Preview Review

Next Review

Microsoft Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Vulnerability in the ActiveX Control for the Snapshot Viewer
-

ActiveX Control Vulnerability Vulnerability in the ActiveX Control for the Snapshot Viewer for Microsoft Access Could Allow Remote Code Execution.

Microsoft is investigating active, targeted attacks leveraging a potential vulnerability in the ActiveX control for the Snapshot Viewer for Microsoft Access. An attacker could exploit the vulnerability by constructing a specially crafted Web page. When a user views the Web page, the vulnerability could allow remote code execution. An attacker who successfully exploited this vulnerability could gain the same user rights as the logged-on user.

The ActiveX control for the Snapshot Viewer for Microsoft Access enables you to view an Access report snapshot without having the standard or run-time versions of Microsoft Office Access. The vulnerability only affects the ActiveX control for the Snapshot Viewer for Microsoft Office Access 2000, Microsoft Office Access 2002, and Microsoft Office Access 2003. The ActiveX control is shipped with all supported versions of Microsoft Office Access except for Microsoft Office Access 2007. The ActiveX control is also shipped with the standalone Snapshot Viewer.

Mitigating Factors

• In a Web-based attack scenario, an attacker could host a Web site that contains a Web page that is used to exploit this vulnerability. In addition, compromised Web sites and Web sites that accept or host user-provided content could contain specially crafted content that could exploit this vulnerability. An attacker would have to convince users to visit the Web site, typically by getting them to click a link in an e-mail or Instant Messenger message that takes users to the attacker's Web site.

• An attacker who successfully exploited this vulnerability could gain the same user rights as the local user. Users whose accounts are configured to have fewer user rights on the system could be less impacted than users who operate with administrative user rights.

• By default, Internet Explorer on Windows Server 2003 and Windows Server 2008 runs in a restricted mode that is known as Enhanced Security Configuration. This mode sets the security level for the Internet zone to High. This is a mitigating factor for Web sites that you have not added to the Internet Explorer Trusted sites zone.

Replies
Advertisement
Phony e-mail and who do you report it to?
-

I just got this and it is so fake who couldn't see through it. But because of another review on here the other day I tried this time to report it to MS what a joke. So I thought I would put it on here so everyone else could look out for it.

MICROSOFT MEGA JACKPOT LOTTERY NL.
MICROSOFT EMAIL LOTTERY AWARD PROMOTION: THE-NETHERLANDS
REF NO: MSW/56B-672GH/L
BATCH: 4583JL/WIN

Finally today, we announce the winners of the MICROSOFT MEGA JACKPOT LOTTO WINNINGS PROGRAMS held Jan. 2007. Your company or your personal e-mail address, attached to winning number 23-76-06-54-42-100, With serial number 648489, consequently won in the 1st lottery category.

You have been approved of lump sums pay out of US$1,000,000,00 Dollars in cash Credited to file REF NO: MSW/56B-672pH/L and winning number 23-76-06-54-42-100. Selection process was carried out through random selection in our computerized email selection machine (TOPAZ) from a database of over 1,000,000 email addresses drawn from all the continents of the world.

The online draws was conducted by a random selection of email addresses from an exclusive list of 29,031 E-mail addresses of individuals and corporate bodies picked by an advanced automated random computer search from the internet. No ticket were sold but all email addresses were assigned to different ticket numbers for representation and privacy. This is to encourage our prominent Microsoft Internet Explorer users all over the world, and for the Continues use of E-mail.

Your fund (Certified Cashiers Cheque) has been insured with your REF NO: MSW/56C-672GH/L and winning number 23-76-06-54-42-100. To claim your winning prize, you must first contact the claims department by email for Processing and remittance of your prize to you.

Name: Mr.Patrick Donkor.
TEL:+31-623-117-432.
FAX:+31-847-251-895.
E-mail: claimbglot@aim.com

Do email the above email address all at once. In order to avoid unnecessary delays and complications, please remember to quote your reference and winning numbers in all correspondences with your claims officer. You are to keep all lotto information away from the general public especially your ticket number and ballot number. (This is important as a case of double claims will not be entertained)

Sincerely,

Dr. Phillip George
Online Co-ordinator

Replies
Windows Update ruined my computer.
By -

CHICHESTER -- Many years ago I noticed that the updates that were being downloaded and installed despite them being disabled were causing multiple problems, they were definitely genuine updates and from the official service (not fakes made by hackers etc...) The genuine updates that were downloaded completely blocked all access to my system! One moment it was working fine, fast efficient and a good clean system with no viruses spyware or anything! Then what should happen but 'Updates have been installed sucsefully these settings will take place once the system is restarted.'

After having all updates disabled because they were slowing down my system and causing new versions of programs with more features and all that (good but a shame they are slower than the previous versions) to be installed and making problems with programs that have worked for years! I noticed that all I was gaining out of the updates were updated drivers that didn't seem to make much difference to anything, so I completely disabled updates...

Thinking nothing of it at the time I just restarted my system and at the next log on what do I get? A LOAD OF ERROR MESSAGES! "Windows could not start because a problem is preventing windows from checking the License for the system." Oh thanks a lot! So I go to fix the problem by entering Safe Mode and finding the problem, surprise!?! It was a Windows Hot"Fix", key word being 'Fix' here, so I uninstall this program with the second option as 'add/remove programs' was not accessible at the time. I restart the system as usuall no luck, retry with 'last good known configuration' no luck.

I launch system restore and here we go, will it work? NO! GOD! This is getting ridiculous, eventually I used the System recovery DVD and got the system running again with my files 'Backed Up'. Well things worked like they said, despite a few lost settings, everything fine relaxed. Go to open one of the backed up files 'FILE FAILED TO OPEN, THIS FILE IS CORRUPT' :@:@:@:@:@ REALLY ANGRY NOW, TWO YEARS OF WORK DOWN THE DRAIN AND ALL THANKS TO WINDOWS UPDATE, THANKS A LOT.

Replies
MSN Email Support
By -

I have an MSN Premium Email Account. I also direct a nonprofit organization. The organization's Web site uses forms for visitors to contact us. The form results are forwarded to our MSN account. Unless, that is, if the visitor is an MSN or Hotmail user.

For almost 2 weeks I have tried to get MSN technical support to address the fact that we do not get submissions from their users. I've spent over 600 minutes on the phone with these people, only to have them repeat previous resolution efforts to no avail. They always end up telling me someone will call or email me, and no one ever does. So, I call back, and we start at square one again.

'Do you have your email filter set to high?''Do you have the domain blocked?' No and No. 'Well, set your forwarding to another 'non-MSN' account, and see if that works. Because it's probably the way you have the form set up.' I have, and yes, it does work. My form is set up just fine. Your server is blocking my email, MSN. '...Let us call you back on that.'

I have found a total of 2 articles on this from people with the same issue. I've also found a few links to the MS Knowledgebase and Forum, but the content is no longer there. It's been removed for some reason. As with their technical support, no one has any answers. Or, maybe they just don't want to admit it's they're problem. Sure, I could use another email address, but I'm paying for this one. Besides, why should I have to? Why can't they just FIX IT?

I spent over 107 minutes on the phone with technical support again today. I had emailed them with all the information a week ago, and again they asked me to try using another 'non-hotmail' email address. They have EVERYTHING in writing regarding what has been done. When I call Remond, WA., to their corporate office, they give me a FAX number of the VP for MSN Email. So, I have to take another hour and compose a FAX.

Don't be like me. Save yourself the money, time and frustration of being treated like you have no memory and won't recall being asked the same thing over and over when you have trouble. Look for another ISP.

Replies
Advertisement
Product Key Is Genuine but Blocked.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

N/A, CALIFORNIA -- I just bought a year old computer from my granddaughter who re-loaded her discs in order to erase other things she had. Now I get the message 'enter product key' every time I use the Office Word to open a document. When I entered the product key it isn't recognized and the help desk said the key is blocked because it was used before. Why is it that Microsoft blocks the key when it is used a second time?

The option I have been given is I can re-purchase it for $199.00 or have a tech re-install it for $99. This is just plain BS, but, here I sit with a computer that is unable to open documents (part of my work, by the way) unless I re-purchase software that came with the computer. Any ideas??

Replies
The Worst Computer Experience Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORENCE, OREGON -- After 20+ years, my MSN account was accidentally cancelled. I got no renewal notice, no forewarning. I turned on my computer this morning to get my emails and got a notice that my MSN is no longer valid. I've been on the phone for well over 3 hours waiting for assistance. Once I thought a support person was connecting with me but the line hung up instead after over an hour of being on hold. This company has gotten way too big for their breaches. They are NOT user-friendly, not helpful, transfer me to 3-4 different people for the same kind of problem - with no success or help ever received.

Their rates go up and their customer service keeps going down. All of their support it seems are Indian and do NOT speak English well at all. They don't understand me and I can't understand them. We are supposed to pay more each renewal period for better service and it just keeps getting worse and worse. After being with MSN for 20 years, I am so totally fed up and disgusted with all facets of their big government. They are useless, they've gotten to be a monopoly who could cared less about their customers. Whoever is thinking about hooking up with MSN... Save yourself money, grief and much frustration and do NOT sign up with MSN.

Replies
No longer in Database
By -

I have been using Microsoft products for years. I have on several occasions thought about changing to Mac but have always been able to fix or get a solution for the error or problem. Today is a final straw, see I've had MSN messenger for years and about a week ago I was no longer able to log in as it said my WindowsLive ID did not exist. I posted on the technical site and a moderator said he couldn't find my ID. I wrote back and offered logs to show my account did exist and another moderator wrote back saying they checked my account like the previous moderator did and it did not exist and didn't matter if I had logs or not I'm just out of luck.

This just goes to show that NONE of the Corporations really care about us the individual and all their concerned about is selling the product and dropping you when support is needed. This is really bad when you go to the tech site and it list they have the problem you're stating saying only a small percentage will experience this. People beware Microsoft can't even keep a simple database or records on its users so they can use the services that have been purchased and yes I know messenger is a part of the program but I paid for Windows Vista.

Replies
Completely Frustrated
By -

I am completely disgusted with Microsoft and their Zune product. I purchased a Zune 120gb only to have it quit after 7 months. Microsoft sent me a replacement only to have the same problem right out of the box. I have spent hours with tech support and customer service, all to no avail. I do not want to be sent a replacement of a product with obvious design flaws over and over again. When will the cycle end? I was told a refund is "out of the question." I am now left with a $250.00 paperweight that makes me ill every time I think about it.

Replies
Advertisement
Bill Gates Is A Disgrace To The American Dream
By -

GEORGIA -- I am shocked at how many complaints I have seen & read here, but I know some of the reasons. This man that made most of his wealth off good hearted hard working Americans is not happy being one of the richest men in the world. His company will gouge every penny they can out of you and then send all the jobs, outsourced, to India the Philippines and anywhere else he can get cheap labor. If you need help with his product, you cannot understand or communicate with the people you have to talk with.

He gives millions to schools, art and other such entities, buying reputation that is all bull dung. If he cared, he would let the American people have the job's he outsources. I thought he was a good man, but after using his product and buying his software, I now know the TRUE BILL GATES. I do hope he can have a better life because of all the Americans he is screwing. I guess he needs another 100 room house, 20 more expensive cars, or whatever floats his boat. We would just like to have a job to try to live a poorer life than he.

Replies
Wireless Laser Mouse 6000 V2
By -

The version that I own is designed for right handed folks. I have yet to experience any issues with the device. The receiver for this mouse plugs into any USB port. The receiver looks just like a USB drive. Beats the older style that sat on the desktop with a cord that was hooked to the computer. The wheel and every button on the mouse is configurable. I've left everything but the two thumb buttons with their default settings. If you're in the market for a wireless mouse, you might want to consider this model. Try it out first at the local electronics or office store. The key consideration for a mouse is how it feels in your hand.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Microsoft Corporation Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 13 ratings and
41 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Microsoft Corporation
One Microsoft Way
Redmond, WA 98052-7329
425-882-8080 (ph)
www.microsoft.com
Product/Services
Compare Software Companies