My3cents.com - Page 3

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.2 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
45 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
This site is wonderful and informative
Posted by on
DALLAS, TEXAS -- I just discovered this site today and let me tell you this is great. I know so many people this site could have helped had they known about this. I advise anybody who is aware of this site to tell your friends and family about it because this is the best way to compliment the people(businesses) that go out of their way for you and to stick it to the businesses that really get under your skin by the poor quality of service they provide. You always hear that the best referral is by word of mouth and that's no lie, so PEOPLE USE THIS SITE!!!

We can help each other not get ripped off and taken advantage of, we don't have to take it sitting down anymore....
Company Response 1/29/2011:
Thanks for the kind words!

-My3cents Team
     
Read 23 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2008-02-15:
Not to mention the added benefit of great wisdom and helpful suggestions from some very smart regular posters.
DebtorBasher on 2008-02-15:
Welcome to the site Rosa...I'm sure you will continue to find very helpful information on a wide variety of companies.
jktshff1 on 2008-02-15:
What they said. There can also be some very "spirited" discussion.
Welcome!
Anonymous on 2008-02-15:
Yes, welcome to the site!
Anonymous on 2008-02-15:
Welcome Rosa and please have fun while your here!

Leela, I had another dream!
DebtorBasher on 2008-02-15:
Good Morning Leela and Jkt...Leela, Your in charge of the daycare today...make me proud!
Anonymous on 2008-02-15:
Sorry, DB -- I'm off to the doc with food poisoning (I think).
Anonymous on 2008-02-15:
Yeah, good morning to you too DB, you SNOB!
jktshff1 on 2008-02-15:
Mornin' all!
Anonymous on 2008-02-15:
Good morning jktshff1 and how are you today?
I think I am going to the store in a sec to get some jelly donuts....
Starlord on 2008-02-15:
Sorry to hear, Leela, get well quick. I know how you feel, though, I am down with bronchitis.
Principissa on 2008-02-15:
Welcome Rosa.

Leela, please feel better soon. Keep hydrated and rest. And try and eat clear foods as best as you can, jello, broth, tea.
jktshff1 on 2008-02-15:
I got to go by a customers and then goin to play golf.
MRM on 2008-02-15:
Thank you for coming!
MRM on 2008-02-15:
Thank you for visiting this site!
Anonymous on 2008-02-15:
jkt, have a great day! Hope you finally win against the Miss.

MRM, you forgot to put out the donuts!
SilverWngs71 on 2008-02-15:
Welcome to the site Rosa.

Hi Everyone, hope you are all well and Leela hope you feel better soon.
Anonymous on 2008-02-15:
Hi Silver, how are you feeling this fine day?
GothicSmurf on 2008-02-15:
Welcome to M3C!
goldenlab on 2008-02-16:
I'm new to this site..Found great information here. Thank you all.
jktshff1 on 2008-02-16:
welcome goldenlab!
Principissa on 2008-02-16:
Hi goldenlab! Welcome!
BofAmerica666 on 2010-04-25:
well written review, I have to agree with rosehotrosa. vote:very helpful
Close commentsAdd reply
Please respect other members when posting your message
Posted by on
To my3cents users,
Dear sirs/madams,

Why is it so necessary to belittle people about spelling and grammar?

I find it usually happens when there is nothing else to say. Some post/reviews are just bad and are so bad that it needs to be pointed out.

These are not the prime reason that it is done. We have all done it, yes me as well and I am not above it as many think they are. There is not one among us who hasn’t been caught doing it and I mean telling someone else they did it or caught in the act of using bad grammar and misspelling words.

I see it when and this to me is the most offensive, when people can’t use there brain to see though the misspelled words or the wrong grammar to understand what is being said. Then the stupid comments start: “why don’t you use a spell checker?” Well spell checkers don’t always work the way we think they should. Then, “you must go back to school” and the person saying that should learn what respect means. It goes on and on you all know what I am talking about and I know this will have little to no effect on this at all but I just wanted to say it.

When I see this being done by people that think spelling and grammar is the be all and end all to communication, I see small-minded people that would never make it out in the real word. There are so many different dialects, slang, and ways to spell things it’s not funny and that’s just the English language. Most of the “grammar” I see on here would not work if we were to use the “Kings English” and most people would be beat to tears if confronted with people that use the kings English.

I see a lot of the so called, self proclaimed SMART PEOPLE on here who think they know a person by what they type and how they type it, I see them type big smart sounding sentences that I can google up in a hart beat and the same people want to say they know you are plagiarizing.

I could go on but if you don’t get the meaning of what I am saying then maybe you need to go out in the world and experience it for yourself. Some people will never get it and will always equate intelligence with the only ability they have, they can spell but haven’t a clue how to communicate.

“Please respect other members when posting your message. Thanks!”


     
Read 126 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

rhondam718732 on 2007-07-06:
AMEN!
chemman on 2007-07-06:
well said!
jktshff1 on 2007-07-06:
lidman..you're on a roll!
heaven17 on 2007-07-06:
I don't equate slack usage of grammar or lack of spelling skills with anyone's intelligence. Some of the 'smartest' people I've known in my life couldn't spell a lick.
However, it does aid in general comprehension.
If I have to reread something repeatedly just to figure out what the heck the OP is talking about, chances are the company to which the complaint is addressed won't waste their time with it.

And 'people in glass houses', by the way! I see so many people refer to other people as stupid or uneducated or morons or whatever.
If you're going to go there, you deserve to be berated for any illiteracy you portray.

Other than that, Lidman, I completely agree!
MRM on 2007-07-06:
I, for one, don't belittle other people. That's not my style. I only point out the facts to the poster.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Perhaps you should find another website to play on.
old fart on 2007-07-06:
I can spell like a champ! I just can't type worth a da*n!
adzidek on 2007-07-06:
Tina Blue, College-level English teacher, on respect and spelling:

"...the extra minute or two it takes to run a spell-check on a short article is, I think, a gesture of politeness and respect. When we make the corrections we can easily make, we are honoring our readers, saying that they are worth that extra time to us. It's sort of like dressing up a bit and combing our hair to show respect to someone we are about to meet. Even those of us who are normally very casual in our attire care enough about some people and some situations to go a little bit out of our way to signal our sense that they are worth that extra effort."
adzidek on 2007-07-06:
She continues:

"I think writers who are not necessarily specialists in language and who make no pretense of being anything other than exuberant enthusiasts should be treated respectfully, even if they do make some mistakes in spelling and grammar. But I also think they should at least try to clean up the easy spelling errors before posting or submitting their work to a wider audience."

-"Why Bother with Spelling and Grammar Rules?", November 19th, 2000.
adzidek on 2007-07-06:
Lidman, with all due respect, you are entitled to your opinion, but I share the same view as Tina Blue, who as an authority on the English language, is understandably more convincing.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Where is your source?

The real point is the spell-check doesn't always work right and the person who use's it doesn't catch it. When we talk about politeness and respect we should also practice what we preach, don't you think?

Example: I said, “Where is your source?” But spell-check/grammar check said, “Where are your source?” If that were true it should say, “Where are your sources?”
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
As long as I can decipher what they are trying to say and it's not a whine about highchairs or tax on soda pop, I am fine with it.......Although when someone like LWcrookedBodyShop, comes on board, I may have to critique just for the sake of my sanity and eyesight.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
adzidek, I didn't say don't use it, I said it doesn't always work right.

Sure this Tina Blue, who ever that might be is going to be more convincing I hope, I mean she is a College-level English teacher, but that has very little to do with this post.

Maybe we should read it again?
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Now adzidek please read what zzrokk said, that is what I am talking about.

ZZ, well said!
adzidek on 2007-07-06:
In regard to your question about my source: my source is cited at the top of my first post, and bottom of the second. The source is: "Why Bother with Spelling and Grammar Rules?", Tina Blue, November 19th, 2000. In regard to your question about the relevance of this quote, I think has EVERYTHING to do with your "review" , and maybe you should re-read it.
DebtorBasher on 2007-07-06:
Good points Liddy...and BTW ... it's "King's English" not, "“Kings English” ... but Basher still loves you!
DebtorBasher on 2007-07-06:
Liddy is correct about spell check...it is only for spelling...it will not correct the use of your and you're or there and their etc.
adzidek on 2007-07-06:
I'm not saying at all that for someone to be taken seriously their spelling and grammar must be perfect. But it takes only moments to proofread something before hitting the "Post" button. The same goes for spell-check; it takes a couple of seconds. I think a quick spell check and proofread are a common courtesy to the reader.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
First post:
Lidman writes:
AT THE CLOSE OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION, a woman asked Benjamin Franklin what type of government the Constitution was bringing into existence. Franklin replied, “A republic, if you can keep it.”

Adzidek writes: “But if you're going to quote other peoples' work, as you often do, please use quotations and cite sources.”

Next post: Adzidek writes: Tina Blue, College-level English teacher, on respect and spelling:
So I C&P a quote that clearly says where it came from, what some woman ask Benjamin Franklin and what he said.

Looks the same type as you C&P but mine is, as you put it: “Besides, everyone who reads your posts knows when you are plagiarizing, because it's the only time we can see a post from you with correct grammar and spelling.”

I think you owe me an apology.
adzidek on 2007-07-06:
Incorrect, Lids: you copy and pasted THE WHOLE QUOTE. The part about "...a woman asked Benjamin Franklin what type of government..." is COPIED. That is not a source. The source is the website address you referred to AFTER I told you to cite your source. My source here is written CLEARLY at the bottom of the second post: "Why Bother with Spelling and Grammar Rules?", November 19th, 2000.
adzidek on 2007-07-06:
This is what your comment should look like, if it were properly cited:

"AT THE CLOSE OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION, a woman asked Benjamin Franklin what type of government the Constitution was bringing into existence. Franklin replied, 'A republic, if you can keep it.'"

- http://todaysamericandream.com/
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Adzidek, I never said not to do proofread something before hitting the "Post" button or not to use the spell-check.

I was talking about being a little nicer to people and not so judgmental. There are cases like Zzrokk brought up where it needs to be pointed out and there are sometimes we all need to go crazy on the op and/or user. I can take criticism, but sometimes its way off base.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
adzidek, again your right and I'm wrong.... This is the kind of nit picking that really needs to STOP, it's just SILLY!
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Thank you DB!
adzidek on 2007-07-06:
I don't think it's way off base, Lids. If the OP does not have the common courtesy to take two minutes to read their own review before posting it, then I have no trouble pointing out their mistakes. I find it frustrating to read a review that has more words spelled incorrectly than those spelled correctly, especially if the OP wants to be taken seriously.
shawnp80 on 2007-07-06:
Lidman, Good post but I think this will fall on deaf ears. I recently go into it with HappyJoyBear because he made fun of the OP's grammar which joybear spelled "grammar". I didn't attack the OP for grammar. I went after Joybear for being a grammar attacker.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Adzidek and how do you become the judge of what someone did that you can't see?
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
shawnp80, I seem to be having the same sort of problem here.

Thank's for the comment, man!
Slimjim on 2007-07-06:
LIDMAN! LIDMAN! Liddy, if txroadtrip was er um still here, she'd be proud.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Ya think Slim! LOL
DebtorBasher on 2007-07-06:
Request denied!
Slimjim on 2007-07-06:
LMAO Alley! Been there done that. Let's just say Mr. Pirate has many lives and is never short on ideas for handle name.
shawnp80 on 2007-07-06:
How about ToolWithTweetie.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
I have to agree with AlleyS on this one.
Shawnp80, I think he's still on the "S's"
shawnp80 on 2007-07-06:
Lid, I voted you very helpful. Hopefully you will do the same.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Shawnp, I already did...
shawnp80 on 2007-07-06:
Thanks Lid! I need my first star.
shawnp80 on 2007-07-06:
QueerWithQuail
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
I never said a word about your spelling or grammar!
shawnp80 on 2007-07-06:
She's baaa-aaaack
Skye on 2007-07-06:
Lidman,

Powerful review. You rock!!
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
You are most helpful, Liddy!!

Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Lid,I voted not helpful.Sorry!..........J/K

Steve


Ponie on 2007-07-06:
Lidman, since you 'asked'---'I see a lot of the so...' Should read: 'a lot.' Just one of my pet peeves. :)

I agree in part with your post. I don't often point out incorrect grammar, misspellings, etc., unless they're blatantly obvious and confuse the object of the letter. One thing that really drives me up the wall is a post almost devoid of punctuation or capitalization, or done all in CAPS.

I tend to use sentence fragments--sort of like a pause in conversation. I can understand typos, also. But not in the original letter posted.

In the words of my beloved Miss Neal (she taught me in six English classes during four years of high school--later went on to become Dean of English Dept. at U of WI) 'anything worth writing is worth writing well.' The poor thing--she's probably turning over in her grave at what's happened to English since the advent of the computer. And texting--don't esk!
Starlord on 2007-07-06:
Lidman, I agree with you. I spell well, but amde the mistake of wanting a new keyboard for certain features. What I didn't notice then was that it is smaller than standard. Now, my fat fingers (FFS) hit keys while I aim at others, and I don't catch it. I apologize for extra letters thrown in where they don't belong. I once was chatting with someone and said something about sending a creditor a check. I had a Canadian (whom I normally love dearly,) attack me quite viciously, because the 'correct' spelling was checque. I advised her that in the United States, which is where I live and conduct most of my work, either spelling is considered correct, but most use the shorter 'check.'
Angela E. People get on your case because your posts are ridiculous, and in most cases, just an attempt to get something for nothing. You can't decide wheether you are married, engaged, going steady, or just hangin'. You tell sales clerks to sell nasty CDs to your alleged nephew, then accuse them of abusing them of child abuse. You claim the Wal-Mart nearest you was closed, forcing you to buy soda at 7-11, when I know for a fact that no Wal-Mart in the United States was closed on the 4th. All of your posts close with a comment that so an so should give you some kind of incentive to have you do business with them. If I had a business today, and you walked in, the incentive would be: you cat like a civilized person and not like you are just out for freebies, and I wouldn't physically throw you out the door. How is that for an incentive?
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Ponie, I think we are on the same page.

number1, I voted you number2! LOL

Larry, Steve's long lost bro!
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
That's cool.I've been called worse.

Steve
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
starlord, thanks and I know what you mean!

Hey! I think little Angela E. blocked me, I can't see her anymore! COOL!
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
number1, you are back to number1 in my book, little Bro.

Larry, Steve's long lost Bro!
Nohandle on 2007-07-06:
Lid, a very helpful reminder to all. A week or so ago I made a comment and spelled enforced inforced. When I realized my mistake after the edit time had lapsed I could certainly have gone back and made mention of my errror. I didn't bother and no one came on and made any sarcastic remark. We all make spelling errors, typographical errors, grammatical errors and on and on. Most times we don't, at least I don't, spend an hour composing a response. As long as someone's review or the comments are helpful/informative I personally don't give a rip. Fun natured teasing back and forth is entertaining to me when it's between members who genuinely enjoy each other. You've certainly taken more than your share about spelling.

What bugs me are reviews all in upper case, simply because I have a problem reading them and most times don't bother. Also, a member attacking another and calling him stupid because he chooses to write checks (checques for our Canadian friends) rather than do online banking. Hey, to each his own. If it works for you and you're pleased, what's the problem?

For now I feel our major concern is Starlord's new keyboard. Since we can't do anything about the fat fingers I'm for starting a collection for a new "big" keyboard with all the features he would like. Just forward your "checques" on to me and I'll see that it's taken care of. Kindly don't request an accounting of the funds.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Thank's Nohandle and the check's in the mail.
Sail27 on 2007-07-06:
nOhandel - My Chek's in thee mael two. I wanT a KeyBaord wit biG keez!!
Nohandle on 2007-07-06:
You've got it coming Sail27. It should arrive by Thursday. Be sure and let us know if you like it and don't let Starlord know I spent some of the money on you. This will just be our little secret.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
Hey, you were supposed to split it with me!
Nohandle on 2007-07-06:
Lidman, Lidman..I've already told everyone not to expect an accounting of the funds. You must learn to pay attention. I don't recall any mention of splitting anything with you. DB needs to pay for that new windshield, Emt would like some new shoes and Skye is still putting her wish list together. I mean really, we must use a little common sense here..so much money goes just so far. Starlord, not to worry...I'm still searching for that perfect keyboard for you.
Anonymous on 2007-07-06:
But Nohandle I need some new underware and you said I could have some.....
DebtorBasher on 2007-07-06:
NoHandle...maybe this will help you to find what you're looking for, for Starlord...

http://www.fentek-ind.com/bigkey.htm
Starlord on 2007-07-07:
Hugs and high fives to all my friends on M3C. Crystal and I send all our best to you all. nohandle, , you are the greatest.
Anonymous on 2007-07-07:
Well JayD, not only will I read them but I will comment on them because you are a dirty OLD dead beat and if you don't like it then STFU! You old fart!
DebtorBasher on 2007-07-07:
"Hey! I think little Angela E. blocked me, I can't see her anymore!".....Liddy, if she is blocking you, she would not be able to see your comments...you would still be able to see hers, unless you block her.
Irisgirlsmama on 2007-07-08:
I agree, spelling and grammar errors are a silly thing to insult a person for. I do it on occasion, but only when someone does the same to me or others. If you can understand what the person is saying, and are only doing it because there isn't anything else to rag on, then you just make yourself look asinine.
Lidman, I have not read many of your comments so I don't know if you do this very often or not. I do know that on my review you didn't comment on my grammar. However I think a couple of the people that are in agreeing with you here did. Oh the hypocrisy. People only do this when they've dug themselves a hole and don't want to admit it.
They also do things like lie about posts being deleted to try to make people look bad. Also lame. Of course that only happens when people they would expect to have their backs over the newbies call them out on their B/S. Another kind of dumb thing to do, is make cruel remarks about peoples parenting skills and family members as a last resort. Ya that sucks. Especially when they push someone to using foul language, then use that against them too.
Your absolutely right lid man, we should stick to discussing the content of the review if the errors don't cloud the meaning. We should all try to be a little more respectful of other members. Good review!
Anonymous on 2007-07-08:
Irisgirlsmama, Thank you and very goop post! I voted you most helpful.
Irisgirlsmama on 2007-07-09:
Why thank you Lidman! I appreciate that.
I've done that once, voted someone helpful....
Although, I don't yet know what happens when it's done...
Obviously its a nice thing to do though.. Right? J/K.
But really what exactly does it do??..... ?



Anonymous on 2007-07-16:
goop = good

Irisq, I don't know what it does?
doescustomerserviceexist? on 2007-08-07:
Amen!
Dr. Jeecheroo on 2007-11-07:
I was going to point out what skrewdnomoore said, but I'll give him the credit. After all, the more people who bash Lidman for his lack of intellect, the better.
Anonymous on 2007-11-07:
Jeecheroo, you are JayD!
Anonymous on 2008-04-15:
Was not aware of this post till today. Excellent post Lidman. (VH indeed)

ps) I see P-Dub and Jeech have not changed a bit.
tander on 2008-04-15:
The only reason you posted this is because you can't spell, if you were a good speller you would probably would careless and would be one of those who ridicules others who can't spell.
Anonymous on 2011-06-21:
great review!, very helpful!
trmn8r on 2011-06-22:
This may have been helpful 3-4 years ago.
DebtorBasher on 2011-06-22:
Ashley is in love with Liddy.
Anna Molly on 2011-06-22:
Sure seems like it!
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
Who has the time or desire to search such old reviews without a reason or motive?
DebtorBasher on 2011-06-22:
What can I say, She just doesn't know any better.
DebtorBasher on 2011-06-22:
I just told you the reason Venice...she's in love with Liddy.
Anna Molly on 2011-06-22:
Venice --- AshleyFurnitureRules.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
There's no love like self love. Lidman would agree.
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
I think it's time to move on instead of dwelling on the past. Does anyone really care about these ghosts anymore?
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Lidman is everywhere!
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
I know that Lidmans been to Poland, but I don't think he's ever been to Venice, Italy. So my previous statement wasn't totally accurate.
Anna Molly on 2011-06-22:
Ashley, ever think about starting your own website?

Where you can wax poetic about past members and stupid fake reviews?
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Anna Molly, that's the best idea you've ever had. I'll help Ashley pack
Anna Molly on 2011-06-22:
LS, use duct tape.
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
I wonder if he'll take his Ashley furniture or leave it at the curb.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
It sure would be nice to have "neveragain" back again as well as the Ladyscot.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Hey Ashley, why don't you go look for them. I'll bet you don't have to look too far
Anna Molly on 2011-06-22:
Why, Ashley, did those people kiss your azz? I'm guessing so.
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
It sure would be nice if people didn't feel the need to hide behind stupid screen names and post cryptic comments. Who cares?!!
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
I agree Venice
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to paint it.
Anna Molly on 2011-06-22:
Ashley, your small world involves a padded room. No paint allowed.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
If the masks were to fall, would there be anyone behind them?
Anna Molly on 2011-06-22:
Ript > scarier than the masks.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
"As long as I can decipher what they are trying to say" ZZorkk, I totally agree. Hope you come back soon. You rock...

He knew, he knew more than me or you, where was he going to? He had a different idea.. A glimpse of the masterplan.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Do you use a mask, or does the mask use you?
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
Clowns wear masks.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Clowns wear them intentionally.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Was there ever really a mask in the first place?
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Occasionally I wear a mask if I'm participating in a sporting event, like a hockey goalie or halloween event. I miss the days of trick or treating.
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
You don't need a mask to be a clown.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
The words that he said were a mystery
Nobody's sure he was sane

But he knew, he knew more than me or you
No one could see his view, Oh where was he going to
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Everybody plays a fool...
There's no exception to the rule.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
He was in search of an answer
The nature of what we are
He was trying to do it a new way
He was bright as a star
But nobody understood him
"His numbers are not the way"
He's lost in the deepest enigma
Which no one's unraveled today
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
Probably because no one cares.. haha
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Venice, have you been eating grumpy food again?
Venice09 on 2011-06-22:
Nope. Just bored with the ongoing excavation and stale nonsense. It's not interesting, entertaining or amusing. Somethings are better left buried.
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
And a goodnight/morning to you too Dirm. May the Schwartz be with you!
jktshff1 on 2011-06-22:
True clowns wear make up.
Churro on 2011-06-22:
AshleyFurnitureRules +1002
Anonymous on 2011-06-22:
Thanks Churro. It's nice to see that civility still exists on this site. Master Lidman would agree.
Anonymous on 2011-06-25:
I think reviews like this should be shown all over the internet to show that there are many ways of communication, and perfect grammar and spelling is not always required.
trmn8r on 2011-06-25:
Maybe you could speak with whomever is in charge of the internet, and arrange for that. I have Al Gore's cell somewhere. If I find it in the next 4 years, I'll post it.
Anonymous on 2011-06-25:
Take it up with the internet God. Speaking of which, I hear Lidman gave himself a promotion.
Venice09 on 2011-06-25:
Al Gore!.. haha

Not to self: Remove this from my follow list.
Anonymous on 2011-06-25:
Of course there's always going to be resistance along the way. Master Lidman would agree.
Anonymous on 2011-06-25:
This posters commentary inspired members on other sites as well. Mr Greg from the other site would have kept this in the top 25 letters for months on end.
Anonymous on 2011-06-25:
adzidek: I agree that running a spelling check and proofreading is a common courtesty and such. I think what Lidman is saying is that even spellcheck can overlook misspelled words like their/there/they're or two/to/too etc.
DebtorBasher on 2011-06-25:
Ashley, I think Adzidek got over this thread FOUR years ago...you should too.
Anonymous on 2011-06-25:
Will someone lock this review already lol
Anonymous on 2011-06-25:
DB, it seems AFR can't get over anything from the past, especially whatever argument you had with NeverAgain.
Anonymous on 2011-06-25:
I know DebbieBasher. Thankyou for those inspiring words. I think Wally is right, this would be good place to end this story.
DebtorBasher on 2011-06-25:
This is the thread that never ends, yes it goes on and on my friend. Some people started reading it, not knowing what it was, and they'll continue reading it forever just because...This is the thread that never ends, yes it goes on and on my friend. Some people started reading it, not knowing what it was, and they'll continue reading it forever just because...This is the thread that never ends, yes it goes on and on my friend. Some people started reading it, not knowing what it was, and they'll continue reading it forever just because...This is the thread that never ends, yes it goes on and on my friend. Some people started reading it, not knowing what it was, and they'll continue reading it forever just because...
Anonymous on 2011-06-25:
Very well put DebbieBasher!
Anonymous on 2011-06-27:
Master Pirate would agree!
Anonymous on 2011-10-14:
Excellent observation ZZorkk.
Close commentsAdd reply
Freedom of Belief
Posted by on
It seems My3Cents administrators have taken it apron themselves to decide what you can and cannot believe and/or talk about.

Today on the community forum one of them decided to delete comments about God and Jesus Christ. I for one don’t care if you are a believer or not.

I will not condone nor condemn a person for their own personal belief. But I will fight you to he11’s gate to defend my right and yours to say what you believe and not have it edited.

Here are a few of the comments and at the end the letter I wrote. Please read and remember the point here is to be able to speak what you believe, within their rules and this was well within their rules.Thank you

Lidman

Stew (03/03/2007) I'm a strict creationist so lidman your use of the word evolve is troublesome. You may spit on the bible and want to spend eternity in Hades but don't expect the rest of us to follow down your Darwin trail of doom. Lidman, why do you mock the lord?

Lidman (03/03/2007) Then Stew you should read the book and start at the beginning: Genesis contains the historical presupposition and basis of the national religious ideas and institutions of Israel, and serves as an introduction to its history, laws, and customs. And learn that Jesus is your Lord and savor.

Stew (03/03/2007) Well Liddy, it seems proclaiming Jesus as your Lord kind of conflicts with one of the ten commandments. "I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery; you shall have no other gods before me." Seems pretty simple to me so please don't hang your Christ on me... as I said before I'm not following you to Hades. Lidman, why do you want stew to burn in hell?

Lidman (03/03/2007) Stew you must let go of your stupidity that man has taught you and open your mind to God. It is written, " Your thoughts are not my thought's and your ways are not my ways. So how can a man come before the Father except by way of the Son" -- GOD

The letter I wrote:

To whom it may concern, On the community forum "Another star project" By Stew there were comments deleted that were not only within your rules but were of a very personal believe of mine and who ever did this had no right what so ever to delete these! These comments made reference to God and Jesus Christ yet, someone took it apron them self's to get rid of just these comments. I demand you reinstate these comments with an apology for deleting them in the first place. You have crossed a line and I find it very offensive and a directed violation of my right to free speech as a citizen of the USA.

What do you think?

Resolution Update 03/16/2008:
This review was and is resolved thanks to the Admin and my self. Why do people like chow and HappyASAclam want to start trouble I don't know but if you must carry on. This REVIEW IS RESOLVED.
     
Read 23 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2007-03-03:
This site isn't for religious debates - it's for washer complaints. I can see why it was deleted. There are other public message boards out there for your "spirited" debates.
Anonymous on 2007-03-03:
Pwp, The frightening thing is that any site dedicated to ruling by terror so easily finds a sufficient supply of lethal myrmidons like you. You are already off topic, out of line and without a doubt the one biggest trouble maker on this site.
Anonymous on 2007-03-03:
Guess that explains the trust votes I've accumulated. Fact is, this isn't the proper forum for religious or political debate. There are appropriate pulpits and soapboxes elsewhere.
Jop on 2007-03-04:
That's not what this site is about!
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:

Pwp, as in all thing and as you always do you are off topic and wrong once again.
This topic was not about religious beliefs at all but it lines up perfectly with what this site claims to be.

If you read anything and if you didn’t have your own agenda you would know that but you would mislead people, lie to people and cheat this site itself out of being what it is to “get your way.” Below is what the review is about and not what you are trying to make it.

I for one don’t care if you are a believer or not.

I will not condone nor condemn a person for their own personal belief. But I will fight you to he11’s gate to defend my right and yours to say what you believe and not have it edited.


I will not condone nor condemn a person for their own personal belief. But I will fight you to he11’s gate to defend my right and yours to say what you believe and not have it edited.
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
Jop, do you even know what it is about?

My3cents.com is a leading source of real consumer advice. Visitors come to learn, interact and voice opinions regarding companies, products and services in our open community.

Learn from other consumer experiences, and help others learn from your own personal consumer experiences.

Join the revolution today and start being heard!
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
I would publicly like to thank the administrator for reviewing my review and writing this. This has proved to me that this site can be fair to all.

Thank you
Lidman

Comment posted by administrator on 03/04/2007:

Thanks for the feedback everyone. Sorry for the confusion. Our intent was to let everyone know we would review requests/complaints regarding moderation as soon as we could.

In this particular situation, we didn't have any senior mods available to review (and restore) posts, so we wanted to let folks know it may take time before we could respond/resolve the request. We should have left the review up that Lidman posted. That is a fair enough request.

We try to provide everyone with a place where they can say their part regarding any company/service, and we are inclusive in that. We restored it. One improvement we plan to make is to allow our non-admin moderators the ability to restore removed comments when a mistake or accidental removal is made. Currently they do not have that ability, and must contact our admin inbox to get help. That takes more time than it should to resolve the problem.

So hopefully this will help reduce such incidents. Restoring comments in the community section is currently a process we don't have streamlined, so we should hopefully have that resolved by this evening.

Thanks again everyone for your feedback and support. Regards, My3cents Team
DebtorBasher on 2007-03-04:
Liddy's review here, is about his experience with M3C it isn't about the religious issue. His religious issue was posted on the community forum. The review side is for posting your comments and/or experiences about a company and that is what he is doing. He was obvioiusly disappointed and he voiced his opinion about it. It's here for those of us who want to read or respond...if you read too much into it, then you will completely miss his point. I don't know too many people who would post a complaint about the site they are posting the complaint about on...but I do know of others who have felt the same in the past..so, for Liddy to voice his opinion this way, he is also speaking for those others who didn't have the guts to do it themselves...So, for that, I do have to salute Liddy for saying what he thinks...and THAT'S what this site is for...so, don't put Liddy down for staying true to himself and the purpose of the site.
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
"It seems My3Cents administrators have taken it apron themselves to decide what you can and cannot believe and/or talk about."

Absolutely not true. First of all they aren't that powerful to decide what we can or cannont believe. They can however decide what is appropriate or inappropriate to be displayed on their private web site.

"I will not condone nor condemn a person for their own personal belief. But I will fight you to he11’s gate to defend my right and yours to say what you believe and not have it edited."

Well, I'll defend their right to remove whatever post the m3c's moderators deems inappropriate. It is their house and they make the rules. You choose to post here under those rules. You have no rights in their house.

I'll agree the moderation is inconsistent but again my3cents has the right to moderate how they see fit. The only rights any of the members has is to not participate if we disagree. I don't get your sense of outrage or entitlement in this issue. If you don't like how the place is ran then there's the door. Nobody's keeping you here against your will.
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
Stew; this coming from you of all people, all I can say is you are a hypocrite.

Stew (02/21/2007) Oh yeah, I asked for that in the pre-Mesa days. Things have changed since rehab and now with the Enzyte I'm living large and stepping easy! I have a new big spring of confidence and a generous swelling of pride. And the one thing every NIC deserves: A little well-earned respect from the M3C membership. So yeah go ahead and throw two or three stars next to the Stew name and I'll keep taking bullets for the consumer.
Thanks guys, you're swell!

Stew (02/22/2007) Okay, so what part of throw two or three stars next to my name did you all interpret as one star? Is there a formal protest I could file or some sort of appeal? Maybe ya'll need to sleep on it then come back tomorrow and slap at least one more star next to my name.
Thanks, ya'll do a great job.. I'm sure the M3C brass will do the right thing by Stew.

Stew (03/04/2007)
Admin(s) Please explain why the following was deleted.

Liddy, It really sounds ignorant when people say Jesus Christ... the correct term would be Jesus the Christ. Why is it us CHOSEN people know more about Christianity than the gentiles?

(OR The Christ Jesus of Nazareth)
Comment posted by Stew on 03/04/2007:
I find the deletion of the above comment to be antisemitic. What I posted is true. It was deleted because obviously it didn't agree with the moderator's religious sensibilities. The word Christ is derived from the Greek word Christos which means the anointed one. The term was applied to Jesus of Nazareth by his followers as a descriptive term. I'm an analyst. It wouldn't be proper grammar to call me Stew analyst but it would be proper to call me Stew the analyst. I was merely trying to educate the Christian members. It wasn't a slam against Christianity. I would accept a second star as an amends.
Thanks you.

Stew the Analyst

Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
Then Stew you have the gaul to make this statement, what a hypoctite!

"Free speech doesn't apply on my3cents. The pinhead moderators can delete what EV they see fit."

Why do you call them "pinheads" and try to condem them and myself for saying what we believe? I get it, It's all about Stew, how could I forget that?

Lidman (03/04/2007)
I would publicly like to thank the administrator for reviewing my review and writing this. This has proved to me that this site can be fair to all.

Thank you
Lidman
Slimjim on 2007-03-04:
Confirming what debtorbasher is saying, anyone who reads this should understand this review isn't about religion. It's voicing disappointment about an alleged quick trigger on a topic in the forums. The forums here a much more loose and diverse and it's possible the topic was perceived as maybe more sensitive than it may have been.
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
Lid, I believe you just like to be the center of controversy and attention. Get over yourself and help those with appliance complaints.
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
Again Pirate, You are already off topic, out of line and without a doubt the one biggest trouble maker on this site.
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
I stand by my statement that the moderators of my3cents have the RIGHT to delete anything they see fit. Lidman, you have the right to drop to your knees and worship me.

Now my3cents admins - Once again I've bled for the consumer revolution. Now where the heck is that second star??? I've taken more hits for you guys than a heroin addict in Amsterdam with daddy war-bucks Amex card.
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
Stew, I agree with you, except the part about begging for a second star.
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
Then you both believe in STEW and I hope you both are happy to gather.

Stew I don't see you getting any stars by calling the admins "pinheads", that's not nice.
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
Lidman, please don't jump to conclusions so easily....tomorrow we shall debate...also I don't agree with Stew saying that you have the right to drop to your knees...perhaps I wasn't specific before.
Anonymous on 2007-03-04:
emt_c I did not jump to anything, you know how I feel about you. Don't take this the wrong way, OK?
chow on 2008-03-16:
3 cents .com is a consumer site, let's keep it that way. Administrator has the right to decide which post is appropriate or not, it has nothing to do with interfering with anybody religion belief, but a lot to do with allowing the right post to go public.
Anonymous on 2008-03-16:
NO THEY DON"T!
"allowing the right post to go public" That implies they are to dictate what people can say and believe and that is not what they claim to be here for, therefore that would be fraud!
Anonymous on 2008-03-16:

Chow, the reviews are for consumer related reviews. Please read what Admin posted about the forums:

"Community Forum - Chat it up with other members in this open topic forum..."

Key words being "open topic forum"!


chow on 2008-04-04:
Superbowl: exactly! It is CONSUMER REVIEW FORUM. So the post is supposed to be about products n services provided by company, not about one religion belief, that is why I think he is mad about the administrator.
Close commentsAdd reply
Why Can't I Control My Own Block List?
Posted by on
OK, so I accidentally put someone's name on my block list. When I went to try to remove it, I was informed that I would have to email admin in order to accomplish this. So I did...four times! It still hasn't been done! Why do I have to rely on admin to correct my own mistake. I have blocked people on other sites but I have always been able to remove people on my own.
Resolution Update 08/25/2010:
After being informed by admin that they had a different email address from the one that was posted initially, they took care of the problem in 10 minutes. Thanks.
     
Read 49 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Administrator on 2010-08-25:
Hello.

Sorry for the trouble. We forgot to update the block list page to correct the e-mail address. Please forward your request to "feedback at my3cents.com".

Kind Regards,
My3cents Team
Venice09 on 2010-08-25:
Speaking of block lists, I haven't blocked anyone but there is someone on my list. If someone blocks me, is it automatically done both ways?
clutzycook on 2010-08-25:
don't know. I don't think so. You may have meant to hit the "trust" button and hit the "block" button instead.
Venice09 on 2010-08-25:
No, I didn't hit the trust button. I can guarantee that!.. haha

Someone blocked me, but I had no intention of blocking him. I noticed he's on my list and I'm not sure how he got there.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
Venice09, The admins will force a block in cases where it's obvious that two members have nothing constructive to say to each other. That's probably why they put 'Helpful' on your block list because you two were constantly baiting each other.
Venice09 on 2010-08-25:
That's too bad. I thought our exchanges were very constructive and dare I say, helpful. How did you know he was on my block list? I didn't even know until very recently.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
That's a good question. How did I know? I don't know how I knew but I did know. Freaky.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
I knew, too...even freakier.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
Interestingly freaky.
Venice09 on 2010-08-25:
I guess I was the only one who didn't know. I didn't know it worked that way. A note from admin would have been nice.
Ytropious on 2010-08-25:
I blocked a newbie once that blocked me, then I think ultimately deleted their account. Haven't blocked anyone else.
SaMoore on 2010-08-25:
Glad to know we're all so blocky here. :) Shall I join the trend?
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
I blocked myself.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
I'm without a doubt the most blocked person in my3cents history. Which always baffled me because I seem like a nice enough sort.
clutzycook on 2010-08-25:
Ah Stew, you're just misunderstood :). Anyone gets snippy with you, just show 'em your three stars.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
Why would anyone block you, Stew?

I wish a couple people would block me, but that's just because I'm easily annoyed.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
JC, You're easily annoyed and I'm annoying yet somehow we make it work.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
Yeah, that will show 'em clutzy.
Venice09 on 2010-08-25:
I would never block anyone and I don't think admin should assume that's what someone wants. It's easier than following the comments, but it can also be a disservice to the OPs.
PepperElf on 2010-08-25:
indeed. I never block anyone. if someone says something to annoy me I just don't look at what they say for a little bit.


and I tend to forget why I was annoyed with someone in the first place anyway, so... it's easier that way. and it means most times each thread is a clean-slate for most people. (not to mention... carrying a grudge around is too much effort anyway) ;-)
SaMoore on 2010-08-25:
How do you get stars anyway?
MRM on 2010-08-25:
You bow down to Admin and the moderators and say "more stars please!" It works for me!
PepperElf on 2010-08-25:
or you lead an army of WereGiraffe....
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
samoore, the formula is a little sketchy. I don't think anyone has ever figured it out, even though some have tried.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
Don't get me started again...LOL!
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
SaMoore, the way to get stars is to write reviews, offer constructive and helpful advice and most importantly, be nice to DB! She does run the show around here if you didn't already know that...she stole 4 of my stars and won't give them back.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
You have to sleep with DB to get a Star lol jp. I couldn't have said it better than JC those are the best ways to earn stars.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
LOL Wally..you know you're going to catch heck for that, considering you have 3 stars.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
I had to sleep with tanders uncle for my third star *shivers*
DebtorBasher on 2010-08-25:
A-hem!
DebtorBasher on 2010-08-25:
Wally is right...ya got to sleep with Tander's uncle...NOT to be confused with Sheriff's Uncle. Though, if you DO confuse them, Sheriff's Uncle will never tell.
Anonymous on 2010-08-25:
I think I'll just stick with my one that I earned fair and square..and, next time I check out, you can add it to your collection too, DB.

FlShopper on 2010-08-26:
What exactly does the block list block? Does it keep certain people from posting on a thread you started?
clutzycook on 2010-08-26:
It blocks that person's comments from you. I think it also blocks your comments from them and any reviews they post.
Anonymous on 2010-08-26:
FlShopper

Say you blocked me. At that point you would no longer see any comments, reviews or community forum topics I posted. You would not be allowed to post on any reviews or topics I posted. You would not be allowed to read comments other members posted on my reviews or topics. However, I would still be able to read your comments, topics and reviews. I would also be able to comment on reviews and topics you posted. The only restriction on me, the blocked, is I would not be able to access your my3cents profile or send you a private message.

LOL, Unfortunately I have way too much experience with the my3cent's block system. And that makes me sad.
Nohandle on 2010-08-26:
Nope Clutzy. All a block does is prevents YOU from seeing the blocked member's comments. Unless he has placed a block on you, you are free to read anything that member posts. You cannot go to his blog, that's the only restriction.

A few years ago we had members doing that block, unblock and block again game. It was an automatic dual at that time. Gratefully Administration took that feature off. Who is to tell another member what he is allowed to see?

Be very careful before you block someone.
Slimjim on 2010-08-26:
Admin also turned off the ability to block and unblock at will because of that nohandle. Today if you block someone, you better mean it as you will have to email admin to get them unblock again, and they don't always do it.
FlShopper on 2010-08-26:
thanks for the explanation, stew. It sounds like by blocking someone, you wind up actually blocking yourself.
DebtorBasher on 2010-08-26:
For the life of me, I can't understand why anyone would even think about blocking Stew!
Anonymous on 2010-08-26:
Me either! I remember when I left last time, someone thought I left because of Stew, claiming all he ever did was try to stir the pot WHAT?!?...funny thing was, I'd sent Stew an IM (back when he was accepting IM's) something along the lines of he was awesome, blah blah blah...I don't know why anyone would have spread vicious rumors about Stew, that just makes me sad.
Alain on 2010-08-26:
WereGiraffes will get me more stars?
Anonymous on 2010-08-26:
I once blocked Stew. But I changed my mind. I decided what fun would life be if everyone agreed with me all the time? I have since made reparations to once again skip freely through the meadows of the soul enlightening kingdom known as Stew Nation, ruled by a Queen;)
Anonymous on 2010-08-26:
I guess I'm the only one that's missing out on seeing his wonderful posts sucks for me :(
DebtorBasher on 2010-08-26:
Must be a boring world without Stew in it Wally.
Anonymous on 2010-08-26:
Oh it is, it really is. *Sniff Sniff*
Anonymous on 2010-08-26:
BASHER DO SOMETHING!!! It makes no sense that the my3cents MAN forces Wally and I to block each other. Holy cow Wally was one of my faves. The MAN confused playful BANTER with god only knows what and is now to stubborn to admit the mistake.

If you believe Wally and Stew should be allowed to interact on my3cents then post a 'HECK YEAH!'
DebtorBasher on 2010-08-26:
Stew, if you want any favors from you, you'll have to request them through IMs!
Anonymous on 2010-08-26:
Make deals with you as well? I already offered the my3cents MAN a deal. I told him if he would lift the double block then I would agree to be a volunteer my3cents moderator. I'm still waiting for a reply although that's an offer I seriously doubt the MAN can refuse.
DebtorBasher on 2010-08-26:
Well, I think that may be the problem right there, Stewie.
Though, I'm sure if you were a moderator, you would be able to make good on your promise to bring Pirate and ZZ back to M3C.
Close commentsAdd reply
My3cents.com
Posted by on
Typical bait and switch. I wanted to send a messages to people who posted complaints on a particular company but was told by my3cents that I had to become a member. After becoming a member I get "This feature is not available on your account" every time I try to communicate with other users.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Ytropious on 2010-04-28:
Try emailing the admin to get certain features turned on. admin@my3cents.com
Administrator on 2010-04-29:
Sorry for the confusion. We had to disable that feature recently due to spam/solicitation problems.

We will remove it so non-registered folks don't see it the option and update the message.

Thanks for the feedback.

Regards,
My3cents Team
Slimjim on 2010-04-29:
What bait and switch? That term isn't even close to being used properly here. Bottom line, if you want to engage with other posters, no doubt over thread comments, then just do it on the relevant complaint thread.
PepperElf on 2010-04-29:
There's also a few things to consider before sending an IM

1) How old is the review? If it's over a year old, unless that OP is still currently posting, there's a chance they don't even come here anymore.

2) What's the OP's post count. I'm not saying that a higher PC is better, but it could indicate if they're still active or if they just posted once or twice & left for good


You also might want to try posting to the review first.
a) others might have advice to assist you, even if they're not the OP

b) some posters prefer being asked first (especially if the IM is in regards to a reply, etc). and it never hurts to ask.



Lastly - was there a specific company you had a question about or issues with?
It might not hurt to start a review for it. =)
Fufu487 on 2010-04-29:
Hey, learn something everyday. Wasn't an issue when I signed up. But there are other ways of getting this resolved then lodging a complaint against the very site your on. You can always e-mail the admin...
Close commentsAdd reply
My3cents...Good job
Posted by on
I just recently found My3cents and I am so glad I did. I love it! Most of the reviews are well done and informative. Some members can get a little harsh with their comments and some a little off color, but, even so, It doesn't take long to know who those folks are and I just ignore them.

I enjoy the interaction with trusted members and I have learned a lot on this site.

Thank you, my3cents.
     
Read 21 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2006-05-17:
Welcome Bat! It doesn't take long to see who the true regulars are around here! (tr)
batzion7 on 2006-05-17:
Pirate...Thank you. Do you really have a parrot?
Anonymous on 2006-05-17:
No, but he raises gerbils!
Doc J on 2006-05-17:
Just found site too. Am also a regular visitor to resellerratings.com Kudos to the My3cents folks! Most folks here are really helpful. More would be so inclined if postings were not anonymous. I, too, ignore the occasional, lurking sociopaths who engage in on-line brutality.
batzion7 on 2006-05-17:
OK zz thanks.
batzion7 on 2006-05-17:
Todah raba Doc J.....Blessings
Doc J on 2006-05-17:
Bevakasha. I sense a minyan here. LOL
Anonymous on 2006-05-17:
Bat, yes, I do have a parrot, an African Grey. ZZ is one of the trolling juvenile pranksters we have all learned to ignore. He has an affinity to raw chicken wings. (tr)
Doc J on 2006-05-17:
Pirate-Who has the affinity for raw chicken wings...the parrot or zz?
batzion7 on 2006-05-17:
You guys are a hoot! LOL
Anonymous on 2006-05-17:
Zork talks about raw chicken all the time, even ate some at a restaurant once, then came here to "belly-ache" about it! (tr)
Anonymous on 2006-05-17:
Zzrokk is working on an awesome wing recipe that will forever change the moniker to Denver Wings. In your face Buffalo. (hopefully they will be fully cooked)
Doe3001 on 2006-05-17:
Yes, this is a good site. I had put here several complaints against EXPEDIA that are useful for future travellers. There are people here that try to insult or harass people that are real victims form a lot of companies. But these people are also useful because thanks to them, more customers are reading my complaints against EXPEDIA and are now aware of how bad that company is. The real victims should thanks them too.
Doc J on 2006-05-17:
Somebody push Doe's re-set button. He's stuck in a loop again.
Anonymous on 2006-05-17:
(LOL) Stew, I keep my meat thermometer ready at all times. On a side note does anyone out there know how one of our 24/7 posters could remove an oil based mayo' stain from a polyester/cotton leisure suit? Mr. pirate will be waiting for your replies and thanks you as well.
Anonymous on 2006-05-17:
Well not this pirate, not sure what you're talking about, other than you're being your usually annoying twit self. Go suck a chicken wing. (tr)
Anonymous on 2006-05-17:
It wasn't you Mr. pirate, it was backinbiz, your trusted friend. Since he has been banned from this site I figured that you would pass along the information.
Slimjim on 2006-05-18:
It is a great site. Every now and then some tard comes along with breaking consumer information on how Pringles shorts his stack a couple chips each can, but those types are quickly and decisively schooled. A lot of the times though the information exchange can be helpful.
Doe3001 on 2006-05-18:
Beside people that complaint for small things I found that there are people that believe they are so, so , so, so, so, smart. They claim they can understand "fine prints" or "term and conditions" or "site rules" and treat people that complain as idiots, illiterates. But the funney thing is that they don't: in fact by insulting and harassing other member they are simple showing they couldn't understand the simple "site rules" of my3cents. But they are useful: they are adding "heat" to my complaints about EXPEDIA.
Doc J on 2006-05-18:
Doe-It IS the hit dog that yelps. I'm going to edjukate myself on your EXPEDIA complaint. Thanks!
Doc J on 2006-05-19:
Growing to love this site, and many of the posters, more by the day. I do hope that the folks who are harsh in their assessment of others consumer aptitude on the site have the same critical ability with themselves. After all, if they were super-consumers, what're they doing here? For those who are perfect, cut the erasers off of your pencils so we may know you when we see you.
Close commentsAdd reply
A Few Complaint Guidelines
Posted by on
DALLAS, TEXAS --
Simply a few suggestions...

1) It doesn't matter how long you've shopped at K-Mart/Wal-Mart/Sears, etc. Any store worth a dang will be as concerned about the fellow who just walked in for the first time as they would be about the people who have been 'loyal customers' for 50 years.

2) And the same goes for how much money you supposedly spend per day, week, month or year, at this store. No one really cares, and it gets an instant roll-of-the-eyes when it's mentioned.

3) If your complaint has nothing specific to do with the fact that you're handicapped, a war veteran, a victim of disaster, or just in financial straits, don't bring it up. It's a sympathy bid, and it's pathetic.

4) Make an effort to know a store's return policy before you buy something. It's impractical to expect the cashier to recite the whole spiel to every customer when it's probably either right there on the check-out counter or on the wall or on your receipt or all of the above. Finding out store policy is YOUR responsibility. Finally, don't be mad at the store about policies that you find ridiculous; be mad at the customers before you who made it necessary for such policies to exist.

5) Please don't immediately assume that because you are black, Asian, Indian, etc. (or even, gasp, WHITE) that the people who acted rude to you did so for racial reasons. Some people are just equal-opportunity jerks.

6) If you get an e-mail or hear a rumor calling for a boycott on a certain company or product for whatever reason, do a little investigation first to find out if it's even true. There are many hoaxes circulating the e-mail universe. Chances are you're pouring out the Pepsi or tossing the Q-Tips in the trash under false pretenses. There's a good site (www.snopes.com) dedicated to urban legends and internet hoaxes.

7) Here are a few points I cannot stress enough: Capitalize, Punctuate, Form Complete Sentences, and, if you have a lot to say, there's this thing called a Paragraph. Make a few. Clarity is a good thing and tends to make people take your grievance a lot more seriously.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2003-11-12:
howsthisforaparaghaph? somepeoplejustliketobittchandcomplainaboutanythingandthatiswhythepostonthissite.
Anonymous on 2003-11-12:
You'd better tell that to the guy who wrote in about Starbucks.
Anonymous on 2003-11-13:
Amen! Very good tips. May I add if you are complaining about a franchise, be specific to location. Saying the employees were rude at Burger King is worthless. If you had a bad experience at one, don't blanket the thousands that exsist and expect to be taken seriously.
Anonymous on 2003-11-14:
this sounds like a fake complaint to me, oh wait, this isn't even a complaint...what is it?
mrmojoryzyn on 2007-01-23:
wow...do you work for the Better Business Bureau
woops forget punctuation?
Close commentsAdd reply
How do people get stars
Posted by on
There are some users here that have stars next to their names. How do you get a star.
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

heaven17 on 2007-06-19:
I got one, ghostbuster, but dang if I know how.
tnchuck100 on 2007-06-19:
By providing useful information to a review. If the reviewer thinks your information is useful they can indicate so. ghostbuster, if you will note there is a tag on each comment that you can reward the commenter if you wish.
Anonymous on 2007-06-19:
Well it helps if you are polite to people, and provide positive feedback instead of insulting them. That way they will vote for you as giving helpful advice. If you go around telling them that they are morons after reading their complaints than well, they probably won't vote you as helpful.
FYI10 on 2007-07-09:
The stars mean nothing in that this site is loaded with people whose sole intent is to insult and offend posters rather than focus on the content of the reviews.

These people NOT rate the review with intellect and customer savvy; they post stupid remarks, make false assumptions, and play games. And that kind of "participation" will ultimately make this kind of site worthless.

For instance, one of the first posts I read here before joining was a review of a food establishment. It was detailed and in keeping with the fact that many complaints have been made about this particular business all around the internet actually, and on this site. However, the replies made by some members here were stupidly insulting and they made fun of the original reviewer, rather than addressing the legitimate points made in the review. That's nothing but counter-productive to the purpose of this site. Sometimes people will post good things about a business or product, but more likely they're going to post negative reviews and that's what people need to know about. So it doesn't help anybody when these people come on here and post their personally insulting remarks about the REVIEWER instead of the CONTENT of the review.

Therefore, the "rating stars" by a poster's name are useless.
Skye on 2007-07-09:
You are such a hypocrite. I was just reading through your comments, and you insulting op's left and right.
Skye on 2007-07-09:
Here are some of FYI10's comments from today:




Unsavvy review.

Deep Discount is known to be loaded with pop up ads that can link a customer's card # to another site which then harvests info AND small fees from customer bank accounts.

Don't post reviews unless you KNOW that a company is reputable and can be trusted by ALL customers.


Anonymous on 2007-07-09:
I agree with Skye!

Anonymous on 2007-07-09:
is it angela with a different NIC?

Steve
Anonymous on 2007-07-09:
number1, I doubt it. Just someone trying to stir up trouble.

Steve's long lost incredibly attractive female cousin
squeekyHinge on 2008-02-01:
I whole heartedly agree with FYI10.
It appears the main culprits of these ambush tactics are usually spurred by the folks who consider themselves "members" of this website.

Understand this..... The "star" system was designed on this board specifically for "members" who are in dire need of Acceptance from each other!
Close commentsAdd reply
They should know better
Posted by on
Scammed me into joining their newsletter when trying to write my first review. what are you thinking?!
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

bill on 2007-04-25:
How exactly were you "scammed"? How much money does the newsletter cost?
Slimjim on 2007-04-25:
Write them an email and ask to unsubscribe before you have an aneurism over it.
madconsumer on 2007-04-25:
I never had to sign up for a newsletter when I joined.....
Pomona Guy on 2007-04-26:
Me neither...
DebtorBasher on 2007-04-26:
The newsletter is free...what did they scam you out of? All you have to do is send them an email and tell them you don't want it. You were scammed by DHL too...you're cursed!
Close commentsAdd reply
Blocking emails
Posted by on
How do you block others from emailing you from my3cents. Not everyone just those bugging you.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Slimjim on 2007-04-18:
Maybe if you block somebody, I'm not sure. I'd ask this question in the feedback forum. The site admins could tell you whether the block feature works for specific emailers or not.
Anonymous on 2007-04-18:
Tell your parents what this person is saying to you in email.
voiceoff on 2007-05-22:
I think you can block all or none, not sure. Ask the administrators.
Administrator on 2007-05-22:
Hello.

If a user is blocked, they should not be able to send you mail from your blog. It checks your block table.

If they are sending mail to you directly (not through our site), then we cannot help control it. You can, however, block them via your own email settings. One easy way is to mark their email as spam.

Hope this helps!

Regards,
My3cents Team
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >