Maytag Corporation Refrigerators - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 9 ratings and
67 reviews & complaints.
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Quality
By -

PENNSYLVANIA -- I was always a GE Hotpoint person when it came to appliances and had a GE refrigerator for 21 years when it broke. I needed a new one and with all the commercials about how great Maytag I was open to something new. I went to Sears and being a single mom they had a Maytag for sale at a reasonable price I could afford. It was the size I needed with a large freezer. It seemed the perfect size having two boys who like to eat. Now 2 1/2 years later the motor went in the freezer and needs to be repaired.

I cannot believe it, I only had it over two years when the last one I had lasted 21 years. I had spine surgery last year, so I have been out of work for a year. I cannot afford a new refrigerator and cannot even afford the repair for this one. I tried to find who is the President and CEO of Maytag, but am not having any luck at that.

I NEED a refrigerator, but how do I get this one fixed. I will keep trying to find a name so I can write to the President and CEO with this complaint and hopefully (although I am not hopeful) I can get some help. I also cannot believe the poor quality of this appliance which means this company has gone downhill and all those commercials are a lie, being a Maytag does not mean it will last or be good quality.

Replies
Maytag Refrigerator/Freezer
By -

LAKES REGION, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- We bought a Maytag Model MZD2666KEB side-by-side fridge/freezer, with water and ice on the door, last November 2006. Our nightmare started in July 2007. Here we are in the middle of October and I am still have the SAME problem that started in JULY. At first the refrigerator side, of our side-by-side, started freezing all the food. We made the call to have a service call made and was told 1-1/2 weeks. We had to throw away all the frozen spoiled food and buy the minimum food that would not be ruined by the freezing for the week and a half, try that with 3 growing kids. We dealt with it.

Service guy comes and informs us that he has to order a part and it will be another 2 weeks, because of backorder, to get the part. What are you going to do? We wait the 2 weeks and no service guy. WE have to call THEM to find out, we are told, the part is backordered and it MAY be in, in a couple more weeks.

I first called the service center on July 20th, 2007, with the problem of the refrigerator freezing food. Service technician came on August 7th with the technician not repairing the problem but ordering a thermostat part. The technician returned on September 6th, 43 days from the first call, replacing the thermostat. In the 43-day period the problem of freezing was intermittent causing additional food to be spoiled.

In the meantime the fridge side is working correctly on and off. The only way we knew the problem was starting to come back again was when the water on the door would stop working. Now, we are freezing ice to put into a cooler to keep some food around (milk, eggs, mayo, etc.) By the way, have you ever seen mayonnaise or eggs after they have been frozen and thawed??

It turns out the repair guy for our area was on vacation and they didn't have anyone covering his calls. After some heated phone calls they sent out another guy who installed the part and left. Everything seams fine. A couple of weeks go by, the fridge is well stocked again and the nightmare reaches a new low. The water on the door stops working one evening, the sign of bad things coming. I go to bed with the intention of calling service in the morning. 30 days from replacing the thermostat, on Saturday, October 6th, a major problem occurred.

Next morning I go to the kitchen to make some coffee. (I don't do well without coffee in the morning.) I hear a strange sound coming from the fridge and open the door to the fridge. When I open the door to the fridge a FLOOD of water, the kind you see in cartoons, comes streaming out of the fridge flooding the kitchen, into our living room, a bedroom and into the basement. I'm talking LOTS and LOTS of water. It seems the plastic around the water filter froze and broke, so water was pouring into the inside of the appliance!

The wood flooring in the living room is buckled and popping, carpet in the bedroom is molding and the basement has an INCH of water in it with the ceiling stained and ready to fall. The strange noise I heard was water spraying into the INSIDE of the fridge. The food and water filter in the refrigerator froze, cracking the water filter and streaming water into the inside of the appliance and flooding the interior of our house. The food and water filter in the refrigerator froze, cracking the water filter and streaming water into the inside of the appliance and flooding the interior of our house. It was happening most of the night.

Of course all this happens on Saturday morning with the Service Department closed on the LONG Columbus Day weekend, so the Service Department (oxymoron) is not in until TUESDAY. The technician doesn't get here until THURSDAY orders parts and won't be back for A WEEK AND A HALF!!! Partly because parts had to be ordered and because HE WAS GOING TO BE ON VACATION FOR A WEEK. If you can top that it would make ME feel better that someone else is worse off.

I never had a Maytag refrigerator before and with all the problems would really have to be forced to buy one again. If I hadn't spent so much money on this fridge I would take it outside and set it on fire. The saga goes on.

UPDATE 10/23/07-- As the story goes... I called with Maytag directly today and spoke to a great Customer Service person and told my saga. She was very helpful and heard my story. She extended my warranty for a year and submitted my name to another department for a damage report, we'll see where that goes. As I was talking with her the service tech was here replacing about every part on the refrigerator. It seems the water problem was caused by the water filter that froze and cracked, spraying water inside the fridge causing the flood. I'm crossing my fingers to see if this repair lasts. The story goes on...

Replies
Maytag H2O Refrigerator is a lemon
By -

MODESTO, CALIFORNIA -- When I saw this refrigerator in Home Depot I was thrilled; it was the refrigerator I was waiting to be designed. The thrill is gone. In the first nine months of ownership we had four service calls for the ice maker. The service technician replaced the ice maker three times, the last time telling us it was a redesigned ice maker (Maytag had finally figured out there was a problem with the original design.)

For seven months no more problems. Then the evening of July 3rd, 2007 the control board went out. Of course, we couldn't get service until the end of the week, three days after the control board went out. Did I mention that when the control board goes out, it doesn't keep the refrigerator or freezer cold? When the repairman came out and diagnosed the problem we were told it would be 8-10 days before the part would come in, then probably a couple more days before they could schedule the install.

(I guess this is our fault, because we purchased an extended warranty from Home Depot. Turned out Home Depot only sells the warranties, they aren't the ones who actually provide the service. If I had extended my warranty with Maytag, we would have been able to call our local service technician, who carries the part on his truck.)

Anyway, the part came in early and we were without a refrigerator for only ten days. This was one time I was really grateful that my husband didn't listen to me -- when I told him we should get rid of the old Kenmore that was plugged in out in the garage! I contacted Maytag and related to them the problems I have had with this refrigerator and they said they would not replace it unless a service technician said it was unrepairable.

Like others who have written reviews of Maytag appliances I have and still own a few other Maytag appliances and have had only a couple of service calls, and that was after the appliances were over 15 years old! Unless Maytag does something to compensate us for this lemon we're stuck with, I won't be buying another Maytag appliance. I guess the Maytag repairman was too lonely, so Maytag had to do something to remedy that!

Replies
A Lemon Disguised as a Refrigerator
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- This is my third Maytag refrigerator. I had the first one for 18 years without any problems until it died. I had the second one for 9 years and had no problems, replacing it with a larger model. (My parents had an "International Harvester" that was working fine after 40 years, when they passed away and it went to the junk heap in excellent shape inside and out). This one, Model MTB1956GEW, is three years old and has been a problem practically from the first day.

The freezer door opens whenever you close the bottom door. (The company told us that was "normal". Since when?) The drawer fronts fell off because they never did fit properly and I now hold them on with strapping tape. It leaks on the floor, especially in the summer. It freezes things on the back part of all the shelves in the main refrigerator, no matter how you adjust the temperature.

Last summer, the main shelves, which are split into two sides, starting drooping toward the middle. When it got really bad my husband and I removed all the items to discover that the bracket in the back holding up all the shelves had come away from the back wall. The screws holding up the bracket were only into the wall by about 1/16", so they were much too short to do any good. It was a wonder that the shelves stayed up as long as they did.

We called all over New York City to find someone to do the repair, but no one knew what to do. I contacted the store, but they were no help. I wrote directly to the President of Maytag, sent pictures of the shelves, the screws and explained the problem. I got a phone call about three weeks later from a woman who left a message on my machine but was never there when I called back. I finally wrote again, a nasty letter, and this same woman called and left another message. I kept calling at all hours until I spoke to her.

She told me, "You broke the refrigerator. You put too much weight on the shelves." I nearly laughed out loud. Who, in the middle of summer, doesn't have the shelves full of water, juice, tea and lemonade? (Besides, I am Italian, and my refrigerator shelves have been overloaded since I've had my own home, more than 30 years now.) I said, "It didn't come with instructions about weight limits." And she said "It's not our problem." My husband and I live alone, (no kids) and I take very good care of everything. I was outraged, but there was nothing I could do.

Nevertheless, we got resourceful, went to the hardware store and bought longer screws and, lo and behold, we fixed it our selves. This year the freezer stopped freezing and had to be fixed twice. The food still freezes and we still have the leaks on the floor.

Maytag has been bought by the same conglomerate that bought out Amana, Hot-Point, Jenn-Air and just about everyone else. The new headquarters was in the process of shutting down Maytag's main plant and administrative offices and everyone was losing their jobs. There is no bottom line about customer service or appliance quality, as might have been the case 20 years ago. Now, Maytag is just a little jiggle on some corporate ledger that either makes money or not. The cheaper they can make the goods, the more some big muckity muck gets 100 million dollars for being CEO of a profitable meg-corporation.

Remember, almost all the big "brands" are now owned by the same outfit. You can't easily go get a "better" appliance, because quality isn't a consideration. In "Consumer Magazine" even the high end sub-zero refrigerators and "professional stoves" that cost thousands of dollars get lousy reviews. Sometimes they are worse than the cheap ones.

People can try to stay away from these major brands, as they are all the same except in name, but at some point, individuals and families don't have much choice when need a refrigerator, stove, dishwasher or washer/dryer. All are likely manufactured abroad and all are made as cheaply as possible. Let the poor stupid buyer be miserable. What do they care?

Replies
Ice2O refrigerator and A&E Service
By -

JUPITER, FLORIDA -- Our $2,600 Maytag Ice2-0 refrigerator, purchased from Home Depot has been a horror story. Maytag shipped us three refrigerators - each one damaged - (broken shelves, parts hanging off) but the final one only had a small dent on the side so accepted a small credit and we kept it.

It stopped working over a month ago, still within warranty. We called for service expecting service commensurate with the $2600 price tag, but were sorely disappointed. Our ice door was opening and closing every 10 seconds literally and the noise was driving us and our dog crazy. It took ten days for an appointment with every service department Maytag referred us to.

We asked them to expedite, they told us they could not expedite unless the cooling stopped. The next day the cooling stopped, THEN A&E claimed they could not expedite for any reason. The tech arrived with no parts - a recent change to their operating procedure now has them stocking nothing and express shipping everything. He had to order them. Parts came 3 days later, but it was another 10 days (13 total) before we could schedule an appointment.

The same Tech came back - the part didn't fix it - he said that he needed another part. He ordered it, and told us to tell the service people to call his cell phone and he would come right out to replace the part. No, customer service said - they can't do that even though the tech requested it. It was another week before we could have an appointment. Our appointment day (Saturday) came and went with no tech - I called and they said there was no tech working today, so they'll have to rebook us for Wednesday. At this point - I will not buy another Maytag, its QA process is terrible and its service is FAR below par.

Replies
Maytag does not honor their warranty!
By -

CANADA -- I am very frustrated with my efforts to get the Maytag corporation to take responsibility for a defective product. So frustrated in fact that I want everyone to know that the reputation for reliability and dependability is a big fat Maytag Myth! I purchased a brand new bottom freezer refrigerator from Future Shop in November of 2005. Like many other people I was taken in by the myth that a Maytag product was a quality product and thought that if I ever had a problem the corporation would stand behind their products.

From day one the refrigerator has been nothing but trouble for me. The freezer began to frost up and a thick layer of ice built up inside the freezer. The ice became so thick that the refrigerator part stopped working altogether resulting in the loss of all of the food that I had in there. I contacted Future Shop who told me that since it was over 30 days since I purchased the unit, they could not help me. I was told to call the number in my owners manual. I proceeded to call Maytag. Six phone calls later, I finally got someone to agree to come to my house to examine the unit.

To make a long story short, the first call I made was in March of 2006. Since that time the repair guy has been to my house four times, replaced just about every part that could be replaced in the refrigerator and the problem still exists. Now it is November and my refigerator is still not working. Maytag had informed me that the problem is not with their product but insists that I must be leaving the refrigerator door open. Hmmm. What a concept? If you can't fix the problem, blame the consumer! I never saw the Maytag man do that in any of the TV commercials.

The warranty stats that if they cannot fix the problem they will replace the unit. Maytag has refused to do this. They have refused to stand behind their products and honor their warranty. I am so angry that I have vowed to never purchase another Maytag product and I am making it my mission in life to get the word out to as many people as possible that this company sells crap and expects us to take the blame when things go bad. I am very glad to have had the opportunity to vent my frustraions about this experience and this company.

Replies
POOR SERVICE
By -

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- On sept 15, 2006 my ice maker in my new refrigerator stopped making ice. By Sunday the food defrosted in the freezer and the refrigerator was registering about 60 degrees. We lost a substantial amount of food ($200) and started with the frustrating endeavor of dealing with Maytag Services and Home Depot. We contacted Maytag services on September 18th and were told they would come out on 9/21 which they did and informed us that the compressor was bad. They then told us that they would be back on Mon 10/2 to replace the compressor.

On 10/2 we got a voice message (which we have all voice messages on tape) the they were cancelling due to sickness of the repairman. They then stated that they would be out on Wed 10/4 for which they never showed up or called to say they could not make it. They back pedalled at that point trying to say we were not at home (we had someone here all day long) and they rescheduled for Mon 10/9. They showed up and replaced the compressor and refrigerator worked great for about 15 hours at which time the compressor went out again and we again lost food ($100).

We called Maytag services on 10/10 and they were nasty and gave us numbers to call, which were independent Maytag service centers and told us we had to call and make arrangements for them to come out and fix our refrigerator. We made arrangements with Check Appliance Co. here in Los Angeles to come out on 10/11 at which time they did not show up either. When we called they said they would be out that day 10/12 and showed up at 8 pm that night to tell us that the compressor was out. Funny, we already knew this. They said they would have to order a new compressor and would be in touch with us on 10/13 to possibly install a new one.

We did not hear from them and we called on 10/14 at which time we were told that they had to order the part and would possibly have it late on Mon 10/16. We are now going on our 5th week of having no refrigerator and out a lot of money for food that has gone bad. When we asked about reimbursement for the food they told us that they stopped doing that in Jan 2006. We purchased the refrigerator on 5/14/06 from Home Depot store #6611. It is an Admiral-model # LTF2112ARW.

We have a case number at Home Depot where we have reported everything also. We have repeatedly asked for them to take back this refrigerator to no avail. Maytag services has been nasty, uncooperative and unwilling to help us in any way nor do they care that we have been without a refrigerator going on 5 weeks.

When we talked to the manager, **, at the Home Depot store we asked to return the refrigerator at which time he informed us that we needed a return authorization from Maytag. We do know that he could authorize the return which he did not. We want to return this for a FULL REFUND, and not a replacement. Maytag services has been rude and does not really care that we have been without a refrigerator this long.

Replies
Maytag Customer Service E-Mail
By -

PEABODY, MASSACHUSETTS -- Here is a copy of the e-mail that went back and forth myself and the service rep from MAYTAG..

Bill,

Here is my response to your letter and all the INCONSTANCIES with the crap I been fed from your customer service people and service tech.....you people should get together once in a while and get your sorry stories straight...

MAYTAG C.S.R.(bill)
It is unfortunate rust is occurring on your refrigerator. All door and
cabinet metal is treated in an eight-stage process. This system creates a
surface to which paint will most effectively adhere. A tough polyester
paint finish is then applied electrostatically. The paint is then baked
to a hard finish. The advantages of this process include resistance to
moisture and chipping.

ME...
blah blah blah, I am not interested in your poor design and usage of inadequate materials.

C.S.R..(bill)
Rust formation is caused by extended exposure to moisture and/or adverse
conditions(.etc etc etc YAWN)

ME....
Thanks for the science lesson. I live in the suburbs and have central AIR CONDITIONING not on the beach.

C.S.R...(BILL)
If the rust is severe, parts may need to be replaced and/or the product
may need to be refinished. We suggest contacting a business that
specializes in painting metal, such as an auto body shop.

ME...
This is EXACTLY the information I asked your service man for on 2 separate visits and about 10 calls to your customer service (which is the rudest most condescend bunch of people I have ever dealt with) NOT ONE person could answer it or even had the decency to get back to me with ANY info about rust..seemed to be a big MAYTAG mystery..

C.S.R...
If you would like a servicer to look at more than one appliance, we
would recommend mentioning this when scheduling the service appointment,
not during the service appointment.

ME...
LMFAO I asked him when he was so busy with his hands in his pocket after he PROPPED UP the blowdryer AND WAS PACING AROUND MY KITCHEN for 15 minutes waiting for freezer to defrost. yes, I can see why taking 2 steps 2 the right and peeking at a door( THE DISHWASHER HANDLE WAS A DISATER AREA AND NEVER WORKED RIGHT) while he had 15 minutes to pick his ears was such an inconvenience..MYBAD

C.S.R...
. This additional time would require delaying service

ME...

Lets talk about time here, TIME, BOTH TIMES your man came to call he arrived well after 500 PM while I had an 8 hour waiting period, that's unheard of these days I CALLED ALL DAY BOTH TIMES TO GET SUM TIME FRAME NO ONE HELPED OR CARED...even when he was late, no courtesy call. no one did anything. AFTER 5 WAS NOT PART OF THE TIME FRAME!!!not to mention ALL THE TIME ON HOLD I SPENT WHEN I CALLED YOUR SORRY EXCUSE FOR A CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE...

C.S.R...
After reviewing your file, we found that you had service on 06-30-2006
during which the technician documented that he replaced the seal on
your

ME..
no seal was ever replaced, he ran out of here when I asked him about the rust he kept saying THERE WAS NOTHING he or anyone can do about and I wasn't satisfied with that answer so I called customer service while he was her (AS I DID THAT AFTERNOON TRYING TO OBTAIN INFO ON THE RUST) because that wasYOUR(CUSTMER SERVICE ADVICE WAS) directions if he didn't have answe to a technical question he is to call and find out info) he wouldn't call to ask so I called them WHILE HE WAS HERE because he refused to give me ANY info about the rust except that THEY ALL DO IT!

C.S.R.(BILL)
We also found that you previously discussed your rust situation with an............

ME...
WHO NEVER GOT BACK TO ME WITH ANY INFO

C.S.R..
Your situation has been documented in your file with us. Again, we
apologize, but we're unable to assist you at this time.

ME..
how does it feel to be part of the rudest most condescending customer service team of any appliance division in this country? I am so down with this run-around crap, you sold your soul to the devil working for them, hope your satisfied.

C.S.R..(BILL)
We suggest contacting a business that
specializes in painting metal, such as an auto body shop.

ME...lmfao
Is this a joke? What body shop is

it that YOU USE to repair your products...you really should think before you tell people such idiotic things..

Me

Replies
Worst Refrigerator ever!
By -

NEW HAMPSHIRE -- In July of last year we purchased a side-by-side refrigerator from Maytag. From the very beginning we had problems. The doors started to rust, it took them almost seven months to replace the doors. In the meantime, several parts on the refrigerator had to be replaced. The freezer would be so cold that everything was getting frost on it, and the fridge part was so warm that we started to lose food. I had to have a repairman come to my home over seven times in one year!

As of yesterday, my ice maker has not worked properly in almost a month. They replaced the temperature part in the fridge, now the freezer is finally working correctly, but now the fridge is too cold and everything is freezing!!!! The water filter is frozen solid and the pipes behind the bottom drawer are also frozen. Last week they left me with my hairdryer attached to my extension cord, and told me to use them to thaw the fridge and it should work. The very next day after all my time, the fridge was frozen again.

I tried numerous times to get a new refrigerator, and Maytag wouldn't budge. They insist if it is repairable, they will fix it, not replace it. They gave me an extended warranty last year, and they said once it is over, I will not get anymore warranties unless I purchase it. I was very upset and spoke with a top supervisor who informed me that the warranty they gave me was a courtesy, and I should be thankful they gave it to me! Finally today, the place where I purchased my fridge called and told me that I could bring it back and they would let me get a different fridge. I feel that Maytag has low quality appliances, and no savvy with their customers!

Replies
Freon Leak in Refrigerator Less Than 7yrs Old
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Bought an upscale refrigerator model # MFI2568AES with all the bells & whistles. When the temperature dropped the alarm never let me know until it was too late. Repairman said the best thing to do was buy a new refrigerator because of the possibility of not being able to fix the leak. Need a new refrigerator, GUESS WHO IS NOT GETTING ANOTHER MAYTAG?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >