Lumber Liquidators - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 47 ratings and
71 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Lumber Liquidators
3000 John Deere Rd
Toano, VA 23168
1-800-366-4204 (ph)
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Excessive Shrinkage & Gaps - Formaldehyde in Resin
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- Lumber Liquidators is the dollar store of retail flooring. I bought the Morning Star Bamboo and it's junk. One of the reasons I bought this floor is because they advertise it being "green". How can it be green if it has formaldehyde in it! So what are you saying? It's good for the environment but it may give you Cancer? Would you want your children playing or crawling on this floor? My husband and I have both experienced sore & dry throats and it has a very distinct smell. We were fine before this floor was installed.

And another thing to keep in mind, there was no indication on the labeling or the box saying it was formaldehyde compliant. This is in gross violation of The Formaldehyde Standards Act for Composite Wood Products that was put into law by President Obama in 2010. After 2 months when it was installed we started getting large gaps and separations that ran the whole perimeter of one wall. The installers came and repaired it and 3 months later it happened again. Called LL and they sent out one of "their " inspectors. What a joke this guy was. We went by all the guidelines, bought a humidifier, meter, the works!

Literally baby sat this floor which is totally ridiculous but we did it and this guy still found fault. I have come to the conclusion it really doesn't matter what you do because they will find a reason to blame you or the installer. They have a nice little racket going on. And their 30 warranty doesn't mean diddley squat! That's even a bigger joke! All I can say is don't let their low prices fool you. If you buy from them and have a problem it will be the biggest headache of your life. Just read the reviews because they are telling you the truth. I know, because I was one of their victims. If you are reading this and decide not to buy their products then you are one of the lucky ones!

Customer Service Abuse
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I went to the Raleigh NC store to buy in-stock flooring. I asked about the return/refund terms before the purchase. I was told by a female employee I could return the flooring as long as it was unopened. I was surprised about the lengthy multi-page receipt which included a full page of fine print though. I signed in several places on several sheets of paper for the purchase, took the flooring, and left the store. About a week later I needed to return the flooring. I was told that I would be charged a 20% restocking fee.

When I questioned the 20 % restocking fee, the manager, **, approached me and mocked me for not reading the fine print on one of the pages of the receipt document. I was very shocked at his outrageous behavior, but continued to question the fairness of the policy which had not been fully explained when I questioned the female employee who had completed my receipt the week before. I told the manager that she had not advised me about the restocking fee, but the manager insisted in a belligerent way that I was to blame for not listening.

At one point he leaned across the counter and threatened me. He kept his hands on the counter but his face was only about 10 inches away from me. He insisted I sign the return agreement but refused to sign it himself. When I asked him to sign it he placed an "X" on the signature line and threw it under the counter. One thing I don't need to find in a retail environment is an angry, obnoxious, belligerent employee behind the counter who threatens me by saying, "I know your address." This manager acted in a way that would make a customer question his psychological stability. I don't know yet if he actually refunded my purchase price as he refused to sign to acknowledge my return.

Read warranty and understand it protects LL not you
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I waited for years to have the money to buy wood flooring for my house. I feel completely stupid and duped. Lumber Liquidators sells poorly manufactured floors and does not stand behind its products. The floor began to split on the glue line within 6 months of installation. After months of rudely worded form letter rejections LL hired Inspect Solutions who could not find anything wrong in my home or environment and therefore concluded that the installers knew the floor was damaged and installed it anyway.

I hired an inspector, who stated that it is a manufacturing issue and it is not floor checks as the Inspect Solutions claimed but glue line splits. He showed me a research article by the National Wood Flooring Association (NWFA) to show what my floor is doing. LL will not even acknowledge the inspection or the NWFA article and continued a ridiculously flawed argument against the installers.

After filing with BBB, I was offered a store credit that on the face seems fair but when you consider that I don't have the money to pay 2500 dollars to pull up the floor and have it reinstalled with no guarantee that the new floor will be any better, it is meaningless. And if again, I happen to get a bad lot or poor quality floor, I can start the cycle again. BBB states that cannot compel anything beyond LL's limited warranty that states a store credit is the only remedy.

I thought I had asked all the right questions and wrongly thought that LL was a reputable company but the bottom line is that they are a big company that knows how to protect themselves so they can take the chance of selling substandard products because if it fails they don't have to accept responsibility of making it right. The floor is so bad, I cannot walk in stocking feet. And I have to live with the constant reminder of how naive I was because it will be a long time before I can afford to replace it.

I recommend buying wood flooring from a reputable retailer who will stand by the product and treat customers with respect. Read the warranty, a store credit is great if the product is something you can simply take back but a floor should not fail in 6 months and if it does, you want a company that will make it right and at a minimum treat you with respect.

For me, I will have to see if the store credit is something I can sell so I can start to save for a replacement or determine if there is an implied warranty that will apply in my state and seek a remedy through litigation... sigh, I am so sad.

Customer Abuse
By -

NEW CUMBERLAND, PENNSYLVANIA -- I went to Lumber Liquidators on the recommendation of a colleague. During my first visit, I explained that I was going to floor two levels of my house. Due to budget constraints, I would buy enough flooring at the end of each month to complete one room. Any remaining flooring would be saved for the next room. Below are details of my experience with Lumber Liquidators (New Cumberland, PA) that have frustrated me to the point that I will no longer do or recommend business with this company.

June, 2011 - I opened up the first box of flooring to start the first room. The box was in rough shape and it appeared boards were missing. Since this was my first-time installing wood flooring, I thought maybe Bellawood packed their boxes loose. Though, and with hindsight, this box was suspect since it was wrapped in plastic. As I opened other boxes, I realized the boxes are packed tight and indeed the first box was missing approximately 33% of the boards. I absorbed the loss and learned my lesson: check boxes carefully before they are loaded into my car.

July, 2011 - I unloaded flooring for the second room. I discovered one of the boxes labelled as 'Odd Lot' (mixed mills) with a reduced price. I had paid full price for all of the boxes so this caught my attention. I called and was informed that mixed mills means the differences between board could be up to 1/8 inch. I was further informed that these differences are typical with wood floor.

Reading the companies website, I learned that installing 'Odd Lot' flooring voids their warranty. I had to return to the store to replace this box with the correct box. No apology, but a clear message that I was lucky that I was not being charged a restocking fee. Strike two! I was starting to feel that perhaps this was not an accident.

August, 2011 - I went to store to get flooring for third room. It was not in stock and had to be ordered. I was informed I would be called the following week when the shipment arrived. No phone call. I called two weeks later, I was informed I would be called when the shipment arrived. A month later I called, I was informed I would be called when the shipment arrived.

November, 2011 - I contacted customer care with the concerns I listed above. The next day an e-mail alerted me they were looking into my complaint, but they had contacted the store and my flooring was in. That evening, there was a message on my answering machine from the store that my flooring was in. When I arrived at the store to get the flooring, I learned that the floor was not in because what was sent did not match the correct mill code.

November 23, 2011 - After three months, I finally got my flooring. I explained my frustration to the store manager. I am halfway through my remodeling and stuck with a decision to finish the project with this product (feeling that the company does not treat customers with respect) or throwing in the towel and finding a different product that is a close match to finish the remaining rooms.

The manager did not resolve any of my concerns and stated he called me last week to inform me that the flooring had arrived. I check my phone log for the entire month. He did not call my phone number last week. He either lied or misdialed. Based on my experiences to date, I doubt it was a misdial. I also have not yet heard back from their customer care.

It is my opinion that this company does not want my business or value - and respect - its customers. I will file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the Federal Trade Commission. Hindsight is 20/20. At least I know to avoid this company for any future building or remodeling projects.

Worst Customer Service Experience
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

CHERRY HILL, NEW JERSEY -- I purchased $13,000 in flooring for my second home in another state. I also used Lumber Liquidators installers - $6,000+ estimate. The order was shipped in multiple deliveries because they couldn't get the order correct. The stair treads were never completely delivered correctly. The store manager ** refused to help us and we had to enlist the corporate customer care team. The installer thought he could complete the job in 2 days and because it is a second home we have to pay every time our caretaker opens and closes our home. He has been there 10 times and the project is not completed. We were still missing 2 stair treads.

I called the store and ** the manager told me he had 2 in inventory and because of all the problems would ship overnight for free. The package never arrived so we called on Wednesday for a tracking number and was told we would get a callback. My wife called 2x on Thursday for a number and never received a callback. I called the store later and they gave me a tracking number.

On Friday I called FedEx only to learn there was never a pickup. I called the store on Sat and was told ** would call me back. The installer called and talked to ** who said the treads were in the warehouse and I could pick them up. I called ** to confirm I could get them and ask why I was lied to about the treads being shipped. ** got angry, said some inappropriate things about bodily harm to me and removed the treads from their inventory system so I couldn't pick up.

The installer got fed up and bought 2 treads from another store and is scheduled to come back again to complete the job. My wife returned the unused flooring and glue to the store after it was approved by customer care. They charged a 20% stocking fee and were angry at my wife saying they would now miss their quota for the month and made here wait 1 hr before they would remove from her car.

When I called Customer Care to tell them about this latest issue their response was "I never lied to you". This has taken over 45 days, I have spent 10's of hours on the phone trying to fix, and incurred over $400 in fees to open my house for the installer and is still not complete. They clearly don't care about service regardless of how big your order is if you do business with them manage your expectations accordingly.

Customer service sham - reverse blame
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROCKFORD, ILLINOIS -- WOW what crooks. We bought 900 sq ft of this and in a total of 36 boxes. We started to install after installing 28 boxes of the same color we come to the finish of 9 boxes. TO MY SURPRISE THEY WERE ALL OPPOSITE COLOR I MEAN NIGHT AND DAY color and unfinished. I would only assume the truck loader would have half a brain and when loading does make sure I'm getting the same lot. Considering I bought at the same time wow no brainer.

To top it off I call customer care and they start asking me questions of how it was installed and what glue I used. Really!! Turn it on me. I ask them what does this have to do with the color of the wood? The reply was it is the general questions we ask so I ask for the manager name and the reply there all in a meeting. So in the end they have no wood in that color other than what I bought and now I'm fed and my customer is the victim. I thought to myself has LL been around for around week?

I'm I on an episode of the 3 stooges (DO WE CHEAT-EM AND HOW). P.S. I can't believe they tried to say I made the wood change color my favorite was when they put me on hold for 45 minutes and had to sit in the parking lot for seven hours.

In response to LL feedback at bottom- They lie they never fixed the problem. I DID and when they called I was bribed within store credit. I never told I them would shop there again. LL please don't right things that are not true and in which they told me I was to receive the $300 in store credit 3 day ago. I have still not been taken off.

Do yourself a favor, shop somewhere with some honesty and integrity they do not make good on their end believe me. When they transfer you someone named ** this person never called me and never sent the in-store credit. This problem could have been easily avoided and cost me over $500 and my men had to take a 2 day sit at home (no Pay) that helped their families. LL keep the lies coming. P.S. It's nothing to with the product it had to with the shop not taking the time to check the (lot) and giving a $2000 order the care it deserves. Smoke and mirrors.

Company Response 05/10/2012:

LL Response: We spoke with the customer today after several missed phone calls between both parties. We feel the pallet received did in fact have some boxes included that were not a match for the lot delivered. This would have been unknown at the time of receipt. We explained that Customer Care asks a series of questions to uncover the problem, but in this case the customer was out of patience and found little help in answering questions. He agreed the agent knew little about the whole story because he was in a rush to correct the problem. I had the team in a meeting to drive a customer service initiative to improve service, so it would have been appropriate for the agent to ask for a call back number in this rare instance where coverage was not available a training initiative. After speaking with the customer they agreed and became very frustrated by the project delay caused by the 9 boxes in question. LL has since made this situation better and achieved customer satisfaction. No matter where you source materials this can happen no matter how big or small the order may be. We happen to sell more flooring than anyone else and instances like this one are a rarity. Thousands of transactions occur each day successfully and with a great deal of satisfaction from price, quality, service, and support before, during, and after the sale. The customer will be returning for another purchase and a second opportunity for them to see how well our “normal process” works. The customer also understood bamboo can have color variations as most natural products do, so we addressed the problem and turned a negative situation into a positive experience.

Company Response 05/11/2012:

LL Response to Bamboo concerns: We spoke with the customer and corrected the error with the mixed product, and the customer very satisfied with our response. We have taken action to resolve other concerns mentioned and always appreciate customer feedback. Thousands of transactions occur each day without the slightest problem, but when something goes wrong where LL is responsible, we make it right. They will return for future purchases and it's from this kind of repeat business we earn a customers trust when making good on a bad situation.

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUBURN, MAINE -- DO NOT USE LUMBER LIQUIDATORS! I purchased strand bamboo flooring by Morning Star from the Auburn, Maine store. It was in stock. I went in intending to purchase another product and was steered to this particular bamboo by a salesman. I asked at the time of sale if there was anything I needed to know about the product, this is a standard question I ask about everything I purchase for the remodel. He said the only thing was the addition of an underlayment pad which my installer used. My installer started laying and discovered his nailer was causing dimpling. He called LL and Corporate stated dimpling has been an ongoing problem and to use a 50P nailer.

The installer went out and got a 50P nailer and again there was pronounced dimpling though not quite as bad. This time I called Corporate and was transferred to **. She had a well-rehearsed attitude issue and told me we should have glued it down, but she would speak with her supervisor. I told her the website says nail or glue. I received a letter yesterday. After 5 days of trying to speak with someone higher up in customer service, that stated we should have pre-drilled and then nailed.

They also threw in we used more than 50% of the product which is completely false. Lumber Liquidator's letter stated they would not take any responsibility. Needless to say my installer, who has a stellar reputation that has been sullied by LL is furious. BTW he has laid 1600 sf of bamboo from another supplier in my house without issue. Lumber Liquidators is not a good company they have foisted a defective product on the public rather than dealing with their supplier as a reliable company with pride would do.

Absolutely Avoid This Store -- They Sell Absolute Junk And Rejects
By -

AUBURN, WASHINGTON -- This is a very brief abstract of my experience with Lumber Liquidator (LL) here in Auburn WA: Last year I purchased a 3" Patagonian Mahagony that came with worm holes, splits, and bad milling (almost 1/16Th milling difference). When I went back to tell the about it they told me "oh nobody told you that this is a cabinet type Hardwood?" I said "no and I'm half way through installation" (do it your-self-er). I tried to return the defects but they would not refund it. They said they would sell me more of the better quality, for a Dollar less per Square foot. The one they gave me was of the same bad quality.

My next experience happen this year helping a friend to purchase about 600 sq ft of Brazilian Teak. We took a sample from the wall priced at $5.99 per Sq ft and liked the color and called to place the order. When we placed the order they did not say anything about "seconds" or "Odd Lot" or "reject", we ordered what we have taken as a sample and the salesman/Manager ** told me, due to my past unpleasant experience with the "Patagonian Mahogany", he will give my friend a special discount ($2.99/Sq ft) and he said "but it will take three weeks to ship from VA."

Three weeks passed and no Teak. He ** apologized that the truck was to full to ship and it would take another two to three weeks. The delivery came after 16 days with 400 Sq Ft instead of 530 sq ft and being SO GRACIOUS he delivered them to the House last Thursday. Yesterday we examined the boxes and found a label on every one of them saying "ODD LOT", we open three of them and pull few from each, and to our HORROR we found every plank with a WAX Marker mark right where the defect is.

The Defects are ranging from bad Surface Milling's to bad finish, to cavities...YOU NAME IT! We pulled more from other boxes only to realize that all the boxes contained REJECTS by somebody who bought them and returned them all marked. We contacted the store (** who was not available) and we talked to ** who said he cannot do anything about it and we should call tomorrow and talk to **, even though he located the order ** and can see all the details.

My friend received a call back from ** who, when confronted with the quality of the Teak, did not even offer to rectify the order, he listened silently, then he indicated he will get the trucking co. to remove the boxes from the house and just a minute ago my friend called me confirming the credit refund. We will be contacting all who have similar experience with LL to file a Class Action Lawsuit and joins other Class Action Lawsuits nationally listed by Googling "Class Action Lawsuit against National Lumber". Our goal is to stop LL from deceiving customers as to the quality of their product and prevent LL from damaging others in WA and other States.

Company Response 03/15/2010:

Our company sells a large variety of products from top of the line flooring, to odd lot flooring, but the consumer is never misled and the prices and policies are clearly marked.

The complaint does not match the stores accounting of the transaction and our invoice clearly states what to do if you feel dissatisfied with service, price, or quality.

I would like to add that ODD LOT stickers require no examination of the box to find them - They are bright fluorescent green and clearly visible. The markings on the boards are from quality checks performed at the time of production identifying less than perfect material.

Your invoice clearly states the quality of the product purchased and even though this is a non-returnable item, the store not only delivered product, but also collected the return in an attempt to work with you because you were not satisfied. The store clearly divulged proper information at the time of purchase with a signed invoice, so your claim goes back to reading the invoice. If you want a high quality product we suggest you avoid the odd lot section and buy first grade material.

We sell to thousands of satisfied customers everyday and encourage customers to make an educated purchase by looking at prices, quality, warranty information, and reading the invoice so you know exactly what you're buying. We're sorry to hear your experience differs from that of many others and LL absorbed the $500 delivery / collection expenses in your case seeking your satisfaction.

Do Not Buy From Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DO NOT BUY FROM THEM AND TELL ALL YOUR FRIENDS!!! All the reviews here could be my review. They will find any excuse not to pay. Crooked company. There is no doubt that the wood is bad -- they found a way not to pay. I special ordered some oak flooring and it took a month. It arrived and about halfway through the first box the wood was warped, all different widths and thickness and some were even chewed up. I told my contractor to do the best he could thinking I would deal with a refund later.

Well after 2 months of ignored email, and not returned voice mail calls, they sent me a copy of the instructions which in few small print says that if any wood is installed that is defective they will not pay for anything. Be very aware of these shysters. My contractor had told me that they will find some reason not to pay and he was right. Big companies don't give a **. I really want 0 stars.

This was my delusional review when I started the process: I have been waiting a year to have a hardwood floor. I finally ordered the wood and it took 2 months acclimated in air conditioning and 40% humidity until my very qualified installer put it in. He struggled with it because the wood was broken, the widths were different sizes, almost all the pieces were warped so they had to be nailed from the top, and even one end was a different size than the other end. I have missed work just to have this ** put in. I am hoping that Lumber Liquidators will refund all my money and reinstall it and in the meantime I will have to deal with an ugly floor.

Do Not Use Them - They Will Not Honor A 30 Year Warranty After 5 Months Post Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HARTFORD -- Let me get it out of the way and say you get what you pay for. I'm a Connecticut Resident and have experience in wood finishing. The Bell Hickory Hardwood boards were installed earlier this year. About 2 months ago, the hardwood floors, which are refinished Bellawood Handscraped Hickory, started to crack in multiple areas. Before I purchased from LL (Lumber Liquidators), the company assured me the "chemical finish process" these solid wood boards go through make the wood much more durable than that which is not refinished. Needless to say, I filed a complaint with LL about 7 weeks back and asked them to fix the cracking boards.

As I have experience working with wood finishes, I understand the physics of polyurethane, moisture content, and the effects of relative humidity on woods of varying species. After 7 weeks and 2 inspectors sent from LL, an email came through stating they find my use of water and soap to clean the floors is against policy. If LL actually cared about their product and the consumer, they would know polyurethane does not allow water to penetrate into the substrate, in this case, wood. Water VAPOR does.

The 1st inspector they sent out, yeah, he said it's definitely a manufacturer defect. So LL called a 2nd company to send another inspector who said, "Oh, you use water to clean?" What do they want you to clean anything other than sand off with?!?! They sent me an email today telling me they cannot cover their own defective product and wanted me to sign a contract within 5 days of receiving it which will give me $500 store credit. In exchange, I cannot say anything to anyone about this and the matter would have to be confidential so that the company saves face. $500? Really? I'll never buy anything from them ever again.

Top of Page | Next Page >
[ X ]

Find the Right Company for Your Home Improvement Project

Get a Quote