Linens n Things

3 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Missing $100 rebate
Posted by on
Mr. DiNicola and company,

I am writing to demand the rebate that your company owes me since my large window treatment purchase in April and to express outrage at the lack of service or even interest from your company in rectifying this situation.

Per the details below, I purchased more than $200 worth of window treatments (including seven cordless blinds and two curtain rods) in April because of the promise of a $100 gift card rebate from Linens n Things. This was the main reason I chose to purchase items at your store instead of at your competitors' stores. I sent the rebate in May (postmarked by the June 1) date, and waited patiently. By the terms on your rebate form (6-8 weeks processing time), I was to receive my gift card by the end of July.

Since August, I have been regularly contacting your company and the rebate center by phone, email and online form, each time receiving inaccurate, incomplete and/or conflicting information and empty promises. As of today, Oct. 19, I still am without a rebate. What's more, I still have not heard from anyone at your company since I sent the email below on Oct. 1 (I did receive one very short form letter response from vicepresident@lnt.com that promised a full response "soon." I still have not received that full response.). Obviously, I am not pleased and feel quite betrayed as a consumer.

Here is what I would like from you, Mr. DiNicola:

1) Read the series of events below.
2) Read the Oct. 1 email below. (not included on My3Cents.com)
3) Personally email a proper response to me, detailing:
why this situation is happening
why your customers have not received information about a delay in receiving their rebates
why customer service has not been able to help me
why the rebate center has not been able to help me
why you have not responded to my emails thus far
what you will personally do to ensure your customers do not have to go through this ever again
why you are sorry this happened
4) Personally send me the $100 gift card rebate within 10 days.
5) Demand that your rebate center immediately process all gift card rebates from this spring's window treatment promotion

Mr. DiNicola, this truly has been a disgraceful situation. From the little I can gather from the rebate center, Linens n Things switched rebate centers this summer, which may have accounted for the delay. If this is the case, I do not understand why your customers were not alerted that their rebates would take additional months to arrive. Thousands of customers paid you a courtesy by shopping for big-ticket items at your stores in response to this rebate offer; you should pay them the same courtesy by fulfilling a rebate within the time promised on your own rebate form.

As you'll notice above, I have copied the Better Business Bureau, the FTC, Consumerist.com and investigative reporters for my area news outlets. I also am looking to update the reports I have already filed with the FTC and BBB.

In addition, I am sending this letter to many friends and family members to encourage them to shop for home decor and organizational items elsewhere at least until after this rebate debacle is resolved. There is a very strong chance that they -- and I -- will not return as customers at all, but there still is hope. As president, you can make this right. You can treat your customers with the respect and appreciation they deserve for the hard-earned money they have spent in your stores. I will not go away until this is resolved to my satisfaction.

I look forward to your response -- and my gift card -- within 10 days.

Sincerely,

Allison Babka

Series of Events:

April 28 - purchased $228.48 worth of window treatments from Brentwood, Mo., location
May 30 - mailed rebate form, UPCs, order confirmation and receipt to rebate center in Douglas, AZ, listed on rebate form
June 1 - rebate postmark deadline
July 31 - rebate should have arrived by this point
Aug. 1 - called rebate center. Was told that the system was down and to wait 10-15 more days
Aug. 1 - checked status on rebate center site linked from lnt.com. Said rebate was under review.
Aug. 9 - emailed LnT customer service for assistance
Aug. 10 - response from Lnt customer service said Lnt does not have access to rebate information and cannot help. Suggested contacting rebate center.
Aug. 11 - called rebate center. Was told email confirmations of rebate form receipt (as listed on form) aren't always sent. Rebate center in "transition" and can't provide information.
Aug. 11 - completed online form on rebate center site requesting help and information.
Aug. 11 - emailed LnT customer service explaining that the rebate center was useless and unresponsive. Requested contact from LnT customer service supervisor.
Aug. 12 - LnT emailed, said customer service representative/supervisor would personally contact me soon
Aug. 13 - completed online form on rebate center site again requesting assistance
Aug. 13 - Jessica T. of LnT customer service emailed with direct fax number and name of "Jena" at rebate center. Suggests waiting to see if latest rebate center contact attempts work and if not, fax all info to Jena
Sept. 26 - Faxed copies of rebate form, UPCs, order confirmation and receipt and two-page letter to "Jena" at rebate center. Requested confirmation of fax receipt.
Oct. 1 - Did not receive confirmation or contact, so called rebate center. "Cassandra" said "error" was on rebate claim and rebate center had requested that I fax all materials to them (Note: rebate center did NOT request the fax). Cassandra said my rebate was now being processed by her center in White Bear Lake, MN, after the previous center in Arizona (the one on the original rebate form) went defunct. Her center was just getting around to processing the rebates. She said they "just don't do that" when asked why a notice about the switch or delay wasn't sent to customers). I asked to be transferred to a supervisor; she said none were available. I asked for a supervisor's direct number; she wouldn't provide it.
Oct. 1 - sent the email below to LnT executives, customer support, Consumerist.com, attorneys general of Missouri and New Jersey and Federal Trade Commission
Oct. 1 - received from letter from vicepresident@lnt.com promising to do "everything in our power to meet your expectations" and to "respond by telephone or email" and "resolve any and all issues quickly."
Oct. 5 - called rebate center. "Michelle" said that the previous rebate center rep "Cassandra" was mistaken, as she saw no error on my rebate claim. She said my claim looked fine and was "processing." She said all rebates would be sent "soon," but she did not know when.
Oct. 5-present - filed official complaints with FTC, BBB and attorneys general of Missouri and New Jersey. Posted the situation to many websites, including PlanetFeedback.com, RebateRipOff.com and RebateReportCard.com, among others.
Oct. 19 - Have not received any response from the Linens n Things camp. Have not received my $100 rebate gift card. Have not received any notifications or explanations from rebate center.

     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2007-10-19:
Wow.
I believe that rebates are a scam. If you finally get one, it would be a miracle.
Good luck.
<;O)
Principissa on 2007-10-19:
Too Good, I feel the same way. I never purchase anything because of a rebate offer. I always expect to pay full price. I think most of the time they offer rebates to suck you into buying the items. I really do hope you eventually get your rebate.
Ponie on 2007-10-19:
I think it's a case of the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing at the rebate center. I question your initial purchase/mailing. Why did you wait a month before you sent in for the rebate (not that this would have helped much, probably)? You sent it on 5/30 to have a postmark by 6/1. Do you really think they kept the envelope to see that the postmark was previous to 6/1? Your paperwork was probably discarded long ago and they don't know how to handle it now.

I *never* make a purchase based on the promise of a rebate. If one is included, all good and well. But if I can't pay full price for something, I certainly won't buy it because I'm 'promised' a rebate.
u2acro on 2007-10-20:
Hi, all. Original poster here.

We waited awhile because life intervenes, as it sometimes does. There also was a potential situation with Linens n Things with one of the blinds not working, but it was resolved.

We absolutely did send everything by the postmark deadline. The proper paperwork, etc. was included, and I made copies of it all. This was the same info I later faxed to the rebate center. And everything was accepted apparently -- Michelle, one of the rebate center reps toward the end of the "series of events" said that it was processing and there were no errors nor were there ever errors.

As for not doing rebates, I don't typically. Forget about the $10 things, though I've done them successfully in the past. But if you were looking to make a semi-large purchase from a previously trusted company and you could save $100 (in cash or gift card), why wouldn't you try to? That's a lot of money/value, at least to me, and worth shooting for. Why shouldn't customers ask the company to keep its word?

Thanks for the feedback. I still have not heard anything from LnT, though local media have indicated interest.
jktshff1 on 2007-10-20:
thanks for coming back with the update and response.
Keep us posted
Anonymous on 2007-10-20:
Let us know if you do ever get the rebate. It shouldn't matter how long you waited as long as it was sent in within the allotted time frame. Personally, I've never been impressed with Linen 'n Things, they are just a higher priced Bed, Bath and Beyond.
Ponie on 2007-10-20:
I don't know how rebate centers/companies work but they may operate similar to a place where I had a part-time job while going to college. If so, it may be a while before they get around to sending it out. The company got a contract from a cereal manufacturer whereby if a consumer sent in X amount of boxtops, plus a minimal amount of $, they received four (useless) plastic trivets packed in a small box. The orders piled until we had at least 16 pounds in order to get the bulk rate from USPS. Toward the end of the offer, the requests dribbled in so slowly, we didn't meet the 16 lb. minimum and just returned the requests to the cereal company. Never did find out if those people ever got their trivets.

Thanks for the update and I hope the same thing doesn't happen to you.
u2acro on 2007-10-24:
I've emailed a few times with a LnT customer service manager named
Paul. He was nice, but was of very few words. He finally pushed my
emails to the LnT assistant to the chairman, Toni Vardiman. She
offered the following explanation, followed by my response. For me,
it's settled well enough, though I still don't feel like the situation
was handled very well. Anyone out there who has an outstanding rebate
may want to take your case higher up the chain after exhausting the
regular channels (phone and online customer service, email blasts to
VPs listed at Google Finance, etc.).

(No Subject)‏
From: Vardiman, Toni (TVardiman@lnt.com)
Sent:Tue 10/23/07 3:31 PM
To: ****
Dear Ms. ****:

I am in receipt of the email exchange between yourself and Paul
Cesano
in our Guest Services Department. I would like to take this
opportunity
to briefly update you on the rebate process or lack thereof at Linens
'n
Things for the past several months. I am terribly sorry that the
processing of your window rebate has taken so long. As of Monday this
week, all rebates have been processed and have been mailed.

What went wrong....We ran our window promotion in April and May.
Postmark deadline for the event was June 1st. Typically the
processing
of rebate submissions takes 6 - 8 weeks and the gift cards are mailed
out to our customers. However, your rebate did not get mailed out on
July 28th as planned and as contracted between Linens 'n Things and
our
rebate company, Rebate Express. Rather, on July 26th they called us
in
the late afternoon and informed us that they were closing their doors
as
of the end of the day on Friday, July 27th and that they were 'going
out
of business.'

Needless to say we were shocked. There was absolutely no indication
they were in trouble. They were sitting on over 100,000 submissions
from our customers. Even worse, we had no exposure into the customer
data. They promised that they would send us any mail that was
received
and we literally waited weeks for this information to be gathered and
mailed to us. In the interim we had to source a new company for
processing and track down all the information that Rebate Express was
sitting on. To make matters worse there was nobody left at the
company
to take our calls or give us information.

I am sorry that you fell a victim under these circumstances, Ms.
****.
Needless to say, it has taken us some time to gain power of attorney
for
the PO Boxes owned by them, qualify the submissions because they sat
on
them without processing them and worked as diligently as we could in
sourcing a company, entering in the data, and sending our the
rebates.
We would have gladly called all the customers, but we didn't have the
information.

Our new rebate company, Extra Measures has done an outstanding job in
working as quickly as they could to accommodate the guests that were
inconvenienced. All rebates have been mailed and I am SO sorry that
you
were one of the people that were affected by this situation.

I would like to mail you a gift certificate to help offset the
troubles
you encountered. May I do so? Thanks very much for taking the time to
read this VERY lengthy email and I look forward to your response.

Toni Vardiman
Assistant to the Chairman



Linens n Things rebate resolution‏
From: Allison **** (****@hotmail.com)
Sent:Wed 10/24/07 6:56 PM
To: Vardiman, Toni (tvardiman@lnt.com)
Cc: (many others)

Ms. Vardiman,

Thank you very, very much for your response. I truly appreciate your
honesty about the rebate situation and your willingness to offer an
explanation for the extreme tardiness. I'm sure you'll agree that
waiting an extra three months for $100 is quite different from waiting
the promised 6-8 weeks. I'm also pleased that you indicated that all
of the $100 rebates now have been mailed and that other patient
customers will be receiving them soon.

It does sound like Rebate Express, the first rebate center that you
contracted for the window treatment rebate, is to blame for the bulk
of the problems. I can understand how frustrated Linens n Things must
have been to find out that the rebate center was going out of business
in the middle of a rebate reimbursement.

However, even though Linens n Things apparently did not obtain
customers' rebate information and other data until many weeks after
Rebate Express closed its doors, I believe that your company still
could have posted an alert on Lnt.com, either at the bottom of the
homepage (which I think would have been best) or on the customer
service page. I know that I went to the Linens n Things site many
times after my rebate receiving date had come and gone, and I saw
nothing about the situation and was frustrated that I could not find
anyone to help me. Even the rebate center reps I managed to talk to or
the Lnt.com customer service reps did not mention the rebate backup,
even though I emailed or called many times to try to get any crumb of
information about why my $100 rebate was so late. I'm sure many rebate
customers shared the same experience. A special alert on either page
would have served your customers well. Through that, you could have
asked your customers to re-mail or fax the information they had sent
to Rebate Express or, at the very least, provide their contact
information to you. I do feel that Linens n Things should have posted
something when the situation became obvious and provided the
information to all customer service reps, and I feel that your company
failed on those accounts.

I appreciate your offer of a Linens n Things gift certificate, and
mailing it is something for you to decide. It is unnecessary, but I
appreciate the gesture of goodwill. I'm pleased that someone finally
took the time to explain to a perplexed customer what was going on. I
hope that you will extend the courtesy to the other customers who have
been waiting for their $100 rebates for so long.

I will update the BBB, FTC, attorneys general, local media, consumer
websites and friends and family with this new information. Thanks
again for providing it, and I do hope that Linens n Things and the
companies with which it affiliates itself will provide better rebate
service in the future.

Allison ****
Close commentsAdd reply
Classic "Bait and Switch" Routine
Posted by on
VENTURA, CALIFORNIA -- Continued.. This is an ongoing complaint with the Linens and Things store in Ventura, CA. Here is the letter I e-mailed to the customer service dept. I think it pretty much covers any visit to this particular LNT store.
Ongoing complaint- Every visit:
Hi, I have a complaint about the retail store located in Ventura, California. The store has a very large, very disorganized, clearance section. The prices marked on the items in the clearance section are always different at the register. I have spoken with several different store managers and they have no resolution, only that either I can pay the price that the item rings up, or not. So, considering that I have spent countless hours, yes hours, of my time shopping in this store, not just the clearance section, I would think that not honoring the marked price on clearance merchandise, repeatedly, and on several occasions, would violate my consumer rights by advertising and attracting my attention to the clearance section, only to find that the items that I selected from that section had the incorrect price stickers. I believe in certain terms that would be considered "bait and switch". The last incident at this store and the ignorant, uncaring attitude I encountered when I spoke with the store manager has turned me away from shopping in any Linen's N Things store again until something is done about this problem. Specifically, after spending an hour and a half in your store, I went to the register to pay for my items, one of which was a iJoy ottoman that was marked by a yellow sticker on the plastic over the logo and said "As Is" , "Display Model", and the price of "$12.99". The matching iJoy Chair "Display Model" was also marked as clearance with a yellow sticker on the wired control that also said "As Is", "Store Display Model", and the price of "$29.99. Now, because I had encountered problems in the past, I only took the ottoman to the register to purchase, along with my other regular items, and planned to ask the cashier about having the chair brought up as well, after the prices had been checked and approved as I'm sure they would be questioned, considering the original prices for the two items in original retail condition. As I had suspected, after some time waiting for the store manager, who said they had to consult the infamous price inventory "computer" before selling the items at the marked price, I was informed that the chair and ottoman had the incorrect clearance price stickers, and that the correct prices were $249.99 for the ottoman and $599.99 for the chair, regardless of their used condition and absence of retail packaging and materials. The only explanation I was given was "Some kid must have switched the stickers." The store manager nor any of the employees volunteered an apology, much less concern for my time and business shopping at their store. On the previous occasions when this problem arose, I was given the same treatment and ignorant attitude, regardless of the incorrectness of marked prices of items, or fault of the store in any manner. So, I feel that either I am being discriminated against by this store for shopping in the clearance section, or, that the clearance section is only a "ploy" to draw customers into the store. Also, I may add, that there are tables throughout the store in the main isles which are promoted with "Clearance" items related to the specific type of items location in the store. For example, on the main isle passing the draperies, there are several "clearance" tables with items that would normally be located in that area, but have been clearance priced due to seasonal or discontinued status. To the advantage of the store, and dismay of the observant consumer, the item is not any lower than the original shelf price when scanned at the register. Unfortunately, for the not so observant consumer, the mistake goes unnoticed, and the trusting customer pays for the items, happy to have gotten such a bargain! By the time the customer realizes the error, if they do at all, it is too much of a hassle to return the item or make a complaint. We all have busy lives, families, and events. What's a few dollars wasted for a store error every once in a while?? Personally, after a few shopping visits at this Linens N Things store, I feel like a fool, not a valued customer. I urge you to investigate this issue in depth with regard to all your customers, as I am sure that I am not alone in my opinions. As for my own loyalty, I'll be taking my business elsewhere, where the prices marked are not "Too good to be true", they're just true, and I am treated with the respect and dignity I deserve as a consumer at any retail establishment.
Sincerely Disappointed,
Also, I would like to explain that usually the clearance items are not big items, but little misc. leftovers. Still, 2 out of 3 times, the price that rings up at the register is higher than marked, if not regular price. I have also purchased items only to get home and find a lesser price regularly marked than the sale price. I inquired into this a time or two and, you guessed it,...."Someone stuck the wrong sticker on it","Clearance items are sold "as is" and are non-returnable." I can't say I was surprised!
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2007-05-11:
Through your own experience you already knew that the clearance prices would not ring up correctly and that the management is of little help, so why do you to continue selecting clearance merchandise? Obviously they have a problem and couldn't care less. As a customer your email to them is great but you might want to spend your money elsewhere instead of having a confrontation all the time.
Anonymous on 2007-05-11:
Sounds like you just like to argue. You can't possibly think you can get furniture for 12 bucks?
spiderman2 on 2007-05-11:
Why do you keep going there? The L&T near me has the most confusing pricing system ever on their clearance stuff. Things never ring up at the shelf price and if you question it you are told it was in the wrong place. Yeah, like 30 things are in the wrong place! I quit going there after the 2nd time. Try Bed, Bath & Beyond, it is basically the same store but I haven't had pricing problems there.
beyondelana on 2007-05-11:
Well, PassingBy is right, if I don't like the way I'm treated, I should shop somewhere else. The reason I continue to walk through the doors, however, is that I have gotten furniture for twelve bucks, and many other items at very cheap prices. So, I guess the only point I was trying to make was that if they need to get rid of it to make space or clear out for the new season, what does it matter to them to honor the stickered price? What's the point of saying something is clearanced if the price was over the top to begin with. They can't just raise the price in order to turn around and drop it, saying that it's clearanced or discounted so that you will think you're getting a great deal but really you are only paying what you would in the first place. Why waste all the energy to just land in the same spot??
Ponie on 2007-05-12:
Bait and switch? No way. Did they attempt to sell you something at a higher price after reeling you in advertising a lower price?

I agree, furniture can be bought for twelve bucks--at a Thrift Store, and I've shopped them many times. But you say that's why you keep going back to this particular LNT. Just what kind/piece of furniture did you buy at LNT for $12?
beyondelana on 2007-05-13:
Ponie: yes they did try to sell me something at a higher price after advertising it at a lower one. The advertising is the bright yellow price stickers on the items themselves that fill little islands all over the store under signs that read "Clearance,Price as marked". Then when you get up to the register the items ring up for a higher price, and you can either pay it or not, they won't honor the price marked. And for those of you who want to know what kind of furniture you can buy for 12 bucks...it was actually $12.99 plus Ca sales tax, so about 14 dollars...It was a calf and foot massager that had been used by at least 75% of the customers over a 6 month period, not to mention the employees you might have taken advantage off the record. Besides that, it barely even worked and the insides rattled around in the control box so bad I was surprised it worked at all! I imagine they were just putting it where it was until someone finally did break it so that they could send it back to the manufacturer as defective for credit back to LNH. By the way, I do not hesitate standing up for myself when I think my rights have been violated, if that's what you call arguing, then I guess I am arguementative, but no, I don't like being so. What am I supposed to do just accept that any time I leave my house some supposedly honest company is going to waste my time and try to swindle my money just to make a few more bucks themselves? Should I make all my purchases from my home computer and not have a life besides insulting people I don't even know on consumer opinion websites? Gee....Naaa....I don't think I will. Thanks though, to everyone else who sees my side of it and maybe leaves their house often enough to say so.
Anonymous on 2007-05-13:
I think that beyondelana is making a point on principle. She does realize that there will be a confrontation over the price as marked. Many years ago there was a discount chain called Zayers that would advertise some items at a deep discount. But when you got to store you would find that the original price stickers had been peeled off and new stickers with higher prices affixed. The sale price was actually the original selling price. The local consumer board hauled them to court and put a stop to the practice.

I suggest that a complaint to your local office of consumer affairs might be in order.
beyondelana on 2007-05-14:
Thank you, PassingBy, I really appreciate your help. I don't and didn't mean to be rude, I was just trying to make a point on principle like you said. Thank you for being open minded and not jumping to conclusions or making judgements. I think I'm going to take your advice, I just wanted to know if it was worth the trouble or if LNT was crossing the line on the issue. Thanks again, I'll be closing this one for now!
Close commentsAdd reply
"Forgive and Forget"....and then what??
Posted by on
VENTURA, CALIFORNIA -- I have several complaints regarding the Linens and Things located in Ventura, California. Because of the severity of the circumstances and different experiences with the same store, I am going to tell them one at a time...
First Bad Experience: I purchased a Dual Control Heating Mattress Pad from Linens and Things for $79.99. When I got home I opened the box to find the most disgusting piece of bedding I have ever seen or smelled! The obviously used mattress was saturated with the smell of cigarettes and urine and even had holes burned in it from what looked like cigarettes left burning. It was so terrible that once the smell reached my nostrils, I began to gag and had to have my husband put it back in the box! It was already too late that evening to return it to the store so the next evening I returned to the store with my receipt in hand and ready to lodge my complaint. Well, so I thought! I was not only refused a refund, but called a liar to my face! As I started to protest with frustration and my receipt as proof I argued my rights. The cashier told me that she could not help me because this, “the mattress pad”, was not what I had purchased the day before in the same exact store, the day prior. As I argued that the box was unopened and that most customers do not open the box of a brand new item in the store to make sure it is brand new, she called the manager. The Manager said that “this”, meaning the mattress pad, was not the one that I bought in the box and was not sold in his store. At that point I was furious! I tried to calmly explain again that the box was unopened when I bought it and that neither I, nor the cashier who sold it to me, had broken the taped seal before completing the purchase. I tried to explain that as a trusting consumer, as most are, I didn’t open the box and I most certainly DID purchase it in his store, as my receipt showed, the previous evening, and that I had a right to a refund. I was given the same response as before, and refused a refund. Then, to top it off, I was instructed to take the mattress pad back out of the store, with or without the box I purchased it in, or he would call the police! I took down the name of the cashier, the Store Manager, and a number to contact the corporate office all the while trying to understand why I was being treated this way. I felt after 45 minutes of argument and explanation that wasn’t getting me anywhere, that I had no choice but to do what the Store Manager said. With everyone in the store staring and tears welling in my eyes from humiliation, frustration, and extreme anger, I held my breath, picked up the box, and took it back to my car. I cried as I spoke to my husband on my cell phone, trying to make some sense of the situation. Then, my husband said, “Why don’t you just take it back to another store?” Although I had to drive 28 miles to the next nearest city with a Linen’s and Things store, it gave me time to call the store to let the manager know my situation, and ask if there was going to be any problem getting a refund. Amazingly, there was not and the whole thing took less than 10 minutes! I didn’t even have to mention the horrible treatment I had just received from the store I had purchased the mattress pad from! I just explained what happened like I had before and with respect, the Store Manager of this store not only refunded my money, but also apologized profusely for the extreme error and thanked me for my understanding and forgiveness. Now, that is what I thought customer service was supposed to be like! To be continued....
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Skye on 2007-05-11:
Well that was a pretty digusting package to open. You should send this exact letter off to the corporate office, and let them know how you were treated.
Totally uncalled for. Glad the other store helped you, instead of torturing you!!
Anonymous on 2007-05-11:
I'm with Skye.
heaven17 on 2007-05-11:
Sadly, this is a popular ruse devised by crooks and criminals. They buy something, repackage it with whatever they have on hand, and rewrap it.
Yes! They have their own shrinkwrap equipment!
And then after its returned and placed back on the sales floor, someone like the OP comes along and buys it.
The really bad part is trying to convince the store that YOU are not the scam artist.

I'm glad that you eventually were able to return it, but I can't blame the first store for its resistance. I've been faced with so many scams like this myself, I can't say that I would have acted any different.
beyondelana on 2007-05-11:
Heaven17, thank you for that info, I never really thought about it like that. I guess that faced with the same dillema I probably would be apprehensive. But, I have to say that if I was a scam artist I would not be so ignorant to repackage something that gross for some unsuspecting person to get blamed for. I look in every box, package, etc. now, before I buy it. The whole experience shed a whole new light on my shopping habits. Thanks
heaven17 on 2007-05-11:
It's really sad, but this is the world we live in. The scammers of the world know every little trick to rip off not only the stores, but unsuspecting customers like yourself.
They don't care about anything but what they can get.
imjustasteph on 2007-05-11:
I have personally actually heard a shoplifter brag about how she bought an item, took it home, called the store and claimed that when she got home there was a brick in the box instead of the item (suggesting that someone else had bought the item and returned the box with a brick in it, keeping the object). She said the store told her to bring the box back and they'd replace it. She then returned one of the items (with receipt) for $$ a few days later.

So yeah, you were MAJORLY mistreated....but it is very difficult....how do service personnel tell which person you are?
beyondelana on 2007-05-11:
I don't know, either way, somebody gets hurt. What happened to the good old days when a handshake was worth just as much as your credit card and your word was like your signature, heck, nowadays you don't even have to sign anything, it's all done with your fingerprint. I think for the most part this is good, I don't know of anyone that can alter their fingerprints... Thanks for the help everyone that commented!
groovytunesmusic on 2008-05-06:
It just goes to show that hiring the right staff can either make or break a company. I have always found that if I don't get a reasonable representative to assist me, I will find another and another. My efforts have always worked in my favor. In most cases, some of the customer representatives are just kids with no desire to work and give people like us a hard time.
babybear62005 on 2008-05-24:
Wow. I don't work at L&T, but I do work retail. I always check an item before deciding to put it back on the shelf or not. It's absurd that there are people out there that scam like that. I will honestly say though that I would be very apprehensive about doing a refund on an item that looked like that and was claimed to have been bought like that. Scammers suck big time.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >