Preview Review

Next Review

LA Fitness Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
It Is A Big Fraudulent Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS -- If you want somebody that steals your money, go to LA fitness. They help stealing your money. If you want to pay $150.00 money although you cancelled, and you don't owe any money go to LA fitness. If you don't have a friend and nobody calls you, cancel your membership and first day of next billing period after you cancel, don't worry. Every state every location calls you within 3 days. Doesn't matter you are crazy or not. Actually, it is much more than that. It is a big fraudulent company!

Replies
Advertisement
Hours of operation are misleading
By -

This is to serve as a notification. I recently was inquiring about the brand new LA Fitness that was to open in McCandless, PA. One thing that I thought was a bit unusual is that they were trying to get memberships in a local park and indicating that if you gave them your credit card information they would "hold" the offer for you. Ahhh, that seems a bit skeevy to me as I neither signed a contract and I would be giving my credit card information to a complete stranger over the phone. Now I will have to admit that setting up a tent and marketing in an area where people were working out is smart.

Secondly, I was informed that the gym would open at 5:00 am. I told the sales representative that I thought that was great as I am an age group triathlete and would need to get in a workout before work and one after work. I asked about the pool and the hours only because I had done some research and seen this on other LA Fitness sites. That is when the record scratched. The hours of the gym ARE NOT THE hours for the pool. I was then informed that the pool would not be available EVER until 6:00 am because they had to have a lifeguard on duty.

Well, I currently belong to a gym where I am in the pool at 5:05 am and there is a lifeguard in the pool. I was not aware that lifeguards could not work until after 6:00 am. Anyway, the whole reason I would look at that facility was to be able to have a pool and if the hours do not work for me then the membership is useless. I would ask about all of the amenities and ensure that they will be available when you intend to use the gym or you have a useless membership.

Replies
Misleading threats from CSR LA fitness
By -

RIVERSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- I am contacting you (and Corporate Headquarters) regarding an incident at your LA Fitness Branch 2600 Canyon Springs Parkway Moreno Valley CA 92555. I received a voice mail from a ** Saturday 7th May 2011 at 9:00 pm and Sunday 8th May 2011, csr ** at approximately 9 PM regarding my account which she left a message stating my account is delinquent. However this is not true as you can see my account is in a positive status, and they left the number 9516533240 to call them back concerning my past due account. ** passed the phone to ** said he's going canceled my account and was not listening to me but want to yell and talk over me.

This is very poor customer service. I joined the gym in Feb 2011. Paid $89.00 and $44.95 a month where I was told in Feb 2011 by manager that we don't require to have a credit card on file if we pay monthly we agreed pay and started the gym. From Feb 2011 to May there are problems. Now on Sunday this was not the case. Now there is a trust issue being created.

Just a reminder LA Fitness calls my home after 8:00 PM and 9:00 PM at night. Left messages. As a consumer I am protected under FDCPA section 805(A)(1). Also calls to my job. Calls from LA fitness to my place of employment, LA fitness knows or they has reason to know that my employer prohibits the consumer from receiving such communication are in violation FDCPA. I would like you to ensure that your CSR are properly trained on this matter. As of today there is no resolution. I also would like someone to counseled ** for yelling at me and having no clue about my account. My account is in a positive status.

I would also like to request, in writing, that no telephone contact be made by your offices to my home or to my place of employment. If your offices attempt telephone communication with me, including but not limited to computer generated calls or correspondence sent to any third parties, it will be considered harassment and I will have no choice but to file suit. All future communications with me MUST be done in writing and sent to the address noted in this letter.

Replies
So much for Customer Service
By -

SPRINGFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS -- I just joined a week ago and I'm already thinking of pulling out and trying to get my money back. When I signed up the guy I talked to (**) was nice. Not high pressure, made me comfortable. I told him I was joining because of my doctor's instructions to get into better shape for long term health problem prevention. I was told as part of my membership I was going to get a free health assessment to help me figure out how to use the gym right.

The assessment guy they gave me (**) basically came over and eagerly said he'd do my assessment. Then he gave me the hard sell on a personal trainer... WAY outside my budget. I politely but firmly told him no. Since then, ** has canceled my appointment with him for the assessment (keep in mind this is part of what I paid for when I signed up). I didn't make a big deal, and we rescheduled the appointment for a few days later. When I came for the rescheduled appointment, he left me waiting for 30 minutes until I got fed up and left.

My appointment was at 5:30 and by 6 he still was telling me “Just a second” every time he went by. I saw him talking at one of the desks they used to sign folks up for the club to a woman who was obviously signing up for a membership. He left me waiting to do a high powered sales pitch to a new customer.

Obviously he doesn't care to fulfill what I paid for now that he knows I'm not going to pay him any extra money. I have a new appointment with a ** in a week, and I am willing to see if he gives me the attention I was promised. If this guy blows me off, I'm demanding my money back and finding a different gym. And why is it so hard to find information to contact their Corporate office to lodge a complaint?

Replies
Advertisement
LA Fitness - Diamond Bar
By -

DIAMOND BAR, CALIFORNIA -- Me and my wife went to the LA Fitness on June 13, 2010, located at: DIAMOND BAR II 20801 GOLDEN SPRINGS DR. DIAMOND BAR, CA 91789 (909) 595-0045 Sales Rep: ** Height: around 180 cm Characteristic: Tattoos on his left palm. After a short while waiting, we were introduced by a salesman named “**”. He then brought us to his desk on the right (from the main door) and was asked to come in and join him, so we sat down facing him and the desk.

First he asked, “So what brings you here, you looking to get skinnier, or buff like **?” We laughed a little, then I asked, “Just need to know your pricing so we know how much we are talking about.” Then he mentioned that he needs to know what our intention is so he can set up a schedule and pricing and so on. So he went on and asked to my wife, “What's your weight? How much are you planning to lose?” then my wife shortly answered, “Oh, I'm not sure about my weight, I haven't looked recently.”

Then I whispered to her, “Do you want me to just ask how much so we know?” She nodded. I asked ** again, “We just need to know the pricing, because we are doing comparison between fitness clubs and doing some thinking”, then ** said, “So you've went to other clubs and what are their pricing?” I then explained, “No, we haven't gone to any other club, in fact, we are planning to go to the 24 Hour Fitness nearby and ask them the same question.”

Then he replied, “Why don't you go there and check it out”. Then we both nodded, went straight out the door, without looking back, thinking in our head, “We'll never go back to LA Fitness again.” So **, here's your letter of promotion, “Congrats, now everyone know what you said to LA Fitness potential customers.”

Replies
Registration fee and dues at Parsippany location
By -

PARSIPPANY, NEW JERSEY -- My wife and I joined LA fitness in Parsippany recently. I was told by a couple friends that you can negotiate price with the membership staff. This is partially true. We came in for the first time about 4 months ago in October. Originally we met with one of the head sales employees **. He told us that it would be $149 to register for the both of us and the monthly would be 35 with a possibility to go up. What we did not like was that cardio equipment was scarce. We did not join and I told him that I would wait for a better deal down the line. He was very persuasive but I was hoping to get a few more of my friends to join with me in the future to lower the price.

After about a month the ** had called me to explain he had a special if my wife and I were ready to join, and it would be 29.99 a month without racquet ball. Again we did not join. After about 2 more months of persistence and going back and forth into the gym we decided that we would join for the 29.99. We went to the gym to sign up and ** was not there so we tried to sign up with another tall man who was not polite and confusing. He told us that the lowest program was $45 a month. I was very dissatisfied with the situation.

I called ** and he drove in on his day off to give special approval to the program. We were very pleased with how he helped us that we recommended all of our friends. He has promised us that any of our friends that join will join for a discounted program and they have. If you want the lowest price and the best service you must see **. Anyone else will overcharge you.

Replies
LA Fitness - Harrisburg PA
By -

HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- So I have been a member of LA Fitness on and off. I never minded the gym itself and the classes are always great. However, I have always been put off by the sales environment and the pushiness of the sales staff. I found if I just pushed them off and ignored them, I would be okay.

Now I am done completely with them. A few weeks ago I got a "We want you back" email that offered me no initiation and a monthly fee of $29.99 a month. I thought this was a pretty good deal so I signed up with my mom. (also a former member) After I signed up I got a phone call EVERY night "reminding" me of the personal training session that I had scheduled. Finally I answered one of these calls and told them I wasn't interested and to stop calling me.

2 weeks later my mom got the same "We want you back" email and HER rate was $19.99 a month. WHAT? SO I figured this would be an easy fix. I go in with her and her email and tell the guy that I would like our rate to be matched to the one in her email. Cause I can't justify paying $30 a month when I know that there's a $20 a month floating out there. And to boot, it was offered to my MOM who was currently signed up with me at $30 a month.

The guy looked at me like I was nuts and told me that corporate sends those out and there's nothing he could do. So I told him to cancel both of us. Again, looked at me like I was nuts and told me "It's only $10 a month. You can stay around for $10 a month." I said, "I guess I COULD but why would I when I know if I hadn't joined myself I would have joined 2 weeks later for $19.99." And he was rolling his eyes at me. I said "You're rolling your eyes at me!" and he said "Well I just don't' understand why you'd cancel. Where are you going to go?" I said "I would go to Central Penn where my friend works and can get me a decent discount or I can get a corporate one from my job."

He said "Well why did you bother coming here in the first place?" I told him "the location is closest to my house." And with attitude he said, "So you're coming here out of convenience...Right?" So I just snapped for him to just cancel my account and stop asking me dumb questions. He threw the cancellation paperwork at me and told me to "Have fun at Central Penn." What a jerk! I can't even believe that's the kind of customer service I received when clearly I had a valid issue. I will never step foot into that gym again.

Replies
LA Fitness Apple Valley MN
By -

APPLE VALLEY, MINNESOTA -- I rejoined LA fitness a few months ago. After being back, I now remember why I left! The women's locker rooms are disgustingly dirty. There is thick layers of dust built up around the air vents. The bathrooms and showers have lime build up on the facets, shower heads, and anything that was metal has a nice red rusty shine. Some of the shower curtains have black colored mold. I just don't get it.

Another issue I have is the male janitor that has to come into the ladies locker room. He has entered on more than one occasion while women are in the middle of changing and in the showers. I have complained as have other women at the club. The last time he had to clean the ladies lockers a woman attendant came through and told the women that were in the locker room that we had to hurry up because it was getting late and the male janitor had to clean. It was 7 pm, the club hours on the weekend are until 8 pm. Another issue that I have is that if they need to clean the ladies locker rooms starting at 7 pm then they should just close the damn club at that time.

Lifetime fitness you will be getting me back. I'm done with the mental mindset of LA Fitness Apple Valley! I'll pay the extra money for peace of mind knowing that I won't be treated rudely and that I can feel safe and comfortable in the ladies locker room without having a male janitor walk in on you and also when I bring up a concern to the management, it will be heard in a respectable manner by the staff at the front desk. And also I know I won't be breathing in dust and moldy air in the locker room, etc.

Replies
Advertisement
Unsafe environment and zero gym etiquette
By -

NORWALK, CONNECTICUT -- The Gym itself is an impressive facility and the hours are better than most gyms that I have experienced in my 13+ years of weight training. They have 2 trainers, ** and **, that really know what they are doing. Most of the other trainers can be seen text messaging and relaxing WHILE training clients. There is even a European female trainer that hordes weights for herself while she is training and she will confront you if you tell her that she doesn't need to take 7 dumbbells off the weight rack for her client.

Mats are left on the stairwell which is a fire-code violation, 6-12 plates can be found on abandoned leg press machines from 7:00am-1030am every week day, dumbbells are left in all areas of the gym for days on end, 20-36 dumbbells are consistently absent from the racks...

I have begged the staff for over 10 months to require that the members and trainers to rack their weights. All to no avail. There is not 1 sign in the facility asking clients to return/rack weights. 2 weeks ago, I posted 4-5 signs throughout the gym asking members to rack the weights. I was confronted by an employee because of this. Instead of him being upset with the staff for it being necessary for a customer to post signs and repeatedly beg for them to follow proper gym etiquette, he decided to give me attitude.

Yesterday I asked ** (the membership card-scanner, girl) for his name because I am considering writing an article regarding the lack of gym etiquette. She responded with "I am going to revoke your membership". I told her that was fine as long as she refunded my $200+ initiation fee. She said she wouldn't because I have been a very uncooperative member...

She revoked my membership because after begging them for 10+ months to put the weights/equipment away (which is an insurance regulation and a fire code violation) I posted some signs asking members to rack their weights. (How dare me.)... It is the only gym I have ever been in that doesn't care about weights, steps, mats, etc strewn all about the floor and fire exit stairs.

I have numerous photos of the conditions I speak of. I am now pursuing a lawsuit. On a side note, I learned yesterday that one of the trainers at this facility tripped over weights that were left on the workout floor and was on crutches for more than 3 weeks.

Replies
A Horrible Company!
By -

PENNSYLVANIA -- I was as loyal an employee of this company as there could be until a few months ago. It's strange reading all these horror stories & being able to look at it through a different set of eyes. As a former G.M, I've seen how much pressure is applied to each person unfortunate enough to have to earn a check in order to provide for a family with this company.

Imagine having to hire salespeople & tell them that there is a possibility they'll only take home $7.15 per hour? What quality of an employee do they hope to attract when they're paying minimum wage? All the while baiting these unsuspecting people with the possibility of becoming a G.M or a V.P... If you don't sell then you don't eat! Not at L.A. Fitness!

The best way to describe this company is to call them a "pyramid." At the top they all drive Porsches & wear Rolex's while the people the members (the lifeblood of the company) see each day scrape by to survive! It's disgusting! Someone quits? It's now the G.M.'s fault for not "keeping them motivated?" I've noticed that this company, which oddly enough, is all about "accepting personal accountability" is never wrong for anything! Does it surprise me to read all these stories? Not at all. You could lie to members all you want & look like a superstar but only until the Better Business Bureau gets involved. Then to save face, someone gets fired & misreps are corrected.

My advice is simply to AVOID this company at all costs! If you have been lied to then contact the BBB & watch how fast you get your refund! Yeah, they'll keep your money until you threaten to hit back. They are terrified of the BBB for some reason & I know that all incidents with them are accounted for and handled with great speed and care. They claim to be "monthly" yet they never seem to get your cancellations, do they? It is truly a nightmare & I know that. This is a HORRIBLE company to do business with and an even worse company to work for! Good luck & I hope my advice helps more than a few people out..

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

LA Fitness Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
160 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
LA Fitness
P.O. Box 54170
Irvine, CA 92619-1300
(949) 255-7200 (ph)
www.lafitness.com
Product/Services
Compare Health/Fitness Companies