Preview Review

Next Review

Legendary Journeys Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Bait and Switch
By -

SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- We are scheduled to leave on a trip to Rome this weekend. We received our travel vouchers several days ago to find out that they did not book us on our requested excursion for the 1st of November that they advertised but changed it to the 2nd without even contacting us. We paid for this 2 1/2 months ago and never heard from anyone regarding the change. When I contacted ** the person we booked with to say we did not want to do an excursion on the 2nd of November and wanted our money refunded, he sent the request to corporate and they have refused to refund our money.

We paid for a full day of touring in Rome and this has been changed to a tour plus transportation to Tuscany. We had plans for Tuscany on the 2nd of November. They would not accept credit cards for this and have refused to refund our money. I will be contacting our attorney regarding this but want other people to know how you are treated when you book with Legendary Journeys. This is our first and last experience with them.

Company Response 08/25/2015:

Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. We are sorry to hear of your optional tour conflict due to our modification of the tour. Legendary Journeys advises all guests that Optional Tours are 100% non-refundable. The only exception to this is if Legendary Journeys cancels the tour, in which case we promptly refund anyone booked on that optional tour.

On the optional tour form that you signed, directly below the signature (where you signed agreeing to our policies) it clearly states:

"Reservations Are Non Refundable After Booking, including, but not limited to, cancellation of port by Cruise Line or weather issues and can not be given to another guest. Your signature acknowledges that excursions cannot be canceled for any reason including but not limited to regret of purchase. Additionally, while no revisions of the itinerary are anticipated, Legendary Journeys reserves the right to change any tour, schedule, or price, or to substitute stops and attractions on any tour without notice, and to use substitute equipment as necessary. You must contact your Travel Insurance provider to insure your optional tour purchase (or any additional pur¬chase). Do not assume that tours are insured because you have a policy on your base travel package, Legendary Journeys will not be responsible for tours not insured by your Insurance Provider. We also reserve the right to require a minimum number of passengers to operate any tour. Any tour canceled by Legendary Journeys will be promptly refunded. Additionally, please review your signed passenger information agreement for the trip. That agreement applies to any optional tours you purchase from Legendary Journeys. Legendary Journeys acts as a representative booking agent for airlines, motor coach companies, tours and the like. Therefore, we remind you that we can not accept responsibilities for their actions. You agree to make no charge backs for purchased tours."

In the above verbiage, we advise you of the potential for changes. Once you confirmed your participation in the tour, your reservation was locked in and payments made on your behalf to our Vendor who was providing the tour.

Many times, we are asked why our policy on Optional Tours are so strict. This is how we obtain our lower optional tour rates. We guarantee with our vendors that they will be paid for the excursions purchased, including, but not limited to the ship not coming into port that day. By guaranteeing payment, our vendors provide us with the best possible prices for optional tours in the industry and we pass these savings along to our valued clients. Furthermore, we advise all of our guests to purchase optional travel protection. In our optional Tour information we further advise our clients that they will need to contact their travel protection provider and increase their coverage to cover any newly purchased optional tours.

Again, Thank you for posting your concerns. Legendary Journeys strives to provide the greatest value for your travel dollar!

Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

Replies
Advertisement
You Get What You Pay For
By -

SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- I just returned from an 18 day tour which included London and A Baltic Sea cruise on Carnival. The cruise went fine with Carnival but the travel arrangements from Legendary Journeys was a trip from hell. When we arrived in London we had to walk about a mile to board the bus. This was very hard pushing and pulling luggage. They they had changed our hotel and instead of staying near London we were about 45 miles out of town. Some of our group was left at the airport and had to pay $100 to get transportation to hotel. We were responsible for our luggage to and from our rooms off of the buses.

We were not issued boarding passes and enough time was not allowed so we missed our flight in Germany. Yes, we flew from Jacksonville, FL to Germany then to London. The same on our return. I have travel extensively and have never had such a horrible experience as this. PLEASE, just pay a very little more and go with a reliable company that gives you what they promise.

Company Response 09/11/2015:

Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. We do apologize that our travel package did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate who this exact client is to respond specifically to this post, however we will provide our response based on what is posted here.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your Cruise on the Carnival Splendor! Carnival does a great job and provides an excellent value to all their guests. We are sorry to hear your other arrangements did not meet your expectations. We understand that Airports can be a vast area and there can be a considerable amount of walking within the airport. Airports do offer means of assistance for those that need it due to the vast distances they can be required to walk to get from the Gate to the Baggage Claim to Customs, then to the coach boarding area. If needed in the future, please obtain this assistance from the airport staff.

For most of our trips , our standard, or included, hotels are typically located outside the city center or near an airport. This is done to keep our overall costs down, which we pass those savings along to our valued clients. In recent years, we understand that certain clients have certain expectations and WANT to be city center in the heart of it all. Please understand - LEGENDARY JOURNEYS HEARS YOU! We now offer hotel upgrade features to virtually all of our cruise and tour options to give our guests the option to BE City Center in either a 3, 4 or in some cases even a 5 star property. Of course, these upgrades do come at an additional cost, however it now gives our clients the option of choosing the hotel type and location that best fits their needs and expectations. We do apologize that we did not offer these upgrades back in 2008.

Regarding your statements about guests being left stranded at the airport, we advised all guests in their travel documents exactly how to proceed should a delay occur that causes them to miss the included transfer, where it clearly stated:

“Emergency Flight Delays
If you experience a missed connection or significant flight delay, please plan on your course of action when you arrive in England. First, this is a DELAY issue that could be covered if you purchased travel insurance. Any expenses that result from the delay cannot be covered by Legendary Journeys. You will need to file a claim through the insurance provider. The most efficient transportation between London and Stevenage is by rail. The information desk at the airport will be able to provide you with directions. The hotel is approximately a 5 minute walk from the Stevenage train station.

BE SURE TO KEEP YOUR RECEIPTS FOR DOCUMENTATION TO YOUR INSURANCE PROVIDER”

In this instance, we gave guests the most economical and efficient means of getting from the Airport to the hotel. We further advised them how to proceed towards reimbursement for those additional costs involved. Please understand that Legendary Journeys has absolutely no control when it comes to airline flight delays or even delays that occur while being processed through Customs. This is why we advise our guest of their best course of action should these delays take place.

Regarding your airline arrangements, we do not understand why the client did not accept our upgraded Premium Air option when making their reservations. We state in our flyer, (at the time) brochures and the Client Information Packet you received upon making your reservation, about our included/Standard Air arrangements where it states:

"Standard Air: Refers to the Airfare (and Low-cost add-on cities) included with the package. Standard Air arrangements, Airline and Flight Schedule, are at Legendary Journey's sole discretion. Standard Air Schedules will experience up to 2 or 3 changes of planes in each direction. Standard air schedule will be available approximately 7-14 days prior to the trip departure date. Requests can not be accepted for Standard Air Arrangements, as well as the Client Information Packet you received upon making your reservation. Please note: Standard air low-cost gateways will require payment of all air costs at the time of acceptance"

With Legendary Journey's Premium Air upgrade feature for a fee of $49 plus the cost of the service you are requesting, you have the ability to choose a specific airline, schedule, routing, etc. With Legendary Premium Air you will never be unhappy with your airline arrangements again!

Again, thank you for posting your concerns. We are confident that if you chose to try us again Legendary Journeys always provides the greatest value for your travel dollar!

Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

Replies
Beware Of Prepaid Tours
By -

NAPLES, FLORIDA -- A warning regarding nonrefundable prepaid tours booked through Legendary Journeys on their cruise tours. We booked 3 tours 6 months before the transatlantic sailing with 6 days in Tuscany included. Once onboard the ship, we discovered that none offered paid access to any of the attractions like the Leaning Tower of Pisa, and secondly, most required walks of a mile or more to the attraction as tour buses are not allowed near and cannot park.

Also, by pre-booking these tours through Legendary Journeys, you might find that a 300 mile round trip bus trip to Venice is planned for the day after you spent 6 hours on a bus from Rome to Tuscany. Many hidden charges from advertisements in the papers or online. If planning to travel with a group of friends, be prepared to pay to stay together, either on the ship or in hotels. They charge for everything including the selection of your cabin.

Replies
Dishonest Practices
By -

I am a tour operator in Skagway, AK. Legendary Journeys contracted business with me back in the 1990's. On our last tour, scheduled for mid-morning, and having had trouble with payment in the past, I got the payment up front. Legendary Journeys then, at the last minute, contracted an additional bus tour by phone to be paid for that day and departing at 8 AM, which I put in place and got underway. They then totally fouled up the original arrangements for later that morning by changing their demands to something I could not provide.

Instead, unable to make contact with their group representative, a rather large man who was too busy having breakfast in a local restaurant to attend to the group, I upgraded the people at my expense and got them underway. I tried desperately to track down the representative all day long, but he evaded me. Long story short: they stuck me for the additional tour and never paid for it. When I tried to contact them by phone and get payment, they cited trouble with the changes I made in the tour and threatened to sue me! This is NOT a company you can trust in any way, shape or form, IMO.

Company Response 08/25/2015:

Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. As this vendor did not put any specifics into their post, this is virtually impossible to respond to accurately.

With that said, if this vendor took it upon themselves and added options to the tour that were not authorized by our home office, and then expected to charge us additionally for these add-ons, we may very well have disputed the charges for the obvious reasons that we did not authorize charges for those additional items.

We do find it highly questionable, at best, that this vendor waited 10-20 YEARS to post their concerns to this CONSUMER REVIEW SITE after their situation took place. Unfortunately, without having the Vendor information to properly research, this is the best response we are able to accurately give at this time.

Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

Replies
Advertisement
Legendary Journey Performance
By -

I, too, read the bad reviews for Legendary Journey just as ** did. I just got through booking a cruise with an add on tour. Naturally I was upset that I hadn't done my homework before booking. However, in looking at the complaints, they seem to go back to 2007 and earlier. Maybe they've cleaned up their act. I do feel that they are difficult to communicate with based on questions asked and answers given.

Company Response 09/10/2015:

Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. We completely understand your concerns, especially after reading these reviews and not seeing any company responses. Legendary Journeys is currently working to respond to all of the online reviews. If you go back through this site you will see that we have responded to just about half of the reviews posted on this site with our goal being to have a response posted to each and every online review, regardless of the age of the review.

As we step into the digital age, we realize the importance of these online reviews and welcome them as a medium where we have the ability to post our response and explain in detail (when possible) what occurred and why.

One interesting point, taking this site as example, Legendary Journeys currently (at the time of posting this response) has 31 total reviews on this site ranging from present day and going back to 2006. That averages to only 4 reviews posted per year between 2006 and 2015. When you look at it from this aspect, we really did not receive that many reviews. Another point to keep in mind is the fact that many times, consumers are quick to post a negative thought or review, however never go back to post that the situation was resolved to their satisfaction, when in fact it was.

We do hope that you enjoyed your overall reservation experience and trip. If you would like for us to address any items from your trip, please email our Customer Relations Team at Customerrelations@LJ.travel and provide us with your traveler names, invoice number (if applicable) and as much detail as you can give and our team will respond accordingly.

We thank you for choosing Legendary Journeys. Legendary Journeys will always provide you with the greatest value for your travel dollar.

Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

Replies
Deposit Refund
By -

I put a $1000.00 deposit for each of us and after reading the bad reviews realize I don't want to go with them. Called for deposit after 4 days and told we lose $2000.00. What can I do?

Company Response 09/10/2015:

Thank you for posting your concern and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. This is most unfortunate as the majority of our travel packages do have cancellation penalties that go into effect from the moment the reservation is made. We place this information on our website, the trip flyer, etc. As I do not have enough information posted here to research exactly who this client is, but based on the post it appears they made a reservation then attempted to cancel and penalties were already in effect. Many times, clients think that since they just made the reservation they can simply cancel it with no penalty. This is completely incorrect. Once the reservation is made with us, we immediately begin making the reservation with the vendor directly (i.e. cruise line, other tour operator if applicable, etc). These vendors have Penalties that also go into effect the moment the reservation is made. This is why it is so important that when you are making a travel reservation you ask what the penalties are and when they go into effect BEFORE YOU MAKE THE RESERVATION. There are optional travel insurances that can be purchased to assist you in recovering some of these lost funds, however that also must be purchased at the time of reservation so that you are covered.

We would love to hear if you decided to stay on the trip and if so, how was your experience? Please feel free to contact our Customer Relations Team by emailing customerrelations@LJ.travel, or post another review. We do hope you decided to take the trip and had a wonderful time!

Again, Thank you for giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. Legendary Journeys strives to provide the greatest value for your travel dollar.

Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

Replies
Wonderful Trip to Costa Rica
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- Legendary Journeys definitely outdid themselves with the Costa Rican trip. It was 7 days of wonderful, exciting experiences. Our guides Philippe and Juan Carlos were excellent. Hotel was fantastic and the value was unbeatable!

Company Response 07/13/2015:

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent Costa Rica Trip! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time on the tour! We look forward to seeing you on a Future Legendary Journey!
Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

Replies
Bad Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUMMERFIELD, FLORIDA -- We also had a horrible experience with Legendary Journeys on a 16 day land and sea trip to Alaska. I have written about it so many times I am not going to tell the whole story. However, I also dealt with ** in the Summerfield office and was completely disgusted that she never contacted us when we returned to see how our trip was. I copied her on all my emails to the company about the many problems we had and we never heard from her!

Company Response 07/20/2015:

Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. Legendary Journeys apologizes that your June 2014 "Alaska at Leisure Southbound Glacier Tour" did not meet your expectations. Luckily we were able to locate your reservation and retrieve all of the correspondence between yourself and Legendary Journeys. Incidentally, there was considerable communication back and forth between these clients and our Customer Relations Team. The majority of this client's concerns revolve around the fact that we tried to accommodate a small group of 10. Being a smaller group, we utilized transportation that best fit a group of that size. Unfortunately, due to that smaller size we did not utilize a large 54 seat motorcoach, however we used a 14 passenger van. Also due to the small size of the group, we did not have an escort that traveled with the group, however gave instruction in the document packet. We further had some misprints in some of the information within the travel document packet that caused some frustration to some passengers on this tour.

We sincerely apologize to this client for these items and for the tour not living up to their expectations. We tried to make arrangements so that this tour could run with a minimum number of passengers. The alternative would have been to completely cancel the arrangements at the last minute and we did not wish to do this and completely disappoint those that purchased the tour and made arrangements to travel at that time.

In the matter of these clients, Legendary Journeys provided compensation to them to be used on a future travel package with Legendary Journeys. To date, these clients have utilized this compensation and I do hope they have a wonderful time on their upcoming Western Caribbean Cruise they purchased through Legendary Journeys.

Again, Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. Legendary Journeys strives to provide the greatest value for your travel dollar.

Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

Replies
Advertisement
What a Terrible Company. Stay Clear of All Hire Hype
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OCALA, FLORIDA -- From the day we booked we should have got the message. Do not trust this company. They clump everything together so that there is no way to check prices. We paid for an upgrade in Hong Kong for a better hotel and never got it. We had pay 100 dollars for luggage traveling from Singapore to Hong Kong. This was not excess baggage either. Have we ever got that back. No. No matter what I do. We now realize that we paid far in excess for what we got. Never Ever Again.

Company Response 08/06/2015:

Thank you for posting your concern and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your overall experience with Legendary Journeys. We strive to provide our guests with great value by packaging together all the components that are needed for someone to successfully travel. In the case of your package, You took our Best of Asia Royal Caribbean Mariner of the Sea Sailing from Dubai to Singapore, which INCLUDED the following:

~The 12 day sailing aboard Royal Caribbean's Mariner of the Seas
~FREE AIR from Select Florida Cities to Dubai and returning from Singapore
~FREE 3 Night Dubai Pre Tour
~FREE 2 Night Singapore Post Tour

We further show that you opted to upgrade your Hong Kong hotel to a 4 Star City Center Property.

Please understand that if you were to purchase these items ala carte, you would have paid much more than what you paid with Legendary Journeys. We are able to use our buying power to purchase items in bulk at a greater discount. This enables us to package together these trip components to provide our guests with the absolute best value and rates!

We also make you aware of our Airline policy regarding Baggage fees in our Terms and Conditions under "Airline Arrangements" where it clearly states: "Once Legendary Journeys purchases any airline ticket, said ticket will be 100% non-refundable/non-changeable/non-transferable. Legendary Journeys does not pay ANY airline imposed fees for Baggage, Seating Assignments, check in fees, etc. Please contact your specific air carrier directly, or go to their website, for complete information of their additional fees charged. TSA requires that names on Airline tickets MUST MATCH the name as it appears on your passport. Having an incorrectly spelled name could result in additional fees, a new ticket being purchased and/or denied boarding. ANY costs involving a name change to an airline ticket will be the responsibility of the traveler. Legendary Journeys is not responsible if an airline cancels or delays a flight for any reason, including weather. If you are unable to make your departure, it is your responsibility to work with the airline on which you are ticketed to reach your destination. Legendary Journeys is not responsible for any additional expenses you may incur prior to joining your trip. Legendary Journeys is not responsible for, and will not provide any refund for components of trips missed due to canceled or delayed flights. Legendary Journeys does not participate in, nor can we assist in any frequent flyer programs."

These points notwithstanding, Legendary Journeys provides an optional service called Legendary Premium Air. With Legendary Journeys Premium Air program you can customize your airline arrangements to your exact specifications for a fee of $49 plus the additional cost of the service requested. This means you could have specified your airline(s) and chosen an airline that perhaps would not charge any additional baggage fees.

In this post, you state that you never received the 4 star upgrade that you paid for. We are a little confused as you had contacted us after the trip to seek reimbursement for your baggage fees, however you never mentioned anything to us about not receiving your upgraded hotel. Our records show that the hotel you were placed in was the Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong located at 387-397, Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, Hong Kong. In fact, this is a 4 star property located in the city center of Hong Kong. If this was not the case with you, we ask that you please contact our Customer Relations Team by emailing us at Customerrelations@LJ.travel and provide your names, Invoice number and as much detail of your concerns as possible and we will be more than happy to respond accordingly.

Again, Thank you for posting your concerns. Legendary Journeys strives to provide the greatest value for your travel dollar.

Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

Replies
Could Not Get Refund Back After One Day
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SUN CITY CENTER, FLORIDA -- We could not get our deposit back after one day. We were not told that we could not get it back at time of booking. We found out that our granddaughter is getting married during the time of our vacation which we don't want to miss.

Company Response 08/06/2015:

Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. This type of situation is most unfortunate as we frequently receive requests due to situations similar to yours. You see, when you book a travel package, there are always cancellation penalties that go into effect, and many times these go into effect from the moment your reservation is made. Legendary Journeys always recommends that clients purchase optional travel protection to cover them in the event of cancellations, however the problem is that the majority of Optional Travel Protection programs only allow you to cancel due to medical reasons only. This means that your doctor has advised you that it is unsafe for you to travel and this is medically documented. Sadly, a family member getting married does not constitute as a medical reason to cancel.

For future reservations, I recommend that you look into purchasing Optional Travel Protection that allows you to cancel for ANY reason. Typically these policies are more expensive and you may not receive a full refund of all monies paid, however you may receive the funds back in a Future Travel Certificate (to be applied towards future travel arrangements). Regardless, the funds would not be a total loss. Always ask about these items when considering the purchase of a Cancel for ANY Reason travel protection policy.

Again, Thank you for posting your concerns. Legendary Journeys always provides the greatest value for your travel dollar.

Sincerely,
Legendary Journeys

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Legendary Journeys Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
39 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Legendary Journeys
3474 17th Street
Sarasota, FL 34235
1-800-511-5411 (ph)
www.lj.travel
Compare Travel Services