Preview Review

Next Review

J.C. Penney Company, Inc. Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Cashier Cut Up My J.C. Penny Card!
By -

BREA, CALIFORNIA -- I have been a LONG time good outstanding customer with J. C. Penney's for YEARS! I am NOT the type to get store credit cards because it just ruins my over all credit score. But since I use J.C. Penny so much I did accept theirs and have had one for at least 15 yrs now. Well I just recently went to JCP and bought a few things and went to purchase them. Took forever to find someone to check me out. Everyone was looking around the store for a cashier. Very frustrating! I finally snag a girl and I gave her a card that was mailed to me that allows me to receive a FREE JCP catalog. She takes the card and tries to scan it and it doesn't work.

I TRIED to tell her I've gotten free catalogs before with these cards and you DON'T need to scan it or do anything! I said NICELY..."you just need to take my card that says I get a catalog and give me that book." (The end!) Well she makes a BIG production out of it. Long story but she gets another guy that works there and he tells her just what I did..."you DON'T need to scan anything...just give the customer the catalog." (I swear. How stupid can someone be.) So now that she ALREADY has been a bit annoyed and frustrated I had her the few items I bought for my hubby.

I give her my JCP card and she runs it through their machine and says "Have you used your card in the last 8 months"? I said "YES". She said "When?" I said "I don't remember the last day I used it." I've been busy going through cancer treatment. I said "maybe a few months ago or so?" She said "well it MUST have been 8 months or longer because if you DON'T use your card in that 8 month period they will cancel your card." I said "What? I've NEVER heard of such a thing. This is ridiculous!" She starts RAMBLING on and on trying to convince me this is company policy and it happens.

I have a freaking headache and was TRYING to be nice. (God only knows why?) She starts telling me I can pay cash or OPEN A NEW card with JCP. I told her "I don't like that idea because NOW on my credit it will look like I am opening up another credit card and that affects my over all credit score." I let her know I'm not happy with that and I again told her my OLD card HAS to still be good. She rambles on again and convinces me to open up a new JCP card.

And with that I will get 10% off my purchase that day and ALSO another coupon for 15% off on my NEXT purchase. (I just WANTED to go home. It had been a long day so I said OK.) (Kidding myself in the head now!!!) I get home and this is STILL bothering me that she said I had to open a new account since I had not used my card in 8 months and I KNOW I had. I look it up and it had been 4 months since my last purchase at JCP. So NOW I am PISSED. I call the store manager and tell her what happened with this cashier and how she actually CUT UP MY CARD! The manager said "you have to be kidding." I said "I wish I was."

I told the manager the entire story that the cashier says you guys cancel cards if they aren't used in an 8 month period of time. She said "that is just not correct." (DUH) She asked if the cashier called anyone or anything about this? I said no. Just told me matter of fact that this is the way it was. I also told the manager maybe this girl tells customers that so she can get CREDIT for having customers opening up NEW accounts. The manager said "she wouldn't do that." I said "it looks that way to me!" Plus I told the manager I wasn't happy that this girl is taking all my information at the desk and asking for MY SS number to put into the computer.

I said "how do I know she isn't trying to get my info and use my identity." I also told that manager while she was doing all this she also told me after she punched in all my info that I was APPROVED for $2000 and that is REALLY GOOD. (Why the ** is she paying attention to how much credit I am entitled too? That is NONE of her freaking business!) I told her "$2000 is low. My OLD JCP credit account allowed me over $5000. So NOW you've cut it up and lowered what my credit amount at the store." So after telling the manager all this she said she would talk to the girl and call me back.

She did call right back and she DID APOLOGIZE for what happened and said she doesn't understand why the girl did this? But she would like to mail me a $25.00 gift certificate and as far as re-issuing me my OLD card number I would have to call another 800 # and see if they could open it back up and close the new one the dumb girl opened for me. What a major pain! The manager also told me that the cashier told her that she called on the phone and talked to another manager that day about my card and was instructed to do that with my card. I told this manager that she is a FLAT OUT LIAR.

She called NOBODY because I even asked the cashier that day to call someone and she wouldn't! The manager did believe me of course and again she just kept apologizing. She said she doesn't know of any stores that cut up your cards. (And believe me. This girl literally cut up MY card!) So other than an apologize and a free $25.000 gift card I called this guy at the 800 number to re-issue my OLD MasterCard number I had with JCP. I asked him NOW that this girl canceled my old card and opened a NEW one, I said "isn't that going to reflect on my credit score that I opened a NEW account?"

He said he was very sorry but yes it would. :( Darn it all!!! I work SO HARD to keep GOOD credit and she does this. There is no way to remove it. Now it looks like I opened a new account one day and closed it the next day. Why do I HAVE TO PAY FOR THEIR MISTAKE!!! So needless to say I am pissed. JCP should be careful who they're hiring. I spend good money in there. Well I did. Not sure if I'll even activate my new card they just sent me. A $25.00 gift card doesn't seem like enough after all I went through. I think she should have had this girl call me personally and apologize. So BEWARE if you have a JCP card and get told some cockeyed story like I did.

I REALLY and truly believe this girl did this to either get my information for identity theft. (Why else would she notice how much credit JCP OK'd me for?) That was strange to me. Or she is getting CREDIT for each new customer she gets to sign up for a JCP credit account. I have a cousin in retail and they get credit when they talk someone into opening a store credit account. I am so ticked off at this store...that idiot cashier...she couldn't even give me my FREE catalog without a major hassle. Where do they find these people? (I'm done with my rant now.)

Sorry but I'm still pissed and just thought some should be warned. Not sure what game this cashier was playing. At my age I should have known better. I've never had ANY store tell me they will cancel your card if you don't use it. JCP has gone down hill anyway. It's a shame but soon they will be shutting down their stores like all the other ones are since they have all Hispanic clothes in there and nothing for us white people. (They SHOULD have clothes for EVERYONE not just ONE race.) Nor cashiers that know what they are doing. I think I will shop elsewhere. JCP is waste of my time.

Never Contacted Me. Updated August 1, resolving in 30 days

HUNTLEY, ILLINOIS -- I moved several years ago and due to a recent credit report found out Penney's did not keep my current information up to date in their billing section. They did not change my address or keep a current record of my phone number. Because of this they supposedly billed me for items I purchased a year ago, but I never received a bill since they failed to update my records. This bill went to collections but NO ONE has the decency to tell me what items I purchased and what store I purchased them from. I spoke to the guy at litigations and he was quite sensible.

I also spoke to JC PENNEY and was told they no longer have records on me so they couldn't possibly tell me what my purchase was. I spoke to AIS and they also said they were unable to tell me the items I purchased. I was given at least 4 to 5 other phone numbers to call to get answers to my questions. Most of the people I spoke with were pleasant but Tamara ** at AIS was rude and actually hung up on me when I told her my biggest problem was paying for a purchase I (supposedly made) and not being reminded of what it was from a year ago.

I asked her "Would you remember what you bought one year ago, when you have bought numerous items from this store over the years?" It especially bothers me that I was a past employee of Penney's with very good standing. How is it that I have paid for items by check and other means with my address appearing on there within the past year but yet their computers don't have a current update? How do they continue to send me sale fliers and catalogs but their systems did not have my current address, etc. I am very disappointed with Penney's and will pass the word about what has transpired.

The bill has been paid and I still don't know what I paid for, I would appreciate knowing and getting an apology from JC PENNEY. I hope this has been cleared on my credit record!!! Humans are a species of constant error! I had a check off list of all my contacts to inform of an address change before we moved. Was the error due to a computer glitch, data entry entered error or did I somehow miss that one company? Regardless they have had numerous opportunity by recent purchases to come across my current address and phone number. The refusal to remind me of what my (supposed) purchase is totally uncalled for.

I take pride in getting my bills paid and show a strong history of this. I would not take the time or bother to let the public know about this unless I felt it would be of benefit to those who care about such things as I do. I realize there are many people that are without conscience and don't feel that they have to pay for their purchases but thank God I am not one of them. Currently thieves are becoming craftier at their profession. As a consumer we have the right to know what we are paying for regardless of the company who is the informant. In this case the collection agency should be able to provide that information.

I still believe an apology should be initiated and I have the RIGHT to know what I paid for. For the third time on my credit report an alert has been sent to me showing the same unpaid bill from Penney's. The only change on the information posted is 3 different June dates. I spoke to Litigations and asked why they continue to post this since the bill has been paid. Litigations said the payment will not show for up to 90 days and this would be on my credit record for 7 years, what kind of doo doo is this?

I also told them I want a receipt of my payment. Litigations mentioned as far as having some proof of what my purchase was from a year ago I have to write the credit company who posted the alerts. All this for the (supposed) purchase of item(s) totaling under $100. I wrote the credit company and I have written Penney's and consumer care. The credit companies response was I must write them back with valid id's ensuring them that I am who in fact I say I am or no such luck to find out what my item(s) is that I just paid for. (Explain to me please why anyone else would be interested in clearing my credit.)

My unrest will continue until someone answers my question about "What was I billed for and what location did I purchase it from." Anyone have any suggestions how I can get some results? I spoke to the Vice President of Operations, Jason ** and this issue is near being resolved. It will take 30 days to adjust my credit rating back to good standing. I will also be reimbursed for the extra charges that were applied to the bill. The error took place when the item I ordered went to the current address and the bill went to an old address. I understand Penney's is in the planning for querying addresses so this type of error does not continue.

I spoke to Jason last week and he was uncertain how long it would take to clear this matter up with my credit companies but by Wednesday he had the final answer. I appreciate everything Jason has done for me and this is the type of man you want working for you, one who is good for his word.

The Barstool Bungle
By -

MAPLE GROVE, MINNESOTA -- My Grandfather was generous enough to give my husband and me our choice of bars tools from the JC Penney's catalog as a gift. We made our choice and they were ordered on 4/23/07. It is now 6/18/07 and I STILL have not received my bar stools! The first time they came in (5/5/07) the oak wood was coming off of the metal part of the stool. Since then they have been ordered 5 times and each time they've come in with a CHERRY finish...not oak! Each time JC Penney tells me they will have the stools "hand picked" from the warehouse to ensure the right finish and each time they come back wrong!

I then asked to have them shipped to a store closer to my home so I wouldn't have to drive 45 minutes one way to discover another mistake and was told that would cost my grandfather an additional $100.00 for a delivery fee! I couldn't believe it! After some discussion I got them to send the order to the store near my home. By now it's 5/30/07. I was told the stools would be "Hand picked" (Heard that before) and sent to the store near my home and they would be in on 6/6/07.

I called on 6/6/07 and was on hold for 7 minutes (I timed it) I was told there was a delay because they were being "hand picked" from the warehouse and they wouldn't arrive until the following week. I called again on 6/13/07 and was on hold for 5 minutes (I timed it). I was told they didn't make the truck and they would be in on 6/15/07. I called on 6/15/07 sat on hold for 10 minutes and spoke with the same individual I spoke with on 6/13 and he told me the stools had never been ordered. (Even though my grandfather's credit card had been charged). I asked him how could that be when he told me 2 days before that they didn't make the delivery truck.

How could something that has "never been ordered" be assigned to be on a delivery truck (But not make it on to the truck)? He could not give me ANY explanation for not having my product when he told me just 2 days before that they would arrive the day we were speaking. He also could not tell me how something that has been charged to my grandfather's credit card "never got ordered". He then did something that REALLY upset me. He started laughing and said "I really can't believe this." I asked him to please excuse me if I failed to see the humor in this situation. His laughter was very short lived. I then demanded to speak with a Manager.

I explained the entire scenario to the manager and she was very sympathetic and said she was going to look into it and get back to me with some answers. Well, here it is 6/18/07 and I had to call JC Penney AGAIN because no one called me back. The manager told me the same thing she had told me from last week and has yet to explain to me how employees of JC Penney can LIE TO THEIR CUSTOMERS and never be held accountable for it!

My grandfather's credit card has seen more activity with these bar stools than it has the ENTIRE time he's had the card! This is the LAST time I EVER do my shopping with JC Penney and I plan on telling every person I come in contact with what kind of substandard customer service and incompetence is being conducted within their company.

Do Not Buy From JC Penny (Poor Service & Money Issues)
By -

MYRTLE BEACH, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Do not buy from JC Penny! I ordered baby furniture including crib which can convert to full bed, hutch, and conversion rails (totaling above $1500.00). This was ordered on the 4th of the month. The website and customer service employee informed me of a delivery time of 2 weeks. They stated that the delivery company would call me to set up delivery time. A few days after the 2 weeks I called to be sure I had not missed the call. The first time I was told that they didn't run my card and had a question of the address verification on the card, however all the information was correct and the associate could not figure out why it was in there like that.

She said it must have been a error sorry. My credit company said no verification was ever done. Again I was told 2 weeks delivery time. This is just the beginning!! Thinking this was the issue and now resolved I looked forward again to getting my order. Another 2 weeks passes, no merchandise. Upon calling I am told they have not shipped the order and not sure why but that it has been processed. They would check into it and inform me of the issue. Another week no return call from JC Penny. I'm calling again. They said there must have been an issue with the vendor processing and completing the order. They now have it and should be delivered in 2 weeks.

During this my son is now born and we have no furniture for his arrival. Thanks JC Penny! Settling down a little I call once again, since again 2 weeks no delivery or call. I get informed that it finally has been shipped and I should get it any day. A few days pass no delivery or call so here I go, call again. Now they say the delivery company has it and it's in transit (again). Fed up I insist to call the delivery company myself to get a status. Finally a true fact from JC Penny they do have it and are changing trucks to have it delivered. The delivery company was super nice, my only problems are with the huge company of JC Penny.

The delivery company filled what they said they would do. Now upon delivering to my door there is a tear in the box. According to the delivery guy (who kept his word) the condition of the box was as they received it. We decided to look into it since JC Penny told me earlier if I accepted it for any reason there would be a charge to ship them back. Cannot imagine the struggle I may have with this! However if I refused it there would be no charge. I figured I better look with all the misleading statements I have been told so far. Guess what, it's damaged! The frame is broken in two and the back board torn off.

So on the 16th of the following month, almost 6 weeks later - yeah should have been a 2 week delivery, I refuse this order and call JC Penny. I am assured that I will have my credit within a few working days, Wed the 21st at the latest. She took the time right then and verified the delivery company had the merchandise. As of today the 1st of the 3rd month I get my statement and no credit, called the card company and no credit. So here I go call JC Penny and get a supervisor. She sees the notes from earlier and says she cannot help me since it's night time. They took my $1500 at night but cannot help me get it back! Now they want me to continue to wait.

She mentions that a request for the credit is still being reviewed. Now I am days away from 2 months for a 2 week delivery and they have had the merchandise almost 2 weeks and I still a newborn son with no furniture. Again, thanks JC Penny, guess your kids don't have bedrooms either. Why do you even sell this stuff? I just want my $1500 credited to my card so I can buy my kid his furniture somewhere else that treats their customers better.

Sent Them a Payment by Accident, They Have One Excuse After the Other. Sent Me to 2 Collection Agency.
By -

In June of 04, I click on JCPenney and sent them $50.00 through my online banking. I didn't owe them anything. I just sent them money by mistake. I called them and told them what I had done and they issued me a check for the amount. In May of 05 I began receiving a bill from a collection agency. I called and they were to investigate it, but never heard anything else from them. A month or 2 later another was sending me a bill. I called and had a shouting match with the collection agency Nationwide representative. I called JCPenney again.

They told me that I owed them $50.00 and the rest was late fee's and finance charges. I explained what I had done in 05 and did get a refund check, the rep told me they were not supposed to send a check to me. Well is that my fault?

They removed the fees and charges, and begin billing me again. I called and spoke to one of the supervisors. She told me that they never received the check and that my bank probably canceled it since I didn't owe. I contacted the bank and got the statement showing where indeed I did send it and NO they would not cancel an electronic payment. This was an online conversation and I sent that and the statement to them. They sent me bills with new finance charges and late fees.

I called again and this time they told me that they issued me 2 checks for that refund. After becoming irate with them I asked for an investigation and to send me the copies of the checks showing my signature on them. I received a copy of one check. I called back, the supervisor this time told me that they sent 2 check copies and didn't I get the 2nd one. I told her "no, sure didn't, got 1".

Again I told her to send me proof, copies of the 2 checks. I got the same copy of one check and still getting charged late fees and finance charges. I've sent my 2nd letter to them and have called this company 7 times. They are calling my house and just sent me a brand new credit card. lol

They say I signed up with their master card and they sent me the 2nd check. This is the most ridiculous company and the supervisors, representatives are about as dense as a bird. I am fed up with this. They have no right to put a charge on my card when in the first place it wasn't a purchase, it was a mistake and if they sent me 2 checks it's their mistake. I told them when they prove that I received 2 checks I will gladly pay them the $50.00. I have filed a complaint with the FTC and whoever else I can complain about these thieves to. It's mind boggling how corporations think they can just rip you off like this.

Slogan Consumer Items
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ANY, NEVADA -- The slogan does not make any sense. "When it fits you feel it"??? The same thing could be said of purchases made in any store. I am particularly displeased that they discontinued so many items which were reliable with regard to size, color, etc., i.e.. Cabin Creek jeans for women. I think JCP has done a disservice to its customers. They now have inferior merchandise and nonexistent customer service. Too bad. That was a good company for so many years. I'm sure Mr. James Cash Penney must be appalled at the direction his company has taken.

Decision Time
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FAYETTEVILLE, GEORGIA -- I decided to go with another vendor and after paying $2500 - $3000 per window, I thought maybe I could do better with JCP (price wise). After reading the horror stories, my gal seems to have it together. She comes out to my house, discusses the window treatments/fabric I want, orders the material and sews them herself! 6 weeks later she installs them. I haven't had any problems with her. I think I will be sticking with her. You get what you pay for!

Cabin Creek Shoes Discontinued
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KANNAPOLIS, NORTH CAROLINA -- I have RA. The ONLY shoe I can wear to church is the flat Cabin Creek shoes. I drove thirty miles yesterday to buy a new pair of shoes. I found out they discontinued Cabin Creek. I am sooooooo mad. Can't find another store close by that sells them. I just had three shots in my back and one in my hip so I can walk. So, WHERE can I find this shoe? The internet states J.C.Penny has them and they DON'T. Now that is my complaint. I will never buy anything else J.C Penny. Thanks.

Discontinuing Cabin Creek Women's Oxford Blouses
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- Why would JC Penney discontinue a brand that so many people love and have become used to buying year after year? I have bought Cabin Creek Oxford 60/40 shirts from JCP for more than 20 years. They are the best. How could JCP discontinue this line?

JC Penney
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SMITHHAVEN MALL, LAKE GROVE, NY, NEW YORK -- You've taken away plus size clothing such as cabin creek and St. John's bay. Hey marketing; demographics is getting older, not younger. Thank goodness you still have some Alfred Dunner but we need cabin creek jeans, etc. And St. John's bay cotton tank tops, etc. Btw, your younger line is great; why not do both. In addition, your website is not compatible for me to online shop.

Top of Page | Next Page >

J.C. Penney Company, Inc. Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 61 ratings and
203 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
J.C. Penney Company, Inc.
6501 Legacy Drive
Plano, TX 75024-3698
972-431-1000 (ph)
972-431-1977 (fax)
Compare Department Stores