[X]

Maggiore


3 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible customer service! Stay away!
Posted by AgnesBrande on 01/06/2011
We rented a car from Maggiore for our holiday in Italy in July 2010. Everything went fine until we had an accident, and customer service was absolutely terrible after that, and still is. I am still trying to make them answer questions and pay for some of the extra expences they caused us, and that they promised to pay for. Some examples here:
- they do not reply when you call them (i must have called them 50 times before I got through to someone who could tell us what to do)
- they could only offer us to tow the damaged car away, not to transport us to a place we could get a new car. As we were in the middle of nowhere, this made things really difficult for us
- when we after many hours managed to get to another city to get a car, they didn't have any, despite telling us on the phone that they did
- When we then spent the rest of the day to get to Rome, they got us a car that could not fit the whole family

etc. etc. I can't write it all, because it still makes me so upset.

And that was not the en of it. We were promised that they would reimburse us for our expenses, but after 4 MONTHS of emailing and calling them again and again, they told us that they would not do so after all.

I can only say: Never, ever, ever use Maggiore!!!


     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by leet60 on 2011-01-06:
I lived and traveled extensively in Europe for 7 years. I am often puzzled as to why tourists rent vehicles as the public transportation system in Europe is nothing short of amazing in my opinion. Easy access, low cost, and you can go literally anywhere and be within blocks of a bus, tram or train stop.
Close commentsAdd reply

Fiumicino Airport Rome
Posted by Niknac on 07/29/2010
Same complaint as previously posted.
Keep well away from Maggiore at Fiumicino Airport Rome.

Had a reservation for a station wagon at 10:30 am. Arrived on time but it took 1.5 hours to get to the desk, to be told our reserved car was unavailable and only a Fiat Punto was available (a super mini) for a family of 5 plus luggage.

The Rep seemed to take pleasure in recounting horror stories of the bad service he and his company deal out every day.

After an extended discussion/complaint/argument I asked to see the Manager. I was then told a Van (?) was available but at least it had 5 seats.

My insurance wasn't recognised, nor my credit card, ending up paying cash at twice what I had originally agreed just to get out and start the holiday.

The family in front of me had a nightmare situation, where the representative wouldn't issue a baby car seat. They were told to go to the nearest Mall and buy their own and to reclaim the expense through their Insurance.

When I got to the garage/ collection point I saw 4 baby seats on the floor of the office ?

Don't bother complaining, my telephone calls and emails have gone unanswered

Keep well away
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by NationalCarRental on 2010-08-06:
I apologize for the issues you experienced and I assure you that we would be more than happy to address them. Email us at Internationalcustserv@nationalcar.com with your full name, contact information and the rental agreement number.

- Elizabeth with National Car Rental
Close commentsAdd reply

Warning before dealing with Maggiore
Posted by Bunny33 on 03/05/2010
ROME, ITALY -- I would warn anyone considering renting a car from Maggiore in Rome to be careful as they have shown dishonnesty in their dealings. Here is copy of the E-mails. They have not responded to my last reply:

Dear Mr. Giada Liotto,

I forgot to mention the charge on my Visa card was Euro 77.03 but only the inappropriate charge for fuel (E 45.55) has been given an explanation. What was the other unapproved charge of Euro 31.48?

Dr. J Sylvain

Dear Mr. Giada Liotto,
>
> I do not doubt you refilled the tank with fuel but this is not the point. When I signed the contract I was told the tank was 1/2 full and I needed to bring it back 1/2 full not to incur any charges. I brought back the car in that state and should not have been charged for filling the reservoir. Unfortunately your system doesn't allow for verification since there is no attendant in the garage when you take possession or return the car. I frequently rent cars during my travels and never encountered such a system. Usually verification of the car status and any pending charges are settled when the car is returned and it was a nasty to surprise to have charges put on my Visa card without any explanation. I made the mistake of trusting that Maggiore was an honest company and I have now changed my opinion. If I do not receive the refund I am due, I will certainly advise anyone planning a trip to Italy to avoid your company. I will also place this information on Trip Advisor and similar sites to alert fellow travellers about fraudulent practices at Maggiore.
This is ruining an otherwise excellent experience with the car.
>
> Dr. J Sylvain>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From:
> To: "Jacques"
> Sent: Thursday, January 07, 2010 9:59 AM
> Subject: Invoice n°0920268041 rental agreemnt ROT 3103A
>
>> Dear Mr Sylvain,
>>
>> as per your e-mail dated 1st November 2009, we are sorry to inform you
>> that we cannot refund the amount of € 45.55 charged for the fuel charge, as requested. In fact, as per our records, at rental start the car had the 33 litres of fuel and was returned with 31 missing litres. As per our Car Rental General Conditions, you have been correctly charged for the missing fuel. In attached you can view the copy of the receipt of the refuelling that made our renting location :
(See attached file: Receipt fuel_plateDX300HL_ROT3103A_.tif)
>>
>> Kind Regards

>> Giada Liotto
>> Relazioni Clienti
>> Maggiore Rent spa
>>
>> Via di Tor Cervara, 225 - 00155 Roma
>> +39 0622456014
>> mailto:Giada. Liotto@maggiore. it - http://www.maggiore. it
>>
>> I rented a car from your company, a Mercedes (Plate #DH300HL), from Oct 19-27, 2009. An unexplained charge of Euro 77.04 has appeared on my Visa account on Oct 27th, 2009. The car was returned in impeccable condition at 10:00 on the 27th,, one hour before it was due back, with the fuel tank slightly above the 1/2 mark (I had received the car with the tank at 1/2 and was asked to return the car with the tank at least 1/2 full to avoid extra charges). I was not informed of, nor did I authorize, any other charges and the car rental had been prepaid. Please justify the debit or refund the error.
>>
>> Thank you in advance for your prompt attention.
>>
>> Dr. J Sylvain

     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Andrea on 2013-03-04:
I have had a terrible experience with Maggiore car rental also.
I rented a car thru rentalcars.com and they use Maggiore. Do NOT use rentalcars.com either.
Not only did I get a terrible service when I got to the office, waited for a very long time, had to go off site to print a copy of my confirmation page because just providing them with a confirmation number was nit enough, BUT when I got back I got home, I received 3 additional charges from them. One because supposedly I returned the car 34 minutes late and they charged me an extra day. I was NOT late arriving at their center, it just took them an hour to check me in. Once checked in, I asked if everything was in order and they said everything is fine. I asked if i need something to reflect that the car was returned in time and everything was in order and they said no. 2 months later I get a charge that my credit card company says that unless I have proof that the car was returned on time they cannot do anything.
The other 2 charges are from 2 supposed tickets that I got while I had the car. I did not get any tickets.

Will never use this company again. Neither should you!
Posted by Bob on 2013-10-20:
Do not rent from Maggiore, we rented a car from them in Sicily. One of the plus points was that the car had a full tank of petrol and it was to be returned full. When returning the car we filled the car to the brim at at the nearest fuel station to the airport. Less than 5 km away. we parked the car with the fuel gauge showing full and handed the keys back. The next day I received an invoice from Maggiore for missing fuel. I was wondering how many others drivers get scamed like this?
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >