Preview Review

Next Review

Microsoft Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
General feelings
By -

REDMOND, WASHINGTON -- Microsoft wants to 'hog' everything and control everything. It is the greediest corporation and least helpful of all that I know. It offers very little in the way of free help and makes it very difficult to contact anyone. At every turn they induce users to turn to something else like Linux. I have a refund owing to me of over $147 CAN. It was processed, I was told, on October 19th, 2007. It is yet to show up on my Visa statement as a credit or refund. I know of no other company that has taken that long. No wonder Bill Gates is a multi-billionaire! A pox on the whole organization. As far as Vista is concerned, the jury is still out on that one.

Replies
Advertisement
Zune Defective Screen
By -

Zune Cracked LCD Screen Microsoft Customer support is terrible. Don't buy a ZUNE! Purchased a 30 GB Zune 06/17/07, on 07/28/07 the LCD screen failed. No damage to the cover but the inner LCD screen is a rainbow spider web. 07/30/07 at 10:29 AM MST I contacted Microsoft Zune Customer Support speaking with Ken, I was told that he has seen this problem before when the LCD has failed at no fault of the consumer, but Microsoft still refused to warranty the product. Stating the warranty only covers the hard drive or software. I did not damage the unit, this a manufacturing defect in the LCD, regardless the screen is not covered and would not be repaired.

I was told that despite a 1 year Microsoft parts and labor warranty and a two year supplemental warranty I have no recourse and, as I understood, am essentially out of luck. This is not acceptable when spending $229.94 (plus a $17.88 extended service plan) and having the item fail within 45 days, then being told, "Sorry, but that's not our problem, you a€™re on your own." Microsoft will do nothing to solve the problem. Ken referred me to Zune.net/feedback to register the complaint, which I did.

07/30/07 at 11:23 AM MST I Contacted Repairnow.com/Wal-Mart and spoke with Shiela, **. I was told the supplemental warranty does not take effect until the manufacturer warranty expires and they could not help me. She referred me back to Microsoft, but Microsoft will not honor the warranty. 07/30/07 at 2:30 PM I went back to Wal-Mart where customer service was unable to return the device due to a 15 day return policy on electronic devices of this nature.

As of 7/31/07 at 11:26 AM I have sent two e-mails to the Zune.net/feedback with no response to my complaint. I think they are just going to try to ignore me and hope I go away. The Zune seems to be so poorly manufactured that the inner LCD will fail under common use and Microsoft customer support is so poor that they will do anything to avoid fixing a known problem.

As of 08/01/07 at 10:24 PM MST I have had no response to my written complaints to Zune.net/feedback. I have done a web search and found this to be a very common problem. A few people were able to get it repaired, only to have the screen fail again within a couple of weeks. I have included some website addresses related to this issue; http://www.consumeraffairs.com/computers/microsoft_zune.html. http://www.my3cents.com/index.cgi?tab=3.

The following are some organizations I intend to contact after giving Microsoft Customer Support another opportunity to correct the problem;

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/php/a_report.php - Department of Consumer Affairs
https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/GetStarted.aspx - Better Business Bureau
http://attorneygeneral.utah.gov/fraud.html - Utah Attorney General Office
http://www.commerce.utah.gov/dcp/ - Utah Department of Commerce
www.ftc.gov (1-877-FTC-HELP) - Federal Trade Commission

08/01/07 at 11:15 PM MST I sent the above text to Zune.net/feedback, hoping to get their attention. 08/02/07 at 10:39 AM MST I contacted Zune Customer Support by phone, speaking with Service Representative Shilpa (**) and Customer Service Manager Don (**) both flatly refused to accept any responsibility for the damaged LCD screen. Both claim the specific part is not covered under warranty because they define it as €œphysical damage despite the part being an internal component of the device.

Shilpa claimed there was a specific clause in the warranty that defined this part but was unable to produce the language in the manual and refused to find and email the text of the clause to me. I was again referred to Zune.net/feedback and given a reference # of **. Both the representative and manager dismissed my complaint and identical complaints of others as disgruntled customers who didn'€™t get their way.

Microsoft is fully aware there is a problem with this component of the device, and simply refuse to do anything about it. I was also told they would not repair it under any circumstances, there were not any authorized service centers to either take or send the device to, referred me to some generic electronics repair store, which in turn would void any €œwarranty that would still apply, because of an unauthorized opening of the case of the device. I have sent multiple comments to the Zune customer feedback site with no response to my complaint.

08/02/07 2:30 PM MST I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. At 3:15 PM MST I filed a complaint with Consumer Affairs, receiving a notice the complaint would be added to the database. If you already have a Zune, I hope you don't have this problem. If you already have the same problem the Better Business Bureau and Department of Consumer Affairs needs to hear about it.

Replies
My Conclusion Is That MS Is a Monopoly of Software Industry
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

Always a fan of MS office even when I had windows Vista on my laptop which supported older version of ms office. I really don't like being forced to purchase office every year. I think it is **.

Replies
Outlook 2010, Don't Buy It, It Won't Stay Up. It Starts and Stops.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This is the worst mail program ever, it is frustrating program ever. It stops and starts and I keep having to repair the setting. This is real crap, not worth the price.

Replies
Advertisement
Windows 8 Pro Key Will Not Work
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NAPLES, FLORIDA -- I purchased Win 8 three weeks ago, it worked OK. Thur night I tried to reset it then I had problems. It would not accept the key code. Today I spent two hours on the phone with techs that couldn't speak reasonable English. I lost $40.00 plus two hours. Then he tried to tell me I had a bad copy of Win 8, after two hours on the phone I lost it. Went back to Win 7 Pro. I'm done with their techs from India. Hire American, Microsoft.

Replies
Game Hearts
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MICHIGAN -- Your game! Hearts cheats after 4,000 games and a 52% win. I have found your game to be in error many times!

Replies
Hearts Game
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SUEZ, EGYPT -- I am an American living in Egypt. I enjoy playing the game of Hearts in my spare time. I am very competitive with myself. I become very frustrated when the computer assigns points to me and causes me to lose the game. Just a game, yes. However, the game should run properly. I know Microsoft takes pride its games. Please look into this problem. I would hate to lose playing the game of hearts. It is quite entertaining when it operates correctly.

Replies
Microsoft Mistake
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

REDMOND, WASHINGTON -- I purchased the Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 priced @ $149.99. The product says there are 3 PC licenses, HOWEVER, I loaded the product on two laptops and one desktop and the desktop says this copy of windows is not genuine. I am livid and disappointed with the unfulfilled promise from a major corporation. I don't know how to install a product which isn't genuine and now each time I log on the desktop it asks if I want to install windows. I wish Microsoft would send another disc to my home as this one if obviously defective.

Replies
Advertisement
I received an e-mail that has asked me to verify my username, password, date of birth and country of origin. Is this legit?
By -

EDEN PRAIRIE, MINNESOTA -- If this is not legit I can forward the e-mail.

Replies
Office 2010
By -

I bought a Toshiba laptop had Microsoft office 2010 put on it. It has a mind of its own. I can be typing and the page disappears. Then it will jump to another line. I had my neighbor check and she found the same thing.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Microsoft Corporation Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
42 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Microsoft Corporation
One Microsoft Way
Redmond, WA 98052-7329
425-882-8080 (ph)
www.microsoft.com
Product/Services
Compare Software Companies