Jitterbug - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
19 reviews & complaints.
Let us help you stay connected to those who matter in your life. We want you to be prepared for any situation, especially when you leave your home. We have created the Jitterbug cell phone specifically for seniors, and choosing the one you need couldn’t be easier. Our phones are crafted to help users by providing large buttons for easier dialing and assuring conversations are loud and clear. Get the conversation started by calling today!
Request more information
Company Profile
1998 Ruffin Mill Road
Colonial Heights, VA 23834
1-888-666-0382 (ph)
Compare Phone/Mobile Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Beware of Jitterbug coverage
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

Do not rely on the website map that shows coverage over most of the U.S. I bought in reliance on the map, plus checking the coverage in the zip code, and found out that I can get no service. Talking to the company didn't help.

Difficult to cancel
By -

Several years back I obtained the Jitterbug Service for my mother. She is now 93 and is not using the phone. I even set up the website with password etc. Yesterday I called Customer service to cancel her service and was told only she can do that. I went on the website and could not find any place to cancel the service. It is going to be difficult to get mom to say the right things on the phone.

Since this company is dealing with primarily the elderly and, in turn, their caregivers they need to learn to accommodate the situations this will present. There should be the opportunity to cancel service online if you have the account information or even through customer service if you have the account information, log in etc.

Company Response 11/08/2010:

Hello. My name is Sue Weaver, and I'm the VP of Customer Service at GreatCall, creators of the Jitterbug phone and service. After reading your post I wanted to personally reach out, as we apologize that you've had trouble cancelling your mother's account.

As a company dedicated to meeting the needs of our customers, I'd like to speak with you directly so that I can resolve this to your satisfaction and learn more about the issues you've experienced—so that as a company we can better address this in the future.

If you'd like to speak with me, you can please call me at 760-602-6700 and ask to speak with Sue Weaver.

Dishonest Salespeople
By -

I returned the cell phone in April of this year. They are still charging my credit card which I never authorized for a cell phone I do not have. I get a song and dance every time I try to talk to a salesperson. This company as per all the other complaints I have read as well from my own experience is stealing money from my account which is factual as I can prove from my credit card company. They should be run out of business and I intend to report them to Attorney General office here in NC.

Company Response 06/22/2010:

I am concerned to learn of your issue and as VP of Customer Service for Jitterbug I would appreciate the opportunity to resolve any problems. Please contact me at your earliest convenience.

Jitterbug Cell Phone A Ripoff
By -

CARLSBAD, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased a basically new Jitterbug phone which worked fine when I sent it in to Jitterbug to be programmed for my parents and was told it had water damage and I'd have to purchase a new phone. Very difficult to believe it actually had water damage. Have been trying to get the phone back for a month and a half to have it checked out. After several tries they still haven't sent it back. I feel this company is ripping off consumers. The following is a record of events to date:

6/11/08: Didn't hear from anyone from Jitterbug for 2 weeks, called to find the tech repair department determined the phone had “water damage” and no one had contacted me. I was told I would have to purchase a new phone. The phone I had sent in was basically brand new when I received it and I took it out of plastic. Nothing had happened to it while I had it and I sent it to Jitterbug extremely well packed and in a sealed bag.

I had played with the phone before sending it to Jitterbug. All functions worked perfectly and it didn't have a scratch on it. Previous owner said it worked fine when she had it but very nicely sent me a complete refund. Asked Jitterbug to return the phone to me.

6/13/08: Called again to check on status and what I could do. Lady answering said didn't have any record of me asking for the phone back but she would re-request it. Goggled “Jitterbug water damage” and came up with several websites stating Jitterbug often cited water damage and other problems when asked to reprogram phones and often overcharged customers.

6/30/08: Still haven't received my phone back. Called Jitterbug again and spoke to **. He said that an email had been sent to repairs on 6/13/08 but it didn't look like the phone had been sent out for some reason. Said he would make a point to re-re-request it be sent back to me. 7/27/08: Haven't received phone. Called Jitterbug again. Lady that answered said they have no record of me in their database. 7/28/08: **. Asked again about returning phone. She said she would send out a “followup” to everyone in Tech Department which is a step beyond what people have done previously and this should work. Pending.

They Really Don't Like Their Customers
By -

FORT MYERS, FLORIDA -- I called customer service to replace my Jitterbug cellphone which stopped working. I FedEx-ed it to them the next day. I've now been without a cellphone for 3 weeks. I've been told three times by three different CSRs that my replacement cellphone will go out in one or two days. To make matters insulting, one of the CSRs didn't put me on hold and I could hear the conversation between I believe three people about my account. One person told the other - "I don't know what to tell this guy (me)", someone else said "I hate it when the bosses in charge don't give you a system that works so we can do our job".

And the icing on the cake was when I was put on hold for 15 minutes, a rep came back on the line and said, "Can I help you?" I told her "I've been on hold for 15 minutes, I keep getting promises and no action, so I want to talk to the President of the company." The CSR gave out a big belly laugh and said "I'll transfer the call right away and good luck getting him to answer". Sure enough after another 5 or 10 minutes on hold the line went DEAD. These folks hate their jobs, hate their boss, and treat their customers like crap. I leave it to you to decide if you want to sign a contract with a company like that.

Poor customer Service
By -

DEL MAR, CALIFORNIA -- Stay away from Jitterbug cell phones, marketed by Great Call, Inc. of Del Mar, CA. Their Customer Service representatives are purposeful liars.

The Jitterbug Customer Service Dept. has lied to me from the day I called them to order a phone on July 7, 2007. I asked to have a phone with a Florida area code, because I would soon be moving from New Hampshire to Florida. I was told "no problem." I also signed up for a year's service in advance, and my credit card was charged $675.00.

Three days later, I received the phone by FED EX, but it had a NH area code. I called the company and was told that it was a mistake, just send it back with a pre-paid UPS shipping label that they would e-mail to me (I failed to notice that it was UPS ground mail.) I mailed the phone back and waited for my replacement. After 7 days, I called again and was told that they never sent replacement phones, they wait for your old phone to be returned and then they re-program it.

I yelled that I was getting ready to move to Florida and needed a phone ASAP. So, they agreed to FED EX it, but then they (3 reps on a conference call) said "Oh, we can't guarantee you a Florida area code". They offered me an 866 area code "in case the 904 area code lines are all used up". I told them that didn't make sense -- I wanted a 904 code.

I waited 3 days, but the phone never came. So, I called and cancelled and asked for a refund. I was told I would get a refund as soon as the phone was returned to them. I checked the tracking label and found that the phone had already been received. Customer service said the phone had been misplaced, but they would get right on the task of my refund.

A week later, they still had not credited by card. I spoke to another customer rep. who said she would straighten it out and call back.

Three days later I called again, and this rep. said it would take 21 days to get my card credited for the year of service I paid.

I have spent 1 month trying to sort this out and I have spoken to 14 customer service reps. They will tell you anything to get you off the phone but they do not deliver. STAY AWAY.

Extra Month Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Company refused to close my account without charging an extra month. Their policy is to squeeze an extra payment out of you. My policy is to not pay for services I don't want!

Great Jitterbug Rip off Seniors and now trying 911 service
By -

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- The minute counter on the Jitterbug J phone does not work, so seniors go over their minutes and get ripped off. Then I called the other day and the customer service representative told me if I am being robbed, or have a heart attack I should call Great Call instead of 911 with a new service they are going to have. If they can not fix the minute counter how can I trust them with a 911 service ? And, if I am having a heart attack, are not I losing time calling the drug abusers, and gang members at the Great Call call centers?

By -

Having trouble getting a monthly bill.

Top of Page | Next Page >