Lumber Liquidators Laminate Flooring

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
13 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Impossible to Keep Clean Unless You Don't Walk on It
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MUKILTEO, WASHINGTON -- Once the first floor was about 2/3 done, I was anxious to get it clean and on with life, so I damp mopped the finger print/smudges off; just plain water on a clean cloth. It dried and most of it was still there. Did it again and really had to rub to get the smudges off. (5 Other rooms and stairs to go). If you look at the floor with no light on it, it looks great; we love the coloring (that is what ultimately made our choice, plus the 30 year warranty). Can you say squat? That's what Lumber Liquidators warranty is worth--diddly squat! Next day, I damp mopped the entire floor.... 3-4 Hours later, you would think it hadn't been cleaned in a week! If you look towards the sliding glass door light, it looks horrible! (Capital letters). I called the store...."If there is more than 20% install, we don't do anything with it, it goes to headquarters" so, I call headquarters. I have to fill out a "general disclosure form". They send out an "independent inspector"; he asked some questions and did some looking around. I asked him if he would like a rag to wipe the floor so he could experience for himself what my issue is; said "no, that's not necessary".

So a week later I get a packet from headquarters. 'The floor has been found to not be defective'....Really? Isn't that a surprise! So, at the end of the packet of papers there was a form for me to sign. If I signed and returned it, LL would send me a check for $250.00. That check comes with the stipulation that I never speak or write anything bad about LL in any way. Does that sound like a bribe to anyone besides me? I cooled off for a few days and tried to call the representative I was assigned. Called 5-6 times the first day, and no answer. Next day I tried again and after the 4th time, still no answer. I got my sons phone, called and low and behold, she answered!! Anyone heard of caller id? Basically I told her she can keep her $250.00 Because after spending over $6000.00 To get new flooring, it will be impossible to keep clean, even with minimal use; they can take that check and put it where the sun doesn't shine. I will make sure to tell anyone who will listen to me to never use LL. They have my money and couldn't care less about warranties, defective issues, customer service, etc., But I will do everything in my power so no one else gets shafted like we did. I am so angry and depressed over this entire experience, I could just cry. I was raped from my money; it took a long time to make that money to just throw it away on crap. One of the main reasons we put in this floor was to cut down on cleaning for me since I have a lot of back issues. This floor has compounded my work by 10 times over the old flooring.

I am considering organizing a class action suit with LL. The only way to stop this raping of the consumer is to ban together.
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Tezrien on 2013-07-12:
So you didn't research the type of wood used in the floor and based your decision purely on color? That was a mistake on your part. Also have you considered that it may have to be waxed and polished after installation is complete? A lot of wood flooring needs that to seal it and make it easier to keep clean.
Jason on 2013-07-16:
How are you cleaning it, exactly? I've installed 20-25 different LL laminate floors and never once have heard of this issue. Either use the cleaner that LL sells or go buy Bona from Home Depot, both work very well. Make sure you use a terry cloth mop pad, or something similar to that...should solve the problem.
LL Response on 2013-07-16:
As unfortunate as this story is, care instructions are clear as to what is considered proper floor care and the several mentions of damp mopping suggests these critical documents were ignored, or they chose some experimental method we would never suggest. Wood and water does not mix and this rings true for almost anything type of flooring product where consumers are warned against the use of water. If there was something introduced that would leave smudges, our cleaners are formulated to clean the floor where damp mopping is only going to add to the problem. The courtesy offer was goodwill and the document referenced is standard when offering a payment for goodwill. As others have posted replying to this situation, it only highlights the need to follow the care instrucitons to protect yoru investment. Sorry to hear this happened, but it's in our interest for all buyers to have a great experience, btu for issues outside our control we can only suggest you follow the clear instructions offered to bring about your satisfaction.
John on 2013-07-23:
I am in the middle of trying to get warranty service and I am going through what you are went through......awful service......no one get backs to you....the floor quality is crap....4000.00 down the drain....the 50 yr old floors I ripped out were 10times stronger and better....the quality is crap and ow I am waiting for warranty
Diane Biondi on 2014-04-11:
The laminate floor is impossible to keep clean. It is also an inferior product and I was lied to by the salesman who handed me a piece of the laminate with a nail to prove to me that I couldn't scratch it. Obviously not the laminate he recommended I purchase! He said I would never have to refinish it - it would hold up through the years much better than solid wood!! Unprofessional - outright lies! The floor is a nightmare - does not clean properly - scratches everywhere! Class action lawsuit anyone? Lumber Liquidators is not trustworthy at all!
Robert on 2014-05-16:
Thanks to everyone for the warning. I successfully returned $1500 worth of worthless flooring without paying the 20% restocking fee. About 1/2 went to porcelain tile which the invoice price was more than the posted price there was also another item that he over charged me for. Plus the tile cutter he tried to sell me that was not capable of cutting the tole I bought. After 2 hours I left with on restock fee.
Thanks All
Close commentsAdd reply
BUYER BEWARE - LUMBER LIQUIDATORS
Posted by on
PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- Purchased Nirvana Laminate flooring from Lumber Liquidators in Pittsburgh PA. Once purchased was told all sales were final - no returns. Prior to instaLlation my contractor and myself realized just how inferior this product was. The floor crumbled in my hands with little pressure- but I was stuck - I couldn't return the product! What to do? So I installed it. My daughter dropped a plastic hairbrush and the floor dented and the wood grain covering peeled off. This floor is simply pitiful. I did the right thing and contacted the Customer service office. I then sent a letter with 3 pieces of sample board for their quality team to examine. And then emailed the corporate office to assist in resolving this issue and THEY RESPONDED WITH THE FOLLOWING RESPONSE" I personally examined the samples provided and noted several impact damage marks on the sides of the boards and the samples support the original findings shared with you that the product was not in fact defective, but the care being used to install the product was in question. I see no evidence of manufacturing defects from what we see and the claim the product is defective is unsubstantiated.

Brian Pullin x7521

Office of Tom Sullivan, Chairman

Lumber Liquidators, Inc

3000 John Deere Road

Toano, VA 23168

What an easy way out! At least 2 of every 8 boards per box were damaged upon inspection And the locking tracks were so fragile they cracked and snap off in my hands. I actually resulted to taking each board out with gloves and had them wrapped in a towel - can you believe that! And this is supposed to have a 25 year warranty! I was told the warranty is only for manufacturers defects. What a joke. I have been offered a 3rd party hired by Lumber Liquidators to inspect the floor. Wow how biased would that be? Hmm let me think VERY biased! I showed my contractor the email and he flipped his lid and will be letting everyone in the area to NOT USE LUMBER LIQUIDATORS for anything. He knows how careful and precise he was in getting this floor installed. Lumber liquidators has an A+ rating on the BBB site but actually there are over 40 cases in which the customers issue was not resolved to their satisfaction. They should be rated an F in my book- I have asked in all correspondence with them to call me and they decide to email and hide behind their PCs. MY suggestion go buy the cheapest flooring at Home Depot and it is twice as durable and a quality product. DO NOT GET Taken by Lumber Liquidators. They do not stand behind their product or know how to handle customer inquiries. All in all RUN don't walk AWAY from using them.
L L had what they called an Independent 3rd party look at their work
(which they paid for) And they said they are not responsible and the damage was due to installation. What a joke they are. Please pass it on - DO NOT USE L L - They do not stand behind what is an INFERIOR product
Company Response 02/24/2010:
We take each inquiry seriously in the event there's a problem with the manufacturing of a product a claim will be filed and the customer satisfied. Manufacturers require documented proof the product was defective and we use the independent inspection process, including samples to make such determinations. The customers frustrations witht he product are the result of installation damage where the sides of the planks were pounded together, so the complaint shoudl be directed to the installer, not LL. We addressed the problem in great detail including a cost of over $300 to determine if in fact there was a problem with the product, but the consumer continues to blame the product and our company for issues unrelated to the manufacture of the flooring. I viewed this case in great detail and doubt you'll find a posting anywhere calling out the installer for the damage caused. We regret this became a problem for the customer and would advise them that no matter where they shop - If they use the same installer the issue will only be repeated. We respond to postings in an effort to help educate consumers. Always follow the installation instructions and when usign a contractor, check their references and WATCH THEM PERFORM THE INSTALLATION. Many consumers find problems with the installation after it's completed and too latem to make corrections. Board selection requires participation by you - You paid for the product, oversee the project!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Doby on 2012-04-11:
L L products are Crap! That nirvana laminate flooring is cheap made cardboard junk. Don't buy this stuff. I tried to install this stuff and it wouldn't fit together without a little pounding. The laminate coating is so thin and weak it scratched and chipped just removing it from the packaging. What kind of flooring does that? And you are supposed to be able to walk on that? Do yourself a favor and go to Home Depot and get the allure flooring. It is about half the price and at least twice as tough!
Ran on 2013-10-15:
Just reading that response from LL makes me not want to do business with them. THAT is NOT customer service at ALL! Bad response from a company trying to dig its way out of a problem - when really they just lost more customers with that terrible reply. :(

Glad I saw this post before ordering. Guess I'm off to Home Depot or Lowes now.
Close commentsAdd reply
Lumber Liquidators-Avoid at all Costs
Posted by on
CALEDONIA, WISCONSIN -- I am thoroughly disgusted with Lumber Liquidators of Wisconsin. We bought 300 SF of laminate flooring advertised during the Labor Day Sale on HGTV’s site only to be told that because of high demand we would have to wait one week for the product to be delivered. The agreed upon date came, and we were thrilled that a message was left on our home phone system that stated the floor was ready for pick-up. We called back to confirm the pick-up date only to find that the floor was not in stock. We asked to be called back when the product finally did arrive. Upon the next call we were told the order was only "in" according to the computer, but not really at the store. This continued for five days. On the fifth day, the store manager called to let us know that the product was in. We drove 40 miles for the second time to pick up the floor, arriving before the store opened. We waited for TWO HOURS as the fork-lift driver searched the premises for the flooring. The store manager and other employee stacked and loaded several other customer’s orders as we waited. We walked into the warehouse to see the forklift driver sitting doing nothing several times during this period. The manager went out to prompt the driver into loading other customer's orders while this was all going on, as well. I complained to the store manager that brushed me off continually. I was told that if I complained he was the "store manager” and final authority. I asked for my money back and was told he would not refund the money, but continue looking for the floor. He stated he might be able to get the flooring by next week Tuesday. There is still no resolve to this. I no longer wish to deal with the distributor. They cannot be trusted to deliver items they advertise. I am out debited cash from my account and have no flooring. They do not keep flooring in stock on the premises for their sales. Apparently, when the trucks deliver the stock the store employees do not physically check off the inventory being delivered and have no system of maintaining where their stock is located. It makes one wonder how their cash flow can ever be monitored. I am reporting them to the Better Business Bureau of Wisconsin and filing a complaint of false advertisement, if possible, so others won't fall for their game playing. I believe that it was the intent of the store to send out advertisements to lure people in and then sell them a more expensive product once they discovered the flooring they wanted was not readily available in stock (bait and switch). Even if the floor were available for pick-up today on the third trip to the store, the added expense in travel time (one hour each way) and mileage (80 miles) has already made the flooring more expensive than anything we could have purchased on sale at a local Big Box Retailer.
Company Response 09/28/2010:
Customer Care is in place for situations like this and we certainly understand your frustrations when it comes to product availability, but we can answer your concerns. We advertise product and ultimately it's available for purchase from all sites via our warehouse system. We just upgraded this system to improve the customer experience, but the transition had an impact on some customer orders and without knowing your exact order information I would assume this fell into that category and we sincerely apologize. If the customer service skills of the store personnel fell short of your expectations, we would certainly want to know as our company does not tolerate this kind of behavior. Our warehouse system has been completely transitioned and we know where our stock is, how much we have on hand, and how long it will take to deliver. Our policy states we do not guarantee delivery dates because of unexpected challenges with logistics, but if all goes well we can deliver and many of our stores received stock trucks during the warehouse transition so there's plenty of selection on hand. I would encourage you to call Customer Care informing an agent about your experience so we can assist you. The transition was complex and necessary for growth, but we're moving into a new era with systems that will meet our customer and company needs and we would like earn back your business recognizing we did not make a good first impression and encourage you to call or write to us on line so we can make this right.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
face it on 2010-09-23:
I understand your frustration. To make things as simple as possible lets just basically say that Lumber Liquidators advertised a product in stock when it was not. And you the paying customer is left holding the bag in that you are out the money you spent along with your time and travel and aggravation. I can tel you that contacting the BBB might give you some sort of personal satisfaction, but aside from that nothing will come from it. They have a team of people trained to deal with complaints, and they will be who you deal within the process of sending messages back and forth to the BBB. Also there policy is for a complaint to be sent to the regional manager over that store. I can also guarantee you that will get you no where other than further insulted and more time wasted. The unfortunate thing is that this type of things goes on with LL on a daily basis. Only a small amount of people that have had obvious problems with them take the time, or even know, to post comments on a forum like this.
The only thing I can suggest is for you to contact the attorney general of your state and don't just ask but politely demand that LL be investigated. The days of these thieves getting away with there shotty practises has to stop. And I want to thank you for taking the time to warn other hardworking people out there about these crooks.

You can also expect a (blow some smoke up your backside) response from the company. To give the illusion that they are on top of things and that they care. Just remember the events that brought you to this point. No words can "make up for" your time and aggravation. One of there most common practises is to drag things out as long as possible to weaken or breakdown the customer so they either give up and shut up, or accept a ridiculous compromise. Best of luck to you.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Lumber Liquidators Does Not Honor Warranties!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
JOHNSON CITY, PENNSYLVANIA -- We paid over $4000 total with labor to get flooring from Lumber Liquidators. It was supposed to have a thirty year warranty (yeah right).

A year later the floor is garbage. It is full of chips and dents and they won't honor one dime of warranty. We were told in the store about "how high quality this floor is" and "how they use it in their entryways." They lied. We got sold junk.

Lumber liquidators is a scam and a lie. Their warranties are not worth the paper they are written on. We went through their entire warranty process and they told us to stick it.

They suck, they suck, they suck. Next time, I'll go to Lowes.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
saj80 on 2013-03-02:
The warranty on flooring is usually for the finish. While you may have dents and scratches, if they don't affect the finish, then the warranty probably won't apply. I installed wood flooring with a 50 year finish warranty, and I have dents, scratches, etc., but none of them affect the finish, they are only cosmetic, and part of what I expected with wood flooring.
BigAl on 2013-03-02:
Consumers need to better understand warranties on products purchased. Generally speaking a warranty covers manufacturing defects in the product purchased. You can have many many problems with a product that is not caused by a "manufacturing defect". Even some manufacturing defects are not covered by the warranty if they are listed as exclusions in the actual warranty. An example of this is not to warrant "cosmetic" defects. As a consumer who is buying a warranted product you should always read the warranty and never assume anything that is not explicit in the warranty. Warranties by their very nature have no assumptions. Also remember that when a warranty is involved whatever a salesman may say to you is useless unless it is stated in the warranty.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Warranty and Customer Service is Despicable
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SIOUX FALLS, SOUTH DAKOTA -- After installing over 800 sq ft of vinyl plank flooring following store manager's explicit directions and recommendations, the floor began to split apart and gap in the middle area of the rooms within one month of installation. Immediately contacted the company locally to no avail. Called daily for weeks, with shallow responses and promises. Contacted the company customer service and waited another month before they sent someone to look at the problem. They did not agree that it was the product that was faulty and refused to even provide an allowance knowing full well that the entire floor will have to be replaced as it is impossible to start in the middle of the room to replace the faulty pieces. Companies such as this are nothing but cheap scam artists providing little service and no recourse to dissatisfied customers other than small claims courts.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
leet60 on 2012-11-06:
Gaps in vinyl plank flooring after installation are not uncommon. Normally this is caused by the floor having small uneven or unlevel spots. These can be filled using wood putty. It could be a defect in the flooring, or a problem with the floor itself that caused the gaps.
face it on 2012-11-08:
How tragic is it that in today's times and economic troubles that a customer is drawn in by deceptive advertising? In order to manage one of their store locations absolutely no product application experience or knowledge is required. But you should feel better because that the staff in these stores has a sufficient enough credit rating to go purchase a new or slightly used car, BECAUSE THEY CHECK FOR THAT. Not very comforting when you have money out of pocket and a poor product as an end result, is it?
Not knowing the exact product you purchased the basics of vinyl plank flooring are either inlaid (solid color throughout the thickness of the product) or Printed (color is applied/printed to the decor layer only) and in basic construction the most common types are a self sealing overlapping edge ( similar in construction to a dimensional shingle, to pieces are affixed to one another in a staggered or offset fashion to allow the top layer from one row/plank to adhere to the pre glued "tongue" of the adjacent row/plank) As well as a much more simple "snap" configuration (aimed more so at the DIY customer) The pre glued or overlapping style require the seems to be rolled (usually with 100 lb roller)failure to do so could result in the seams separating because that the two surfaces not being properly adhered to one another. And with the snap style installation is much like it's laminate counterparts in that there is a modified tongue and groove designed to "snap" together. Other conditions of the actual application site also play a role in the longevity and/or overall satisfaction of the final installation. The most commonly overlooked aspect to installation of hard surface materials is site preparation.
A condition called "deflection" will void your warranty as problems with the finish materials will be deemed as "improperly installed" when a site inspection is performed and deflection is found to be the cause of failure. Deflection refers the to amount of up and down movement in the subfloor (on a bare subfloor [no carpet or other floor coverings] lay on one side of your body and have someone walk across the floor in front of you and watch as the floor moves down from the weight of the person and then back up again to its previous elevation after the weight is removed) There are other ways of testing for deflection but a DIY customer is not likely to have these options readily available to them, this is just an example of how to visualize the condition known as deflection. Some floating floor products have manufacturer's require minimums of 1/8 of an inch in a 10 foot span!! and if these requirements are not addressed the warranty is void, again due to improper installation.
Nowhere on the packaging or the flyer/insert (if there is one) are these conditions outlined. Usually just a recommendation to visit the website for installation instructions. Also the PDF file on Lumber Liquidators website does makes mention of conditions such as -Low spots, High spots, Deflection,etc.- but lacks in vital information as to what degree or measure that these conditions are deemed acceptable in regards to warranty claims.
In regards to fixing the gaps some manufactures offer a "putty" or "filler" for minimal gaps. If the product has the self adhesive edges heat can be applied to allow you to take apart the planks and then re secure them with an aftermarket adhesive recommended by the manufacturer. If your product is gapped to such a degree that fillers will not work then the only other remedy , as you stated, is to take it all up and start over.

Best of luck to you jncbartels897, I truly wish you as well as countless other paying customers had this information available to you before you were put in a "Now what do I do" situation.
Close commentsAdd reply
Buyer Beware! Defective Products, Worst Customer Service, Fraudulent Actions and Charges.
Posted by on
LORTON, VIRGINIA -- I purchased (first quality “not seconds”/”odd lot”) engineered flooring on 4/14/2011. My credit card was charged in full on that same day and there was no indication that the product was out of stock. I came to learn that they did not have the product to ship yet, still charge the credit card and they fraudulently did not communicate that to me. I was never alerted when it was shipped to the store. It was only after yet another complaint that I found out 6 weeks after my purchase that it had finally shipped to the store. There was no statement or communication that it was not in stock or that they would not be shipping the product. I checked my status on the website repeatedly and it read “Partially Processed.” I routinely complained and asked when I would receive shipment since they had already charged my credit card in full. Of course I could not cancel my order because they had already charged my card.
Next, we picked up our order at the store and when we complained that the box looked like “odd lot” pieces, was not full nor looked like 30 square feet, we were told, “what do you expect this is not Home Depot.” After loading the wood and driving 40 minutes back home, then unloading the wood, we opened the first box. Piece after piece was clearly marked by the manufacturer inspector as rejects. The manufacturer had marked a large “c” and long lines on each piece of wood noting the many defects. These included holes, large gashes, uneven coloring and mismatching grooves. I immediately called and demanded a refund. I was told this is normal and to open the second box, which of course had the same clearly marked inspection rejects. I called again and demanded a refund and advised them to pick up this wood immediately. I am still arguing with a very highly trained Customer Service Staff who are scripted to change the subject and state that it is your fault and manufacturer rejects are what is to be expected. Customer Service provides no assistance in resolving the complaint. In fact, they lie and you end up wasting even more time as they try to blame you. I now realize I am not going to get anywhere with them. They are trained NOT to process your claim and delay the matter so that after 30 days and you prove you have defective products, they can charge you a 20% restock fee.
THE INVOICE YOU RECEIVE AT PICKUP LITERALLY ABSOLVES THEM FROM ANYTHING AND EVERYTHING.
I have wasted so much time since 4/14/2011 on this fraudulent company. They should not be allowed to do business as is documented by all the complaints on the web. I am going to the Attorney General next to demand they take action against this nationwide company who markets on the web, mails catalogs and fliers to your home and also employs salesman to call you.
Company Response 06/15/2011:
LL Response from the Director of Customer Care
First of all we're sorry to hear you had a negative experience, but this is not typical of the day to day transactions that go off without a hitch with thousands of satisfied customers each week. The amount of gallery photos, email responses, return shoppers, and reviews is overwhelming. Your credit card will be charged when you make a purchase not unlike other retailers, and the fact that it was partially processed would indicate there may have been a payment concern that was obviously corrected if you received your product. There are several comments and statements here that just don’t make sense and we view this as hear-say, from the big box store comment to the uncooperative customer service staff can assure you we don’t treat customers in this manner. Our return policy is clearly disclosed and as well as our recommendation that you inspect the product as the final quality check to make sure it’s exactly as you expected. Did something go wrong here? Possibly, but we make it right and the implication here is not in line with policies meant to protect our customers , enable LL to uphold the warranty by holding manufacturers accountable when a defect exists, while providing quality products at low prices for our customers. I would imagine these are the same qualities that brought you into the store / web to shop, and It’s never our intent for someone to have a negative customer experience and we’re sorry this happened. We pride ourselves on improving our business and I’ll be sure to review what happened if you feel obliged to call, or write to me with some identifying information I can use to review this further.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
face it on 2011-06-12:
Once again I am very sorry the information on this site ( as well as other sites) was not made available to you before you got drawn into the Lumber Liquidators web of deception. I would suggest that you report this to the Federal Trade Commission as well as the Attorney General and your local "trouble shooter" news station affiliate. I can tell you that the only time any customers I have had interaction with received any form of a satisfactory outcome, was to retain a private attorney. A company that purposely causes this much grief to it's paying customers does not deserve to be in business. The amount of "similar" complaints against them is absolutely staggering! As you stated in your comments there laughable customer service is trained to lie to and deceive customers in every possible way, pushing the boundaries of illegal activity. The actual percentage of "satisfied" customers who purchased materials from Lumber Liquidators is at such a staggeringly low percentage point that drastic action needs to be taken against them to insure the rights of the individuals are fully protected. Having done installations for Lumber Liquidators for over 10 years I have seen a steady decline in quality control, and a steady increase in customer dissatisfaction. Most of the customers I have had contact with either assume "that's just the way it should be" or they do not want to continuously argue with the trained/scripted rude so called customer service department, and just give up! Which is what Liquidators wants.

You can expect a company response that states "we are passionate about wood flooring, We strive to offer the best materials ,etc." 100% LIES!!! they have no interest in regards to the customers well being, there only objective is to sell there crap and to take advantage of people who are tricked into thinking they got a deal (money savings) by shopping at Liquidators! I have said it many times and it is as true now as ever. Proof is in doing business with them, if you dare!
There policy towards customer dissatisfaction takes priority over all else. How can a company like this stay in business?
face it on 2011-06-16:
If the comments made by the customer do not make sense then by default it would appear as if LLI is calling the customer a Liar! they are trying to paint a mental picture that the statements made by the consumer are not true. I understand that in a moment of frustration that it can be easy to exaggerate, but the fact that the company response make it sound as if your credit card had problems (pointing the finger at the consumer again) then they completely ignore the fact that the product received was crap!! Can it be returned? sure! does it ease the customers frustration having to go through all the steps required and the time to correct LLI's problems? NO!!!
Anyone reading this can plainly see that this company should be avoided at all costs.
Do not fall for there sugar coated line of crap.
face it on 2011-06-18:
not sure about Lumber Liquidators yet? take a second and go to this site for a little additional information. http://www.hallway.com/companies/lumber-liquidators-inc-employee-reviews?nt=8934
face it on 2011-06-23:
http://www.thesqueakywheel.com/complaints/2011/APR/complaint46496.cfm
yet another Liquidators nightmare!
steve naus on 2011-06-29:
I have similar problems. LL will blame all floor problems (cracking after 4 days of installation) on a Site Problem. I have the product costs on the LL GE Money card, and I refuse to pay. I am also taking them to small claims court. This company is corrupt and deceptive. I have dealt with many home improvement companies but have never run into one that is baltant about screwing over the customer. This company should be put out of business. This is not a local problem but I widespread problem
disgraceful on 2011-12-20:
WOW I have just hired a lawyer to get LL to pay me back for my flooring and install for the garbage they sold me that after 4 months is splitting and splintering. Sold as "first quality" and they even send a rep from whom knows where to come and file a report...which....as all the other complaints say...is basically NOT their fault...the old "humidity" issue...NO! Its the overdryed, overmilled crap you sell ppl and its defective. SHAME ON THIS DECEPTIVE COMPANY...something needs to be done to stop them from taking advantage and taking your money. I have to sue them, and I will, to get back my hard earned money they took , They DO NOT care about you once you leave the building.
They caught me! Ouch! on 2012-03-27:
Lumber liquidators got me with a bait and switch on product/price and shoddy installation uneven flooring, etc

Is there a class action suit yet? I noticed these complaints are a year OK'd and they are still at it
Close commentsAdd reply
Laughable return policy
Posted by on
First I have no complaint of the flooring itself. It is beautiful and went down with little to no problems. BUT we ended up with five (5) unopened boxes plus a 6th with a few boards out of it. I contacted LL to return the unopened boxes, which look as good as the day we picked them up. The young lady on the phone asked if they had been exposed to weather, paint, drywall and then asked about heat, I said no because it was summer and no heat needed. She then asked if it was stored in an airconditioned house, which again was no. She advised me that I had exceeded the 90 return policy but she would have a claim representative contact me. I had the flooring bought early so that when my contractor needed it, I would be able to get the flooring on site when he needed it. Well 3 weeks later after numerous calls I asked for her supervisor and within 30 seconds she answered. She advised me that they would not take the flooring back because in the initial interview I had stated, it had not been stored in a climate controlled environment. And in good faith to another customer they couldn't resell the flooring. I laughed at her and asked her if it was shipped from Brazil on a climate controlled train or ship? I advised her that when I picked it up at the warehouse, there was no insulation, no heat, no airconditioning and was leaking the rain that was coming down into the building. She burbled and put me on hold, 20-30 seconds later, she told me I had exceeded the 90 return policy and LL was denying my claim. She advised me that I would receive a letter from LL denying the claim. It has never came and I don't expect it to. ALSO the extra boxes came from the computer generated waste on the order form. They claimed 10 percent it wasn't even close, a mistake of 150sqft and $600.00 in their pocket, so beware when you order they pad their numbers and then deny the claim to return it. So Make sure when requesting your return, YOU KEPT IT IN AN ENVIRONMENTALLY CONTROLLED ENVIRONMENT and check to see how many extra boxes they are making you buy.
Company Response 11/12/2009:
We're glad to hear the product meets your needs. In regards to returns, our invoice clearly states the terms and conditions at the time of sale and you initialed our policy at the time of sale acknowledging the same. It also states that we are not responsible for measurements and quantity ordered. If you felt this was a potential problem, the store has the authority to make exceptions at the time of purchase with this information considered as part of a potential return. In some cases NO returns are permitted and that's why your measurements and quantity ordered is important. People store product unprotected in places exposed to the elements. As a responsible retailer, we do not take back product improperly stored becuase its considered out of our control and not something we will pass on to another consumer. This action is against our quality controls and not unlike other major retialers. Wood is a natural product with a varying degree of potential waste. We can only suggest you make an educated purchase, or communicate with us at the time of the sale, not weeks or even months later. Keeping extra product is actually beneficial should you have a need for board replacement due to unforseen water damage or other accidents within your home.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2009-08-29:
The only laughable thing here is LL laughing all the way to the bank.
madconsumer on 2009-08-29:
sounds reasonable to me. specially since you did exceede the 90 days.
1tricia on 2011-11-19:
LL should've taken it back since the customer had the correct dimensions. It was LL who miscalculated the overage needed due to their experience with percentage of "bad" stock. And, it's obvious that they tried every thing to find a loophole... "heat?"... "AC?"... (we'll find SOMETHING!!!)
face it on 2011-12-04:
Well said 1tricia!! Regardless of the BS they try to tell people reading these reviews, THEY ARE AS CROOKED A COMPANY AS EVER THERE WAS!!! Stay away from Lumber Liquidators. Save your Money and you sanity!!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Terrible Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MICHIGAN -- I purchased product in December and all the requirements for proper installation was followed. The installation was done by a seasoned installer and looked perfect. I noticed less than 2 months later the corners of boards were lifting. I contacted lumber Liquidators and filed a claim. The company never sent anyone to inspect the damage!! They sent a letter claiming improper installation and included the MFG warranty page.

I can't believe they actually were so unwilling to properly investigate and blew me off with a MFG Insert. I will Never do business with them again and highly recommend you do the same!!!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
face it on 2013-02-17:
So sorry you are having this problem. I wish the information on this site and countless other sites out there had gotten you attention before wasting your money on poor quality product. In 12 + years of dealing with Lumber Liquidators only 1 time did I see a product replaced with no question, and the manager that did that got fired shortly after that.
Close commentsAdd reply
Beware of Lumber Liquidators
Posted by on
CRANSTON, RHODE ISLAND -- We went to Lumber Liquidators to buy a laminate floor for our income property. We gave them the dimensions of the room and they told us we'd need 16 boxes of flooring, but also told us that they do not take returns - even on full, unopened boxes of stuff they stock! Based on that info, I told them to only give me 15 boxes and we'd come back if we needed more. Well, we only needed 13-1/2 boxes, so I have a full box that I'm now stuck with that we can't return. When I asked them why they wouldn't take it back, their only reply was "it is our company policy". This was not a sale or closeout item. So basically, they sell at a lower price, but then bump up the amount you need so they make up the money that way. So, if you go there, buy 2 or 3 boxes LESS than what they tell you. As for me, they lost a customer for a $35 box of flooring because I'll never go back there!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
saj80 on 2010-02-09:
I had the same issue with LL; after giving them my room dimensions, they told me how much I needed. I now have 2 1/2 boxes of hardwood flooring sitting in my attic that will never be used.
Anonymous on 2010-02-09:
A look on the bright side, (not that it makes it better for you) you may in fact need it later. My friend had water damager and ended up needing extra boxes that she had purchased (intentionally). It worked out for her but I know that it stinks that you have boxes that you will not use. At least hopefully you won't have to use them.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
STAY AWAY!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ROCKFORD, ILLINOIS -- STAY AWAY!!!! I have just had the WORST experience imaginable in trying to get Lumber Liquidators to make good on my THREE MONTH OLD defective flooring. They simply don;t care about their customers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
dan gordon on 2012-04-25:
I was in wholesale flooring for 20 yrs. Your complaint doesn't say anything so perhaps you may want to say what the problem is before you slam the retailer. It sounds like you have a problem that you think should be covered but its not a mfctg problem. Am I correct??
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >