[X]

NBC

Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.5 out of 5, based on 2 ratings and
3 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Late Night with Jimmy Fallon show
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
The "Wax on Wax off" segment was cruel to the contestant, not funny for the audience and The Jimmy Fallon Show should be removed from TV if they are going to create this type of "entertainment."

Deena Jones
Clearwater, FL
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Venice09 on 2012-02-16:
I guess you saw that last night. I really dislike that segment, too. Even though the contestant is a volunteer, it's disturbing to watch. I like Jimmy's show, but I wish they would do away with that game. It's not even funny.
FoDaddy19 on 2012-02-16:
You are always free to change the channel if you don't like what's on the current channel you are watching...
Venice09 on 2012-02-16:
I'm guilty of watching the whole thing even though it was far from enjoyable. I think this is good feedback though. If enough people express their opinion about this particular segment, the show might get rid of it. I'm sure they want to please the viewers.
FoDaddy19 on 2012-02-16:
I agree Venice09, Let the people decide. If enough people complain about it then maybe NBC will decided that a change is warranted. If only a few people complain, then no change is needed.

I do still maintain that simply changing the channel is the most convenient solution. Just because I may not like something, or I disapprove of something, doesn't mean I'm right, and I certainly wouldn't want to deprive anyone else who may enjoy the things I don't care for.

For example, I don't care for Apple products. That doesn't mean they should be banned for everyone just because I personally don't care for them. The same logic applies to this review IMHO.
Slimjim on 2012-02-16:
I never thought the guy was funny myself.
Venice09 on 2012-02-16:
I never thought much of Jimmy Fallon until I started watching his Late Night show. I have really grown to like him and appreciate his talent, especially his musical interpretations. He's a nice, genuine person with a lot of enthusiasm. He gets good guests, too.

I knew if I changed the channel I would have fallen asleep and missed the rest of the show.
Churro on 2012-02-16:
"I don't care for Apple products"

Moderators, do your job.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Prime Time TV Shows
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
SPOKANE, WASHINGTON -- I think that the show Whitney and the show right after that on Wed nights at 8:00pm and 8:30pm are terrible taste for prime time TV. The language and sex topics and the type of shows should be off the air. I can't believe that this type of language and topics for 30 minutes sitcoms should be allowed and especially for the children out there listening to this type of show. I hope that you are getting complaints.
     
Read 34 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Slimjim on 2012-02-09:
I guess you don't frequent CBS' comedies. Sit down on a Monday night sometime and watch How I met Your Mother, Two Broke Girls(written by Whitney Cummings), Two and a Half Men and Mike and Molly. It surprises me sometimes just how explicate they can be, especially the first and third one..
old fart on 2012-02-09:
Two and a half men isn't the same without Charlie Sheen.... It's a pity!
old fart on 2012-02-09:
P.S Slimjim... the word is "explicit"....LOL
Anonymous on 2012-02-09:
I haven't watched Whitney and I do not know what the show after it is, but I agree with the OP. TV programs have become too brazen.

I remember when Hawkeye said (not in a comical sense) "You son of a b*tch" on MASH and how "out there" *that* comment was. (I just learned that the word "b*tch" is forbidden on this site - imagine that! It was okay for 1970s TV, when there were only 3 channels....)

Flash forward to Two and a Half Men, pre dead Charlie, where Charlie drinks and screws and does whatever he wants with NO consequences. Just who the heck do these TV networks think they are to pipe that crap into our homes?

(I used to discuss the Half Men show with my probation officer, just to let her believe I was concerned with the direction our world had taken.)

It is all bad. Wife Swap, American Idol, The Middle, Fear Factor, etc. etc. etc. etc. etc. but, alas, until I own a TV/cable network, my only option is to change the channel.

As I said, I have never seen the show Whitney.

old fart on 2012-02-09:
About the only alternative to these shows is the shopping channel.
Even the evening news is brutal or bawdy depending on the story...
Anonymous on 2012-02-09:
I just thought about what I wrote and see that there were indeed consequences for Charlie. He was shoved in front of a subway train and killed! Yikes!
bigal on 2012-02-09:
It amazes me how people are offended by nudity and sexual innuendo on tv and they always cry about the "children" seeing it. w
Why not complain about the murders and gross violence depicted on tv and video games. TV is an option. You can pass on it anytime.
ktisnumeroUNO on 2012-02-09:
I do like the point bigal made.. Also, the news is violent and filled with information about terrible acts, do people let their kids watch the news?
clutzycook on 2012-02-09:
Good point! We rarely watch TV as it is.
MRM on 2012-02-09:
I agree there are a lot of good shows on CBS! You forgot to mention "The Big Bang Theory" which is on 2nite!
Mario The Great on 2012-02-09:
The Big Bang Theory ROCKS. Two and a Half men is still pretty good, but the chemistry between Berta and Ashton is kind of blah. I liked the old sarcastic Charlie abusing Berta. Not the Berta that wants to sleep with Ashton.
madconsumer on 2012-02-09:
I agree mario. two and a half men is not what it used to be.

there are many new shows on the telley I find not funny.
Anonymous on 2012-02-09:
bigal makes a great point. It annoys me so much when they bleep out a cuss word in a movie while they keep the violence - "Die you motherTucker!" (All the while showing someone's brains being scattered everywhere.)

Thanks for saving me from the cuss word!
Venice09 on 2012-02-09:
I love "The Middle". It's a great family show.

"Two and a Half Men" is doing just fine, with ratings higher than the last season with Charlie. I was watching it most of the time but haven't seen it since "Alcatraz" started. I think they're doing another season.

I haven't seen "Whitney" or the other show because I find those women annoying.

"Mike and Molly" is pretty good. The mothers steal the show!
DebtorBasher on 2012-02-09:
I agree with the posted. I never watched those shows because the previews they show isn't the kind of show I'd watch. It doesn't surprise me that they have the language and topics the poster stated.

There was a time when shows like that were not allowed during prime time. But even now, with cable, the shows that used to be shown after prime time is on any time of the day. Cable shows have filthy language all throughout the day. How would someone even be able to monitor what their kids watch or control what they see on tv anymore? Even if you changed the channel, you'll still get it on the next one. I don't even like the cartoons they have now.
trmn8r on 2012-02-09:
I don't watch any current tv shows at night, but NCIS was on tonight as I was flipping channels, and this sexy looking investigator said "you're not afraid of a little p____" then after a pause added "cat". If this is representative, I can understand what the OP is complaining about. That's just inappropriate. And there is always the double standard. Is "you're not afraid of ____...-ering around, are you?" going to pop up somewhere? Always objectivizing women.

Now, where's that adult video?
Mario The Great on 2012-02-09:
I saw the same NCIS show today on USA!!! I heard it too. See, I don't understand where you guys are being so prudish. If you're watching NCIS, you should be older than 18 anyway. I love the series and yes, there is some sexual humor, but nothing that would make your ears cringe. Besides, if it bothers you all so much, why do you SIT THERE AND LISTEN TO IT AND COMPLAIN ABOUT IT instead of changing the channel?
momsey on 2012-02-09:
I highly recommend Alcatraz and the River! The River is scary, though!
Venice09 on 2012-02-10:
I watched "The River". It's the closest thing to "Lost" so far, mostly because it's set in a jungle, but I'm not crazy about the camera work. I know it's the popular thing now, but sometimes it's hard to follow. I love Joe Anderson. Haven't seen him since "Across the Universe", and it's great to see him in a series.

I've been watching "Alcatraz", too. J.J. Abrams cleverly came up with another series about getting people back to an island. There will never be another "Lost", but these two new shows are definitely worth watching.

I still haven't seen "Grim" but it's getting great reviews.
Cwazychicken on 2012-02-10:
even the teenage shows have sexual innuendo. I think the only thing, if you don't want your children subjective to sex or violence, is to watch disney channel or nick jr. Rest is pretty much up in the air. Or the food network, shopping channels lol. I always have nick jr on around my son lol. He turns it off if I'm watching anything else. Oh and even American idol has sexual innuendo with steven tyler on it.
Venice09 on 2012-02-10:
My kids grew up on Nick, Jr. after outgrowing Sesame Street. I don't know how it is now, but it was great back then. I didn't really have the problem parents have today because television was a lot tamer 20 years ago.
traceylynn on 2012-02-10:
Disney Channel and Nick Jr. was too raunchy for my taste for my kids when they were little.....heck, look at what their 'stars' do after hours ( recent pictures of Miley Cyrus). What it comes down to is YES, TV is more raunchy now but as a parent YOU have to control what your kids are allowed access too. Every TV and cable box this day and age comes with parental controls. I have mine set on my tv's ( I have a 15 year old and a 14 year old) and I also screen what they watch. There is no reason a parent should not have control on what their kids are exposed to.
Slimjim on 2012-02-10:
I actually like Two and a Half men better now without Sheen. Probably not a surprise as it was never one of my favorite shows, so I kind of see it in an opposite way then the way most long time fans do.
Skye on 2012-02-10:
I love Whitney. That's one funny show.

But my favorite comedy is, "Raising Hope". Absolutely hilarious.
momsey on 2012-02-10:
Nick Jr is all cartoons like Dora and Franklin. Nothing raunchy there.

I've never seen anything raunchy on Disney, either.

Phineas and Ferb is a show kids like and doesn't make me want to gouge my eyes out.
momsey on 2012-02-10:
Venice, Joe Anderson doesn't do a great job of hiding his British accent!
Venice09 on 2012-02-10:
I think that's why I love him. ;)
Churro on 2012-02-10:
I must live under a rock except for sesame street and mash I haven't seen a single episode of any of the shows mentioned here.

Network programming lost me about 10 years ago. Pretty much there's nothing new under the sun and all the shows are just rehashed ideas taken from shows that aired decades ago. I find my life to be far more interesting than TV.
Anonymous on 2012-02-10:
Churro> You must be living right my friend, because how fortuitous that I have a limited edition Season One set of Laverne & Shirley dvd's digitally remastered for your viewing pleasure.

"1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 Schlemiel! Schlimazel! Hasenpfeffer Incorporated"
Cwazychicken on 2012-02-10:
Nick jr is not nickelodeon tv, its a spin off of the channel for preschoolers. (its a channel just for little ones, but its a premium package not on real cable). It mostly has educational programs and cartoons (yo gaba gaba). Nickelodeon I'm not sure about.... And disney jr is not bad either (not regular disney with miley cirus or any of those stars).
Venice09 on 2012-02-10:
I think that I misspoke about Nick Jr. My kids watched Nickelodeon, which was not a premium channel. I don't think Nick Jr. was around back then. Now I'm all confused.
FoDaddy19 on 2012-02-10:
"I think that the show Whitney and the show right after that on Wed nights at 8:00pm and 8:30pm are terrible taste for prime time TV. "

Then don't watch it

"The language and sex topics and the type of shows should be off the air."

Then don't watch it

" I can't believe that this type of language and topics for 30 minutes sitcoms should be allowed and especially for the children out there listening to this type of show."

Then don't let your kids watch it.

Sorry, but one of my pet peeves is people complaining about something they have complete control over. If you don't approve of the NBC Primetime line up, then simply change the channel and don't watch it. It really is that simple.
Mario The Great on 2012-02-10:
FoDaddy19 - That's what I'm talking about. It's people like them that drive me crazy. You don't like it, don't watch it. There have been times when I've caught my 9 year old saying a few choice words, but it's not because of the TV, it's because he's caught on to what I said. If people can't stand what's on TV, there's always Amish as a lifestyle. Oh and some Amish people have cell phones and home phones.
traceylynn on 2012-02-11:
I thing I was talking about the wrong channels......I meant Nick Teen and regular Nick and Disney. I don't like the sassy mouth Miley/Zach and Cody/Teen Witch shows that show kids breaking the rules their parents set down, and getting away with it. Just a bad moral to those types of shows. All of them show spoiled kids who don't listen and get away with it and get what they want in the end. Also the 'stars' that have their dirty laundry aired out for the public and kids hear that stuff is horrible. I know it is rough being in the public eye but they chose that, that is (for a better word) on them. they wanted the huge paycheck and fame so now deal with it and don't act like a drug smoking, ***** cake licking idiot where it can be plastered all over the papers and the young kids who are your fans can see.
Close commentsAdd reply
CBS- Unprofessional or Outright Fraud
Posted by on
SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- CBS News is guilty of either unprofessional incompetence or outright fraud as a result of reporting forged documents as authentic during a "60 Minutes" segment Wednesday night. This obvious attempt to smear The President's National Guard service violates public trust, and you must act immediately to make it right.

These "new" documents were easily debunked overnight by solid evidence from forensic document experts, typographers and retired military officers. Fed flags were too numerous to include here, but closer examination quickly proved the supposedly 30-year-old documents were generated in a modern-day typeface from a printer, not a typewriter.

Obviously anchor Dan Rather and staff did not check the facts, and I've got to ask why. Was it due to his readily apparent anti-Bush bias that Rather pushed to air the groundless smear? Was the intent to counter President's jump in the polls? And why, as evidence of fraud mounts, have Rather and CBS News refused to name the documents' source or the expert who supposedly authenticated them?

At best, Rather and staff are guilty of gross incompetence by allowing their obsession to smear the President outweigh their professional duty for accuracy. At worst, CBS News may be guilty of deliberately reporting what they knew to be false, and engaging in libel and slander against the President of the United States during a time of war.

I demand CBS release the name(s) of its sources, admit its guilt and air a proper retraction. Drop CBS News' blatant anti-Bush bias and stop trying to sway the election with unethical and unprofessional "reporting."

Further, If Rather pushed this story because of his bias, he needs to be fired. Regardless, I ask you as CEO to clean house so that CBS News offers fair and balanced reporting worthy of regaining public trust. Thank you.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

joebass on 2004-09-17:
As a veteran journalist in the t-v business, I can tell you that the best way to get an anchor fired is to stop watching the show. From what I've seen in the latest DMA's, that's what is happening to CBS news. In this case, the remote is stronger than the pen.
Mole on 2004-09-21:
We all know that most of the media has a liberial bias now it's finally been exposed. Dan Rather should not only be fired but he should also be investigated for trying to influence the outcome of a presendental election with fradulant documents that any first year journalist would have done a better job of authenicating. If this has ties back to the Kerry to me its much worse than even Watergate.
Truth on 2004-09-28:
Another desperate attempt by CBS to get something from nothing on George W. Bush.
CBS is the brain behind it, not Dan Rather! He is the scapegoat for the poor planned plot!

Dan is toast! Didn't really like him anyway! Kind of flaky news man!
mjholly on 2004-12-07:
Hey, you got the wrong network! You posted your complaint under NBC, not CBS.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >