Preview Review

Next Review

JetBlue Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
JetBlue Refunded Only When Contacted by Attorney/Small Claims
By -

BURBANK, CALIFORNIA -- JetBlue refunded ONLY AFTER served with court papers. On July 2008, I bought a JetBlue Airways package for two costing $610.00 online. The package included flight + hotel for 4 days and 3 nights from Burbank Airport to Las Vegas. We arrived 1 hour early and were told that the flight was cancelled due to bad weather at JFK. The flight was cancelled even though there were four JetBlue planes on the Burbank Tarmac because they were using the plane from JFK to Burbank to continue onto Las Vegas.

They could not accommodate us with another flight and we opted to have all monies returned to my credit card. The receptionist only returned the flight portion and told me to call JetBlue Airways at 1-800-538-2583 for the hotel portion. Since we did not arrange for transportation home, we had to take two buses and walked home the rest of the way which took us three hours.

The JetBlue representatives at the 1-800-538-2583 were rude and robotic. There are reasons why women are put to handle customers' complaints because they are supposed to act mindless. I spoke to three different women and they all said the hotel portion was forfeited and we should be grateful that JetBlue even refunded our flight portion. I was livid that JetBlue was keeping my money when I did not even get to stay at the hotel.

I wrote to Mr. Barger, CEO, at the corporate office in New York. I did not get a response but a hotel refund for only one night was credited to me. My question is if they could refund one night, then why didn't they refund the full hotel portion. It took them four months to give me a full refund and only when I consulted an attorney and filed a small claims against them in November. The attorney contacted JetBlue with a written letter to pay the balance owed to me in 14 days.

For a big corporation like JetBlue, they try to rip customers off. Since I did not hear from them, I filed small claims in December. For those of you who don't know how to serve Corporations such as JetBlue, go to http://www.sos.ca.gov/business then click California Business Search on the left hand corner -- then next to Corporation type JetBlue Airways. Then click on JetBlue Airways (in blue) and you will see this:

JetBlue AIRWAYS CORPORATION. Number: **. Date Filed: 7/17/2000. Status: active. Jurisdiction: DELAWARE. Address: 19 Old Kings Hwy South Darien, Ct 06820. Agent for Service of Process: National Registered Agents, Inc. 2875 Michelle Dr Ste 100 Irvine, Ca 92606.

This is how you serve them with court papers. When they got served, they contacted my attorney to say that they credited all the monies back to my credit card. Since they did not make payments within the 14 days time frame, I took action to sue. JetBlue had four months to do the right thing but chose to ignore people like us.

Since I had already filed the court papers, I told my attorney to let JetBlue know that I would still go to court to have my case heard. However, JetBlue didn't want a judgment against them so they agreed to refund my court fees because it would cost them more to send their representative to court. In the end, I did not sue them for any compensation, only for money I spent and rightfully deserved!! If I can get my money back, you can too.

Replies
Advertisement
No Refund For Cancellation
By -

LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA -- On 17 December 2008 our party of six Australians (3 couples) were traveling with Lux Coach Lines Los Angeles to Las Vegas. It had to turn back because highway blocked by snow. After advises from your company we could be accommodated on your Flight 282, Dept. time 13.21 if we arrived in time or on Flight 286 Dept. time 15.50.

Lux delivered us to Long Beach Airport at 11.30. AM & for $507 cash I purchased six tickets for Flight 282. This flight was cancelled, no reason given but no plane sighted & we were given tickets for Flight 286 same loading area. We were advised Flight cancelled due to snow at Las Vegas Airport, but later Flight could still go but had to move to another loading area. As we lined up to go through security again we were advised flight also cancelled. We then returned to your Airport desk to change tickets for December 18th 2008. We were advised we were on Flight 286 & told if we came before 11.00 A.M. we could be on Standby/Wait Listed for earlier Flight 282.

On 18th December 2008 we were at Airport 10,30 A.M. & after luggage checked in, we were advised we were on Standby/Wait Listed for both Flights 282 & 286 & told advises we received the previous day were incorrect as both Flights were sold out & other passengers from 17th December were also on Standby/Wait Listed & we could not be guaranteed on getting on either Flight.

Offer of JETBLUE credit was declined as no used to us. We were then advised cancellation fees would apply (it was JETBLUE that cancelled Flight 282 Dec. 17th) & were offered $417 for our of $507 & being stuffed around over two days. I accepted the offer so we could get on with our trip but then advised we could not receive cash even though I paid cash & cash was available, it could not be credited to my Visa Credit Card but I would have to wait 6 to 8 weeks for a cheque to be sent to Australia. This will cost me $35 in Bank fees to negotiate if & when received & I will not have use of funds until cheque is cleared if your company is still operating.

The only positive to come out of contact with your company is the effort your employee ** made to resolve the situation on 18th Dec. & retrieved our luggage. She was understanding & patient. COMPARE JetBlue TO LUX COACH LINE SERVICE, LUX feeder vehicle picked us up at 6.45 A.M. & delivered us to Anaheim Depot at 8.30 A.M. At 9 A.M. we left for Las Vegas & were turned back at 10. A.M.

They provided us with alternatives which included offer from your Company. They provided these option: (1) Travel with Lux the next day; (2) Would drive us to Long Beach Airport, we could take up your offer which they did at 11.30 a.m; (3) They provided full refund for fares paid; (4) They provided drinks & snacks for passengers.

It may have been unprofitable for them but I am sure they will receive benefits in due course for the manner in which they dealt with situation promptly & decisively. JETBLUE cancelled Flight 282 on 17th Dec (no reason given) took us nowhere, gave us nothing, stuffed us around over 2 days & charged us for this privilege (Cancellation Fee). Refused to refund our money but did give a promise to send us a cheque in 6-8 weeks.

Replies
Jet Blue Blew It
By -

NYC (JFK), NEW YORK -- I can't imagine what happened on 08-08-08 for Jet Blue airline. I was flying home from JFK - New York City to Pittsburgh on the above date. Got to the airport only to find my flight was going to be delayed by 3 hours. As I looked around the Jet Blue Terminal and started to have conversations with other passengers I realized the whole system was out of sorts. People were laying on the floor, curled up on chairs trying to sleep etc. (being stranded for up to 9-10 hours already) and why I found out, was a delay in the whole system. Planes were ready to go but had no crew. Crews were ready to go but had no planes.

Scheduled flights were canceled to various parts of the country, leaving many passengers stranded, looking for alternative planes with added costs for moving. People with babies and children. Announcements were few and far between. I was routed from Gate 6 at 11:45 pm to Gate 15 at 10:35 pm to Gate 18 by way of shuttle bus for 11:15 pm. People passing by in the shuttle bus line were hysterical at the inept service. Many people had been shuttled back and forth between gates several times as their gates were changed.

Whew, what a seriously defective way to handle a misstep on the airlines part. Some people said it was weather related, but as we searched our laptops and called homes we couldn't find a single incident of really bad weather anywhere. Over the years I've been in planes that have taken off in storms, winter ice (with planes de-icing more than once) fog, turbulence. So if there was a weather related delay on 08-08-08 no one could find it.

I would think it was a total domino factor. One delay by a late crew or a faulty plane would set the tone for the complete ruination of a travel day. My biggest complaint is the lack of communication on the part of Jet Blue staff. The way we found out our flight was leaving earlier than the info. board said was by one of our group checking online through her phone. There happens to be a customers Bill of Rights by Jet Blue that says the following: "Customers whose flight is delayed for 1-1:59 hours after scheduled departure time due to a Controllable Irregularity are entitled to a $25 Voucher good for future travel on JetBlue."

Not one of us was offered this compensation. Our flight was scheduled to leave at 8:35 pm and didn't board until after 11:00 pm and wasn't able to take off until after midnight. We were truly treated BEST by the man guiding us to the shuttle bus and by the bus driver. When I flew to NYC on Jet Blue I was totally surprised and delighted, but it doesn't pay to be too optimistic about airline travel. It is at best a precarious, fine line between good and awful. Thank you for taking my review.

Replies
Flight 591 January 27, 2008
By -

NEW YORK -- On January 27, 2008 flight 591 left White Plains, NY at 7:55 am. We taxied for take off and we were told we needed to return to the terminal due to a ventilation problem. We were told the problem was fixed and finally departed at 10:00 am.

We began to take off and we were in the air but not at the correct altitude. The pilot came on and said we needed to be diverted to JFK because we were still having a problem. We waited on the plane for a mechanic and we were told that the problem had been solved that the mechanic at White Plains had shut off a valve that was supposed to be open for the cabin pressure which is why we could not reach altitude for flighting. This was a commercial mechanic which was clearly stated by the pilot. We started to taxi after 2 hrs waiting and now due to weather there was a 30 plane wait and the airport was considered close due to weather.

We were given warm water to drink and the usual snacks. After waiting another 2 hrs the pilot decided to return to the JFK terminal and decide what to do with the flight. A rep from Jetblue came to the plane and said that the plane needed to be refueled and have lab checks done before the flight could leave, we must stay on the plane. This is at 2:30. We have been on this plane sine 7:30 am, people with children and older people and angry people.

We were then told we could leave the airplane but stay close by. We were told that a rep would come by and issue food coupons but we needed to leave the terminal to get the food, many people opted to stay where we were in case they decided to get the flight underway.

We were misinformed by many reps during this time regarding rescheduling and transportation back to White Plains, NY where the flight originated. We were told the flight was cancelled then we were told the flight was not and Jetblue was trying to get another plane for us because our problem was mechanical not due to weather.

At 5:00 they cancelled the flight and we waited for transportation back to White Plains. We were all advised to call the 800 number to reschedule our flights however because there were many "weather related" cancellations, we were either on hold or disconnected. Eventually we arrived back at White Plains where we were able to get a bit more assistance then at JFK's Jetblue associates.

All the passengers seemed to feel that we were being shoved around and that no one really cared if we were satisfied or not. Up till now we were satisfied with Jetblue, but this last experience was very discouraging to think that the consumer is treated so unfairly when without the consumer many of the airlines would not exist. I am following this up with Jetblue and the Better Business Bureau in our area. Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Lost Luggage
By -

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- I think that reputation of JetBlue is extremely overinflated and this balloon is going to burst very soon. This 7/23/07 I had my first and now I am sure the only experience with JetBlue and I will never recommend that company to anybody again. On the contrary I will advise all my friend and relatives to stay away from this irresponsible company in order not to turn their travel in horror story.

For 2 years I, my husband and a group of friend were planning European vacation to celebrate our joint anniversary and my husband's special birthday. We booked 12 days European cruise and was supposed to stay in London for a week after. 7/23/07 our connecting flight with Delta from Richmond to JFK was delayed and we were concerned that we will not make it on time to our British Airways flight to London and will miss our ship.

So we bought a ticket on JB to JFK; and girl Angie, who sold us JetBlue seats assured us that we should run to the plane (it was ready to take off in a little more than 40 min as it was also delayed) and that she will make sure that our luggage will make it to the plane. We informed her about details of our international travel and she just told us "Run to the plane, everything will be fine, I will make sure that your luggage will be loaded on the plane".

The moment we landed to JFK I am getting a phone call from Angie, who informs me that our luggage was never picked up and that it was the last flight to NY and that there are no way we can get our luggage to NY JFK until the next day. Well, our ship was sailing the next day from London... We called our son and asked him to contact JB and to arrange delivery of our luggage to Oslo, where ship was making first stop.

I can write probably a book about not returned phone calls, about incompetence of almost every single person we were dealing with and about the fact that now, as of 9/19/07 our phone calls are still not returned, every time we are managing to get through the answer is "We will call you" and nobody calls and no single responsible person to be found. We still don't have our luggage or any compensation.

As for our travel: imagine yourself on a special vacation on the ship without any change of clothing, including the underwear (which you can't buy on the ship), without any essentials which are making your vacation comfortable and enjoyable. When you and your husband on your special day can't even enter formal dining room because you don't have an appropriate attire; when you are arriving for several hours to the capital of Denmark, where you had never been before and instead of the sightseeing and visiting museums you have to run to the local department store in search for essential underwear, shoes and clothing.

And imagine that European prices are outrageous and you feel completely ridiculous when you have to pay for the pair of pants $200, when you could buy identical in USA for $50. Plus you feel completely robbed of not only of your belonging but of your time in the wonderful city, because you ended up seeing only the store (you had to!) and you are not sure if in your lifetime you will ever have a chance to return to this city again.

By the way: I still don't have my luggage and still don't have any single person in JetBlue accepting responsibility and saying, "Yes, we will find it and will compensate you for all your troubles." All I heard only finger pointing and statements, that this is not our department who will handle this or "I am not a person who is in charge of your file, Julie is. She will call your tomorrow". Did she ever call? No. I am still waiting (for the last 7 days). So if you want to enjoy your vacation and not have any horror stories to tell, please, NEVER fly with JetBlue!

Replies
JetBlue True Blue Lack of Service Team!
By -

I have never written a negative review before so here goes! I have never been so disappointed with a company in my life. I fly 8 months out of the year and all over the globe. I participate in numerous rewards programs and have more free flights and hotel stays than I care to think about. I often lose them because they expire before I can use them.

This is the case with JetBlue. I have 4 free flights under their "old" TrueBlue rewards program. I decided it would be fun to take the family to Florida for a week and so I went online to book my flights. Much to my disappointment I discovered that JetBlue has transitioned to a new reservations system and that I could no longer book my rewards flights online. I had to call to make the reservation.

No problem I thought and so I called. I was told that there was "higher than normal" call volume and that my call would be answered as soon as possible. I waited 45 minutes the first time, 1 hour the second time, 2 hours the third time and I am currently on hold at 3 hours and 20 minutes. I have been disconnected 4 times and possibly hung up on after finally getting through yesterday. I would have given up long ago if the rewards weren't expiring shortly! I decided to email them and this is cut and pasted from their response!

"Thank you for contacting JetBlue Airways regarding your TrueBlue account. JetBlue has just completed transitioning to a new reservation system and as a result, the TrueBlue help desk is currently receiving a high volume of email and can no longer accept them at this time. We apologize for the inconvenience. Please note: Old TrueBlue points that appear in your online account summary can not be booked through jetblue.com. To book Award travel using these old points, please call us at 1-800-JETBLUE. We value you as a JetBlue customer and apologize for any inconvenience caused from the temporary limitations we are experiencing."

BS! They aren't even accepting emails at this point! This sounds like a potential class action lawsuit to me! Virgin America here I come!

Replies
Lose Your Bags and Treat You Like a Criminal
By -

I will be brief. My trip to NY on JetBlue took a turn for the worse when JetBlue lost the luggage that had my families wedding clothes. As you could imagine this was frustrating and inconvenient. However most upsetting was their response, which was to immediately act as if either a) the bag would show up soon so there was nothing they could do or b) we had stolen the bag and were trying to scam them.

Over time, it became clear the bag wasn't showing up. They shifted almost entirely to option B, acting as if we were running a scam. As they told me many times, they have to protect their bottom line, and even though they "misplaced our bag" (going on 2 months) how do they know I (the person whose luggage was lost) is not doing this as some sort of diabolical racket.

After requiring an itemized list of goods in the bag they said they would take 45 days to respond with their decision about what to do. When that response finally came their offer was to refund approximately 35% of the value of the goods that were in the luggage. Their rational was 10% depreciation per year for every item I could find a receipt for, plus 20% off the top for any item I could not find a receipt for. In addition, any item that was priced over $100 for which I could not provide a receipt they would "depreciate" 100%! I asked, "is that a fancy way of saying you refuse to refund for such items."

Apparently it was. Although they lost my luggage while I was using their service, since I didn't save my receipt from 2004 for an item their policy is to reject reimbursement. Does anybody save receipts for that long? You can just see the number crunchers figuring out how much money they can save by denying reimbursement for such items and then making a policy to rationalize it. And from what I have seen in reviews of JetBlue, it is probably a lot of money they are saving as it sure seems like they frequently lose bags.

This has been a frustrating and insulting experience, a far cry from the customer friendly image JetBlue attempts to portray. I would suggest caution when having anything to do with them. Like many HMOs they are clearly interested in devising policies that protect their bottom line, even when they screw-up, with little concern for the well being (or continued patronage) of their customers. That is a concerning trait for an airline to exhibit. Good luck in any future contact you may have with them, I hope it is better than my experience.

Replies
JetBlue - Luggage NIGHTMARE!
By -

LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA -- I have always been a big fan of JetBlue. When traveling for my company it's well known that my first choice is always JetBlue. That all changed last Sunday when I actually had a crisis occur, one other than a change of seats or change in reservation. One that actually required you to backup your claim of superb customer service. My luggage was lost. Not one piece but two. This is where the nightmare began.

I was returning from Boston where I had been for nearly a month. I went to my home office and stayed on for the holidays. I was traveling with a month's worth of clothes, coats, jackets, watches, pants, gifts, family photo's etc. I flew out of Boston on flight number 1007 Boston to JFK 10:40-11:49, after a four hour layover I connected with flight 215 JFK to Long Beach 3:59-7:32.

When I landed my luggage was missing. I was given a number to call at Long Beach to check on the status that no one ever answered. I then spoke with JetBlue at close to midnight and was told that MY LUGGAGE HAD BEEN FOUND. I was told that the courier would deliver it within 5-6 hours. I mentioned that I had been traveling all day and that I was exhausted. I was afraid that perhaps I might fall off to sleep and miss them completely. I was informed that if I did so I would be responsible for my luggage. With no choice, I lay on my couch in a daze waiting for the courier that never came.

I called JetBlue in the early morning and was told that they'd made a mistake and my luggage was never found. WHAT??? What could that be all about? "We have your luggage and now we don't." Not only did they lose my luggage but BOTH pieces. My garment bag had a grey tag attached with my business card inside. You still have no idea where my luggage is located. What are the tags for that you attach when a customer checks in? They have bar codes… for what purpose if you cannot track baggage? Are they just for show?

JetBlue has no excuse for losing luggage, especially two pieces. One had my business card attached. In comparison to airlines like Delta, American, and US Air, JetBlue covers a fraction of their territory. Most of your destinations are in the US with a major hub - JFK. It's a new experiment and it's NOT working.

I was a loyal JetBlue customer but feel that the courtesy was not returned. For all the PR you do regarding customer service and the TrueBlue experience you fail miserably when called upon to actually handle a problem. A few questions still remain - Why was I told my luggage was found? Who was it that told me such and WHY? Where is my luggage? Any help would be appreciated.

Replies
Advertisement
Over and Above
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

We recently flew from Ft. Meyers Florida to JFK then on to Portland Maine (Flt 124 and 608, 02/28/13 - name **). During deplaning I required a wheelchair on the jetway and then to the food court area. At some point I discovered that my wallet was missing. My problem! A new and bulky wallet that easily slipped from my side pocket. Regardless it was not in my possession on delivery to the food court area.

We immediately notified JetBlue who set in motion their staff to check the plane quickly, called the overall service folks for JFK who came to collect my wife and take her from the gate area, to the lost and found and to the baggage area. The wallet was not located. My guess is that it slipped out while moving from the seat to the jetway.

This morning I received a call from JetBlue in Ft. Myers to tell me that the wallet had been found in Ft. Meyers during thorough cleaning of the aircraft. The person, **, walked me through what needed to be done to get the wallet back to me ASAP. I authorized her to search the wallet for my credit card which she and the supervisor did, (time ~11:15 AM, 03/02/13). Needless to say, I am stunned by the successful outcome largely due to the attentive and honest staff at JetBlue and the Customer service chap (AirServe) at JFK, a fellow by the name of **. I am so sorry we did not note the names of the other JetBlue folks who helped as well.

We have been flying JetBlue whenever possible for several years and ALWAYS found the staff and service to be outstanding! Our PWM flight was delayed, however, that is a non-issue in my mind. If one travels "suck it up" that's the way it goes! Don't like it?? Stay at home! The JetBlue staff was exemplary. So our hats are off to the folks at JetBlue and to ** at JFK. Not a thing to complain about.

Replies
Not Notified of Flight Change!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I went to fly from Orlando to Washington/Dulles airport today. When I got to the airport and went to check in, I was notified that the flight had been changed, and would be leaving 3 hours later. I was upset, as I could have been in bed for 3 more hours but more importantly, I had people meeting me at my destination - some taking time off from work to do so. So, they were adversely affected as well.

I contacted JetBlue (supervisor ** on 5/31/2012 at 8:15am eastern) to get to the bottom of why I was not notified of the change. Now, stay with me here. I am a TrueBlue member. I booked this flight via my TrueBlue account. I have an email address associated with that account, yet, JetBlue NEVER sent a schedule change to that email account. They don't even dispute that. Their excuse to me for this mishap was that when I booked the flight originally, I had put in an additional email address (my wife's!) who I wanted to make aware of my flight'€™s, and of any changes if they happen.

Well, happen they did, and JetBlue ONLY sent the schedule change email to that address, not mine! When I spoke with **, she also stated that they notified me via phone of the flight change in March. That call NEVER occurred. They told me that they actually spoke with a person when they called. That person would have been me, as this is my phone that no-one else answers. Also, they say they keep notes of such calls and outcomes and did not leave a voice mail (that part is true, I never received a voicemail.)

What was amazing to me was that supervisor ** stated everything worked fine according to their process. So, their change request process will send an email to those you want notified of your travel plans, but not the actual TrueBlue member traveling and booking the flight! I asked if they were aware of this anomaly and the fact that this TrueBlue member was never notified and she defended their process.

I did ask if they were going to offer any compensation for this major inconvenience, and the answer was no. What a shame JetBlue. I've typically had good service and enjoy flying your airline. All it takes is one bad experience like this to change my buying behavior. Shame on you!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

JetBlue Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
98 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
JetBlue
118-29 Queens Blvd.
Forest Hills, NY 11375
800-538-2583 (ph)
718-709-3621 (fax)
www.jetblue.com
Product/Services
Compare Airline Companies