Lumber Liquidators - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 33 ratings and
57 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Customer Service Experience
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
CHERRY HILL, NEW JERSEY -- I purchased $13,000 in flooring for my second home in another state. I also used Lumber Liquidators installers - $6,000+ estimate. The order was shipped in multiple deliveries because they couldn't get the order correct. The stair treads were never completely delivered correctly. The store manager Mike refused to help us and we had to enlist the corporate customer care team. The installer thought he could complete the job in 2 days and because it is a second home we have to pay every time our caretaker opens and closes our home. He has been there 10 times and the project is not completed. We were still missing 2 stair treads. I called the store and Mike the manager told me he had 2 in inventory and because of all the problems would ship overnight for free. The package never arrived so we called on Wednesday for a tracking number and was told we would get a call back. My wife called 2x on Thursday for a number and never received a call back. I called the store later and they gave me a tracking number.

On Friday I called Fed Ex only to learn there was never a pick up. I called the store on Sat and was told Mike would call me back. The installer called and talked to Danny who said the treads were in the warehouse and I could pick them up. I called Danny to confirm I could get them and ask why I was lied to about the treads being shipped. Danny got angry, said some inappropriate things about bodily harm to me and removed the treads from their inventory system so I couldn't pick up. The installer got fed up and bought 2 treads from another store and is scheduled to come back again to complete the job. My wife returned the unused flooring and glue to the store after it was approved by customer care. They charged a 20% stocking fee and were angry at my wife saying they would now miss their quota for the month and made here wait 1 hr before they would remove from her car.

When I called Customer Care to tell them about this latest issue their response was "I never lied to you". This has taken over 45 days, I have spent 10's of hours on the phone trying to fix, and incurred over $400 in fees to open my house for the installer and is still not complete. They clearly don't care about service regardless of how big your order is if you do business with them manage your expectations accordingly.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Customer service sham - reverse blame
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ROCKFORD, ILLINOIS -- WOW what crooks We bought 900 sq ft of this and in a total of 36 boxes. We started to install after installing 28 boxes of the same color we come to the finish of 9 boxes TO MY SURPRISE THEY WEAR ALL OPPOSITE COLOR I MEAN NIGHT AND DAY color And unfinished. I would only assume the tuck loader would have half a brain and when loading does make sure I'm getting the same lot. considering I bought at the same time wow no brainer. To top it off I call customer care and they start asking me questions of how it was installed and what glue I used Really!! turn it on me. I ask them what does this have to do with the color of the wood ? The reply was it is the general questions we ask so I ask for the manager name and the reply there all in a meeting. so in the end they have no wood in that color other than what a bought and now I'm fed and my customer is the victim. I thought to my self has LL been around for around week ?

I'm I on an episode of the 3 stooges (DO WE CHEAT-EM AND HOW)

p. s.I can't believe "they try ed to say I made the wood change color may favorite was when they put me on hold for 45 minutes and had to sit in the parking lot fore seven hours.


In response to LL feed back at bottom-

They lie they never fixed the problem I DID and when they called I was bribed within store credit I never told I them would shop there again (LL pleas don't right things that are not true And in witch they told me I was to receive the $300 in store credit 3 day ago I have still not been taken of
do you self a fave shop somewhere whit some honesty and integrity they do not make good on there end believe me. When they transfer you someone maned Shel-ly this person never called me and never sent the in store credit. This problem could have been easily avoided and cost me over $500 and my men had to take a 2 day sit at home (no Pay) that helped there family's

LL keep the lies coming

P.S.It nothing to with the product it had to to with the shop not taking the time to check the (lot) and giving a $2000 order the care it deserves.

(Smoke and mirrors)

INTEGRITY RENOVATIONS AND ELECTRICAL.
Company Response 05/10/2012:
LL Response: We spoke with the customer today after several missed phone calls between both parties. We feel the pallet received did in fact have some boxes included that were not a match for the lot delivered. This would have been unknown at the time of receipt. We explained that Customer Care asks a series of questions to uncover the problem, but in this case the customer was out of patience and found little help in answering questions. He agreed the agent knew little about the whole story because he was in a rush to correct the problem. I had the team in a meeting to drive a customer service initiative to improve service, so it would have been appropriate for the agent to ask for a call back number in this rare instance where coverage was not available a training initiative. After speaking with the customer they agreed and became very frustrated by the project delay caused by the 9 boxes in question. LL has since made this situation better and achieved customer satisfaction. No matter where you source materials this can happen no matter how big or small the order may be. We happen to sell more flooring than anyone else and instances like this one are a rarity. Thousands of transactions occur each day successfully and with a great deal of satisfaction from price, quality, service, and support before, during, and after the sale. The customer will be returning for another purchase and a second opportunity for them to see how well our “normal process” works. The customer also understood bamboo can have color variations as most natural products do, so we addressed the problem and turned a negative situation into a positive experience.
Company Response 05/11/2012:
LL Response to Bamboo concerns: We spoke with the customer and corrected the error with the mixed product, and the customer very satisfied with our response. We have taken action to resolve other concerns mentioned and always appreciate customer feedback. Thousands of transactions occur each day without the slightest problem, but when something goes wrong where LL is responsible, we make it right. They will return for future purchases and it's from this kind of repeat business we earn a customers trust when making good on a bad situation.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
BUYER BEWARE
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
AUBURN, MAINE -- DO NOT USE LUMBER LIQUIDATORS! I purchased strand bamboo flooring by Morning Star from the Auburn, Maine store. It was in stock. I went in intending to purchase another product and was steered to this particular bamboo by a salesman. I asked at the time of sale if there was anything I needed to know about the product, this is a standard question I ask about everything I purchase for the remodel. He said the only thing was the addition of an underlayment pad which my installer used. My installer started laying and discovered his nailer was causing dimpling. He called LL and Corporate stated dimpling has been an ongoing problem and to use a 50P nailer. The installer went out and got a 50P nailer and again there was pronounced dimpling though not quite as bad. This time I called Corporate and was transferred to Michelle. She had a well rehearsed attitude issue and told me we should have glued it down, but she would speak with her supervisor. I told her the website says nail or glue. I received a letter yesterday. after 5 days of trying to speak with someone higher up in customer service, that stated we should have pre drilled and then nailed. They also threw in we used more than 50% of the product which is completely false. Lumber Liquidator's letter stated they would not take any responsibility. Needless to say my installer, who has a stellar reputation that has been sullied by LL is furious. BTW he has laid 1600 sf of bamboo from another supplier in my house without issue. Lumber Liquidators is not a good company they have foisted a defective product on the public rather than dealing with their supplier as a reliable company with pride would do.
     
Replies
Absolutely Avoid This Store -- They Sell Absolute Junk And Rejects
Posted by on
AUBURN, WASHINGTON -- This is a very brief abstract of my experience with Lumber Liquidator (LL)here in Auburn WA:

Last year I purchased a 3" Patagonian Mahagony that came with worm holes, splits, and bad milling (almost 1/16Th milling difference). When I went back to tell the about it they told me: "oh nobody told you that this is a cabinet type Hardwood"? I said no and I'm half way through installation (do it your-self-er). I tried to return the defects but they would not refund it. the said they would sell me more of the better quality, for a Dollar less per Square foot. The one they gave me was of the same bad quality.

My next experience happen this year helping a friend to purchase about 600 sq ft of Brazilian Teak. we took a sample from the wall (priced at $5.99 per Sq ft and liked the color and called to place the order. When we placed the order they did not say anything about "seconds" or Odd Lot" or "reject", we ordered what we have taken as a sample...and the salesman/Manager (Arron) told me, due to my past un-pleasant experience with the Patagonian Mahogany", he will give my friend a special discount ($2.99/Sqft)and he said:but it will take three weeks to ship from VA. Three weeks past and no Teak. He (Arron) apologized that the truck was to full to ship and it would take another two to three weeks. The delivery came after 16 days with 400 Sq Ft instead of 530 sq ft and being SO GRACIOUS he delivered them to the House last Thursday. Yesterday we examined the boxes and found a label on every one of them saying "ODD LOT" , we open three of them and pull few from each, and to our HORROR we found every plank with a WAX Marker mark right where the defect is.

The Defects are ranging from bad Surface Milling's to bad finish, to cavities...YOU NAME IT! We pulled more from other boxes only to realize that all the boxes contained REJECTS by somebody who bought them and returned them all marked.

We contacted the store (Arron who was not available) and we talked to Jim who said he cannot do anything about it and we should call tomorrow and talk to Arron, even though he located the order#1277154 and can see all the details. My friend received a call back from Arron who, when confronted with the quality of the Teak, did not even offer to rectify the order, he listened silently, then he indicated he will get the trucking co. to remove the boxes from the house and just a minute ago my friend called me confirming the credit refund. We will be contacting all who have similar experience with LL to file a Class Action Lawsuit and joins other Class Action Lawsuits nationally listed by Googling "Class Action Lawsuit against National Lumber". Our goal is to stop LL from deceiving customers as to the quality of their product and prevent LL from damaging others in WA and other States.
Company Response 03/15/2010:

Our company sells a large variety of products from top of the line flooring, to odd lot flooring, but the consumer is never misled and the prices and policies are clearly marked.

The complaint does not match the stores accounting of the transaction and our invoice clearly states what to do if you feel dissatisfied with service, price, or quality.

I would like to add that ODD LOT stickers require no examination of the box to find them - They are bright fluorescent green and clearly visible. The markings on the boards are from quality checks performed at the time of production identifying less than perfect material.

Your invoice clearly states the quality of the product purchased and even though this is a non-returnable item, the store not only delivered product, but also collected the return in an attempt to work with you because you were not satisfied. The store clearly divulged proper information at the time of purchase with a signed invoice, so your claim goes back to reading the invoice. If you want a high quality product we suggest you avoid the odd lot section and buy first grade material.

We sell to thousands of satisfied customers everyday and encourage customers to make an educated purchase by looking at prices, quality, warranty information, and reading the invoice so you know exactly what you're buying. We're sorry to hear your experience differs from that of many others and LL absorbed the $500 delivery / collection expenses in your case seeking your satisfaction.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Quality Produce, Even Poorer Installation
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LEXINGTON, KENTUCKY -- In late 2013 I purchased Lumber Liquidators Bellawood engineered hardwood flooring and made arrangements for installation with one of their staff installers. The work was sloppy with poorly installed transitions at doorways and a bowing gap around the fireplace. Within a couple of weeks the floor began to creak in spots when it was stepped on. The condition became so bad my 12 pound cat could make it creak when walking across it.

Contacting Lumber Liquidators resulted in many forms to complete requiring so much general and very technical information many hours and back and forth communications online were required to complete the process. After several weeks an inspector finally came and agreed the floor had problems The final evaluation from them revealed they claimed no responsibility for the floor itself but blamed problems on the installation They contacted the installer and he called and said he would replace the floor, nothing about parts. His exact words were THE FLOOR. When he arrived, he instead brought only 2 boxes of boards and said he needed to level the concrete under the worst area. He then tore open a roughly 4 foot square area of a much larger room and used a power tool to basically make a mess.

Watching him work it was clear the area was not level when he finished. He stuffed in different underlayment and closed it up. The floor creaked immediately when stepped on. He shrugged his shoulders and said he didn't know what else to do. In less than a month the area was no better than before. When I attempted to contact Lumber Liquidators again they would not respond. A few months ago another company installed a Shaw laminate floor in an adjacent room. The floor is thicker and sturdier then the Lumber Liquidators engineered hardwood and feels very solid underfoot. Best of all there is no creaking anywhere. It is true. You get what you pay for.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Defected Stairnosings, Absolutely NO Warranty, Won't Stand Behind Product
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- I am a professional licensed contractor out here in Arizona. I had a client I installed 1700 sq feet of "Remington Oak" "Schon engineered wood flooring for. The project included upstairs, down stairs, and the staircase. All the leading edges of each stair tread received a stair nosing . Well after a year and a half, I returned to my clients residence to give an estimate for some cabinetry . My client points out "6" stair nosings with hairline cracks going with the grain . All have these cracks in same location, on the back section of the nosing. These were installed with polyurethane construction adhesive, and one finish nail on the left and right side of the "Leading edge"(meaty part of the material) no fasteners any where near crack locations. 6 months or so prior to this discovery, we had one with a much more noticeable crack in same location. I replaced the nosing under "My" warranty and paid Lumber Liquidators full price for the unit. This was the last one they had(they were discontinuing Remington Oak.) I called their "Customer care line" and filled out the claim form and was assigned to Chey G. Well, I sent the letter via certified mail, and got confirmation of delivery. No response for a couple weeks. I had to call back, complain, then magically received an email. I got excuses like, the weather, busy, etc. Then miss Chey states she never received the form. I provided name of individual who signed and photo of signature. I was avoided repeatedly, like many other people on here. Case in point, they don't stand behind their product. The stair nosings' are meant to be on the stairs, and should perform in a reasonable manner. My clients are middle aged folks with a cat, and are very neat people. I feel the product is sub par, something in the milling process, drying process, is to blame. Very weak along the grain. Don't sell something if it doesn't stand up to its purpose! The customer "care" and I use that term loosely, is a bunch of mediocre wage kids, who have a check list of questions and excuses in front of them. I think Lumber liquidators got greedy, blew up too fast, and won't last much longer.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bait and Switch
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SANFORD, FLORIDA -- After searching the Lumber Liquidators website I found the following flooring on sale for $2.96 a sq ft: http://www.lumberliquidators.com/ll/c/Fengtai-Strand-Handscraped-Bamboo-Major-Brand-PRBAMHSFT/10026736

So we hopped in the car and drove 20 miles to the nearest store which is in Sanford, FL. "We don't have it." says the salesperson, and after a few minutes on his computer he says he can't find a purchase order for it and the soonest he could probably get it is April. APRIL?!!! Then he tries to up-sell us to Anji Bamboo which is listed @ $4.99 sq/ft but says he can do $3.59 sq/ft. Fine, we'll take it. Then he asks how much we need and I tell him 480 sq ft. After another few minutes on his computer he says he doesn't have it and he "might" be able to get it from Texas. TEXAS?!! This despite the sign posted on the display of the Anji Bamboo saying "Best Seller" and "In Stock". We left in disgust over what can only be described as borderline switch-and-bait tactics and then poor customer service in response to what I imagine was viewed as a small order from the salesman's perspective.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible experience!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CLEVELAND, OHIO -- I’m a contractor and was recently introduced to manager at 540 Old Brookpark Rd, Cleveland OH.

Purchased floors for couple of jobs at store already. Sales people could barely close order and loading material was real adventure, but I did not think much of it. However on my next visit after waiting in line for more than an hour (three customers in front of me), manager enters the store and picks person behind me in line to help. After I politely stated that it was my turn, he started yelling and lecturing me in front of everybody and asking: “Who am I to come to his store and tell him how to do his job?” Actually I had to agree to his terms so he would finish my order and my time would not be wasted, but needless to say I’m never going back there again.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Lumber Liquidators Hires Hack Installers Leaving the Customer High and Dry
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PETALUMA, CALIFORNIA -- I am having a nighmarish experience after selecting LL to install an pre-engineered maple floor. From the git-got it was a disaster. The installer for the job did not correctly estimate the job (he missed the second story of our house) I had as-builts and provided a copy so he could finish his estimate. 2 days into the job he says he doesn't have enough wood and blames me!

It gets worse, he runs out of wood and leaves the master bed room floor unfinished! I trip over loose, unsecured boards getting to my dresser every morning. We can't get more wood for 3 more weeks, installer says its not his fault, Lumber Liquidators just shrugs. We knew he installed it wrong so we hired a 3rd party inspector who verified the installer voided the pre-engineered wood warranty by installing end joints less than 6" from an end joint.

Again Lumber Liquidators shrugs and tells us to work it out with HSS the company who hired the installer. The only remedy is to pull up the flooring and start over. 2 months have gone by and we are no further from getting a resolution than the day the installer walked off the job.

Avoid Lumber Liquidators and pay a little extra and get a local flooring company. I know I wish I did!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
STAY AWAY FROM LUMBER LIQUIDATORS
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
S. HACKENSACK, NEW JERSEY -- We had this floor installed last year upon their recommendation. We followed all instructions and used installer they suggested. Our floor is cupping, squeaking and coming up. The 30 yr. warranty and their customer service is a joke. They have done nothing and blame it on moisture even though they used moisture barrier. I have researched and found hundreds of complaints online. STAY AWAY from them. Be like us and use all possible outlets to warn consumers. Since they fail to respond to customers, warn others and maybe they will wake up to customer complaints.
Resolution Update 03/16/2013:
I have received a full store credit to replace the floor.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >