[X]

McCormick

1 reviews & complaints.

Take this with a grain of SEA salt
Posted by on
Few things come along in life that give you the kind of surprise worth writing about - particularly in a grocery store spice aisle. However, such is the case of a new or newly discovered product I stumbled upon the other day. Like you, I've seen this latest flurry of TV ads featuring soups and food products seasoned with "sea salt."

"Come on," I thought to myself - I've been with that gal on the blue carton with a yellow umbrella since I've been a kid. Funny how I've aged and she hasn't. Anyway I decided to give this McCormick Sea Salt grinder a try - what the heck it's only a couple of bucks.

Being skeptical, I didn't use it for a few days - mad at myself for throwing my money away. One night the wife gets a movie and asks me to pop some corn - in a pan with oil as I normally do. I decide to surprise HER and use this new McCormick Sea Salt on it - see if she can tell the difference. Wow, the surprise was on me as well. WHAT a difference.

The product claims to be "Naturally harvested from the French Mediterranean" and I can't say if that's accurate. What I can say is what a difference it's made in my food and cooking. The stuff is off the chart wonderful. It does in fact come out of the grinder on top, it's not like ordinary table salt, rather it comes out in flakes. The different texture only adds to the amazing flavor that you'll too discover in foods as ordinary as hot buttered popcorn while having "movie nite" with your beloved spouse watching crystal clear HD signal from DirecTV on your Sony Bravia LCD. Add a glass or two of wine and life doesn't get much better.

Seriously though, if you want to liven up your kitchen and even take out food, shake things up a bit with this McCormick Sea Salt - this is one seasoning you WON'T be throwing over your shoulder. I haven't been to the French Mediterranean yet, but if even their salt tastes this good, I can only imagine how good everything else there is.

Nutritional Information
Amount Per Serving : 1/4 tsp.
Calories: 0
Fat: 0 g
Cholesterol: 0 mg
Sodium: 400 mg
Carbohydrates: 0 g
Protein: 0 g


pwp
     
Read 22 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2008-02-08:
Thanks Pirate for another great review. You're the salt of the earth. I give this review a Sea-plus and very helpful.
Anonymous on 2008-02-08:
Pirate - good review! Do you know if there are any health benefits in choosing sea salt over regular salt?
Anonymous on 2008-02-08:
The "Whirly Pop" yeah that's what I use - it's basically a pan, you use oil and turn the handle.
Anonymous on 2008-02-08:
I like kosher salt,have used this product in the past and I liked it.I bought a "Durkee" bistro blend grinder,and the thing broke the first time I used it.

I never use regular table salt anymore.I think "the food network" is to blame.
(VH!)!
DebtorBasher on 2008-02-08:
OK Steve, you just make a liar out of me. When you posted about "Durkee" I had to go check the brand of mine...I thought was McCormick...then I thought, well MAYBE it's Durkee. I go to check it out and it's "Mr. Paulsons" Atlantic Sea Salt! ... but it's still good and it's fun to grind!
Anonymous on 2008-02-08:
Lots of things are "fun to grind" DB - but try this McCormick stuff, you'll throw the other stuff out.
DebtorBasher on 2008-02-08:
The crystal chunks of salt are good to suck on when you get that salt craving.
Starlord on 2008-02-08:
While sea salt doesn't have the added iodine of table salt, sea salt contains traces of many elements, and is really lower in sodium than regular salt. I spotte the salt grinder in the store some time ago, and I have used it ever since. As Crystal said, we used Orville's topping and Jane's Crazy Mixed-Up Salt on our popcorn. we do have a special popping pan, but we fix most of our popcorn in an air popper. We found out either one tastes much better than microwave corn.
GothicSmurf on 2008-02-08:
Great Review! I've always preffered sea salt over regular salt.

Jambra on 2008-02-09:
Good product
Anonymous on 2008-02-09:
I always use kosher salt because I am around Jewish people and its good stuff. (VH)
Anonymous on 2008-02-09:
What do you want it's 5:30 AM and I got jet lag!
Anonymous on 2008-02-08:
I've heard some claims that it's lower in sodium, not sure if it is. This salt does NOT supply iodide a necessary nutrient - that ordianry table salt does.
Anonymous on 2008-02-11:
Pirate, I will give this one a try. It has to be great on fish and seafood. Perhaps you should try that sometime instead of that watered down sauce that can't seem to stay on the food......Sea Salt is what they put on sunflower seeds, I love that taste! Why not use the whirley bird popper that you raved about? Popcorn and WINE? That's a new one. Make mine a cold Schlitz! (VH)
Voodude on 2013-07-22:
The salt isn't missing "iodide"... It is missing "iodine". Iodine is the name of the element. Such a shame that the use of the wrong word can make it on the label and into production.
Principissa on 2008-02-08:
I love sea salt. It's all I use. It does not supply iodide, but it is healthier for you.
CrystalSword on 2008-02-08:
We've been using this product for 2 - 3 years now, it has a much better flavor than plain table salt. However, for popcorn we use a hot air popper, pop it into a paper sack, 2 - 3 shakes of Orville Redenbacher's butter flavored popcorn oil and some "Jane's Crazy Mixed-Up Saesoning."
Too DIE for!!!!!
old fart on 2008-02-08:
Pirate.. as far as I know, NaCl is still sodium and chlorine in the right in the right ratio. That aside, I might try the product is is as good as you say..Gave you a star on this one..
Anonymous on 2008-02-08:
You'll be thanking me, of.
DebtorBasher on 2008-02-08:
Thanks Pirate...I have this in my cupboard and I keep forgetting I have it there. I bought it out of courosity. I never salt my food when I'm cooking it (Until I bought this)...but I DO salt everything before I eat it...and the few times that I remembered to use this same brand of sea salt, I found that I can use much less and get much more flavor. I love grinding it and as you grind it over the food, I spreads to cover a wider area than if you just shaked it ouf of a salt shaker.
Anonymous on 2008-02-08:
Two green reviews in one week!? That HAS to be a record!
DebtorBasher on 2008-02-08:
You popped her popcorn in a pan with oil? What happened to your super-duper popcorn popper?
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >