Preview Review

Next Review

Mohawk Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Gaps and Height Differences in Butt Ends of Installed Planks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

YACHATS OREGON -- This is a floating floor (490 square feet). Floor has been leveled and recommended vapor barrier product installed on top. Each plank is connected with glue placed into a tongue and groove. Problem: every butt end connection has a gap (1/32 to 3/32 variation). A dry fit even shows a gap. Connections are not flush: the surface groove end rises above tongue end. Product appears to be milled incorrectly at ends of planks such that extra material in tongue portion of the end plank forces the joining groove end to rise or gap. Some ends are not perfectly square. All ends appear to have a fine black bevel line that becomes more pronounced when joined.

I have attempted on one plank, to shave both ends with a chop saw and sand the tongue and groove slightly with some better results but this is a cumbersome process and compromises the integrity of the glue joint. I have installed an engineered floor before and did not experience this problem. The floor is installed in an area where bed and breakfast guests will need to slide their chair on the floor. Though I plan to place protective material on chair legs, the chairs will not slide easily due to bumps in the butt end joints of the floor.

Company Response 07/21/2015:

Dear Diane and Jim, I'm Laura and I work with Mohawk Flooring--I'm so sorry to hear about the problems you're experiencing with your hardwood flooring. Have you had a chance to contact our Consumer Affairs team? You can send us your contact info and a little information about your particular product here, and we can follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
I'm very sorry again! Take care,
Laura

Replies
Advertisement
Truck Drivers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This company hires incompetent drivers. My son and I were almost just killed by one who passed us traveling on the wrong side of the road. ** is the truck number. STAY CLEAR OF THIS MANIAC!!!

Replies
Engineered "Wood" Flooring Is Worst Flooring Product on the Market!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAXHAW, NORTH CAROLINA -- When we contracted our house to be built in 2013, we paid a 15k upgrade to have "wood" flooring throughout the main floor of the house. Engineered flooring IS NOT WOOD! There is about an 1/8", maybe less, strip on the surface of a 1/2" of cheap plywood lengths. We have had a multitude of issues. Everything from ends curling up to splintering along the sides of the boards, to water damage causing the finished 1/8" surface to peel completely away from the plywood underneath.

Our builder, the installer and Mohawk keep pointing fingers at each other in a circle. They have replaced about 40-50 full floors in our neighborhood, but won't replace mine as it wasn't deemed "defective." Defective or not, it is a piece of crap product that shouldn't even be manufactured. I have also recently learned that it was installed incorrectly, as it wasn't allowed to acclimate to the environment before installation. My neighbor is actually working with the state to have his issues corrected, and we have the same floor. What a joke!

Company Response 06/23/2015:

Dear Amy, I'm Laura with Mohawk Flooring, and I'm very sorry to read about the experience you've had with your hardwood floors. If you could provide a little bit of info at the following form, we will pull your claim to review. I apologize again, Amy. Take care-- Laura
http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/

Replies
This Stuff Is Junk! Do Not Install in Your Home!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATWATER, OHIO -- We are experiencing the same problems everyone else is experiencing with this flooring. We installed $6000.00 of Mohawk engineered flooring, choosing it over other brands because of its claim of durability and warranty. Within 1 year, the finish on the floor is pimpling up and continues to grow everywhere, even under the rugs I have placed on the floor.

The company that sold the flooring to us arranged for an independent Mohawk adjuster to view the flooring. After listening to his health issues for almost an hour, we received the same report as everyone else -- moisture damage. Interesting how everyone is getting the same explanation!!! Mohawk has a problem with this flooring and does not want to address it!!! DO NOT BUY!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Mohawk Engineered Flooring Dented by Dropping Teaspoon - Mohawk Denies Our Request for Help.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALHOUN, GEORGIA -- We installed $8,000 worth of Mohawk engineered flooring. It looked beautiful for about 3 days. I dropped a teaspoon and the handle of the teaspoon dented the flooring. Since then, we have had horrible scratching all over it from negligible things. We had real hardwood in our previous house and NEVER had scratching on it like we have on this mess. We went through the appropriate process to file a claim that this engineered hardwood is too soft. Mohawk denied our request as well as our appeal. We would've been pleased if they had even split the difference with us. Save yourself a lot of trouble and do not use Mohawk flooring. Poor product...poor service!

Company Response 12/04/2015:

Hello Jan, I'm Laura from Mohawk. I'm so sorry to read about your experience with your hardwood floors. If you could share a few specifics on the following form, we can look up your claim and follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/ . I apologize again, Jan. Take care-- Laura

Replies
Mohawk Engineered Hardwood
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

MARIETTA, OHIO -- We recently did a house remodel and had 1200 sq ft of Mohawk Engineered hardwood (Hickory Shadow) installed. The wood had 5 days acclimation time. When the installers began laying the floor there were several boards with bubbles under the wood. After installation more bubbles appeared, boards cracked and splintered. The flooring scratches easily.

We called the retailer who filed a complaint. Mohawk sent an "Independent Inspector". The report blamed lack of proper acclimation time and improper installation. The installer was reputable and experienced. We have had the floor installed less than 6 months and it continues to splinter and bubble. I spend a great deal of time weekly coloring the splintered areas with a Minwax wood stain pen. The quality of this product is very poor. I was told by the retailer that this particular flooring is extremely durable and resistant to scratches. I strongly suggest to anyone considering this product to look for a different product made by a different company.

Company Response 10/15/2015:

Hi there, I'm Laura with Mohawk. I'm really sorry to hear about your experience with your hardwoods. If you will provide us with some info at the following form, we'll be able to look up your claim and follow up with you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/ . I'm so sorry again. Take care-- Laura

Replies
Carpet Wear and Falling Apart
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO -- I financed thru Lowe's to have new "Lucky Star" carpet installed by the mfg. Mohawk Flooring. After just 2 years we started seeing wear spots, so I covered them up with rugs so they would not get any worse. At the 3rd year, it was getting so bad I no longer had enough rugs to cover all the wear spots. I tried dealing with Mohawk Flooring, but they said my carpet was not warranted because I did not pay for a professional carpet cleaner to come to my house every 3 to 6 months to clean my carpet.

I purchased my own carpet cleaner and have maintained my carpet myself. We do not even walk on the carpet with shoes on. My carpet is now 4 years old and I just finished vacuuming it, as I do on a very regular basis. About 10 pieces of the carpet came up. Why???? I realize that I cannot get any satisfaction from Mohawk Carpet, as they have already refused to even look at it. I feel strongly about warning everyone else about this carpet and this company so they are not in the same position as I.

Company Response 09/18/2015:

Hi Valerie, I'm Laura with Mohawk, and I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with your carpet. If you would like to provide a little information at the following page, our Consumer Affairs team will contact you: http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/
Thank you for this feedback, and I apologize again! Take care,
Laura

Replies
Hardwood Floor Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BUFFALO, NEW YORK -- I had a new hardwood floor installed in February 2014. It has cracked and bubbled. I had the installer come out to put in a claim. Mohawk declined it. A $4,000 floor should last more than 1.5 years. What a waste of money!

Company Response 09/27/2015:

I'm Laura from Mohawk--I'm really sorry for your experience with your hardwoods. If you'd like to provide some info at the following site, we can review your previous claim and contact you. I apologize again. Take care. Laura
http://www.mohawkflooring.com/consumer-affairs/

Replies
Advertisement
Problems With Mohawk Engineered Wood Floors
By -

When we purchased our townhome we chose to have the builder put in the Mohawk engineered wood floors that were available as an upgrade. They looked fantastic on the sample. Since then have been very dissatisfied with these floors and have had numerous problems ranging from annoying to huge.

First, like other folks have noticed, they get smudges instantly after cleaning them, no matter what product one uses and no matter if you have socks, shoes, or bare feet. Second, we noticed that there are gaps between the ends of the boards where they are supposed to meet and sometimes between the boards on the long side. Also, many boards are not level where the ends meet, resulting in an annoying lip. It's hard to say if it's the product or the installers that have caused this.

A customer service rep at Mohawk said gaps are normal and we should see them go away as the seasons change - well, we've been through three seasons and there's been no change for better or worse. The rep I spoke with couldn't even tell me under what conditions (humidity, temperature, etc.) the gaps wouldn't be there and whether there was an actual quantitative size that below which was deemed acceptable. Because we're under warranty with the builder we are having them address the issues.

So far we've met with a rep from the company that installed the floors and he said that the acceptable industry standard for gaps and unlevelness is the thickness of a credit card. We said that's not acceptable. Then he said that it's a man-made product and we should accept these flaws. We said no, because it's a man-made product you can control such things and it's more dimensionally stable than solid wood (a natural product) so it shouldn't expand/contract that much AND the boards are glued down so they shouldn't move at all.

His solution was to fill all of the 60 or so gaps with these special filler crayons and shoot finishing nails through the boards that are not level to get them to stay down, then fill the holes with the crayons. The problem now is that the crayon doesn't match the color of the floors and you can see where the nails went through the boards anywhere there is light from a window. We are also concerned because we now have holes through the top protective coat - who knows what problems this will cause in years to come.

To add insult to injury, we found that two colors of wood have been installed in our living room. The rest of the floors are uniform in color but there are blond planks intersperse with our butternut. The installer insisted he ordered the whole house from one batch in order to avoid such a problem. Interestingly, the builder's punch-list guy admitted they've had similar problems with these floors in some of the other townhomes.

Now we are waiting for a third party Mohawk rep to visit to see if it's "normal variation." We still need to revisit the "fixes" the installer did because the floor looks worse now than it did before. More to come... In summary, it's not worth the trouble to even bother with Mohawk engineered wood if you have a choice (we know that now).

Replies
Mohawk Wood - Poor Quality, Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUGAR LAND, TEXAS -- I have about 2000 sq feet of Mohawk wood floors. The floors were installed in a new construction home in 2011 by Village Builders (now Lennar) in Sugar Land, Texas. The floors are 3 1/2 years old. The top layer on the edges of the wood are coming apart in every single room. I have NO kids and very little traffic in the home. The floors cost close to 15K. Mohawk sent me a letter today which states "The Mohawk products is warranted to the original purchaser of the material. Our warranties to do not transfer from homeowner to homeowner."

I purchased my home from the original owner when the home was almost one year old. Therefore, MOHAWK WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT. It is such a shame. Honestly, I would be embarrassed and ashamed to be employed by a company who fabricates such poor quality products. I suggest home builders find a new wood floor manufacturer unless you want unhappy customers! You will REGRET using your hard earned money on Mohawk products. At the least, you expect Mohawk would do what is right and stand behind their 3 year old product.

Company Response 11/06/2014:

Hi there,

This is Laura with Mohawk Flooring. Thank you for reaching back out to us - we're reviewing your issue with your hardwoods, so we will be in touch with you soon. I'm so sorry for your concerns, and I want to thank you for sharing them with us and for allowing us the chance to address them.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Mohawk Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 16 ratings and
28 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Mohawk
160 South Industrial Blvd.
Calhoun, GA. 30701
1-800-266-4295 (ph)
www.mohawkflooring.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies