Jenn-Air - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 26 ratings and
58 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Jenn-Aire Cooktop Inadequate for Anyone Who Actually Cooks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a new Jenn-Air range in November, 2013 and was dismayed to discover that only one burner had a temperature setting of low. The others only go down to Medium, which is too hot for many cooking procedures. It is impossible to caramelize onions, simmer a sauce, and melt chocolate at the same time.

When I complained to the company, I was told that I should have had better consumer information before purchasing the stove. But it never occurred to me that a burner would not have a full temperature range, and I never asked that question. This is a very expensive stove, and I find myself constantly improvising with burner guards and shifting pots around to the one low burner, which is inconveniently located in the back.

     
Replies
Quality Appliance --- NOT!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Purchased Jenn-Air dishwasher locally, $997.00, 2008. What a rip off. We have been battling this monster for the last year including service calls, $$$$, parts, control board, $$$$, and we are still doing dishes at the sink. Our nearest service agent, 70 miles, charges $100.00 just to look at an appliance, let alone parts. We spent over $5K, all new Jenn-Air kitchen appliances in 2008.

First, 2011, the microwave crashed. Service agent indicated, "when it comes to microwaves you might as well throw them away and buy new." Sure as hell not going to purchase another Jenn-Air microwave. Now the lousy Jenn-Air dishwasher isn't working do we take it to the landfill also? We were told that Jenn-Air brand was Top-Notch in appliances B.S. We are holding our breath wondering when the Jenn Air refrigerator and gas stove will crash. Take our advice, NEVER, purchase a Jenn-Air kitchen appliance. Your life will be less stressful and you can quit your blood pressure medicine.

     
Replies
Jenn Air Is Horrible! Terrible Customer Support
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON, WASHINGTON -- My Jenn-Air dishwasher model # JB3200AWSS was purchase in Aug 7, 2012 from Seattle Home Appliance in Seattle Washington. Seattle Home Appliance contact info is: 18811 Bothell Way NE, Bothell, WA 98011, (425) 485-0552. Electric touchpad and control panel has been replaced 3 times in a twelve month period, and the drain pump was replaced. I called Jenn-Air right before my one year warranty was to expire to express serious concern about the state of this extremely unreliable dishwasher and they gave me an extended two year warranty. No less than two weeks after they granted the extended warranty, the control panel touchpad went out again.

The last time the machine was to be repaired, I asked for the dishwasher to be replaced. I believe the machine is a lemon and according to Jenn-Air, they are only willing to continue repairing the machine and not replace it, per my new 2 year warranty. With the amount of time the dishwasher was out of commission in the last twelve months, I have calculated that I have spent about one month hand washing dishes while I wait for parts and service.

I am furious that no one at Jenn-Air will resolve this mess and replace my lemon dishwasher! This machine has been consistently faulty since we purchased it. I think four repairs in a twelve month period in unacceptable and I have asked in no uncertain terms for a replacement, and my request has been denied. Here are the repairs made by Seattle Home Appliance: Again, machine was purchased Aug 7, 2012.

12/05/2012 - Touch pad replacement (part #W10208764), CNTRL-ELEC + CORECHARGE10 (part #W10285178); 5/28/2013 - Pump Drain Replacement (part #W10158351); 7/15/2013 - Touch Pad replacement (part #W10208764); 8/16/2013 - Touch Pad Replacement (part #W10208764).

     
Replies
Jenn Air Refrigerator Rusting
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TENNESSEE -- Today I noticed that the front panel of my Jenn-Air refrigerator door panel, under the water dispenser is rusting. I contacted Jenn-Air and talked to a supervisor named ** regarding the defect and what kind of assistance she can give me regarding the problem with my refrigerator. She responded, she would be more than happy to assist me with locating a showroom in the area where I live. What response from a supervisor of a company to a customer with a problem.

It appears that Jenn-Air have found an easy way to get rid of their customers buy directing them to purchase a new refrigerator, rather than to help the customers. I have never seen a refrigerator panel to rust with the exception of the Jenn-Air refrigerators. What a company, and what a customer service and what a poor product. Never again I will buy a "Jenn-Air".

     
Replies
Jenn-Air Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

A six year old 30-inch double-wall oven by Jenn-Air no longer stays within a reasonable temperature range and they call it normal. Set the oven to 400 degrees and watch it go to 480 and all of a sudden drop to 350 then zoom up to 450 then drop to 325 and Jenn-Air says a 20% plus or minus is within specs. We have replaced the control panel, no change.

As an aerospace engineer I find that totally unreasonable that an oven can't be controlled any better than that. If I designed anything for an aircraft or spacecraft to be 20% plus or minus, we would have aircraft falling out of the sky all the time. I would strongly suggest you think twice about buying any Jenn-Air product if that is the way they design their products.

     
Replies
Don't Buy Jenn-Air Cooktop With Griddle - Safety Hazard!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Do not buy Pro-Style® Gas Rangetop with Griddle, 36" model #JGCP536WP!

This unit has a major design flaw that is a serious safety issue. When the griddle heats to temperature the blue indicator light GOES OFF! There is NO other light or signal to indicate that this unit is 300 + degrees. Family members can get severely burned if more then one person is operating in the kitchen. When you turn the unit off it takes 20+ minutes to cool down and again there is NO indicator that the unit is still hot. ANYONE CAN GET BURNED!

Please do not buy this product especially if you have kids in the home. It's a $3500 HUGE MISTAKE. When I spoke to Jenn-Air they told me to teach my kids not to touch the stove. Well obviously, thanks for the info. This is not just a safety issue for children, but for everyone. My husband has already burned his hand on it because he didn't know it was cooling down. Please look elsewhere for this type of "luxury" appliance.

I also do not recommend HH Gregg Fine Lines because they should have made me aware of this flaw when they were selling the unit to me and they did not try to help me after purchasing it.

     
Replies
Luxury Appliances ** I Love Jenn Air
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ELK GROVE, CALIFORNIA -- I have had my Jenn-Air Appliances for approx. 6-7 years and they are truly the best appliances I have ever had. I have only had one service issue on the range. My front right burner went out (It is the burner I use the most). I went with Jenn-Air because I loved the style - floating glass with stainless steel handles. It was also important to me to have 5 burners on my stove with a convection oven and warming drawer.

My dishwasher is very quiet and cleans and sanitizes my dishes, and my glassware comes out so sparkly without any water spots. We went with a convection microwave which comes in handy during the holidays. I am able to bake in it. The refrigerator had more flexible shelving options. I was surprised to see negative reviews. I would definitely purchase Jenn-Air appliances again. I have been extremely happy with all 4 of our appliances.

     
Replies
Jenn Air Oven Glass Shatters on First Self-Clean
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- A two year old oven and the inside glass shattered within 10 minutes of starting self-clean function for very first time. Obvious from break pattern that it started from the outside edge of glass buried within the frame, not from user impact. Never seen anything like it even in 30-year old cheap ovens. Jenn-Air had replaced door fronts at time of installation because they had come dented, but only replaced outer faces, which has the outer glass piece, not the entire door which would have included the (supposedly) heat-tolerant interior glass. Refused to repair for free.

When we called service number it answered and forced you to engage in a vacation survey before you could proceed with call. Apparently that's the way their phone system works when business hours have ended. They can't just tell you they're closed. They have to squeeze a survey out of you so they can make money on your wasted phone call and time. Never seen anything like it. These are overpriced pieces of crap, DON'T BUY. Takes a half hour to Preheat to 400 degrees. All you get is a fancy name at a fancy price. This not the company it was a decade ago. Don't be fooled.

     
Replies
Poor Track Record for Jenn-Air Slide-in Range
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

We purchased a Jenn-Air Dual Fuel Downdraft Slide-In Range, Model #JDS9860BDS, in April of 2008. Overall, I like the way it cooks, but I am definitely NOT happy with its reliability! The first problem to arise in September of 2011 was a non-functioning igniter for the two left burners -- the Sealed Gas Burner Cartridge. These burners are a single module that pops out if you want to use a grill or griddle accessory instead of the two burners. Since these two burners are our "go-to" burners, it was annoying to have to use a Bic lighter stick to ignite them. Luckily the warranty covered the cost of replacement.

Next, in July of 2012, some of the functions on the touchscreen would not work, and the far right knob broke off! We had to replace the user interface control panel. Luckily, again, parts were covered ($210), but we had to pay for the service call, I believe ($89). A new knob was ordered and finally replaced. I also had the technician check to see if we could level the range. It turns out there's no easy way to adjust the leveling of the burners, even though the range itself is level.

Now, in June of 2014, the igniter on the two left burners is out again! This time it will cost me $269 to replace the module, or, gosh, I can purchase a service contract that would cover full repairs for the next year for $319.95! We'll use the Bic lighter stick! And write this review!

     
Replies
30 Inch Gas Downdraft Cooktop
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Purchased this new in June 2010. Replaced Kenmore electric downdraft to be able to cook during power outages. On this unit when igniting one burner the igniters for all four burners would spark by design. Also had grille module for indoor grilling. When inserted and burner lit, the draft fan came on by design. Initially a good product. Right after the warranty expired one set of burners would not ignite. Called local repair. They said between the cost of parts and labor to take this out, repair it and put it back, it would be better to use a butane grill igniter and manually light the burners which we did.

After another year or so the other burners would not ignite. Still Ok, but not happy. Called Jenn Air and all they would do was sell me a $ 400 extended warranty to help cover repairs. I figured why throw good money after bad. Finally in June 2014 after using the grill module and removing it and replacing with standard 2 burner module the fan now comes on all the time when igniting those burners and pulls heat away making unit no longer serviceable. Appears to be a control module issue with all these. Jenn-Air is junk.

We bought them due to excellent family experience in the past with their products. It sure seems they no longer are a quality supplier nor stand behind their products to any extent. Unfortunately, it appears no one else makes a self-contained downdraft. Many make cook tops, but most require external drafting.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >