Preview Review

Next Review

Jenn-Air Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Be Forewarned, Do Not Buy Jenn Air Products!!!
By -

BENTON HARBOR, MI -- BE FOREWARNED, DO NOT BUY JENN-AIR PRODUCTS!!! I recently spent nearly $9000 on Jenn-Air kitchen appliances (stove, refrigerator, dishwasher & microwave) and boy do I regret it. I was supposed to receive a $2300 rebate in 6 to 8 weeks. That was 12 weeks ago. I called them last week and they were very apologetic for having mishandled it and said that everything was now okay and assured me that I would have my rebate in 6 to 8 weeks!

Hold on just a minute, I've already wait 12 weeks. "Can this be expedited"? "I'm sorry sir but that is not an option". "Can I speak to a supervisor please". "I'm sorry sir but there are no one available". "Can you have one return my call please"? "Yes sir, I'd be happy to". That was almost a week ago and I have not received the call yet!

Now let me tell you about the damaged stove that was installed (scratched front panel and scratched and bent top). I immediately called the dealer who gave me the name and number of a service tech who could fix it. I called and left multiple messages. After 3 weeks I finally received a call back on a Saturday night at 9:00 PM. He said he would call me the following Monday letting me know when the parts would be in. That was a month ago. After many more non-returned phone calls I finally received a call from the tech on Friday telling me the parts were in and he wanted to know when he could install them.

Did I mention that I had called Jenn-Air earlier that day and complained about the service problem I was having? An appointment was set up for Monday morning between 9:00 and 10:00 AM. I left the house at 11:30 and he still had not shown up or called. I am also having problems with one of the stoves burner (it takes 40 minutes to bring 4 cups of water to a boil in a 2 1/2 quart pan) and the ice dispenser on the fridge does not work. On my Friday phone call, Jenn-Air had set up an appointment with a different company to take care of those problems.

So, I called Jenn-Air this afternoon to let them know about the missed appointment and to request that the new company also make the repairs to the stove top. I was then informed that they had no record about the cosmetic damage to the stove and that since I had, had the stove for more than 30 days that damage would not be covered by them and I would be responsible for it myself. They even told me that they had no contact information on the person that was supposed to have fixed it and that he was not an authorized repair facility.

But on the previous Friday the Jenn-Air representative I had spoken with had no problem calling him and addressing the issue. He is even listed on the internet as an authorized servicer. What about the fact that the damage was reported to the factory authorized dealer within their time frame? They don't care! A report was never forwarded to Jenn-Air so I am now responsible for the repairs! It is one wall after another with this company! I will never buy or recommend Jenn-Air products ever again. This company DOES NOT stand behind what they sell!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Jenn Air Will Not Replace Defective Unit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FREDERICK, MARYLAND -- I purchased a Jenn-Air Down Draft unit after having one for almost twenty years, it is a great unit enabling me to BBQ indoors all year round. I purchased a new Jenn-Air Down Draft to replace it through Sears in November 2013.

I am writing this report in mid April 2014 and have had the unit replaced three times due to DEFECTIVE units being sent to me from Jenn-Air. They have a constant loud vibration that is caused when the down draft fan is turned on. Sears continues to replace the unit in good faith but I called Jenn-Air directly to see if they could send me a unit in good condition. Jenn-Air instead sent two repair companies to my home to verify the problem. Both repair companies stated that the unit was making a terrible noise when the down draft was turned on.

When I called Jenn-Air they had their own version of the most recent report stating that I refused to have it repaired (a repair was never offered to me). I happened to have the report in front of me and read it to their customer representative ** from Tennessee who by the way was very short with me not transferring me to a manager. I countered to her that if a brand new unit needs to be repaired it has something wrong with it; which means I was sold a defective unit. Per **'s direction Jenn-Air refuses to replace it.

I will take it up with Sears but I will never purchase a Jenn-Air product again. Even when their own repair people deem a brand new Jenn-Air product defective they will not replace it. Stupid or just plain old dishonest!! Certainly not the high quality product they try to sell themselves as.

Replies
Jenn-Air Cooktop Inadequate for Anyone Who Actually Cooks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a new Jenn-Air JDS9860 range in November, 2013 and was dismayed to discover that only one burner had a temperature setting of low. The others only go down to Medium, which is too hot for many cooking procedures. It is impossible to caramelize onions, simmer a sauce, and melt chocolate at the same time.

When I complained to the company, I was told that I should have had better consumer information before purchasing the stove. But it never occurred to me that a burner would not have a full temperature range, and I never asked that question. This is a very expensive stove, and I find myself constantly improvising with burner guards and shifting pots around to the one low burner, which is inconveniently located in the back.

Replies
Quality Appliance --- NOT!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Purchased Jenn-Air dishwasher locally, $997.00, 2008. What a rip off. We have been battling this monster for the last year including service calls, $$$$, parts, control board, $$$$, and we are still doing dishes at the sink. Our nearest service agent, 70 miles, charges $100.00 just to look at an appliance, let alone parts. We spent over $5K, all new Jenn-Air kitchen appliances in 2008.

First, 2011, the microwave crashed. Service agent indicated, "when it comes to microwaves you might as well throw them away and buy new." Sure as hell not going to purchase another Jenn-Air microwave. Now the lousy Jenn-Air dishwasher isn't working do we take it to the landfill also? We were told that Jenn-Air brand was Top-Notch in appliances B.S. We are holding our breath wondering when the Jenn Air refrigerator and gas stove will crash. Take our advice, NEVER, purchase a Jenn-Air kitchen appliance. Your life will be less stressful and you can quit your blood pressure medicine.

Replies
Advertisement
Jenn Air Is Horrible! Terrible Customer Support
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON, WASHINGTON -- My Jenn-Air dishwasher model # JB3200AWSS was purchase in Aug 7, 2012 from Seattle Home Appliance in Seattle Washington. Seattle Home Appliance contact info is: 18811 Bothell Way NE, Bothell, WA 98011, (425) 485-0552. Electric touchpad and control panel has been replaced 3 times in a twelve month period, and the drain pump was replaced. I called Jenn-Air right before my one year warranty was to expire to express serious concern about the state of this extremely unreliable dishwasher and they gave me an extended two year warranty. No less than two weeks after they granted the extended warranty, the control panel touchpad went out again.

The last time the machine was to be repaired, I asked for the dishwasher to be replaced. I believe the machine is a lemon and according to Jenn-Air, they are only willing to continue repairing the machine and not replace it, per my new 2 year warranty. With the amount of time the dishwasher was out of commission in the last twelve months, I have calculated that I have spent about one month hand washing dishes while I wait for parts and service.

I am furious that no one at Jenn-Air will resolve this mess and replace my lemon dishwasher! This machine has been consistently faulty since we purchased it. I think four repairs in a twelve month period in unacceptable and I have asked in no uncertain terms for a replacement, and my request has been denied. Here are the repairs made by Seattle Home Appliance: Again, machine was purchased Aug 7, 2012.

12/05/2012 - Touch pad replacement (part #W10208764), CNTRL-ELEC + CORECHARGE10 (part #W10285178); 5/28/2013 - Pump Drain Replacement (part #W10158351); 7/15/2013 - Touch Pad replacement (part #W10208764); 8/16/2013 - Touch Pad Replacement (part #W10208764).

Replies
Jenn Air Oven Glass Shatters on First Self-Clean
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- A two year old oven and the inside glass shattered within 10 minutes of starting self-clean function for very first time. Obvious from break pattern that it started from the outside edge of glass buried within the frame, not from user impact. Never seen anything like it even in 30-year old cheap ovens. Jenn-Air had replaced door fronts at time of installation because they had come dented, but only replaced outer faces, which has the outer glass piece, not the entire door which would have included the (supposedly) heat-tolerant interior glass. Refused to repair for free.

When we called service number it answered and forced you to engage in a vacation survey before you could proceed with call. Apparently that's the way their phone system works when business hours have ended. They can't just tell you they're closed. They have to squeeze a survey out of you so they can make money on your wasted phone call and time. Never seen anything like it. These are overpriced pieces of crap, DON'T BUY. Takes a half hour to Preheat to 400 degrees. All you get is a fancy name at a fancy price. This not the company it was a decade ago. Don't be fooled.

Replies
Poor Track Record for Jenn-Air Slide-in Range
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

We purchased a Jenn-Air Dual Fuel Downdraft Slide-In Range, Model #JDS9860BDS, in April of 2008. Overall, I like the way it cooks, but I am definitely NOT happy with its reliability! The first problem to arise in September of 2011 was a non-functioning igniter for the two left burners -- the Sealed Gas Burner Cartridge. These burners are a single module that pops out if you want to use a grill or griddle accessory instead of the two burners. Since these two burners are our "go-to" burners, it was annoying to have to use a Bic lighter stick to ignite them. Luckily the warranty covered the cost of replacement.

Next, in July of 2012, some of the functions on the touchscreen would not work, and the far right knob broke off! We had to replace the user interface control panel. Luckily, again, parts were covered ($210), but we had to pay for the service call, I believe ($89). A new knob was ordered and finally replaced. I also had the technician check to see if we could level the range. It turns out there's no easy way to adjust the leveling of the burners, even though the range itself is level.

Now, in June of 2014, the igniter on the two left burners is out again! This time it will cost me $269 to replace the module, or, gosh, I can purchase a service contract that would cover full repairs for the next year for $319.95! We'll use the Bic lighter stick! And write this review!

Replies
30 Inch Gas Downdraft Cooktop
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Purchased this new in June 2010. Replaced Kenmore electric downdraft to be able to cook during power outages. On this unit when igniting one burner the igniters for all four burners would spark by design. Also had grille module for indoor grilling. When inserted and burner lit, the draft fan came on by design. Initially a good product. Right after the warranty expired one set of burners would not ignite. Called local repair. They said between the cost of parts and labor to take this out, repair it and put it back, it would be better to use a butane grill igniter and manually light the burners which we did.

After another year or so the other burners would not ignite. Still Ok, but not happy. Called Jenn Air and all they would do was sell me a $400 extended warranty to help cover repairs. I figured why throw good money after bad. Finally in June 2014 after using the grill module and removing it and replacing with standard 2 burner module the fan now comes on all the time when igniting those burners and pulls heat away making unit no longer serviceable. Appears to be a control module issue with all these. Jenn-Air is junk.

We bought them due to excellent family experience in the past with their products. It sure seems they no longer are a quality supplier nor stand behind their products to any extent. Unfortunately, it appears no one else makes a self-contained downdraft. Many make cook tops, but most require external drafting.

Replies
Advertisement
Extended Service Plan Claims & Extended Refund Delay
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MESA, ARIZONA -- I called Jenn-Air to schedule service on my dishwasher and to see if I could order new racks. A contact person said I qualified for extended warranty and quoted $309.95. She said it covered parts and service calls for a year. I asked if that covered rusted racks. "Yes", she replied without hesitation. I expressed amazement, and repeated the question. She reassured me that the racks were covered. I told her since the racks were covered I would take out the contract.

She said a copy of the contract would be emailed. I waited an hour for the contract to appear and called back. I was told it took 2-3 days to process. Before I received a copy, a service call was scheduled. During the service call I was told the rusted rack pieces had damaged the filter & also, a Jet-dry dispenser needed replacing. On the return visit with the parts, I was told the racks were not covered. I declined the work & parts which totaled now $600, the price of a new dishwasher.

I called to cancel the contract due to fraudulent claims. I was told I would have to submit a written letter, and it would take 4-6 weeks for my refund, even though my money had been immediately taken. This was my experience. Hopefully yours will be better.

Replies
Rebate, Abuse
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- December 7, 2013 I received my $6000.00 order for appliances. I had also planned to purchase a built-in oven in January. I immediately filled out my rebate info, sales slip and invoice and sent it to the company. Shortly later, I called regarding the rebate status, and they said they never received them. I sent the copies to them, waited another week and called. The response was to fax the rebates to them, and I complied. The deadline was January 31, 2014, fire and ice promo.

I called AAA appliance in Jamaica Plain, Ma, where I had purchased the appliances and they sent a set of rebates forms for me hoping to resolve this issue. We went back and forth, one person at Jenn-Air stated they couldn't see what the problem was and my $700 rebate would be forthcoming. Needless to say, I have not received the rebate. It is close to June 1st, but rest assured the built-in oven sale is null and void. I am looking at GE Monogram! This company is in trouble and totally lacks integrity.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Jenn-Air Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 30 ratings and
62 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Jenn-Air
553 Benson Road
Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2692
1-800-JENN-AIR (536- (ph)
www.jennair.com
Compare Appliance Companies