Preview Review

Next Review

Maytag Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Maytag Customer Service
By -

DENVER, COLORADO -- This comment is both a complaint and a compliment. First the complaint. Reconsider purchasing Maytag appliances especially when it comes to their delivery service and customer service departments. Appliances were delivered two days late. I was told they would be delivered on two separate days but they all came on the latter date. Poor communication but I can accept.

The delivery service is a joke. First they couldn't connect the microwave because of one tile that was in the way. The first solution was to leave the appliance on my counter until someone could fix it. I finally coaxed them to remove the one piece of tile knowing that it could crack but I knew it could be fixed if that had happened. Finally they mounted it. The next problem was inserting the free standing range where another full size range had been sitting. The new appliance would not fit.

To prove it to me, the young man gave it a hefty shove to show me that it would not fit. The appliance was left that way half in and half out but it also blocked the bottom door to the new refrigerator. I asked if he could move the refrigerator to access the freezer as my food was defrosting while they worked. Mockingly, he moved it. He said that I could insert all of the parts (shelving, etc) for the refrig where it was all taped up in a box. I found out later that this was part of his job.

He also did not level the refrig as it sticks out further at the bottom than the top by about 3 inches. That's not all. When I called Maytag customer service to complain about the new scratches on the range incurred by the delivery they would only schedule someone to come out for repair.

After the range was pulled out of the opening, it was discovered missing a foot causing it to wobble and the top front oven door was loose and made the lights turn on and off in the oven. So there were more problems than just the scratches. I was getting nowhere with her so asked to speak to a manager. She then told me that the manager agreed to replace the appliance and he would call me the next day to schedule delivery. I did not hear from him so made the call again to Maytag customer service.

The gal that answered the phone this time said there was no record of replacing the appliance but that she would only place a service call to repair the item. She would NOT let me speak to anyone else and said she was the only one I could talk to and there was only one solution and insisted on making a repair call. I then called Home Depot desperately trying to find someone to help me.

I spoke to the HD appliance manager and he referred me to his HD customer service who took care of the whole problem. She was sweet and patient and ensured that I would receive a new appliance and gave me the date that it would arrive. She also assured me that I would not receive the same delivery guys that I originally had. She talked with Maytag and made all of the arrangements for me. Now if that is not customer service, I don't know what is.

I am writing a letter to her manager giving her accolades. Good customer service is hard to find but she went the extra mile. They tell us to spend money to help the economy, but you know, I don't want to put any more money into the pockets of these jerks who don't deserve a job.

A lot of people are unemployed and I'm sure they could be trained and provide better customer service by far. Sorry Maytag. No recommendations from me. I hope you lose so much business where you don't need customer service employees. And your delivery service - maybe you would be better off building bridges. No customers for you to worry about there.

Resolution Update 06/21/2009:

Maytag stood behind their product. Their home office called me to inform me that a new range would be delivered and provided the delivery date for install. Thank you Maytag!

Replies
Advertisement
Freezers Should Be Recalled Too!!!
By -

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- In November of 2007, I decided to invest in an upright freezer for entertaining and holding things that would not fit in my refrigerator /freezer that came with the apartment. I have considered myself a savvy and informed consumer, and I always thought of Maytag as being dependable; which may be due to their subliminal advertising. Anyway, I scrimped and saved my money and bought the above model Maytag upright freezer online from Home Depot; another trusted entity. They delivered it, but I noticed that something was not right with the door handle, and had them take it back, and they rescheduled to bring me another.

It was beautiful and I was beside myself with shopping by bulk and then putting the food into my new freezer. It was nice and cold, and initially was very quiet, and was energy star rated. I had no problems with it for the first year, and then as if on cue, when the manufacturers warranty ran out, it began to make noise, first a little, and then you could hear the compressor come on, and shut down. While it was a little annoying, it still seemed to be tolerable.

Last week, I went in to get some ice. The freezer was cold, but I could hear some crackling inside somewhere, like moisture was hitting something hot. I pushed the light off, and through the little vents cut across the interior of the freezer, I could see a red hot coil. I freaked, and immediately disconnected the appliance and called Home Depot. Thank God I was home when that was happening! I have since read where people have lost everything to fires caused by these components! How terribly frightening!

Home Depot asked me if I had an extended warranty, which I hadn't; since I struggled as student to get the freezer itself. They said they would set me up with an appointment to have the Maytag repairman come out an look at it. When I asked how much the repair and charge would be, I was told that the repairman would go over that when he called to confirm the repair date; this coming Tuesday.

Then my Mom told me about the refrigerator recall, and how Maytag may have to replace my freezer for free; which I think they should! She had also purchased Maytag appliances (washer and dryer) from Home Depot, and wondered it there was something wrong there; which is why they have such great sale prices . . . because the appliances are "defective." That's an entirely different concept, but in light of things; completely plausible. So, this morning I called the recall line, and was told that they were only doing refrigerators, period.

I told them that it didn't make sense since the components manufactured were the same ones that went into the refrigerators and freezers! She gave me another number to call, and no one answered. I will try again tomorrow. I feel sad for the people who have lost everything due to their trust placed in a company's products known for their "dependability." Right!!!

To think that prior to this happening, I was going to buy a Maytag side by side, with automatic ice maker from Home Depot! EEK! Now after this experience, I will always buy an extended warranty for any major appliance! Maytag, when you get this complaint, please contact me right away!

Replies
Maytag Is A Fraud: Terrible Product Quality, Egregious Warranty Service
By -

SAN DIEGO, CA 92129, CALIFORNIA -- Maytag is an Total Fraud. I bought a Maytag M1010 whole-house A/C system from an authorized Maytag dealer. The AC failed to work with multiple defects. Maytag could not produce any local dealer who is willing to perform warranty service without me paying. After incurring $878 out-of-pocket expense for the diagnosis and repair (at the insistence of Maytag's insurance company), Maytag sent me a $35 refund check and claimed the rest is deductible. I filed a BBB complaint on Whirlpool because Maytag does not have an independent office after the 2006 acquisition.

After an 80 day wait, Whirlpool just notified me that my AC is NOT Maytag because the production had been outsourced to Nordyne. As a result, neither the product quality nor the warranty service is their responsibility. Can you believe this could happen to a major name brand?!

Do not buy Maytag products and don'€™t let the "€œlonely repairman"€ advertisement fool you. Maytag has horrific product quality and ridiculous customer service. After a six month warranty repair ordeal on my Maytag A/C system, I have just come to the shocking realization that Maytag might not actually exist as a physical entity. Its management/administration is handled by Whirlpool. Its manufacturing is decentralized and handled by the third parties (in this case Nordyne). Its warranty service is handled by insurance companies (in this case Equiguard).

So as a Maytag customer, I was actually dealing with a phantom operation. When I called Maytag Customer Service, I did not know I was actually talking to the insurance company who can'€™t care less.

So unless you want to repeat my experience, do not buy Maytag. Whirlpool is now the legal entity that superseded Maytag after its acquisition in 2006. Don'€™t buy Whirlpool either, because Whirlpool will not stand behind the brands it carries. I was told Maytag is just a brand they carry. Because its manufacturing is franchised to Nordyne, Whirlpool has nothing to do with either the product quality or service, nor can they compel Nordyne to respond to customer inquiries.

If you do not trust me, please go to www.my3cents.com or www.ripoffreport.com and type in either Whirlpool or Maytag to read the horror stories from hundreds of customers. BBB complaint has tripled to 1400 per year since Whirlpool acquired Maytag, from less than 500 cases per year.

Haibo

Here is my long story if you want to experience Maytag'€™s "Worry-Free Warranty"€.

I bought a Maytag M1010 whole-house A/C & furnace system in Jan 2007. In a moment of weakness in my heart, I was persuaded by Maytag'€™s sales presentation which promised:

(1) "Worry-free warranty, 10 years parts and labor"€: "The precision teamwork required to design, engineer and deliver superior products is a key component of Maytag'€™s appeal. Because of quality controls, such as computer-automated testing on each unit, Maytag home comfort equipment is produced right the first time to ensure worry-free performance."€

(2) "€œWorry-free warranty, 10 years parts and labor"€: "€œTo put you even more at ease, each Maytag system comes with an exclusive Maytag Worry-Free Warranty! Each M1010 Series product comes with a 10-year Worry-Free Warranty on both parts and labor, as well as Maytag's Dependability Promise. These impressive warranties set a new standard of assurance for comfort."€

(3) "€œMaytag Dependability Promise"€: "The Dependability Promise states that your entire unit will be replaced if the compressor or heat exchanger fails within the first five years of purchase (if originally installed with a matched Maytag indoor coil or air handler). The 5-year Dependability Promise is standard on the M1010 Series only."€

(4) "€œAdditional Maytag Promise (All capitalized in the original document)": "Complete customer satisfaction is our goal. If your Maytag heating product should ever require service, you can count on our NATIONAL NETWORK OF MAYTAG HVAC DEALERS. THESE HVAC-TRAINED EXPERTS KNOW YOU HEATHING SYSTEM AND ARE READY TO SERVE YOU. Toll-Free: 1-866-2MAYTAG."€

Looking at the "€œlonely repairman" picture on the sales literature, I thought I would be enjoying my worry-free A/C for the next 10 years. Little do I know Maytag is a total fraud who will break both the letters and the spirit of every promise, both verbal and written.

The A/C never worked. The first summer I turn it on, nothing happened. I call the Maytag dealer who installed the system. A guy came and refilled the Freon. In early April 2008, I turned on A/C, nothing happened. I called the same company and they had declared bankruptcy (even though they are still doing the same business with the same phone number and the same registered principal under a different company name). I thought I am just glad I purchase a brand-name product and Maytag would not be a fraud like its dealer. So started my 4 (now 6)-month saga with Maytag.

After spend half an hour waiting on Maytag help line, I was told my A/C is not Maytag but Nordyne who manufactured the product under Maytag name. So Maytag is not responsible for my unit. I called Nordyne, who told me to get help from Maytag Customer Service, without explaining the 1-866-2MAYTAG number is for the insurance company Equiguard. Apparently, Maytag does not have any customer service organization and let the insurance company masquerade as Maytag. This "€œMaytag" representative, **, reassured me I can use any authorized dealer with 25 miles of my home to get the thing repaired and get reimbursement.

I found the only authorized dealer Anderson PHA and spent $68 to find out the coolant pressure was low and there was a leak. ** now refused to admit the leak was caused by the product and asked me to prove it was not the installer'€™s fault. Anderson quoted for $735 for a full leak test but demand up-front payment because Equiguard had a track record of not reimburse them. I talked to ** again about the cost, this time I felt like talking to a lawyer: I would have to pay up-front for the diagnosis and then only if the problem is with Maytag product would I get reimbursement from Maytag. I said "that'€™s fine."

When I asked Anderson to perform the test, I was told they will not do it even if I pay. Their ongoing negotiation with Equiguard had broken down. Anderson was concerned that, if they did the leak test, they would feel obligated to perform warranty repair for which Equiguard will not adequately reimburse. (How insightful! I wish I knew before I put in my money.) I asked ** how can I find a dealer in "Maytag'€™s National Network"€ to check my unit so that I can enjoy this "€œWorry-Free Warranty"€? ** led me to a month long saga to find a dealer and can'€™t come up with any.

After running out of all options, I begged Anderson and asked if I can have my problem diagnosed if I join their annual maintenance plan as a preferred customer with a $175 annual premium. Anderson finally agreed to take on my case and I negotiated a preferred customer discount to reduce the leak test cost from $735 to $635. The May 9th leak test determined there were two leaks, one in the cooling coil and another in the condenser unit. Both are due to Maytag equipment defects and not related to the initial installation. I was relieved that Maytag warranty would finally get me covered.

The repair was performed by two Anderson employees on June 6, 2008. Anderson also helped me to fax all the receipts involved in this repair/diagnosis to Maytag. On June 23, 2008, I received a $35 refund check from EquiGuard for the diagnosis. I called ** "why do I only got $35 out of the $878 back?" EquiGuard basically said the rest is "€œdeductible". I asked "where did it say "€œdeductible"€ on my warranty?" ** said "why don'€™t you talk to **?" ** picked up the phone and said there is nothing he can do now or in the future.

I filed a BBB complaint on June 25 to bring Maytag'€™s attention. Because Maytag does not really exist, the complaint had to be filed under Whirlpool. Mrs.** at the Whirlpool Executive Office tried to compel a response from Nordyne and Equiguard. After 40 days, I got a private response (no recorded by BBB) that Maytag cannot provide anything. The decision was made by ** of Equiguard and Mr. ** of Nordyne, who is VP Sales/West Coast.

Specific to my complaint: 1) Maytag will not refund my $878 out-of-pocket expense caused by multiple Maytag product failures. 2) Maytag could not found a local dealer who will not demand upfront payment for any future repair. 3) Maytag will not explain which part of my 4 (now 6) month nightmare is "Worry-free"€.

Maytag says they can not be responsible for poor product quality of another company (Nordyne) who lease its name. Maytag also takes the position that my now-out-of-the-business Maytag authorized dealer is to blame. I beg to differ: (1) If Maytag advertise its product under Maytag name, it is responsible to deliver the promises in its sales literature regardless of who is the manufacturer and the insurance company. (2) If Maytag'€™s product quality is good, I would not have this problem. This is not an installation problem.

(3) If Maytag can identify any authorized dealer to repair my unit without demanding up-front payment from the customer, I would not be in this dilemma either. (4) If Maytag opted for repair when the dead A/C had been diagnosed to leak, I do not need to incur the cost of the full leak test. You just cannot have it both ways. The responsibility is squarely with Maytag.

With regard to the fabulous 4 paragraphs of "€œWorry-Free Warranty"€ quoted earlier, here is my point-to-point rebuttal:
(1) Two out of the three components in my system failed, which is a good testimony of Maytag'€™s product quality. The A/C failed for two consecutive years since the installation in Jan 2007. My 4-year old son was unknowingly inhaling Freon the whole time next door to a leak. A check on Consumer Report found Maytag ranked among the most repaired brands across a broad category of products. A quick check on the website turns out hundreds of Maytag horror stories. Yet Maytag had the audacity to call this "€œWorry-Free Performance"€.

(2) For all the capital letters and acclamation mark for the "Worry-Free Warranty!"€, my unit fit every description, yet Maytag'€™s customer service line does not even admit it is a Maytag product. They insist it is a Nordyne product. Nordyne insist it is not their problem either and give me another phone number. Unknowingly, I was talking to an insurance company Equiguard who misrepresent themselves as Maytag.

Equiguard refused to acknowledge it is a product quality issue, led me to an adventure to find an authorized dealer, duped me into paying up-front, and then renegade in reimbursement. Did I read "€œ10-year both parts and labor"? Where does it say diagnosis is not covered? If not covered, why the $35 refund? Where does it say "€œdeductable" that Equiguard now claims? When the product was diagnosed by an authorized dealer to be not working, why insisting on a full leak test that they now refuse to reimburse?

(3) Yes, my unit is less than 5-years old, and both the compressor AND the heat exchanger leaks. It fits every description for whole-unit replacement, yet Maytag gives the repairmen only the coils. The two service men worked 10.5 hours straight to dissemble the entire compressor using my home as the assembling factory. They kept cursing Maytag who made it "€œmuch worse than a new install".

(4) What a joke! The (866) 262-9824 number is for Equiguard, the insurance company who refused to help. Maytag substitute customer service with insurance company lawyers, and claim to have "€œset a new standard"€ in customer assurance. Yes, a new standard beneath LOW and almost obscene! After 4 months, Maytag still have not found ONE dealer who will service my unit without demanding up-front payment from me. Where is that NATIONAL NETWORK OF MAYTAG HVAC DEALERS?

I can only conclude Maytag does not have any intention to keep any of the wonderful promises. Maytag is a fraud because: (1) It used sales practice/literature with fraudulent claims to misled customers into purchase. (2) It manufactures poor quality products with multiple defects, yet advertised as "most reliable"€. (3) It cannot produce any dealer to do repair without up-front payment yet advertise as "€œdependability promise"€.

(4) It made and then reengaged verbal promise in diagnostic reimbursement if the problem is related to the product. It forced me into full leak test then asked why it was so expensive. (5) It failed to honor written commitment for "entire unit replacement"€ when the product failure met all descriptions. (6) It cultivated a disorganized corporate culture that is at once incompetent and indifferent.

Please tell me why, as a customer, should I be led to run in circles between Maytag, Whirlpool, Nordyne, Equiguard and Maytag dealer, with nobody responsible for anything? I conclude Maytag does not have the decency to delivery on any of their promises, nor do they care what you think. The "€œlonely repairman" is indeed long dead.

Replies
Customer Service
By -

HENDERSON, NEVADA -- Hello,

I would just like to let you know about my extremely negative experience with Maytag. I recently purchased all new appliances from a Maytag retail store located in Henderson Nevada. I purchased a stove, dish washer, microwave, washer and a dryer. Obviously when picking out the kitchen appliances, I choose items that matched. I though working directly with Maytag would be a pleasant experience. Well, the installation people come to the house and begin to install the products. My wife is there with the kids. They get done installing the products and have her sign off. She has two twin infants that she is taking care of and just signs off. Obviously she has her hands full. First thing I noticed is that the stove is about 8 inches from the wall. The gas line is in the way. A reputable installation person would have pointed this out. I called the store and they referred me directly to Maytag's 1-800 phone number. I call them and they tell me to call the store back. I call the store back and they tell me there s nothing that can be done. Fine, I pay a plumber to move the gas line. Second, I notice the microwave does not match the other appliances or the one from the store. The main difference is the handle. I call XCandy the sales woman and she informs me that the model has changed. This is a problem, if I am going to spend $6,000 on appliances at the very least I would like them to match. It is the sales person to keep up on their products and not sell items that cannot be delivered. So I call Candy and she tells me that she will have a person come out and switch out the handles. The person shows up with the handle from the item in the store and tries to install it. It will not fit. So I call Candy back, she tries to convince me to keep the model I have. This is not optional, for the amount of $$ I spent they should match. She says that she can give me the floor model and at a possible discount (considering it is a floor model it should be discounted) but that she has to talk to her manager. She calls today and informs me that there will be no discount and points out that by the way the install people will have made three trips to my house as if it is my falut and an inconvenience. I'll tell you what an inconvenience is, it is walking into a supposedly top notch manufacturers showroom, spending a lot of $$ on products, making arrangements to be around to have installation people come out three times, spending hours on the phone trying to get things fixed, and being told too bad you signed a piece of paper. If that is not incompetence and horrible customer service, I do not know what is. I'll be sure to let everyone I can about the type of service you get from Maytag.

Sincerely,

Jason Goecke

Replies
Advertisement
Maytag Service Saga
By -

ALBANY, NEW YORK -- As Posted on SEVERAL Forums and Chat rooms ALL OVER the Internet:

Newlyweds August 12, 1989.
Buy a used pair of Maytag Washer & Dryer (Copper colored that they stopped making sometime mid '70s).

Had them through three moves and only replaced the Motor one time and had to clean and lube the motor tracks a couple times.

June 14, 2004. Finally had to replace the washer, and based on having a ten year old (or older) Maytag for fifteen years, we decide to buy a new Maytag $365.
June 28, 2006 New Drive Pulley and belt. Two year old PLASTIC Pulley wore out and chewed up the belt. $145.80

March 13, 2007 Broke Brake needs Drive Pulley "KIT" which includes the brake and the Plastic Pulley and Belt ("Sorry can't get just the brake by itself, it only comes in the "KIT") $183.

July 5th 2007 While off on my own little Vaca the wife reports the washer quits again. Get home, Look underneath and sure enough there is a broken piece hanging out of the water pump. How do I know it is the water pump? Am I a trained technician? Well, there are three things hooked to that whazzit, a hose from the tub, a hose to the drain, and a belt around the pulley underneath it, I think it is the water pump.

Call Maytag 1-800-688-9900 and the first couple of minutes of voicemail hell you have to listen to notices about a couple of recalls on their products (this is building my confidence). One hour dance on the phone with Maytag explaining that I do not want to pay another $150 repair and have a three year old machine that I am not confident will keep working three weeks longer. I'd rather go spend $450 and get a new machine with at least 12 months warranty. Maytag says they will warranty the pump but I have to pay $65 service, to which I say OK. I further tell them to make sure their third party contract service provider shows up with the correct water pump for my model, serial number, and revision of machine (they have all the numbers) because I know it is the water pump.

July 7, 2007 3rd party service tech shows up. Looks under the machine, sees part hanging out of whazzit and says "Wow, I have never seen a water pump fall apart like that before. I hope I have a replacement on the truck.” One hour plus on the phone with several other techs and tech support and he decides he can use the pump he has even though it isn't exactly the called for part number. $218.35!!!!

$65 to come out, $70.18 for the part and an hour and a half labor of which one hour plus was the research to see if the water pump he had on the truck could be used on our machine. Maytag did NOT hand off the call with the note that it was definitely the water pump (A&E Service never trusts Maytag or customers diagnosis anyway). Also Maytag DID NOT provide an authorization number for the warranty on the part. Saturday and NOBODY is answering the phone at Maytag, not even if you try to press 1 "if you are in a store and going to buy a Maytag". It is either pay the $218 or he has to take the pump back out. I say take the pump and the washer both and get the hell out. WIFE says "If it is working pay him, I have to do laundry."

July 9th, 2007 I call Maytag and after several runarounds (I will not take NO from someone who does not have the authority to give me a YES) we finally get an approval to credit me for the part but I have to take it up with A&E for the labor. I also have to submit a letter and copy of the bill to get the reimbursement. Next call A&E to see about a credit for the hour and a half labor of which over an hour was the kibutz on whether he could use the part he had. She starts to get a little huffy with me when I finally lower the boom. "This was paid for with an American Express Card, you can either credit all but the $65 or I will protest the full $218.35 and you will get bupkis."

She agrees to credit all but the $65 and the part.
We will see what shows up on next months bill.

Replies
Glass Top Ceramic Cooktop Care
-

Commonly, I don't quote other websites for appliance info. Just today though, there was some discussion about ceramic cooktops and how to clean them.
So I though, Why not share? Hope this helps someone.
Smooth Light Colored
Glass Top Ceramic Cooktop Care

Care Note: Black glass tops are different.

Since heat is created only in the cooking utensil and food, this glass-ceramic surface remains fairly cool. Spills can be wiped up with a wet sponge or paper towel, and will not cook on quickly as in the "smooth-top" type. Abrasives should not be used, as they can scratch the surface.
Turn diamond rings on fingers away from the surface to prevent scratching the top. Be sure utensils have no rough spots to scratch the surface. Be sure the surface is clean before heat is turned on, and bottoms of pans are clean and dry to avoid burning on soil. Avoid spills and boil-overs by turning down heat to the lowest possible setting for the cooking task, and by using large enough pans. Wipe up wet spots promptly, being careful to avoid steam burns. Don't cook with foil on the smooth top - it could be damaged by foil melting into it. Cover pans to prevent spatters.
Pans of soft metal such as aluminum can rub off on the harder glass surface, making gray or black marks. Copper bottom pans rub off less, but do not give as good a cooking performance as aluminum. Heavier weight, harder aluminum marks less than lighter weights. Smooth the bottom of new aluminum pans with a mild abrasive. Do not slide pans across the surface; lift pan up when moving or when shaking as in popping corn. Keep surface protected with cleaner-conditioner. NEVER USE FOIL on glass tops; rubbing it across the surface also makes dark metal marks.
Smooth Glass Top Ceramic Cooktop Cleaning
Note: Black glass tops are different; see instructions for them.
The smooth glassy surface has no crevices for dirt and spills to hide, but it has to be kept clean to avoid soil burning on and staining, as stains show up visibly. Wipe when cool with a clean damp cloth or a clean damp paper towel to remove any spills, soil or spots. Do not use the dishcloth used to wash dishes as it will leave soiled detergent solution on the top, which may show up as brown streaks when heated. A mild detergent solution (such as hand dish-washing liquid in warm water) or baking soda in warm water can be used to clean it; always rinse off all cleaning solution thoroughly and wipe with clean paper towel at the end of the cleaning process.
Special cleaners sold by the manufacturer of the cooktop for just this material should be used periodically. Apply with a clean, damp paper towel, and then wipe with another clean, slightly-dampened paper towel; or follow label instructions on special cleaner, or manual instructions for cooktop. These cleaners leave a protective coating on the surface. They also remove dark marks from aluminum or copper pans or racks slid across the cooktop.
Dark marks from metal rubbing on glass top MUST be removed before they are heated. Heat can permanently cement them into the surface. Other methods of removal are:
1. Copper marks - rub with a plastic or other non-abrasive scrubber and a mildly abrasive cleanser such as Bar Keepers Friend or Delete.
2. Aluminum - place two paper towels soaked with diluted chlorine bleach (1 part bleach to 4 parts water) on top of mark for about one hour. Clean with a non-abrasive cleanser. After using a mild cleanser, re-coat glass top with a sparing application of Cleaner Conditioner. Remove excess conditioner with a clean, damp paper towel. Polish dry before heating the surface.

Replies
Microwave and Dishwasher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Horrible products. Both dishwasher and microwave had issues within 2 years of purchase and now the microwave Is failing to work. The touch screen is showing an error message. We bought the items in spring of 2010.

Replies
Maytag Rebate - Don't Count on It
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EL PASO, TEXAS -- Please stay away from Maytag. They will cheat you out of a rebate of all means necessary. First, they claimed that I didn't submit the receipt even though I included the email with the order number and the delivery receipt. Second, I faxed the email with the order number again and they claimed that they didn't receive it and denied the rebate. Once again, beware of this company's tactics involving rebates.

Replies
Advertisement
All The Same Product
By -

LYONS, NEW YORK -- If you buy a Maytag, Kenmore, Amanna, Jenn-air or Whirlpool because you think one is better than the other you are only deceiving yourself. They are all the made by the very same company!! I and my wife argued about which dishwasher, washer/dryer and refrigerator was the best so I did some research on all of them. It's not that hard to find out who owns what. I found that all are made by the same company!! Boy was I fooled. Sears gives Maytag the specs. for what they want and the company builds it for them.

The TV/print ads even fight each other over which is better. It's funny how they will even fight themselves for the market share. At any rate we went with Maytag because we felt that was a better product. Boy where we WRONG!!!!! We also bought the extremely expensive Jenn-Air dishwasher because she, my wife wanted the best. We had it less than 1 yr. when the timer control caught fire. After fighting with "customer service" (hahaha) for an hr. I was no closer to a fix than I was to getting a brand new mach. We paid $1200.00 (or close to it) for the mach. and the fix was $696.43 to fix it. I said no so we bought a GE and it's worked fine for 6 yrs. now.

Anyway, we got the runaround for a month. (with no dishwasher other than me or my wife. mostly me.) When we had enough and bought the new one, the part came in a box 6"x6" and weighed less than a LG candy bar plus installation mind you. (and the gov. got on Bill Gates for owning too much with Microsoft???) That was another $155.00. This co. is way too big for their own good, let alone ours.

Bottom line, no matter what you buy it's the same company making it these days. It's a shame that a company that once made a VERY good product has gone the way it has. My mom has an Maytag stove that has been in the house and used everyday for the past 40 yrs. and is still going strong. What happened to that kind of product?

Replies
Disappointed and Saddened
By -

NAPERVILLE, ILLINOIS -- I have used Dependable Maytag in Naperville for years to buy appliances, purchase repair parts and for repair service at my house. Most recent experience will be my last. Bought a repair part for a dryer. Due to lack of time, I could not install the part and called their service dept, who repaired the unit the next day. Spare part I purchased was not needed. Asked if part was returnable and technician said "yes".

Got to store and was told "no problem, just need manager approval". This is when the fun started. Manager said not returnable due to it being a custom order. Reminded them the part was a stock item when I bought it, 1 of 3 they had in house just 3 days ago.

Manager agreed but THEN said it was not returnable due to being an electrical part. I challenged this because the only electrical component on the item was a single wire and a light bulb socket. Manager agreed but THEN said not returnable because it was used. I showed the manager the invoice from his own service tech showing that the part was not used, and was still in the original box. Manager agreed but THEN said he could not take returns due to the owners return policy. I pointed out that the return policy is not written anywhere in store, just appears to be made up as they go.

Manager THEN said he would credit me the repair part price toward the purchase of a new dryer. At this point I walked out with my now useless part. I am horribly disappointed that what used to be a "dependable" sales and repair shop is now resorting an ambiguous return policy to make a buck on a repair part, or even worse, force me to buy a new dryer just to get my money back. I could have bought somewhere else for less, now I wish I had.

"Dependable" Maytag needs to publish a clear return policy and show a little respect for repeat customers, instead of laughing and telling them "Good Luck" as they walk out the door in frustration. (Yes, I was really told "Good Luck" as I walked out!)

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Maytag Logo
Maytag Corporation Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
89 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Maytag Corporation
403 W 4th St N
Newton, IA 50208-3026
1-800-688-9900 (ph)
515-787-8376 (fax)
www.maytag.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies