Little Giant Ladder System

2 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not as user friendly as advertised.
Posted by on
While I was changing a bulb last night, I remembered a contractor's review on a related forum about this ladder as I was dragging out of the garage. He was not endorsing it and since its becoming popular and I hadn't written anything here in a while, I figured I'd lend my experience as well if anyone was thinking of purchasing one.
The ladder system is an adjustable A-frame, extension, and scaffold all in one. It's designed and promoted to be the only ladder needed. While advertisements show it adjusting easily to different sizes and configurations, in reality, it is a bulky unit one should realize before buying it.
Pros- Very sturdy, it feels solid and safe. It is an extension and A-frame all in one, so it can multi task. It also can be offset, making it great for application on stairs. Mine's a 26' fully extended yet can fit in the back of a pickup without even lowering the tailgate, so it's very easy to transport.
Cons- They claim it's light. For a Cadillac yes, for a ladder, no. It is bulky and heavy to move around. If you need a small ladder, you still are carrying the weight of a 26 footer. I rarely use it for inside jobs because it's just much easier to get my regular A-frame out. Extension ladders generally have a rope that pulls the extension upwards and locks on a rung where you want it. This has to be opened like a jack knife. This means you need to have a tremendous amount of space from the wall and have to grab an end, then walk it up to the side. This makes a difficult task if it's windy, a window is close to where it plans to touch the house, or just if you're not a big person.
For the average $450 it runs, you can buy the 3 ladders separately that it claims to replace and still have change. Even after buying it, I still use my other ladders most of the time. I would only recommend this if a its compact profile is a must for transporting. Otherwise, it's just too cumbersome.
     
Read 25 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2006-09-22:
Yeah, I was wondering about this product. Seems it's made more for the contractor type than the averge do-it-yourselfer. Ya got to figure that for 450.00, it better be used more than for just changing an occasional lightbulb. Slim, they have these "grabber things" on an extension pole for changing lightbulbs. I think they're about 15 bucks.
Slimjim on 2006-09-22:
I have one of those and use it constantly. This light had a cover on it, so the pole was worthless here.
Anonymous on 2006-09-22:
They've also come out with these new fluorescent bulbs that can last up to five years. I'd suggest using those, so you're not constantly dragging out a heavy ladder. They cost a bit more up front, but, they use a lot less energy and that'll free you up for more important stuff. (tr)
Slimjim on 2006-09-22:
Thanks but this is a designer incandescent application, part of the houses accent lighting so fluorescent would be unappealing. This bulb isn't really the point of the review though.
Anonymous on 2006-09-22:
Right, right, a too-heavy ladder that you paid too much for. I wish edison would have invented an incandescent that would last longer. That whole vaccuum tube thing is pretty amazing, even to this day.
Anonymous on 2006-09-22:
Nice informative, Slim. "This bulb isn't really the point of the review though". *tears*

Anonymous on 2006-09-22:
Z, slim did a nice job of stringing a few sentences together for this review. Why don't you have a go of it?
Anonymous on 2006-09-22:
Good review Slim.
DebtorBasher on 2006-09-22:
Good post Slim.
Anonymous on 2006-09-22:
*politely laughing out loud so not to disturb my co-workers* Pirate, you are such a kidder. I will do my best. That is all I can do. Please be patient with me.
Anonymous on 2006-09-22:
Yes, you say you travel by public transit, how about a review about your ride home.
Anonymous on 2006-09-22:
I commute to work on the bus to save money. A review like that wouldn't stand up to your review about a popcorn popper. I'll pass.
Anonymous on 2006-09-22:
Please don't belittle your contribution(s) here. We all help in our own ways, no matter how trivial.
phoneguy1055 on 2006-09-22:
Thank you!! I appreciate the post. I was looking into getting one of those.....until now
Anonymous on 2006-09-22:
If you enjoyed this review, you should read mine about the Whirley Pop Popcorn Popper.
DebtorBasher on 2006-09-22:
LOL!
Slimjim on 2006-09-23:
Gee, thanks gang for the positive feedback. *sniff*
Ponie on 2006-09-23:
So slim, are you saying I should hang on to my two-step Cosco? Seriously, my BIL is considering purchasing one of these ladders. I'll call his attention to your review. Thanks!
Anonymous on 2006-09-23:
I'd recommend against it. Just looking at the TV ad I could tell the thing would be cumbersome.
DebtorBasher on 2006-09-23:
I'll hold off on purchasing the ladder until I've conquered removing screws from a chair!
Anonymous on 2006-09-23:
Maybe you could put the ladder onto the chair, with the thing on wheels, it might not be so cumbersome.
DebtorBasher on 2006-09-24:
You're not being very helpful to me, as a consumer, Pirate! And you can't get stars if you're not helpful!
Anonymous on 2006-10-07:
Slim, most housewives can handle this ladder, why can't you?
Dr. Jeecheroo on 2006-12-29:
I think slim is too short.
Anonymous on 2007-03-08:
Good review Slim.
Close commentsAdd reply
Little Giant - Bravo! Good Product!
Posted by on
I had the opportunity to see the Little Giant in action over the weekend, and I was impressed! Like you, I've seen the infomercials, TV and print ads and I must say, I was skeptical. While on site at a big remodeling job, I got to see the product in action and actually give it a test.

I found the ladder to be easy to use and worked well in a variety of applications, from stairwells to awkward overhangs and even as a scaffold. Two of my men were able to stand on the thing at the same time and it didn't even budge. The cantalever folding mechanisms were easy to open and close and a neat design.

Making it even easier to move around, the unit now has wheels to attach (at an added expense). The building owner was so impressed, SHE even started using it to get at some high windows. She was able to fold it into several configurations and move it with ease - and she's not a big woman.

Sure at around 400.00, the thing isn't cheap, and not for everyone. If you just plan on changing lightbulbs with it, once a year, this isn't the product for you. But if you're looking for a good tool for man-sized applications, ya might want to give this thing a look.
     
Read 17 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Slimjim on 2006-10-03:
I wrote a review on this thing here and just how bulky it was. I guess you pretty much confirmed it by telling us they actually sell wheels to move it easier. Anyone out there want a ladder you need to buy wheels to move it around? When you "tested" it, did it let you go up and down as expected? Hope you remembered to take the wheels off.
Anonymous on 2006-10-03:
So does this ladder get a "Rave" or not, pirate?
Anonymous on 2006-10-03:
Sorry slim, didn't see your "review." Like I said, it's not meant for little jobs like replacing light bulbs.
Slimjim on 2006-10-03:
LOL, here pirate is the review since you didn't see it- even though you posted on it NINE TIMES. http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=15940
BTW, this ladder is targeted and advertised to homeowners, as well as, if not more so than to contractors.
Anonymous on 2006-10-03:
I tried one of these ladders one time on a painting job it was useless on the outside and when I took it in-side the first thing that happened it clasped. Bad thing. Peace of garbage I would not recommend it to anyone.
puggo63 on 2006-10-03:
Just an FYI, Consumers Reports tested this ladder and it was rated poor - due to possibility of catching fingers on the section locks of the ladder and possibility the the locks failing under weight
Anonymous on 2006-10-04:
I'm only giving my opinion here. I don't claim to be a qualified "ladder expert." I can say, that at 400 bucks, I wouldn't buy one, merely to change lightbulbs.
Slimjim on 2006-10-04:
Based on everyone's response on both this and my review, and including Consumer Reports' rating, it appears you're the only one pirate that would buy one for any reason.
Anonymous on 2006-10-04:
And yet, ironically, I haven't bought one, but YOU have. Who's the one out 400 bucks for a lightbulb changer?
Slimjim on 2006-10-04:
It's quite a versatile ladder. Why do you keep calling it a light bulb changer? I gave my pros and cons from experience to HELP people here who may be looking at one. So since YOU never owned one, and are no "ladder expert", maybe you should stop arguing with everyone about it and go back to reviewing popcorn makers, OK Orville?
Anonymous on 2006-10-04:
"Why do you keep calling it a light bulb changer?" because YOU are the one whining that you emptied your pocketbook to buy the thing, then couldn't use it to change a lightbulb in your hovel because it was "too heavy." Why don't you help people around here by conjuring up your disappearing act? Okay Ethel?
Slimjim on 2006-10-04:
Where did I say I couldn't use it to change a lighbulb? Please show us.
Anonymous on 2006-10-04:
too bulky and cumbersome ring a bell for you?
Slimjim on 2006-10-05:
Nope. Again back up your smack and show the link where I said I couldn't use it to change a light bulb.
Anonymous on 2006-10-05:
Q: How many slimjims does it take to change a lightbulb?

A: Two or three to carry the ladder, one to read the directions, and one to bum money for the bulb.
Anonymous on 2006-10-07:
Addendum: The Little Giant now features a full 60-day no-questions ask return policy.
Anonymous on 2007-02-01:
My friend sells these ladders.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >