Preview Review

Next Review

Kmart Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Still Waiting for 12/09/09 Order
By -

Because of a Paypal promotion I visited the Kmart website on 12/09/09. There was a free shipping on $60 promo and I started building an order. There was an additional promo $10 off on orders of $100. I'm very low income and it was a stretch to spend that much so early in the month but I saw that the delivery date was 12/17 and realized that would give me time to wrap and re-ship. And being disabled, would not have to ask anyone to go out and shop for me later. By foregoing grocery shopping and eating from the cupboards, I budgeted enough to finish my shopping and take advantage of the savings.

First I tried 2 or 3 times and couldn't get the order to go through. They kept wanting me to pay for "some other way" than Paypal, and the coupon code didn't work. I wrote to customer service and kept trying to figure out what to do. I discovered I was typing "10" instead of TEN on the coupon code and got it to work. Finally while checking their "other ways to pay", I filled out a bunch of Kmart info, hit Paypal again and it worked!!

I got an order confirmation, although one item had gone out of stock while I was trying to submit the order and I had to re-shop for that one. AND my money was immediately taken from my guaranteed bank account even though they say will bill when shipped. The next day I got a not helpful response from CS but I'd already solved the problem - I thought. I got NO notice of shipment so called CS on the 14th after checking order status, told me nothing. I told them for me to get the order as promised on the 17th it needed to be in transit.

The very nice CS man couldn't figure it out either but thought maybe it had been shipped and I just didn't get any tracking numbers or notification - wait and call back in a couple days. I've been spending my life sitting at the front window watching for UPS. Another 2 days, no help at online order status. On the 16th I call again, this time a very nice lady assures me that the order is NOT SHIPPED, she doesn't know why, but don't worry Kmart will send it with OVERNIGHT shipping. Next day, promised delivery day, I get a notice that one of my items has been cancelled. Later a cryptic message about reversing the charges. The order date now changes to 12/17.

I finally get a notice of shipping with one tracking number that doesn't "track" and one that says "ground". I'm thinking the none tracker is what switched it to overnight - so I'm still at the window. Finally on the 21st I do what damage control I can for the out-of-towners - remember Kmart has had my shopping and grocery money this whole time. I console myself that even getting delivery on the 24th will be in time for the locals. With no UPS on the 24th, I check the tracking #'s again and it says "RESCHEDULED FOR DELIVERY ON 12/29." Well Merry Christmas to all. This may easily be my last Christmas - the one my family and friends will have to remember me by.

I wrote and told them that - not even an apology - I think they owe me more that that. And, I'm still waiting. Christmas in January, anyone? How does one get past the very nice but useless lying customer service people?

Replies
Advertisement
Kmart Cares Very Little For Their Customers
By -

TAYLOR, MICHIGAN -- So I just got home from the Kmart in Taylor and am pretty upset. I went in to pick up something to eat after work and to check and see if the new Transformers toys were in stock (I've been an avid transformers collector for quite a few years now). I picked up some food for myself and headed back to the toy section, where I found that they had all of the "legend class" Transformers toys from the new movie out on the shelves, priced and ready to be sold. I picked up one of each, because I knew that I was going to buy them sooner or later to add to my collection anyway, so why not buy them all at once.

The total of my bill WOULD have been well over 50 dollars, but as you can see, I used the word "would". The cashier rang up my food, no problem, but when she got to the first of the toys, her computer came up with a message saying "before street date". She proceeded to grab all the items off of the counter in such a hurry that she nearly threw herself over the counter, and then shoved them all under her register. The way that she grabbed them off the counter, you would have thought I was about to grab them to try to run out of the store with them. She looked at me and simply said "you can't buy these... your total is $4.50".

I asked her why I couldn't purchase them, because I didn't see what her screen flashed when she tried to ring the items up. She told me that they had been put on the shelf before the "street date" and then repeated my total again, trying to rush me through the rest of the transaction even though there wasn't anyone behind me in line.

I asked what the street date was, now completely disappointed that I was going to have to wait to buy all of the toys at a later date. The lady told me that she didn't know and when I asked if she could find out, she gave me a "you have got to be kidding me" look and said "it would probably say on the box, but that's in the back room" and then gestured to the credit card machine where my total was now showing up... as if to say "pay and get out already". While the transaction was getting more and more awkward by her rude attitude and failure to seem sorry at all about the whole situation, I decided to just pay for my food.

As I was going through the steps on the credit card reader she made a call to someone to come and pick up the toys at the counter and to take the other ones off of the shelves. I finished paying and the cashier handed my bag and then just stood there, like she was guarding the toys, again, like I was going to steal them or something. I took my food and left, but didn't feel like letting it drop there, especially since they had a "tell us how your Kmart experience was" survey on the receipt.

Now, I understand that the toys were out there before their official release date, but the fact is that they were out there, priced and ready to be sold. The thing that upset me about the whole thing was just that instead of deciding to make the exception for one customer and then have them taken off of the shelves after, they chose to not sell me the items that I had picked out, all while giving off the feeling that I was some kind of thief or something. It was like if they didn't get them away from me right there and then, that I was going to steal them or something.

Then, when I asked what the actual release date was, she didn't even make an effort to try to find out, she just kept trying to rush me out of the store, even though there was NO ONE else there (the store was practically empty).

I know that a few toys are kind of a stupid thing to be making a big deal over, but I've been a pretty hardcore collector for quite a few years now, so it just bugged me. If they would have just told me "sorry sir, we can't sell you these, they weren't supposed to be out on the shelves yet" and then actually made SOME KIND of effort to find out when the actual release date was for me, I would have no problem. I just feel that they handled the whole situation very poorly.

Replies
K-Mart Fails! Sears/K-Mart Cares Little for Customer Satisfaction/Needs
By -

QUEENSBURY, NEW YORK -- Last year, I went out of my way - literally, the local Kmart is not in a convenient location - to purchase a room fan. A fan that turned out to be broken. It cost me 20 dollars in cab fare, to go buy the fan, take it home, return it, etc. I exchange it for another - ALSO broken! I complain, and am told that I should take it up with the store manager - yeah, I'd already thrown away 50 dollars of my hard-earned cash, I should waste even more dollars, talking to someone who I'd already talked to, who only made an excuse instead of an apology? So, I boycotted Kmart AND Sears, for 6 months. I went back today, to give them a second chance.

FAILURES LIST: First, I had to go to customer service to ask a question. The lady was nice, but slower than molasses in January - I mean, it was like watching a person on a slow motion camera - and, she kept interrupting service to the customer standing there waiting - with a line behind them, to answer phones, and putter about fussing with returns, going to look for someone, etc. FAIL #1.

I went to K-Mart, for one specific purpose: to buy a pair of plus size ladies Riders jeans - jeans the store has sold in their plus-size department for DECADES. However, Kmart apparently no longer values overweight customers, because there were virtually no jeans in the plus size department, and I was informed that Kmart no longer sees fit to sell Riders jeans to its overweight customers - only to people size 14 or less.

Well up yours, Kmart! Since they obviously don't value the business of their plus-size shoppers enough, to continue providing decent jeans, well I'll shift my jean buying over to TJMax, Target and Walmart, who DO sell nice plus size jeans. (That had a FEW pairs of Chic jeans, but I don't happen to like that brand.)

FAIL #3: Needed to try on some clothing. Had to wait for someone to open up the dressing room - something I DON'T have to do at Walmart, Target, TJMax, Bonton... Jeez, even Tractor Supply Company keeps their dressing room readily available for customers.

FAIL #4: Cashier was only marginally friendly - perfunctorily polite, rather than genuinely caring. Actually, she was marginally surly, and packed my bags like crap. One bag weighed so much I literally couldn't lift it - two 2 liter bottles of soda and a jar of spaghetti sauce! My clothing purchase was just shoved in the bag.

Well, I used to actually enjoy shopping at Kmart 10, 20, even 30 years ago. Today, since Sears took it over, it's just plain poo. Sears should have just let Kmart fold. It's garbage now. I not only will never shop K-mart again, I won't step foot in Sears, either. You'd never know there was a recession on! These businesses don't need to be bailed out, they just need to disappear, if they can't get their act together, and give customers what they need. It costs more for me to shop at Kmart, which was OK, back when they had the products I needed and the service was better. Now... why waste time and money, when I can go where my business is truly valued?

Replies
The KMART.com policy: Buy another... and another... and another...
By -

I am frustrated, furious, and I really don't want any person out there to have the same experience or stress that I am going through. I truly want justice for myself, and to do whatever I must for this corporation to alter it's practices, and make the act of doing business less of a hardship for the consumers from which it prospers.

I have paid money for products I do not have in my possession, have not been refunded, and have been treated so badly by every aspect of the customer service chain that I honestly can't believe that my situation is unique or isolated. Something needs to change... and I intend to be part of the solution to the KMART/SEARS problem.

As a brief summary of what follows, this is where I am: I currently have the debt for 2 armoires plus tax and a shipping charge; a broken promise to my 10-year old stepdaughter; loss of income due to trying to resolve the problems with KMART/SEARS; and major stress because of this whole debacle. What I don't have is my money back, or either of the armoires...

Here are the facts my distress, but I have withheld a lot of the drama and horrible treatment I received from many of the individuals I have spoken with at KMART/SEARS while trying to reach a resolution. The following information has been submitted to both of credit card companies, the Better Business Bureau, ConsumerAffairs.com, and RipoffReport.com:

On May 31, 2007 I purchased 2 items from KMART.com. 1) 1 Madison Collection Armoire 2) 1 Madison Collection Dresser The items arrived, however, I discovered the armoire was damaged when I went to unpack it for assembly. I contacted KMART.com on June 16, 2007 regarding this issue, and they internally issued an order for their contract carrier, UPS, to pick up the damaged armoire.

KMART.com refused to replace the damaged item at their expense, and informed me that in order to have receipt of a replacement, I would have to purchase another armoire. Because time was an issue, I purchased another armoire, charging it to my Washington Mutual account. KMART.com agreed to negate the shipping charge of this order.

If the shipping charge was credited to my account with Washington Mutual, it is not being reflected on my on-line statement; however, a Washington Mutual Service agent indicated that KMART.com has issued a $49 credit. At this time, I was told that my Barclays (Juniper) account would have all charges removed relative to the damaged armoire. As of today, 6/26/07, KMART.com has failed in this obligation.

On 6/20/07, UPS picked up the damaged armoire from my residence for it\'s return to KMART.com. KMART.com verified that this act is recorded in their internal records. I have no tracking information relative to the return, as it was handled by the merchant, at the merchant\'s expense. The second purchased armoire never arrived at my residence. The scheduled delivery date was 6/20/07.

KMART.com informed me that their agent, UPS, was returning the item to KMART.com, because it was again damaged in shipping. UPS has verified this information, as reflected from the tracking number indicated on my shipping confirmation. The item was returned during the original shipping process, and never left the hands of KMART and/or KMART\'s agents.

Once again, I was told that a credit for this purchase would be issued, this time to my Washington Mutual account. Once again, KMART.com refused to replace the item at their expense, and instructed me to purchase yet another armoire. I refused.

As of 6/26/07, KMART.com has failed to credit either my Barclays or Washington Mutual accounts. KMART.com has been in possession of both purchased items since 6/20/07, and in possession of over $500 between the two orders for the same item.

I have contacted KMART.com repeatedly, have spoken with no less than 7 customer service reps, 5 supervisors, and 3 different individuals at KMART.com/SEARS Holdings Corporate Offices, between 06/16/07 and 06/26/07.

The individuals at the Corporate offices represent themselves to be \'Executive Assistants\' empowered with executive authority, however, they are unwilling or unable to correct the situation or issue credits, and refuse to allow me to speak with any corporate officer or individual who holds a title or position that may allow for resolution.

KMART.com can be reached online or at 1-866-562-7848. The executive offices, which fall under the parent company of SEARS Holdings, are located at 3333 Beverly Road, Hoffman Estates, IL 60179; with a phone number of 1-847-286-2500. Please be advised that if you contact the executive offices through the above number, the individuals at that location are very quick to transfer your call to KMART.com customer service.

I not only am adamant in disputing every penny associated with the armoire purchases as reflected on my Barclays and Washington Mutual accounts, but I am willing to support any avenue available to protect other consumers from the practices of KMART.com/SEARS Holdings.

7/12/07 Since KMart has received the complaint I have filed with the BBB, I am finally getting at least a bit of attention. KMart has credited back the purchase prices and one shipping charge. This is at least progress. However, I am still fighting for not only the other shipping charge to be refunded, but also the SALES TAX!!!! Wow.

There is a possible class action suit. Working with an attorney who has interest in handling this case.

I will keep you update as things continue to evolve. In the meantime, spread the word! Help me in my quest to make this money-machine corporation accountable, and saving others from this aggravation.

Thanks!

Replies
Advertisement
Commercials
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

JOICE, IOWA -- I really would like to ask what the advertising officials were thinking when they came up with those commercials. I think that the "jingle bells" commercials is ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!!! Did you people think that children would never see those commercials. Please remove them NOW. I will never shop at Kmart again and I know several other family members that will not be shopping there again either. And as far as the GIFing commercials, I don't think I have ever been more annoyed by a commercial.

Replies
Worst Experience Ever, Avoid At All Costs
By -

How can you sell something you don't have. Most online sites know what they have in stock and show that number on the web page. The fact that you sell something you don't have in stock makes you look awfully stupid and certainly unprofessional. As an unhappy customer I would hope you would offer me something in exchange for the
inconvenience you put me through.

Replies
Stolen Shopping Cart Nightmare!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HESPERIA, CALIFORNIA -- I Called 1-866-KMART4U after getting the number off of a shopping cart that had been left in front of my house. After being passed from representative to representative 3 times, I was told by a man who would only give his name as "Ben" that they do not pick up carts on a daily basis, only once a month or so. When I informed him that I live on a 45mph street in the middle of a blind curve, and that as such, their cart was a dangerous road hazard, he expressed his indifference to the situation.

He then suggested that I myself track down the individual responsible for the shopping cart theft (my city has 80,000 plus people in it), and also that I should be doing a better job keeping an eye on my neighborhood to make sure things like this don't happen. I told him how ridiculous that sounded to me and asked for his supervisor. He told me that he was a supervisor.

I asked him who supervises him and he told me that no one does. I asked if he was the president of Kmart, and he did not answer. Instead he blankly asked me what exactly it was that I wanted him to do, to which I responded "I want you to pick up your shopping cart before it causes an accident that might kill someone." He responded with "If someone gets killed then that would not be our fault. You should not be stealing shopping carts from our store." I could not believe that he would insinuate that I had, in fact, stolen the cart and brought it to my house, and at this point I began to tell him just that, when he hung up on me in mid-sentence.

I am now furious, and had to pull this ugly cart onto my own property so that the wind does not blow it into traffic. I very rarely shopped at Kmart to begin with, only when it was too inconvenient to drive the extra 5 miles to the next nearest store. Kmart already had two strikes against it, in my opinion; their store has the highest prices of any store in the area, and the worst in-store customer service of any store I have ever seen. Now this third strike is the single most offensive experience I have ever had from any store, EVER.

I was treated rudely, and as if I were a pest. Furthermore, I was personally insulted, and ostensibly called a thief. The icing on the cake was being hung up on after all that. I will never again shop at Kmart, Sears, or any of their affiliated stores again, and will relate this story to anyone who ever mentions the brand to me. It is not very hard to see why their sales are down and their stores are closing all over the nation.

Replies
Sent Wrong Item, Will Not Make Right
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

HOFFMAN ESTATES, ILLINOIS -- My old lady, just got this morning an ugly, fugly dark purple dress. When in fact she ordered 2 bras. How the heck can anybody get a dress and a bra mixed up. It's not the money, it's the principle. I have been telling her about them! Now, she found out the hard way. She called several times, only to get someone outside the U.S. who only knows to say they apologize this happen. Then she holds on with this guy to try to speak to a supervisor, at least 45 more min. Then she has to call back and then gets disconnected! Then calls again and gets NO HELP!

The point being now they want her to make an order all over again and PAY again for the same items she ordered and already paid for. What kind of company does this! Idiots, that's who! Meanwhile they are supposed to send a return label to her, so she can return the dress that she did not order. No e-mail, yet with a label to print. She already put this ugly dress back in the pkg. to send back. It is very ugly, I cannot see any classy or otherwise lady wearing this.

We do not have a Kmart within maybe 300 miles, so they think they can just send junk and no one will bother to send it back, since it's not that expensive. They are going UNDER that's why. So listen up people, do not use these people. They will screw you one way or the other. I myself had trouble years back and NEVER forgot and mine was for several hundred, so I have NO use for them.

She has made many orders and had just got started, so it's their loss. We have a booth and buy and resell, plus she makes Cameos, etc. So they missed out on thousands in a few months. She was checking out their products, which she liked most to resell and some for herself. But this hassle is uncalled for when they do not care enough about their customers to make it right. I really wish they were closer. Because when she is not happy, no one is! I would put my size 14 boot in somebody's ** and they would pay attention. Just do not order from these creeps!

Replies
Advertisement
Assaulted by security, in the process of pressing charges and suing
By -

230 GREEN SPRINGS, ALABAMA -- I was shopping with my wife for some jeans and some new work boots, I had tried on 4 or 5 pairs of jeans for my wife to see which ones she liked best. I went into the dressing room to try on the last pair and I liked them. I decided to purchase them and didn't want to leave the pants, I came in wearing back in the dressing room with my wallet in it. So I quickly threw my khaki pants back on over the jeans to see what they would look like with my new work boots on. And with the work boots and the pants I wanted to purchase, I went to look for my wife who I thought was maybe standing back outside in front of the store.

I didn't go outside but once I crossed the register line 3, Kmart thugs grabbed me extremely hard and bruised my arm saying that I was shop lifting. The work boots I was wearing to try to walk around in them because I knew I was buying them and was carrying the old shoes with me so I could find my wife to see what she thought of my outfit and then I would have purchased the clothing. At other stores, I've done this before if I really liked the clothes. So because public education is not a priority in the state of Alabama neither is the training program at Kmart security school.

Bottom line, there was no need to get violent with me when I was explaining the situation very calmly and cooperatively. I will be pressing charges and will fight this to the end. I'm so upset that this is how someone who shops there all the time could be treated. This is an outrage and ridiculous. I know corporate attorneys who will have a field day with this. I could understand if I had walked outside but I was just looking outside for my wife. This is what society has become. I don't appreciate being physically assaulted by uneducated Kmart thugs and the last thing I'll say is Karma is a **.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
By -

I bought my daughter shoes for school at Kmart. After two weeks of her wearing them, she had blisters, and the shoes fell apart. I took them back to the store. I explained to the girl I couldn't find my receipt but I would just like to exchange them for a different style, but the same brand. She told me that I couldn't do that. I had to pick the same pair. I asked her if I could have a store credit. I was told that it was against store policy to give a store credit without a receipt. I told her that all I wanted was to exchange them for something that wouldn't fall apart so quickly. She was very rude to me and told me over and over again that she couldn't do anything to help me.

I finally went back to the shoe department to see if I could find the same shoes, and just exchange them. There were three employees standing in the shoe department. Not one of them would help me. Amazingly enough one of them was also a manager! The store was out of the shoes. I took another pair up to customer service and told the girl that we couldn't find any of the same shoes, but we had found some that were almost the same. She told me (rudely) that all we could do is check other Kmarts in the area. I told her that my husband was unemployed at the time and we didn't have gas to go all over town looking for shoes! And I couldn't afford to buy more!

She still refused. The next morning I emailed the company. They sent me an email stating that it was corporate policy to not exchange without a receipt, and they could do nothing to help me. I have emailed them several times with no help at all. We ended up having to pawn some things to get my daughter some shoes. I'm not trying to give a sob story, I just want others to know what a horrible store Kmart is. I have never in my life been treated that way. I can't believe they won't back up the products they sell. No wonder most of them in Utah are closed! I will never set foot in another Kmart again!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Kmart Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 31 ratings and
144 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Kmart
3333 Beverly Rd.
Hoffman Estates, IL 60179
847-286-2500 (ph)
847-286-5500 (fax)
www.kmart.com
Product/Services
Compare Superstores