Mercantila - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
22 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Mercantila - The Absolute Worst Online Company Yet!
By -

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- I WISH I had read the reviews of this company before I ordered my $950 AllerAir air purifier for my studio! I have been getting the run-around for WAAY too long and still do not have my air purifier!

I ordered on 11/30, was promised it no later than 12/8. After I received the email with the tracking number on 12/2, I noticed that it didn't even have my address on it! It was going to San Francisco, CA! I live in Santa Fe, NM!! I attempted to contact them numerous times through their online customer service, which is the only method of care they offered me. Three messages later, I still had not received an answer from them.

FINALLY, on 12/8, the day I was supposed to have received my air purifier, they sent me one of their "no-reply"emails stating there was a mistake made by the manufacturer and they had sent out the wrong item to me. SO, they claimed it had been REROUTED back to them! I didn't even know you could do that! Anyway, in that email they SWORE my air purifier would be shipped out to me on 12/10 and on that day I would receive ANOTHER email with tracking number and also they "promised the shipment would arrive to me no later than 12/12"!! NOT!

I just talked with their unhelpful, curt customer care representative and he said it wasn't their fault, it makes no difference that they say they ship Fed Ex but actually use UPS because it's FREE. He also told me that I would NOT be receiving my air purifier on Saturday, 12/12 as promised but actually not until NEXT FRIGGIN' TUESDAY!!

I have been waiting for this item to get here so I could finish up a series of paintings that were SUPPOSED to be in a pre-Christmas art show! NOW, I won't have the time to finish them because of their broken promises.

THIS IS THE WORST ONLINE COMPANY I'VE EVER HAD TO DEAL WITH! HORRIBLE CUSTOMER CARE, SHIPPING IS NOT AS PROMISED AND THEY OBVIOUSLY DO NOT HAVE THESE ITEMS IN STOCK AS THEY CLAIM TO.

BEWARE OF THIS SLEAZY COMPANY!!

     
Replies
Fraudulent Company Strikes Again
By -

I purchased a Lea Bunk bed from Mercantila one month and about five days ago and paid over $1200 for this bed, listed as Lea Industries Deer Run Bunk Bed my order number. The company advertised that the bed included free shipping, inside delivery, set up and trash removal. I have been calling them since last week probably about ten times because the shipping co reported they did not list this order as a setup order and could only deliver to my home with no set-up.
Now I get a call today from Mercantila that there set up is only free for 30 minutes and it will take 3 to 3 1/2 hours to set up the bed. They want me to pay $20.00 every half an hour for the setup. They also reported that this advertisement for free set up had been discontinued. However, if you go the web site bunkbeds-store.com you will see that it is still being advertised the same way, which is false advertisement. I explained to the Supervisor Angela Crosier at 415-268-4700 that when you have set up included in an order you must specify that the maximum time for set up is a 1/2 hour.

I ordered a Lea Dear Run Bunk Bed Twin/full with a trundle with an additional twin bed that pulls out like a drawer. Now tell me what bunk bed like this do you know takes 1/2 hour for set up. It is clearly false advertisement and I also plan to take this to the Attorney Generals Office. I asked to cancel the order and they are now telling me that I have to wait for them to receive the bed before I can get my money. The bed is with the shipping company and I can't contact Mercantila Corporate Office because no one has the phone number.

They give you these numbers 1800-718-1710 and 1-415-268-4700 but these numbers belong to a company that handles there call center and returns. Don't even think about ordering from this company they are horrible!!!!

Company Response 11/24/2009:

Hello,

My name is Kelly, a Customer Service Manager at Mercantila. I sincerely apologize for the experience that you have had with Mercantila. I know that you are frustrated and I wish that it could have been resolved in a more timely manner. We are making many changes to create an improved customer experience, including ensuring we ship all products on-time, respond to customer inquires within 24 hours, on-shoring our call center and providing them with tools and training to help customers such as yourself.

Regarding your order, I'm truly sorry that your requests for information went unanswered. Hopefully you've received your items by now, but I encourage you to reply back to escalations@mercantila-inc.com and provide some more details about your experience so we can figure out what went wrong with your order and prevent it from happening to other customers.

I hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies. We are doing everything possible to ensure that this does not happen again. We appreciate the feedback so we can address these issues and move forward.

Thank you,

Kelly

     
Replies
What Horrible Delivery Service!!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

5 months to deliver with multiple order delay messages to boot!!! DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY UNLESS YOU HAVE A YEAR OR SO TO WAIT!!! What is with American companies???? This is the second time in 2 months that I have been screwed around by America. I shall be VERY wary from now on when ordering from America!! No wonder you guys are going broke...try some customer service and stop being so damn greedy and maybe people may put a little trust in your country!!!

     
Replies
Horrible service and no show of merchandise
By -

After nearly 4 months of trying to get the curio cabinet I ordered and paid for, I have finally requested a refund. I have had absolutely zero communication since demanding the refund. Got some lip service and promises prior to this, but nothing since. This company can't deliver and does not want to deal with problems. Avoid them at all cost. You can get same product at same price locally and actually have the item you pay for.

     
Replies
Mercantila.com has problems with customer service. There is none.
By -

Today I received a very strange email from Mercantile stating that my order has been delayed and would not ship until 2 weeks and then would take upwards of 7-10 business days to arrive. That would put this item to arrive say possibly mid-June say. Yet my c. c. was charge immediately after my order. This sent up RED FLAGS BIG TIME.

Seems once your order is placed this company can not be reached for any help for any reason. They say they have a phone number you can call but no one answers it. In fact they do not answer their phones, emails, or the like. It took me about 10 phone calls and constant demand to speak to someone before anyone got a supervisor on the line in the sales department.

I began researching and what I found was exactly what I suspected that this company has big issues they need to work and have been reported multiple times to the BBB and states attorney generals offices.

So I contacted my bank immediately to put an alert on my account and to watch for a refund which I requested immediately. My bank is now helping me with this problem and we are now waiting for a full refund.

Company also NEVER mentioned they have a 25% restocking fee anywhere on their website. Plus you pay for return to and from for item shipping plus........

So much buyer be aware this company is working a possible scam.

     
Replies
Beware. Beware. Refunds On Canceled Orders Impossible To Get
By -

I ordered a product shown on their site as "in stock, ready to ship" As soon as a completed the order and they billed my credit card for $950, I received an email saying the item was back-ordered 12 weeks. I promptly cancelled, all within minutes of my order, and all within the allowed company policy. I have been waiting 4 weeks for my refund and despite 6 phone calls, and 6 emails, I have nothing but empty promises and lame excuses.

NO one in a position to actually refund the money will return my phone call -- just a hapless email with an apology saying they will refund my money at some point.

DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY

Company Response 02/26/2010:

Hello dch,

My name is Kelly. I oversee Customer Service at Mercantila. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with Mercantila. I know you are frustrated, and I wish your concern had been resolved satisfactorily in a more timely manner.

Regarding your order, unfortunately I was unable to locate your order with the information in your review. Please contact me at escalations@mercantila-inc.com and I will personally manage this to resolution.

More broadly, I am working with my team to make many changes to improve our customer experience. Our priorities are ensuring we ship all products on-time, responding to customer inquires within 24 hours, on-shoring our call center, and providing our agents with better tools and training so they can assist customers with problems like yours much more quickly.

I look forward to hearing from you, and I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of me and my entire team. We take your feedback very much to heart, and we are doing everything possible to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you,
Kelly

     
Replies
Do Not Ever Order From Them!!!
By -

I ordered a loft bed ($1400) that was supposed to ship out within 3-7 days and included free shipping within-home set-up. I waited 6 weeks and the bed finally arrived today; however, I was told there was no in-home set-up. During the course of this entire mess I called customer service 5 times but was never given any answers with regards to my order. I was told they had no way to track my order - even though they were somehow able to take my money!! Customer service reps will NEVER put you through to a supervisor (she is always in a meeting) or cooperate manager (he has no voice mail or email that allows him to receive messages!!?).

I have filed a complaint with the BBB but please do yourself a favor and do not order from this company.

Company Response 11/24/2009:

Hello,

My name is Kelly, a Customer Service Manager at Mercantila. I sincerely apologize for the experience that you have had with Mercantila. I know that you are frustrated and I wish that it could have been resolved in a more timely manner. We are making many changes to create an improved customer experience, including ensuring we ship all products on-time, respond to customer inquires within 24 hours, on-shoring our call center and providing them with tools and training to help customers such as yourself.

I'm truly sorry that you've had a bad experience with Mercantila, but I'd love a chance to hear about what went wrong with your order so that I can prevent it from happening to other customers. If you would, please reply back to escalations@mercantila-inc.com with any information you wish to provide, and I'll do whatever I can to help resolve or address your concerns.

I hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies. We are doing everything possible to ensure that this does not happen again. We appreciate the feedback so we can address these issues and move forward.

Thank you,

Kelly

     
Replies
HORRIBLE Customer Service
By -

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- I ordered a trampoline from this company. They assured me that they would specify that it COULD NOT be delivered without a person present. The trampoline was for Christmas. IT was delivered to my driveway with no one present and was seen first thing by my children with the word TRAMPOLINE all over the boxes. I have called to talk to a manager and while the voicemail states a return phone call within 24 hours, I have yet to receive a phone call.

     
Replies
Quality Issue
By -

I would not buy any furniture from this site. The picture and explanation of the armoire that I ordered did not accurately reflect the product. It was very poor workmanship and broke when transporting it into the house. The delivery was also done incorrectly. They sent it Fed Ex and we had to pick it up instead of it being delivered to our home.

     
Replies
A Scam Or A Very Poorly Run Company
By -

Mercantila appears to be either a scam or a very poorly run company. I ordered a $1400 treadmill from the Treadmill Store. I received a phone call from a woman a few days later who tried to sell me a service agreement. I declined it. After that call I could never reach anyone again regarding my order either by email or telephone. I never received the treadmill. After 25 days, I filed a dispute with my credit card company. Stay away from any of Mercantila web sites.

I suspect the few good reviews posted here are posted by Mercantila.

Update: 8/10/08: After a month and no response from Mercantila, the treadmill was delivered to me. The Lifespan TR-2000 treadmill is a very fine product. The delivery service was excellent. It is too bad that Mercantila Customer Support does not respond to its customers. Moreover, Mercantila (i.e., on the Treadmill Superstore website)provides a telephone number and email address for customer support, however, it does not respond to either. So after a few weeks, a customer will assume the company is pulling a scam. Although I love the treadmill, I would never knowingly buy another product from Mercantila given their lack of customer support.

Company Response 11/24/2009:

Hello,

My name is Kelly, a Customer Service Manager at Mercantila. I sincerely apologize for the experience that you have had with Mercantila. I know that you are frustrated and I wish that it could have been resolved in a more timely manner. We are making many changes to create an improved customer experience, including ensuring we ship all products on-time, respond to customer inquires within 24 hours, on-shoring our call center and providing them with tools and training to help customers such as yourself.

Regarding your order, I'm truly sorry that your requests for information went unanswered. Hopefully you've received your items by now, but I encourage you to reply back to escalations@mercantila-inc.com and provide some more details about your experience so we can figure out what went wrong with your order and prevent it from happening to other customers.

I hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies. We are doing everything possible to ensure that this does not happen again. We appreciate the feedback so we can address these issues and move forward.

Thank you,

Kelly

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >