Preview Review

Next Review

Jenn-Air Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Don't Buy Jenn Air
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BEND, OREGON -- I bought a brand new Jenn-Air slide-in electric range from an authorized Jenn-Air dealer ($1,999.00). The range was delivered on February 15th, 2013. I don't do a ton of cooking so I hadn't used this range all that much (the oven twice and the cooktop itself twice).

So the evening of February 25th I was making pasta and sauce using two of the surface elements. As I was heating the sauce and boiling the water, suddenly a bright flash appeared under the cooktop - similar to that which would be created by an electric arc. A few seconds later, a number of similar flashes appeared under the cooktop and the range went dark.

Since it was later in the evening, I wasn't able to contact the dealer until the next day - Tuesday. I called and told them what had happened and they asked me if I wanted to speak with the service department. I told them no, I wanted to speak with the salesman and I didn't want the unit "repaired", I wanted it replaced. The woman I spoke with was nice enough, but she said they would not be able to replace this unit - it would have to be serviced. The salesman was not available so I left a voice mail message and sent him an e-mail.

In the meantime, I called Jenn-Air Customer Care1-800-JENN-AIR (536-6247) and spoke with a representative. I told her what had happened and she said Jenn-Air would not replace the unit, but would have the dealer send someone out to examine the range and identify a repair option. I told the Jenn-Air representative I didn't want the unit, which had been in my house a total of 9 days when it went dead repaired, I wanted it replaced. I spent two thousand dollars on this range and I shouldn't have to be stuck with a "repaired" Jenn-Air product. The representative told me that was Jenn-Air's policy.

Later Tuesday, the dealer called and arranged for a serviceman to come out to examine the range. He came Friday (March 1st). I explained what had happened and he examined the unit. I told him I wanted a NEW range to replace this defective unit and he agreed that if it were him, he would have the exact same position. However, he said the dealer really had no say in how the problem was resolved and Jenn-Air policy was to only "REPAIR" defective units.

The range now has to have a new user interface, new control board, new cooktop and new electrical wiring harness replaced as there was in fact electrical arcing under the Ceran surface. In the meantime, I'm without a range and have no idea when the situation is going to be resolved! I've already contacted my credit card company to dispute the two thousand dollar charge and they agreed I should not have to be stuck with a defective NEW range? They have filed a dispute with the dealer and issued a temporary credit to my account.

As a follow-up today, March 8th Whirlpool customer service called to see what was going on. They reiterated that they would not replace this broken range - only fix it. They asked when Standard TV & Appliance was coming out to make the repairs. I said I didn't know as I had not heard from them since March 1st. The CS representative put me on hold to call Standard TV and came back and said one of the parts was on back-order and it was being expedited to Standard TV.

However, no one has said when they plan to come out and fix this range which has now been out of service longer than it was working. Do you really want to buy a Jenn-Air appliance and pay top dollar for a product the manufacturer won't stand behind? So a word of caution to anyone considering the purchase of any Jenn-Air appliance - DON'T! If anything major goes wrong with your NEW Jenn-Air product you're going to be stuck with a repaired unit.

Replies
Advertisement
Be Forewarned, Do Not Buy Jenn Air Products!!!
By -

BENTON HARBOR, MI -- BE FOREWARNED, DO NOT BUY JENN-AIR PRODUCTS!!! I recently spent nearly $9000 on Jenn-Air kitchen appliances (stove, refrigerator, dishwasher & microwave) and boy do I regret it. I was supposed to receive a $2300 rebate in 6 to 8 weeks. That was 12 weeks ago. I called them last week and they were very apologetic for having mishandled it and said that everything was now okay and assured me that I would have my rebate in 6 to 8 weeks!

Hold on just a minute, I've already wait 12 weeks. "Can this be expedited?" "I'm sorry sir but that is not an option." "Can I speak to a supervisor please". "I'm sorry sir but there are no one available." "Can you have one return my call please?" "Yes sir, I'd be happy to." That was almost a week ago and I have not received the call yet!

Now let me tell you about the damaged stove that was installed (scratched front panel and scratched and bent top). I immediately called the dealer who gave me the name and number of a service tech who could fix it. I called and left multiple messages. After 3 weeks I finally received a call back on a Saturday night at 9:00 PM. He said he would call me the following Monday letting me know when the parts would be in. That was a month ago. After many more non-returned phone calls I finally received a call from the tech on Friday telling me the parts were in and he wanted to know when he could install them.

Did I mention that I had called Jenn-Air earlier that day and complained about the service problem I was having? An appointment was set up for Monday morning between 9:00 and 10:00 AM. I left the house at 11:30 and he still had not shown up or called. I am also having problems with one of the stoves burner (it takes 40 minutes to bring 4 cups of water to a boil in a 2 1/2 quart pan) and the ice dispenser on the fridge does not work.

On my Friday phone call, Jenn-Air had set up an appointment with a different company to take care of those problems. So, I called Jenn-Air this afternoon to let them know about the missed appointment and to request that the new company also make the repairs to the stove top. I was then informed that they had no record about the cosmetic damage to the stove and that since I had, had the stove for more than 30 days that damage would not be covered by them and I would be responsible for it myself. They even told me that they had no contact information on the person that was supposed to have fixed it and that he was not an authorized repair facility.

But on the previous Friday the Jenn-Air representative I had spoken with had no problem calling him and addressing the issue. He is even listed on the internet as an authorized servicer. What about the fact that the damage was reported to the factory authorized dealer within their time frame? They don't care! A report was never forwarded to Jenn-Air so I am now responsible for the repairs! It is one wall after another with this company! I will never buy or recommend Jenn-Air products ever again. This company DOES NOT stand behind what they sell!!!

Replies
Luxury Appliances ** I Love Jenn Air
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

ELK GROVE, CALIFORNIA -- I have had my Jenn-Air Appliances for approx. 6-7 years and they are truly the best appliances I have ever had. I have only had one service issue on the range. My front right burner went out (It is the burner I use the most). I went with Jenn-Air because I loved the style - floating glass with stainless steel handles. It was also important to me to have 5 burners on my stove with a convection oven and warming drawer.

My dishwasher is very quiet and cleans and sanitizes my dishes, and my glassware comes out so sparkly without any water spots. We went with a convection microwave which comes in handy during the holidays. I am able to bake in it. The refrigerator had more flexible shelving options. I was surprised to see negative reviews. I would definitely purchase Jenn-Air appliances again. I have been extremely happy with all 4 of our appliances.

Replies
Jenn Air Will Not Replace Defective Unit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FREDERICK, MARYLAND -- I purchased a Jenn-Air Down Draft unit after having one for almost twenty years, it is a great unit enabling me to BBQ indoors all year round. I purchased a new Jenn-Air Down Draft to replace it through Sears in November 2013.

I am writing this report in mid April 2014 and have had the unit replaced three times due to DEFECTIVE units being sent to me from Jenn-Air. They have a constant loud vibration that is caused when the down draft fan is turned on. Sears continues to replace the unit in good faith but I called Jenn-Air directly to see if they could send me a unit in good condition. Jenn-Air instead sent two repair companies to my home to verify the problem. Both repair companies stated that the unit was making a terrible noise when the down draft was turned on.

When I called Jenn-Air they had their own version of the most recent report stating that I refused to have it repaired (a repair was never offered to me). I happened to have the report in front of me and read it to their customer representative ** from Tennessee who by the way was very short with me not transferring me to a manager. I countered to her that if a brand new unit needs to be repaired it has something wrong with it; which means I was sold a defective unit. Per **'s direction Jenn-Air refuses to replace it.

I will take it up with Sears but I will never purchase a Jenn-Air product again. Even when their own repair people deem a brand new Jenn-Air product defective they will not replace it. Stupid or just plain old dishonest!! Certainly not the high quality product they try to sell themselves as.

Replies
Advertisement
Jenn-Air Cooktop Inadequate for Anyone Who Actually Cooks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a new Jenn-Air JDS9860 range in November, 2013 and was dismayed to discover that only one burner had a temperature setting of low. The others only go down to Medium, which is too hot for many cooking procedures. It is impossible to caramelize onions, simmer a sauce, and melt chocolate at the same time.

When I complained to the company, I was told that I should have had better consumer information before purchasing the stove. But it never occurred to me that a burner would not have a full temperature range, and I never asked that question. This is a very expensive stove, and I find myself constantly improvising with burner guards and shifting pots around to the one low burner, which is inconveniently located in the back.

Replies
Quality Appliance --- NOT!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Purchased Jenn-Air dishwasher locally, $997.00, 2008. What a rip off. We have been battling this monster for the last year including service calls, $$$$, parts, control board, $$$$, and we are still doing dishes at the sink. Our nearest service agent, 70 miles, charges $100.00 just to look at an appliance, let alone parts. We spent over $5K, all new Jenn-Air kitchen appliances in 2008.

First, 2011, the microwave crashed. Service agent indicated, "when it comes to microwaves you might as well throw them away and buy new." Sure as hell not going to purchase another Jenn-Air microwave. Now the lousy Jenn-Air dishwasher isn't working do we take it to the landfill also? We were told that Jenn-Air brand was Top-Notch in appliances B.S. We are holding our breath wondering when the Jenn Air refrigerator and gas stove will crash. Take our advice, NEVER, purchase a Jenn-Air kitchen appliance. Your life will be less stressful and you can quit your blood pressure medicine.

Replies
Jenn Air Is Horrible! Terrible Customer Support
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BENTON, WASHINGTON -- My Jenn-Air dishwasher model # JB3200AWSS was purchase in Aug 7, 2012 from Seattle Home Appliance in Seattle Washington. Seattle Home Appliance contact info is: 18811 Bothell Way NE, Bothell, WA 98011, (425) 485-0552. Electric touchpad and control panel has been replaced 3 times in a twelve month period, and the drain pump was replaced. I called Jenn-Air right before my one year warranty was to expire to express serious concern about the state of this extremely unreliable dishwasher and they gave me an extended two year warranty. No less than two weeks after they granted the extended warranty, the control panel touchpad went out again.

The last time the machine was to be repaired, I asked for the dishwasher to be replaced. I believe the machine is a lemon and according to Jenn-Air, they are only willing to continue repairing the machine and not replace it, per my new 2 year warranty. With the amount of time the dishwasher was out of commission in the last twelve months, I have calculated that I have spent about one month hand washing dishes while I wait for parts and service.

I am furious that no one at Jenn-Air will resolve this mess and replace my lemon dishwasher! This machine has been consistently faulty since we purchased it. I think four repairs in a twelve month period in unacceptable and I have asked in no uncertain terms for a replacement, and my request has been denied. Here are the repairs made by Seattle Home Appliance: Again, machine was purchased Aug 7, 2012.

12/05/2012 - Touch pad replacement (part #W10208764), CNTRL-ELEC + CORECHARGE10 (part #W10285178); 5/28/2013 - Pump Drain Replacement (part #W10158351); 7/15/2013 - Touch Pad replacement (part #W10208764); 8/16/2013 - Touch Pad Replacement (part #W10208764).

Replies
Favorable Experience With Jenn-Air Electric Range
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I recognize that unhappy customers are most likely to post reviews/comments so I thought I'd provide a little positive feedback. Our Jenn-Air electric range purchased about 15 years ago (maybe before the troublesome electronic control unit mentioned by others) has been a faithful and trouble-free appliance since then. In our locale, we have frequent brownouts and blackouts and the stove has weathered them without a problem. Also, we don't have local Jenn-Air technical support (we are in Ecuador). We were seriously looking at buying more Jenn-Air products but, I have to admit, I am now looking at other brands, too.

Replies
Advertisement
Jenn Air Oven Glass Shatters on First Self-Clean
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- A two year old oven and the inside glass shattered within 10 minutes of starting self-clean function for very first time. Obvious from break pattern that it started from the outside edge of glass buried within the frame, not from user impact. Never seen anything like it even in 30-year old cheap ovens. Jenn-Air had replaced door fronts at time of installation because they had come dented, but only replaced outer faces, which has the outer glass piece, not the entire door which would have included the (supposedly) heat-tolerant interior glass. Refused to repair for free.

When we called service number it answered and forced you to engage in a vacation survey before you could proceed with call. Apparently that's the way their phone system works when business hours have ended. They can't just tell you they're closed. They have to squeeze a survey out of you so they can make money on your wasted phone call and time. Never seen anything like it. These are overpriced pieces of crap, DON'T BUY. Takes a half hour to Preheat to 400 degrees. All you get is a fancy name at a fancy price. This not the company it was a decade ago. Don't be fooled.

Replies
Poor Track Record for Jenn-Air Slide-in Range
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

We purchased a Jenn-Air Dual Fuel Downdraft Slide-In Range, Model #JDS9860BDS, in April of 2008. Overall, I like the way it cooks, but I am definitely NOT happy with its reliability! The first problem to arise in September of 2011 was a non-functioning igniter for the two left burners -- the Sealed Gas Burner Cartridge. These burners are a single module that pops out if you want to use a grill or griddle accessory instead of the two burners. Since these two burners are our "go-to" burners, it was annoying to have to use a Bic lighter stick to ignite them. Luckily the warranty covered the cost of replacement.

Next, in July of 2012, some of the functions on the touchscreen would not work, and the far right knob broke off! We had to replace the user interface control panel. Luckily, again, parts were covered ($210), but we had to pay for the service call, I believe ($89). A new knob was ordered and finally replaced. I also had the technician check to see if we could level the range. It turns out there's no easy way to adjust the leveling of the burners, even though the range itself is level.

Now, in June of 2014, the igniter on the two left burners is out again! This time it will cost me $269 to replace the module, or, gosh, I can purchase a service contract that would cover full repairs for the next year for $319.95! We'll use the Bic lighter stick! And write this review!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Jenn-Air Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 32 ratings and
64 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Jenn-Air
553 Benson Road
Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2692
1-800-JENN-AIR (536- (ph)
www.jennair.com
Compare Appliance Companies