finally looked at my statement and seen I was being charged interest. It took a whole two days for them to fix and credit my account back for the interest I had been paying. This should have never happened in the the first place.

Take pictures during purchase at the store, before the 6 months inspection and at the store again after they inspect and especially before and after repairs right at the store so they can't lie, grounds to be taken to court cause you'll have proof. Record if you need to cause I'd be really pissed and close my account if they ever try and screw me over again.

Replies
NEVER BUY FROM THIS COMPANY - SHADY COMPANY
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AURORA, ILLINOIS -- JB Robinson has the WORST customer service of any company I have ever dealt with! The customer is NOT their first priority, their commission is! BE WARNED!

Here is my story: I bought an engagement ring in November 2011 from JBR Fox Valley, Aurora, IL. I proposed in January 2012. My fiancée wasn't happy with the ring so we took it back to JBR to pick a new setting and change the prongs because she didn't like the ones on the ring. The ring came back in the new setting; however, the setting/diamond was now crooked, there were gaps on the sides of the diamond, and the prongs were different sizes. So, we took the ring back AGAIN to get a diamond that was slightly larger in the table to cover the gaps, have the setting/diamond straightened, and have the prongs resized and consistent.

The ring came back and now the diamond that was put in the ring was crookedly cut and they put the original prongs back on the ring that my fiancée specifically said she didn't want in the beginning. We took this botched up ring home hoping to just live with it since we were so sick of not being heard. Some time had passed and my fiancé just thought she would get a wedding band and just wear that (sadly enough). Well, the whole process started again.

We ordered the band but wanted it shaved down to match the engagement ring. It came back unshaved. It doesn't even remotely match the engagement ring and we were told that was the only band that goes with that ring (which we found it was not – there are a few to choose from). So, we left again feeling defeated and very unhappy.

After numerous attempted phone calls to the store, and then calls not being returned, and visits to the store; we decided to just call JBR customer service to see what could be done, and hopefully just return everything. Customer service told us we had to go to a store, any store, to have the ring inspected and that they could help us. We went to the Joliet, IL location since we were sick of the lack of service and botched up repairs through the Fox Valley location. The assistant manager at Joliet, IL called corporate while we were there and corporate investigated our purchase and repair history.

Part of the investigation is them calling the store of which the ring was purchased. Apparently, the assistant manager at Fox Valley is married to the manager at Joliet. The assistant manager at Fox Valley told her husband at Joliet not to return or exchange our ring and so he did not. In fact, he wasn't even on site that night but he called the Joliet store and specifically told the assistant manager to who was researching for us, not to exchange or return our purchase! WHAT?!

All we would have liked at this point in time was to not be treated like criminals and for JBR to compromise and at least let us return the wedding band; especially with the pattern of returns, visits and frustrations we've had with them! I really hope corporate JBR is aware of the shadiness that is happening amongst their stores! WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE EVER!!! Social media sites…here we come! Don't let this happen to you! Go to Zales to buy your diamonds!

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Waste Your Money/Time of Warranty Poor Repair
By -

STERLING HEIGHTS, MICHIGAN -- 02/27/00. Purchased ring and insurance for approximately $240. Ring had to be inspected every six months to keep warranty coverage. Total cost $3112.00. 03/28/09. Ring needed prong repaired; I missed the last 6 month check up, so I lost insurance coverage. Prong cost $88.00 to repair. 04/05/09. Re-purchased warranty for $159.00 after last repair. 12/24/10. Ring needed repair… fix prong and tighten center stone. Salesperson was able to rotate the diamond in the setting.

01/07/11. Approximate date of pick up. Did not notice color difference immediately because I did not put ring on right away. I was tanning and often do not wear my ring(s)/jewelry. 01/17/11. This is an approximate date. I did not get the yellow slip back when I returned the ring this time. I returned to JB Robinson with the ring because of a copper color across the top of the ring and around the diamonds. The ring was sent back to the repair shop once again and I waited…

02/15/11. My husband stopped to pick the ring up. It was still copper color and he refused to take it as it was. The yellow slip stated “Pls make gold: gold color in cracks and everywhere”. The band around my finger was not discolored nor was the inside of the ring that touches my skin. The gold was across the top and around the diamonds. JB Robinson put on slip: RUSH NEEDS IMMEDIATELY.

March '11. We were promised by store manager that the ring would be fixed to satisfaction. When I picked it up next, it looked perfectly fine. I wore it about 2-3 weeks and noticed the copper coloring resurfacing all around the diamonds again. At this point, I started to do some research of my own and found out that when gold is heated at too high of a temperature, the gold takes on a copper color. This occurs because high temperature causes the copper alloy to rise to the top.

The way to fix this is to polish it to remove the copper tone or plate the gold, which is what I believe the repair person tried to do, but the color surfaced again. I forgot to mention that while looking at the ring under my classroom microscope, one of the prongs had a hole in it. This was verified by ** and one other store personnel.

I called the store; they contacted the repair shop. The shop said that they would need to “test the ring for chemicals” and that they had never heard of a ring turning copper color. Ironically, this is how jewelers make Tri-Gold items by heating gold to different temperatures. At this point, I was a bit skeptical about the knowledge of the repair shop. I shared with her my findings in my research. I was then given the Customer Care number 1-800-732-8131 and connected with ** at ext. 6176. I went through the WHOLE ordeal with her one more time.

She told me that I was to return the ring to the store and they were to send it out to another repair shop and not the original one because it would keep coming back in the same condition. I had told ** that I was taking the ring to another jeweler to verify or disqualify my findings about the ring being exposed to high temperatures before I left it at JB Robinson. ** assured me that they would not try to pull something over on me.

04/19-11. I got a call from ** as advised by the manager, **, because she wanted to get the message out to me since she would be off until Thursday. ** told me that the repair shop determined that a chemical changed the color and perhaps I was taking a new medication or using something that caused the color to change. This is absolutely ridiculous. First of all, any medications that I use is what I have been taking for years. I am not using new cleaner nor have I come in contact with chemicals. I asked **, “If it was indeed a chemical causing the color change, why isn't the color changed on the underside of the ring… that part that comes in contact with my skin?”

The copper color is only around the diamonds, which is exactly where the prong was fixed. I was put on hold about four times over the next 20 minutes so that she could try a find a contact number for me. ** then turned the phone over to **. Things went from bad to worse. Long story even shorter, ** told me that they contacted customer service and that they stand behind what the jewelry repair store stated… the gold was breaking down because of a chemical and there is nothing they can do about it. I was to do whatever I needed (hire a lawyer, etc.) to recoup the damage done to the ring.

04/20/11. I have contacted ** twice… once last night after the call from JB Robinson and once at 10 am. 04/21/11. At this point, I have now left four messages for ** at Customer Care and no return call. 04/22/11. Ring was picked up from store. Repair stated that “tarnishing not caused by shop. poss. chem. contact or body chem.. mixing w/ lotions, perfume, etc. on guest.” Ring was polished once again. The underside of the diamond again shows a reflection of copper coloring.

04/23/11. Taking ring to Massoud Jewelers in Troy for evaluation. As they suspected, the other repair shop used a “low karat solder” and the prongs were pitted with tiny holes in the metal. There was no indication of “chemical” contact or body chemical. They stated that it was clearly repair related. With absolutely no help from JB Robinson Jewelers and the fact that I spent $400.00 for warranty/repairs, I had to purchase a new band to set my solitaire diamond and the six enhancers into. The cost was $1800.

Finally, I heard back from **. She called the home phone, which I never gave her, instead of contacting me by my cell phone. She claims that she was out of the office, even though her answering message stated that she was busy with other customers and would get back with me as soon as possible. She, too, said that they stand behind JB Robinson repair shop. No surprise there.

04/23/11. Now is my turn to let other suspecting customers really know how JB Robinson treats their customers and their customer care service. I will be contacting Angie's List, Consumer Reporting, Better Business Bureau, Facebook, Channel 7's Ruth to the Rescue, etc.

Replies
Buyer Beware
By -

OHIO -- If you are planning on purchasing from JRB or if you have already done so, such as myself, please consider this. My following experience, described below, show that JRB do not stand behind their product.

My wife, picked out her engagement ring from JBR. I admit I wasn't too enthusiastic about doing business with them but I was open minded, and furthermore I was stuck! They presented a slick sale pitch to me that the Extended Service Plan was included in the stated price. What they should have said was, "the Extended Service Plans (ESP) is additional, optional, and included in the bottom line price that I am telling you". I found this to be deceiving and borderline unethical. And I wound up returning to the store with my itemized receipt to get my money back for the ESP. Couldn't they have just been upfront and sold me on the benefits of the ESP rather than try to deceive me.

Furthermore, they boast that the diamond mountings are covered by a replacement guarantee as long as I have the ring inspected every so often. Sounds reasonable, right? Wrong! What they don't tell you is that if they notice or CLAIM to notice a loose stone, you must pay them for the repair in order to continue the replacement guarantee.

Why wouldn't they just fix it and be glad that my diligence prevented them from having to replace the stone? And, if you chose not to pay for the so called needed repair, they will make notation on your account. How is that a guarantee? The only thing they guarantee is that if I pay them to keep the stoned set, they will never have to replace my stone!

Upon finding a loose stone on my wife's ring, I stated my discontent with this cleaver little loop hole in their plan. I then, very respectfully, stated that I was going to take the ring to an independent jeweler for the repair. My motivation to go to an independent jeweler included the price of service, turn around time, quality of service, and the proximity to my home. If those benefits didn't pan out, I would have certainly returned to JBR.

Upon hearing that I was going to shop around the sales associate became enraged. She even hesitated to give me the rings back! I plan on returning to JBR after I get my repair to have my ring reinspected to continue the replacement guarantee. I can't wait to hear what they say about that!

Lastly, within one year, the plating on my wife ring is wearing off. It needs replated. Weather, this is normal or not is not the concern. My concern is that this should not be acceptable for any ring that is $1000+. Like I just said, I am aware that this will happen, but it should not be acceptable to a consumer. Consumers demand quality! My advice to any consumer would be to avoid JBR. They clearly do not stand behind their product. I believe that good customer service will generate future business by virtue, it should not be designed as a ploy to lasso good customers into more charges.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

J.B. Robinson Jewelers Rating:
Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.3 out of 5, based on 13 ratings and
33 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
J.B. Robinson Jewelers
14600 Lakeside Circle, Unit 1230 Lakeside Mall
Sterling Heights, MI 48313
00-800-9001-0044 (ph)
www.jbrobinson.com
Compare Jewelry Stores