Preview Review

Next Review

My Heritage Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am completely unable to get a hold of their customer service department. They charged my credit card after a free trial period that I was not aware even finalized. I have tried every day since they charged my card to reach them with no response. They do not return emails. They called me back once and left a message, when I tried to return the call, no one was available to help me. I just want my money refunded and my subscription cancelled. Do not sign up with this company! I am very unhappy that they will not respond or refund my money. I hate to think what it would be like if I actually had wanted to use their service!

It Is a Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

It only came up with me & not my children, grandchildren, mother, father, siblings, cousins, etc. My name is unique & anyone with that last name is related, & there are only less than 100 in the world. Only my name came up. This site is a farce & a scam. I'm lucky. It was a one-time free trial & it didn't cost me anything. You'd do better with the Ancestry website. This site deserves a zero rating.

Improper Use of Information
By -

I have been using My Heritage for some time to publish my family tree. Recent increases in fees made it too expensive to maintain. I let it expire. My Heritage went into my family tree, entered the members file and took out the email addresses and sent the following letter to the members. The company had no idea why I didn't renew the site and took personal information to do the solicitation. I never gave My Heritage the permission to use the members list for their own use. Watch out, your info is not safe with this company.

Company Response 07/19/2010:

Company response:

We regret that you were inconvenienced.

First, we would like to present a few clarifications.

There have been no recent increases in the site fees. The PremiumPlus subscription which you have had on your site, is today at the same price in which you purchased it in June 2009, and discounts of up to 20% have been offered for its early renewal, so its renewal is cheaper than its original cost.

The site did not go into your family tree to extract information. Any members of your family site who received emails, are registered members of MyHeritage after having been invited by you to the site, or having registered on the site before you invited them to your family site; they receive emails from MyHeritage regularly, including calendar notifications, newsletters, and occasional promotions. Users who do not wish to receive emails can unsubscribe individually. So it is not the first time that members of the site had received emails. On your family site there are 14 members except for you, 2 of them manage premium family sites on MyHeritage already, and 3 other members among them manage non-premium family sites on MyHeritage. So 5/14 of your other site members are themselves managers of family sites on MyHeritage. All of them receive correspondence from MyHeritage from time to time, as well as the regular members.

Also incorrect is the assumption that ALL your site members received the email that you quoted. That particular email is sent to between 1 and 5 members, depending if there are members who visited the site recently enough. In your case it's likely that the email was sent only to one or two people.
The email was sent only if the profile of the site manager is such where expiration of the family site is unexpected (in your case, visiting the site more than 800 times since November 2007 and using the desktop software hundreds of times as well).

We agree that the email itself is problematic and because of your feedback we have decided to discontinue it in its current form. In the new form we will only inform 2-3 additional site members of the expiration and let them know that they can contact the site manager to find out if the expiration is deliberate, or contact us if the site manager is out of reach, in case they want to keep the site running. No discounts will be offered, it will only be a matter of keeping the site, or not.

Here are more details on why sending information to other site members is sometimes useful. Many of the site managers on MyHeritage are old people and, given that there are more than 14.6 million family sites on the site, there are site managers who pass away, unfortunately, every week. We owe it to the members of the family, therefore, to notify them if the site manager has not renewed the site. Sometimes it is because of a deliberate decision by the site manager to discontinue the site, in which case it would be wrong to contact other members. But sometimes the reason for a site's expiration is the fact that the site manager passed away. When this happens, our email is often the only indication for other family members that they can resume the site, and in most cases the sites are indeed continued and family legacies are not lost. There is a challenge in emailing the site manager first because what if he/she does not write back, is that an indication of a deliberate decision or a health problem? On MyHeritage, unlike similar sites, a single subscription covers the whole family site and all site members, and it is not a personal subscription. Therefore another member of the site can keep the site running if the site manager is unable to do so.

In any case, we apologize again that you have been offended by this email, and we decided to discontinue it in its current form. We have also contacted you personally on that matter, and offered a compensation for the inconvenience. We hope, that you will continue to enjoy the site as you had done since November of 2007.

My Heritage has taken over my computer
By -

I can't get rid of it. It has taken over my computer. I started digging for ways to get rid of it only to find it is some sort of malware.

Top of Page | Next Page >

My Heritage Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 2 ratings and
4 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
My Heritage
2975 Executive Pkwy Ste 310
Lehi, UT 84043
888-377-0588 (ph)
Compare Online Consumer Services