[X]

Mohawk

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
19 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Problems With Mohawk Engineered Wood Floors
Posted by on
When we purchased our townhome we chose to have the builder put in the Mohawk engineered wood floors that were available as an upgrade. They looked fantastic on the sample. Since then have been very dissatisfied with these floors and have had numerous problems ranging from annoying to huge.

First, like other folks have noticed, they get smudges instantly after cleaning them, no matter what product one uses and no matter if you have socks, shoes, or bare feet.

Second, we noticed that there are gaps between the ends of the boards where they are supposed to meet and sometimes between the boards on the long side. Also, many boards are not level where the ends meet, resulting in an annoying lip. It's hard to say if it's the product or the installers that have caused this. A customer service rep at Mohawk said gaps are normal and we should see them go away as the seasons change - well, we've been through three seasons and there's been no change for better or worse. The rep I spoke with couldn't even tell me under what conditions (humidity, temperature, etc.) the gaps wouldn't be there and whether there was an actual quantitative size that below which was deemed acceptable. Because we're under warranty with the builder we are having them address the issues.

So far we've met with a rep from the company that installed the floors and he said that the acceptable industry standard for gaps and unlevelness is the thickness of a credit card. We said that's not acceptable. Then he said that it's a man-made product and we should accept these flaws. We said no, because it's a man-made product you can control such things and it's more dimensionally stable than solid wood (a natural product) so it shouldn't expand/contract that much AND the boards are glued down so they shouldn't move at all. His solution was to fill all of the 60 or so gaps with these special filler crayons and shoot finishing nails through the boards that are not level to get them to stay down, then fill the holes with the crayons. The problem now is that the crayon doesn't match the color of the floors and you can see where the nails went through the boards anywhere there is light from a window. We are also concerned because we now have holes through the top protective coat - who knows what problems this will cause in years to come.

To add insult to injury, we found that two colors of wood have been installed in our living room. The rest of the floors are uniform in color but there are blond planks intersperse with our butternut. The installer insisted he ordered the whole house from one batch in order to avoid such a problem. Interestingly, the builder's punch-list guy admitted they've had similar problems with these floors in some of the other townhomes.

Now we are waiting for a third party Mohawk rep to visit to see if it's "normal variation". We still need to revisit the "fixes" the installer did because the floor looks worse now than it did before. More to come....In summary, it's not worth the trouble to even bother with Mohawk engineered wood if you have a choice (we know that now).
     
Read 13 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2008-08-06:
Sounds like you have a disaster. The problem probably is not the actual flooring since the wood flooring is all tongue and grooved pieces, I be willing to bet the problem exist in the subflooring and installation. If it is the subflooring the only real way to fix it is to rip it all up and start over. An acceptable gap should be no more than a 1/16th of an inch and the ends should fit flush on the ends. As far as the smudging goes, welcome to hardwood floors. If you can find a solution please let me know as mine does the same thing. Good Luck
al1113 on 2011-03-08:
well, on a good note- its cleaner than carpet! my floors always smudge and I thought it was because they were darker-- either way, I guess I don't mind cleaning them as much as I saw all the dirt from vacuuming carpet....at least for now- I've only had mine 2 months.
David J on 2013-07-10:
Certified Hardwood Flooring Inspector through the NWFA.
Most of these complaints originated at the point of sale. If you are going to spend thousands of dollars on flooring, spend a few hours educating yourself on the product and warranties. Most of the complaints I have read, are NOT unusual and I hear them all the time. If you are convinced you have a problem, hire a certified inspector to evaluate the situation. If he or she finds a problem and the manufacturer/ retailer will not take care of the problem, take them to court. Manufacturers hate going to court because they almost always lose!
Kristie on 2013-11-28:
I wish I had read this 6 months ago. We just build a house and moved into it yesterday. I had to choose between hardwood floors and engineered hardwood for te floors and I just loved the look of the engineered floor so I chose that. I began to feel nervous with my decision so I did research saying engineered is more durable and better for dogs. And then I still went to talk to builder who said don't worry it's good stuff. We closed on the house 4 days ago and have lived in it for one. There are chips and deep scratches appearing everywhere. What will this look like in a year?? This is the softest flooring I have ever been on. I am freaking out. I could've had hard wood for FREE and now I'm screwed. I feel like throwing up.
ELLEN on 2014-03-05:
IF THESE FLOORS ARE REALLY CAUSING SIGNIFICANT PROBLEMS FOR SOMEONE IN A WHEELCHAIR, YOU COULD REPORT THE PROBLEM TO THE GOVERNMENTAL AGENCY FOR FOR HANDICAPPED PEOPLE. (ADA) . GOOD LUCK!
ok4now on 2011-03-09:
Good Post. Having recently moved the laminate dining room floor needs replacement due to the dog nail scratches & urine stains the seller did not correct. I installed Mohawk carpets in other areas which are beautiful with no problems. Now I'll think twice about their flooring.
AceCustomFlooring on 2011-03-30:
I am very sorry you are getting the run around. Yes the rep is correct that under certain situations the standard for gaps in a natural hardwood floor is a credit card. But that is in a house where temperatures fluctuate and in an area where humidity is a factor. All wood grows and shrinks somewhat. Engineered hardwood is designed not to do that...or very little at all. I am located in Indiana where temperatures and humidity fluctuates greatly and we have little to no problems when properly installed. The things that matter most is do you have a crawl space or a basement...are they properly heated and vented? Was a proper vapor barrier used? Were the correct staples used for the thickness of engineered plank...did they put enough staples in each plank?

We make a good deal of money every year replacing and repairing shoddy work. I feel very bad for your situation. Mohawk actually makes some of the best wood flooring out there and it seams that you were victim to a bad contractor, or a contractor with bad subcontractors.
jimjanetmura on 2012-10-26:
No one should buy stranded bamboo flooring from Mohawk. We have been trying for over a year to have Mohawk Industries accept responsibility for this flooring which the included instructions stated could be placed over radiant heat and then we were told by a MOHAWK INSPECTOR that this flooring should never have been sold to us for this application after which he brought forth another instruction manual which said it was not to be placed over radiant heat, but that is not what our installation booklet says. Mohawk is saying it is an installation issue but that is not what their inspector says. The floor is buckling, separating, splintering, and is a tripping hazard. We were in contact with Mohawk within weeks of installation with our concerns about the flooring and they did nothing and in every correspondence Mohawk says it is not their responsibility. My husband is confined to a wheelchair and it is a problem for him. What a lousy and uncaring company. Boycott Mohawk products and if you have stock, sell it.
Melissa Barnhill on 2012-11-28:
Wish that I had found this site before purchasing my Mohawk flooring. Scratches way too easily and leaves white marks instead of just a scratch. Spent ALL of my savings to do this and have had no help from my dealer or Mohawk. They say since the scratches are from my dogs nails and that is not covered by the warranty they will not even inspect my floors. Not all the scratches are from my dogs nails and I am begging someone to explain why the scratches are white instead of just being a scratch! Bad decision and expensive lesson learned. Do not purchase this product.
Mrs.H on 2013-01-30:
We installed Mohawk handscraped engineered flooring throughout our house. We even used all their transitions and nosings. The transitions have color chipping right off of them. The nosing color has worn right through on the stairs and my floors are super scratched everywhere. I will never buy Mohawk products ever again. We spent all our savings on these floors and they need to be ripped up and replaced already after 3 years post Reno.
kayzee on 2013-02-22:
Mohawk definitely and I mean DEFINITELY does not stand behind their products. My hardwood flooring proved defective within 12 weeks but Mohawk just ignored our complaints and refused to honor their warranty. There is no redress with American manufacturers so from now on I will buy foreight products without any feelings of guilt. If Mohawk and other US mfrs. go out of business I will cheer because they are bringing it on themselves!!
AmyR on 2013-03-10:
Do not ever buy Mohawk engineered wood. The color of the wood floor under my area rugs are 80% darker just after 2 years. Mohawk said this acceptable even though on the color change scale my floor is an 4 out of 10! They do not stand behind their product. I will never use Mohawk products again.
fred on 2013-04-18:
Melissa-no wood manufacturer covers wood scratching, just like no car manufacturer warranties their paint scratching. The white is the aluminum oxide that every manufacturer uses as a protective layer.
jimjanetmura and kayzee-check out Mohawk’s stock performance over the past year. You might know less about business/stocks than flooring.
AmyR-Sun makes the color of floors fade, the manufacturer can't make wood not behave like wood.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Mohawk Carpet and Lowes Do Not Stand Behind Their Carpet Warranty
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
This Carpet is the worst!!! We had just bought our first home and put in $4000.00 worth of Mohawk Carpet. We were told at Lowe's that this is really good carpet. It looked nice there and felt nice as well. Their sign said it was tough enough for kids, which was good because we have two boys and it was pet friendly which we have a dog. It was also supposed to not show stains which we wanted! Lowe's sold us on this Carpet.

We had it installed about 1 month after we moved in our house on October 13th 2011. So November we had our new carpet and it seemed really nice. It was around March when we realized we was getting a bald spot right in the middle of our living room. All the carpet strains kept coming out. We contacted Lowe's immediately and they filed a claim with the company. The company sent out an independent inspector to look at it and write a report. The company denied our claim stating it was related to our carpet cleaner and our dog. We had a name brand carpet cleaner, Bissell and our dog never messed with the carpet. It ended up that Lowe's paid for part of our carpet and the company ended up paying for the rest after Lowe's kept on them for a good while.

So we had the new carpet installed which was the same kind of carpet. This was probably around May that it was installed. Within 1 month we began to see our seams coming apart. So I called the installers and they came to fix them, however it ended up being the carpet coming apart from the bottom of the carpet, the matting I guess. So we filed yet another claim. Once again the company has denied our claim. Lowe's said there is nothing else they can do and that they will give us a discount off of new flooring if we wish. I am now stuck with crappy carpet from a company that does not stand behind their warranty!! My carpet looks dirty and worn only after a few months and it's all coming apart. I paid $4000.00 for this and it lasted less than one year!! I have two kids and do not have money to replace $4000.00 worth of flooring after a year.

This company is horrible and I wish I would of never bought their carpet!! I am a mother just trying to provide a nice home for my children and companies like Mohawk doesn't care!! Don't buy this Carpet!!!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

ok4now on 2012-10-08:
Sorry to hear about your Mohawk buying experience. It seems that Lowe's and the carpet company did try by replacing the first carpet free of charge. It appears highly suspect that the second carpet would fail in only a month. I have Mohawk carpeting in my home and it shows no wear or problems after two years. Could your two boys plus the dog be accelerating the carpet wear? If the carpet is being used in a high traffic area and failing maybe you should consider some other type of more durable flooring.
BigAl on 2012-10-08:
Dogs and some styles of carpeting do not mix. Some carpeting will show early wear and damage due to the dogs nails. Even frequent visits to the groomer does not always rectify the problem.
Noname on 2013-05-07:
We had the same experience with our Mohawk carpet. We don't have young children or a pet, but our carpets are wearing extremely poorly. Are carpets are only 3 years old and they look 30 years old. I have never experienced a carpet wear so poorly. I contacted Mohawk, but they do not stand behind their product. Shame on you! DON'T BUY MOHAWK CARPET! You'll be sorry.
Close commentsAdd reply
Defective Mohawk Flooring: An installer's nightmare!
Posted by on
In August 2009, I purchased 1000sqft of Mohawk's Mirador Porcelain Tile because I was impressed by the demo tile, but it proved to be a huge mistake for the following reasons.

1) No "Made in China" label or country of origin disclosure on demo tile or website:

Several stores told me that this product was made in the USA by Mohawk. But to my horror, it was delivered in plain bundles labeled "Made in China."

It's beginning to appear that Mohawk buys this tile from China, sticks a Mohawk label on the demo tiles, and routinely fails to disclose the country of origin. Shame on Mohawk for deceiving customers!

It also appears that "Shaw Tile Company" sells an alarmingly similar tile to Mohawk's Mirador line. So there's nothing Mohawk or USA about it.

Problem #2) Mohawk's inferior tile steeply drives up installation costs and significantly delays completion times.

Installation was a nightmare: bowed tile with pinholes and chipped/broken corners along with a single edge that tends to be much sharper than the rest, enough to slice the installer's finger.

Even after the most conscientious and costly installation, the defects are still blatantly obvious and the protruding lips are unavoidable.

Problem #3): Mohawk Customer Service is Unconcerned and Unresponsive:

It's been over seven weeks since my initial complaint but still no action from Mohawk, not even a call back. My unfinished project appears to be indefinitely delayed and costs continue to rise.

My initial complaint was to the store and an unresponsive Mohawk Field Representative who asked me to leave him some tile at the store to examine, but never showed up to look at it. He expressed that he was confident that Mohawk's tile was within tolerance and told me to continue with installation.

After numerous calls, the Mohawk rep finally looked at the tile, and from my understanding, his company agrees that the tile is defective, but is not prepared to act on my claim.

Mohawk Industries tells me to keep waiting for an answer from the store.

It has been over 7 weeks since I sent them evidence of the defects, and Mohawk has yet to provide me with a viable solution, let alone a call back to let me know the status of my claim.

When I called the Mohawk Claims Department, the Mohawk rep told me that she only communicates with retailers about complaints and not customers. Easy for Mohawk!

I've visited the store countless times but Mohawk doesn't appear to be doing anything with my claim. The store has called Mohawk numerous times but they just keep getting the run-around.

Thus, from my experience, it's fair to conclude that Mohawk Industries has awful customer service, inferior tile, and does not stand behind its products. Buyer Beware!
     
Read 11 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2009-10-18:
Just because something is MADE here, doesn't mean all the materials used in the creation ARE. I have bought things that say BOTH, made in USA & made in China.

The similar product line sold by a competitor has no bearing on your complaint. If it were not legal to have 2 similar products, there would be only ONE tv, vcr, dvd player, stereo, ham sandwich, shoes, shirt etc . NOTHING would have a lower or higher cost brand.

Now, IF the product IS defective, you first need to contact the STORE you bought it from. MANY manufacturers do not deal with customers as the customer is NOT their customer, the store is. All complaints and services go through them. That is not to say EVERY company works that way, but some do. Make a complaint to the store, and let them handle the replacement process.

I am wondering, these defects you are describing seem to be very visible. WHY did you NOT stop the installation when you saw what was happening?
dan gordon on 2009-10-18:
I worked for Mohawk for seven yrs. You are a customer of the store who is Mohawks customer. Not installing what you preceive as defective product is the normal procedure. They should get back to the retailer but your not really saying anything other than its a difficult product to install.
Kathy Brown on 2013-11-13:
My tile is of poor quality. It is got a haze and we can't get rid of it. They don't know what to do and they can clean it at all. It is hazy. KB
R.S. in So Cal on 2009-10-23:
Response to Comment posted by LadyScot on 10/18/2009:

(1) Why doesn't Mohawk disclose to customers apriori that their tile products are made in China?

You bring up a good point that you "have bought things that say BOTH, made in USA & made in China."

In today's global market, it's not unusual for components to be made and/or assembled in other countries. But as you nicely pointed out, you were notified of that information by the manufacturer, and my issue w/ Mohawk is that they don't label their products with country of origin.

(2) I agree with LadyScot that it's advantageous for there to be multiple manufacturers of tile, TV's, etc.

The problems is that Mohawk claimed that its Mirador porcelain tile line was made in its own factory, meeting Mohawk's exacting standards and guidelines, and now it's beginning to appear that this tile is a generic Chinese tile sold by multiple manufacturers - each claiming that it's their own.

To tie this back to your VCR example, this is equivalent to paying for a name-brand VCR and receiving a generic VCR in a generic box from a factory in China, and having no one to help you resolve problems with the inferior product.

Therefore, those who order tile from Mohawk will probably receive tile that does not bear Mohawk's name on it anywhere, not even on the packaging.

3) LadyScot is absolutely right in advising Mohawk customers to submit complaints to their stores, because Mohawk does NOT speak to customers about claim status.

Please be forewarned that Mohawk does not attend to complaints from stores, and that's why I am telling you about my frustrating experience with Mohawk.

I notified my Mohawk store on August 31, 2009 of a slew of defects with their Mohawk Mirador porcelain tile and they immediately notified Mohawk about it. It's now October 22, 2009, over seven weeks since my initial complaint, and Mohawk has yet to respond.

That's just negligently poor customer service from Mohawk!

4) LadyScot raises an excellent point when asking, "I am wondering, these defects you are describing seem to be very visible. WHY did you NOT stop the installation when you saw what was happening?"

I have stopped installing this tile and have been waiting for a response from Mohawk.

5) Overview:
LadyScot brought up excellent points and a refreshing perspective. And I really want to drive the point home that flooring tile is different from many other consumer goods, and there needs to be more accountability. Unfortunately, with tile, there are labor costs at every turn, deadlines, and it's not so easy to tear out and replace.

Therefore, I truly hope that my experience will help others make educated and informed decisions.

R.S. in So Cal on 2009-10-23:
Response to Comment posted by LadyScot on 10/18/2009:

Response to Comment posted by Dan Gordon on 10/18/2009:

Thanks so much for your thoughts Dan!

As you have advised, I did contact the store on August 31, 2009 to let them know that the Mohawk Mirador porcelain tile was plagued by defects but Mohawk has yet to respond.

As someone who has worked for Mohawk, can you comment on how long it typically takes for Mohawk to resolve a claim?

It's been over seven weeks and still no response.


Anonymous on 2009-10-23:
RS, thank you for clarifying for me. I understand a bit better now. Keep after them especially since it appears they are dodging you. Make sure the store has filed a complaint and threaten to sue. See if that lights any fires.
R.S. in So Cal on 2009-10-27:
Over Eight Weeks and Still No Answer!

Called Mohawk Consumer Affairs Dept on 10/27/09 at 12:30PM PT for an update. Ed could not find my claim. Ten minutes later, he transferred me to Gina, the supervisor who I spoke with on 9/28/09.

Gina claims to have responded to my letter on 10/23/09 and that my claim has been resolved. She did not elaborate on what "resolved" means, and refused to provide me with any details. She recommended waiting for the letter to arrive and/or calling the store. She wouldn't tell me who she was dealing with at the store because she had 5 pages of notes and not about to read them.

I called the store but the manager is waiting to receive Mohawk's decision in writing before promising me anything.

In summary, it's been over 8 weeks since my initial complaint to Mohawk, my project is far from complete, and I'm still waiting for an answer from Mohawk regarding their defective Mirador Ivory Cream porcelain tile.
R.S. in So Cal on 2009-10-29:
Received a letter from Mohawk Industries dated 10/23/09. This marked the first and only follow-up I’ve received from Mohawk since alerting them of the problems two months ago.

Here’s what it said:

“This will acknowledge receipt of your letter dated October 14, 2009 regarding your dissatisfaction with your flooring. We are sorry you are not happy with your selection.

A review of your claim indicated that two sets of tile samples has been reviewed by the Quality Control Lab and the “bowing” that you are concerned with was found to be within acceptable tolerance. Regardless, your concerns have been resolved with your dealer. If they have not contacted you, then you may want to contact them to follow up.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced and trust your replacement floor will be more to your satisfaction.

Very truly yours,
Gina Esslinger
Manager – Consumer Affairs”
R.S. in So Cal on 2009-10-29:
Response to Mohawk’s letter dated 10/23/2009:

As much as I appreciate Mohawk’s letter, it is not clear how my concerns are being addressed. The dealer has no idea of what Mohawk has done to “resolve” my claim and neither do I.

What's evident is that my project is falling months behind schedule, costs continue to accrue, and after two months of run-arounds with Mohawk, still no word from them on how to proceed.

Furthermore, Mohawk’s letter raises new concerns about the review process used to evaluate my tile, because they don’t have “two sets” of my tile to evaluate. The Mohawk field representative never collected “two sets” of tile from me or the store. So how could “the Quality Control Lab” possibly arrive at the conclusion that my tile is within acceptable tolerance?

I responded by sending them pictures of their defective tile and forwarding a copy to the California Attorney General’s Office. Mohawk Industries clearly does not care about its customers or back up its inferior products! Buyers Beware!
R.S. in So Cal on 2009-11-12:
Received letter from Mohawk Industries dated November 4, 2009. It's another vague letter from Mohawk tile which fails to describe how my claim is being resolved.

Here's what it said:

"This will acknowledge receipt of your letter dated October 28, 2009 relative to the above claim you have registered with your dealer for 'bowing' in your tile. Your letter also advises you had issues with chipped/broken corners, pinholes and sharp edges. We are sorry you were not happy with your tile.

Once again, I must direct you to your dealer, ..., as your claim has been resolved with them. I am sure you can appreciate that ... is our dealer to whom we sold the product that you purchased from. Therefore, all claims must be resolved with the end user through the dealer that we sold the product do.

By copy of this letter I am making your dealer aware that you have once again contacted us and asking him to please contact you and resolve your issues.

Very truly yours,
Gina Esslinger
Manager-Consumer Affairs"

... = name of dealer has been redacted
R.S. in So Cal on 2009-11-12:
Response to Mohawk’s letter dated 11/4/2009:

Contrary to Mohawk Industries' assertions, my Mohawk tile dealer is not aware of any specific plans by Mohawk to resolve my complaint.

It's been nearly 11 weeks since I brought my complaint to Mohawk regarding their 1,000 square feet of flawed Chinese porcelain tile, and they have yet to propose a solution on how to proceed with my project, let alone give me a straight answer on how my complaint is being addressed!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Mohawk Sucks
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DELAWARE -- I had subject flooring installed in my home and within 12 weeks we discovered that it was becoming discolored. We contacted the store where it was purchased and they pawned us off on Mohawk who also gave us the brush off. Their claim was that the floors discolored because of exposure to light. Well, what home does not have light?

I am light sensitive and the light in my home is extremely subdued and this was proven to an inspector who came to my home. He totally lied in his inspection report and stated that the floors were exposed to bright sunlight. Really? The furniture was in the rooms for 10 years but did not have any fading. Fabric is far more susceptible to fading than hardwood floors but 10 years of light on fabric caused no fading but 12 weeks on Mohawk flooring changed the color of the floors. Can you say bull boys and girls?
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Flooring not to be lived on/with
Posted by on
Why aren't there Lemon Laws for manufacturers??? Why is a company allowed to continue manufacturing a product that has known flaws. Money, money is why. No respect for the consumer. When we moved into a older home we had the kitchen completely redone, new appliances, cabinets and flooring. Unfortunately and unknows to us for some period of time our dishwasher had been leaking and in time saturated the area under the floor. The floor buckeled badly. Upon further investigation I was informed that the floor should not be gotten wet. Now my question to Mohawk is. Why isn't it clearly marked in and on your product that it is not adviseable to use in areas that may become wet. i.e. product not to be used in bathrooms, laundry rooms, kitchens and the like.

When I spoke with a Mohawk representative he was not even interested in taking my name, address or anything else. His response was that they were not responsible and did not intend to be helpful in any way.

I live in Waynesboro and have noted that the Mohawk plant here has gone out of business. They stated the reason was the economy. So why don't they take the stand that if the economy is bad then WE have to get better to survive. No their way is to screw as many customers as possible and when things get down enough grab their bags and baggage and run.

Thanks Mohawk but no Thanks. Never again.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

msnanny on 2011-01-04:
Did you expect them to replace your floor for free because your dishwasher leaked and ruined them?
saj80 on 2011-01-04:
Was this wood, laminite,composite, tile? Not very many types of flooring will stand up to water, especially over a period of time.
unhappy999 on 2011-01-04:
I agree with the other posters. If there was a flooring that would be guaranteed against water damage, then I'm sure there would be a lot of people buying it.
Inat on 2011-01-04:
ceramic tile is the closest you're going to come to water resistant floor - wood floor shouldn't need a disclaimer to not use in wet areas - its like putting 'caution - hot' on coffee
Anonymous on 2011-01-04:
My brother had a similar experience with a leak in the kitchen and he had wood flooring. His homeowners insurance footed the bill for new flooring.

On another note, I have been researching different types of flooring for a kitchen/bath remodel. Most of the new types of flooring and, of course, wood, are not impervious to water and if you look up each type of flooring, you find a disclaimer for water damage when it comes to their guarantee. I am installing Marmoleum--a green product from the past. It is waterproof and also comes in a great new array of colors. Tile is too expensive to install and also too cold for where I live. Plus, I'm trying to cut down on future maintenance such as grout sealing and cleaning.
kayzee on 2013-02-22:
I does not matter what the problem was with your floor because Mohawk does not and I mean DOES NOT HONOR THEIR WARRANTY!! I purchased hardwood flooring from MOhawk and within 12 weeks it proved defective and they literally thumbed their nose at me because what can the consumer do if a big manufacturer does not respond to a customer's complaint? Sue? Sure! That doesn't cost much does it? Mohawk should hang their heads in shame because there are complaints all over the net about their refusal to stand behind their product but they go on selling their crap to unsuspecting consumers. Buy Asian next time since America does nothing to protect us from predatory, greedy American manufaturers.
Denise on 2014-06-18:
We installed Mohawk wood flooring in our home and it has been the biggest and most frustrating "improvement" we have done in 30 years! This flooring is of subpar quality and the 25 year warranty is a joke! I would NOT recommend Mohawk flooring.
Close commentsAdd reply
Mohawk Tile Daltile
Posted by on
DALLAS, TEXAS -- I have been complaining about my tile since the day the I bought the home from the builder The builder ignored my complaint because it was not on my 30 day list and I missed my walk through because my job sent me out of town and they would not reschedule it. After two years of frustration someone tipped me off and told me the local supplier was Heritage carpet and Tile. After fighting with them forever they finally came to the house and said the lead that is coming up from the floor is dirt..I was outraged I had just had the tile professional cleaned by K C Tile and Kenny told me that what was coming up from the floor was not dirt. I called [snip] office who is supposed to be the VP of Mohawk. I sent up water samples and reports and they swooped it under the rug. After another year of living this nightmare I contacted [snip] the regional vise president of the company. He send out an inspector out here who references turned out to be false. I called every one of floor eyes inspections references and they were all false regarding his education. He was told to take them off his website or there would be legal action taken. I reported this to [snip] who is the head of the claims at Mohawk was told by this inspector that my floor was dirty...it was cleaned again two days before the inspection was done. I hit the roof. I have sent them pictures, the socks that showed that even bleach does not remove the tar when washed and again they denied my claim.

I then took a video of my floor being cleaned and after it dried took a brand new clean pair of socks and walk on the floor took of the sock and they were black. I called [snip] the President of Mohawk...that's the Guy at the top whom makes over a million dollars a year...By the way if anyone wants the direct phone numbers to any of these corporate executive please feel free to ask. I sent [snip] the socks and he sent them to his legal department that hired an inspector that lives four hours away, gee I wonder why when there are 35 in the surrounding area of my home. But I have hired a laboratory specialist and another inspector and a water specialist to be here with a local news crew, the board of health and a camera team. I am done playing games....

Now I am hearing this tile was made in CHINA. My family comes first and god help this company if there is a toxic substance coming from this tile
     
Read 12 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Ytropious on 2009-12-19:
So, is this a complaint about Daltile brand tile, or the people who installed it? Bought 100 dollars of mosaic glass daltile and it's nice stuff.
Jessysing on 2009-12-19:
Please read the review.... It is a complaint about the tile and the way the complaint was handled...This a ceramic tile and no where in review was there anything mentioned of installation.
Jessysing on 2009-12-20:
The legal department is one and the same..
TriciaG on 2013-02-16:
Hi there! I just came across this posting. Just bought a Minto home and I am having MAJOR ISSUES with warranty and. Heritage Tile. If you are still able to contact...please let me know by responding to this post.
Thanks
madconsumer on 2009-12-19:
is the complaint you feel there is lead in the tile??
jktshff1 on 2009-12-19:
Just read and reread the review, is this about lead seeping from the product? You never say.
What is the problem?
madconsumer on 2009-12-19:
can lead seep from a solid surface such as tile with not being heated?
Jessysing on 2009-12-19:
When you walk on the tile it comes up black like pencil lead, It does not wash out of socks not even with bleach. Mohawk has had samples of this s for years and has been sent new samples just last week. They have pictures, the inspector that was here took socks and bottles of the water with him. My claim was denied. Now that I reach out to the President of Mohawk they are sending another inspector DNA Floor Surgeons from Orlando..That is four hours away. This company does not have any experience in laboratory testing of tile. I spoke with the company and they told me they charge $1500.00 to do an inspection that is 1325.00 ,more than any other inspector.
When I asked why they said it is to educate the consumer..What is the guy doing teaching a 7 day class. What is a floor surgeon???? I have a team that out does this company's qualifications by far.
Jessysing on 2009-12-19:
If anyone wants a file of the pictures send me your email address and I will send them to you
Ytropious on 2009-12-19:
I did read your review, and you aren't very specific. And yes, you do complain about the installers basically when you mention minto home builders, ie the ones who built your home and you complained to. They are the ones who installed the tile. No need to be short about it.
Jessysing on 2009-12-20:
I wrote,I have been complaining about the tile since I have purchased the house. The problem is there is a substance that comes up from the tile when you walk on it. Mohawk has sent people my house that have claimed it is dirt. It is not dirt and it is not the grout that is coming up from the tile. Dirt washes away. If you would like a file of the pictures I am more than happy to send them to you.
Ytropious on 2009-12-20:
I don't need pictures, I believe you believe there is something coming up from the tile. But Mohawk is the seller of the tile, and Daltile makes it. You need to focus your complaint on either the seller or the manufacturer, you are complaining about both. Ceramic tile is nonporous, so I have no idea how anything could be "seeping" up through it.
Close commentsAdd reply
Mohawk Doesn't Care
Posted by on
NEW MEXICO -- We built a new home recently and used Mohawk for all of our flooring; tile, carpet and hard wood. We have a concrete slab and ordered/purchased a floating hard wood floor. Our contractor told us that because of the slab and shifting/settling of the ground a floating floor would allow the floor to "give" and not gap or break should the slab move. I don't if it was installed correctly or not. Right now (over 3 months since we complained) our flooring is still not right. Our installer came by to look at it after we noticed that the floor was very wavy - high spots that you could actually see move up and down when you stepped on them - and when it started to separate between planks. They tried to fix it by ripping up some of the flooring and "pushing it together" with big straps. Obviously that did not work. They called Mohawk back in the middle of April to get them involved with the problem. Mohawk had to send out an "independent inspector" before anything could be done. It took almost 4 weeks to get an inspector and then he didn't turn in his report for over 1 week after that. Of course Mohawk pays this "independent" inspector and found they were not at fault and it was the installers problem. I tried to talk to customer service and they said they could not speak with me, they only speak to the distributors/resellers. I asked to speak to someone who COULD speak with me and I was told that no one ever speaks directly to the customer, it's their policy! I guess I should have known - Mohawk got it's money from the distributor/installer and the installer got our money and now we're left with part of our floor torn up and no idea if it will ever be fixed. A lot of finger pointing going on and Mohawk DOES NOT CARE if the customer is happy or not. I hope everyone who reads this will seriously consider NOT USING MOHAWK for any of your flooring needs. According to the independent inspector Mohawk will let anyone sell their product as long they pay them. Oh... and our floor gets smudges on it too and dog Drool is super hard to get up!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

madconsumer on 2009-07-01:
it does sound like an installer issue. engieered wood floors are very stable and uniform. what type of under layment was useds? was it rated for concrete?
BokiBean on 2009-07-01:
Go right back to your installer and don't let them fob you off on Mohawk. They put it in wrong.
jktshff1 on 2009-07-01:
Yep, installer and distributor you purchased it from. That's where the blame lies.
Close commentsAdd reply
Bad Investment
Posted by on
LINCOLN, NEBRASKA -- We purchased Mohawks engineered flooring mainly because Mohawk was the brand name. What a mistake this was. The first thing we noticed after the wood floor was installed, by professionals, was many boards were not level where the ends meet, resulting in an annoying lip. We can feel this unevenness on our feet when we stand on the lip. Our flooring company, instantly sent over an inspector to check out our problem. They informed us Mohawk would send an independent flooring expect to check our complaint. Three weeks later the independent inspector told us the floor was in tolerance with acceptable industry standard for gaps and unlevelness. What a crock of poop!

If this is industry standards, no one should buy an engineered wood floor.

     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

dan gordon on 2009-02-22:
I can tell you that milling is important but so is the condition of your subfloor. If you went with a square edged product then you have no way to compensate for uneven subfloor. Is the floor floating or glued down? You don't give any information. Mohawk gets their wood from a variety of vendors so you can't make a blanket statement re: don't buy engineered floors. There are single plank, 3 strip, floating, glue down etc etc.
Anonymous on 2009-02-22:
When we had our wood floors put in we paid a little extra for the installer to lay down a sheet of vinyl, like you might have in a bathroom. They glued the vinyl to the cement then the planks to the vinyl. It made the surface the wood went on just about perfect and the vinyl acts as a great moisture guard in case the cement gets wet or the moisture level goes over 4%-5%.
dan gordon on 2009-02-22:
if your subfloor isn't perfectly smooth the underlayment wouldn't help the op's problems. What I was pointing out was the problem isn't a mfctring one. If two unistalled boards were side by side of course there is a tolerance allowed. Most flooring is milled to NOFMA's standards
Mendyk on 2010-05-18:
We have had Mohawk flooring in all our homes. We loved it...until now. We bought a new home with approx. 3800sft of Mohawk wood flooring. We have been here approx. 8 months. The floor is horrible. The smallest pressure by anything leaves deep scratches which cannot be repaired. I have never even allowed guests to wear shoes in our homes. Mohawk sent an inspector out to look. Its been a month and Mohawk says they haven't received the report from the inspector. We have a half a million dollar home and expected top quality from Mohawk in product and customer service. We have received neither. We have received the run around. Mohawk won't talk to us. They say the builder has to deal with them. The builder says Mohawk won't return their calls. We are giving them 5 more business days and if there is no resolve we do have an attorney on retainer. WARNING*** Do not buy Mohawk flooring. I do not work and have all the time in the world and WILL make sure our experience is found all over the internet.
Bach@earthlink.net Contact me if you would like to hear more.
Mendyk on 2010-05-18:
We have had Mohawk flooring in all our homes. We loved it...until now. We bought a new home with approx. 3800sft of Mohawk wood flooring. We have been here approx. 8 months. The floor is horrible. The smallest pressure by anything leaves deep scratches which cannot be repaired. I have never even allowed guests to wear shoes in our homes. Mohawk sent an inspector out to look. Its been a month and Mohawk says they haven't received the report from the inspector. We have a half a million dollar home and expected top quality from Mohawk in product and customer service. We have received neither. We have received the run around. Mohawk won't talk to us. They say the builder has to deal with them. The builder says Mohawk won't return their calls. We are giving them 5 more business days and if there is no resolve we do have an attorney on retainer. WARNING*** Do not buy Mohawk flooring. I do not work and have all the time in the world and WILL make sure our experience is found all over the internet.
Bach@earthlink.net Contact me if you would like to hear more.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Installation Nightmare
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- Quality of this Mohawk flooring is total junk. I professionally install many forms or flooring, and this is some of the worst. The first thing I encountered was replacing the fridge, it left huge roller indentations on new floor. I thought well "you big dummy that's too much weight" but I've done that before with other laminates. Then put carpet under another heavy item to move it, and it also scratched the floor Now after replacing two huge areas I/m treating this stuff like glass, turns out glass is less fragile. I dropped a small piece of wood from like 8 to 10 inches from the floor and it dented it. Bottom line do not buy or install this product, it will not hold up if you are homeowner, and cost you time and money if you are the installer .I felt bad for my customer,14 grand just in material & it's crap.
Company Response 07/16/2014:
Dave,

I’m Jordan from Mohawk Flooring, and I’m so sorry to hear about these flooring issues. Do you know if your customer has contacted Mohawk’s Consumer Affairs team yet? If not, here is a form that he or she can fill out online. Once Mohawk receives it, they will contact your customer right away. Again, I apologize for the issues your customer is experiencing. http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

cheryl cole on 2014-07-18:
We have contacted Mohawk, and have been waiting months for a satisfactory answer. They send a person to your house, (and every household that complains) who sprays a little water on carpet, takes a picture, and Mohawk sends you a letter telling you its a LOCAL problem
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
MOHAWK CARPET WARRANTY
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
TENNESSEE, TENNESSEE -- Mohawk Carpet Warranty requires the carpet to be professionally cleaned by a "CERTIFIED" carpet cleaner. Using a "Bissell" is not a professional cleaning. In fact it leaves harmful high pH chemical residues in the carpet. You voided the manufacturers warranty. You should be thankful that they replaced it.

Copied from Mohawk's Carpet Warranty Brochure...

5. Maintain your carpet according to Mohawk requirements in the section of this brochure labeled “Carpet Care and Guidelines”, including having a minimum of one (1) professional cleaning every 18 months using cleaning products, equipment, systems and services specified/certified with the Carpet and Rug Institute Seal of Approval. (Visit www.carpet-rug.org for a complete list of certified products.) You must show proof of cleanings in the form of a bill, invoice, or statement for cleaning services. Along with these documents, Mohawk recommends keeping a 2’ x 3’ piece of carpet from your installation for your warranty or in case you ever need to make a repair.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >