Nabisco

2 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Too small - more like cookielets
Posted by on
I usually make my own cookies, but it is like 80 degrees here and I decided to let the professionals heat up their own kitchens today. Big mistake, or should I say small one.

What's up with the size of the Chips Ahoy cookies? They seem designed for the mouths of 8 year olds. Perhaps this is your target demographic. I have bought the chunky cookies in the past, and they seemed "normal" size. Are the chunky for adults, and the regular for kids?

The thickness reminds me of a Girl Scout cookie. You don't want customers thinking of Girl Scout cookies when they eat your product, do you?
     
Read 25 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2011-04-27:
Chips Ahoy cookies are the 2nd biggest selling cookie in the U.S. With Oreos coming in as #1.
The chocolate chip cookie was accidentally developed by Ruth Graves Wakefield in 1930. She owned the Toll House Inn, in Whitman, Massachusetts, a very popular restaurant that featured home cooking in the 1930s.
Anonymous on 2011-04-27:
Nice review, Ript.
I don't eat sweets much and in most cases I would accuse the OP of getting bigger rather than the food getting smaller but I side with you on this one. *smiles*
Thanks.
Anonymous on 2011-04-27:
Not my review, lol.
trmn8r on 2011-04-27:
It may not be ript's review, but I *have* gotten larger. Interesting perspective.
Anonymous on 2011-04-27:
Trmn8r> I have to agree with you on this one. Not sure if its a marketing ploy or not, but there is definitely a difference. Nice review!
jktshff1 on 2011-04-27:
good post
Anonymous on 2011-04-27:
What was I thinking?
Nice review either way.
Anonymous on 2011-04-27:
Good point, Trmn8r.

Ript, I saw a show about the accidental invention of the chocolate chip cookie.
PaulaJ on 2011-04-27:
Good review.I've noticed that as a lot of prices have gone up product sizeshave gotten smaller. Have you seen the size of a reeses peanut butter cup? I swear they are almost the size of a quarter now!
Anonymous on 2011-04-27:
Good review, Trmn8r. I bake homemade cookies too, but will sometimes buy these in a pinch. Now I'll think twice.

So...what's the details on the accidental invention for those of us too lazy to Google? C'mon spill it!

Anonymous on 2011-04-27:
Lol jc. Story goes Ruth was mixing a batch of cookies for her roadside inn guests when she discovered that she was out of baker's chocolate. She substituted broken pieces of Nestle's semi-sweet chocolate, expecting it to melt and absorb into the dough to create chocolate cookies. That didn't happen, but the surprising result helped to make Ruth Wakefield one of the 20th century's most famous women inventors. When she removed the pan from the oven, she realized that she had accidentally invented "chocolate chip cookies."
Anonymous on 2011-04-27:
I've noticed that Chips Ahoy cookies were smaller than they used to be. But I do like their new re-sealable packages that open on the top. It's so much easier than having to take the whole tray of cookies out to get to the ones at the end of the bag.
Venice09 on 2011-04-27:
I always buy Chunky so I haven't noticed that the originals are smaller. Is the package still 16 oz? I think Chunky is 14 oz. How do they taste?

Now that I think of it, the last time I bought Chewy Chips Ahoy, the cookies were small, almost like Entenmann's.
momsey on 2011-04-27:
Do yourself a favor and try the Chunky White Fudge Chips Ahoy. Yummy!
Venice09 on 2011-04-27:
Those are the ones I buy, momsey. They are my son's favorite.
trmn8r on 2011-04-27:
little -> yes, that is one of the things I like about this brand - the resealable package. I like the taste better than the competition's in the chunky version, but the regular is so thin that the flavor almost leaks out. I find these rather unsatisfying. Maybe gluing two together with some melted dark chocolate would work.

Venice -> the chunky package weighs less. I had it in my hand today, and fatefully decided to go for net weight over glutony. I should have listened to the devil within me.
Venice09 on 2011-04-27:
Two Chips Ahoy glued together with melted dark chocolate.. I like that idea!
trmn8r on 2011-04-27:
It's the only good one I came up with today, Venice, which goes to show you shouldn't give until your head hit the pillow and sheep are using your nose like a pommel horse.
Anonymous on 2011-05-04:
I bought the chocolate chunk cookies and they are tiny what a rip (VH) TRM.
Venice09 on 2011-05-04:
Oh, no!.. not Chunky, too! The last ones I had were regular size. How can there be chocolate chunks in a cookielet? What is there, one chunk?
trmn8r on 2011-05-04:
Huh? The "Chunky" ones were "full sized" last I knew - beefy, like a man cookie. As Venice points out, you really can't have a chunky cookielet.
Anonymous on 2011-05-04:
Well the ones I got were pretty small.
Anonymous on 2011-05-04:
I have not had chips ahoy chocolate chunky cookies in a long time maybe they were always that size but they seemed kind of small to me not your average sized cookie.
Venice09 on 2011-05-04:
Well, I buy chunky all the time, so I guess I'll find out. Nabisco cookies come from different bakeries, and it does make a difference in the product. The quality is not as consistent as one would think. I know because my father worked for Nabisco.
Hepsten on 2013-04-01:
The chunky cookie is about the same size, but the carton now has only three rows of cookies instead of four rows yet same price
Close commentsAdd reply
Graham Crackers Not Like They Used To Be
Posted by on
NORTHFIELD, ILLINOIS -- Recently (within probably the last 6 months or so) Nabisco not only changed the shape and size of its regular and cinnamon graham crackers. But they must have also changed the recipe. The crackers now have almost no taste. The box itself would probably taste better. What did they do? Did they cut costs somewhere besides the size and quantity in the box?
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Skye on 2010-05-29:
I love graham crackers! Why do they have to fix something that isn't broken?? I always liked Nabisco grahams and also buy Keebler graham crackers. I just hope those little elves don't go and mess up their recipe!
Anonymous on 2010-05-29:
I love graham crackers with peanut butter and chocolate chips. Or with cream cheese. Or with frosting. Mmmmm.....OK, I need to run to the store
Skye on 2010-05-29:
Oh little, now your talking! I love them with cream cheese. Now you've given me a great new idea, peanut butter and chocolate chips!

YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
Mrs. V on 2010-05-30:
Graham crackers + toasted marshmallows + chocolate = Nirvana ^_^
Venice09 on 2010-05-30:
There have been a lot of complaints about Nabisco grahams, especially the Honey Maid ones. As far as the recipe, maybe they changed it to eliminate trans fats, but I really don't think that should affect the flavor. When Dunkin Donuts did away with trans fats, I couldn't tell the difference. Nabisco better take these complaints as seriously as people take the taste of their graham crackers or they will lost customers to a cheaper brand.
Fisheye on 2013-08-04:
We just tried to make a cheese cake and these 'new' cinnamon graham crackers spoiled our cheese cake! I think they removed sugar and cinnamon and they made the crackers/quantity smaller.

It is almost like this company is driving consumers to the no-name products. We went out and bought one of the local no-name products and got a cinnamon graham that tasted almost as good as the original Nabisco grahams.

Now we would be stupid to go back and buy another package of Nabisco.

I see the company is now owned by Mondelez International. I also see some people reporting that the graham's are made in Mexico.

The worse thing about these crackers is that on the front of the box they have the nerve to claim: "Same Great Taste" - NOT!
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >