[X]
Feedburner count

Jenn-Air - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
46 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Quality Appliance --- NOT!
Posted by Lwranosky on 01/24/2014
Purchased Jenn Air dishwasher locally, $997.00, 2008. What a rip off. We have been battling this monster for the last year including service calls, $$$$, parts, control board, $$$$, and we are still doing dishes at the sink. Our nearest service agent, 70 miles, charges $100.00 just to look at an appliance let alone parts. We spent over $5K, all new Jenn Air kitchen appliances in 2008.

First, 2011, the microwave crashed, service agent indicated, "when it comes to microwaves you might as well throw them away and buy new." Sure as hell not going to purchase another Jenn Air microwave. Now the lousy Jenn Air dishwasher isn't working --- do we take it to the landfill also? We were told that Jenn Air brand was Top-Notch in appliances --- B.S. We are holding our breath wondering when the Jenn Air refrigerator and gas stove will crash.

Take our advice, NEVER, purchase a Jenn Air kitchen appliance your life will be less stressful and you can quit your blood pressure medicine.

     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by JoeKay on 2014-01-30:
These "namebrand" appliances are not your mother's namebrand appliances. The object today is to buy the cheapest thing you can that has the features you want and skip the brand business. They are all made of parts from who knows where and put together in Latin America. Appliances today are a throw away thing, so save your money.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Rebate Scam
Posted by Rob410 on 12/14/2013
One of the motivations for purchasing over $20k worth of Jenn-Air appliances was a rebate to reimburse installation charges. I filled out the rebate form, provided proof of purchase, serial #s, and made absolutely sure I included the separate invoice for installation. I later received an automatically generated post card from Jenn-Air stating that my submission is invalid because it didn't include a receipt for installation charges. I called them to straighten the situation out and the customer service agent literally just kept repeating over and over and over that I need to submit the receipt.

To make matters worse, I have 2 weeks to get it to them (via mail) and have it processed prior to rebate deadline. During the 2 week time frame we have weather, Christmas and New Years to deal with. What a scam. No wonder Jenn-Air has fallen out of favor in recent decades. Why run a marketing campaign to lure customers and then piss them off?
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Appliances Are Pure Garbage With No Customer Service
Posted by Docroan on 10/29/2013
All three failed within the first year. The cooktop with downdraft is so poorly designed that if used smoke fills the room. The dishwasher buzzes when running and the microwave oven completely shut down.
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Jenn Air Is Horrible! Terrible Customer Support
Posted by Onemartiniup on 08/16/2013
BENTON, WASHINGTON -- My Jenn Air dishwasher model # JB3200AWSS was purchase in Aug 7, 2012 from Seattle Home Appliance in Seattle Washington. Seattle Home Appliance contact info is : 18811 Bothell Way NE, Bothell, WA 98011, (425) 485-0552. Electric touchpad and control panel has been replaced 3 times in a twelve month period, and a the drain pump was replaced. I called Jenn Air right before my one year warranty was to expire to express serious concern about the state of this extremely unreliable dishwasher and they gave me an extended two year warranty. No less than two weeks after they granted the extended warranty, the control panel touch pad went out again. The last time the machine was to be repaired, I asked for the dishwasher to be replaced. I believe the machine is a lemon and according to Jenn Air, they are only willing to continue repairing the machine and not replace it, per my new 2 year warranty. With the amount of time the dishwasher was out of commission in the last twelve months, I have calculated that I have spent about one month hand washing dishes while I wait for parts and service. I am furious that no one at Jenn Air will resolve this mess and replace my lemon dishwasher! This machine has been consistently faulty since we purchased it. I think four repairs in a twelve month period in unacceptable and I have asked in no uncertain terms for a replacement, and my request has been denied.

Here are the repairs made by Seattle Home Appliance: Again, machine was purchased Aug 7, 2012.

12/05/2012
Touch pad replacement (part #W10208764), CNTRL-ELEC + CORECHARGE10 (part #W10285178)

5/28/2013
Pump Drain Replacement (part #W10158351)

7/15/2013
Touch Pad replacement (part #W10208764)

8/16/2013
Touch Pad Replacement (part #W10208764)

     
Add reply

StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Favorable Experience With Jenn-Air Electric Range
Posted by Dpnelsonl2001 on 08/12/2013
BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I recognize that unhappy customers are most likely to post reviews/comments so I thought I´d provide a little positive feedback. Our Jenn-Air electric range purchased about 15 years ago (maybe before the troublesome electronic control unit mentioned by others) has been a faithful and trouble-free appliance since then. In our locale, we have frequent brownouts and blackouts and the stove has weathered them without a problem. Also, we don´t have local Jenn-Air technical support (we are in Ecuador). We were seriously looking at buying more Jenn-Air products but, I have to admit, I am now looking at other brands, too.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Nohandle on 2013-08-12:
On My3Cent's it seems the majority of complaints ON ALL APPLIANCES have been on those purchased in recent years. Many members have expressed they will keep what they have even though it doesn't match the other new appliances purchased. As long as parts are available they will just pay to have it repaired as necessary. Thanks for your review.
Posted by shirley on 2014-02-05:
I have had three jenn-air ranges. The first two were like you said good but the third one is not so great. The computer controls ruined the name. I never have the right temp. I know when it is set it either stops working or loses the temp. The food sets there so you check it to find it has dropped 50 to 60 degrees.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
5 Jenn Air Appliances for Kitchen Remodel, Big Mistake!
Posted by Nickmaner on 07/19/2013
When we remodeled our kitchen in June/July 2012 we chose to have all Jenn Air appliances because we thought they were quality. Big mistake, I would never use them again or recommend them. We bought them thru our local "Quality Maytag Dealer" and the company was Ok although there were delays in getting the range and refrigerator from Jenn Air but that wasn't their fault. Eventually all four appliances (dishwasher, gas range, French door refrigerator and range hood/back splash) were finally installed. Then the problems started!!

Within a couple months our top of the line dishwasher started to leak big time! The local dealer replaced a "loose connection" but then it leaked even worse. So they replaced the "entire pump" (it seems there was some 'design flaw'. That fixed it for a couple months and then everything stopped working and they had to replace the "entire electronic unit"! So, less than a year after it was installed, we have a 're-built' unit that was out of service for more than 3 weeks and took 5 visits to repair.

Now the refrigerator is acting up. It started leaking water because the plastic tray that holds water when it defrosts was broken! It was replaced (after 2 visits) and then a persistent noise was occurring every time the compressor when which on that was tracked to another broken plastic part . We're now awaiting that part and of course another, 4th visit to install it.

We had to have them return to adjust the flame on the gas range, which by the way is the 4 burner with the "griddle" which is really bad and totally useless. Doesn't heat hot enough to really make it effective. An awful mistake on our part buying this particular model. The only appliance that is working well is the range hood which is very good. However, we're holding our breath for when it goes out.

BOTTOM LINE, it appears Jenn Air has been living off its reputation for some time and it's kitchen appliances are definitely first rate, dependable and quality products. We would NEVER buy them again.
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't Waste Your Money
Posted by Pjdive on 07/12/2013
We were sold an extended warranty by Jenn-Air on July 2nd. Apparently their high end applicances only last about seven years. (I guess I should have kept the original oven that was in the house for 20+ years...only problem was that it didn't look "pretty" enough for me. Guess I screwed up big time!)

Tech came to house on July 3rd to look at oven and said he would need to order parts and would be back the following Monday to fix oven. Never heard from them. We called (Monday, July 8th) and they said they were waiting on warrany company to approve repairs. Never heard back.

Called repair company this morning (Friday, July 12th). We were told that the warranty company, Federal Warranty Service Corporation, was supposed to have called us back Monday afternoon.

Finally got Federal Warrany Company on the phone. Apparently they just dropped us with NO notification. Their warranty states they will notify a customer if the warranty will be voided. This never happened.

I understand companies are in it for the almighty dollar. But why sell someone a warranty for $314 dollars and then leave them hanging and expect us to continually call back and spend our time on hold trying to figure out what is going on.
The estimate to fix the oven was $824. So this comapny was going to be out $510 on our warranty. I understand warranties are a gamble on BOTH ends. We may buy a warranty and never use it, or a repair may be more than the cost of the warranty. If our repair had been $100, they would have pocketed money; I would not have gotten a refund. Yet since they were going to be out-of-pocket a little they drop us with no notice. Unacceptable!

Jenn-Air and Federal Warrany Company are a JOKE.

Don't buy Jenn-Air and don't buy their extended warranty they offer through Federal Warranty Service Corporation. You will be wasting your time and money.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by CU on 2013-07-12:
Did you buy it July 2 of THIS year?

Have you contacted Jennair?
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Jenn Air 30 " Wall Oven Lemon From Day One
Posted by Eesamp on 12/17/2012
EDINA, MINNESOTA -- I purchased a Jenn Air double oven from Warner Stellian in Edina. The first delivery folks brought a Kitchenaid instead of Jenn Air I ordered. I refused delivery and waited for Jenn Air...obviously a mistake. Ovens were installed in February 2012 and needed replacement motor for fan in August of 2012. It is now December of 2012 and am waiting for repair people to arrive, most likely another fan motor as the noise is the same. Also, neither upper nor lower ovens bake to temp indicated and appear to not hold temp at reliable level.

A big Lemon for both Jenn Air and Warner Stellian.


     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by At Your Service on 2012-12-18:
I've got a considerable amount of appliance background. With respect, I like the Jenn-Air line of products. They produce a wonderful line of cooking appliances.

Was your purchase a 25 series double oven (2527 or 2530)? My question stems from what the exact nature of the fan is that you're referring to. These specific units don't include the convection feature found on other models. Without such a feature, or if using an oven but not activating this feature, it is common for the cavity to not be even or consistent in it's baking temperatures. This is precisely why convection was invented.

To determine if the temperature is correct, you can easily purchase a thermometer which is designed to gauge oven temperatures. Just preheat and place the thermometer in place. Although not perfect, a non-convection oven should still be somewhat reasonably within range. Make sure the thermometer is placed directly in the center of the oven's cavity.

Best of luck and let us know how things turn out.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Jenn-Air Downdraft Range "LEMON"
Posted by Jerryhill on 11/22/2012
BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I purchased a Jenn-Air range as a replacement for one previously installed. My problems started as soon as I found out the range was 1/2" wider than the older unit. I had a very expensive cut to make in a granite counter top for the installation(I could see no reason to change the width 1/2").A short time later the new range started giving me problems. The Following problems have all happened in the first year: (1) Two switches for the top units were replaced. (2) A wire came loose at the surface unit receptacle due to a poor factory welded connection. (3) The control board was replaced.
(4) The oven temperature sensor was replaced.

The oven is still not holding set temperature! Set the temperature at 400 degrees and after 30 minutes it will fall to 350.

My advise to anyone DO NOT BUY a Jenn-Air product, if you do be sure to buy an extended warranty you are going to need it.
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by At Your Service on 2012-11-23:
I enjoyed reading your review Jerry. It's unfortunate that you're having such a rough time with this unit. I've got a considerable amount of appliance background and I'm at least familiar with the unit you're speaking of.

This review brings up several more questions than it provides answers for. To begin with you suggest the over temperature was "not holding". Knowing the oven temperature is off indicates you're using a manual thermostat to gage the temperature. Hopefully you're not confusing the baking style of that compared to a conventional oven. How much off of set temperature is the oven off? Is it when the convection feature is being used or not? Is it when the oven is in bake, broil or both? I'd like to be provided a little more information to help you possibly determine what, if anything, is wrong.

You indicated that a wire came loose due to something with the installation. This is not something that would, of course, happen at the factory but at your home. The installers are ideally employed or contracted through the retailer you purchased the unit through. This would also be good information to know, as they should have checked an entire series of features after the installation to make sure everything was operating correctly. They could determine any faulty switches and even catch their own mistake of not connecting a power wire well enough.

Overall, I like Jenn-Air and recommend them frequently. I don't think you've made a mistake in buying one of their products. I have always advocated studying up on and shopping for the unit, in part, based upon extended service guarantees. This is the very type of purchase that might "cry out" for paying a little more for such.

Please give me the additional information, assuming you haven't resolved the baking/broiling issue. I'd like to help if I can.
Posted by madconsumer on 2012-11-23:
spot on comment once again AYS, as alwasy!!
voted very helpful!
Posted by copper_works_ on 2012-11-23:
I've got an appliance background also, and I've seen stuff come out of pristine boxes that is damaged beyond belief. The damage happened at the factory before boxing.

Wires do shake loose, the appliances are bumped, banged and dropped at a high rate of speed from wherever they are shipped from, not to mention the damage done before boxing.
Posted by WP2008 on 2012-11-26:
Hi my name is Kyle and I am a representative of Jenn-Air. I am sorry to learn of the issue you are having with your appliance. If there is anything that I can do please reach out to me via e-mail at JennAir_Digital@JennAir.com please include your full name, user name, physical address, complete contact information, along with the model and serial number of the appliance you are having concerns with. Please also include what site we contacted you on for our records. Thanks
Posted by Dave on 2013-06-10:
I too have one of these ranges (9 mos old) that will not hold the set temperature. I am an engineer and placed my own thermocouple in the oven to see what was going on. The unit would heat to 425 (actually it overshot considerably) and maintain for a time, then inexplicably it would drop to 325. Usually after you put food in it. If you cancelled and restarted, the oven's sensor measured and displayed 325 and then started heating back up to 425. It has already had a new control board and touchpad replaced just a month ago. This sure seems like a design/control issue to me. I am reading a lot of bad reports on this range. I only bought it because it is the only one of its type - thought it was overpriced. Hoped it would be reliable but I think it is not.
Posted by Katy Dunigan on 2013-12-31:
Hello! I am having the exact same problem with my Jenn Air range. After the desired temperature is reached, for an unknown reason, my oven begins losing heat. I have to reset the oven temperature over and over to ensure my food is cooked. BUMMER! Has anyone found a resolution for this problem?
Posted by shirley on 2014-02-05:
We have trouble with this oven, I bought a small oven for $99.00 cooks a lot better 2600 dollar oven. I use the big oven over Christmas my rolls failed the dressing did not bake.The oven quit cooking had to take them out turn on the temperature to 400 degrees it had dropped to 325 ,When food should have cooked you discover the temperature has dropped, We have had it checked and it keeps on ruining our food. I have cooked for 50 years and was told I had to learn to cook on it, Well I have learned to know when it has dropped temp and have to preheat again if that's what they mean,My convection part works ok The baking does not keep temp. I say something is wrong with this oven.We also had to have countertop cut to get new oven in replacing old Jenn-aire. I have had three Jenn-aires over the years but after this one I will go to another brand. The first two were good. The last one seems to just stop.
Posted by Troy on 2014-04-03:
Jenn air products are very poor quality and the customer service ie even worse. They do not stand behind the junk they sell.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Jen Air Refrigerator Rusting
Posted by ALANMO7 on 08/07/2012
TENNESSEE -- Today I noticed that the front panel of my Jen Air refrigerator door panel, under the water dispenser is rusting. I contacted Jen Air and talked to a supervisor named Stephanie regarding the defect and what kind of assistance she can give me regarding the problem with my refrigerator. She responded, she would be more then happy to assist me with locating a showroom in the area where I live. What response from a supervisor of a company to a customer with a problem.

It appears that Jen Air have found an easy way to get rid of their customers buy directing them to purchase a new refrigerator, rather then to help the customers. I have never seen a refrigerator panel to rust with the exception of the Jen Air refrigerators. What a company, and what a customer service and what a poor product, never again I will buy a "Jen Air"
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by ALANMO7 on 2012-08-08:
Excellent description
Posted by WP2008 on 2012-08-15:
Hello ALANMO7. My name is Melanie and I am a representative with JennAir. We are sorry about the rust spots on your refrigerator. If you have other concerns we can address, please provide your name, the site you were contacted on (My3Cents), your user ID name (ALANMO7), your phone number, your address, the full model and serial number, and email the requested information to JennAir.Digital@jennair.com. We would be happy to review your concerns further.
Sincerely, Melanie.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >