Preview Review

Next Review

LA Fitness Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worst Service Ever and Staff Is Incompetent
By -

DALLAS, TEXAS -- From the start, it was clear that joining this place was a HUGE mistake. Initially joining was just a preview of the hell I was going to have to endure. It was obvious that the person who signed me up was just happy to get his commission. He promised little things, like a free gym bag, shirt, and 3 free sessions of personal training (which was the only thing that I really cared about) but got NOTHING. I decided to just go ahead and pay for sessions and signing up for personal training was the ONLY time they were ever nice to me, which only lasted for those 30 minutes.

The trainers just seemed to want to get the training over with and I never got weighed in or the body fat. Apart from that, the trainer frequently decided not to go to work but failed to call her appointments that day. When I showed up one day at the time the trainer told me she had booked me, I found out she had not even actually scheduled me. Fed up with all that, I decided to cancel.

I was told to cancel I had to send a written notice to the corporate office and then I would just have to pay half of the remaining cost (because I was still in contract) the next month. I called up the gym to find the address and the trainer. Told me I had to talk to the manager of the personal training, but she wasn't there. Then when I finally got a hold of her, she told me that I did just had to send a letter and reemphasized that they were just going to charged me half of the remaining balance and I would have 6 months to use my sessions.

The next month I was charged full price because it was in the middle of a billing period and I was like OK that fine, next time it's going to be half. So the next month I was STILL charged full price and I decided to call the corporate office that told me there was no such thing as half price paying and it was 60 days to use my sessions. The corporate office suggested I call the gym again to figure it out. So I called back but I did NOT want to talk to the same person but they directed me to her anyway. She told me she was going to call her friend in corporate and have it taken care of.

So I talked to the operations manager because I wanted to just cancel my entire gym membership since I was going to college and I told her about how I hated them and just wanted to get it over with and she was like "Oh I'm so sorry. How can I make this better? I'll just cancel this for you right now; it's called an immediate cancellation, so that you don't have to worry about it anymore. I don't want this to be a hassle for you any longer." Supposedly, she was canceling it while I was still on the phone. Silly me, I took her word for it. A week or two later I got a phone from someone else saying that it's not immediate. It takes 15 days and they will probably still bill me.

Once again, I called the gym to talk to the girl who told me she was going to take care of it but the receptionist answered and told me there had been no cancellation, of course, the manager was not there and they took my name and phone number and she would call me back in an hour.

Convinced I wouldn't receive a phone call, I called corporate again in hopes that they would be able to help me out. When I got a hold of someone, he told me they had not received any notice from the gym but when I told him about the immediate cancellation they had put in he was kind enough to just cancel it for me and even waived the 30 day notice period. Now I hope this is really the end of it but will not be surprised when they call and give me some other **.

Replies
Advertisement
LA Fitness - Beware of their contracts
By -

SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NEW JERSEY -- On joining the gym, personal trainers, like vultures, would relentlessly hover around trying to get me to sign up with them. They promised me the "moon and the stars" in terms of results. I succumbed to their persistence, consoling myself that most Hollywood stars look great, thanks to their personal trainers. Maybe I'll look half as good under supervision. Nothing could be further from the truth - not at this gym.

The minute I signed up, the hounding stopped, in fact, it was impossible to get a trainer. They'd fix an appointment but the trainer wouldn't show up or he'd be there but was booked to train someone else. I could not believe the managerial inefficiency and breakdown in communication in a corporation this size. I can only conclude that the steroids must have eaten deep into their brains.

The platoon of "General Managers" were super quick to re-schedule me without the slightest thought that there was a value to my time, having forgone other activities and appointments to be there. But finally, after a month, I got a regular trainer. He was OK, actually quite good, discussing my fitness goals and having a program we could work with. Things were going dandy for about three months. I was looking and feeling better, and then it suddenly stopped. He just disappeared - no call, nothing.

Then one of the other trainers told me he had bad grades... Oh, did I mention none of the trainers were certified? Most were college kids trying to make a buck and workout for free. But I did get a replacement trainer, then another, then another. Each one had his own style, no system whatsoever. There was nothing personal about it either, they took no pride or commitment in their work, only wanting the $6 commission for each workout. I was getting frustrated and lost all motivation. I hated going to the gym.

In the meantime, the population at the gym was exploding, between 5 and 8 pm it was a zoo. There was a wait for every piece of equipment, yet they were aggressively recruiting more members - fresh, unsuspecting blood.
After 8 months and as many trainers later, I moved to New York, while still working in New Jersey. My commute is an hour and a half each way; I didn't have the time or energy for the gym. So, get ready for this - I told them I wanted to leave. I don't blame you for laughing now.

The Operations Manager, very diplomatically, went through the fine print in the “iron-clad” contract, at the end of which I realized signing up with LA Fitness was like checking into Hotel California. "You can check out any time you like, but you can never leave" - contractually, at least.

Bottom line is, I have to continue paying $153.44 a month for the next 4 months. My ideas of having a dream body have long evaporated. The whole experience had left me $1800 poorer and with a very sour aftertaste about gyms in general.

There is another clause where you have to inform them, in writing, 60 days before the end of your contract that you want to leave. Otherwise, the contract is renewed and you'll have to keep paying for nothing till the end of your days. A fool and his money are quickly parted, I guess. "A wise man learns from his mistakes, a wiser man learns from other people's mistakes." Hope you learn something from mine... Stay away this place.

Replies
Hours of operation are misleading
By -

This is to serve as a notification. I recently was inquiring about the brand new LA Fitness that was to open in McCandless, PA. One thing that I thought was a bit unusual is that they were trying to get memberships in a local park and indicating that if you gave them your credit card information they would "hold" the offer for you. Ahhh, that seems a bit skeevy to me as I neither signed a contract and I would be giving my credit card information to a complete stranger over the phone. Now I will have to admit that setting up a tent and marketing in an area where people were working out is smart.

Secondly, I was informed that the gym would open at 5:00 am. I told the sales representative that I thought that was great as I am an age group triathlete and would need to get in a workout before work and one after work. I asked about the pool and the hours only because I had done some research and seen this on other LA Fitness sites. That is when the record scratched. The hours of the gym ARE NOT THE hours for the pool. I was then informed that the pool would not be available EVER until 6:00 am because they had to have a lifeguard on duty.

Well, I currently belong to a gym where I am in the pool at 5:05 am and there is a lifeguard in the pool. I was not aware that lifeguards could not work until after 6:00 am. Anyway, the whole reason I would look at that facility was to be able to have a pool and if the hours do not work for me then the membership is useless. I would ask about all of the amenities and ensure that they will be available when you intend to use the gym or you have a useless membership.

Replies
Misleading threats from CSR LA fitness
By -

RIVERSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- I am contacting you (and Corporate Headquarters) regarding an incident at your LA Fitness Branch 2600 Canyon Springs Parkway Moreno Valley CA 92555. I received a voice mail from a ** Saturday 7th May 2011 at 9:00 pm and Sunday 8th May 2011, csr ** at approximately 9 PM regarding my account which she left a message stating my account is delinquent. However this is not true as you can see my account is in a positive status, and they left the number 9516533240 to call them back concerning my past due account. ** passed the phone to ** said he's going canceled my account and was not listening to me but want to yell and talk over me.

This is very poor customer service. I joined the gym in Feb 2011. Paid $89.00 and $44.95 a month where I was told in Feb 2011 by manager that we don't require to have a credit card on file if we pay monthly we agreed pay and started the gym. From Feb 2011 to May there are problems. Now on Sunday this was not the case. Now there is a trust issue being created.

Just a reminder LA Fitness calls my home after 8:00 PM and 9:00 PM at night. Left messages. As a consumer I am protected under FDCPA section 805(A)(1). Also calls to my job. Calls from LA fitness to my place of employment, LA fitness knows or they has reason to know that my employer prohibits the consumer from receiving such communication are in violation FDCPA. I would like you to ensure that your CSR are properly trained on this matter. As of today there is no resolution. I also would like someone to counseled ** for yelling at me and having no clue about my account. My account is in a positive status.

I would also like to request, in writing, that no telephone contact be made by your offices to my home or to my place of employment. If your offices attempt telephone communication with me, including but not limited to computer generated calls or correspondence sent to any third parties, it will be considered harassment and I will have no choice but to file suit. All future communications with me MUST be done in writing and sent to the address noted in this letter.

Replies
Advertisement
So much for Customer Service
By -

SPRINGFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS -- I just joined a week ago and I'm already thinking of pulling out and trying to get my money back. When I signed up the guy I talked to (**) was nice. Not high pressure, made me comfortable. I told him I was joining because of my doctor's instructions to get into better shape for long term health problem prevention. I was told as part of my membership I was going to get a free health assessment to help me figure out how to use the gym right.

The assessment guy they gave me (**) basically came over and eagerly said he'd do my assessment. Then he gave me the hard sell on a personal trainer... WAY outside my budget. I politely but firmly told him no. Since then, ** has canceled my appointment with him for the assessment (keep in mind this is part of what I paid for when I signed up). I didn't make a big deal, and we rescheduled the appointment for a few days later. When I came for the rescheduled appointment, he left me waiting for 30 minutes until I got fed up and left.

My appointment was at 5:30 and by 6 he still was telling me “Just a second” every time he went by. I saw him talking at one of the desks they used to sign folks up for the club to a woman who was obviously signing up for a membership. He left me waiting to do a high powered sales pitch to a new customer.

Obviously he doesn't care to fulfill what I paid for now that he knows I'm not going to pay him any extra money. I have a new appointment with a ** in a week, and I am willing to see if he gives me the attention I was promised. If this guy blows me off, I'm demanding my money back and finding a different gym. And why is it so hard to find information to contact their Corporate office to lodge a complaint?

Replies
LA Fitness - Diamond Bar
By -

DIAMOND BAR, CALIFORNIA -- Me and my wife went to the LA Fitness on June 13, 2010, located at: DIAMOND BAR II 20801 GOLDEN SPRINGS DR. DIAMOND BAR, CA 91789 (909) 595-0045 Sales Rep: ** Height: around 180 cm Characteristic: Tattoos on his left palm. After a short while waiting, we were introduced by a salesman named “**”. He then brought us to his desk on the right (from the main door) and was asked to come in and join him, so we sat down facing him and the desk.

First he asked, “So what brings you here, you looking to get skinnier, or buff like **?” We laughed a little, then I asked, “Just need to know your pricing so we know how much we are talking about.” Then he mentioned that he needs to know what our intention is so he can set up a schedule and pricing and so on. So he went on and asked to my wife, “What's your weight? How much are you planning to lose?” then my wife shortly answered, “Oh, I'm not sure about my weight, I haven't looked recently.”

Then I whispered to her, “Do you want me to just ask how much so we know?” She nodded. I asked ** again, “We just need to know the pricing, because we are doing comparison between fitness clubs and doing some thinking”, then ** said, “So you've went to other clubs and what are their pricing?” I then explained, “No, we haven't gone to any other club, in fact, we are planning to go to the 24 Hour Fitness nearby and ask them the same question.”

Then he replied, “Why don't you go there and check it out”. Then we both nodded, went straight out the door, without looking back, thinking in our head, “We'll never go back to LA Fitness again.” So **, here's your letter of promotion, “Congrats, now everyone know what you said to LA Fitness potential customers.”

Replies
Registration fee and dues at Parsippany location
By -

PARSIPPANY, NEW JERSEY -- My wife and I joined LA fitness in Parsippany recently. I was told by a couple friends that you can negotiate price with the membership staff. This is partially true. We came in for the first time about 4 months ago in October. Originally we met with one of the head sales employees **. He told us that it would be $149 to register for the both of us and the monthly would be 35 with a possibility to go up. What we did not like was that cardio equipment was scarce. We did not join and I told him that I would wait for a better deal down the line. He was very persuasive but I was hoping to get a few more of my friends to join with me in the future to lower the price.

After about a month the ** had called me to explain he had a special if my wife and I were ready to join, and it would be 29.99 a month without racquet ball. Again we did not join. After about 2 more months of persistence and going back and forth into the gym we decided that we would join for the 29.99. We went to the gym to sign up and ** was not there so we tried to sign up with another tall man who was not polite and confusing. He told us that the lowest program was $45 a month. I was very dissatisfied with the situation.

I called ** and he drove in on his day off to give special approval to the program. We were very pleased with how he helped us that we recommended all of our friends. He has promised us that any of our friends that join will join for a discounted program and they have. If you want the lowest price and the best service you must see **. Anyone else will overcharge you.

Replies
LA Fitness - Harrisburg PA
By -

HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- So I have been a member of LA Fitness on and off. I never minded the gym itself and the classes are always great. However, I have always been put off by the sales environment and the pushiness of the sales staff. I found if I just pushed them off and ignored them, I would be okay.

Now I am done completely with them. A few weeks ago I got a "We want you back" email that offered me no initiation and a monthly fee of $29.99 a month. I thought this was a pretty good deal so I signed up with my mom. (also a former member) After I signed up I got a phone call EVERY night "reminding" me of the personal training session that I had scheduled. Finally I answered one of these calls and told them I wasn't interested and to stop calling me.

2 weeks later my mom got the same "We want you back" email and HER rate was $19.99 a month. WHAT? SO I figured this would be an easy fix. I go in with her and her email and tell the guy that I would like our rate to be matched to the one in her email. Cause I can't justify paying $30 a month when I know that there's a $20 a month floating out there. And to boot, it was offered to my MOM who was currently signed up with me at $30 a month.

The guy looked at me like I was nuts and told me that corporate sends those out and there's nothing he could do. So I told him to cancel both of us. Again, looked at me like I was nuts and told me "It's only $10 a month. You can stay around for $10 a month." I said, "I guess I COULD but why would I when I know if I hadn't joined myself I would have joined 2 weeks later for $19.99." And he was rolling his eyes at me. I said "You're rolling your eyes at me!" and he said "Well I just don't' understand why you'd cancel. Where are you going to go?" I said "I would go to Central Penn where my friend works and can get me a decent discount or I can get a corporate one from my job."

He said "Well why did you bother coming here in the first place?" I told him "the location is closest to my house." And with attitude he said, "So you're coming here out of convenience...Right?" So I just snapped for him to just cancel my account and stop asking me dumb questions. He threw the cancellation paperwork at me and told me to "Have fun at Central Penn." What a jerk! I can't even believe that's the kind of customer service I received when clearly I had a valid issue. I will never step foot into that gym again.

Replies
Advertisement
LA Fitness Apple Valley MN
By -

APPLE VALLEY, MINNESOTA -- I rejoined LA fitness a few months ago. After being back, I now remember why I left! The women's locker rooms are disgustingly dirty. There is thick layers of dust built up around the air vents. The bathrooms and showers have lime build up on the facets, shower heads, and anything that was metal has a nice red rusty shine. Some of the shower curtains have black colored mold. I just don't get it.

Another issue I have is the male janitor that has to come into the ladies locker room. He has entered on more than one occasion while women are in the middle of changing and in the showers. I have complained as have other women at the club. The last time he had to clean the ladies lockers a woman attendant came through and told the women that were in the locker room that we had to hurry up because it was getting late and the male janitor had to clean. It was 7 pm, the club hours on the weekend are until 8 pm. Another issue that I have is that if they need to clean the ladies locker rooms starting at 7 pm then they should just close the damn club at that time.

Lifetime fitness you will be getting me back. I'm done with the mental mindset of LA Fitness Apple Valley! I'll pay the extra money for peace of mind knowing that I won't be treated rudely and that I can feel safe and comfortable in the ladies locker room without having a male janitor walk in on you and also when I bring up a concern to the management, it will be heard in a respectable manner by the staff at the front desk. And also I know I won't be breathing in dust and moldy air in the locker room, etc.

Replies
Unsafe environment and zero gym etiquette
By -

NORWALK, CONNECTICUT -- The Gym itself is an impressive facility and the hours are better than most gyms that I have experienced in my 13+ years of weight training. They have 2 trainers, ** and **, that really know what they are doing. Most of the other trainers can be seen text messaging and relaxing WHILE training clients. There is even a European female trainer that hordes weights for herself while she is training and she will confront you if you tell her that she doesn't need to take 7 dumbbells off the weight rack for her client.

Mats are left on the stairwell which is a fire-code violation, 6-12 plates can be found on abandoned leg press machines from 7:00am-1030am every week day, dumbbells are left in all areas of the gym for days on end, 20-36 dumbbells are consistently absent from the racks...

I have begged the staff for over 10 months to require that the members and trainers to rack their weights. All to no avail. There is not 1 sign in the facility asking clients to return/rack weights. 2 weeks ago, I posted 4-5 signs throughout the gym asking members to rack the weights. I was confronted by an employee because of this. Instead of him being upset with the staff for it being necessary for a customer to post signs and repeatedly beg for them to follow proper gym etiquette, he decided to give me attitude.

Yesterday I asked ** (the membership card-scanner, girl) for his name because I am considering writing an article regarding the lack of gym etiquette. She responded with "I am going to revoke your membership". I told her that was fine as long as she refunded my $200+ initiation fee. She said she wouldn't because I have been a very uncooperative member...

She revoked my membership because after begging them for 10+ months to put the weights/equipment away (which is an insurance regulation and a fire code violation) I posted some signs asking members to rack their weights. (How dare me.)... It is the only gym I have ever been in that doesn't care about weights, steps, mats, etc strewn all about the floor and fire exit stairs.

I have numerous photos of the conditions I speak of. I am now pursuing a lawsuit. On a side note, I learned yesterday that one of the trainers at this facility tripped over weights that were left on the workout floor and was on crutches for more than 3 weeks.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

LA Fitness Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
160 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
LA Fitness
P.O. Box 54170
Irvine, CA 92619-1300
(949) 255-7200 (ph)
www.lafitness.com
Product/Services
Compare Health/Fitness Companies