Kingston Nissan

1 reviews & complaints.

Salvage vehicle sold as "Certified Pre-Owned"
Posted by on
KINGSTON, NEW YORK -- On May 30th we purchased from Kingston Nissan in Kingston NY, General Sales Manager Tom Gordon, a 2008 Nissan Xterra with 17,000 miles on it. When we asked why the mileage was so low we were told it was a lease return. OK, sounds good so far. Trusting the dealership.....our BIG mistake .....we didn't get a Carfax.

Fast forward to July 31st when we get a letter from NYS DMV telling us the car cannot be titled in New York without an extensive and expensive inspection because the vehicle was salvage car. We immediately contacted Kingston Nissan in person where were told that can't possibly be, they would not and could not sell a salvage vehicle without disclosing it to us. Even with the letter from DMV they were at a loss and would get back to us. We went home, bought our own Carfax and indeed the car had been totaled in Pennsylvania November 2009.

The dealership calls us back on Monday and suddenly this was no longer a lease car but one they purchased at an auction and they claim they were duped!! We were willing to negotiate a deal with them for a return of $10,000 of the $23,000 the car cost, their counter offer was only $4000 if that! They claim the value of the vehicle would only drop by maybe $2000 as salvage even after another car lot informed us the vehicle was only worth 1/4 of the value if not salvage!

After another week of getting nowhere with the dealership we returned the car for a refund but they won't include the 2 payments we have made so far. My feeling is we would never have bought this vehicle knowing what it was or paid so much. Payments made on a car using its correct value would be much lower than what we made already paid.

A complaint with NYS Attorney General has been filed, along with Ulster County Fraud Bureau and NYS DMV. I am especially disgusted by the behavior of General Sales Manager Tom Gordon as he refused to be available to speak with us when we got there this afternoon even though we scheduled our visit to fit into his schedule.
     
Read 11 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2010-08-11:
I would see if you can get a lawyer, or file a lawsuit in a small claims court. You are definitely entitled to your money back.
Fufu487 on 2010-08-11:
I agree with Prince-Caesar. You got ripped off, whether knowingly or not on the part of the dealership. they misrepresented the vehicle and you deserve your money back. If it was myself, I would insist in full and give them their scrapped car back. For that amount of money, you can buy a better, more reliable vehicle. I also find it hard to believe they never checked the history of the vehicle themselves, before re-selling.
rockfishing on 2010-08-11:
Small claims court is your best bet, good luck!
NickL11354 on 2010-08-11:
You could have and should have gotten this car fully checked out before finalizing the purchase.

Buying a preowned car should take more research than buying a shirt for example.
CaptainSpaulding on 2010-08-12:
It was a good idea to contact the New York State and the Ulster County District Attorney's Office.

It sounds to me like that car dealership should be charged with fraud for failing to disclose the fact that the vehicle they sold you was a salvage vehicle.
Big T 1959 on 2010-10-21:
Hello, my name is Tom Gordon. I am the general manager of Kingston Nissan. There are two sides to every story. Some of what is written here is true. However, the New York State Attorney General immediately cleared us of any wrong doing. We did everything in our power to make this right, unfortunately some people are never happy. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction, and work very hard to achieve it.
tnchuck100 on 2010-10-21:
Big T, did you deny a full refund?
momsey on 2010-10-21:
Big T, what about the two payments they made on the truck? Why didn't you refund those if you did everything in your power to make it right?
randola on 2011-03-06:
just an update.....we ended up buying a brand new xterra from another dealer...who actually took $1500 off the price when he heard our story. he was surprised to hear that we were treated so poorly. I see that Tom Gordon posted back in October but we have not heard word one from him ourselves. we got no further refund and in fact the payment to our loan company was supposed to be sent overnite mail but was in fact sent ups ground to California! if I hadn't gone in to sign yet more paperwork I would not have known this and been able to stop it before ups picked it up. I actually had to wait for it to be mailed and get that receipt. just one more slimy tactic by a slimy company!
MadWife on 2011-07-11:
my husband and I recently purchased a vehicle ourselves from Kingston Nissan we noticed problems within a few weeks we called and got a run around on the scheduling and if it was covered. Yesterday my husband was out in the vehicle when the back end started to shake he got the car home and come to find out there was only one lug nut holding on the back tire, and all but one stud was broken, Husband called Kingston Nissan this morning and was told to have it towed up at Kingston Nissan's expense and as long as it was covered they would fix it, hours later my husband gets a phone call telling him that it's normal wear and tear damage , well it's wear and tear damage from before we owned it cause we only bought it a month ago, they said that we were responsible for the repair and that we were also responsible for the towing fees , $400 for everything .TImes are hard for all of us right now and for us to be asked to pay out for damage that they knew about look our family could have been in an accident or killed and they only thing these people care about is their money. They are a bunch of slime balls that use low tactics to hard working people to rip them off . I will be calling a lawyer and seven on your side to put this story out there .
billm on 2012-04-28:
On thurs April 12,2012 I purchased a 2009 chevy hhr from Kingston Nissan, less than 24 hrs after buying car it started having problems with odor of sulfur coming in car when climbing hills also a vibration from the rear of the car and it was pulling to right when stopping, went back to dealership on sat April 14,2012 was told by mechanic that gm issued a bulletin about sulfur in gasoline causing the smell was told to gas at different locations I travel quite a bit so gassing in different locations not problem but if issue continued take it chevey as it was still under factory warranty, on Tuesday April 17,2012 took car to romeo Chevrolet to have them look at it they did 21 point inspection they found car wasn't alinged rear tires even though it had tread tires were balding on inside and rear door lock assemble was shot. called rich gordon back at Kingston Nissan was told they put new tires on front and did brakes rear tires passed inspection so he didn't understand following weekend on way back from massachusettes on I90 car didn't want to climb hills smell of sulfur very bad in car temp gauge all over the place car would literally shut off and we sit on side of road for half hour or better took 5 hours to drive from lee mass to kingston now light is on says service air bags called Kingston Nissan was told to go to romeo let them deal with it since its under factory warranty went back to romeo they cannot figure it out I've owned the car for 16 days it has been in shop for total of 6 days have had enough filing complaint with attorney general
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >