Legendary Journeys - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 15 ratings and
31 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Could Not Get Refund Back After One Day
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SUN CITY CENTER, FLORIDA -- We could not get our deposit back after one day. We were not told that we could not get it back at time of booking. We found out that our grand daughter is getting married during the time of our vacation which we don't want to miss.

Company Response 08/06/2015:

Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. This type of situation is most unfortunate as we frequently receive requests due to situations similar to yours. You see, when you book a travel package, there are always cancellation penalties that go into effect, and many times these go into effect from the moment your reservation is made. Legendary Journeys always recommends that clients purchase optional travel protection to cover them in the event of cancellations, however the problem is that the majority of Optional Travel Protection programs only allow you to cancel due to medical reasons only. This means that your doctor has advised you that it is unsafe for you to travel and this is medically documented. Sadly, a family member getting married does not constitute as a medical reason to cancel.

For future reservations, I recommend that you look into purchasing Optional Travel Protection that allows you to cancel for ANY reason. Typically these policies are more expensive and you may not receive a full refund of all monies paid, however you may receive the funds back in a Future Travel Certificate (to be applied towards future travel arrangements). Regardless, the funds would not be a total loss. Always ask about these items when considering the purchase of a Cancel for ANY Reason travel protection policy.

Again, Thank you for posting your concerns. Legendary Journeys always provides the greatest value for your travel dollar.

Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

     
Replies
Lies and Misrepresentation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- This company should be put out of business. Don't use them. You'll only lose.

Company Response 08/11/2015:

Thank you for your post. Unfortunately you did not state any concerns you have with Legendary Journeys. We are sorry that you feel the way you do. If you would like for us review your specific concerns directly, please contact our Customer Relations Team by emailing to Customerrelations@LJ.travel and provide your traveler names, invoice number and as much detail as possible and our team will be more than happy to respond accordingly.

Again, thank you for your post. Legendary Journeys strives to provide our guests with the greatest value for your travel dollar.

Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

     
Replies
Dishonest Practices
By -

I am a tour operator in Skagway, AK. Legendary Journeys contracted business with me back in the 1990's. On our last tour, scheduled for mid-morning, and having had trouble with payment in the past, I got the payment up front. Legendary Journeys then, at the last minute, contracted an additional bus tour by phone to be paid for that day and departing at 8 AM, which I put in place and got underway. They then totally fouled up the original arrangements for later that morning by changing their demands to something I could not provide.

Instead, unable to make contact with their group representative, a rather large man who was too busy having breakfast in a local restaurant to attend to the group, I upgraded the people at my expense and got them underway. I tried desperately to track down the representative all day long, but he evaded me. Long story short: they stuck me for the additional tour and never paid for it. When I tried to contact them by phone and get payment, they cited trouble with the changes I made in the tour and threatened to sue me! This is NOT a company you can trust in any way, shape or form, IMO.

Company Response 08/25/2015:

Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. As this vendor did not put any specifics into their post, this is virtually impossible to respond to accurately.

With that said, if this vendor took it upon themselves and added options to the tour that were not authorized by our home office, and then expected to charge us additionally for these add-ons, we may very well have disputed the charges for the obvious reasons that we did not authorize charges for those additional items.

We do find it highly questionable, at best, that this vendor waited 10-20 YEARS to post their concerns to this CONSUMER REVIEW SITE after their situation took place. Unfortunately, without having the Vendor information to properly research, this is the best response we are able to accurately give at this time.

Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

     
Replies
Legendary Journey Performance
By -

I, too, read the bad reviews for Legendary Journey just as ** did. I just got through booking a cruise with an add on tour. Naturally I was upset that I hadn't done my homework before booking. However, in looking at the complaints, they seem to go back to 2007 and earlier. Maybe they've cleaned up their act. I do feel that they are difficult to communicate with based on questions asked and answers given.

     
Replies
Deposit Refund
By -

I put a $1000.00 deposit for each of us and after reading the bad reviews realize I don't want to go with them. Called for deposit after 4 days and told we lose $2000.00. What can I do?

     
Replies
You Get What You Pay For
By -

SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- I just returned from an 18 day tour which included London and A Baltic Sea cruise on Carnival. The cruise went fine with Carnival but the travel arrangements from Legendary Journeys was a trip from hell. When we arrived in London we had to walk about a mile to board the bus. This was very hard pushing and pulling luggage. They they had changed our hotel and instead of staying near London we were about 45 miles out of town. Some of our group was left at the airport and had to pay $100 to get transportation to hotel. We were responsible for our luggage to and from our rooms off of the buses.

We were not issued boarding passes and enough time was not allowed so we missed our flight in Germany. Yes, we flew from Jacksonville, FL to Germany then to London. The same on our return. I have travel extensively and have never had such a horrible experience as this. PLEASE, just pay a very little more and go with a reliable company that gives you what they promise.

     
Replies
Legendary Nightmare
By -

MERRITT ISLAND, FLORIDA -- APRIL 2007 purchased NCL cruise from Legendary Journeys which included hotel and transfers. Paid additional $396 for hotel upgrades in downtown Barcelona, Spain and Santiago, Chile. Didn't receive either upgrade. Barcelona hotel was so far out of town, it would have cost $100 round trip. All other couples staying with us on LJ tour had not upgraded. In both Spain and Chile,we were picked up by a driver who spoke no English.

3 weeks prior to our departure, LJ demanded an additional $200, or they wouldn't send out tickets. We had to pay it to be able to go, even though we had proof and a paid in full receipt. They did this as the travel documents arrived one week prior to departure, with a new restriction of only one suitcase per person. After 2 days finally got a hold of them and tried to explain as a disabled Vietnam vet couldn't travel 36 days on only one bag. Meds filled up half a bag. Told, don't go then.

Upon return, put in a claim for $396 upgrades which weren't received, which has blatantly been ignored for 4 weeks. LJ doesn't answer our inquiries.

To top it all off, their Traveler's Protection Plan which was supposed to cover up to $10,000 in emergency expenses has the same approach. Took 2 weeks to open my simple doctor's receipt -then claimed it would take 5 months to resolve.

Somebody ought to put these predators out of business!

     
Replies
Travel insurance reimbursement
By -

SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- Legendary Journeys Travel Agency cheated my friend and I our of almost $4000. We contracted a trip to Alaska and paid for the trip and insurance by check. We were told we had insurance that would allow us to cancel until the day before we departed. This was a lie. Legendary never paid for our trip insurance. We had to cancel our trip and we were not reimbursed. The FDACS say they do not have the authority to order this reimbursement. Legendary's manager Charles Scott, says he will not refund our money because he doesn't have to. This is fraudulent and disgusting.

Hiring an attorney will cost me more than I'm owed. Legendary knows this. We're two senior citizens living in New York. He knows we cannot run down there to fight this nor is it cost efficient. No one has a right to steal another person's money. This is a terrible blemish on Florida's tourist industry. They should not be permitted to perpetrate such an action.

Lynda Sposato
taloolah@aol.com

     
Replies
Non refundable deposit
By -

SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- After reading some of the reviews on your site, we are concerned about a deposit we have made for a similar trip in September to Western Europe. We were told our $2000 deposit was non refundable and they recommended insurance for $443 which we also paid for. The insurance does not cover return of our deposit. I can't believe it is impossible this far ahead not to be able to get our $2,000 Back! Do I have any recourse?

     
Replies
Mis-Leading Advertising, Poor Customer Service
By -

Legendary Journey advertised flying from Tampa to Florence, Italy, and staying five days in Tuscany. One week prior to our trip we were notified that we would be flying into Rome, Italy. I complained to Legendary Journey and basically told to "read the fine print", we can do what we want. The advertising for the trip to Tuscany never mentioned that because of over 800 travelers we would be flying into Rome. Legendary Journey never returned our telephone calls, and we lost over a day in Tuscany because of flying from Tampa to Cincinnati, and than onto Rome, and than over a five hour bus trip to Tuscany. We also booked a tour of the Vatican through Legendary Journey, on the day of the tour we were told the tour plans had changed because of over five hour wait at the Vatican.

We found out later that in fact only a fifteen minute wait at Vatican was actually experienced. We were never refunded any money because of this change.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >