Mathews Ford

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
2 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Discriminates Against Autistic Children and Persons of Limited Income
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NEWARK, OHIO -- Mathews Ford
500 Hebron Rd, Newark, Oh

Discriminates Against Autistic Children!

Just ask their Manager "Brian". He actually stated that (after my daughter was already at the lot with CASH for a car and he KNEW that the car was for my Autistic 4 year old grandson who was with her and it was to get him to his medical and therapy appointments) that he was REFUSING to have his mechanics do a FIVE MINUTE tire change on the flat tire on a SURE SALE because they weren't going to be making enough money on the car! Exact quote "The salesman will only make $25 off that car."

Well, his attitude was arrogant and customer service skills were nonexistent. I am actually in California and had seen the car listed on Autotrader.com. It looked good and had fairly low miles for an older car. Based upon phone assurances from his salesman that it was in good mechanical and physical working order I had wired money then called and woke up my son (who had worked the night before and who had to work the following night) to drive his sister to the car lot. This WAS a sure sale if all went well.

So they arrived to find a car with a flat tire and a manager who refused to have it changed. Just then my son's starter went out on his car so her called for a tow.

Clearly (and I could tell when I actually called and talked to the manager) they felt that my daughter's business was not worth the bother. And the fact that the car was needed to get an Autistic child to his therapy, medical appointments and school made no difference. Nor did the fact that, based upon the assurances of THEIR salesman that the car was in good mechanical and physical condition (that would include FOUR inflated tire), my son had been awoken with little sleep and would get no sleep before HE had to go back into work.

Furthermore, the manager "Brian" presumed (because I was a female I suppose) that I did not realize that, with the high power tools available to them, it would take approximately 5 minutes to change that tire and tried to tell me that his mechanics could not take the "time" to do so.

SEVERAL times "Brian" quite ARROGANTLY (yes one CAN tell when the other person is on the phone) told me that they were not making "money" on this car and EMPHASIZED that. I made certain to tell him that wasn't the point, good customer service was the point. He made a point of telling me that the salesman would "only make $25 on this sale". I doubt his truthfulness. If that were the case, this vehicle would already be out to auction.

But here is the manager's BIG mistake. The not wealthy young mother of the disabled child is a Disability advocate at the who knows a LOT of people and who speaks at the State and National level. YES, the young lady that the manager of Mathews Ford (yes, YOU Brian) thought was too unimportant to change a tire for, whose mother you insulted on the phone, who you made it ABUNDANTLY OBVIOUS WAS NOT WORTH YOUR TIME AND WHOSE POOR LITTLE BUSINESS YOU DID NOT EVEN WANT....
IS A NATIONAL DISABILITY ADVOCATE
WHO WILL BE SPEAKING AT A NATIONAL CONVENTION IN MARYLAND THIS SUMMER.

Nice going Brian! You REALLY know how to alienate people. You see, not ALL important people APPEAR important or have money. Not ALL well connected people are obvious to you. So, you choose to alienate someone and show your true discriminatory colors to the mother of a disabled child because you ASSUMED that NOTHING would ever come of it. Well, you were WRONG, and this review is just the BEGINNING of letting others know that MATHEWS FORD DISCRIMATES AGAINST DISABLED INDIVIDUALS!

After talking to you personally, I am SHOCKED by your lack of professionalism and the lack of customer service on the part of Mathews Ford.

I do NOT recommend Mathews Ford to ANYONE seeking a car or for service on their vehicle.

Anyone who would mistreat disabled/disadvantaged children is NOT someone whom I would want to either buy a vehicle from or who I would want to service my vehicle.
     
Read 16 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

unhappy999 on 2012-05-11:
I agree with some of this review but not all of it. I don't know how they could sell a car with a flat tire so it doesn't really make sense to my why they wouldn't change it. As far as it being discrimination for the disabled child, I don't see that at all. I don't see how or why that would make any difference if the sale went through or didn't go through. It wasn't their fault your son wasn't going to get much sleep and that his starter went bad so I'm not sure why that is in the complaint. Maybe I am missing something, but I don't see any discrimination at all and I do not agree with your last sentence about a disabled child being mistreated in this situation.
clutzycook on 2012-05-12:
I agree. Personally, I wouldn't agree to buy a car until after I had a test drive, so a flat tire would have been a real deal breaker. I don't know if there was any discrimination here. A car dealership is a business and in this economy, they can't afford to get caught up in sentiment.
GenuineNerd on 2012-05-12:
Car dealers do tend to frown upon cash buyers because they make a lot of money off financing, due to agreements that most dealers have with the banks. Hence the comment "I will only make $25 on this sale". Same story if a customer goes into a car dealership with a pre-approved loan obtained by the customer instead of the dealer, and the loan is in the form of a cashier's check. Some car dealers tend to make more profit on financing and extended warranties than on the vehicles themselves.
jktshff1 on 2012-05-12:
Poor service, yes, but I don't see discrimination from what was posted.
Inat on 2012-05-12:
not discrimination. Discrimination would be "Oh, you have a disabled child? Please leave, we don't want your business". In this case it seems a lot of things were in play nad there might have been some misunderstandings. I guess I don't quite believe they wouldn't change the tire. . .
oldisgood on 2012-05-12:
just like everyone else, I see no discrimination. It is only in the mind of the poster. Also, I don't buy the part about the flat tire. How could you buy the car and leave with it if it had a flat tire??? I feel something is missing
trmn8r on 2012-05-12:
I admire that you are a "disability advocate," however I do not agree that autism or any other disease figures into your complaint or that a child was mistreated in any manner. There is no discrimination here.

Did you wire money directly to the dealer? A used car sale is as-is, where-is, and it is always wise to fully inspect a car prior to buying. There are many nice cars on Autotrader, but not surprisingly some stinkers as well.
madconsumer on 2012-05-12:
WOW, what a horrible ordeal!!

hopefully the mother will be able to tell this story everywhere to warn other perspective buyers about this.

very helpful review!!
BigAl on 2012-05-12:
What happens a lot of times in reviews is that only part of the story is stated. Sometimes you have to read between the lines. The OP made the statement that there was not much profit on the car sale according to the manager. I ask myself, "Why would this subject even come up?" The only plausible reason is that the OP wanted the dealership to REPLACE AT NO COST the flat tire. There is no mentioning of repairing the tire or installing the spare. Just my opinion.
spiderman2 on 2012-05-12:
It sounds like the dealership treated your daughter very poorly and she should take your money and shop elsewhere. There are plenty of used cars out there. However, I disagree that they did this because your grandson is autistic. Please do not play the autism card where it does not belong. Having a child with autism does not entitle you to special treatment from others period. What we ask for from other people is understanding when our child's behaviors may differ from the norm and not to stare and give dirty looks when things start going south. I have an autistic pre-teen so I have been around this block. To throw out accusations of discrimination against a child who was not involved in the transaction is inaccurate. I never had a car dealer ask me what I was going to do with my car.
jktshff1 on 2012-05-12:
Just a thought, if the car was paid for and title transferred prior to th op's arrival, it was no longer the "responsibility " of the dealer.
Right, not in any shape form or fashion.
copper_works_ on 2012-05-12:
I find this odd "But here is the manager's BIG mistake. The not wealthy young mother of the disabled child is a Disability advocate at the who knows a LOT of people and who speaks at the State and National level."

In our area the disability advocates are a very close group of people, they would know the in and outs of transportation for therapy and medical treatment for "not wealthy young mothers."

In addition, all the mother of the child would have to say is I'm looking for a decent car to her advocate contacts. And probably have 10 people say I know someone/dealership you can trust.

Seems to me something is being left out here.
trmn8r on 2012-05-12:
This review is a helpful reminder that when buying a car or anything used that you see online, one must inspect whatever it is before committing to buy.

It also serves to remind used car buyers that any work a seller puts in to correct deficiencies (which ALWAYS exist in a used car) comes out of the seller's profit. Therefore, sellers typically put the absolute minimum of work in prior to the sale. If you can't negotiate a repair prior to settling on the price, your only recourse is (literally) to walk.
jktshff1 on 2012-05-12:
Great points trm
FoDaddy19 on 2012-05-13:
Was this poor customer service? Yes I think it was. What this discriminatory? Not in the least. I have a sneaking suspicion that your daughter would've been treated the same had her child not been autistic or had she not had a child at all. Nothing the OP mentioned gives any credence at all to the claim that her daughter/grandchild were discriminated against. To suggest that such an incident occurred, but offer no other proof tends to make me that there's more speculation than fact going on here.

As for the claim that the dealer/salesman is only making $25 on the deal. I can tell you, that it's entirely plausible. I sold cars for living at one point. And if there's not much/any gross margin in the deal, then the salesman's cut is what's called a "flat". A flat usually amounts from $0 to $100 for the salesman. So if the salesman was only making $25 on the deal, then he/she isn't really going to be motivated to do anything for you. I'm not saying it's right, but that's the way it is. Though I have *never* seen a car sold from a dealership without four inflated tires. It sounds to me like they just didn't want your business.
whythelongfaces on 2012-05-14:
I see nothing to indicate any type of discrimination. If the car was being sold AS IS, then I can see his point. Not worth losing anymore money. If not, the tire should have been fixed. But I am waiting on where the kid anything to do with it. Sales people generally do not care about your kids or what you are going to do with their property after you buy it. They just want to get it sold.
Close commentsAdd reply
Selling Totaled Cars
Posted by on
NEWARK, OHIO -- Hello everyone, if anyone is interested in a class action lawsuit against Mathew's Ford in Newark, OH 43055, please e-mail us and let us know.
We purchased a 1990 Ford Tempo about 1 week ago.

We were not considering a lawsuit until we just saw that we are not the only ones they have sold a dangerous car to. Here is the situation, the Ford Tempo was to be a backup car and we did not pay a lot of money for it as it is a wreck cosmetically. It ran when we got in the car, however, we noticed as my sister drove it up the driveway that there was something wrong with the back wheel, it looks like it is about to fall off.

My grandfather who has been a mechanic for many years looked at the car and the stabilizer bar is completely rusted away from the frame and the frame is completely rusted out, there is nowhere to reattach it to. My little sister could have been killed as the wheel is not attached to the car!

We called Mathew's Ford to find out if we could get our money back the very next day and they told us no it was sold as is, however, I believe there is a lemon law in Ohio that says you cannot sell a car that is not drivable meaning a totaled car! They would not even have anyone look at it and proceeded to tell us that their service team had never looked at the car to begin with!

Later in the week, the manager called us to tell us that the title came back saying the miles were unknown. I called the title company and they said it would be a problem if we were to sell the car, it would lower the value (which we would never sell that car as we would end up with a lawsuit) so I called them back to see if I could return it on that basis as we were not informed of that either. The manager, Tim, then contacted the general manager and he told us to take the car to the junk yard and bring in the receipt and see if they could refund us the rest of the money.

Our salesperson then called us from Mathew's Ford and said that the general manager was willing to work something out with us to sell us a stick shift trade in car that I already told them I did not know how to drive. I called our salesperson back and left a message for her to call us back because I had no one to teach me to drive a stick so we were not interested. I have yet to hear from her she has the day off today.

I called today because my grandmother wants the POS out of her yard and is threatening to call channel 6 news and the attorney general, so to save them face I called back to see if they would come tow it as I still do not have the title and the car can't be towed regularly because the bumper is duct taped on the car.

I called and talked to some other manager and he was very rude to me, I told him about the wheel ready to fall off and the whole story and asked if they could come pick it up. He then proceeded to ask me "What? Is it not driveable or something?" Well, I would say not unless they want a lawsuit after we flip the car over in the snow because the wheel isn't attached and that is if we live through the accident! He was very rude and then told me "Well I don't have a tow truck." He then told me to call Wally's because that is who they use and he doesn't know how much it will cost me to do that as it will have to be towed by flatbed. Well, should I have to pay for their mistake that could have been deadly?

You would think that they would be grateful that their mistake did not cost my little sister's life, instead they were very rude and blamed us for the whole thing.

We are to the point now that we are calling an attorney.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Soaring Consumer on 2009-01-08:
If you have photos, send them to the administrator and he will add them.

I hope you are compensated for the value of the car plus punitive damages because it put your family's life at risk. It sounds like this company should be shut down.
Anonymous on 2009-01-08:
The car sounds like a POS. Why didn't you have your mechanic grandfather inspect the car before purchase? I believe the lemon law would only apply if you had a written warranty of some kind.

'As Is' basically means exactly that.
dan gordon on 2009-01-08:
I also agree that the time to inspect the car was before you bought it, but there is the legal principle that the product has to be usable. A judge might feel that an 18 yr old car had already had its useful life already. Let us know what happens.
spiderman2 on 2009-01-08:
http://www.lemonlaw.com/ohio-lemon-law-questions.html Here is a link that might be useful.The lemon law only for used cars only applies to vehicles with less than 18,000 miles. there are some other avenues you could possibly pursue though. That being said, it is a nearly 20 year old car that was sold as is. You really should have had your mechanic grandfather look at it before you paid for the car. Also, you can try to sue for what might have happened, but juries and judges can only make decisions on what actually happened.
tnchuck100 on 2009-01-08:
Many jurisdictions will support the theory that the vehicle must be fit for the purpose it was intended. Many states also require a dealer sale of a used vehicle must pass inspection otherwise the sale can be rescinded.
Anonymous on 2009-01-08:
Good point, Chuck, but I can't fathom anyone buying a used vehicle without a current inspection. I suppose that can be 'fixed' by the dealership in question, as well.
Justusryan on 2009-01-08:
Not that this has anything to do with the OP stiry, but I live RIGHT NEXT to this dealship and in fact I can see it from my window as I type. Small world, no?
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >