Preview Review

Next Review

North American Bancard Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
North American Bankcard ----- Wish I Would Have Know
By -

ST. CLOUD, MINNESOTA -- At the end of Nov of 08 a sales representative representing Quantum Merchant services by the name of Josh came into my salon offering me credit card processing services at a lower rate. Too good to be true right? Well we (meaning the 3 girls that work for me and myself) fell for it being times are tough and everyone wants to save a buck. A buck we did not save. We have been charged fees that we were told would not be charged to us. Every time we contact NBA we get put on hold forever (2 hours on one occasion). And nothing ever gets accomplished. All we are ever told is yes we will credit you or you will get a statement credit, yet neither has happened.

Recently we were charged a fee of $79.99 for PCI. Well after reading other complaints regrading this PCI fee we should have never been charged the fee. Once again we fight with NBA, nothing gets solved. All 4 of US Bank at different institutions and have and will be filing fraud charges against NBA for these fees we have been charged and hope to accomplish something. Reading everyone's reviews doesn't sound like we will have much luck. We also cancelled our contracts with NBA as of Jan 09 (within 45 days after signing our original contracts which we have never seen copies of).

Once again after reading other reviews my thoughts are, this will not stop them and I will be changing my account. I will also be meeting with an attorney to see what my rights are against NBA and the sales representative that signed me up with this bogus company. I will keep everyone posted and let you know what I will accomplish. I did a little more research on NBA and found there is a class action lawsuit against them from an attorney's office in NY. Knowing what I know now. Like the saying goes, some things are too good to be true. NBA would be one of those. They are NO GOOD. Also NBA, do not respond to this with your canned comments. Spare me the time.

All you do is bs people anyway. To respond to the NCA comment, first of all I did not receive a statement in Nov because I did not sign up til the end of Nov. Second the statement fee you claim you refunded is not in my account. Also you said you would credit me for the next 3 months or the min. $25 charge, bad thing is I cancelled so where is the rest of the 2 months? Nowhere. Battle over. Spoke to an attorney and taking care of it from there.

Company Response 1/14/2009:

Dear Stefanie,

North American Bancard works very diligently to resolve all merchant issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our merchants, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

North American Bancard values the business of all of our merchants and we do not take complaints lightly. In an effort to address your many concerns and provide you with some very pertinent information specific to the PCI compliance mandate, we have compiled the information below for your review. First and foremost, you requested a credit for your statement fees in December, and that statement credit was approved for you. We also applied three separate courtesy credits for related statement fees to your account, which covered a three-month period.

The PCI Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) originally began as five different programs from the five credit card associations (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, and JCB). Each company's intentions were roughly similar: to create an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data.

The Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) was formed as a neutral body to address conflicts among the credit card schemes in developing a standard. On Dec. 15, 2004 the credit card associations aligned their individual policies and issued the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS).

In regards to the PCI Compliance Service fee, on the November 2008 merchant statements it was advised that the PCI Compliance Service fee would be charged on the December 2008 merchant statements and why it was necessary. The PCI Data Security Standard was created to offer an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data and applies to all service providers and merchants that accept credit cards regardless of size or acceptance method. The $79.00 PCI Compliance Fee was assessed by North American Bancard to mitigate the costs associated with becoming and maintaining compliance, updating terminal software, providing applications with enhanced security, and replacing non-compliant hardware. Merchants can visit our website at www.nabpci.com to find out more and to determine what their company needs to do to ensure compliance.

In regards to refunding the one time only fee of $79, we will do so if the merchant became compliant prior to our notification in November 2008. For more information regarding the PCI security standards, please refer to their website https://www.pcisecuritystandards.org/.

Should you have any questions regarding this response, please have your Merchant number ready and contact our Customer Service at 800-226-2273 Ext.1300.

Sincerely,

North American Bancard

Replies
Advertisement
Credit Card Processor Ripoff
By -

BASSETT, NEBRASKA -- I was contacted by a representative of North American Bancard to review my current situation with my processor. After reviewing my current statements, I was told that they could reduce my overall costs and that all I had to do was complete a new merchant application with them and have them reconfigure my existing terminal. The representative "Priscillia" promised me the moon and, as I find out later, did not have the authority to make the promises that she made. I read the agreement, signed it and then faxed it back to the number provided. That's where this nightmare begins (December 13, 2007).

To this date (April 8, 2008) North American Bancard has been unwilling or unable to reconfigure my existing terminal. I called numerous times attempting to get my sales representative. The one time that I did get her on the phone she was rude and could not help me at all. Said that she'd have someone contact me. When I call in, no one can answer simple question and no member of management exists (evidently). At first I just wanted to get everything up and running, but then (after being talked to like a dog and getting the run around) I decided that I just wanted to cancel my services. Lo and behold they said that it would costs me $1,260 to cancel!!!

Yes, you read that right. They were supposed to be saving me money, but they can't even run a simple transaction for me. They haven't reconfigured my machine but they charge me $30.00 each month. $25.00 of that is a monthly minimum processing fee. How many transactions do you think I can run if they don't even have my terminal online? I have tried to get this resolved and am ready to take this a step further. They have nothing but my faxed signature and my banking information. Do not walk away from this company. RUN.

Company Response 5/6/2008:

May 6, 2008

Dear Merchant,

North American Bancard works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

Unfortunately enough information was not provided for us to accurately determine your specific Merchant Account. If you're having Technical issue, or need help updating your terminal, please contact our Technical Support Department at 800-226-2273 extension 1200.

NAB would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service related issues you have experienced and would like to take the opportunity to discuss this matter further. Please have your Merchant Account number ready, and contact our Customer Service Department at 800-226-2273 extension 1300, or fax my office directly at 248.283.6204, so that your specific situation may be properly researched and addressed.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Tippin
Director of Customer Contacts

Replies
Deceptive Sales Practices Supported by Company
By -

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- I am just now finding out how horrible these people are. I tried to cancel my acct as I have been getting charged a $25.00 "min fee" every month that I was not told about. And they said "Oh, you have a 36 month agreement, didn't you read that?" So they faxed it to me and sure enough on page 4 it was there. But I was never told about that. And when I went back to my original application, it was only pages 1 and 2!! It mentions pages 3,4,5, 6 but I had never received them.

And we told the sales person we run few very high tickets, like 15,000 for furniture. Fine he says. And then they gave us a 900 high ticket. And my application was changed to $900.00 high ticket after we had signed it. So I called them and told them the application had been altered, and I had never received the other fine print pages, and wanted to cancel with no fees. I sent them our original application. I sent them the email from the sales rep with the application file in .pdf that was only two pages long. The girl said she'd look into it with her manager and get back to me.

And when she got back to me she said "I don't know if you received pages 3-6 or not, but you signed the form on page2 indicating you accepted the terms on those pages, so you are bound by them. Period. And as far as the form being altered, they said they'd go ahead and honor it as I submitted it, with a $10,000 high ticket limit. They don't know who or why it was altered, but they were prepared to "undo" the alteration, so there was no getting out of the contract.

When I probed into who John ** was, the sales rep, they washed their hands and said he was an independent sales rep, don't know how this could have happened, we'll look into it, but meanwhile you signed it, and you're stuck with it. The only possible relief they offered me was they offered to price match someone else's rates. If I could find a place that offered, say a high discount rate on transactions but no monthly fees, they'd match it. So I might be able to do that and effectively cancel my agreement by letting it just run out (providing I remember to cancel exactly when I need to 3 years from now, otherwise it auto-renews!!).

I'm not happy and ready to do battle with them. They had this John ** working for them, altering contracts, leaving out pages, and snaring people left and right and then sticking them with high monthly minimums and 36 month contracts. If it's not actually illegal, it's certainly deceptive and dishonest and the fact that they'd go along with it indicates to me that they really have no problem with these sales tactics.

Company Response 8/13/2007:

August 13, 2007

Goeffhazel
Seattle, WA

RE: Merchant Account # 0087882900XXXXX

Dear Geoff Hazel:

In response to the above-referenced merchant complaint letter, I am providing the following information. We would like to take the opportunity to resolve this issue without further delay.

A Merchant Account Agreement Application with North American Bancard was signed on or about April 13, 2007, for a term of 36 months, upon which time all terms and conditions contained within the agreement were agreed to.

In regards to the Merchant Account Agreement Application: The Agreement provided to North American Bancard indicated a $900.00 High Ticket, $25.00 Monthly Minimum Discount Fee and 3-year term.

After being notified of your concerns related to these topics North American Bancard requested and received additional documents from you. Those documents included the original Merchant Agreement showing a varying High Ticket and email correspondence between yourself and your sales agent indicating the Terms and Conditions were not supplied. North American Bancard sincerely apologizes for this incident and has taken the appropriate action as it relates to the outside independent sales agent that you worked with.

While the $25.00 Monthly Minimum Discount Fee is listed on the original Merchant Agreement supplied by you, as a good will gesture this fee has been removed from your account and a refund has been submitted for those months when your account was assessed this fee.

At this time our Underwriting Department is unable to raise the accounts High Ticket to your requested amount without May-July 2007 Business banking statements being provided. Should these documents be provided we will review your account for a possible increase.

At this time, should you wish to terminate your agreement with North American Bancard you may do so without penalty by sending your request in writing to my attention.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Tippin
Director of Customer Contacts

Replies
Internet SCAMS Reach a New Depth: North American Bancard
By -

BIRMINGHAM, MICHIGAN -- To list the misrepresentations made by North American BANCARD et al, would take too much of your time to read and I suspect most of you who read this have experienced, or will experience the same costly problems with NAB as we have. If NAB has your bank account information, I would consider CLOSING YOUR ACCOUNT and opening a new account as they may use your account number for a "free-for-all" (for them) at some later date as they did with our company.

We thought we were finished with these ill-advised and morally challenged individuals known as NAB collectively, over a year ago - we were just happy to be done with them and their corrupt practices - we even considered swallowing the loss associated with NAB as no one has that many hours to make the same calls over and over and hear a different lie each time.

Surprise! Over a year later, we discovered that they "out of the blue" debited our commercial account for nearly $1,800.00 - guess "they", including Ms. Kim ** (an individual of many different titles depending on who she is speaking with or writing to at a given moment), thought we wouldn't notice the theft of our funds. In retrospect, rather than paying the ill-placed funds to NAB at the onset, I wish we would have just went on the Internet and played Internet poker. At least once the money was lost, we would have been done.

I am going to write them a seven day demand letter today. Past experience dictates they will not properly respond. We will file a lawsuit against North American Bancard as well as its "principals and employees" individually as co-defendants. Although I have searched the Net for "praises" or even satisfied customers/victims of North American Bancard, I have not been able to find one. If there is a satisfied customer out there, I would appreciate hearing from you as well.

Company Response 8/14/2007:

At North American Bancard we pride ourselves on providing quality service to our Merchants. Our contract specifies a three-year term and breaks down all fees associated with the contract and how they are applied. This includes, but is not limited to, the Discount rate paid, Monthly Minimum and Statement charges as well as early termination fees.

Based on the information contained in this post we were unable to determine the Merchant Account in question in order to specifically address this case. However, it is our belief that it may relate to a collections effort on delinquent accounts that have violated parts, if not all of the Merchant Agreement. If the account in question was incorrectly debited we would need specific information in order to properly address the concerns or correct any errors. If an error was made we sincerely apologize for any oversight and any inconvenience you may have suffered.

Please contact our Merchant Awareness department at 1-866-476-0797 so that your specific situation may be properly research and addressed. Please have your Merchant Account number ready.

Since our inception in 1992, we continue to provide unparalleled merchant account processing services for each and every customer. In dedicating ourselves to providing quality services, we continue to scan the digital horizon in order to offer state-of-the-art merchant account processing equipment, competitive rates, and superior, personalized service. Our responsiveness, integrity, and commitment to quality services have propelled us to the top of the merchant account processing industry.

Thank you,

Director of Risk Management

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Do Business With NABC
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am not going to go into a lot of detail. I have spent over 4 hours dealing with them today and am just plain tired. I would advise anyone, esp. a small business to stay away, use a local bank or go directly to the card companies.
As a note to NABC since I know they read these, I recommend you not automatically sign your merchants up for the Gold Mybizperks and start charging them a monthly fee. This is where many of the problems stem from and it is a legal, but misleading way to make money off your merchants.

Instead, sign them up for the FREE bronze membership and then allow them to upgrade. You will have less complaints and be a much more customer friendly company. You would also be wise to not outsource your sales force, that is another source of your complaints. And, not use robots for customer service reps. I just talked to one, about the 7th one today, who was great, but the first 3 were horrible.

I even had to scream at one to get her to stop talking and actually listen to me. She would not stop talking, it was amazing. She kept going on and on about a three year agreement, which was incorrect. And when I finally got her to shut up and listen to me, she looked and found I had a 1 year addendum to my contract. It was absurd and I have never gone through anything like that before. No offers of help were given by most of the CSRs only, this is what it says... I also had to call and get a correction to one of the email synopsis of the conversations, it was completely incorrect.

I still am just waiting out the next couple of months and will cancel when my one year is up and will definitely not recommend anyone doing business with this company. Even with the cancellation letter, I have called three times to get clarification due to the wording of the letter. If I had done what was recommended by one CSR, I would have risk paying the early term fee. I should not have to call 3 times to get correct instructions, and am only hoping now I have the correct information. We will see. I do not trust anything I am told by this company.

Replies
North American Bankcard void of Ethics
By -

I just bought a business from a couple that retired and moved to another country. I called NAB to tell them to discontinue service for them. The business name remained the same but all other aspects were new. I was told that they could not talk to me as I was not authorized (valid). I tracked down the former owners and had them call NAB. The old owners told me that all was settled and account was canceled as soon as I filled out some information that was to be faxed.

The paper that was faxed said they would cancel service and for me to just sign and fax back. Very small print at the bottom revealed that the old contract would be canceled and a new contract would begin upon receipt of fax. I did not sign or fax back as there was only a year left in old contract. I called the old owners and they said there was a buyout of $375.00. But when I called (I now had authorization to access the account), I was told a buyout amount of $470.00. I tried several avenues to terminate old contract, each met with a higher buyout amount and the customer service person stating they "couldn't find" the notes about lower buyout amounts.

I gave up and figured $30.00 a month for the next year would be the best way to leave it. They just took $129.00 out of my account due to a yearly fee. As the original contract is written I am not sure we can ever get out of the arrangement. I was honest and upfront with the company and each time that information was used to make my amount higher. I found NAB to be very unethical and fear the worst. I did not sign anything with this service but am made to suffer indefinitely. I hate to call to talk to anyone as I fear another penalty amount. I apologize for not giving any details but I think it's to safeguard me.

Company Response 3/9/2011:

Dear Merchant,

NAB works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First and foremost, I would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service that you have received in conjunction with this Merchant Account.

According to your post, this is not actually your account, however it seems the owners gave you their personal information so that you could access it. If you feel that the account was incorrectly debited, or your fees have been inadequately advised, then we would need specific information in order to properly address the concerns or correct any errors, however, you may want to speak with the owners of the account to go over the merchant account's pricing schedule. In instances where ownership changes are completed in a correct manner, there are no cancel fees charged to the closing account.

I would like to speak to you about this further. Please have your Merchant Account number ready, and contact me directly at 800-226-2273 x 1314 so that your situation may be properly researched and addressed.

Sincerely,
Rebecca

Replies
Never Use This Company, or You Will Lose a Lot of Money
By -

TROY, MICHIGAN -- This company is worst and most dishonest company I ever used in my business life. The salesperson who was Mark ** came in my restaurant and ate a lot of foods and ask to show credit card processing statement. I showed him statement and he told me that he could make lower these fees. Of course, I didn't trust this guy, so I checked a first month statement and found out this company charged 1% more money than my previous company. I had a credit card sales of $60,000 this month, so this company overcharged $600 more than my previous company. I told Mark that I would change back to previous company, then he told me he will fix these high rate to low rate.

It was mistake. I checked next month statement and I found out this company even charged more than last month. I was really upset and I called this company directly and talk about this high rate fee. The person name Chris was taken care of my account and he told me that he will fix these high rate fee to low rate. I checked next month statement and find out this company even charge more money than last month, so I tried to cancel this account and found out that he set me up for over $1000 cancellation fee for my account.

Usually, cancellation fee for credit card processing fee is $250-$350. I have never seen this high cancellation fee for my lifetime, so I talked with Mark about lower my processing fee again and he charged more and more every month. I tried to save some money for credit card processing fee and lost more than $3000-$4000 for only 4 months using this company. I hope nobody get some stupid ripoff what I got.

Replies
Don't Use this Company's Service
By -

The people running this company are thieves. Their support for merchants is a scam! Their sales reps are uninformed and come and go faster than used car salesman. We signed a contract a year ago for 2 locations, after a couple of months one location had to close so we called our sales representative who said he would close the one account and pass the machine at the closed location on to the new business that was moving in. After filling out all the paperwork we left their representative telling us all was finalized.

A few months later we were wondering why we were getting charged so much and found out that the one account had never been closed. After many, many emails and conversations we expected a refund for the months the salesman had "forgotten" to send in the paperwork. THIS never and still has not happened. THEN yesterday, eight months later, at 9.00am $500.00 was taken out of our bank account. After several talks with various phone reps and many hours on the phone we find out that their sales representative never did transfer or turn in the machine and the company is claiming us responsible for it. Why not they already have our money!

They claim this is on our agreement which we do not question. However they have emails and notes in their computer system that clearly state that the sales representative was given the machine and they even admit that. So how is it that their sales representative whom they trained to sell their product is not liable and we are? I am sure that given the amount of evidence there is to prove that the sales representative became responsible for the machine any court of law would tell NA Bancard to give us back our money, but they maintain that until they receive the machine they will keep our money!

They probably play this game with everyone and we are offended and shocked. Not to mention that we have bills to pay that we cannot pay them now... They stole our money out of our account! I have read countless complaints about this company in the last 24hrs and it would seem that we have been scammed, our rates continue to increase, our fees continue to rise and NOW they have jeopardized our very ability to open the doors!

Take some responsibility Corporate cash cow! We owe you nothing, your salesperson owes you a machine and you know it, give us back our money, it is the right and honest thing to do. A warning to all NEVER NEVER sign up for service from this greedy lying business, your days will be filled with headaches and your pocketbook will be emptied! - Coconut Cafe (a mom and pop operation in Oregon).

Company Response 12/2/2010:

Dear Merchant,

NAB works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service that you have received in conjunction with your Merchant Account No. 8788290190*** . We have attempted to contact you and are awaiting a returned call in order to speak to addressed your concerns and correct any errors.

Our records indicate that your Merchant Account has been closed as of August 6, 2010. In regards to the monthly fees and terminal, we can expound on those issues while on the phone.

Please have your Merchant Account number ready, and contact Diana at 248-283-6059 so that your specific situation may be properly researched and addressed.

Sincerely,
Diana

Replies
Advertisement
Cancel Your Account? Expect to Waste 2 Hours
By -

ROBBINSDALE, MINNESOTA -- Attempted to switch my services to another processor. Called the first time to cancel was sent to voicemail and was told a "senior rep" was going to call me back - 1 week later no phone call. Called them back again, spent about 10 minutes on hold to talk to the first person - then while on hold heard a message regarding "mybiz perks" and calling to opt out - found out the last year I have been with them I had been automatically enrolled in this program for the low low price of 9.95 a month!

Finally got a representative who asked me what they could to put me on hold to "research my account" for about 5 minutes then told me he couldn't close it and would transfer me to "senior rep" at extension 1400. Extension rang and rang until I got voicemail again. I refused to leave a message and went back to the main menu. This got me to escalations who then did the same process and told me again she had to transfer me to a senior representative I refused and demanded that someone resolve this issue and close the account. I was again told, "yes sir, please hold," then disconnected.

Called back again, this time about 1 hour and 20 minutes later now currently on hold after explaining to the "customer service rep" that if this couldn't be resolved after this phone call I would contact my bank and have all transactions from NAB refused, forward the matter to my attorney and report them to the attorney general and the FTC. Currently have been on hold for an additional 19:20. Rep came back on the line and has now informed me that we signed a 3-year contract allegedly. When we signed up the representative said there was no contract. Claim to cancel now is $820. Matter is being referred to our attorney.

Company Response 11/23/2010:

November 22, 2010

Dear Merchant,

NAB works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service that you have received in conjunction with your Merchant Account No. 8788290189*** .

Our records indicate that on August 11, you contacted us in regards to deposits and was advised that a Senior Representative at Extension 1400 would be able to assist you. We did not hear anything again until November 8, 2010 in regards to deposits again. Cancellation inquiry was brought up during a call on November 16 and was advised that there was an early termination fee associated with the Merchant Account.

If you feel that your account was incorrectly debited, or your fees have been inadequately advised, then we would need specific information in order to properly address the concerns or correct any errors.

Please have your Merchant Account number ready, and contact Diana at 248-283-6059 so that your specific situation may be properly researched and addressed.

If you have any correspondence from the sales agent advising of different fees, it can be faxed into our Customer Service Department fax at 248-283-6260 for review.

Sincerely,
Diana

Replies
Horrible Service - They Don't Care About You!
By -

After reviewing many merchant companies, I decided to go with North American Bancard. I signed up for an account. The sales guy (Bennie **) was VERY helpful with the initial step and got me both an online and offline (wireless) account. Great service so far, calling back almost instantly and emailing back within the hour.

They shipped the machine rapidly, awesome! However when I tried using the machine, it didn't work - said the account was invalid. I called Bennie ** for help. He checked and told me the account was valid and active, no problems. I tried again, still not working. I called Bennie ** back, this time left a voice mail. Didn't hear back for over a day, so I sent an email. This was also ignored. I was under time pressure because 3 days later I was going to a trade show.

Eventually I got him on the phone. He said he checked again and the account is in order, but if I was having problems, I should contact customer service. After calling customer service and speaking with 3 different people over a 2.5 hour period, I was finally informed that my account was closed (AFTER THE FACT). She said I would need to send the machine back, on my own cost. I inquired if there was anyone I could speak with to resolve this issue. The answer: no.

I called Bennie ** asking about the actual situation, why was this chaos going on and how could we resolve this. No reply. I sent 3 emails, both to him and then to customer service. No reply. Yesterday I got back to the US (having been in Europe on a business trip) to find a letter stating that if I don't return the machine by Nov 11 they would charge my account $895.

I shipped the machine yesterday with FedEx ground. Today my account was charged $895. I just called and left another message inquiring about this situation. So far I don't feel they care about small businesses, I've gotten nothing but a brush off attitude. Too bad, because they seemed incredible at the start.

Company Response 1/3/2011:

Dear Mr. Knewitz,

NAB strives to provide world class customer service to all of our merchants, and takes pride in diligently working to resolve any issues that may arise with your merchant account. I sincerely apologize that you were unable to obtain assistance, and answers to your questions when you needed them.
Although your merchant account was originally approved by NAB, further review indicated discrepancies in the application documents. A business decision was made by our Risk Department to close the account, and a notification letter was sent to your business address on file. Unfortunately, the Sales and Customer Service representatives that you spoke to when you called in, do not have access to Risk Department files and were unable to provide further details of the account closure. Our Risk Analysts are available to take your calls Monday through Friday from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm. Our call logs indicate that your first attempt to contact Risk was after hours, but that you were able to obtain assistance the following day.
The $895 debit to your bank account was in accordance with the "Free Terminal Placement Agreement" that you signed and agreed to with your merchant application. Upon the closure of your account, you were notified that this debit would occur if the machine was not returned by November 11, 2010. Since we did not receive it by the deadline, we had to assume that you chose to purchase the terminal. However, on November 24th the machine was received, and NAB did issue an ACH refund of the $895 to your bank account on file.
I hope that I have addressed all of your concerns. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 800-226-2273 Ext 1404.

Sincerely,
Jackie Alquiza
Risk Compliance Manager

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

North American Bancard Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 18 ratings and
101 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
North American Bancard
250 Stephenson Hwy
Troy, MI 48083
1-800-226-2273 (ph)
www.nabancard.com
Compare Financial Services