Preview Review

Next Review

Mohawk Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Defective MOHAWK Solid Oak Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We picked Mohawk Solid Oak Flooring for my parents' new home build. The entire house is installed with it. The floor is defective. Over half of the floor has split and has huge cracks and splinters in it. It took a month for the Mohawk sales representative to call us back and now waiting again after he came out to send an inspector. They just try to give the run around and hope you give up. They will claim it is installation or humidity or something else, which it is not. They are making a defective product which they should pay to replace, including labor. My parents put over $20,000 into that floor and it is not usable. DO NOT buy Mohawk Flooring.

Company Response 10/21/2016:

Hi there, I'm Laura from Mohawk - I'm very sorry to hear about you and your parents' experience with their flooring. If you wouldn't mind providing some info at the following site, our Consumer Affairs team will be able to follow up with you: http://www2.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/default.aspx I'm so sorry again for your experience! Take care. Laura

Replies
Advertisement
Defective Mohawk Engineered Flooring
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLORADO -- Recently built a new home with Oakwood home builder in Colorado. We upgraded to the Mohawk refinished engineered flooring spanning our entire main level. Within 3 months we have had our whole kitchen replaced with cracking and peeling finish through the builder.

My fear is this problem has now reappeared in addition to spreading throughout the main level. Our home is only under warranty with the builder for 1 year and we are coming up on our one year. This floor is defective product and should have a recall or class action against it. Oakwood homes is not willing to replace our floor even though they have recently stopped doing business with Mohawk. Our fight is not over however I think it's going to take a lot.

Company Response 02/24/2016:

Dear Chantelle, I'm Laura and I work for Mohawk--I'm so sorry to hear about your experience with your hardwoods. Have you gotten in touch with Mohawk's Consumer Affairs team? If you'll send us your contact info and some product info at this URL, we can follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
I'm very sorry again! Take care, Chantelle--
Laura

Replies
This Stuff Is Junk! Do Not Install in Your Home!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATWATER, OHIO -- We are experiencing the same problems everyone else is experiencing with this flooring. We installed $6000.00 of Mohawk engineered flooring, choosing it over other brands because of its claim of durability and warranty. Within 1 year, the finish on the floor is pimpling up and continues to grow everywhere, even under the rugs I have placed on the floor.

The company that sold the flooring to us arranged for an independent Mohawk adjuster to view the flooring. After listening to his health issues for almost an hour, we received the same report as everyone else -- moisture damage. Interesting how everyone is getting the same explanation!!! Mohawk has a problem with this flooring and does not want to address it!!! DO NOT BUY!!!

Company Response 02/23/2016:

Hi Patty, I'm Laura with Mohawk Flooring, and I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with your floors. Please let us know your contact info and some claim details on the following form, and we'll be able to follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/ . I apologize again, Patty! Take care-- Laura

Replies
Gaps and Height Differences in Butt Ends of Installed Planks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

YACHATS OREGON -- This is a floating floor (490 square feet). Floor has been leveled and recommended vapor barrier product installed on top. Each plank is connected with glue placed into a tongue and groove. Problem: every butt end connection has a gap (1/32 to 3/32 variation). A dry fit even shows a gap. Connections are not flush: the surface groove end rises above tongue end. Product appears to be milled incorrectly at ends of planks such that extra material in tongue portion of the end plank forces the joining groove end to rise or gap. Some ends are not perfectly square. All ends appear to have a fine black bevel line that becomes more pronounced when joined.

I have attempted on one plank, to shave both ends with a chop saw and sand the tongue and groove slightly with some better results but this is a cumbersome process and compromises the integrity of the glue joint. I have installed an engineered floor before and did not experience this problem. The floor is installed in an area where bed and breakfast guests will need to slide their chair on the floor. Though I plan to place protective material on chair legs, the chairs will not slide easily due to bumps in the butt end joints of the floor.

Company Response 07/21/2015:

Dear Diane and Jim, I'm Laura and I work with Mohawk Flooring--I'm so sorry to hear about the problems you're experiencing with your hardwood flooring. Have you had a chance to contact our Consumer Affairs team? You can send us your contact info and a little information about your particular product here, and we can follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
I'm very sorry again! Take care,
Laura

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Smell and Medical Symptoms, Watery Eyes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VERO BEACH, FLORIDA -- On 7/1/16 we had Mohawk carpet & padding installed in 2 large bedrooms and carpet. I won't even complain about the service as my complaints about that are the same as others... Not keeping appointment, etc... My chief complaint is the persistent chemical smell of our bedroom carpets! My eyes continue to water almost a month after installation. It cannot be healthy!!! Has anyone else had this problem??? I can't stand to be in the room!

Company Response 08/01/2016:

Hello, I'm Laura with Mohawk Flooring. I'm really sorry to hear about your experience with your carpet. First off you may want to speak with the company who installed the carpet or with your retailer. You can also send us your contact info and some product info at the following URL, and we can follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
Please note that neither industry testing nor independent testing has found any harmful emissions from carpet. The latex used to lock carpet tufts in place can sometimes create what is called a "new carpet smell," but this will dissipate given ventilation and time. Still, I apologize for your experience. Take care-- Laura

Replies
Mohawk Tribute Laminate Floor Is Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ILLINOIS -- Bought Mohawk Tribute laminate flooring in March 2015. In October the floor started lifting by the corners and peeling. Mohawk sent an inspector out to inspect it. A month later received a letter back saying the floor had moisture and impact damage!! I don't know where moisture came from or impact. It seems Mohawk is blaming moisture on every complaint. I did my whole downstairs, 48 cartons!! Mohawk does not stand by their suppose lifetime warranty. Now I'm stuck with my whole floor lifting and peeling away. DO NOT BUY MOHAWK LAMINATE FLOORING!!! IT IS JUNK!!!

Company Response 02/24/2016:

Hi there, I'm Laura from Mohawk Flooring--I'm really sorry to read about your experience! Would you provide us with some info at the following URL, so that we can contact you? http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/ . I'm very sorry again! Take care-- Laura

Replies
Truck Drivers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This company hires incompetent drivers. My son and I were almost just killed by one who passed us traveling on the wrong side of the road. ** is the truck number. STAY CLEAR OF THIS MANIAC!!!

Replies
Engineered "Wood" Flooring Is Worst Flooring Product on the Market!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAXHAW, NORTH CAROLINA -- When we contracted our house to be built in 2013, we paid a 15k upgrade to have "wood" flooring throughout the main floor of the house. Engineered flooring IS NOT WOOD! There is about an 1/8", maybe less, strip on the surface of a 1/2" of cheap plywood lengths. We have had a multitude of issues. Everything from ends curling up to splintering along the sides of the boards, to water damage causing the finished 1/8" surface to peel completely away from the plywood underneath.

Our builder, the installer and Mohawk keep pointing fingers at each other in a circle. They have replaced about 40-50 full floors in our neighborhood, but won't replace mine as it wasn't deemed "defective." Defective or not, it is a piece of crap product that shouldn't even be manufactured. I have also recently learned that it was installed incorrectly, as it wasn't allowed to acclimate to the environment before installation. My neighbor is actually working with the state to have his issues corrected, and we have the same floor. What a joke!

Company Response 06/23/2015:

Dear Amy, I'm Laura with Mohawk Flooring, and I'm very sorry to read about the experience you've had with your hardwood floors. If you could provide a little bit of info at the following form, we will pull your claim to review. I apologize again, Amy. Take care-- Laura
http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/

Replies
Advertisement
Mohawk Wood - Poor Quality, Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUGAR LAND, TEXAS -- I have about 2000 sq feet of Mohawk wood floors. The floors were installed in a new construction home in 2011 by Village Builders (now Lennar) in Sugar Land, Texas. The floors are 3 1/2 years old. The top layer on the edges of the wood are coming apart in every single room. I have NO kids and very little traffic in the home. The floors cost close to 15K. Mohawk sent me a letter today which states "The Mohawk products is warranted to the original purchaser of the material. Our warranties to do not transfer from homeowner to homeowner."

I purchased my home from the original owner when the home was almost one year old. Therefore, MOHAWK WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT. It is such a shame. Honestly, I would be embarrassed and ashamed to be employed by a company who fabricates such poor quality products. I suggest home builders find a new wood floor manufacturer unless you want unhappy customers! You will REGRET using your hard earned money on Mohawk products. At the least, you expect Mohawk would do what is right and stand behind their 3 year old product.

Company Response 11/06/2014:

Hi there,

This is Laura with Mohawk Flooring. Thank you for reaching back out to us - we're reviewing your issue with your hardwoods, so we will be in touch with you soon. I'm so sorry for your concerns, and I want to thank you for sharing them with us and for allowing us the chance to address them.

Replies
Problems With Mohawk Engineered Wood Floors
By -

When we purchased our townhome we chose to have the builder put in the Mohawk engineered wood floors that were available as an upgrade. They looked fantastic on the sample. Since then have been very dissatisfied with these floors and have had numerous problems ranging from annoying to huge.

First, like other folks have noticed, they get smudges instantly after cleaning them, no matter what product one uses and no matter if you have socks, shoes, or bare feet. Second, we noticed that there are gaps between the ends of the boards where they are supposed to meet and sometimes between the boards on the long side. Also, many boards are not level where the ends meet, resulting in an annoying lip. It's hard to say if it's the product or the installers that have caused this.

A customer service rep at Mohawk said gaps are normal and we should see them go away as the seasons change - well, we've been through three seasons and there's been no change for better or worse. The rep I spoke with couldn't even tell me under what conditions (humidity, temperature, etc.) the gaps wouldn't be there and whether there was an actual quantitative size that below which was deemed acceptable. Because we're under warranty with the builder we are having them address the issues.

So far we've met with a rep from the company that installed the floors and he said that the acceptable industry standard for gaps and unlevelness is the thickness of a credit card. We said that's not acceptable. Then he said that it's a man-made product and we should accept these flaws. We said no, because it's a man-made product you can control such things and it's more dimensionally stable than solid wood (a natural product) so it shouldn't expand/contract that much AND the boards are glued down so they shouldn't move at all.

His solution was to fill all of the 60 or so gaps with these special filler crayons and shoot finishing nails through the boards that are not level to get them to stay down, then fill the holes with the crayons. The problem now is that the crayon doesn't match the color of the floors and you can see where the nails went through the boards anywhere there is light from a window. We are also concerned because we now have holes through the top protective coat - who knows what problems this will cause in years to come.

To add insult to injury, we found that two colors of wood have been installed in our living room. The rest of the floors are uniform in color but there are blond planks intersperse with our butternut. The installer insisted he ordered the whole house from one batch in order to avoid such a problem. Interestingly, the builder's punch-list guy admitted they've had similar problems with these floors in some of the other townhomes.

Now we are waiting for a third party Mohawk rep to visit to see if it's "normal variation." We still need to revisit the "fixes" the installer did because the floor looks worse now than it did before. More to come... In summary, it's not worth the trouble to even bother with Mohawk engineered wood if you have a choice (we know that now).

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Mohawk Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 20 ratings and
32 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Mohawk
160 South Industrial Blvd.
Calhoun, GA. 30701
1-800-266-4295 (ph)
www.mohawkflooring.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies