Preview Review

Next Review

Jenn-Air Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Kitchen
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DANBURY, CONNECTICUT -- I bought a Jenn-Air appliance package 3 years ago from PC Richards. Since then all of my appliances one by have begun to break and I have been having to replace them. First 6 months into purchase my oven display stopped working. I called store and they said that was not under their responsibility. I emailed Jenn-Air and they sent an apology email with a 10% off coupon towards my next purchase!

Since then the refrigerator began leaking water, one of the burners on the cooktop stopped working and then finally 2 days before Christmas, when I was expecting 20 for dinner the dishwasher just stopped working. (I forgot to mention that 2 years into the purchase we had to replace the dishwasher pump.)

I just want to add that I never write reviews for anything. I read reviews all the time but at the time of my purchase I couldn't find anything about the Jenn-Air professional line of products. The sales associate assured me they were equal to other professional lines and had a good name. So I am writing this to tell anyone thinking of buying any type of Jenn-Air product to stay away! If you still choose to purchase Jenn-Air just understand you are taking a huge risk and you've been warned! I wish I never wasted my money on these products. $15,000 down the drain!

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Buy Jenn-Air Cooktop With Griddle - Safety Hazard!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Do not buy Pro-Style® Gas Rangetop with Griddle, 36" model #JGCP536WP! This unit has a major design flaw that is a serious safety issue. When the griddle heats to temperature the blue indicator light GOES OFF! There is NO other light or signal to indicate that this unit is 300 + degrees. Family members can get severely burned if more than one person is operating in the kitchen. When you turn the unit off it takes 20+ minutes to cool down and again there is NO indicator that the unit is still hot. ANYONE CAN GET BURNED!

Please do not buy this product especially if you have kids in the home. It's a $3500 HUGE MISTAKE. When I spoke to Jenn-Air they told me to teach my kids not to touch the stove. Well obviously, thanks for the info. This is not just a safety issue for children, but for everyone. My husband has already burned his hand on it because he didn't know it was cooling down. Please look elsewhere for this type of "luxury" appliance. I also do not recommend HH Gregg Fine Lines because they should have made me aware of this flaw when they were selling the unit to me and they did not try to help me after purchasing it.

Replies
Be Forewarned, Do Not Buy Jenn Air Products!!!
By -

BENTON HARBOR, MI -- BE FOREWARNED, DO NOT BUY JENN-AIR PRODUCTS!!! I recently spent nearly $9000 on Jenn-Air kitchen appliances (stove, refrigerator, dishwasher & microwave) and boy do I regret it. I was supposed to receive a $2300 rebate in 6 to 8 weeks. That was 12 weeks ago. I called them last week and they were very apologetic for having mishandled it and said that everything was now okay and assured me that I would have my rebate in 6 to 8 weeks!

Hold on just a minute, I've already wait 12 weeks. "Can this be expedited?" "I'm sorry sir but that is not an option." "Can I speak to a supervisor please". "I'm sorry sir but there are no one available." "Can you have one return my call please?" "Yes sir, I'd be happy to." That was almost a week ago and I have not received the call yet!

Now let me tell you about the damaged stove that was installed (scratched front panel and scratched and bent top). I immediately called the dealer who gave me the name and number of a service tech who could fix it. I called and left multiple messages. After 3 weeks I finally received a call back on a Saturday night at 9:00 PM. He said he would call me the following Monday letting me know when the parts would be in. That was a month ago. After many more non-returned phone calls I finally received a call from the tech on Friday telling me the parts were in and he wanted to know when he could install them.

Did I mention that I had called Jenn-Air earlier that day and complained about the service problem I was having? An appointment was set up for Monday morning between 9:00 and 10:00 AM. I left the house at 11:30 and he still had not shown up or called. I am also having problems with one of the stoves burner (it takes 40 minutes to bring 4 cups of water to a boil in a 2 1/2 quart pan) and the ice dispenser on the fridge does not work.

On my Friday phone call, Jenn-Air had set up an appointment with a different company to take care of those problems. So, I called Jenn-Air this afternoon to let them know about the missed appointment and to request that the new company also make the repairs to the stove top. I was then informed that they had no record about the cosmetic damage to the stove and that since I had, had the stove for more than 30 days that damage would not be covered by them and I would be responsible for it myself. They even told me that they had no contact information on the person that was supposed to have fixed it and that he was not an authorized repair facility.

But on the previous Friday the Jenn-Air representative I had spoken with had no problem calling him and addressing the issue. He is even listed on the internet as an authorized servicer. What about the fact that the damage was reported to the factory authorized dealer within their time frame? They don't care! A report was never forwarded to Jenn-Air so I am now responsible for the repairs! It is one wall after another with this company! I will never buy or recommend Jenn-Air products ever again. This company DOES NOT stand behind what they sell!!!

Replies
Jenn-Air Electric Downdraft Range - CPU Has Failed Repeatedly
By -

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- Note: This is a follow-up comment. Removed the appended earlier comment.

After repeated phone calls to Jenn-Air (Whirlpool) Customer Service, and lack of success in achieving a reasonable offer, we contacted the Better Business Bureau in the locale of Whirlpool Corporate Headquarters. This complaint was then directed to "Executive Staff - Whirlpool Executive Office", where the representative had the additional leeway to give us a fair, pro-rated exchange under much more acceptable terms. Our old machine has been removed and a brand new one installed, and it is clear that some of the design faults have been remedied in the replacement model.

While I cannot say we were given a brand new machine for no cost, I believe we were treated fairly and with consideration. So my recommendation to anyone with a similar problem is to get your complaint escalated to Corporate Headquarters customer service team. If you have difficulty making this happen, log your complaint online with the BBB and do not give until you have been put in contact with them.

Replies
Advertisement
Jenn-Air Rebate Program
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO -- Earlier in the year I bought 5 new Jenn-Air appliances. Actually, I'm happy with the product. I give them a B+, but the rebate center and process is completely messed up, it would get an F or an incomplete at best. My guess is that Jenn-Air outsources this to an outside vendor. You would think that Jenn-Air wouldn't make promises that they can't keep and risk a loyal customer base. I recommend you steer clear of any offers and/or promises Jenn-Air makes now.

Replies
Lack of Heat Control With Gas Range
By -

DELAWARE -- We purchased our current primary residence 5.5 years ago. The home had a JENN-AIR range/oven that had the grill/griddle cartridge. Not having a need for that configuration we replaced the unit with a new JENN-AIR flat top electric in 10/08. In the meantime we purchased a winter home in Florida. In doing the renovations we replaced all appliances and since a downdraft unit was not needed, opted to try a duel fuel range/oven (Kenmore).

We became so enamored with the gas range and its finite temperature control, we decided to replace our electric JENN-AIR (in our primary residence) with the only duel fuel unit we understood to be available through JENN-AIR. Of course, a consideration was the downdraft feature as the unit is installed in an island in the kitchen. We purchased the unit from Hawkins & Sons in Wilmington, De. on June 2, 2011, serial # **. It was installed 6/20. When talking with the salesperson at Hawkins I stated I had no interest in the grill feature of the duel fuel unit (we use our Weber outside all seasons).

He did mention the only duel fuel unit available through JENN-AIR was the one with the grill component. He did offer the unit that was gas, both range and oven, but suggested there was a learning curve in using the gas oven as temperature consistency was not one of the selling points of the oven (lack of convection technology). The convection feature in the electric we were familiar with and comfortable. He also offered that for an additional cost we could purchase a cartridge to take the place of the grill unit - which is what we did.

After the unit was installed we found 1) we had essentially no control over the flame in the cartridge that was installed and 2) had only limited control over the right side gas units. We quickly had one of their service technicians in our home trying to improve the control issue. While he did achieve a level (and somewhat acceptable) modification in the ability to regulate the simmer unit and front right heating unit, he had essentially no success with the controls in the left cartridge.

As a result we have a gas range were with 2 burners we have a degree of control and 2 we have only high and moderately high heat. Those units can be used to bring something to a boil or a high heat fry but that is the extent of their usefulness. The technician offered an opinion that the JENN-AIR range when utilizing natural gas seemed to have less of a problem than one using propane. There was no discussion with us when we were considering the purchase as this being a potential issue, and in fact paid extra to have a "conversion kit" to accommodate our propane use. To me JENN-AIR is in the same class as Wolf, Bosch and other high end units.

The fact we were relegated to a downdraft unit also directed us in our decision since the unit is installed in a granite island. I trust I have expressed my frustration with what we are dealing. I would never have questioned the JENN-AIR product and its ability to deliver the quality of performance we had come to enjoy from our earlier experiences. The unit as it currently is, does meet the standards we expected from JENN-AIR.

When we first realized the problem it was suggested by the technician I call your company to discuss the issue. The young lady in Customer Service with whom I spoke stated: "most people who buy the duel range unit do so because they are vegetarians and prefer grilling their vegetables in doors." Not a response I was expecting and I trust not the company position as well.

If the technician was correct in that this is an "expected" inconvenience of the duel range and the cartridge issue, especially for propane gas users, I would hope that JENN-AIR is addressing the issue through its competent technical advisors with a remedy forthcoming. If in fact this is an inherent deficiency with the unit, without a technical remedy, I would like to know what alternative you have to offer me. Thank you for your consideration of this request.

Replies
All Three Jenn-Air Products Have Needed Service, Very Expensive Product, and Poor Quality - Fridge, Stove, and Microwave
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- Say No to Jenn-Air products. Fridge has needed repair twice in two years, microwave $250.00 to repair, stove temp control not working and we can't set the clock. Very expensive products and not working properly. :(

Replies
Defective Ice Maker
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA -- The ice maker on my 3 ½ year old Jenn-Air (JFC 2290VEM7) french door, counter-depth refrigerator just shorted out. The module showed scorch marks at the heater pin. Of course, it's not covered under the warranty. I called customer service and their offer was to sell me a flat-rate one-year warranty for almost $400. Deplorable customer service and useless warranty, never buying Jenn-Air again.

Replies
Advertisement
Jenn-Air Appliances All Three Broke Within 2 Years and Oven Caught Fire Against the Wall!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SMALL TOWN, NEW JERSEY -- After purchasing 3 Jenn-Air appliances, stove/oven; refrigerator and in-wall microwave, ALL had problems. I purchased these appliances because of the way they looked and because I thought that they were 'high end' appliances. I purchased them 3 years ago when remodeling my entire kitchen. WHAT A MISTAKE! It was a mistake that almost killed us.

1) The stove/oven caught fire to the cabinets and back wall. They believe the ignition system was delayed. However, had we not been at home and not been directly in the kitchen when this happened, most likely the entire house would have burned down and we'd all be dead! However, because we were in front of the stove, we were able to get out alive and call the fire department so the entire house didn't burn down. However, the kitchen fire caused extensive smoke damage throughout the house (requiring a complete gutting of my kitchen and renovation of the other 3 floors of the house due to water damage and smoke, etc. from the fire in the kitchen)

2) The French door refrigerator had a fault drain and had to be retro-fitted with a new drain. We had to go online to find this out, but only after the refrigerator leaked continuously all over the new tile floor. Plus, the large center drawer broke within the first 6 months, twice, requiring service calls to replace it twice.

3) The bulb on the microwave went out within 6 months and when I called customer service, they said that it has to be replaced by a service person and that would cost over $100. We figured that the food could cook in the dark so we never replaced the bulb.

Most importantly, the Stove/Oven fire could have burned down my entire house. Had we not been in front of it to see the flash of fire between the cabinet and the stove, and to see the dark tendrils of smoke curling out from behind this monstrosity, we would not have had sufficient time to call 911 and get out of the house. The house would have burned to the ground and then we'd all be dead. Perhaps that is how Jenn-Air prevents negative reviews online: Dead consumers can't write negative reviews.

Replies
5 Jenn Air Appliances for Kitchen Remodel, Big Mistake!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

When we remodeled our kitchen in June/July 2012 we chose to have all Jenn-Air appliances because we thought they were quality. Big mistake, I would never use them again or recommend them. We bought them through our local "Quality Maytag Dealer" and the company was OK, although there were delays in getting the range and refrigerator from Jenn-Air but that wasn't their fault. Eventually all four appliances (dishwasher, gas range, French door refrigerator and range hood/back splash) were finally installed. Then the problems started!!

Within a couple months our top of the line dishwasher started to leak big time! The local dealer replaced a "loose connection" but then it leaked even worse. So they replaced the "entire pump" (it seems there was some 'design flaw'). That fixed it for a couple months and then everything stopped working and they had to replace the "entire electronic unit"! So, less than a year after it was installed, we have a 're-built' unit that was out of service for more than 3 weeks and took 5 visits to repair.

Now the refrigerator is acting up. It started leaking water because the plastic tray that holds water when it defrosts was broken! It was replaced (after 2 visits) and then a persistent noise was occurring every time the compressor when which on that was tracked to another broken plastic part. We're now awaiting that part and of course another, 4th visit to install it.

We had to have them return to adjust the flame on the gas range, which by the way is the 4 burner with the "griddle" which is really bad and totally useless. Doesn't heat hot enough to really make it effective. An awful mistake on our part buying this particular model. The only appliance that is working well is the range hood which is very good. However, we're holding our breath for when it goes out. BOTTOM LINE, it appears Jenn-Air has been living off its reputation for some time and its kitchen appliances are definitely first rate, dependable and quality products. We would NEVER buy them again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Jenn-Air Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 39 ratings and
71 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Jenn-Air
553 Benson Road
Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2692
1-800-JENN-AIR (536- (ph)
www.jennair.com
Compare Appliance Companies