Preview Review

Next Review

Kaiser Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Denial of Adequate Treatment
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ONTARIO, CALIFORNIA -- I fractured my knee cap March 2011. It was shattered and surgery with hardware was used to reduce the fracture. I was referred to physical therapy. However, the woman to whom I was assigned never spoke to me or really provided me any real treatment. She was busy training a physical therapy student. I was unable to walk properly when released. I discussed this matter with the surgeon and nothing was done. I sought private treatment paying on my own.

By August 2013, I was unable to walk at all and in extreme pain. I saw their doctor. I was given a sheet of exercises. I persisted. I was given a referral to an orthopedists. X-rays were taken. The X-rays showed the arthritis but they denied the necessary treatment. They focused on my bad knee but I kept telling them it was left hip. I was seen by a physician's assistant who told me this was "my new normal." I was referred to Physical Therapist, but despite how crippled I was, I could only get an appointment every 3 or 4 weeks. The therapist tried to make an opening for me, but was completely overbooked.

On 12/31/14 I switched to Aetna on a PPO. My left hip is now completely frozen. It turns out the hip was completely arthritic and had been since August 2013. I am going to have a hip replacement. It is now June 2014. I have been walking with a cane and in severe pain. It has taken this long, after escaping from Kaiser to get treatment. My advice is to stay far away from Kaiser as possible. Despite their representations, they balance their books by collecting co-pays and denying necessary care. Beware.

Replies
Advertisement
Nightmare Organization
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LARGO -- Double nightmare with Kaiser. I am livid to the point of tears. These people are more interested in the number of patients and days of stay than providing care and information. I am still dealing with a mess of a system that only cares about the Kaiser bottom line. I can not speak to one person that can answer my questions or provide advice. Everyone tells me I need to talk to someone else, yet I find that decisions are being made without my knowledge, consult or advisement. I can not plan for these decisions without being advised of then in advance. They have major implications for my time, purse and other resources that I have to have in place.

They discharged my mother, who has Alzheimers, from a Kaiser facility and I was not advised that this would occur. Never told them that where she would go upon discharge, was never advised of the discharge care needed, of the equipment that the facility to have to rent (which I will have to pay for), was never given an opportunity to plan for an alternative facility for the discharge - the list goes on and on. I was advised that she would be discharged in 2 days. I was called after 4 o'clock on New Year's eve. Which gives me only 1 working day to prepare for the discharge, financially and otherwise.

I would have appreciated some prior discussion before the decision regarding her care were made and put in motion. I am not invisible, deaf or dumb, and I am her surrogate of record.

Replies
Charges Like Kaiser, but Serves Like Medicaid
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

REDLANDS, CALIFORNIA -- I had a bad seizure on Dec 7, and was taken to Redlands Community Hospital ER. They brought me out of it, stabilized and discharged me the same night. I called in to my primary care doctor at the Kaiser Redlands clinic; and he saw me in a very timely manner. But then he ordered a follow up visit to a neurologist, and the earliest appointment I could get was not until Jan 16. The reason I need to see him is that the seizure zapped my short term memory; that and during waking hours my experiences become dreams instead of memories. The ER doctor thought that I had suffered hypoxia during the seizure.

I can't believe that Kaiser, knowing what I went through and the after effects, thinks it is fine for me not to see a neurologist for six weeks after a seizure that nearly killed me. I have to call in every day hoping there will be a cancellation, but it's no use. I suspect that Kaiser Fontana is understaffed. My husband and I pay almost $1,800/month for our two premiums. That is why I say that Kaiser charges like Kaiser, but at least in this case it feels like I'm on Medicaid! Perhaps that is naive. Perhaps it takes six months to see a neurologist on Medicaid. I just think that considering the brain damage from a seizure that almost killed me, I'd be a higher priority to Kaiser.

Replies
Universal Health/Beware Of Kaiser Pharmacy
By -

ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND -- Kaiser started billing me after I had a foot surgery even though I had paid for everything up front, and went against their own member services, and surgeon on the 90 day universal health laws in the state of VA. They also refused to fill my primary Dr's prescriptions at their own pharmacy! Stay away! Each Primary has hundreds to thousands of patients and has no time for you (5 min or less per visit, I was told the 1 st day by my Dr). If you have serious issues, you will get 3 world care at best! These Dr's are there due to failing at their own practices, or being sued for malpractice! Think about what you're doing?

Replies
Advertisement
Kaiser Denied MRI Because "It Is Expensive" (Doctor's Words)
By -

SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO -- A Kaiser Dr. finally prescribed an MRI for my lower back when I began showing nerve damage, never mind I've been suffering from back pain since the age of 26. It takes nerve damage people so if you need an MRI then say you have nerve damage, as evidenced by the numbness in my legs. Anyhow, I also had upper back/lower neck pain and requested that area have an MRI as well in the same visit rather than my having to take more time off work to have it done on another day, and hopefully before nerve damage happened.

I was denied by the Dr. and the MRI was not granted until I asked for the denial in writing. So ask for denials of care in writing! I asked the reason for her denial and she said "because it's expensive". Even if that's the reason and I know and she knows it, I couldn't believe she said those words, but she did. As a side note, the MRI techs said it is not that much more expensive to combine the tests. Now I am truly afraid to trust Kaiser for any back surgery, so I live in pain every day. I have been denied other insurance due to my existing back condition. When Cobra runs out, I'm screwed.

My advice to anyone/everyone dealing with Kaiser. You MUST do your own research, and DEMAND care. It is stressful and I left Kaiser crying but you have to do it. I understand you cannot sue Kaiser in most cases because your policy calls for arbitration. If I had any other choice I would get other insurance.

Replies
Lost
By -

WAIPIO, HAWAII -- Tons of situations are flying through my head that I desperately need to say so. OK soo I am pregnant with my 2nd child. This time around I am on Kaiser for my medical plan. The first thing they tell you to do is choose your doctor to provide you your prenatal care. OK done. I'm 7 months pregnant and have only seen him twice. The rest of my visits was with a nurse practitioner or another doctor that, who I believe, was just working that day and had some time to spare. I'm still not sure how things work.

I drive 30 minutes from home to for the following to occur: Wait in a waiting room full of people with whom knows what (10mins), pee in a cup (1min), wait in an exam room for a nurse practitioner to measure my stomach (5 sec), listen to heartbeat of my baby (5 seconds - the only exciting part), get none of my questions answered (2 seconds), told I might have gestational diabetes and yet when tests are done I'm no way near it (4 minutes), and waddle out - that's right about 15 minutes of awkwardness.

I can go on and on. It's too late for me to change plans now from work so I have no choice but to stick it out. But believe me I'm switching as soon as I have the opportunity too!!

Replies
Kaiser Sucks
By -

COLORADO -- In November 2007 I had a major accident and had to go to the ER. I won't bore you with the details but it has been a battle royal fighting Kaiser in Denver for basic care. By comparison, I moved to Maui in Febuary 2010. I retained a private primary doctor. I did not have a lot of experience with any other doctor besides Kaiser at that time. Boy was there a huge difference in the quality of care. Very single Kaiser doctor I ever encountered was condescending and fairly incompetent. The only option Kaiser ever gave me was surgery. After hearing terrible stories and getting the absolute worst service from any industry let alone health, I declined.

This led to an onslaught of negativity from Kaiser. However my private doctor could not have been any better. Amazing difference. Some examples of the difference are insomnia. After not sleeping for an extended amount of time because of pain and other factors I asked (begged) my doctor to rx something to help me sleep. He fought me tooth and nail and then gave me something that reminded me of the old west elixirs. It works on sleep. It works on depression (the only depression I suffered was at the hands of Kaiser). It works on pain. It takes out stains. It slices. It dices (just kidding). This medication does not even start to take effect for up to several weeks!!

I had already told my Kaiser doc I had not slept since July and I thought it was becoming a danger to me and to others. Kaiser couldn't care less. Looks like a flight back to Maui. Kaiser sucks!

Replies
Invasion of Privacy
By -

On August 16, 2011 I went to Kaiser due to an illness. I asked the person who was working in the office to fax my doctor's note to my place of employment, she told me I would have to sign a medical release, in which I did. I called my Program Director to make sure he was in the office to get my doctor's at the same time it was being faxed. I came back to work on the 26th in which my PD told me Kaiser faxed over some information I probably didn't approve. Kaiser had faxed over my whole medical records from to 2007 to 2011. Don't let this happen to you, do not sign a medical release.

Replies
Advertisement
Lost Records Bad Customer Service No Follow Up
By -

SAN RAFAEL, CALIFORNIA -- In July 08 I received a mammogram at Kaiser San Rafael 3rd street location. I was covered under a different insurer in 2009 and requested that my films and results be transferred to Queen of the Valley Hospital. I was transferred to medical records and they told me (two different people during two different conversations, one being Carlos) that my folder was "empty" and that I had already requested that my films be transferred out to Queen of the Valley. When I requested proof of this, they sent me the release form to Queen of the Valley asking that their 2007 mammo results be transferred TO Kaiser. They were grossly confused.

I called back and was told my films had been lost and my folder was "empty". I then called patient relations and was told they would investigate and call me back. Never heard from them. Over a month later I call again. It took me 10 minutes and 8 layers of a phone menu to get a customer representative on the phone only to be transferred to someone who said they couldn't hear me and was not able to understand my phone number so someone could call me back. I still don't have films for comparison purposes and my entire experience with Kaiser has been appalling.

Replies
Poor Appointment Systems
By -

PASADENA, CALIFORNIA -- I am suffering from severe cough and cold since the past one week and I have been calling Kaiser for the appointment with the physician and they say the appointment is not available on the same day at my medical center and ask me to go for after hours care where the system is poor and I cannot have the chance to see my primary physician. If I want the service at my medical center I have to call the next day. I have been calling daily for the appointment at 7:00 (appointment center opens) but I have no appointment.

What is the use of having a medical insurance at such place where your health is not taken care and they don't treat you when you are sick and need a doctor?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Kaiser Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 17 ratings and
38 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Kaiser
Kaiser Plaza 19th Floor
Oakland, CA 94612
510-271-5910 (ph)
www.healthy.kaiserpermanente.org
Compare Health Providers