Preview Review

Next Review

Mohawk Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Truck Drivers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This company hires incompetent drivers. My son and I were almost just killed by one who passed us traveling on the wrong side of the road. ** is the truck number. STAY CLEAR OF THIS MANIAC!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Defective Mohawk Engineered Flooring
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLORADO -- Recently built a new home with Oakwood home builder in Colorado. We upgraded to the Mohawk refinished engineered flooring spanning our entire main level. Within 3 months we have had our whole kitchen replaced with cracking and peeling finish through the builder.

My fear is this problem has now reappeared in addition to spreading throughout the main level. Our home is only under warranty with the builder for 1 year and we are coming up on our one year. This floor is defective product and should have a recall or class action against it. Oakwood homes is not willing to replace our floor even though they have recently stopped doing business with Mohawk. Our fight is not over however I think it's going to take a lot.

Company Response 02/24/2016:

Dear Chantelle, I'm Laura and I work for Mohawk--I'm so sorry to hear about your experience with your hardwoods. Have you gotten in touch with Mohawk's Consumer Affairs team? If you'll send us your contact info and some product info at this URL, we can follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
I'm very sorry again! Take care, Chantelle--
Laura

Replies
This Stuff Is Junk! Do Not Install in Your Home!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATWATER, OHIO -- We are experiencing the same problems everyone else is experiencing with this flooring. We installed $6000.00 of Mohawk engineered flooring, choosing it over other brands because of its claim of durability and warranty. Within 1 year, the finish on the floor is pimpling up and continues to grow everywhere, even under the rugs I have placed on the floor.

The company that sold the flooring to us arranged for an independent Mohawk adjuster to view the flooring. After listening to his health issues for almost an hour, we received the same report as everyone else -- moisture damage. Interesting how everyone is getting the same explanation!!! Mohawk has a problem with this flooring and does not want to address it!!! DO NOT BUY!!!

Company Response 02/23/2016:

Hi Patty, I'm Laura with Mohawk Flooring, and I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with your floors. Please let us know your contact info and some claim details on the following form, and we'll be able to follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/ . I apologize again, Patty! Take care-- Laura

Replies
Mohawk Engineered Flooring Dented by Dropping Teaspoon - Mohawk Denies Our Request for Help.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALHOUN, GEORGIA -- We installed $8,000 worth of Mohawk engineered flooring. It looked beautiful for about 3 days. I dropped a teaspoon and the handle of the teaspoon dented the flooring. Since then, we have had horrible scratching all over it from negligible things. We had real hardwood in our previous house and NEVER had scratching on it like we have on this mess. We went through the appropriate process to file a claim that this engineered hardwood is too soft. Mohawk denied our request as well as our appeal. We would've been pleased if they had even split the difference with us. Save yourself a lot of trouble and do not use Mohawk flooring. Poor product...poor service!

Company Response 12/04/2015:

Hello Jan, I'm Laura from Mohawk. I'm so sorry to read about your experience with your hardwood floors. If you could share a few specifics on the following form, we can look up your claim and follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/ . I apologize again, Jan. Take care-- Laura

Replies
Advertisement
Mohawk Engineered Hardwood
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

MARIETTA, OHIO -- We recently did a house remodel and had 1200 sq ft of Mohawk Engineered hardwood (Hickory Shadow) installed. The wood had 5 days acclimation time. When the installers began laying the floor there were several boards with bubbles under the wood. After installation more bubbles appeared, boards cracked and splintered. The flooring scratches easily.

We called the retailer who filed a complaint. Mohawk sent an "Independent Inspector". The report blamed lack of proper acclimation time and improper installation. The installer was reputable and experienced. We have had the floor installed less than 6 months and it continues to splinter and bubble. I spend a great deal of time weekly coloring the splintered areas with a Minwax wood stain pen. The quality of this product is very poor. I was told by the retailer that this particular flooring is extremely durable and resistant to scratches. I strongly suggest to anyone considering this product to look for a different product made by a different company.

Company Response 10/15/2015:

Hi there, I'm Laura with Mohawk. I'm really sorry to hear about your experience with your hardwoods. If you will provide us with some info at the following form, we'll be able to look up your claim and follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/ . I'm so sorry again. Take care-- Laura

Replies
Gaps and Height Differences in Butt Ends of Installed Planks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

YACHATS OREGON -- This is a floating floor (490 square feet). Floor has been leveled and recommended vapor barrier product installed on top. Each plank is connected with glue placed into a tongue and groove. Problem: every butt end connection has a gap (1/32 to 3/32 variation). A dry fit even shows a gap. Connections are not flush: the surface groove end rises above tongue end. Product appears to be milled incorrectly at ends of planks such that extra material in tongue portion of the end plank forces the joining groove end to rise or gap. Some ends are not perfectly square. All ends appear to have a fine black bevel line that becomes more pronounced when joined.

I have attempted on one plank, to shave both ends with a chop saw and sand the tongue and groove slightly with some better results but this is a cumbersome process and compromises the integrity of the glue joint. I have installed an engineered floor before and did not experience this problem. The floor is installed in an area where bed and breakfast guests will need to slide their chair on the floor. Though I plan to place protective material on chair legs, the chairs will not slide easily due to bumps in the butt end joints of the floor.

Company Response 07/21/2015:

Dear Diane and Jim, I'm Laura and I work with Mohawk Flooring--I'm so sorry to hear about the problems you're experiencing with your hardwood flooring. Have you had a chance to contact our Consumer Affairs team? You can send us your contact info and a little information about your particular product here, and we can follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
I'm very sorry again! Take care,
Laura

Replies
Terrible Smell and Medical Symptoms, Watery Eyes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VERO BEACH, FLORIDA -- On 7/1/16 we had Mohawk carpet & padding installed in 2 large bedrooms and carpet. I won't even complain about the service as my complaints about that are the same as others... Not keeping appointment, etc... My chief complaint is the persistent chemical smell of our bedroom carpets! My eyes continue to water almost a month after installation. It cannot be healthy!!! Has anyone else had this problem??? I can't stand to be in the room!

Company Response 08/01/2016:

Hello, I'm Laura with Mohawk Flooring. I'm really sorry to hear about your experience with your carpet. First off you may want to speak with the company who installed the carpet or with your retailer. You can also send us your contact info and some product info at the following URL, and we can follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
Please note that neither industry testing nor independent testing has found any harmful emissions from carpet. The latex used to lock carpet tufts in place can sometimes create what is called a "new carpet smell," but this will dissipate given ventilation and time. Still, I apologize for your experience. Take care-- Laura

Replies
Mohawk Tribute Laminate Floor Is Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ILLINOIS -- Bought Mohawk Tribute laminate flooring in March 2015. In October the floor started lifting by the corners and peeling. Mohawk sent an inspector out to inspect it. A month later received a letter back saying the floor had moisture and impact damage!! I don't know where moisture came from or impact. It seems Mohawk is blaming moisture on every complaint. I did my whole downstairs, 48 cartons!! Mohawk does not stand by their suppose lifetime warranty. Now I'm stuck with my whole floor lifting and peeling away. DO NOT BUY MOHAWK LAMINATE FLOORING!!! IT IS JUNK!!!

Company Response 02/24/2016:

Hi there, I'm Laura from Mohawk Flooring--I'm really sorry to read about your experience! Would you provide us with some info at the following URL, so that we can contact you? http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/ . I'm very sorry again! Take care-- Laura

Replies
Advertisement
Engineered "Wood" Flooring Is Worst Flooring Product on the Market!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAXHAW, NORTH CAROLINA -- When we contracted our house to be built in 2013, we paid a 15k upgrade to have "wood" flooring throughout the main floor of the house. Engineered flooring IS NOT WOOD! There is about an 1/8", maybe less, strip on the surface of a 1/2" of cheap plywood lengths. We have had a multitude of issues. Everything from ends curling up to splintering along the sides of the boards, to water damage causing the finished 1/8" surface to peel completely away from the plywood underneath.

Our builder, the installer and Mohawk keep pointing fingers at each other in a circle. They have replaced about 40-50 full floors in our neighborhood, but won't replace mine as it wasn't deemed "defective." Defective or not, it is a piece of crap product that shouldn't even be manufactured. I have also recently learned that it was installed incorrectly, as it wasn't allowed to acclimate to the environment before installation. My neighbor is actually working with the state to have his issues corrected, and we have the same floor. What a joke!

Company Response 06/23/2015:

Dear Amy, I'm Laura with Mohawk Flooring, and I'm very sorry to read about the experience you've had with your hardwood floors. If you could provide a little bit of info at the following form, we will pull your claim to review. I apologize again, Amy. Take care-- Laura
http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/

Replies
Mohawk Wood - Poor Quality, Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUGAR LAND, TEXAS -- I have about 2000 sq feet of Mohawk wood floors. The floors were installed in a new construction home in 2011 by Village Builders (now Lennar) in Sugar Land, Texas. The floors are 3 1/2 years old. The top layer on the edges of the wood are coming apart in every single room. I have NO kids and very little traffic in the home. The floors cost close to 15K. Mohawk sent me a letter today which states "The Mohawk products is warranted to the original purchaser of the material. Our warranties to do not transfer from homeowner to homeowner."

I purchased my home from the original owner when the home was almost one year old. Therefore, MOHAWK WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT. It is such a shame. Honestly, I would be embarrassed and ashamed to be employed by a company who fabricates such poor quality products. I suggest home builders find a new wood floor manufacturer unless you want unhappy customers! You will REGRET using your hard earned money on Mohawk products. At the least, you expect Mohawk would do what is right and stand behind their 3 year old product.

Company Response 11/06/2014:

Hi there,

This is Laura with Mohawk Flooring. Thank you for reaching back out to us - we're reviewing your issue with your hardwoods, so we will be in touch with you soon. I'm so sorry for your concerns, and I want to thank you for sharing them with us and for allowing us the chance to address them.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Mohawk Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 19 ratings and
31 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Mohawk
160 South Industrial Blvd.
Calhoun, GA. 30701
1-800-266-4295 (ph)
www.mohawkflooring.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies