Nissan - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
42 reviews & complaints.
www.nissan-na.com
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Nissan Rogue sucks and the Customer Service is even worse
By -

FRANKLIN, TENNESSEE -- I bought my daughter a new Nissan Rogue (her first) and the Transmission died in the very first month. I have called, sent several emails and written letters to the Management of Nissan, Mr. Carlos Ghson, President, Mr. Hiroto Saikawa, Mr. Al Castignetti and others and have NOT heard from any one of them. I have lodged complaints with their Customer Relations department and was rudely accosted by one **, who told me there was nothing they could do, short of replacing the transmission. I asked that an extended warranty be issued on the vehicle as it was unreliable, but was denied that privilege.

Nissan has lousy cars, bad service, callous customer relations and they deserve to play second fiddle to Toyota, Honda, Kia, Hyundai and other car manufacturers. I will NEVER buy another Nissan again and I would encourage anyone reading this article to refrain from doing so either.

Replies
IPDM Intelligent Power Distribution Module
By -

Be careful when buying a Nissan! I first purchased a Nissan Exterra and when the dealership could not get the ABS system to keep working, they traded me for a new 2005 Nissan Frontier LE. Yesterday the truck cut out leaving me stranded on the freeway several times, the last time with a diesel right behind me. I was able to restart and barely got to the closest repair location from there. After testing all afternoon yesterday and today, they finally figured out it was the IPDM. The part is not available anywhere, due to so many consumers needing it. Japan cannot keep up with orders and it could be as much as a month to get the part - and the truck does not run without it!

There should be compensation for this inconvenience as well as a recall due to the many of us who are stuck with no vehicle to drive due to the faulty design on the system. I am stuck now, no car, little money and nothing anyone seems able to do. Nissan Corp representative simply stated "what can I tell you, it is what it is." Awesome customer service. Any suggestions for me? This could very well cost me my job as I am in outside sales in an area with very little work available. Wonderful.

Replies
Rusted out Nissan Frames and Undercarriages
By -

Do you own a Nissan with rusted out frames and undercarriages? We have started to TRY to get some help but it will take all of us to band together to try to get something done. We have filed a complaint with the NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) and the ODI (Office of Defects Investigation). If enough of us register complaints and this organization can determine a pattern of the same thing happening to numerous people on numerous trucks they can deem it a defect, if an investigation is opened and a defect can be determined they can force Nissan to issue a recall.

Please contact us today for full details. We own a 1995 Nissan XE pickup, started rusting at the age of 8 with low 60's mileage. This is only an attempt to try to resolve this issue but if no one complains to the right place nothing will ever be done. It's only a 5-10 minute phone call. Thanks in advance. **.

Replies
Didn't Receive Notification That My Account Was Handed To 3rd Party Collector.
By -

I am very disappointed by the non-action of Nissan. I co-signed a loan and the payments were being made by the primary account holder. The primary account holder made a payment every month, some on time and some late that I am aware of. I rarely received a call from Nissan demanding payment since the primary account holder was making payments. In the month of September 2009 I made two payments totaling over 600 dollars. The account at that point was up to date. The primary account holder was going to make the final two payments to the account to pay it off early.

Let's just say the remaining amount of the loan is under 600 dollars. Nissan did not contact me by telephone or by letter nor did they contact the primary account holder who I co-signed with that they are sending our account to a collection agency for the remaining amount. So I get a call at my work demanding payment for the remaining amount from the collection agency. I told them on the phone that I don't have the money and that I cleaned out my savings to make the last payments 2 weeks ago. They did not care, they demanded the last amount.

I told them on the phone that I don't know who they are and why they are calling me. They told me that Nissan handed our account to them and I told them why because the account is current and that Nissan never notified me of this action on our account. They told us that we must have broken some type of agreement with Nissan. I didn't understand so I ended up calling Nissan. I couldn't get any logical reason why they didn't tell us by letter or phone call that they are no longer handling our loan.

So basically my complaint about Nissan is the non-action of not receiving any kind of correspondence that our loan was handed over to another company I never heard of. I was shocked by the call I received and I just don't blindly trust somebody I have never worked with directly. I did not give that new company any money and I will not until I receive something in writing from them. I am disappointed in Nissan for not advising me about the actions they took with my account. For this I will never purchase a car from them again, even with cash.

The primary account holder on our loan was paid every month and I even made some payments to the account. So, I will never do business with the company again. There is no point for me to as I am just very disappointed. It feels pretty crappy being caught off guard with zero warning. Customer Service is very important these days, especially with the current state of the economy.

Replies
A pregnant woman is ripped off and ROBBED!
By -

TOTOWA, NEW JERSEY -- Everything started when I received a recall letter that said that a model and a year of my car has a defective filling tube that can start leaking or even cause this car to blow up. It said I should go to any dealership to get it fixed for free. Went to this dealership on route 46, Totowa, NJ for service. They fixed it, I took the car home and barely made it to my street - the car broke and wouldn't start. My father is an expert mechanic, he checked the battery and also checked if there was a spark. Everything was normal. Then he poured some gas directly into the engine and the car started. So, he said that fuel just wasn't getting to the engine because of what they did while "fixing" my car.

I paid to have it towed back to them. It surely took them several days to start working on it, and when they called me back to inform me of the problem they said that there is just NO SPARK! Anyway, I needed the car ASAP so, I decided to go ahead and just fix it. They charged me over $700. When I went to pick up the car I found some of my things missing! They STOLE several things like anti-radar & $300 worth of tools from the trunk which is very important for every driver to have. I called the police and the officer said that for the past 15 yrs., this has been happening pretty often at this particular dealership.

I am pregnant (in my 9th month), on maternity leave and I'm due any week now! Obviously money is a big deal to me. I do not have a baby crib or even a bassinet. Now, because of this big expense I just had I won't have a bed for my little one, I cannot afford it! I get an impression that they do it on purpose to make money. So, if you get a recall letter DO NOT GO TO DEALERSHIP! They will find a way to fool you and make money off of you. They will make any small problem a big one! People BEWARE!

Replies
Scam Artists!
By -

GARDEN CITY, NEW YORK -- On 3/14/09 I visited Nissan of Garden City in order to purchase a car. I met with a sales person named **. After taking my application, he informed me that he would get me approved for a 2007 black Nissan Murano at a cost of $14000. As part of the agreement he agreed to pay the remainder of my existing car note for my 2000 Toyota Sienna at $6298.00, which was a huge incentive. He said it would take 10-14 days to be approved because this was a "special arrangement".

On 3/26/09 I called ** to explain that I needed to continue to make payments on my Toyota Sienna. He apologized for the inconvenience and said that he would make 2 payments totaling $1006 with "voucher money" from the dealership. He asked for my bank account number so he could transfer the voucher money into my account, allowing me to pay my current car note. I later found out that this transfer was deducted from my down-payment, in violation of our agreement.

On 4/2/09, I told ** that I refused to wait any longer and that I wanted a refund. He reassured me that I could pick up the new car on Thursday, 4/9/09. However, on 4/9/09 when I called ** to arrange for pickup of the new car, he stalled. I did not hear from ** at all that day, although I tried contacting him repeatedly. The next morning I finally spoke to him and requested a refund again; he then transferred all but $50 back into my account. I later called Nissan of Garden City to make a formal complaint and get the $50 refunded. However, I was told that no one was available and that the sales manager would return my call. I have not received any call to date, nor have I received the $50 I am owed.

I would like my refund of $50, as well as to lodge a formal complaint regarding the business practices of the sales staff at Nissan of Garden City. I am also concerned about the exposure of my personal and confidential financial information unnecessarily and would like some recourse taken as to the security of my information.

Replies
Nissan In New York Of Garden City Are Very Rude An Inconsiderate
By -

HEMPSTEAD, NEW YORK -- Keep in mind I drive a 2008 Nissan Pathfinder that drove beautifully before the 1st of July... Hello I am writing to share my disgust about the service department at Nissan of garden City NY. I dropped my car off yesterday to be reviewed for a clapping sound on the right front passenger side of the vehicle. I dropped it off at 8:45 a.m., approximately. I wasn't advised that it was ready for pick until 4:45 p.m.

When I pick up the vehicle I was told there was a problem with the front emergency brake cord and that the problem was resolved, but when I drove the vehicle off it had given me more problems than ever before. This vehicle started to give off a vibration whereas it didn't feel like the wheel were stabilized or balanced properly. It drove like the mechanic took the weights off of them in order to cause the ride to be uncomfortable. I am extremely extremely upset right now. I noticed the uncomfortable ride after I pick my 2 year old up from day care and the last thing I needed was for to lose control on the parkway and get into an accident as a result.

Livid and all I bought the vehicle back to the dealership and what does the assistant manager tell me it was something I must have did before I bought the vehicle to be serviced. This gentleman wasn't very customer service oriented at all in fact he was very rude and non-sympathizing. The manager ** tells me it's the tires. I know it's not the tires because I just bought this truck brand new last October.

I feel like I have been profiled and disrespected because I am a young African American man who has been stereotyped and labeled. When in fact I am very educated, I have a college degree, I have served my country in the U. S. Military and I am now serving my city as a police officer. I am not looking for any handouts because of my accomplishments, but I need you to understand that I have been totally screwed over by your service department.

If this problem was fixed then I would not be writing you about it right now. I have no reason to make any false statements against your company but I sincerely feel I have been bamboozled unnecessarily. I have written the Better Business Bureau about this matter, ABC, NBC, CBS, News 12 Long Island and every other outlet available to let this region know that I have been screwed over by your service dept. Again I am not looking for notoriety or a free handout but I think the right thing to do is restore my car to the ride I experienced before I left the dealership yesterday morning. Thank you for your time!

Replies
Complaint for one Service Center, Compliment for another
By -

EDGWOOD/BEL AIR, MARYLAND -- I have a 1994 Nissan Sentra that had been serviced on 6 July 2007 at your R. Stempler Nissan location - 2801 Pulaski Hwy, Edgewood, Maryland 21040 (now closed due to bankruptcy) for its belts and brakes. I had no complaints at that time with the service. Today, 13 May 2008, at 9 am, I brought that same 1994 Nissan Sentra to your Bel Air Nissan Subaru - 1506 Bel Air Road, Bel Air, Maryland 21014 for service on its belts. It was also suggested that the 2 rear tires be replaced which we agreed to.

The older front tires where moved to the back and the 2 new tires were placed on the front. We picked up the car at 7 pm. Upon driving the vehicle home my husband and I notice a loud ‘clanging' sound from the right front tire. This was a sound that was not there before. We called Bel Air Nissan Subaru back and told them that we were bringing our car back because of the sound. I had a technician (the same one that worked on our car) drive with me so that he could hear the sound.

He stated that he did hear it and that it was not a real problem (that it was from mounting the new tires) but that he could clean the brakes again and that he had checked the breaks and that they were fine. I stated that I would definitely want the car fixed so that it did not make this sound. The car was then taken back to the shop to have the tire removed and the brakes cleaned.

I was then told by the manager, **, that the front right brake pad was bad and needed to be replaced. She showed me the brake pads and that the wear was different on them. That the technician had checked one pad and it looked fine so had assumed that both were fine. She apologized for this. ** stated that brakes should not wear unevenly and that whomever worked on the brakes before them had not adjusted them correctly. This, of course, was R. Stempler Nissan. She was nice enough to not charge for labor (I still had to pay for parts) and gave us a rental car for free.

In these tough economic times, a surprise cost of $300.00 for brakes that were incorrectly repaired only a year ago is not a very pleasant surprise. I am *very* upset with R. Stempler Nissan on this issue. Unfortunately I cannot complain to them as they are no longer in business so the only thing I can do is complain to the main company. If I could, I would recover my expense for the incorrectly installed breaks and lecture them on the safety issue this may have caused.

I am pleased with Bel Air Nissan Subaru with how they handled this situation. ** apologized for the problem (not checking both brake pads) and did what she could to rectify the situation (no labor charge and a free rental). In closing, I would be happy with an apology from someone from corporate upon R. Stempler Nissans behalf. I would be ecstatic if corporate could refund my $300.00 (to my credit card or in the form of a gift card) for the brakes that had to be redone because of R. Stempler Nissans negligence. I look forward to your response.

Replies
Awful service
By -

MASSACHUSETTS -- I bought my 2002 Nissan Maxima last year from Nissan of Natick in Massachusetts. Two weeks ago, I was driving home from work and my "Service Engine Soon" light came on and my car started to slow down and then stopped moving. Fortunately, I had enough time to pull over before the car had broken down. Nissan does not have 24 hour Roadside Service so I had my boyfriend call his AAA to get a tow truck. I was really upset because this car was only a year and a half old, and this should not have happened. So the following morning, I called the service center to let them know why my car was there.

They told me they would get back to me later after they do some tests but they were really booked that day. I spoke to them later that day and they told me they could not finish the tests until tomorrow, but they think it is the throttle control. I asked about a loaner car but they said the loaner cars were booked until the end of July. And Nissan only paid for rental cars if I had bought the extended warranty but I didn't buy that. I called them the next day and they still did not finish the diagnostics.

I called them again the day after around closing time (on a Friday) and they told me that it appears to the engine control module but they need to run one more test to finally determine what it is wrong with my car. They left me a message on Monday and said that it is definitely the ECM and they would need to get a part overnighted. So basically, they had my car starting Wednesday morning to get it tested and repaired but it took them until Monday to finish the diagnostics.

On Tuesday, I called again (they called me twice during this whole crisis), and they told me that they had overnighted the wrong part and they would get the right part and hopefully it will come the following day. I called again on Wednesday and Thursday but the part still had not come in. Friday was the 4th so it was a holiday, which meant I would not get my car until Monday. This means my car has been in the shop for almost 2 weeks, and I had absolutely had no car to drive. I had told them that I really needed my car back asap because I was to go on a road trip for that weekend, plus it was an inconvenience for me having to wait for rides to work.

I rely heavily on my car and they could not even provide me with a loan car to drive. I had to call the service center every day. They told me they would get back to me, but I was the one who had to pick up the phone to call them to check the status on my car. They kept telling me that they gave me an option to rent a car, but why should I spend more money when I am spending a hefty payment on a new car I had bought last year. Needless to say, I have no car to drive right now and it has been almost two weeks. I am so irate with Nissan and the service center people. The service is awful!

Replies
Nissan
By -

MASSACHUSETTS -- I bought my 2002 Nissan Maxima last year from Nissan of Natick in Massachusetts. Two weeks ago, I was driving home from work and my "Service Engine Soon" light came on and my car started to slow down and then stopped moving. Fortunately, I had enough time to pull over before the car had broken down. Nissan does not have 24 hour Roadside Service so I had my boyfriend call his AAA to get a tow truck. I was really upset because this car was only a year and a half old, and this should not have happened. So the following morning, I called the service center to let them know why my car was there.

They told me they would get back to me later after they do some tests but they were really booked that day. I spoke to them later that day and they told me they could not finish the tests until tomorrow, but they think it is the throttle control. I asked about a loaner car but they said the loaner cars were booked until the end of July. And Nissan only paid for rental cars if I had bought the extended warranty but I didn't buy that. I called them the next day and they still did not finish the diagnostics.

I called them again the day after around closing time (on a Friday) and they told me that it appears to the engine control module but they need to run one more test to finally determine what it is wrong with my car. They left me a message on Monday and said that it is definitely the ECM and they would need to get a part overnighted. So basically, they had my car starting Wednesday morning to get it tested and repaired but it took them until Monday to finish the diagnostics.

On Tuesday, I called again (they called me twice during this whole crisis), and they told me that they had overnighted the wrong part and they would get the right part and hopefully it will come the following day. I called again on Wednesday and Thursday but the part still had not come in. Friday was the 4th so it was a holiday, which meant I would not get my car until Monday. This means my car has been in the shop for almost 2 weeks, and I had absolutely had no car to drive. I had told them that I really needed my car back asap because I was to go on a road trip for that weekend, plus it was an inconvenience for me having to wait for rides to work.

I rely heavily on my car and they could not even provide me with a loan car to drive. I had to call the service center every day. They told me they would get back to me, but I was the one who had to pick up the phone to call them to check the status on my car. They kept telling me that they gave me an option to rent a car, but why should I spend more money when I am spending a hefty payment on a new car I had bought last year. Needless to say, I have no car to drive right now and it has been almost two weeks. I am so irate with Nissan and the service center people. The service is awful!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >