Preview Review

Next Review

Mohawk Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Wood Floor Is Peeling and Flaking
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SAINT JOHNS, FLORIDA -- We had our home built in 2013 and selected as an upgrade Mohawk Hardwood flooring at a tune of $22,000.00 for our main areas in our home. Now we have peeling and flaking on some of the boards (Pasadena Plank/Cognac Hickory). I originally called Mohawk and was told to go back to the place I purchased. This is not acceptable and does not fall within their warranty guidelines. I have contacted Mohawk via their website and submitted a query. Waiting on their response, let's see how this goes.

Company Response 03/20/2018:

Hi there, I'm Laura with Mohawk - I'm extremely sorry to hear about your experience with your floors. The reason you would have been asked to contact your dealer (or your builder, if that is who provided the flooring), is that, in almost all cases, they are the party who can file a claim for you with Mohawk, if needed. The dealer or builder is to work with Mohawk on your behalf. If your dealer or builder is not responsive, you can let us know by sending us info at http://www2.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/ . I'm very sorry again for your experience. Take care-- Laura

Replies
Advertisement
Failing Floor After 1 Month And No Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOUISIANA -- During the summer of 2015 we undertook a large renovation in our home that included complete replacement of our floors. We had lived in our home for 7 years with Mohawk engineered floors with no problem, but we wanted a different look. After much research, we chose to use Mohawk Hardwood flooring due to trust in the Mohawk brand and quality of product.

We moved out of our house during the week long installation process and used a verified and trusted installer for the floors. After a week, the floors were complete and we were extremely pleased with the finished product. Unfortunately, about a month after installation, we noticed the finish wearing off at the ends of some of the boards. We contacted our dealer immediately and they reported the problem to the local Mohawk representative. We were told that an inspector would be coming to our home to assess the situation.

After several months, an inspector called and scheduled an appointment. He completed his inspection and told us that Mohawk would be in touch. Fast forward a couple of months and we received a letter from Mohawk on December 6, 2016 stating that the issues were caused by moisture and that Mohawk was not liable damage. We were extremely frustrated that a brand and product we trusted was not taking responsibility for an obvious manufacturer defect.

We are a couple years into our floors and the failing boards continue to flake and lose their finish. We had the same installer come to our home recently to install floors on our second floor. He immediately noticed the finish defect issue and stated that he has seen this in other homes he has installed floors in. He pointed out that there are specific floor boards failing, and the ones next to them are not… meaning that it CANNOT be a moisture issue. He would be happy to testify that this is not a moisture issue and is, in fact, a defect in the product. What a disappointment.

Replies
5" Steel Maple Solid Hardwood Flooring - Extremely Poor Quality Milling
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

CALHOUN, GEORGIA -- Purchased 950 sq ft of Mohawk flooring from Lowe's in Burlington, ON, Canada. I am a licensed carpenter with 40 yrs experience and have installed many a hardwood floor. This particular job is for my daughter and her boyfriend. They purchased a home and are having me install the product in upstairs bedrooms and landing area, then on main floor in family/dining room.

We started on the bedrooms. First thing noticeable was the inconsistency in board widths - boards coming from the same box!!! There would be gaps of up to 1/8" in places. This makes it impossible to do a professional job. Second thing I noticed is that some of the board ends are not milled square at 90 degrees - leaving gaps at corners.

I thought maybe this was an aberration so we set aside the most obvious defects and continued with the bedrooms. Even so, the joints were not tight or lining up properly. Basically the job looked terrible by my standards. After reviewing the situation with the owners, we stopped installation after the bedrooms and went back to Lowe's to complain. Thus far the department manager at Lowe's has been on the ball in transferring my information to Mohawk, but we are still waiting for a response back from them.

The scary thing is that I've been doing research on consumer reviews of this product. There are dozens of them reporting the same issues I am experiencing. The sad part is that as a carpenter/contractor, I highly recommended Mohawk to the clients. I installed it in my own home 7 years ago and the job is close to perfect. Mohawk used to be "gold". It has a stamp on the packaging that says "proudly made in the USA". I always avoid offshore products wherever possible.

That being said, I am at a loss of words for just how far the quality control of the milling process has fallen. I'm almost wondering if the "made in USA" simply refers to the cardboard box the product comes in. As for the contents, a lot of it is destined for the fire pit. I am posting this in hoping that someone at Mohawk reads it and will stir the pot to encourage a response.

Company Response 04/04/2018:

Hi there, I'm Laura with Mohawk - I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with your flooring. If you'll send us some more information at the form below, we will look to see whether your retailer has filed a claim with Mohawk and if so where it is in the claims process:
http://www2.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
I apologize again for your experience! Take care-- Laura

Replies
Gaps and Height Differences in Butt Ends of Installed Planks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

YACHATS OREGON -- This is a floating floor (490 square feet). Floor has been leveled and recommended vapor barrier product installed on top. Each plank is connected with glue placed into a tongue and groove. Problem: every butt end connection has a gap (1/32 to 3/32 variation). A dry fit even shows a gap. Connections are not flush: the surface groove end rises above tongue end. Product appears to be milled incorrectly at ends of planks such that extra material in tongue portion of the end plank forces the joining groove end to rise or gap. Some ends are not perfectly square. All ends appear to have a fine black bevel line that becomes more pronounced when joined.

I have attempted on one plank, to shave both ends with a chop saw and sand the tongue and groove slightly with some better results but this is a cumbersome process and compromises the integrity of the glue joint. I have installed an engineered floor before and did not experience this problem. The floor is installed in an area where bed and breakfast guests will need to slide their chair on the floor. Though I plan to place protective material on chair legs, the chairs will not slide easily due to bumps in the butt end joints of the floor.

Company Response 07/21/2015:

Dear Diane and Jim, I'm Laura and I work with Mohawk Flooring--I'm so sorry to hear about the problems you're experiencing with your hardwood flooring. Have you had a chance to contact our Consumer Affairs team? You can send us your contact info and a little information about your particular product here, and we can follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
I'm very sorry again! Take care,
Laura

Replies
Advertisement
Won't Stand Behind Their Product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW BRAUNFELS, TEXAS -- Installed hardwood flooring throughout my dream home and spent a fortune. Within a few months the stain started to chip and peel up. Mohawk sent out their inspector who denies any problems with their product without fully testing it!!! This product and company is a joke!! Reading reviews of others with the same problem I see that I am not alone! Wish I would have read reviews much earlier! Do Not buy Mohawk products!!!

Company Response 01/25/2018:

Hi Travis, I'm Laura with Mohawk Flooring - I'm so sorry to hear about your experience with your floors. I understand that Mohawk has sent an inspector out, so I just wanted to share that you can have another inspection done if you're interested - you would hire an inspector and have them submit their assessment to Mohawk. This will reopen the claim. The inspector just needs to be certified, either by the NICFI - http://www.nicfi.org/Search.aspx - or by the IICRC -
http://www.iicrc.info/locateapro/homepage.aspx -- On both of those sites, you can type in your zip code and find the nearest certified flooring inspectors. Many of them have a wide radius of service. You or the inspector can email the report to consumer@mohawkind.com -- Mohawk will reopen the claim once they receive the new inspector's report. I'm very sorry again for your experience, Travis.

Replies
Truck Drivers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This company hires incompetent drivers. My son and I were almost just killed by one who passed us traveling on the wrong side of the road. ** is the truck number. STAY CLEAR OF THIS MANIAC!!!

Replies
Defective MOHAWK Solid Oak Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We picked Mohawk Solid Oak Flooring for my parents' new home build. The entire house is installed with it. The floor is defective. Over half of the floor has split and has huge cracks and splinters in it. It took a month for the Mohawk sales representative to call us back and now waiting again after he came out to send an inspector. They just try to give the run around and hope you give up. They will claim it is installation or humidity or something else, which it is not. They are making a defective product which they should pay to replace, including labor. My parents put over $20,000 into that floor and it is not usable. DO NOT buy Mohawk Flooring.

Company Response 10/21/2016:

Hi there, I'm Laura from Mohawk - I'm very sorry to hear about you and your parents' experience with their flooring. If you wouldn't mind providing some info at the following site, our Consumer Affairs team will be able to follow up with you: http://www2.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/default.aspx I'm so sorry again for your experience! Take care. Laura

Replies
Problems With Mohawk Engineered Wood Floors
By -

When we purchased our townhome we chose to have the builder put in the Mohawk engineered wood floors that were available as an upgrade. They looked fantastic on the sample. Since then have been very dissatisfied with these floors and have had numerous problems ranging from annoying to huge.

First, like other folks have noticed, they get smudges instantly after cleaning them, no matter what product one uses and no matter if you have socks, shoes, or bare feet. Second, we noticed that there are gaps between the ends of the boards where they are supposed to meet and sometimes between the boards on the long side. Also, many boards are not level where the ends meet, resulting in an annoying lip. It's hard to say if it's the product or the installers that have caused this.

A customer service rep at Mohawk said gaps are normal and we should see them go away as the seasons change - well, we've been through three seasons and there's been no change for better or worse. The rep I spoke with couldn't even tell me under what conditions (humidity, temperature, etc.) the gaps wouldn't be there and whether there was an actual quantitative size that below which was deemed acceptable. Because we're under warranty with the builder we are having them address the issues.

So far we've met with a rep from the company that installed the floors and he said that the acceptable industry standard for gaps and unlevelness is the thickness of a credit card. We said that's not acceptable. Then he said that it's a man-made product and we should accept these flaws. We said no, because it's a man-made product you can control such things and it's more dimensionally stable than solid wood (a natural product) so it shouldn't expand/contract that much AND the boards are glued down so they shouldn't move at all.

His solution was to fill all of the 60 or so gaps with these special filler crayons and shoot finishing nails through the boards that are not level to get them to stay down, then fill the holes with the crayons. The problem now is that the crayon doesn't match the color of the floors and you can see where the nails went through the boards anywhere there is light from a window. We are also concerned because we now have holes through the top protective coat - who knows what problems this will cause in years to come.

To add insult to injury, we found that two colors of wood have been installed in our living room. The rest of the floors are uniform in color but there are blond planks intersperse with our butternut. The installer insisted he ordered the whole house from one batch in order to avoid such a problem. Interestingly, the builder's punch-list guy admitted they've had similar problems with these floors in some of the other townhomes.

Now we are waiting for a third party Mohawk rep to visit to see if it's "normal variation." We still need to revisit the "fixes" the installer did because the floor looks worse now than it did before. More to come... In summary, it's not worth the trouble to even bother with Mohawk engineered wood if you have a choice (we know that now).

Replies
Advertisement
Will Not Stand Behind Defective Product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

They will not stand behind defective product. As others have stated on here, last year we purchased over 2000 square feet of Mohawk's engineered hardwood flooring for our newly renovated home. Within two months of installation the floor's top layer began to peel and chip in multiple rooms. It looks simply horrible. Mohawk sent out an inspector who found it was water damage or poor installation. This is entirely impossible based on the location of the majority of the peeling. (We simply don't have & never had standing water on any of the surfaces.)

The store we purchased from (Priceless Carpet One in Maryland) sent their own inspector, who works in flood and fire damage. He reported it was indeed not water damage (there was no cupping of the boards, etc.). Mohawk still refuses to work with us to address the problem with their poorly made product. It's simply reprehensible that they don't care for customer satisfaction nor the quality of their product. We have been left with no alternative other than to pursue this legally.

Replies
Defective Mohawk Engineered Flooring
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLORADO -- Recently built a new home with Oakwood home builder in Colorado. We upgraded to the Mohawk refinished engineered flooring spanning our entire main level. Within 3 months we have had our whole kitchen replaced with cracking and peeling finish through the builder.

My fear is this problem has now reappeared in addition to spreading throughout the main level. Our home is only under warranty with the builder for 1 year and we are coming up on our one year. This floor is defective product and should have a recall or class action against it. Oakwood homes is not willing to replace our floor even though they have recently stopped doing business with Mohawk. Our fight is not over however I think it's going to take a lot.

Company Response 02/24/2016:

Dear Chantelle, I'm Laura and I work for Mohawk--I'm so sorry to hear about your experience with your hardwoods. Have you gotten in touch with Mohawk's Consumer Affairs team? If you'll send us your contact info and some product info at this URL, we can follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
I'm very sorry again! Take care, Chantelle--
Laura

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Mohawk Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 25 ratings and
37 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Mohawk
160 South Industrial Blvd.
Calhoun, GA. 30701
1-800-266-4295 (ph)
www.mohawkflooring.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies