Nationwide Home Warranty

21 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worst Service Ever Before
By -

PO BOX 341, NEW YORK -- Over Telephone I authorized to charge my credit card in the amount of $350 for Home warranty on 5-26-2009. The contract should start on 6-1-2009. Before that date, I called and requested to cancel the contract. The Customer service cancelled the contract and wanted to issue the credit. Took more than 2 months, then I disputed through my credit card. After failing, I again contacted with Natiowide and they confirmed credit was issued on 9-13-2009. Now, at 10-8-2009, they are telling they are still reviewing. Every time I called, they confirmed within 2 weeks, within 1 week, within 4 days, within 4 hours, with 48 hours credit will be issued. Never got credit. It's 5 months. I already have home warranty under American Home shield. I have following dates and contacted persons

6-26-2009: Jason billing was issuing credit

8-24-2009: Billing department, Jason wanted to issue credit

9-2-2009: Franklin confirmed a credit on 9-9-2009

9-11-2009: Franklin issuing credit by next 4 hours

9-12-2009; Franklin issuing credit next Wednesday

9-17-2009: Billing confirmed credit was issued on 9-13-2009

10-2-2009: Billing wanted 3-5days

10-8-1009: Billing wants 48 hours for review

Overall, I haven't signed any contract. I cancelled on time. They took more than 5 months and I believe, this company is doing injustice to many.
The Better Businees Bureau reporting it has grade of F (A-F) and complain counted around 400.
__________________
BBB processed a total of 408 complaint(s) about this business in the last 36 months, our standard reporting period. Of the total 408 complaint(s) closed in the last 36 months, 301 were closed in the last 12 months.

These complaints concerned:

5 regarding Advertising Issues
5 regarding Advertising Issues

12 regarding Billing or Collection Issues
12 regarding Billing or Collection Issues

73 regarding Contract Disputes
73 regarding Contract Disputes

40 regarding Customer Services Issues
40 regarding Customer Services Issues

2 regarding Delivery Issues
2 regarding Delivery Issues

124 regarding Guarantee Or Warranty Issues
124 regarding Guarantee Or Warranty Issues

3 regarding Product Issues
3 regarding Product Issues

44 regarding Refund Or Exchange Issues
44 regarding Refund Or Exchange Issues

51 regarding Repair Issues
51 regarding Repair Issues

5 regarding Selling Practices
5 regarding Selling Practices

49 regarding Service Issues
49 regarding Service Issues

These complaints were closed as:

184 Administratively Closed
156 Administratively Judged Resolved
3 BBB determined that despite the company’s reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.
1 BBB determined the company made good faith and reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.
1 BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.
1 Disputed
22 The parties could not provide sufficient information to support their positions nor were they agreeable to make reasonable efforts toward resolving the issues of the dispute.

47 No Response
17 Company failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.
30 No Response

151 Resolved
23 Assumed Resolved
2 Company offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted.
5 Company offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.
9 Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to the BBB.
22 Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to the BBB.
2 Complaint was settled through BBB mediation.
88 Resolved

19 Unpursuable
2 Company cannot be located.
11 Company is out of business.
6 Unpursuable

7 Unresolved
6 Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through the BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.
1 Unresolved

____________________

http://www.bbb.org/new-york-city/business-reviews/real-estate-maintenance-protection-plan/nationwide-home-warranty-in-new-york-ny-97609/

     
Replies
Do Not Patronize Nationwide Home Warranty - They Do Not Approve Claims
By -

NEW YORK -- DO NOT PATRONIZE NATIONWIDE HOME WARRANTY - they do not approve claims

My fiance and I recently bought a house in Roanoke, TX, and even though the house was in very good condition, the fact remained that it was a foreclosure, and our real estate agent recommended that we ask the seller to pay for a home warranty, which they did. Two and a half months later our HVAC system had a major problem and we were thankful that our agent recommended the home warranty. To make a long story short, we were able to get a technician to the house with orders to repair the problem if the cost didn't exceed $100.

Unfortunately the estimated cost was over $2,100 - the compressor was damaged beyond repair. This is where we started having problems with Nationwide Home Warranty. It was at this point that they requested maintenance records and would not continue to process our claim until we provided them with sufficient documentation. Unfortunately, since we had just bought the house, we could not provide them with the previous owners maintenance records. Add the fact that this was a foreclosure and you might understand why we don't have any contact information whatsoever for the previous owners.

So here we were, in the middle of January, with a non-functioning furnace. We were lucky to have a few nice days in the 50s and 60s but when the temp dropped down to 45 degrees I decided that our claim needed to be upgraded to emergency status, which by their definition is "a threat to health or property", and our situation met both of those criteria. Even though we explained why we could not provide maintenance records, the staff at Nationwide Home Warranty refused to process our claim and take care of us. I provided them with the records for the home inspection that showed the HVAC system working properly and in good condition and I also sent them copies of the receipt for the filters I purchased three days after moving into the house. Apparently, these were still insufficient.

When the temps dropped into the 30's I demanded that Nationwide take care of the issue before it got any colder and caused the water pipes to burst which would then cause additional damage throughout the house, in addition to negative impact to the health of fiance and myself. Their recommendation - pay for the expenses yourself and seek reimbursement from Nationwide afterwards. Even though this was not a good option, I had no choice so I contacted two other HVAC contractors and they came to the same conclusion - bad compressor. Fortunately, I was able to get it fixed by one of them for $1,920, as opposed to paying the higher $2,100.

Over the course of the past six weeks I have made over twenty phone calls to Nationwide, spent approximately 4 hours on the phone with them, and I'm no closer to getting reimbursed. I would say that about half the total time spent on the phone I was on hold, ironically, listening to their advertisements saying things like "We are the Gold Standard in home warranties...proudly servicing customers since 1951", "...when the washer is full of laundry or food in the refrigerator, we're sure to get it working again, REAL FAST", and "When your heat goes out in December, we'll get it working again - IN A HURRY". Even though my blood pressure was rising a notch or two every time I heard one of these sales advertisements, I was able to keep a cool head because I understand that honey catches more flies than vinegar. My cool head has not however, proven useful.

I believe that Nationwide Home Warranty is using their request for "maintenance records" to deny legitimate claims based solely upon the amount of the claim. Remember, they were willing to take care of the issue if it did not exceed $100.

Regarding the maintenance records... The bottom line is that Nationwide had their opportunity to request maintenance records before my coverage began and they accepted the warranty policy. On top of that, Nationwide should definitely NOT be marketing their home warranty to home buyers. Since they also make a habit of selling home warranties to home sellers (they claim that it increases the sale price), they should be forced to obtain any relevant maintenance records from the sellers BEFORE accepting the policies. The whole marketing campaign revolves around the peace of mind that a home buyer feels by buying a home warranty on the premise that he or she does not know the intimate details of the condition of each appliance/system that would be covered by the warranty. Further, a home buyer can not be expected to provide paperwork that was never even in his or her possession.

Nationwide should also be paying the additional costs of the emergency heating system that I had to use when the temperatures got too cold before our system could be fixed, which added up to almost $500.

Anyone that deals with this company should get in contact with the Better Business Bureau of New and file a complaint as soon as possible (https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/getstarted.aspx).

You should also get in touch with the New York Attorney General and file a complaint with the Bureau of Consumer Frauds and Protection (http://www.oag.state.ny.us/bureaus/consumer_frauds/pdfs/complaint_forms/nyc_complaint.pdf).

You should also contact the various government agencies that regulate the insurance industry. I am in the process of that right now.

     
Replies
Nationwide Home Warranty Is A Scam
By -

NEW YORK -- BEWARE!! NATIONWIDE IS JUST A SCAM AND RIP-OFF!! I am so ANGRY!! Finally needed to file a claim with them on my refrigerator and Nationwide says that they will not repair/replace my refrigerator unless I send them "MAINTENANCE" reports. I told them nobody pays for a professional to come out and take the temperature on a working refrigerator. They said that they do not cover anything without proof of "maintenance". on that item. So, if you haven't paid for professionals to come "maintain" all your working appliances they aren't covered. It is not really a company but a bunch of con artists. Not only are they refusing to repair my refrigerator they told me that I am under a one year contract (you have to cancel within the first 3 days). I will have my bank stop payment immediately. I will be contacting the Attorney General of Alabama as well as the BBB. I told the manager that I didn't know how she slept at night working for a company like this. I find it odd that other complaints state that they spoke to the same exact "manager". If this is a nationwide (across America) company what are the odds of people from different states reaching the same person? I would say that it is run by a handful of employees and all they do is field off the complaints as they do not cover anybody. They are sheer profit as they refuse to pay any claims that do not have proof of maintenance. How many people pay for a professional to come and test their appliances, toilets, hot tub, ac units that are working fine?? They take your money and you trust that you are covered. You make a claim and they REFUSE TO COVER IT unless you have maintenance reports on the appliance or toilet or whatever.

So it would cost about $1400 or more a year to pay to maintain ALL your appliances. If they are not maintained, they are NOT COVERED so this is a USELESS policy and actually a SCAM!! If there has been repair work done this will not suffice-it has to be maintenance" wherein a professional comes out and checks a perfectly fine, working functional appliance, toilet, AC unit etc just to say it's fine. This ought to be illegal as it is nothing but robbery!!

     
Replies
Will Not Honor The Home Warranty Contract
By -

PFLUGERVILLE, TEXAS -- In December of 2007 I purchased a home warranty from Nationwide Home Warranty (NHW). I did not file any claims. In November of 2008 I contacted NHW about extending the warranty another year because I had received an offer from another company. I decided to renew my warranty with NHW (N-108944) and paid in full for the year ($322.94). On December 28, 2008 I returned home after being gone a week and discovered the heating system was not working. On the morning of December 29, 2008 I call NHW at 1-888-500-2110 and reported the heating system was out. I was informed that NHW would contact a service technician. Mustang Plumbing Inc. called a few hours later and they would send a technician out that afternoon. About 2 pm a service technician (G. W.) arrived and inspected the unit. He determined that the unit needed to be replaced. He said that a good unit will last 20 years and this one in 28 years old. He called NHW and informed them of this and gave them an estimate for replacement, NHW says it was $825. He was informed that it was being put "under review" so he left. A few hours later I called NHW again to see what was being done because it was cold and I was without heat.

I was informed that NHW needed the maintenance records and because I didn't have any (the filter is a permanent filter that I clean every other week) I would have to replace the system myself and submit the invoice for reimbursement. I called Mustang Plumbing back and asked them to come replace the system. The following day (12/30/08) they came back and I had them replace the entire system because the A/C was just as old as the heating system. The invoice was $3500 which I paid. On 12/31/08 I faxed the invoice to NHW. On 1/15/09 I called to check on the status of my claim and was advised by Casey Wiggins that NHW was only going to pay $100. NHW is supposed to pay up to up to $1500 per unit according to the contract. The contract does not say I must have maintenance records. I do my own maintenance and the technician said that the unit appeared well maintained and had lasted a lot longer than expected and he wrote a statement for me.

I filed a complaint with the BBB and now NHW are saying my claim is denied (so much for the $100). They told the BBB that if I have shown that the unit was maintained that they would have worked with me. I did give them a statement from the technician they sent out that the problems were not due to lack of maintenance but due to the age of the unit.

The contract does not say that maintenance records must be kept and it does not have an age limit on covered items.

     
Replies
No Refund Given
By -

PORTSMOUTH, VIRGINIA -- 888-500-2110

Incident
I have had Nationwaide from 5/19/2009. I never had the need to use them. I just finished making a three month payment on May 19 and then about two weeks later received a letter stating that Arizona is not being covered any longer. In the beginning I was able to get someone on the phone promising me an immediate refund. Now it is impossible to get someone but about every fifth e-mail I get the same answer which is that as soon as they get moneY they will refund my money. I guess it is a blessing that I never had the need to use them since it is obvious that I would not have received THE SERVICE I paid for.

Damage Resulting
I feel I paid for this whole contract with no intent on their part to honor it.

     
Replies
Find a different home warranty program
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I purchased a 3 year home warranty in August 2008 and am now having to file a claim. They will not answer their phone and all numbers have directed me to make an inquiry by email. After making the inquiry via email they responded with a simple statement that my warranty has expired. Now I paid $339.99 for 3 months to cover a 3 year period and replied with the receipt of my payment. They now will not respond to my emails nor have they called me back. Horrible business!!! I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and am waiting to hear from anyone in regards to this matter. My advice to you is to NOT use this company regardless of how good the perks seem or look!!!

     
Replies
Don't buy warranty service for Nation Wide Home Warranty
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I purchased an annual warranty services from Nation Wide Home Warranty last September 2009. About 3 months later one of my appliances broke. I called this warranty company several times to report the claim. I never got an answer from them. No-one answers the phone in that company. I found myself in long waits for more than 1 hour several times and had to hang up. I went to Nation Wide Home Warranty website and email the Claim department several times and never got a reply. I contacted the Best Business Bureau and they are still giving me the run around on this matter.
About 2 months ago Nation Wide Home Warranty contacted me via email and stated that they are not covering warranty services in my area anymore and they will be refunding me the premium I paid. Again this happen 2 months ago and I am still waiting for that refund. I have being contacting Nation Wide Home Warranty and the Best Business Bureau and both are still giving me the run around. I had to pay a technician to come and repair my appliances and still fighting to get the refund for the premium I paid to Nation Wide Home Warranty. "If you do not want to loose your money, do not make business with Nationwide Home Warranty", also "The Best Business Bureau does not function.".

     
Replies
Nationwide Home Warranty Fraud
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I enrolled in Nationwide"s warranty program in May 2009. In August 2009 I filed a claim. It took one week to contact them and another week for someone to come out. The repairman did his job extremely well. One month later I received an angry letter and bill from the repair company for non payment. It took a threat of going to the attorney general for them to pay. In June 2010, I filed a claim on the internet, as is their policy. After 6 days of no response I called them. I was told they no longer serviced my area. Unreal, they have been taking the monthly payment from checking account but now say they no longer service my account. I inquired concerning this and was told they did this in May 2010 and had sent emails to all their customers in the effected area. I never received an email, neither did my daughter. I save all my deleted emails on my computer. My daughter, whom I recommended her to purchase Nationwide had her only claim denied for pre existing. They company now wishes to refund one month. I believe they have not covered us for a long time.

     
Replies
This Nationwide Is Definitely NOT on Your Side
By -

STAY CLEAR OF THIS COMPANY!!! I have a home warranty, bought by the seller of the house we bought. Obviously they bought us the cheapest and least trustworthy company they could find (that's my opinion).

Back to the facts, I had two issues in my home--one with electrical, and one with the fridge/freezer. The electrician told me right away that Nationwide will not pay, so anything he does I will have to pay for.

The appliance repairman found that my freezer fan was not blowing cold air, so he bought the part, made the claim, and it was denied. When I finally got a hold of the company after 3 days (which, by the way, it took me 7 days to initially get my claim in the system), they said the claim was denied because the contractors report suggested that the issue was pre-existing. In speaking with the contractor, he said his report said no such thing.

By the way, both contractors told me that they have NEVER been paid by Nationwide Home Warranty. The electrician wasn't even going to come. Nationwide does not pay claims. How can they, if they hand out <$400 warranties on all home systems without ever having anyone come by to see what condition the systems are in? This is a cheap company that you MUST steer clear from.

     
Replies
Don't waste your time - Cancel immediately
By -

BROOKLYN, NEW YORK -- I signed up for Nationwide Home Warranty, 40 days later I needed them to repair a water stoppage issue in my condo. They responded immediately to my claim, sent a plumber over the same morning. The plumber told them the price for repair, flat fee. Plumber did not solve problem for lack of payment. I refiled claim with Nationwide, no reply over 3 week period after numerous claims and telephone attempts. Finally, I got answer on phone to be told that claim was denied due to pre-existing condition. They told me they contacted plumber and he advised them of such a condition. I contacted plumber. He informed me that he had not spoken with Nationwide since he gave them flat rate price for repair. They completely lied; I cancelled plan and informed credit card company to dispute charge.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >