Preview Review

Next Review

Mercantila Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Company Is Lying to Consumers
By -

I have worked for this company and know for a fact that they LIE to everyone that calls to order. The leaving of the warehouse times are completely "A LIE". If it says your item will leave out of the warehouse in 1 to 2 business days it's a "LIE" - you will either get your product in 6 to 8 weeks or "NEVER". Meanwhile your money is sitting in there account collecting interest and it will take at least a month if not longer to get back to your account.

I'm telling you this company is the worst company I have ever worked for. Just complete LIES to each and every customer who places an order! My suggestion is to order straight from the manufacturer, not a company that LIES to the consumers about having warehouses that their products ship out of. They have one warehouse not 200! And they order the items from the manufacturer, they don't have them in stock!If you value your money and don't want to hand it over to crooks, do not order EVER from this company!

Replies
Advertisement
Mercantila.com Has Problems With Customer Service. There Is None.
By -

Today I received a very strange email from Mercantila stating that my order has been delayed and would not ship until 2 weeks and then would take upwards of 7-10 business days to arrive. That would put this item to arrive say possibly mid-June say. Yet my c.c. was charge immediately after my order. This sent up RED FLAGS BIG TIME.

Seems once your order is placed this company cannot be reached for any help for any reason. They say they have a phone number you can call but no one answers it. In fact they do not answer their phones, emails, or the like. It took me about 10 phone calls and constant demand to speak to someone before anyone got a supervisor on the line in the sales department.

I began researching and what I found was exactly what I suspected that this company has big issues they need to work and have been reported multiple times to the BBB and states attorney general's offices. So I contacted my bank immediately to put an alert on my account and to watch for a refund which I requested immediately. My bank is now helping me with this problem and we are now waiting for a full refund. Company also NEVER mentioned they have a 25% restocking fee anywhere on their website. Plus you pay for return to and from for item shipping plus... So much buyer be aware, this company is working a possible scam.

Replies
Beware. Beware. Refunds On Canceled Orders Impossible To Get
By -

I ordered a product shown on their site as "in stock, ready to ship" As soon as a completed the order and they billed my credit card for $950, I received an email saying the item was back-ordered 12 weeks. I promptly cancelled, all within minutes of my order, and all within the allowed company policy. I have been waiting 4 weeks for my refund and despite 6 phone calls, and 6 emails, I have nothing but empty promises and lame excuses. NO one in a position to actually refund the money will return my phone call -- just a hapless email with an apology saying they will refund my money at some point. DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY.

Company Response 02/26/2010:

Hello dch,

My name is Kelly. I oversee Customer Service at Mercantila. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with Mercantila. I know you are frustrated, and I wish your concern had been resolved satisfactorily in a more timely manner.

Regarding your order, unfortunately I was unable to locate your order with the information in your review. Please contact me at escalations@mercantila-inc.com and I will personally manage this to resolution.

More broadly, I am working with my team to make many changes to improve our customer experience. Our priorities are ensuring we ship all products on-time, responding to customer inquires within 24 hours, on-shoring our call center, and providing our agents with better tools and training so they can assist customers with problems like yours much more quickly.

I look forward to hearing from you, and I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of me and my entire team. We take your feedback very much to heart, and we are doing everything possible to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you,
Kelly

Replies
Do Not Ever Order From Them!!!
By -

I ordered a loft bed ($1400) that was supposed to ship out within 3-7 days and included free shipping within-home set-up. I waited 6 weeks and the bed finally arrived today; however, I was told there was no in-home set-up. During the course of this entire mess, I called Customer Service 5 times but was never given any answers with regards to my order. I was told they had no way to track my order - even though they were somehow able to take my money!!

Customer service reps will NEVER put you through to a supervisor (she is always in a meeting) or corporate manager (he has no voice mail or email that allows him to receive messages!!?). I have filed a complaint with the BBB but please do yourself a favor and do not order from this company.

Company Response 11/24/2009:

Hello,

My name is Kelly, a Customer Service Manager at Mercantila. I sincerely apologize for the experience that you have had with Mercantila. I know that you are frustrated and I wish that it could have been resolved in a more timely manner. We are making many changes to create an improved customer experience, including ensuring we ship all products on-time, respond to customer inquires within 24 hours, on-shoring our call center and providing them with tools and training to help customers such as yourself.

I'm truly sorry that you've had a bad experience with Mercantila, but I'd love a chance to hear about what went wrong with your order so that I can prevent it from happening to other customers. If you would, please reply back to escalations@mercantila-inc.com with any information you wish to provide, and I'll do whatever I can to help resolve or address your concerns.

I hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies. We are doing everything possible to ensure that this does not happen again. We appreciate the feedback so we can address these issues and move forward.

Thank you,

Kelly

Replies
Advertisement
A Scam Or A Very Poorly Run Company
By -

Mercantila appears to be either a scam or a very poorly run company. I ordered a $1400 treadmill from the Treadmill Store. I received a phone call from a woman a few days later who tried to sell me a service agreement. I declined it. After that call I could never reach anyone again regarding my order either by email or telephone. I never received the treadmill. After 25 days, I filed a dispute with my credit card company. Stay away from any of Mercantila websites. I suspect the few good reviews posted here are posted by Mercantila.

Update, 8/10/08: After a month and no response from Mercantila, the treadmill was delivered to me. The Lifespan TR-2000 treadmill is a very fine product. The delivery service was excellent. It is too bad that Mercantila Customer Support does not respond to its customers. Moreover, Mercantila (i.e., on the Treadmill Superstore website) provides a telephone number and email address for customer support, however, it does not respond to either. So after a few weeks, a customer will assume the company is pulling a scam. Although I love the treadmill, I would never knowingly buy another product from Mercantila given their lack of customer support.

Company Response 11/24/2009:

Hello,

My name is Kelly, a Customer Service Manager at Mercantila. I sincerely apologize for the experience that you have had with Mercantila. I know that you are frustrated and I wish that it could have been resolved in a more timely manner. We are making many changes to create an improved customer experience, including ensuring we ship all products on-time, respond to customer inquires within 24 hours, on-shoring our call center and providing them with tools and training to help customers such as yourself.

Regarding your order, I'm truly sorry that your requests for information went unanswered. Hopefully you've received your items by now, but I encourage you to reply back to escalations@mercantila-inc.com and provide some more details about your experience so we can figure out what went wrong with your order and prevent it from happening to other customers.

I hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies. We are doing everything possible to ensure that this does not happen again. We appreciate the feedback so we can address these issues and move forward.

Thank you,

Kelly

Replies
Defective Products
By -

2040 N. ALLIANCE AVE, MISSOURI -- About 6 months ago I ordered a rowing machine which arrived with numerous parts damaged in transit. But the most serious problem with the product was the wheels on the seat attached to the rowing machine. After only a few weeks of use the wheels split and fell apart, apparently from inferior rubber used on the wheels.

It took about 3 months for them to send out a replacement but, even after I repeatedly insisted that they ensure the wheels had been upgraded or re-manufactured, the replacement seat encountered exactly the same problem. Again after only a few weeks of use. It seems that a major factor in the problem is that is is yet another product being made in China - brand name Stamina - with no quality control or oversight.

I have found the staff manning the phones to be rude, indifferent and prone to obfuscation regarding the product. I would advise consumers not to purchase the inferior equipment being sold by this company or any other equipment promoted by them.

Company Response 11/24/2009:

Hello,

My name is Kelly, a Customer Service Manager at Mercantila. I sincerely apologize for the experience that you have had with Mercantila. I know that you are frustrated and I wish that it could have been resolved in a more timely manner. We are making many changes to create an improved customer experience, including ensuring we ship all products on-time, respond to customer inquires within 24 hours, on-shoring our call center and providing them with tools and training to help customers such as yourself.

Regarding your order, I am very sorry that you have not gotten resolution on the damaged shipment. Unfortunately, I am unable to locate your order, so if you would please reply back to escalations@mercantila-inc.com I will personally ensure that your issues are resolved.

I hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies. We are doing everything possible to ensure that this does not happen again. We appreciate the feedback so we can address these issues and move forward.

Thank you,

Kelly

Replies
Con Artists
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DEERFIELD, ILLINOIS -- Merchantila Inc. are criminals. They advertise on Amazon a dining table + 4 chairs + 1 bench as a set. I bought it. They shipped only the table. I called them. They said there is no word about any chairs. I requested return. They said on the phone and by the email, they will send me an email within 24 hours. After 48 hours, there is still no sign of RMA. I am contacting credit card company to try to recover my money. Pure criminals. Don't even think about buying from them.

Replies
Horrible Service and No-Show of Merchandise
By -

After nearly 4 months of trying to get the curio cabinet I ordered and paid for, I have finally requested a refund. I have had absolutely zero communication since demanding the refund. Got some lip service and promises prior to this, but nothing since. This company can't deliver and does not want to deal with problems. Avoid them at all cost. You can get same product at same price locally and actually have the item you pay for.

Replies
Advertisement
What Horrible Delivery Service!!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

5 months to deliver with multiple order delay messages to boot!!! DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY UNLESS YOU HAVE A YEAR OR SO TO WAIT!!! What is with American companies??? This is the second time in 2 months that I have been screwed around by America. I shall be VERY wary from now on when ordering from America!! No wonder you guys are going broke...try some customer service and stop being so damn greedy and maybe people may put a little trust in your country!!!

Replies
HORRIBLE Customer Service
By -

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- I ordered a trampoline from this company. They assured me that they would specify that it COULD NOT be delivered without a person present. The trampoline was for Christmas. IT was delivered to my driveway with no one present and was seen first thing by my children with the word TRAMPOLINE all over the boxes. I have called to talk to a manager and while the voice mail states a return phone call within 24 hours, I have yet to receive a phone call.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Mercantila Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
22 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Mercantila
665 Chestnut St
San Francisco, CA 94133-2364
415-268-4700 (ph)
Compare Furniture Stores