Nettalk

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
1 reviews & complaints.

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible Renewal Service
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- I decided to try Nettalk and see how they stacked up against MagicJack in our home. I wasn't overly impressed with the equipment but it worked most of the time and I decided for the cost it would be worth renewing for another year. The problem was that I got no warning when my current subscription ran out and trying to get another account is a complete nightmare. There is nowhere on their website to renew your service once it has expired and you have to call their "customer service" which after 20 minutes of waiting I decided I would rather do without that wait any longer. It would seem to me in this age of technology it would be fairly easy for them to set up some kind of renewal system. I wonder how many customers they lose because or this hassle?

     
Read 15 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Alain on 2012-04-27:
I took a glance at their web page. You're right, it appears that they're more interested in signing up new customers rather than hearing feedback or servicing from their established ones.
handyking on 2013-05-13:
oh yeah....have been on line for about 1 hr. now trying to just renew!!!
also us service is adequate, but calling canada etc. forget it horrible audible DELAY in the conversation....so one is running into the other when talking. your right in this high tech world...there is NO excuse for crappy service even at these rates.
Diane on 2013-06-05:
I've run into the same problem...I can't renew! I was on hold for an hour and a half and hung up in frustration. I try to click on the link they sent me to renew and my browser doesn't allow it. They did get back to me via my complaint on email, and told me to use another browser. It just shouldn't be this hard just to renew!!!! I still haven't figured out how to renew, and might have to go to another phone service. This is just crazy.
Huan on 2013-06-20:
Anyone here can do a renew online? Which browser do I need to use? I'm using Firefox and google chrome and both failed to renew. Got an error code. Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Sourabh on 2013-06-21:
I submitted a technical help ticket after getting error code TE-001. They said it is fixed and that a new browser should be used to renew. I tried again with a different browser (IE) and it failed again with same code.
I have opened another technical support ticket and and waiting for their reply. Their system just cannot handle a simple request. They should at least make it easy for their customers to pay!
Paul on 2013-06-24:
And don't trust their international rates, I was paying 1c a minute to call a UK number. They just increased the price (no warning, till my credit was used up) 3200%! to 32c a minute. Their customer support - after 2 hours on hold, said tough! we can change the rates at any time! - well thanks very much Nettalk, I won't be renewing with you again!!
Prasad on 2013-07-04:
I submitted a technical help ticket after getting error code TE-001and waiting for their reply. Their system just cannot handle a simple request. They should at least make it easy for their customers to pay!
NM on 2013-07-08:
I am in the same boat as everyone. Nothing but trouble trying to renew. I'm switching over to another "MORE ESTABLISHED" voip service. It's hard to imagine that a company doesn't realize customer retention is the name of the game.
Nettalk can rest assured I'll be spreading the bad word about their level of service
SW on 2013-07-14:
I get the TE-001 error every time I try to renew. I have tried different computers, different browsers, different debit cards - always making certain my billing info etc is exactly correct. I submitted 3 tech support tickets and always get the same stupid response "We have run some tests on our billing database and the TE-001 error code should be no longer occurring". Time to chuck the device in the garbage as it expires in a few days and obviously they do not want my cash.
Ray Smith on 2013-07-19:
I have the same error when trying to renew. I am a pc tech and there is no excuse for this kind of service. I recommend to everyone that they find someone else. I am looking now and if I find someone I will let you know.
Rick on 2013-08-05:
Just received a renewal email from NetTalk (8/5/2013) and was able to renew with no problems. Using Win 7, Home and Firefox ... maybe they have heard all the complaints, because the renewal process took less than a minute.
Dan on 2013-08-06:
Same BS error for me when renewing. Says my credit card billing address doesn't match my home address. Then I submit a trouble ticket, got a call 3 days later, and the "technical support" couldn't renew my plan because he was getting the same error. BTW, he tried at least 10 times because my credit card statement had that many charges and reversals of charges. (I should have asked him if he was using Internet Explorer.) Anyway, I go to look at my credit card statement the next day, and lo and behold, I have A) a renewal charge with netTalk from the first day I tried renewing, and B) a second renewal charge from the day the support person did it. Funny how I've successfully paid for 2 renewals but still get emails from Nettalk warning me my service is about to expire.
So yesterday I made the silly assumption that I could simply call in to straighten this out, but no... straight into queue, I was caller number 70 for 5 minutes... then caller numer 69 for 5 minutes, etc, etc. I presume because they only employ 1 person to do everything around there. Trying again today at 10am sharp. Let's see how big the queue is right off the hop.
Joe on 2013-09-02:
I'm surprised you gave this 2 stars... I purchased not one, but two NT devices with their promise that they have faxing capabilities as compared to MJ and guess what??? They do NOT!!! I could manage to send one page if any at all and their customer svc is a total pisser!!! I will NOT renew this crap and can't wait to get two more MJ's.
james on 2014-03-21:
been trying to renew for 1 week now,to no avail.it sucks big time.going back to majic jack
6369863262 on 2014-03-31:
you guys needs to simplify your renewal process it needs to be as simple as ABCD, COMMON ON.. Its pure headache just to renew my phone service.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >