Preview Review

Next Review

Linder's Furniture Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
What you see in the showroom is not what you will get, and then you're stuck with it
By -

CERRITOS, CALIFORNIA -- My husband and me bought a couch and love seat from Linder's. At the showroom we inspected both of them and liked the look and overall comfort and softness of the cushions. We unzipped the cushions at the showroom to see what materials they were made of and decided to get them. A week later we got our furniture and to our surprise the cushions were hard as rocks. Once we unzipped them we found out they were made with different materials than the ones in the showroom

Once we contacted customer service we got this very rude lady ** that didn't want to listen to what I was saying and kept making excuses as to why the cushions were hard - "they needed to be worn", "the cushions at the showroom were older and felt better". This service representative treated me like an idiot and refused to take care of the problem! Bottom line is that the furniture Linder's has on it's showrooms IS NOT THE SAME AS WHAT YOU WILL GET!!! BUYERS BEWARE!!!!

Company Response 01/04/2011:

I am sorry that you had such an experience, We would like to discuss it and resolve any issue left open or make up for how we didn't handle the situation properly. Please feel free to contact me at phone or email below.

Eric Foucrier
President

12821 Knott Avenue
Garden Grove, Ca 92841
714 622-7925 PH
714 698-2704 FAX
Email
EricFoucrier@lindersfurniture.com
Websites
www.lindersfurniture.com
www.legacy-homefurnishings.com

Replies
Advertisement
Very BAD customer service - can't deliver as promised
By -

GARDEN GROVE, CALIFORNIA -- I ordered a bed (not set) on 4/17 and was told by the salesperson at the Rancho Cucamonga store that it would be available in about 3 weeks. Now I am being told they won't have it from the manufacturer till 6/10. This is 8 weeks after ordering the bed (it's coming from Asia). I requested a full refund as stated on the Terms & Conditions (unreasonable manufacturer delay) and was told by a very rude customer service agent I could get a refund minus 10% and that they believe unreasonable is 3-6 months (which is not stated on the Terms & Conditions).

This is completely unacceptable and they claim that customer service is #1. The agent would not let me speak to the manager **. I will now contact the Better Business Bureau and also a lawyer for recourse due to the inability to deliver as paid and promised.

Replies
Bizarre policy
By -

CATHEDRAL CITY, CALIFORNIA -- We bought a terrific tall ceramic pot and four bunches of dyed green bamboo sticks to go in it, as displayed at the Cathedral City store's grand opening sale. The saleswoman and my partner agreed that four bundles looked better than three, but when we got home we decided that three was plenty. When I tried to return the fourth, on Monday four days later, I was told that accessories can't be returned after three days ("It says on the receipt" -- in small print on the back side and not so specifically) because the order had already been processed (whatever that means).

After I returned to the car shaking my head, my partner, not one to suffer fools and their policies, had another go at the manager. Throughout the encounter, he was unfriendly, uncooperative, and rude. He acknowledged that he would forgo sales worth potentially thousands of dollars by our friends who are buying a condo (and others amazed by this tale!) for a $7 item.

Who ever heard of such a policy? We should have been told by the saleswoman to be sure to return it within three days if we didn't want the extra bundle -- and that the $169 pot would need to be returned in that time too if we changed our minds. Customer service? We will never set foot in Linder's again and will steer our friends away too. Caveat emptor.

Replies
Lied to
By -

I purchased a couch which I absolutely loved when I was at the showroom in Cerritos, and the couch was very comfy, but when I got it today it's really hard and stiff. The other thing was that since I don't have perfect credit I had to go with their "easy financing," which I asked more than once if the payment was $60.00 a month and was told yes.... No it's actually $60 every two weeks, making it approximately $120 a month. I cannot afford that high of a payment each month. I'm calling the store tomorrow and see what the say. If I had been told this upfront I wouldn't have signed and bought this furniture. I'm really, really upset.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Quality
By -

LAGUNA HILLS, CALIFORNIA -- Do not purchase any furniture from this store. I purchased a dinning room set at the end of Nov and the plastic that the manufacture covers the chairs with will not come off. I've tried to several time to call customer service back in December and was told I would have to pay a fee of 60.00 to have someone come out and remove the plastic.

My question is this: Why would the delivery people not tell me about the plastic covers and why didn't they take the plastic off in the first place? I shouldn't have to go for months dealing with this. Don't you agree? I was told by customer service to remove the plastic myself with a screw driver??? After all the calls and emails I have sent the DM and President **. Not one call back!

Replies
A Great Experience All The Way Around
By -

LAGUNA HILLS, CALIFORNIA -- After missing my delivery call because my 9 year old answered and took an incomplete message, I went online to see if I could find the delivery service's phone number. Seeing unhappy review made me nervous, as my furniture was supposed to be delivered today.

I called Customer Service at 9 A.M. today. ** was courteous and helpful and told me my delivery was scheduled between 11-3. My 2 delivery people arrived at 12:05, and were helpful, courteous, and professional. They set everything up where I asked, and even helped me move one of my own pieces out of the way. All pieces arrived in excellent shape, one week after placing my order, in the time frame that had been set up in the store.

My salesperson, **, at Laguna Hills was helpful with dimension tear sheets, and I felt like he was trying to help me find the right pieces for my room and it didn't feel like a hard sell. I had a great experience all around, and would shop Linder's again. I did not experience any bad issues as other users had stated with their delivery experiences. I wish I had got the names of my 2 delivery personnel, as I would like to commend them on their helpfulness, timeliness, and courtesy! Thanks!

Replies
Free Groceries
By -

Don't ever fall for Linder's SCAM on giving $500 in free groceries if you buy something from them. It's totally bogus! The hoops I had to go through just to sign up was impossible, then when I finally got it straight, I never received a dime. Linder's says they have nothing to do with the company that sends the money. What a joke!

Of course you can't email, phone, fax or get a hold of them in any way. When I finally got an address to write to them, I found out they moved. I found one phone number, but it was disconnected. It's been over 9 months and I'm still trying to collect my $500. Oh well, just a warning to never trust them because they'll never make good on their word. Just another company ripping people off for profit!

Replies
Horrible Horrible Horrible Do Not Buy From Them
By -

TORRNACE, CALIFORNIA -- I will make this short and sweet. Horrible customer service, lied to by everyone at every level, no returned phone calls from the manager of the Torrance store or corporate manager **. ** of the Torrance store lied to me on numerous occasions. My problem was simple but could not be resolved. Once they have your money they simply do not care! All their promotions are a SCAM! I will also be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau. I have absolutely no idea how this company is in business, they should have been shut down. Worst experience ever! Do Not Buy From Them!!!!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Care
By -

TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA -- The week of February 4th 2008 we purchased an entire living room. Leather sofa, loveseat, chair, & ottoman as well as a coffee table, entertainment unit, (TV lift unit) and 50" Plasma TV. This purchase was made on our second visit to the store and we had them check inventory etc. and everything was available and a delivery was set for the next week February 13th.

Delivery day arrives and everything except the loveseat is in the shipment. OK, this is not a major issue, however when I inspected the sofa the frame was broken thus I refused the item called the store and customer service manager **, a new delivery was set for Saturday the 16th, the new sofa is fine. Oh yeah, the TV was supposed to be installed in the lift unit before delivery and it wasn't, when I called about it an assistant store manager tells me the company doesn't install them.

Well now, I had paid an additional $100.00 for the pleasure of being told this. After several calls to customer service etc. It was confirmed that they do in fact install them and they made a mistake and would come out and correct it. This was of course after they wanted to come pick up the TV and the unit and take it back to the warehouse install it and set up another delivery date. I am a consultant and bill out at $250.00 an hour my time is way to costly to sit around waiting for a delivery a second time. BTW the purchase was in excess of $8000.00.

NOW HERE COMES THE REAL ISSUE: The entertainment unit has a pull out shelf that hold some of the electronics, that evening after delivery I was prepping the unit to put the components in when I noticed that the shelf's face board is cracked on the top, both ends, 4-5 inches in length. I immediately called the store and ** the customer service manager, and informed her that the TV would be installed as planned, as I would not allow it to be installed in a damaged unit (she agreed of course). The next day (after I visited the store manager) ** informed me that she had ordered a new pull out shelf from the manufacturer and it would be on by the 18th or 19th.

True to her word a shelf was received and an install of the TV and shelf were scheduled for Thursday February 25th. My wife was home for the install, and she called me after the TV was installed to inform me that the wrong shelf was brought out. So now I have a TV installed in a damaged unit that I told the customer service manager that it was not to be done until the damage was corrected.

When I called ** the customer service manager the call went to voice mail, I called back and spoke to someone (never gave me a name) she told me ** was on the phone with another customer and she took a message. When I used the word DAMN in the conversation she immediately focused on the word and tried to give me a lecture on my language.

WRONG THING TO DO: I CONSULT TO LARGE FORTUNE 500 COMPANIES ON MANAGEMENT AND CUSTOMER SERVICE. I explained to this insipid creature that that the use of the word damn in conversation is acceptable and amounts to an expression of frustration but if she wishes for me to get to a level of moronic understanding I am more than capable to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed opponent. Needless to say she was lost, said she would deliver the message and have ** call me back.

Well guess what? I called the store manager in Torrance to let him know about the situation also and to offer a chance at redemption by Linder's. The store manager ** called ** and found out she was in corporate meetings all day and was not on the phone, nor taking calls from customers. Hmmm, methinks there is a pattern of untruths surfacing...

Now, according to **, ** will be re-ordering the shelf, so let's see what transpires now. Of course, I am now at home with a TV installed in a damaged unit that should not be installed until the unit is acceptable and now I don't see any sense in installing the electronic components since they will have to be disconnected and removed in order to allow the shelf to be replaced.

OK, so now here I am a week after delivery of a television that should have been installed in a damage free unit with the TV in the damaged unit. I cannot install the electronics that will provide the experience of superb plasma HD TV thus I cannot utilize the system.

You know, customer service issues are interesting when you can separate yourself from the emotion of it all. My wife, bless her, decided to step in before I allowed my blood pressure to escalate and really get pissed off. She went to the store where we purchased all the items and spoke with ** the manager. She got a delivery date in writing from him on the errant loveseat and a firm commitment on the pullout shelf. Well, I just got off the phone with **, Linder's customer service manager [she called me]. This is where these issues are interesting, which is with the human factor.

** has gone from being nice, friendly and helpful to cold, calculating in her speech and very curt. I think this is because of two things, one she knows she made a mistake with the shelf and her lack of attention to detail has shown through [if I were consulting with this company my recommendation would be to replace their entire customer service staff by outsourcing] and typically when you are caught in lies, deceit and out right incompetence it is human nature to protect yourself by withdrawing. This is really a bad tactic since the world sees it as being more incompetent than you really are and a bad attitude and a defensive posture pisses people off more.

2/29/2008: All is well; the love seat was delivered along with the shelf. No issues with either, they were accepted by my wife. Interestingly though, the person delivering to items was quite competent in removing the shelf, but either he had no common sense about installing it or was just plain lazy. He claimed to my wife that he had no idea how the shelf was to go in and just left it on the floor and too the damaged one. Being the handyman that I am it took me all of about 10 seconds to align the shelf on the tracks and slide it into place.

Needless to say, I didn't waste my valuable time calling and informing them of the issue with the shelf, but also needless to say word of mouth advertising is much more valuable than any paid advertising. So, here it is, a positive endorsement would mean that I would inform 5-10 people with positive comments about my experiences with the company whereas, with negative endorsements typically 10 times that are communicated to as to the poor service/quality of product etc. Thus, 50 -100 negative endorsements. Which do you think will affect the business more?

So, the burning question: what will he do? Well, I have a professional online network of 1.8 million contacts worldwide and I have posted my comments to my profile with an invitation to each of them to review them. Even if only 10% of them read the comments which would be about 180K and then 2% of that number actually don't purchase from the company that adds up the 360 potential customers lost because of one bad experience. Now, figure that out of that 360 customers they were to spend an average of 3k each, that would be $1,080000.00 [1 million 80 thousand dollars] in lost revenue.

Ouch. I think that might just hurt the bottom line of a $23M company. What do you think? Is it worth establishing an effective customer service program and not base it upon a series of lies and deceit? It really is sad when a customer [former] has to waste time documenting these types of issues, but in the end one can hope that the company in question picks sense out of nonsense and makes needed adjustments to their shortcomings.

Company Response 01/04/2011:

I am sorry that you had such an experience, We would like to discuss it and resolve any issue left open or make up for how we didn't handle the situation properly. Please feel free to contact me at phone or email below.

Eric Foucrier
President

12821 Knott Avenue
Garden Grove, Ca 92841
714 622-7925 PH
714 698-2704 FAX
Email
EricFoucrier@lindersfurniture.com
Websites
www.lindersfurniture.com
www.legacy-homefurnishings.com

Replies
Make Sure You Read This Before Doing Business With Them
By -

MISSION VIEJO, CALIFORNIA -- I'VE HAD MY WORST EXPERIENCE WITH LINDER'S. PLEASE READ THE WHOLE THING. Their customer service is no help. They play games with you, lie to you and SOOOO RUDE. I've purchased a desk for my 7 year old from Linder's on September. They've delivered it on Sept. 18th. It was the wrong one (the one I got was marked $599 and the one delivered was $645) although it was more I did not like it. I called the salesperson ** (he is the only nice person I've dealt with so far) right away before the delivery guys left. He apologized and said it was his mistake and told me to keep it until they deliver the right furniture and he will call me right back. He never did.

I went to the store on Eltoro and spoke to **. She said she can not do anything about it until ** comes back and he is not coming for another 4 days!!! I asked for a manager. She said manager is not going to be in until Friday (NO MANAGER FOR 3 days). I called customer service and spoke to ** (she is the rudest person ever). She said since I did not refuse other furniture she cannot do anything. I told her ** told me to keep it she said there is no such a thing and refused to call **. I called back again spoke to someone we were on the phone back and fort for hours. Finally ** called back and asked me to call ** at the store and said he'll help me.

I went to the store saw ** and he said "Everything is OK," they'll deliver the correct one. He will call me back. HE NEVER DID. I called him at 6pm he said he just hang up with **, don't worry everything is fine. I called ** she had no clue. On Thursday finally ** called me said they will deliver it on next Thursday and we set up the time and everything. On Friday we were going to go to Vegas and they knew 1 hour before we hit the road ** called again and said the one I want is $715. I said it was $599 by the time I purchased it. She said she called the store and spoke to REGIONAL MANAGER and that furniture has never been that price!!!

When I asked for her to call ** she kept saying no they cannot. I asked for **'s (the owner) phone number. NO ONE WOULD GIVE ME HIS CONTACT NUMBERS. I was so mad I told her that I would drop their furniture in front of the store and go to small claims court. She said GO RIGHT AHEAD... I got my 7 year old and drove to the store on Eltoro. The salesperson told me there is no manager. He is the only one there. WHAT A LIE!!! He paged ** after I told him that customer service just called here and spoke to the manager 5 minutes ago. He never came front. The salesperson said he stepped out.

I went back and saw ** and ** eating . He said he is at lunch and he did his part. He does not deal with the rest!!!!! I asked for **, same answer. No one knows his contact numbers. Called the customer service again. Someone else picked up the phone. Said they'll call me. ** called an hour later and said manager will honor the price. HONOR??? Honor the price that was marked??? We were late and hit the horrible traffic to Vegas. 4 days later Saturday ** left a message saying ** is back. He admitted it is his fault, sorry???

We scheduled the delivery for today Friday October 5th between 9am to 1pm. I cancelled my appointment. They called yesterday to confirm it for 1pm to 5pm. When I said it was 9am to 1pm I've been told it has never been scheduled for that time frame. It is now almost 7pm on Friday. I still don't have my furniture. We've called at least 10 times and they told us that we were scheduled for 3pm to 7pm?????? I finally spoke to ** manager.

She told me we've never scheduled between 1 and 5. I had her listen to my voicemail that was left by Linder's Furniture about delivering between 1 and 5. She said she will call me right back. It has been 2 hours neither she called nor my furniture is here. I called the customer service THEY ARE CLOSED...

I have a horrible migraines now. I will also forward this to every single one I know and Better Business Bureau. I have been stuck at home all day long. I will seriously go to small claims court if I have to. I am 35 years old and I have never written any complaints or experience such a thing before in my whole life. If you love your family and want a peace of mind NEVER PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM LINDER'S EVEN IF IT IS FREE!!!!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Linder's Furniture Rating:
29 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Linder's Furniture
20130 Hamilton Ave
Torrance, CA 90502
310-324-6600 (ph)
Compare Furniture Stores