[X]

Joann Fabrics

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
23 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Jen-Weld Window Failure
Posted by Robert9106 on 11/23/2010
I purchased a home that was about 10 tears old which was built with Jen-Weld windows. My crank out casement windows had to be replaced starting as soon as I bought the house, about 6 years ago at this point. Jen-Weld did sell me the windows at a discount. I thought that the failure was possibly because the previous owner failed to take care of the windows. Now, however, most of the fixed windows, including 2 big picture windows, are failing. These are vinyl clad, permanent windows. I started noticing the failure at about 14 years. I understand they are out of warranty, but the replacement of these windows will cost me thousands. I am hoping Jen-Weld will sell the windows at a greatly reduced cost, but have not heard from them regarding my request. I would certainly not recommend Jen-Weld windows if they fail in such a short time.

     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by GenuineNerd on 2010-11-23:
The window company is actually "Jeld-Wen".
Close commentsAdd reply

Horrible Management-madison, wi
Posted by Sewingcircle on 12/16/2009
MADISON, WISCONSIN -- I have had it with my local Joann's store. I sew for a living, and do shop locally for some of the items I use. However, I will never shop at that store again! I have had various complaints over the years and was always met w/ sincere and apologetic managers who took my issues seriously and corrected them. Not any more! After manager changes this year, my complaints are met by rolling eyes, snide comments and attitudes of "so what?" Particularly by the asst mgr, Jo-who not only is nasty with customers but w/ employees as well! How they think this is a valued employee is beyond my comprehension!
I will buy on-line or at Hancock from now on.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by CSD on 2009-12-16:
So what was your complaint?
Posted by sewingcircle on 2009-12-17:
During a recent return, manager Jo wasn't coming up to register to OK my return. (this is not the first problem I have had w/ her) I waited 15 min. (for her dinner break) and was then told she was "handling a serious problem somewhere else in store! I left and will not be back.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-17:
I'm suprised there weren't other managers in the store who could ok your return. Then again, if venturing to Jo Ann's during the evening, there's just usually one manager on duty after a certain time... depending on if it's one of the smaller stores or the super stores. Super stores have more than one manager on duty at any time.
Close commentsAdd reply

Joann Fabrics-Bad Return Policy
Posted by Joanna2011 on 06/06/2011
MARLTON, NEW JERSEY -- On 4/25 I purchased a couple of yarns from JoAnn Marlton NJ store and wanted to return them yesterday 6/5 within 90 days from the purchase. Their return policy without receipt sucks. Basically it is not there.

So the manager there said he can scan the merchandise back and the corporate will send me a check within 2 weeks. I said ok, but the minute he started to ring the products on the register I noticed he was refunded me half of what I paid. I stopped him and asked why? He stated that per company policy they have to give me the actual lowest price of the merchandise. I asked how much does the same yarn cost now and he gave me the price that I paid ($9.99). When I asked him why does he refund me only $4.99 if the product did not have a price change he said because he doesn't know when I purchased the items because I do not have a receipt.

I think if you use common sense and a little bit of logic he should refunded me the price that I paid regardless the date of the purchase if the item did not have a change in price!!!!!

I have tried to tell him that what he says and what he's doing doesn't make sense and it is illogic to refund me half of the price if the price didn't change and the policy says to refund the lowest price of the product at the time of the return. He was looking at me like I have stolen the yarns from the store. Bad customer service!!!!! Do not shop there!!! I will never ever shop there!!!!!
Sorry for the long post but I needed to share my bad experience with you.

     
Read 18 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by MDSasquatch on 2011-06-06:
In the absence of a receipt, I have to side with the store on this one.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-06:
Lots of stores do this if you don't have a receipt.
Posted by azRider on 2011-06-06:
I got to go with the store on this one too. you did not have a receipt, and I know joann's often has sale flyers with coupons that come in my paper on Sunday. so without a receipt there is no way to know if you used a coupon, it was a special sale or if you bought them a year ago during a clearance promotion. they have no way of knowing the price you paid. so I don't see a problem with the store.
Posted by MRM on 2011-06-06:
Expect to face hassles if you dont have a receipt.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-06:
AzRider, I was just about to add to my comment, but you summed up what I wanted to say!
Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-06:
To add onto AzRider, if you purchased it at $6.99 when it last went on sale, and then the refunded you it at $9.99, then you are esentially making $3.00. If a company started letting me do this, then I may want to take advantage of it. I'd buy a lot of items when they go on sale, and then return them all once they stop going on sale. I'd probably be able to make a good amount of money.
Posted by Sophia Marie on 2011-06-06:
Lesson learned - - there is a price to pay when you make a return without a receipt. You are rightfully at the mercy of the retailer and their policies.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-06:
So if a customer doesn't have their receipt, the store MAY accept their return, but can refund them 50% off what the customer paid because the store has no idea when the customer actually bought the item(s) and that sounds reasonable?

I find this review interesting b/c oddly enough I just had a similar experience at Michael's the other day, when I needed to return some items and I didn't have my receipt. No hassle, a simple look up in the system to see when I'd made my purchase and within 5 minutes I had cash in hand. The OP doesn't say how they paid, but I would suspect that most businesses have the technology to look up a credit/debit card transaction no problemo...it's just a matter of whether or not they choose to provide good customer service or not.

I don't know how many times I've said it, but store policies are guidelines.. they are not rules that can never be broken.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-06:
Great review, very helpful!!! +1,
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-06:
JC, when I worked retail, we could look up when a customer made a purchase if they paid by credit card and they had that credit card with them (we had to scan the same card). We couldn't look it up if they paid by cash or check or gift card. I don't know if things have changed since then
Posted by SteveWiginowski on 2011-06-06:
JC, if they are able to look it up, they should do it. We are unable to determine what was used to purchase it in this though. Giving a refund for the lowest sales price makes sense so that the store won't lose money. If everyone was honest, then I don't think there would be a need for receipts when returning a product. The problem is that people try to cheat the system, which hurts the honest people.

Having a receipt can prove to be very helpful. It can prove not only when an item is purchased, but the actual purchase price.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-06-06:
Yep, I agree SteveW...I wish the OP had mentioned what method was used for purchase. If it was a cash purchase, than I agree that JoAnn's probably did the best they could.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-06-06:
That has been the policy of almost all retail stores for years. Common sense and a little bit of logic should tell you that a store is not going to give you back more than you paid. Without a receipt, how does the store know that you didn't pay the lowest price of the item in the last 90 days? It's your responsibility to prove what you paid for the merchandise, not the store's.
Posted by Buddy01 on 2011-06-07:
One example at my store of a customer that tried to abuse the no receipt no return policy is a man who wanted to return a man's shirt. He swore that he bought the shirt the previous week. Actually my store hadn't sold that particular brand of shirt in about 10 years.
Posted by Starlord on 2011-06-07:
Steve hit the nail on the head. If there weren't dishonest people trying to rip stores off, they would have no trouble with returns, receipts or not. It is a truth that when dishonest people (sounds better than crooks) cost stores the amount that has been reported annually for many years, then the honest customers have to foot the bill with higher prices. this forces the stores to at least try to mitigate the damages by absolutely requiring proof of purchase, AKA a receipt, for a refund or exchange.
Posted by Katrina on 2013-07-10:
I had a receipt, and still had a bad experience with Joann's. Basically, I purchased some beads on sale, and decided on a different color. I asked for a an even exchange, but was told that since they were I longer on sale, I would have to pay the difference. That made no sense to me since I had my original receipt, and just wanted the same product in a different color. I have no problem respecting a store's return/exchange policy (which is why I do not shop at Burlington Coat Factory) however, when that policy is not expressed in the store, nor the receipt, I have a problem with that. I used to spend a lot of money there, now I simply take my business to Michael's.
Posted by Who Now on 2013-07-23:
To Katrina,

When you tried to make an even exchange, did the employee there explain to you that each and every item in that store is tracked by computer and if you just swap out one slightly different item for a slightly different item, it can through the entire inventory off? That causes so many headaches for everyone at the store.

Sorry they did not explain it to you, but they have to stick to the exacting rules.
Posted by Mirya on 2014-02-28:
Stores do not have to accept any returns without a receipt. You are lucky that they gave you anything at all.
As for switching items out, once a sale is over the sale is over. If an employee creates a discount for a customer without manager authorization it is grounds for dismissal.
Inventory must be tracked. One cannot simply 'swap' similar items without corporate coming down on the store for 'shrinkage'.
Close commentsAdd reply

Jo-Ann Jo Ann Joann Fabrics Shady Policies
Posted by ImFedUp on 01/15/2011
MICHIGAN, MICHIGAN -- Although Joann's stores claim to have a clear, well-defined return policy which they post over the customer service stands, what they don't tell you (or advertise, for good reason) is that different items have return policies specific to themselves.

Recently, Jo Ann has also changed some of their policies.

1.) SPECIAL ORDER RETURNS: Special orders on their designer fabric samples in the home decor department ARE NOT returnable. Period. Even for FLAWS, which would be a legitimate reason to most retailers. BUY SPECIAL ORDERS AT YOUR OWN RISK. They USED to check items in one-by-one in home decorator fabrics at my local store, to check for weaving flaws, etc.--they NO longer do.

2.) CLEARANCE ITEM RETURNS: Clearance items and seasonal items are now NON-REFUNDABLE. Don't even try, because I have.

3.) "RED TAG" aka "FLATFOLD TABLE" FABRIC RETURNS: Many larger stores have a section in the back of the store with odd ball bits and ends/remnants of various types of materials, from home dec/upholstery, quilting cottons, fashion fabrics, etc-- called "RED TAG" fabrics--now, since Jo-Ann has instituted a no-return policy on ALL clearance items, these materials are also lumped in with "clearance" merchandise. RED TAG fabrics are NOT RETURNABLE anymore. They USED to be. It's not posted on the racks, and also for obvious reasons--they rope you in and then tell you, "the new policy is printed on the back of the receipt."

4.) SPECIAL ORDER POLICIES:

a. They used to allow you to put down 50% as a deposit on special order fabrics--NOT ANY MORE. You now have to pay all the balance up front, including SHIPPING--even though they are not even shipping the merchandise to your home--it arrives at the store you ordered it from on one of their TRUCKS--which, by the way, arrives on a weekly basis ANYWAY. Jo-Ann's is making YOU pick up the tab for their fuel costs!

b. If you fail to come and pick up your special order within 30 days, you essentially forfeit your order (including the amount you paid for it!)and it is placed on the rack for sale--AT FULL RETAIL PRICE. The special order form thingy HAS a chronological process of informing the sales clerks to call you and remind you at 30, 60, and finally 90 days (corresponding to the final extent of their return policy timeframe) however, I have witnessed orders going out to the floor after only 30! So, make sure your phone number is correct, and if at all possible, GIVE THEM MORE THAN ONE CONTACT NUMBER! They will NOT try to "look you up" in the phone book, etc. It's YOUR responsibility to GO IN AND CHECK, physically, with the people at the front desk and ASK them if your order has arrived yet.

c. KEEP YOUR RECEIPT! When you check out on a special order, you get BOTH a copy of the register's receipt ALONG with that big form you had to fill out at the front desk that describes what you ordered. NOT HAVING THIS WITH YOU COULD JEOPARDIZE your order! Some stores are nicer and let you come in and get your order without it, because they are supposed to have a binder with all the special orders carbon copies in it going back AT LEAST 2 years. Now, if you go to one of those "ghetto" stores with lazy, apathetic workers who will not put forth the effort to dig this binder out AND/OR tell you they don't know anything about special orders, BRING YOUR ORDER FORM AND RECEIPT!

5.) RETURNS WITHOUT A RECEIPT. Here is one that a lot of people on here just cannot seem to wrap their heads around. Jo-Ann's WILL accept returns without a receipt, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF FABRICS, TRIMS, OR THINGS THAT HAVE TO BE CUT. If it's cut, and you try to return it WITHOUT a sales receipt, the nice folks at the return counter will ASSUME you are returning the item FRAUDULENTLY.

In otherwords, let's say the more shady character buys ten yards of something, and only uses five, and tries to return the rest--being that you cannot present a valid receipt for only five yards, then you'd have to go without a receipt. BINGO! They caught you. No receipt, no return. PERIOD. I did this legitimately on the full yardage on trim once, and got asked to LEAVE THE STORE. They do NOT want you there.

NOW, if you have non-cuttable items like general merchandise THAT WAS NOT ON CLEARANCE, then you CAN return it without a receipt--WITH A CATCH.

ALL items bought without a receipt (EXCEPT CUT YARDAGE ITEMS) will be charged 50% off of the CURRENT SELLLING PRICE. Why? Well, the more shady customer could have used one of those lovely coupons they make you sign up for--then you'd be getting back more than what you paid. BINGO.

Well, what if you, the honest customer says, sure, I used a coupon, but it was ONLY a 40% off coupon, or a 30% off coupon! SO WHAT, because you could be potentially trying to defraud the store, and they DO issue 50% ones. So, BECAUSE they DO issue 50% coupons and they are readily available, they keep HALF of what you originally paid EVEN IF you paid full price under the ASSUMPTION that you are attempting to DEFRAUD them. Great customer service attitude, huh? This is how one of their store managers explained it to me.

BOTTOM LINE: When the clerk asks you if you want the receipt IN the bag, SAY NO--why? Because you are MORE LIKELY TO LOSE IT if it's in the bag, rather than your wallet--therefore lowering returns for Jo-Ann's stores. That's retail chain mentality for you.

6.) GENERAL STORE POLICY: Jo-Ann's store managers train their employees to treat every customer as if he/she is a POTENTIAL THIEF. Why? Because big-box retailers lose millions of dollars of merchandise to shady customers as well as shady employees. In order to protect from this, they cover their backs to the nth degree. So should you! Playing innocent of their policies won't absolve you of them. The second you select merchandise and agree to pay for it, you are bound to that retailer's long (and often unpublished) policy handbook!


SUMMARY:

Jo-Ann's used to be a store that NEVER took ANY returns, and coupons could NOT be used on ANY special order items or specialty things. Now, at least, they DO accept returns (although Jo-Ann's is getting back to being much more selective on those.) SO--what can you do? ALWAYS ask the customer service person at the FRONT DESK (more likely to be a manager or supervisor) "WHAT IS YOUR RETURN POLICY ON X PRODUCT?" BEFORE buying or checking out or having them cut anything. Protect yourself, and be pro-active. Don't get on these complaints boards if you failed to INFORM YOURSELF before hand. Keep in mind, businesses are out there to MAKE MONEY--they are going to protect THEIR interests--not yours.

*The reviewer has spent several (heartachingly bad) years in the retail AND retail management fields. I have gleaned much of this info DIRECTLY from ACTUAL store policies--and am presenting it here for YOU--THE CONSUMER, because retailers DON'T want you to know this information!*

***STORES IN MICHIGAN TO AVOID IF YOU WANT DECENT CUSTOMER SERVICE--AKA "GHETTO" STORES:

--Lansing (west side near Lansing Mall)
--Waterford (near Summit Place Mall)
--Bloomfield Hills (Long Lake & Telegraph--TERRIBLE customer service, run by lazy rich people who argue every policy detail to the minutest)
--Roseville (at 13 Mile Road) Very dirty and bad service

     
Add reply

Ripped off by Joann Fabrics
Posted by Crooked joanns on 03/20/2010
Watch out for Joann Fabrics no receipt policy or them in general. They say they have a no receipt policy. They reduce your refund amount give you a receipt then keep both your money and merchandise saying they can't find a receipt. WHAT A BUNCH OF DECEPTIVE CON ARTISTS!!!! They take your merchandise in exchange for a worthless refund receipt which indicates they will send you your money in 14 days. That never happens and they refuse to give you a check or your merchandise back claiming it is theirs since you have no receipt. They basically think their customers are thieves and they stole the merchandise. So everyone boycott the cheats with the deceptive holding your merchandise hostage policy until they get what they stole from others. They always claim they can not find one in their records nor do they tell you they have to find a receipt on their end. So they now have tons of money and merchandise from customers who came in WITHOUT a receipt in the first place. They basically confiscate your stuff under false pretenses and say you didn't pay for it . HOW ABOUT THIS LOVELY MERCHANT WHO THINKS THEIR CUSTOMERS STEAL.
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by CSD on 2010-03-20:
Why would any business give you money at all without a receipt. Feel lucky you you got something.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-03-20:
CSD, if I'm reading this correctly, the OP didn't get anything. The refund receipt said they would get a check in 14 days, but it never arrived. So they have no merchandise and no refund.

If what the OP is saying is true, shame on Joann's.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-20:
The only way they could look up a receipt was taking the many many many paper rolls of the paper journals, going through them one by one to try and find the combo of what you bought at the day you bought it. They don't have electronic journals. They're stuff is done by transaction numbers. So, when you bring back merchandise with your receipt... they can pull up that same receipt with the transaction number and date listed on the receipt.
Jo Ann's is not that high tech yet.
So, without the receipt, there's no proof you bought what you did from them at the price you say you did.
Be glad you're getting anything back at all. Many retail places have a no receipt no refund policy... no exceptions.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-03-20:
Bearkat, what am I missing here? I understand that Joann's can't look up receipts, but they are keeping the returned merchandise and in exchange giving the customer a receipt for a check to be mailed within 14 days. But the customer never receives a check and ends up with nothing. Am I getting this wrong?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-20:
Venice, you are not missing anything. Joanns kept the return and they have not sent a check. The customer got screwed on this one!
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-03-20:
Oh, thanks.. I thought I was losing it there for a minute.

And if they do this on a regular basis, then I think the OP is correct in saying that Joanns is the one stealing, and not the customers.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-20:
I don't know what a merchandise refund receipt it. That wasn't ever done when I worked there. That's not a usual policy. Which makes me ask my next question.
Where is the Jo Ann Fabrics located?
The one I worked at... if you had no receipt, you didn't give them some merchandise refund receipt... I don't know what that is.
If you had no receipt, you got whatever the item rings up as, as your refund. Even if the customer swears up and down they got it at full price... we couldn't give them the full price amount because there was no proof they got it at full price.
Have you (OP) gone back to that Jo Ann's with the merchandise refund receipt and seen what you can do about getting your money back?
Posted by Joanna on 2011-06-06:
I AGREE WITH YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
On Sunday I went to the Marlton Store to return some yarns and unfortunately I have misplaced the receipt. The manager there wanted to take my merchadise and wanted to refund me 50% of what I paid but not right away. He said the corporate will send me a check. I did not belive him. Also he stated that per their refund policy if you don't have a receipt thei will refund you the smalest price of the product that is currently in the store. But the price did not change!!!! The product cost the same amount on money that I paid and he wanted to give me back just 50% of it. What a moron!!!! Bad store. PLEASE DO NOT SHOP AT JOANNE!!!!!!PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE....YOU WILL HAVE A BAD EXPERIENCE.....I CAN GUARANTEE!!!!!!!
Posted by Michelle on 2012-02-23:
After my mom died, we wanted to return her brand new unused JoAnne's items for something/anything. They said "Oh, sure, we'll take it back and mail you a check." They never sent the check they promised us. They hope you forget about it or loose the receipt from them saying you processed a return. After 3 months of no check arriving, we went to the store, and they ran us around saying "oh, we can't help you, call corporate." Then you call corporate and it's a phone line that no one ever answers and if you are lucky, they will email you saying "oh, sorry, oops we can't find your receipt or proof that you really bought those items, please tell us what it was for again, where you bought it, what you paid, did you use a check/credit card, what's the store location etc" just a bunch of crap. I called the store and said, "okay, fine - give me back my items then" the Manager said "oh, I can't do that, they are on the floor being sold" I said you cannot keep the items, re-sell them and not give me a refund! I ended up filing a complaint with the state ATTORNEY GENERAL and the Federal Trade Commission (since Corporate is the one running this scam). The day after I filed, I got an email from JoAnne's saying "your check is in the mail." I'd rather they just said "no, we can't take those items back" and be honest, rather than trying to scam customers - especially ones that are grieving the death of a loved one.
Posted by Muneeramb on 2012-08-17:
I agree! This store is a scam! SCAM!!! Do not shop here especially the Dublin,CA store. The manager acts like she is from the hood very unprofessional and rude.
I bought some patches from Joanne and couldn't use them on my clothes. Took them back without a reciept because I had misplaced the reciept. All of the items were regular priced not on sale items in the store, but she offered me up to 60% less rice on my items. I want my Money back! Name one store that doesn't give you your amount you paid! I wasn't even asking for a refund, a store credit was fine with me. But making $43 into $6.99 was not acceptable.
Close commentsAdd reply

Charged for no order
Posted by 2bulldogs on 08/04/2009
OHIO -- I have been a shopper at Joann Fabrics for many years but now no more. I attempted to place an order online but kept giving me the error notice. I gave up but the next morning my debt card was charged 4x. I called Joann Fabrics customer service but was told NO order was placed and I should call my bank. I never received a confirmation email either about this order that was never placed. I called and they reversed the charges. I then verbally placed another order with Joann. Now today I go into my account and there are another 3 charges for the order that was never placed. I have tried calling Joann Fabrics all day but cannot get an answer except "just wait 5 days". In the meantime I have over $300.00 and some change debted on my account for no order. I have called and left numerous messages for supervisors and corporate but never heard a word from them. My bank will not reverse them unless I get written notice from Joann faxed over to them. BUT at Joann no one will do it. Buyer beware and I promise I will NEVER shop at Joann Fabrics again!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-08-04:
This is ridiculous. Your bank should not need any documentation when it is plainly obvious that there was an error. You should go meet with a banker directly and have the charges reversed. This is part of their job.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-04:
if they are pending, nothing can be done.
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2009-08-04:
Something can always be done. Most of the time it is a matter of won't, not can't. Forget the front-line customer service. For the most part they don't want to get involved. It is much easier just to blow you off. As Soaring said, go to your bank and sit down with one of the managers who is capable of making decisions.
Posted by Doctor Charlie on 2009-08-04:
I would just speak to your bank - it should be pretty obvious that it's a mistake, since all of the charges will be for same amount of money.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Outdated Items
Posted by Patriciaabsec on 02/26/2014
BOISE, IDAHO -- I ran into JoAnn Fabrics on Federal Way in Boise, Idaho to grab a couple of magazines and some candy since I needed something to occupy a few hours of time sitting in an office. The magazines were from JANUARY 2014! Not just one, but 3 different magazines. I finally found a Somerset that was current and then went to the check out aisle to find a couple of candy bars. The candy had expired in 2013. I tried several, including the bags of candies. EXPIRED!! I let the clerk know. Her response: "The magazines get replaced when someone has time to do that, and since we only have 2 employees in the store at one time, we don't have time." I asked if they were discounted, since they were past the expiration date and she "Absolutely not!".

Don't the people at their corporate offices understand that if they don't keep up with the quality, they will lose their customers?! More and more I am finding that JoAnn's as a whole doesn't care at all about customer service, only transporting all that cheap fabric into their stores and all that CRAP FROM CHINA onto their shelves. Today was my very last visit to their store. Too many other stores where you can purchase magazines, not to mention craft supplies and QUALITY FABRIC.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Cwazychicken on 2014-02-26:
personally i would not buy magazines or candy at a store thats main focus is selling fabric. Same goes for i would not buy groceries at a gas station because half the items as well are expired..
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Customer Service and Ads
Posted by Sherjonesy on 12/30/2013
FAIRBANKS, ALASKA -- I haven't been to Joann's in a long time, and never been to the one in Fairbanks, so I thought I would check it out.
I found their ads for discounted fleece to be very misleading. They posted the discount on all of the shelves with fleece, it was all over the place, but when I got to the checkout counter I found out that it was only for one kind. WTF then only post the ad near that brand that is discounted!!

Then things all over the store were on shelves without prices, I guess they want you to be surprised at checkout.

The cashier didn't know what she was doing and counter our items and what showed on the receipt like 3 times, and when I asked her about the discounted fabric she explained it to me like I was an idiot...

It was my first and last time in that store.
For now on I guess I'll stick to Walmart and Michaels for all of my craft needs. (I actually get better customer service there anyway)

     
Add reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Idiotic Corporate Policies
Posted by Vicki_lezon on 08/21/2013
COUNTRYSIDE, ILLINOIS -- I am a long time Joann's customer (15+ years) and visit their stores an average of once per week (sometimes much more). I also spend several thousand dollars per year on both fabric and craft items during my visits. I find most of the employees to be polite and helpful....I know most of them by face if not name and they, in turn, know me.

Unfortunately, they are handicapped by corporate policies that make absolutely no sense and only serve to irritate loyal customers like myself. Today is the perfect example. I visited the Countryside, IL store fully prepared to drop several hundred dollars on curtain fabric and framing.

First the framing: I had never used their framing services as I have a very good framer that I use for all my artwork but I had seen the coupons and the piece in question was an inexpensive poster so I decided to bring it to Joann's. I had a coupon for 60% off the regular price so imagine my surprise when the price I was quoted for a simple metal frame/no matt was $150! This is more than I would pay to take it to my usual CUSTOM framer never mind about the cost comparison of Joann's "regular" price. I was prepared to pay about $75 for said frame so, needless to say, chose not to leave the piece with Joann's. Based on past experience, I will probably have to pay $100 at my usual framer but I know the quality will be top notch and there won't be anything shady about the pricing structure.

Now for the fabric: I brought my daughter with me to the store today so that we could pick out fabric for bedroom curtains. Unfortunately, as is so often the case, there were almost no pre-cut samples in the plastic pouches attached to each bolt. Never the less, we went around and identified approx. 5-6 samples that looked like potential candidates. I then approached the employee behind the cutting counter and asked her if she would cut samples for us. She replied that no, she couldn't do that and I would have to bring each of the bolts up to the cutting counter. Please note that there was next to no one in the store this afternoon and nobody at the cutting counter waiting to be served. I was less than pleased but what really frosted me was her insistence that I could not have more than 3 samples (this in spite of the fact that if there had been samples precut as there should have been, I could have taken one for each bolt that we were interested in). Fine. We selected 3 bolts and brought them up for cutting which, by the way, took almost 10 minutes thanks to all the paperwork she had to fill in. When I finally got my samples, they were so tiny that they did not include all the colors in the fabric (never mind about any sense of what the pattern looked like). To her credit, she sorted through all the samples to find the "best" ones but this was little consolation when the end result was so useless!

As someone who sews full time, Joann's is not the only store I frequent. One of the other stores I like to shop at is Calico Corners. Unlike Joann's, they provide customers with an unlimited # of samples that are generous enough to actually be of some use when making a final selection. They also cut the samples in-situ with no lengthy delays while employees fill in tedious paperwork. Their prices are similar to Joann's but the service is in a completely different league. Unfortunately, none of the three samples we brought home from Joann's was quite the right thing but, rather than going back for another 3 samples (a 40 minute round trip), I will be making the 20 minute round trip to Calico Corners.

The net result was that instead of the several hundred dollars I intended to spend, I walked out with $1.50 in embroidery floss! Although I have never filed a complaint before, I decided that I have had enough of this nonsense (especially since employees have asked me to give them a good review to boost the store's ratings - something I can't in good conscience do even though the problems I regularly encounter are not their fault).

To add insult to injury, the web site is set up to make filing a complaint virtually impossible......customers are expected to have full contact info, including phone and zip code, for a store in order to file a complaint and comments are limited to so few characters it is impossible to adequately describe the problem. Hence my decision to post my complaint on this and other web sites.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Nohandle on 2013-08-21:
I don't sew, wish I did, but know what you're talking about. I ordered some custom furniture and the sample I was looking at did not contain but a tiny portion of the predominant color in the sofa. The two occasional chairs in a solid fabic did match but you darn sure did have to look for the color in the sofa.

That won't ever happen again.
Posted by Karnamay on 2013-08-22:
I have been an avid sewer for 45 years and have never been to a fabric store that gives out samples. What a great idea. Wish I had the option of samples at the stores I frequent, even if they were small and a limited number.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Staff Don't Honor Pricing or Coupons
Posted by Sharon.engbow on 08/04/2013
CONCORD, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- Shopped in Joann Crafts today - got the email reminder about today is the last day for 25% off all purchases including sales items. Picked up some things I needed and then added some cross stitch items because the sign said additional 25% off. When the clerk rang up the sale, the 25% didn't come off. She said she would have to go back and look, but she didn't want to do that because there was a long line. I explained that I too had been waiting for a long time in the line and the store should honor the sign and the price. She said she didn't have time to go look for the sign. I told her that was bad business and if she wasn't going to honor the advertised price I wasn't going to buy the items. She tried to say that I would be getting the 25% off because I had the coupon. I tried to explain that there's a difference between 25% off plus another 25% off.

Additionally, she gave the woman just ahead of me in line the 25% off the entire purchase even though she didn't have the coupon. The clerk essentially told me that my business is not important to the store. There are so many frustrations shopping at JoAnn's that I think I will take that advice and not shop there anymore. I will also advise everyone else I know how poor their business practices are and that it is much better to shop elsewhere.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by onlooker on 2013-08-05:
what did the manager say? don't stop going there - in this instance go to the manager, or to the signage if your phone has a camera take photos bring the info back to them

In the future go to manager first if you are concerned it is sometimes hard to get management attention - dont stop shopping there
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >