[X]
Feedburner count

National Home Protection


64 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Rejected a claim with unacceptable explanation
Posted by ETH on 12/22/2006
NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- My home is covered by a home warranty plan from this company. Recently I had to file a claim for a water heater that had started leaking on the top. Even though they talk about 24/7 claim service, it took them 3 days to respond to the claim by which time the water heater had stopped working. When they responded, they had a whole load of questions for me. The treatment was very rude...as if I did a crime by filing a claim with them. It took them another day to assign a plumber to look at it. After they told me a plumber has been assigned, it took them another half day and 3 more phone calls (with an average wait time of 15 minutes each) to send the fax to the plumber.

The plumber came in on the next day and took one look at the water heater and said, "You need a new water heater. I will get authorization from NHP and get it done". An hour later, he called me and said that NHP is dragging on the authorization. He himself seemed pretty frustrated with how NHP was treating him. He said, "We don't do business with NHP very often because of their practices". Anyway, NHP tactfully called me at work after I had gone home and left a voicemail saying, "Since our diagnosis indicated that you hadn't been flushing the water heater regularly, we cannot authorize this claim. Have a good day".

I had been flushing it regularly after I bought the house 3 years ago. Nevertheless, the water heater was 28 years old and as the plumber himself agreed, there is nothing you can do to prevent it from dying its natural death. NHP didn't even care to ask me anything or talk to me before just rejecting the claim.

When I called back, the associate was very rude and didn't have anything more to add. Then, I wanted to cancel the policy, but he pointed me to a clause on the contract that the policy cannot be cancelled. At that point, I realized that there is no point in talking to them anymore. I was without hot water for 3 days by now. So, I just walked into Lowe's and got my water heater replaced the same day.

I really want people to be aware of the bad practices of this company because right from purchase (now, that's another story), experiences have been very disappointing. But, it really hurts when you have a home warranty that is not worth the paper that it is written on. Right from my first contact regarding the claim, it was clear that they are trying hard to not honor the claim.

I hope my review helps anyone who is considering this company for home warranty. Stay away from them.
     
Read 57 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2006-12-22:
Is there an appeal process outlined in their agreement? In my part of the country, 28 years is unheard of for a water heater - 12 to 15 years is the norm. Since they won't let you out of the agreement, I'd just keep bugging them about your water heater.
Posted by rah332 on 2006-12-23:
i disconnected a wall heater that had a crack in the chamber which we consider 2 b a hazard. the owner called their warranty company which sent out a plumber. he stated there was no crack and reconnected the heater. they have people that work for them who don't know their own business. the crack was there bright as day- he didnt know what he was looking for and put the owner in jepordy by reconnecting the heater. the warranty company was not going to give the policy holder a new htr cuz their plumber didnt find any problem. they have people working for them that just don't know what they are doing. this way the warranty company wont have to pay out.. but they have open hands when it comes to collecting the premiums...
Posted by ETH on 2007-01-08:
= Update =

The dispute is ON. I have received a conditional credit for the policy fee from my credit card company. They are investigating this company as a possible fraud.

I have also received a response from the state attorney general's office for my dispute. They have opened a case and have requested additional information such as warranty contract etc. They are investigating NHP as a possible fraud too.

Still waiting for response from NY attorney general's office.

I will keep posting updates. Won't rest until these guys are exposed.

Posted by ETH on 2007-01-16:
== Update ==

During the purchase of the policy, NHP had offered a $50 gift certificate from Home Depot. After buying the policy, I never received it. Customer service kept saying "it is on its way". So, I had filed a complaint on BBB. Well, NHP's response was quick. Here is their response to BBB:-

"Please note, Mr. XXXX failed to complete the mail-in rebate form. This form has been mailed and emailed numerous times. If you have any further questions, please contact me."

Huh!

Anyway, BBB has finally made their records on NHP public. They have been given an "Unsatisfactory" rank. 25 unresolved complaints! Shows what they are. Best of luck, NHP. I know you are reading this.

DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT PURCHASING THEIR WARRANTY. If you were a victim of NHP, please file complaint to the Attorney General. That's the only way to take care of the crooks behind this scam.
Posted by rjbouchard on 2007-02-07:
I was scammed by this company too. When my home heating system broke they didn't arrange for a contractor to even contact me; after 5 days I got permission to persue my own repair person, but they then refused to pay for the work with a made-up excuse. Fully 13 weeks later, yes that's 13 weeks after my heat failed, they out of the blue finally set me up with a contractor. I filed a BBB complaint and I'm currently writing up my complain to the NY Atty General. This is a 100% scam operation.

btw to answer one of the early comments, the contract provides for binding arbitration in the event of a conflict, but NHP refused to participate in arbitration as stated in the contract when I tried that route.
Posted by cllamont on 2007-02-27:
I have had a problem with these crooks as well. I purchased a home warranty from National Home Protection (NHP) on January 30, 1997 for $373.91. The one year warranty went into effect on February 16, 2007 – despite the erroneous paperwork that was sent to me that reflects start date of February 28, 2007. This shows the low level of professionalism right off the bat.

On February 24 approximately midnight, I called NHP to file an emergency claim for my heat pump. I had no heat on the night of the worst snow storm of the year in sub freezing temperatures. I asked that the claim be flagged as an emergency and I was told that it would be treated as such. I was also told that I was entitled to a call back regarding the emergency claim. I explained to all of the people I would eventually speak to that I had elderly people and children in my home and it was too cold for them to go without heat for several days. No one seemed concerned and, subsequently nothing was done.

I proceeded to call on 5 other occasions on February 25 (at 1AM, 8AM, 11AM, 1:10PM, and 5:10PM) and on February 26 (at 7:20AM) – each time someone different told me that an emergency message was sent to NHP. I still never got any response or action.

Finally, on February 26 at approximately 9 AM (the time that the NHP claim office will actually expect phone calls from paying customers despite claiming that the claims department will take calls 24 hours, 7 day per week), I was able to get a rude and indifferent claims representative on the phone who would only identify himself as Mike. I demanded some service on the claim. He informed me that while my requests had been received over the prior 2 days, nothing was done until that morning. I told him that was totally unacceptable and not what was promised. I was told a contractor had been contacted and would be calling me to arrange an appointment. I demanded emergency treatment on this matter. I was flatly refused this service. NHP has my money and did not provide the service. Since absolutely nothing was done on my behalf and this company left my family in jeopardy in the dead of a harsh winter, I cancelled the warranty and informed NHP in writing through its website that I would be disputing the charge for a full refund. I have also filed complaints with the Better Business Bureau and Consumer Protection Agency. I am considering legal action on this matter depending on the outcome of this dispute.

Posted by JBradburyNHP on 2007-04-06:
My name is Jonathan Bradbury and I am an employee of NHP and here to assist with any problems.

We are a service business and have no interest but to serve the customer. 2 Informational Facts: 1. We have been in business for a long time and have over 150,000 customers. 2. 96% of our customers renew their contract each year.

Below I am giving both sides of the story. Remember these are not excuses just explanations.

ETH - Our contractor did a sediment test in your case, and found sediment build up. Sediment Build Up is the number 1 killer of water heaters, and the NHP contract clearly states that sediment build is not covered.

RAH332 - Your warranty is not through NHP.

RJBOUCHARD - Called in to NHP and stated that he forgot he had a warranty and had the repair done on his own, he requested reimbursement which was denied. NHP does not reimburse for work done without prior permission.

CLLAMONT - We have no customer in our databse that purchased 1/30 with a contract that went into effect on 2/16. If you are actually a customer and would like your issues resolved please e-mail me.
My email address jbradbury@nationalhomeprotection.com.
Posted by ETH on 2007-04-08:
Aha! It must have started hurting them, so they have sent a real sounding guy instead of all those decoys!!

Hey Bradbury, does it now look like you will have to close the shutters and file for bankruptcy before you made that fast buck that you were expecting to make? By the way, how long have you been in business to see what percentage of your customers renew the contract? How long is the 'long time in business'? And, how do you explain the real trash rating that BBB has given you? That must really be hurting you.

The technician you sent to my house spent less than a minute looking at the water heater. He didn't do any test on the water heater. He told me he should have no problems in getting it approved by you. Later he called me to let me know of his helplessness because you apparently had decided already that you are not going to pay for it.

And by the way, I heard back from the attorney general of MO about your response. If you have 150,000 customers, why do you bother about these few who have complaints? Shouldn't that be normal? I actually talked personally with AG about this. I am not wanting to win a legal case against you. I got rid of the old water heater, so I have nothing to prove anything against you. My only intention is to let everyone in any audience that I can get, know about you. AG has promised to do whatever is possible in their legal limitations.

If you want to continue a conversation here, let's do it. In any case, you owe me a communique because you ignored my e-mails earlier.
Posted by ETH on 2007-04-08:
And, by the way, as per BBB's records, NHP has been in business for less than a year. Can Mr.Bradbury elaborate on the 96% customers who renew their contracts? By my best estimates, this company wasn't in business before Aug/Sep 2006.
Posted by txcontractor on 2007-04-18:
National home protection is a joke all the way around.As an air conditioning contractor here in texas we se a lot of people being ripped off by this company.In fact, we have not been paid for a couple of jobs we did for them LAST year!I actually had to send a tech. out today to pull some parts from some poor costomers house that they refused to pay on.I hate to do it, but maybe that will get there attention.
I will post more on here later tonight.
All I can say is take a good look at some of the other warranty company's and don't even waste you time and money with NHP. By the way if any home owners want to ask us any questions about NHP we will be get to as many as possible.I can even give you prices that they pay to have your units fixed.(I have a price sheet) Oh, by the way,A plumber is not licensed to fix a gas leak in a has heater here in texas and many other states.They should not be opening the unit at all.
There resposibility ends at the shut off valve.
Posted by suingnhp on 2007-05-13:
I will be suing NHP for breach of contract. If anyone is interested, send me an email at suingnhp@gmail.com with your name and phone number and I'll contact you with how you may help. Many people have been getting burned by NHP and now it's time to fire back.
Thanks
Posted by cmarkin on 2007-05-16:

I called National Home Protection Co. in January because I had a leak from the upstairs tub to the downstairs bathroom.I was told that they couldn't get anyone for 2 weeks or if I could call a plumber and faxed the bill, they would pay them.I did get a plumber to come out and they did a fix on the upstairs faucets. That night I took a bath and found that there was still a bad leak downstairs.I call them back the next day and call the NHP and said they had not solved the problem. The NHP said no problem and send the bill.
In Feb. I call to report a pipe break downstairs and was told to call a plumber again.I did, had to pay out of pocket the 3rd time and faxed of bill.It is now the middle of May and after several call to the NHP and given voice mail 8 times to find out why I haven't received payment. I contacted New York Insurance Dept.and filed a claim with them..I haven't heard from either as yet and still get sent to voice mail with no return calls...This NHP is a fraud and should be run out of business.I tried to get info through google on the CEO or anyone in charge to call but to no avail. If anyone has info on this company please email me at cmarkin@email.com.
Posted by Zena on 2007-06-18:
Had my first bad experience with them today. My AC is out and I am in Texas. They said after sending me a plumbing company name and supposedly trying for 3 hours to find someone to fix it that the earliest they could have someone out was 7 days and it could take up to 14 days and that I had the option to find a contractor myself If the bill was under $100, I should just send them the bill and they would pay it minus the $45. If over $100, I would need to call and get an authorization number. I talked to the head of the complaint department and said this response was not acceptable. That they should find someone or at least give me a list of who they called. Michael Moore was his name and he was awful. I asked him if he had a conscience and he said no. I asked him for his boss's name and he said he didn't have a boss. When I called back to the sales department I first talked to Steve (who I believe had sold me the policy originally) and he said just a minute, like he cared and was going to get me someone else to talk to. Then Stephanie Andrews came on the line and said Steve was unavailable and would not give me the name of the president saying it was a security issue. Then I found this site and now I know what I am in for. We will see what happens tomorrow when the contractor comes. Wonder why it only took me 5 minutes to find someone to come tomorrow and in 3 hours they could find no one. I know they are scamming me, just can't prove it. Just wanted to add my voice.

Posted by suingnhp on 2007-06-19:
David Seruya is the owner of NHP. We are taking them to small claims court today for failure to cover our failed boiler. I would recommend going through American Arbitration Association for any disputes. They are reachable at http://www.adr.org/arb_med .
For more information, I'm reachable at suingnhp@gmail.com
Posted by jayP on 2007-07-11:
I am a recent victim to NHP.

On May 30, 2007 I bought a 3 year home warranty service contract from National Home Protection (NHP). On July 2nd 2007, I contacted NHP about problem with my air conditioning unit ( which is about one year old). On July 5th I contacted NHP again about the problem. NHP directed me to a service contractor I contacted this contractor, who declined to do the service and expressed surprise at NHP directing me to him.
I called NHP who then asked me contact another contractor. They also refused stating that that they have told NHP they can not do the service outside their area. At this I had no service even though NHP had collected fee for all three years. So I contacted NHP and told them to cancel my contract since none of their service contractors have agreed to provide the service. On July 6th, I sent an email as a confirmation to cancel my contract. I requested that they refund the funds after deducting a prorated amount for the month even though no service has been provided. I followed-up his email with a fax. NHP has so far not provided me with confirmation of cancellation nor have they indicated when they are going to refund the money I paid.

In the last three days, I have spoken to three service representatives who falsely kept telling me that email cancellation from NHP is on the way
Posted by ETH on 2007-07-11:
When I bought the policy, there was no information available on this fraud company. But now, there are tons of information available (BBB or this site) that should have told you to run away from this company. Serves you (jayP) right for ignoring all the warnings. You are the kind of customers that still keep this company alive.
Posted by jayP on 2007-07-13:
ETH is right. I forgot to check BBB until it was too late.
Posted by brent_cindy on 2007-07-19:
Call National Home Protection's phone#. Select option 1 (the option to purchase a contract). Somone answers the phone within 2 rings. Call back.....select the option that you want to file a claim. You'll be on hold for 20+ minutes waiting on someone to answer. I had a claim. Had to call my own repair man because they didn't have anyone to send like they advertise. I was told when the repair man gets to the house, give them a call to get an authorization number. I called when he got there. He fixed my appliance gave me the bill. I payed it. And I was still on hold with NHP. Then was told that they couldn't authorize payment because they needed to talk to the repair man. Is a repair man going to wait for them to answer? NO. Does NHP know this? YES I would love to find out who owns this piece of crap company.....and kick his teeth in. And do the same with those IDIOT 'customer service' people.
Posted by abojay on 2007-07-27:
Please go to Thesqueakywheel.com and read my complaint. This company(NHP) is stealing money from me, they overcharged me and won't return the money...I also never got the Home Depot Card..
EH
Posted by designgrl on 2007-09-19:
I also had a bad experience with NHP. I would never ever use this company again. I am surprised they are still in business. I signed up for a policy and the three sales representatives promised me that there was no fee for cancellation. I did end up receiving a $50 fee when I cancelled after three days. I cancelled the policy after reading all of the bad reviews online. When I called to complain that I shouldn't have received a fee no one would talk to me and kept forwarding me to different department. In the end I was forwarded to "David's" voicemail. David is supposed to be some sort of supervisor. I think this might just be a voicemail that no one checks. I left three messages for "David" whom never called me back. Today I called NHP again to see if they were still telling customers that there was no fee for cancellation and the sales representative thinking I was interested in purchasing a policy told me there was no fee. I told him what had happened to me and he of course sent me to another department. That department then denied that sales would say something like that. I am surprised this company is still in business. I am also surprised that Home Warranty Magazine ranked NHP as #1 four years in a row. It this magazine actually a legitimate publication?
Posted by jayP on 2007-09-30:
I strongly recommend that you complain to NY Attorney General Office. They will follow-up with this company.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-09-30:
Is the consolidation of government functions the trend today?

Yes. Consolidation of power is gravitating toward Washington at a pace which would have greatly alarmed the Founders.

What has caused this?

Beginning around 1900 certain wealthy influential groups lost confidence in the original American system and began propagandizing the people into believing that a "redistribution of the wealth" by the government would greatly improve the American life style. This theory of economics with its concentration of political power at the center of government is usually referred to as socialism. Samuel Adams vigorously warned against these principles. He said socialism violates equal protection of rights and completely destroys the concept of limited government. In fact, he said the Founders had done everything possible to make these collectivist policies "unconstitutional."

What has been the result?

These policies launched the United States on a wild and dizzy trajectory which has resulted in run-away inflation; a huge burden of national debt; taxes which are devouring nearly half of the peoples' earning power; a serious invasion of individual rights; and a virtual collapse of states rights.
Posted by STR on 2007-10-02:
Extremely terrible experience with NHP. They signed me up for a one year plan and specifically told me I could cancel at any time without any penalty. After 2 weeks, I got no HD gift card as promised. No contract nothing. I called them to cancel. They put you on hold for ever. When they respond to phone calls or emails they are rude and obnoxious and make it seem as if it is our fault. Then they tell that there is a $50 administrative fee for cancellation. I do not want to pay any fee when they never even sent me the contract or HD card. They are a complete scam and fraud. I will be complaining to NY Attorney General. Put them out of business. Luckily I paid for one year by credit card and they will refund me the charges. Infact NHP was trying to sign me up for a 5-year plan. Scumbags. Liars and thieves.
Posted by ETH on 2007-10-15:
These crooks have sent me the renewal notice. They must be really unashamed to offer to renew this crap warranty after what they put me through.

And, if that is isn't funny enough, there is a special promotion - If I renew it by 10/28, two service calls are free - a $90 value. Ha! It must be just like the Home Depot gift card they promised when I first bought the warranty.

I am surprised they are still in business. Just a look at their BBB report should make customers run in the opposite direction.
Posted by GMutz on 2007-10-15:
I also got initially scammed by these pieces of Sh... Signed up for a three year policy because it was cheeper that way. For months I never made one claim. When we started having a problem with our AC I called to have a technician come out. They sent someone out who said it would be $500 to fix and that I would have to get authorization from NHP. When I called NHP they wanted services records. Well, I had just bought the house so obviously, I didn't have any service records. When told this, NHP still denied the claim (they had to put me on hold for ten minutes to come up with a reason to deny the claim). Obviously that got me a little angry and I started to tell them off. When I fisnished yelling a little, their representative said and I quote "you feel smarter now?" The kicker is that there was nothing wrong with the AC. It was all from a part that had come loose. Their technician that they sent out was just a complete dumb ass. Probably the worst run company in the country and the should be shut down
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-10-15:
WELLLLLLLLL
jbradbburynhp,
what ya got to say about all that?
I'm gonna sit back and watch the fun!!!
Posted by ETH on 2007-10-16:
For anyone who is too lazy to search these crooks on BBB, here is the link (Cut and paste):

http://www.newyork.bbb.org/reports/businessreports.aspx?pid=44&page=1&id=90659


Posted by turbomike on 2007-10-29:
Unfortunately I too purchased a policy with NHP before researching them (my mistake). I called back to cancel less than an hour after I purchased the policy for a refund. I was told the refund would take about 10 days to process. I checked back with them and found that the refund was never processed and the person who I spoke with was conveniently not available. I was told once again the refund was now going to be processed but it still has not been. I always get the run around when I call. They always seem to be transferring me to different people and departments. I never can seem to get a supervisor on the phone. I decided to take it a step further and disputed the charge with Discover (which is how I paid). Discover just sent me a letter denying the claim because of a letter faxed to them by NHP. The letter was from Rick Sanders of NHP and it stated that I did not call NHP to cancel (WHAT A LIE!). The letter also states that there is a $50.00 administration fee for canceling and a $200.00 early termination fee.

NHP might as well tell people that they can never cancel or get a refund!
I have already submitted a claim to the BBB and plan to again dispute it with Discover. I do have an e-mail from NHP proving that we called and canceled our policy. The e-mail also stated that within 30 days our refund will be processed.
MORE LIES!
I don't know about the rest of you but I work hard for my money and don't plan on sitting back while NHP screws us. Can a class action lawsuit be brought against these thieves? Is there anyone willing or able to help me? If so, please e-mail me at: outlawracing16@hotmail.com
Posted by nursekelly on 2007-10-30:
I am a NHP customer, and I am having the same trouble that everyone has mentioned. My water heater needed replaced and they denied it since I did not have a maintenance record, I just bought my house in Jan2007. Another claim, against my electrical fuse box, bottom line, I was denied because this was a pre-existing condition. I have called their office at least 40 times leaving messages and waiting on hold x 30 min and over. The only way to contact someone is to make a claim. I thought I was crazy, since they would not help me, so I called the company and acted like a new client, they treated me great and told me they have never denied a claim. I then went off on the person and told them I was a pre-existing customer, and they should get a new job, because the company will go down. I still do not have electric in several rooms and I do not have air on my 2nd floor, I refuse to let them win. If I have to wait years I will. I have contacted BBB, they were no help, I have written to Insurance Commisioner and they told me it would take several weeks to get an examiner. My next attempt was Atty general, I am filling out those papers right now,and I have consulted an Attorney. I believe that we were scammed and if we give up, thousands of new customers will be ripped off. I have not stopped payment on the 36.79 draft from my account, since I will get these fixed by NHP. This could be a class action suit, or a great lawsuit for pain and suffering. I have spent days and nights trying to figure out a way to let the world know what is going on. There are so many companies out there and political people to protect us against these people and it is just a nightmare trying to get the word out and make somewhere care, that really can help us all. My email is Sweiss@nc.rr.com feel free to email me
Posted by Slimjim on 2007-11-02:
I liked to get involved with a class action lawsuit. I'd like to be party to a class of every American suing class action attorneys for bogging the courts with frivolous litigations that only line their pockets.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-02:
Me to Slim, I really want a worthless $10 coupon for something I don't need while these ambulance chasing bottom feeding lawyers rape the victims with legal fee's.
Posted by turbomike on 2007-11-02:
Just a heads up for everyone. I just came across this company:

NATIONWIDE HOME WARRANTY
PO BOX 341
NY NY 10013

According to their website they have been in business since 1990. However the BBB states:

"This business recently came to our attention. We are attempting to gather information on the business. Please check back in four to six weeks.

Report as of: 11/2/2007"

Could this be another National Home Protection or the same people operating under a different name?
I found this in their Terms and Conditions section:

13.2. Cancellation by You. You may cancel this Agreement within three (3) days from the Order Date of this Agreement, as set forth on the schedule page accompanying this Agreement. In the event you cancel within the three (3) day period, the You shall be entitled to a full refund of the paid contract fee less a Fifty ($50.00) Dollar administrative fee. After the third day, this Agreement shall be non-cancellable by You, unless otherwise agreed by Nationwide.

Very similar to National Home Protection's policy. They also both operate out of New York, New York.
Posted by ETH on 2007-11-05:
I am sure they are the same crooks. The city doesn't matter. Anyone can get a P.O Box, a fake address and a toll-free number anywhere. They used to be Mutual Warranty before they declared bankruptcy and re-opened as NHP. It is amazing that they can operate for 2-3 years before being noticed and when they begin to get noticed, they just start all over with a new name.

Unless someone goes after the real guys who are behind this, they will keep doing this. Where is the law enforcement here?
Posted by cwalk on 2008-01-10:
I too have been scamed by National Home Protection. They cancelled my contract even though I have paid for services and they are telling me that my covered claim is not covered. I have sent many emails and have confirmations that that were read yet they wont respone. I will let you decide what type of company they are. Here is a copy of the email I sent to them that never was responded to:

I am trying to get additional information and file a complaint about my claim that was recently denied. I have left voicemails and sent emails with no response. Please assist and respond to this issue.

Thanks and below is some of the emails that I have sent

----- Original Message -----


Sent: Thursday, January 10, 2008 11:19 AM
Subject: Fw: Claim #****** Complaint


I am really trying to reach you about my claim. Please respond immediately.
Thanks

Mr. Jarvis,
I am sending this to you since you read my first email complaint. I would really appreciate it if you or an appropriate supervisor would respond instead of not dealing with my issue.

Thanks and my contact info is at the end of the complaint.


----- Original Message -----
From:
To: claims@nationalhomeprotection.com
Sent: Wednesday, January 09, 2008 5:04 PM
Subject: Fw: Claim #***** Complaint



To: claims@nationalhomeprotection.com
Sent: Wednesday, January 09, 2008 4:11 PM
Subject: Claim #****** Complaint


To Whom It May Concern:

I am experiencing multiple problems with the services of your company. I filed a claim on Saturday, December 15 for a water leak in the kitchen. The original claim was forwarded to Skeen Plumbing. Skeen Plumbing contacted me and stated that they would not service the claim through your company because "you don't pay on time nor do you pay enough for their service". I contacted the claims department on Wednesday, December 19,2007 at which time Reese Plumbing was contacted for the service call.

On Friday, December 21, 2007 Reese Plumbing serviced the claim and sent in a work order referencing a leak in the "Drain" Line. Although you were closed on Friday, no one responded back to Reese Plumbing, to date and on each occurrence that either I or the contractor called, we where told that the claim was in the authorization department.

On Wednesday, January 2, 2008, I sent an email to claims@nationalhomeprotection.com to get a status on the claim which had a work order sent in on December 21. In that email, I asked to be contacted "first thing" Thursday morning with a status of the claim. This call was never made or received. My email was read by Walter Jarvis on Thursday, January 3, 2008, at 4:25 pm and I still did not receive a call from your company about resolution of my claim. Instead I had to call and be told on both Thursday and Monday that your company would call me back and have an answer "today" but those calls never happened.

On Tuesday, January 8, 2008, I spoke with "Peter" in the Authorizations Department who stated that my claim had to be authorized by a supervisor. I asked to speak to a supervisor so I was placed on hold. Once peter returned he explained that my claim was denied because of "rust in the fresh water line". My leak is on the drain line and not the fresh water line. I spoke of my problems with how my claim has been handled and requested all of my money that has been invested in this company since your company is obviously trying to not pay for a covered claim. Peter gave me an ultimatum of two choices: 1. Cancel contract and be charged a $200 fee if I am requesting a refund or 2. Just cancel and have no more dealings. I asked to speak to his supervisor and I stated that "he meant nothing to me". He instructed that he was the only person I had to talk to but I insisted that even supervisors had supervisors and I wanted to be transferred to that person. He stated that since he means nothing to me that my contract was "Cancelled" and he transferred me to Michael Moore's voicemail.

I have left several messages on Michael Moore's voicemail and well as Rick Sander's voicemail who was told to me by two representatives from your company as Michael Moore's supervisor.

I called back to speak with another representative in the Authorizations Department to get clarity on why the claim was denied after reading the Terms and Conditions which are posted on your website. In addition, I contacted the contractor from Reese Plumbing to see if your company called to confirm that it was "rust" in the fresh water line that caused the leak. After speaking with the Shaun with Reese Plumbing, he validated that he was not contacted by National Home Protection, to-date, and that my leak was in the drain line and not the fresh water line. The representative that I spoke to in the Authorization's Department verified that the claim was denied because there was rust in the fresh water line. I explained that I spoke with the plumbing contractor which stated something altogether different. Your representative explained that I have galvanized pipes and that rust is the only way it could cause the leak. I asked did he verify that with the contractor and he stated yes and that it was recorded. I asked to hear the recording and he let me listen to someone who did not reference my claim who answered a general question about galvanized pipes. Who ever was being recorded, first, stated that "Age" causes galvanized pipes to leak. Once he was probed by the National Home Protection Representative about rust, the person agreed that rust could be a cause. When I mentioned the integrity of the recorded call as to if they were speaking about my pipes and was that Reese Plumbing, your representative said "yes" and that it was Reese Plumbing. I stated that I hope that this conversation was being recorded because I am hearing something different from the Plumbing Contractor. When I asked to speak with another supervisor because I could not reach Michael Moore, the authorizations representative that answered that phone aggressively stated "Your claim has been denied and You have been cancelled". By this time, I was upset with the way I have been treated during this process and because I had not cancelled my warranty yet, especially since I have paid my monthly premium and this is a claim that took place while my warranty is active.

Timing is of the essence with dealing with claims. You took 18 days to make a decision and it was partly because who ever was assigned to the claim was out of the office, the amount of work order was more than the approval department could authorize or whatever other reason your people could come up with (just a few of the many excuses that was given to me by your representatives).

Your company and it's staff really need to understand what keeps you in business- The Customer! I have been told by one of your contractors that you are not a reputable company, talked to badly, not serviced properly and timely, and possibly mis-diagnosed. Please get someone that care about the future of this company to contact me immediately to resolve my complaint. Otherwise I will be forced to continue my complaint through a legal means.

My contact information is:
***-***-**** work
***-***-**** mobile
***-***-***** personal office
*******@aol.com email

Additionally, I have copied the plumbing section of the terms and conditions from your website. Please review along with the work order to validate that my claim is covered. I have placed all content that refer to me in bold.

For your reference, my claim is for a leak in the drain line, not inadequate of excessive water pressure due to a flow restriction in a fresh water line. There is no reference to galvanized pipes.
1. PLUMBING SYSTEM

COVERED: Leaks and breaks of water, drain, gas, waste or vent lines, except if caused by freezing or roots. Toilet tanks, bowls and related mechanisms (builder's standard is used when replacement is necessary), toilet wax ring seals, valves for shower, tub, and diverter, angle stops, risers and gate valves. Permanently installed sump pumps (ground water only). Built-in bathtub whirlpool motor and pump assemblies.

NOT COVERED: Collapse of or damage to water, drain, gas, waste or vent lines caused by freezing or roots - Faucets and fixtures - Bathtubs and showers - Shower enclosures and base pans - Sinks - Toilet lids and seats - Caulking or grouting - Septic tanks - Water softeners - Pressure regulators - Inadequate or excessive water pressure - Flow restrictions in fresh water lines caused by rust, corrosion, or chemical deposits - Sewage ejector pumps - Holding or storage tanks - Saunas or steam rooms - Hose bibs - Whirlpool jets. NOTE: NHP will provide access to plumbing systems through unobstructed walls, ceilings or floors, only, and will return the access opening to rough finish condition. With respect to concrete covered, embedded, encased, or otherwise inaccessible plumbing systems, NHP will pay no more than $500 per contract term for access, diagnosis and repair or replacement. NHP's authorized service contractor will close the access opening and return it to rough finish condition, subject to the $500 limit indicated. NHP shall not be responsible for payment of the cost to remove and replace any built-in appliances, cabinets, floor coverings or other obstructions impeding access to walls, ceilings, or floors.

Posted by pcnj on 2008-01-18:
NHP is a cheat company.
BEWARE OF NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION!!!!
BEWARE OF NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION!!!!
BEWARE OF NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION!!!!
BEWARE OF NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION!!!!
BEWARE OF NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION!!!!

I am also a victim of NHP.

1. Still waiting for my gift card. Followed 3 times with them.
2. No one is availble during weekend or holidays for authorization. The default authorization for very less. The first claim experience with them is horrible. Since 2 weeks I called daily and leaving voice messages to them. No one called me up.
3. Decided to cancel the 3 yrs contract. Cannot cancelled the contract it seems.

Filed the case with "Better Business Bureau" and "NY Attorney General Office". Waiting for their help.

Is there a good home warranty company?
Posted by pcnj on 2008-01-18:
Hello ETH,
Did you get reply from "NY Attorney General Office" for your case?

PC
Posted by sleepdr on 2008-02-23:
I also had a very bad experience with National Home Protection. In fact the contractor used by them was considering dropping them because they declined to authorize any repairs. Our forced air furnace failed. National Home Protection
r
Posted by sleepdr on 2008-02-23:
I also had a very bad experience with National Home Protection. In fact the contractor used by them was considering dropping them because they declined to authorize any repairs. Our forced air furnace failed. National Home Protection refused to allow the contractor permission to fix the furnace although he had the part in his truck. I called the company and the supervisor I spoke with informed me that he would not pay to have it fixed. Cancellation charges were the equivalent of the rest of my contract so that was not feasible either. The company seems to be totally corrupt.
Posted by dragon316 on 2008-04-05:
i am on the same boat.i never got the $50 gift card. they never mention about the time frame instructions anywhere. it has to be between 60 - 90 days after you signd up. they got my request form but they said they never got it. now i know this is their cheap and ridiculous excute.

your claims will never ever been approved. you will be told that "it is not covered". when you try to get more info or more explanation from them. they will say " you have to talk to the manager". you can keep calling and left as many messages as you want but the manager will never called you back. if you called and want to stay on hold waiting to talk to the manager, you will be told the he is in the meeting or on another line.
the fact is there is no real manager.
they just came up for A Name which that person never existed. when you called and ask for that name, they all know it right away that they should refused your call.

you will finally end up pay for your service call and everything.

there is no good home warrenty company. no company would pay you more than what they make from you.
Posted by SteveF 1946 on 2008-05-07:
You better be willing to hold for 15 to 25 mins to get to someone after your claim is filed. It took over 3 weeks after dishwasher inspected and not worth repairing to get an offer of $148 to buy a new one. I did finally get them to $188.32, but that is just a start. They did not have one in stock???
Won't give info about where to get one other than they buy in bulk and didn't have one. How many models are there? They buy bulk of all of them? This company is one big con job looking to suck in anyone willing to talk with them. STAY CLEAR OF NATIONAL HOME WARRANTY. I think I will go back to American Home Shield.
Posted by lawman123 on 2008-05-10:
The thing I wonder about this is: why don't any of you open the yellow pages and call an attorney? I mean, seriously.

Filing a complaint with the attorney general of your state is virtually useless [might have worked in the 1950's, maybe], the AG's are too busy to handle every complaint and even when they do they are generally too tame and under-staffed to actually get a good recovery for consumers.

Instead, man [or woman] up. Get out your contract. Read it. Follow the procedures for appealing the claim denial. Then, if they reject your appeal, either sue them in small claims [you can do this online in most states!], visit an attorney, or take them to arbitration assuming there's an arbitration clause in the contract. That's how the system works.

Posted by ecrted on 2008-05-14:
I have been trying to get reimbursed since Sept 07. The most luck I have had so far it to contact the State of New York's Attorney General's office. Go on line and fill out the form. I recieved a response in 8 weeks. NHP stated in writing to the Attorney General's office that they had already sent me a check. I wrote the Attorney General's office back and told them I had never recieved the check. They will investgate further.
Posted by Blacknite on 2008-05-15:
I have had the same disturbing experience with National Home Protection. Mine was with a pool pump instead of a water heater, but my experirince was almost identical to yours. I have filed complaints with the BBB, the Attorney General's office, and I am going to begin working to get a news story out through Channel 2 Works for You. My experience with this company is so frustrating and positively rediculous, I hope that consumers will run from them. I told the sales rep that I was buying the warranty specifically to cover the pool equipment and he never told me about maintenance records. I spoke to a claims person who said he was a manager, I have yet to confirm that, and told him that I thought it was prudent that the sales rep point out such a requirement when the rep knew the house was just being purchased and the warranty was specific for the pool equipment. The NHP rep said he did not disagree with me, but the claim was denied. I am not done pursuing this company and will likely file a law suite if I get knowhere with my current complaints.
Posted by JaxJim on 2008-07-10:
NHP is taking advantage of me as well. We bought a warranty in 2007 and then my AC (original 20+ year old equipment) went out the last week of May this year. We had to have it replaced and followed all the NHP requirements for filing a claim. We were told by NHP that it was going to take them weeks to process the claim and that we were probably better paying for the new AC (from their approved vendor) ourselves and then seeking reimbursement. So we did.

They asked for our maintenance records and we provided the June 2007 maintenance record. They disapproved the claim saying that we needed to show annual maintenance and we had nothing from 2008. we explained that maintenance was to be performed in Jun 2008, but the AC died first. Their reply was that maintenance had to be performed in April.

Nowhere in the contract does it state a specific month that maintenance be performed. It only states that "periodic maintenance" be performed. Since when does "periodic" mean "every April?"

I'm exploring my options with local BBB, NY's BBB, state attorney general and legal representation.
Posted by MAEWE on 2008-08-20:
AUGUST 21, 2008

I too was ripped off by National Home Protection (NHP). Not only did NHP NOT provide the Home Warranty coverage they promised, but I NEVER RECEIVED the $50 Home Depot Gift Card rebate, which was an incentive for purchasing the Home Warranty. I was told that my rebate form was postmarked on April 4, 2008 after the time frame for mailing in the request. However, my rebate form was mailed on February 19, 2008, well within the time frame. My husband is a Postal Service employee and he had the postage stamp on the envelope for my rebate submission, HAND CANCELED. This company is a BIG SCAM.

You can also file complaints with the following:

U. S. Postal Inspection Service www.postalinspectors.uspis.gov/forms

Jonathan Mintz, Commissioner, Dept of Consumer Affairs (NY)
www.nyc.gov

New York State Consumer Protection Board
www.nysconsumer.gov

Attorney General Andrew M. Cuomo, State of New York
www.oag.state.ny.us/complaints

Better Business Bureau, New York City
www.newyork.bbb.org

Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) (includes the FBI)
www.complaint.ic3.gov

Federal Communications Commission
esupport.fcc.gov/complaints.htm

WNBC NEWS at investigations@nbc.com

FOX NY at www.myfoxny.com

CBS TV at www.wcbstv.com/contact

Public Editor, The New York Times at public@nytimes.com

Public Editor, Wall Street Journal at wsj.ltrs@wsj.com

New York Post at www.nypost.com/postopinion/letters

News 12 at iteam@news12.com

THIS COMPANY NEEDS TO BE STOPPED. Look at all the complaints on www.scam.com, www.complaints.com, www.complaintsboard.com, www.thesqueakywheel.com and ripoffreport.com

PLEASE HELP TO PUT AN END TO ALL THE RIPOFFS BY NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION. NHP does not respond to any E-mails or phone calls. NHP is despicable! The sooner you file a complaint, the sooner this company can be stopped!
Posted by dwajr on 2008-08-29:
***ATTENTION*** GO TO THE FBI INTERNET CRIME COMPLAINT CENTER AND FILE YOUR COMPLAINT. THIS HOW THEY GOT BUSTED IN NEW JERSEY, BECAUSE ENOUGH PEOPLE COMPLAINED. MAKE SURE YOU TRELL THEM ABOUT HOW NEVER SENT YOUR HOME DEPOT CARDS AND HOW THEY MISREPRESENTED THEIR WARRANTY.
PLEASE USE THEIR NEW YORK ADDRESS ON 42ND STREET. IF YOU CAN DO IT NOW!!! HERE IS THE LINK TO THE FBI CENTER.

http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx

Posted by MAEWE on 2008-12-01:
GOOD NEWS!! Today I was notified that I had a message from someone on my3cents.com (regarding National Home Protection). I went to the Website for my3cents.com and there was a message for me from Detective Lieutenant Steve Peters of the Ocean Township Police Department in New Jersey. Lt. Peters provided me with his contact information as follows:

"Please contact me at the Ocean Twp. Police Dept in New Jersey (732) 531-1800 Ext. 231 or E-mail speters@oceantwp.org. Thanks."

I telephoned Lt. Peters immediately and he asked me questions about my experience with NHP and he made note of my Email address. Lt. Peters said that his Department has been investigating United Home Warranty, which was owned by David Seruya, who now owns NHP. The Ocean Township Police Department is also trying to work with the NY State Office of the Attorney General regarding a pattern of deception with Seruya's companies.

If you have not heard from Lt. Peters, I urge you to please contact Lt. Peters and inform him of your experiences with NHP.

ALSO, EVERYONE NEEDS TO FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE NY STATE OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL AS FOLLOWS:

Log onto the following http://www.oag.state.ny.us Go to "Resource Center" and Click On "Consumer Frauds" then Click On "Filing a Consumer Complaint." Click on the down arrow next to "Choose a Regional Office." Scroll down and Click On "New York City," then Click On "GO." Type ALL pertinent information and COMPLETE THE FORM IN FULL, THEN PRINT IT. Mail to the address at the bottom of the form. BE SURE TO INCLUDE COPIES (No Originals) of ALL IMPORTANT PAPERS CONCERNING YOUR TRANSACTION.

THERE IS STRENGTH IN NUMBERS, EVERYONE NEEDS TO TAKE ACTION.

Thank you so much.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2008-12-01:
That's great news...!!!
You might want to consider posting this as an Informative Review...more people will have access to it.
Thanks for the update!
Posted by McFadin on 2008-12-03:
I am a lawyer in New York and I have been contacted by a prospective client in Dallas regarding a problem with National Home Protection. I am wondering if anyone has had GOOD results with this company or if it looks like this company is just a scam. Interested in all comments concerning this company.
Posted by Atul on 2008-12-09:
Within the last few years, many consumers have been logging complaints against NHP for failure to comply with their own contractual obligations. This usually happens when a more expensive items fails and needs replacements, such as a furnace, boiler, water heater or air conditioner unit. Based on reports posted by consumers on www.my3cents.com , www.scam.com , www.complaints.com , the reasons for denying the claims are fabricated and have even been disputed by their own contractors without any success. They also have an unsatisfactory record with the Better Business Bureau. On April 01, 2008 The Star-Ledger published an article on fraudulent activity this company has been doing and they are now being investigated http://www.nj.com/business/index.ssf/2008/04/warranty_firm_probed_for_fraud.html (please do read this article before you continue on). This company was practicing under United Home Warranty in past and all the sudden they disconnected its phone, emails, website and vanished. Shortly after that owner of United Home Warranty David Seruya opened up a shop as National Home Protection and it seems like they are continuing on with scams.


******http://www.nj.com/business/index.ssf/2008/04/warranty_firm_probed_for_fraud.html
Posted by Atul on 2008-12-09:
http://www.nj.com/business/index.ssf/2008/04/warranty_firm_probed_for_fraud.html (please do read this article before you continue on). ISN'T THIS JUST GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted by KaJo on 2009-01-23:
Well I'm another victim to add to the list. I have to say after reading all of the other comments I feel pretty stupid that I never did any research on NHP before I signed up. In my defense I had just cx another company that was of no help and picked the first one that "sounded" good. Anyway here's my story... I too never received my HD gift card, I was guaranteed 2 in fact because, get this, I signed up for 5 years to get locked in at the discounted service fee and yearly rate. I signed on 9/2/07. Twice in '08 I had to have a tech come out for the HVAC unit, no problems, other than the techs both said if they had a say they would recommend a new unit. But you guessed it, NHP wouldn't authorize it. Since then I have, on 4 different occasions, requested service for my dryer. One company said they wouldn't drive that far to fix a dryer, two others said they wouldn't work with the company and the fourth time, well I haven't heard back from NHP to get anything done about it. About three months ago I had to have a plumber come out through NHP, we heard water running. The plumber got paid to tell me that I had a pipe broken but NHP wouldn't give authorization to do anything about it. I tried and tried to speak with someone about the problem, but of course all I could do was email the disputes department. I was assured that they would send an email too and mark it urgent, also that I would recieve a response within 24 hours. I sent two emails, and wouldn't you know I still haven't heard from anyone. I've since spent about $3,000.00 to have the entire house replumbed. That's not all, the motor for my HVAC unit went out last month. I found this out because I paid yet another NHP contracter to tell me that and, WOW, also tell me that they wouldn't cover it. So I've paid $405.00 plus what I had to pay the first contracter, that did nothing. I have been trying to speak with a supervisor about cancelling my "WARRANTY" but of course I can't get ahold of anyone. I'm pretty young and obviously naive, but shoud I even keep trying to get ahold of someone or just avoid the stress?
Posted by JhoYap on 2009-03-10:
I totally agree. They will also give you this website to file a dispute www.dispute@nationalhomeprotection.com which does not exist. They ripped me off 2 times, 2 different situations and never got any authorization. They have all kinds of excuses. it's not worth it to wate your time and energy plue I don't desrve to be hanged up while still talking. The people in that company are rude and uneducated. I can attest to all the negative reviews that I have read. I would love to see this company pay for all the money they ripped off from people.
Posted by JhoYap on 2009-03-10:
Check this out, apparently NHP has a cease and desist order in Arizona
Posted by JhoYap on 2009-03-10:
Sorry, here's the link http://www.bizjournals.com/phoenix/stories/2009/02/09/daily28.html
Posted by MAEWE on 2009-05-16:
NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION SUED BY NEW YORK ATTORNEY GENERAL ANDREW CUOMO

On APRIL 27, 2009, NEW YORK ATTORNEY GENERAL ANDREW M. CUOMO FILED SUIT AGAINST NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION, INC. and three principals, Leo Serrur, David Seruya and Victor Hakim in NEW YORK SUPREME COURT in Manhattan.

To Ensure Restitution for Defrauded Consumers, Court Freezes Company and Principal Assets.

IF YOU HAVE BEEN RIPPED OFF BY NHP, IMMEDIATELY GO TO THIS WEBSITE, http://www.oag.state.ny.us and FILE A COMPLAINT.

It looks like JUSTICE is forthcoming, but this could take years!! It's a start!

GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE!!
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-05-16:
Maewe I suggest you write an informative review about this.
Close commentsAdd reply


Bad warranty company
Posted by BMW M5 on 07/16/2009
Don't by a warranty from this company (NAC).They will try to get out of paying a claim. I bought the Pinnacle policy. They took 4 days and a inspector to come look at the car. The inspector told NAC that the repairs were legit. Still they did not want to fix my car with out shopping for used cheap parts. Mean while my car sat for a week while they made excuses...Don't buy a warranty from this company.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by X NAC WARRANTY AGENT on 2013-05-15:
I WAS A N AGENT FOR THIS COMPANY. THEY WILL DO WHAT EVER THEY CAN NOT TO PAY FOR A CLAIM ! THEY SCREW THERE OWN AGENTS OUT OF COMMISSIONS. THEY USE USED PARTS THEY CALL IT COST EFFECTIVE.
Close commentsAdd reply

National Home Protection = FRAUDULENT BUSINESS
Posted by Webwlf on 06/20/2007
If you are looking at home warranty programs DO NOT, STAY AWAY from NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION. They are absolutely a scam/fraud. I unfortunately switched recently from AHS (American Home Shield) to the FRAUD = NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION. They had a better price and "claimed" that they would give me the same service as American Home Shield. Not even remotely true. They took over $1000.00 from me for THREE properties and REFUSE any CLAIM that you try to process. And if that isn't enough to deter you from signing up for this scam... they are absolute children, the employees don't have past a grade school education and they are trash. Everyone is extremely RUDE, RUDE, RUDE... they are proud that they scammed you out of money and flaunt it. This is NOT a company, this is a bunch of kids taking peoples money, PLEASE DON'T FALL FOR IT LIKE I DID!!!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Pomona Guy on 2007-06-20:
How many claims did you submit for? Aren't you suppose to call them and they have someone come out? That isn't the same as submitting a claim. If you have three properties are you a landlord? Do they know that?

Come, tell us more.
Posted by suingnhp on 2007-06-21:
For all those that are interested in fighting back against National Home Protection, please email me at suingNHP@gmail.com for more information.
Posted by mmrie6905 on 2008-01-22:
Completely agree! The customer service reps are totally rude! I was hung up on, yelled at and completely ignored. I have not recieved the $50 Home Depot card they advertise with purcahse of the warranty and it has been 9 months! They also refused to fix anything! I contacted the BBB to see if they could get me a refund on my contract.
Posted by whiterock13 on 2008-02-06:
National Home Warranty Inc. is a total rip off scam, not even licensed in Texas, yet they sell their services here, frauds.
Close commentsAdd reply

National Home Protection - FRAUD
Posted by 94SupraT on 05/07/2007
HAZEL GREEN, ALABAMA -- DO NOT BUY A WARRANTY FROM THIS COMPANY.

National Home Protection sent out a contractor to check out my A/C unit. The contractor determined the compressor was bad. National Home Protection said the problem was preexisting. The contractor that National Home Protection sent out called them to inform them that the problem WAS NOT preexisting. National Home Protection then said there was not enough maintenance on the unit and that is what caused it to fail.

Their contractor then stated that was not the case and that no amount of maintenance would make any difference, none of the coils were dirty and everything else they saw was visually fine. Basically National Home Protection is going around in circles and giving excuses to not pay out this claim. DO NOT BUY A WARRANTY FROM THEM.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by poppapia on 2007-05-07:
First, almost all home warranty companies play this game, and it's usually very difficult to determine if a condition is preexisting. Do one of two things: ask for a refund of your premium, or threaten them with small claims action.
Posted by cmarkin on 2007-05-16:
I called National Home Protection Co. in January because I had a leak from the upstairs tub to the downstairs bathroom.I was told that they couldn't get anyone for 2 weeks or if I could call a plumber and faxed the bill, they would pay them.I did get a plumber to come out and they did a fix on the upstairs faucets. That night I took a bath and found that there was still a bad leak down stairs.I call them back the next day and call the protection Co. and said they had not solved the problem. The company said no problem and send the bill.
In Feb. I call to report a pipe break downstairs and was told to call a plumber again.I did, had to pay out of pocket the 3rd time and faxed of bill.It is now the middle of May and after several call to the company and given voice mail 8 times to find out why I haven't received payment. I contacted New York Insurance Dept.and filed a claim with them..I haven't heard from either as yet and still get sent to voice mail with no return calls...This company is a fraud and should be run out of business.I tried to get info through google on the CEO or anyone in charge to call but to no avail. If anyone has info on this company please email me at cmarkin@email.com.
Posted by Joye on 2007-06-06:
I have also been ripped off by this company. They sold me roof protection coverage as an add on but when I filed a claim they informed me they didn't have a contractor in my area for that. Then I told them to refund my money and they are trying to stiff me for the $250 cancellation policy even though they sold me a fraudulent contract. However, that really hasn't come into play yet as I haven't received any money back yet and I requested the refund 3/29/07. They are ALL rude and had the nerve to tell me that I was the rude one nd if I wasn't single already it would just be a matter of time before my husband got sick of me and left!!!!

I'm at the end of my rope with these people. I too have been unsuccessful trying to track down a corporate number or CEO's name. To make it worse, it will cost close to $500 just to hire an attorney (more than I paid for the warranty). So, we're stuck here with a leaky roof, no warranty (according to them it was canceled on 3/29) AND no refund. Stay away from these blatantly rude crooks!!!
Posted by suingnhp on 2007-06-19:
David Seruya is the owner of NHP. We are taking them to small claims court today for failure to cover our failed boiler. I would recommend going through American Arbitration Association for any disputes. They are reachable at http://www.adr.org/arb_med .
For more information, I'm reachable at suingnhp@gmail.com
Posted by suingnhp on 2007-06-25:
btw, David's email address is DavidS@NationalHomeProtection.com
Posted by lupusman on 2007-08-15:
We faced similar problems with a local Chevy dealer in Nashville TN. Many Many letters were sent to the Tn Attorney Generals office that got action. I wonder if sending numerous letters the NY state Attorney generals office would bring any results? From what I can see, this company is a scam and is operating under fraudulent policies.
Posted by MAEWE on 2008-08-29:
STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY, THEY ARE SCAM ARTISTS, CON ARTISTS AND LIARS. THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF!

I too was ripped off by National Home Protection (NHP). I had three (3) breakdowns and not only did NHP NOT provide the Home Warranty coverage they promised, but I NEVER RECEIVED the $50 Home Depot Gift Card rebate, which was an incentive for purchasing the Home Warranty. I was told that my rebate form was postmarked on April 4, 2008 after the time frame for mailing in the request. However, my rebate form was mailed on February 19, 2008, well within the time frame. My husband is a Postal Service employee and he had the postage stamp on the envelope for my rebate submission, HAND CANCELED. This company is a BIG SCAM.

PLEASE HELP TO PUT AN END TO ALL THE RIPOFFS BY NATIONAL HOME PROTECTION. FILE COMPLAINTS WITH THE NY STATE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE, IC3 (FBI/Internet Fraud), the United States Postal Inspection Service and the news media.

NHP does not respond to any E-mails or phone calls. NHP is despicable! The sooner you file a complaint, the sooner this company can be stopped!
Close commentsAdd reply


Failed / NO SERVICE from NHP
Posted by Joseph5156 on 01/27/2008
COTTONTOWN, TENNESSEE -- After 7+ yrs I decided to sell my home. To make my home more enticing to a potential buyer, I decided to add a HOME WARRANTY as part of the home sale. For some STUPID reason I chose National Home Protection, Inc. (NHP) and dealt with their Victor. He sold me the warranty / policy before Christmas 2007. Well, this past Friday, 01/25/08 I awoke to NO HEAT. At 6am I immediately sent an e-mail to NHP for service. Where I reside the temps outside were in the 20's so it was cold in the house. Long story short, they referred me to TWO of their contractors who refused to come out because I was too far away. By then, NHP had closed and the only people I was able to reach was their answering service. ALSO, I managed to get an EMERGENCY number from the answering service, but they simply wouldn't return my repeated calls for HELP! Because of the COLD and my family's comfort and safety, I hired someone on my own after waiting 29 hours for service from NHP which never materialized!! THIS Company is a SCAM!! PLS DO NOT use them and/or buy their services!!

If you are a REALTOR and reading this, pls do NOT ruin your credibility by suggesting or recommending NHP to anyone! I'm out $352.00 for the NHP contract PLUS $485.00 for service to repair my heater, which should have been paid by NHP, Inc. I have written to Victor Hakim and NHP, Inc. for reimbursement.

Joe Grossman, Cottontown, TN
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by tnchuck100 on 2008-01-27:
If you can document the attempts to get them to handle the situation. And their failure to perform. You have a good small claims case. If you read your contract with them you will probably find a clause that will help you. It's not going to be easy. You must fight. They are counting on you won't.
Posted by Joseph5156 on 2008-01-27:
Thanks... I just completed other complaint forms including one for FTC govt website. I'll be researching consumer protection laws, district attorney, my credit card, etc. I'm on a MISSION!
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-27:
I thought you purchased the home protection warranty to add value to your home? The purchase of a home warranty protection plan is usually done during the sale of the home and not before. The policy is for the buyer of the home, not for the sellers use before he is out of the house. The policy is usually paid for out of funds from the escrow account. I could be mistaken but my impression is that home warranty plans become effective on the day that escrow closes. Who knows...I'm not an insurance expert. Just speaking from my own personal experiences.
Posted by Yao on 2008-10-15:
STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCAMMERS!!!!

This company is a big joke!!! I am fighting right now with these idiots and will come back to add to complete this….just STAY AWAY from these people!!!
Close commentsAdd reply

Deceptive practices of Home Warranty Co.
Posted by Laylay on 03/24/2008
CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- National Home Protection has a 3 year history (since inception perhaps ?), of charging an annual, up front fee for services, then NEVER following through on requests for services, let alone helping homeowners. Extensive lists of consumer complaints are online and filed with NY attorney general, although they continue to operate. They have one of the worst service practices, relative to lack, if any, of responsiveness, doing what they 'say' they will do, and rejecting virtually all claim or reimbursement requests. Do NOT do business with this company, and share their POOR Business reputation and practices with anyone who will listen. If you had the unfortunate experience of hiring them, please write the NY attorney general's office and complain.

It is important that the stress, frustration and fraud they practice and cause, is continuing to happen. Please report !
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by sammysed on 2008-07-14:
Do not use National Home Protection. There is no customer service, they are a complete rip-off.
Close commentsAdd reply

Liars
Posted by Dan 9750 on 02/21/2008
NEW GLOUCESTER, MAINE -- I have used home warranty services from Sears for years but was told by a friend that National Home Protection was a good service with a reasonable price. WRONG!!! My first in counter my furnace went out middle of January, subzero temperature. Thurs morning called filed claim. Friday still NO response. Saturday AM call back told no contractor in area have to wait until Monday. Called my repairman got furnace running Monday. Talk to supervisor said the repair people are just busy, they 6 days to respond. Very rude. Contractor called Wednesday, he had just been contacted by service, never done work for them before SUPERVISOR LIED!!! Oh no refunds.

Second time washer went out contractor responded same day he could not respond to house for 5 days but that was because of ICE STORM an no power for 4 days. Machine will cost $1,400 to fix NHPS said they would replace the machine. OH wait they are out since they buy wholesale for $225 they will only give that amount to go buy a new one. Retail the cheapest is $350 and I have to come up with the difference. I have been treated like a fool and they will never see an other dime from me.

I will tell everyone I meet how bad they are you get what you PAY FOR.
     
Add reply

Home Depot offer Fraud
Posted by Josefina on 02/12/2008
I never got the Home Depot gift cards they offered. They offer the gift cards to make you purchase the policy and I think they really never intended to send the card. When you realize you were tricked it is too late because you cannot cancel the policy.

After 6 months of emails, phone calls, faxes, voicemails, and mails trying to talk to somebody I finally filed a complaint on BBB. National Home Protection response was “During this purchase period, customer was offered a Home Depot gift card, as part of a mail-in rebate promotion. The mail-in rebate form was included with each policy. Customer failed to complete the rebate form in the required time frame. The rebate form states the following: Request must be postmarked no earlier than 60 days after coverage start date, and no later than 90 days after the coverage start date.”

They never send the form with the policy. They are extremely rude and put you on hold for long periods. They transfer your call with out listening to you to a mailbox and they never return the calls or emails.

I am not going to renew my policy.
     
Add reply


Fraudulent contract
Posted by Motherhen on 02/07/2008
I was divorced the end of 2006 and a 'friend' had told me about home warranty services since I was planning on buying another home. I looked them up on the computer and NHP had a place to leave your name and phone number.

A day later I received a call from NHP offering me a contract. I explained to them 'I was not divorced yet' and I 'had not bought a home yet'. Even with that information they proceeded to sell me a contract. They offered a 5 year contract at a reduced rate and said if I took it they would send me a $500.00 Home Depot card. I agreed. They did not say anything about the terms of the contract, only that they would pay for any repairs or replacements to anything in my home. I did not know anything about the 'must be in working order' on the date of the contract. If I had, I would not have bought the contract. I did buy the contract. I looked over the contract when I received it and noticed the 'must be in working order' and should have contacted them at that time. Being naive, I didn't. I also never received the $500.00 Home Depot card.

After I bought the house, had repairs and inspection done I moved in. Soon after I had to call for service and they denied my claim. I have tried to get my money back and have told them I considered the contract null and void since they had not given me the complete information on the contract. They stopped taking my calls and emails. I sent letters of complaint to the BBB, D.A.'s office, and Attorney General's office. I even sent a certified letter to customer service. I finally filed a small claims suit to try and get my money back. They have never tried to contact me except to try and get me to extend my contract after a year.
I am out a considerable amount of money (for me) and have learned a very valuable lesson. I don't want them to do this to any other people if I can help it.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Slimjim on 2008-02-07:
You flat out admit you read the disclosure that pre-existing conditions are not covered. Even if you didn't, which still is not their fault, common sense would certainly tell you that you can't purchase a service contract to guard against repairs on something that already is broken. Inspections are done before closing, so you must have know these things were in need of repair before you bought the house, and subsequently, the warranty coverage. It sounds like you bought the contract to specifically repair things that should have been addressed with the seller first or accepted in an "as is" deal. I'm taking it your naivety defense didn't fly in your court case.
Posted by GothicSmurf on 2008-02-07:
Why would you buy a contract for a home you haven't even purchased yet? They must have had one hard sell. Bottom line is you should have said, "Not interested." And hung up.
Posted by Principissa on 2008-02-07:
When we bought our house in December there were two inspections done on the house, one for the appraisal and the other for the mortgage company to disclose all the pre-existing conditions of the home. With both inspections we were sent reports stating what needed to be repaired. What I don't get is that you read the paperwork, knew that these things were not covered, and now expect them to fix them and are angry that they won't. You also bought a contract for a home you hadn't even purchased yet. This is a horrible company to begin with, but honestly you shouldn't have purchased a contract before you purchased the house.
Posted by memoryx57 on 2008-02-07:
Ok, maybe I'm reading this wrong but didn't the op state that she had repairs and inspection done before ever calling NHP for service? Of course common sense dictates that you don't buy a warranty for something you haven't even purchased yet. I guess I'm just not understanding this. How in the world can NHP sell a contract on a non existant property? Don't they have to have an address to tag the warranty to? Something just doesn't ring clear on this one!!
Close commentsAdd reply

How they ruin people lives & pockets
Posted by Mrs. M on 11/16/2009
I got this warranty plan in December 2008. I was suppose to receive a $200 gift card also from Home Deport. I call them about get my gift card in Jan 2009 said will be sending if was very polite. I forgot about the card. My freeze part of my refrigerator went out. Tried to call said line was not in service anymore. This was in July 09 when this happen. I called my credit card company to try to get my payment back. I filed the claim they said it was over 6 months and could not locate the company! I am disabled on fix income. I am a firm believer what go around come around. They will get their 2 fold. I also had to pay out of pocket for my attic fan when the motor went out & garbage disposal. Which was covered under this warranty. Thanks for making me more in a hole than I already am.
     
Add reply

Top of Page | Next Page >