Preview Review

Next Review

North American Bancard Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
North American Bankcard ----- Wish I Would Have Know
By -

ST. CLOUD, MINNESOTA -- At the end of Nov of 08 a sales representative representing Quantum Merchant services by the name of Josh came into my salon offering me credit card processing services at a lower rate. Too good to be true right? Well we (meaning the 3 girls that work for me and myself) fell for it being times are tough and everyone wants to save a buck. A buck we did not save. We have been charged fees that we were told would not be charged to us. Every time we contact NBA we get put on hold forever (2 hours on one occasion). And nothing ever gets accomplished. All we are ever told is yes we will credit you or you will get a statement credit, yet neither has happened.

Recently we were charged a fee of $79.99 for PCI. Well after reading other complaints regrading this PCI fee we should have never been charged the fee. Once again we fight with NBA, nothing gets solved. All 4 of US Bank at different institutions and have and will be filing fraud charges against NBA for these fees we have been charged and hope to accomplish something. Reading everyone's reviews doesn't sound like we will have much luck. We also cancelled our contracts with NBA as of Jan 09 (within 45 days after signing our original contracts which we have never seen copies of).

Once again after reading other reviews my thoughts are, this will not stop them and I will be changing my account. I will also be meeting with an attorney to see what my rights are against NBA and the sales representative that signed me up with this bogus company. I will keep everyone posted and let you know what I will accomplish. I did a little more research on NBA and found there is a class action lawsuit against them from an attorney's office in NY. Knowing what I know now. Like the saying goes, some things are too good to be true. NBA would be one of those. They are NO GOOD. Also NBA, do not respond to this with your canned comments. Spare me the time.

All you do is bs people anyway. To respond to the NCA comment, first of all I did not receive a statement in Nov because I did not sign up til the end of Nov. Second the statement fee you claim you refunded is not in my account. Also you said you would credit me for the next 3 months or the min. $25 charge, bad thing is I cancelled so where is the rest of the 2 months? Nowhere. Battle over. Spoke to an attorney and taking care of it from there.

Company Response 1/14/2009:

Dear Stefanie,

North American Bancard works very diligently to resolve all merchant issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our merchants, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

North American Bancard values the business of all of our merchants and we do not take complaints lightly. In an effort to address your many concerns and provide you with some very pertinent information specific to the PCI compliance mandate, we have compiled the information below for your review. First and foremost, you requested a credit for your statement fees in December, and that statement credit was approved for you. We also applied three separate courtesy credits for related statement fees to your account, which covered a three-month period.

The PCI Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) originally began as five different programs from the five credit card associations (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, and JCB). Each company's intentions were roughly similar: to create an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data.

The Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) was formed as a neutral body to address conflicts among the credit card schemes in developing a standard. On Dec. 15, 2004 the credit card associations aligned their individual policies and issued the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS).

In regards to the PCI Compliance Service fee, on the November 2008 merchant statements it was advised that the PCI Compliance Service fee would be charged on the December 2008 merchant statements and why it was necessary. The PCI Data Security Standard was created to offer an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data and applies to all service providers and merchants that accept credit cards regardless of size or acceptance method. The $79.00 PCI Compliance Fee was assessed by North American Bancard to mitigate the costs associated with becoming and maintaining compliance, updating terminal software, providing applications with enhanced security, and replacing non-compliant hardware. Merchants can visit our website at www.nabpci.com to find out more and to determine what their company needs to do to ensure compliance.

In regards to refunding the one time only fee of $79, we will do so if the merchant became compliant prior to our notification in November 2008. For more information regarding the PCI security standards, please refer to their website https://www.pcisecuritystandards.org/.

Should you have any questions regarding this response, please have your Merchant number ready and contact our Customer Service at 800-226-2273 Ext.1300.

Sincerely,

North American Bancard

Replies
Advertisement
Credit Card Processor Ripoff
By -

BASSETT, NEBRASKA -- I was contacted by a representative of North American Bancard to review my current situation with my processor. After reviewing my current statements, I was told that they could reduce my overall costs and that all I had to do was complete a new merchant application with them and have them reconfigure my existing terminal. The representative "Priscillia" promised me the moon and, as I find out later, did not have the authority to make the promises that she made. I read the agreement, signed it and then faxed it back to the number provided. That's where this nightmare begins (December 13, 2007).

To this date (April 8, 2008) North American Bancard has been unwilling or unable to reconfigure my existing terminal. I called numerous times attempting to get my sales representative. The one time that I did get her on the phone she was rude and could not help me at all. Said that she'd have someone contact me. When I call in, no one can answer simple question and no member of management exists (evidently). At first I just wanted to get everything up and running, but then (after being talked to like a dog and getting the run around) I decided that I just wanted to cancel my services. Lo and behold they said that it would costs me $1,260 to cancel!!!

Yes, you read that right. They were supposed to be saving me money, but they can't even run a simple transaction for me. They haven't reconfigured my machine but they charge me $30.00 each month. $25.00 of that is a monthly minimum processing fee. How many transactions do you think I can run if they don't even have my terminal online? I have tried to get this resolved and am ready to take this a step further. They have nothing but my faxed signature and my banking information. Do not walk away from this company. RUN.

Company Response 5/6/2008:

May 6, 2008

Dear Merchant,

North American Bancard works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

Unfortunately enough information was not provided for us to accurately determine your specific Merchant Account. If you're having Technical issue, or need help updating your terminal, please contact our Technical Support Department at 800-226-2273 extension 1200.

NAB would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service related issues you have experienced and would like to take the opportunity to discuss this matter further. Please have your Merchant Account number ready, and contact our Customer Service Department at 800-226-2273 extension 1300, or fax my office directly at 248.283.6204, so that your specific situation may be properly researched and addressed.

Sincerely,
Kimberly Tippin
Director of Customer Contacts

Replies
Don't Do Business With NABC
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I am not going to go into a lot of detail. I have spent over 4 hours dealing with them today and am just plain tired. I would advise anyone, esp. a small business to stay away, use a local bank or go directly to the card companies.
As a note to NABC since I know they read these, I recommend you not automatically sign your merchants up for the Gold Mybizperks and start charging them a monthly fee. This is where many of the problems stem from and it is a legal, but misleading way to make money off your merchants.

Instead, sign them up for the FREE bronze membership and then allow them to upgrade. You will have less complaints and be a much more customer friendly company. You would also be wise to not outsource your sales force, that is another source of your complaints. And, not use robots for customer service reps. I just talked to one, about the 7th one today, who was great, but the first 3 were horrible.

I even had to scream at one to get her to stop talking and actually listen to me. She would not stop talking, it was amazing. She kept going on and on about a three year agreement, which was incorrect. And when I finally got her to shut up and listen to me, she looked and found I had a 1 year addendum to my contract. It was absurd and I have never gone through anything like that before. No offers of help were given by most of the CSRs only, this is what it says... I also had to call and get a correction to one of the email synopsis of the conversations, it was completely incorrect.

I still am just waiting out the next couple of months and will cancel when my one year is up and will definitely not recommend anyone doing business with this company. Even with the cancellation letter, I have called three times to get clarification due to the wording of the letter. If I had done what was recommended by one CSR, I would have risk paying the early term fee. I should not have to call 3 times to get correct instructions, and am only hoping now I have the correct information. We will see. I do not trust anything I am told by this company.

Replies
North American Bankcard void of Ethics
By -

I just bought a business from a couple that retired and moved to another country. I called NAB to tell them to discontinue service for them. The business name remained the same but all other aspects were new. I was told that they could not talk to me as I was not authorized (valid). I tracked down the former owners and had them call NAB. The old owners told me that all was settled and account was canceled as soon as I filled out some information that was to be faxed.

The paper that was faxed said they would cancel service and for me to just sign and fax back. Very small print at the bottom revealed that the old contract would be canceled and a new contract would begin upon receipt of fax. I did not sign or fax back as there was only a year left in old contract. I called the old owners and they said there was a buyout of $375.00. But when I called (I now had authorization to access the account), I was told a buyout amount of $470.00. I tried several avenues to terminate old contract, each met with a higher buyout amount and the customer service person stating they "couldn't find" the notes about lower buyout amounts.

I gave up and figured $30.00 a month for the next year would be the best way to leave it. They just took $129.00 out of my account due to a yearly fee. As the original contract is written I am not sure we can ever get out of the arrangement. I was honest and upfront with the company and each time that information was used to make my amount higher. I found NAB to be very unethical and fear the worst. I did not sign anything with this service but am made to suffer indefinitely. I hate to call to talk to anyone as I fear another penalty amount. I apologize for not giving any details but I think it's to safeguard me.

Company Response 3/9/2011:

Dear Merchant,

NAB works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First and foremost, I would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service that you have received in conjunction with this Merchant Account.

According to your post, this is not actually your account, however it seems the owners gave you their personal information so that you could access it. If you feel that the account was incorrectly debited, or your fees have been inadequately advised, then we would need specific information in order to properly address the concerns or correct any errors, however, you may want to speak with the owners of the account to go over the merchant account's pricing schedule. In instances where ownership changes are completed in a correct manner, there are no cancel fees charged to the closing account.

I would like to speak to you about this further. Please have your Merchant Account number ready, and contact me directly at 800-226-2273 x 1314 so that your situation may be properly researched and addressed.

Sincerely,
Rebecca

Replies
Advertisement
Never Use This Company, or You Will Lose a Lot of Money
By -

TROY, MICHIGAN -- This company is worst and most dishonest company I ever used in my business life. The salesperson who was Mark ** came in my restaurant and ate a lot of foods and ask to show credit card processing statement. I showed him statement and he told me that he could make lower these fees. Of course, I didn't trust this guy, so I checked a first month statement and found out this company charged 1% more money than my previous company. I had a credit card sales of $60,000 this month, so this company overcharged $600 more than my previous company. I told Mark that I would change back to previous company, then he told me he will fix these high rate to low rate.

It was mistake. I checked next month statement and I found out this company even charged more than last month. I was really upset and I called this company directly and talk about this high rate fee. The person name Chris was taken care of my account and he told me that he will fix these high rate fee to low rate. I checked next month statement and find out this company even charge more money than last month, so I tried to cancel this account and found out that he set me up for over $1000 cancellation fee for my account.

Usually, cancellation fee for credit card processing fee is $250-$350. I have never seen this high cancellation fee for my lifetime, so I talked with Mark about lower my processing fee again and he charged more and more every month. I tried to save some money for credit card processing fee and lost more than $3000-$4000 for only 4 months using this company. I hope nobody get some stupid ripoff what I got.

Replies
Don't Use this Company's Service
By -

The people running this company are thieves. Their support for merchants is a scam! Their sales reps are uninformed and come and go faster than used car salesman. We signed a contract a year ago for 2 locations, after a couple of months one location had to close so we called our sales representative who said he would close the one account and pass the machine at the closed location on to the new business that was moving in. After filling out all the paperwork we left their representative telling us all was finalized.

A few months later we were wondering why we were getting charged so much and found out that the one account had never been closed. After many, many emails and conversations we expected a refund for the months the salesman had "forgotten" to send in the paperwork. THIS never and still has not happened. THEN yesterday, eight months later, at 9.00am $500.00 was taken out of our bank account. After several talks with various phone reps and many hours on the phone we find out that their sales representative never did transfer or turn in the machine and the company is claiming us responsible for it. Why not they already have our money!

They claim this is on our agreement which we do not question. However they have emails and notes in their computer system that clearly state that the sales representative was given the machine and they even admit that. So how is it that their sales representative whom they trained to sell their product is not liable and we are? I am sure that given the amount of evidence there is to prove that the sales representative became responsible for the machine any court of law would tell NA Bancard to give us back our money, but they maintain that until they receive the machine they will keep our money!

They probably play this game with everyone and we are offended and shocked. Not to mention that we have bills to pay that we cannot pay them now... They stole our money out of our account! I have read countless complaints about this company in the last 24hrs and it would seem that we have been scammed, our rates continue to increase, our fees continue to rise and NOW they have jeopardized our very ability to open the doors!

Take some responsibility Corporate cash cow! We owe you nothing, your salesperson owes you a machine and you know it, give us back our money, it is the right and honest thing to do. A warning to all NEVER NEVER sign up for service from this greedy lying business, your days will be filled with headaches and your pocketbook will be emptied! - Coconut Cafe (a mom and pop operation in Oregon).

Company Response 12/2/2010:

Dear Merchant,

NAB works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service that you have received in conjunction with your Merchant Account No. 8788290190*** . We have attempted to contact you and are awaiting a returned call in order to speak to addressed your concerns and correct any errors.

Our records indicate that your Merchant Account has been closed as of August 6, 2010. In regards to the monthly fees and terminal, we can expound on those issues while on the phone.

Please have your Merchant Account number ready, and contact Diana at 248-283-6059 so that your specific situation may be properly researched and addressed.

Sincerely,
Diana

Replies
Cancel Your Account? Expect to Waste 2 Hours
By -

ROBBINSDALE, MINNESOTA -- Attempted to switch my services to another processor. Called the first time to cancel was sent to voicemail and was told a "senior rep" was going to call me back - 1 week later no phone call. Called them back again, spent about 10 minutes on hold to talk to the first person - then while on hold heard a message regarding "mybiz perks" and calling to opt out - found out the last year I have been with them I had been automatically enrolled in this program for the low low price of 9.95 a month!

Finally got a representative who asked me what they could to put me on hold to "research my account" for about 5 minutes then told me he couldn't close it and would transfer me to "senior rep" at extension 1400. Extension rang and rang until I got voicemail again. I refused to leave a message and went back to the main menu. This got me to escalations who then did the same process and told me again she had to transfer me to a senior representative I refused and demanded that someone resolve this issue and close the account. I was again told, "yes sir, please hold," then disconnected.

Called back again, this time about 1 hour and 20 minutes later now currently on hold after explaining to the "customer service rep" that if this couldn't be resolved after this phone call I would contact my bank and have all transactions from NAB refused, forward the matter to my attorney and report them to the attorney general and the FTC. Currently have been on hold for an additional 19:20. Rep came back on the line and has now informed me that we signed a 3-year contract allegedly. When we signed up the representative said there was no contract. Claim to cancel now is $820. Matter is being referred to our attorney.

Company Response 11/23/2010:

November 22, 2010

Dear Merchant,

NAB works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service that you have received in conjunction with your Merchant Account No. 8788290189*** .

Our records indicate that on August 11, you contacted us in regards to deposits and was advised that a Senior Representative at Extension 1400 would be able to assist you. We did not hear anything again until November 8, 2010 in regards to deposits again. Cancellation inquiry was brought up during a call on November 16 and was advised that there was an early termination fee associated with the Merchant Account.

If you feel that your account was incorrectly debited, or your fees have been inadequately advised, then we would need specific information in order to properly address the concerns or correct any errors.

Please have your Merchant Account number ready, and contact Diana at 248-283-6059 so that your specific situation may be properly researched and addressed.

If you have any correspondence from the sales agent advising of different fees, it can be faxed into our Customer Service Department fax at 248-283-6260 for review.

Sincerely,
Diana

Replies
Horrible Service - They Don't Care About You!
By -

After reviewing many merchant companies, I decided to go with North American Bancard. I signed up for an account. The sales guy (Bennie **) was VERY helpful with the initial step and got me both an online and offline (wireless) account. Great service so far, calling back almost instantly and emailing back within the hour.

They shipped the machine rapidly, awesome! However when I tried using the machine, it didn't work - said the account was invalid. I called Bennie ** for help. He checked and told me the account was valid and active, no problems. I tried again, still not working. I called Bennie ** back, this time left a voice mail. Didn't hear back for over a day, so I sent an email. This was also ignored. I was under time pressure because 3 days later I was going to a trade show.

Eventually I got him on the phone. He said he checked again and the account is in order, but if I was having problems, I should contact customer service. After calling customer service and speaking with 3 different people over a 2.5 hour period, I was finally informed that my account was closed (AFTER THE FACT). She said I would need to send the machine back, on my own cost. I inquired if there was anyone I could speak with to resolve this issue. The answer: no.

I called Bennie ** asking about the actual situation, why was this chaos going on and how could we resolve this. No reply. I sent 3 emails, both to him and then to customer service. No reply. Yesterday I got back to the US (having been in Europe on a business trip) to find a letter stating that if I don't return the machine by Nov 11 they would charge my account $895.

I shipped the machine yesterday with FedEx ground. Today my account was charged $895. I just called and left another message inquiring about this situation. So far I don't feel they care about small businesses, I've gotten nothing but a brush off attitude. Too bad, because they seemed incredible at the start.

Company Response 1/3/2011:

Dear Mr. Knewitz,

NAB strives to provide world class customer service to all of our merchants, and takes pride in diligently working to resolve any issues that may arise with your merchant account. I sincerely apologize that you were unable to obtain assistance, and answers to your questions when you needed them.
Although your merchant account was originally approved by NAB, further review indicated discrepancies in the application documents. A business decision was made by our Risk Department to close the account, and a notification letter was sent to your business address on file. Unfortunately, the Sales and Customer Service representatives that you spoke to when you called in, do not have access to Risk Department files and were unable to provide further details of the account closure. Our Risk Analysts are available to take your calls Monday through Friday from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm. Our call logs indicate that your first attempt to contact Risk was after hours, but that you were able to obtain assistance the following day.
The $895 debit to your bank account was in accordance with the "Free Terminal Placement Agreement" that you signed and agreed to with your merchant application. Upon the closure of your account, you were notified that this debit would occur if the machine was not returned by November 11, 2010. Since we did not receive it by the deadline, we had to assume that you chose to purchase the terminal. However, on November 24th the machine was received, and NAB did issue an ACH refund of the $895 to your bank account on file.
I hope that I have addressed all of your concerns. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 800-226-2273 Ext 1404.

Sincerely,
Jackie Alquiza
Risk Compliance Manager

Replies
Advertisement
PCI Compliance Fee Scam
By -

A few months ago, I changed from First Data to North American Bankcard to provide credit card processing for my small in home business, I process relatively few charges per month, usually less than a dozen, and my total credit card sales monthly is probably less than $2000. I'm very careful about what fees I pay and from my previous experience at First Data knew they had tried to charge me a PCI fee, but once I proved I was compliant by my own self-assessment test First Data waved the fee.

I made certain to ask my sales representative when I signed up with NAB if I'd have to pay a PCI fee and was told no at the time, after only 3 months, I received a notice on this month's statement that next month I would be charged a $79 PCI compliance fee. I've gone round the bend with the few CS representatives I can find to speak to about the issue, and they tell me I must pay, but if I must pay, I will be looking for a new service provider and a lawyer who is willing to investigate this for a potential class action suit, I'm almost certain this would be a great cause of action, with a large class that yields large dollars for some law firm.

Any lawyers looking for a case, feel free to contact me, and any business people looking at NAB steer clear... UPDATED 11/9/2010 - Today I was contacted by Diana at NAB and promised a refund of 79.00 would be sent to my account, I trust that will happen in the next few days.

I believe the way NAB is handling this fee is a deceptive and unfair trade practice still, and I believe until they are more forthcoming about this fee in advance and more plainly state the intention to charge it in the Merchant Agreement they will be liable for damages as a result of this policy. I am STILL going to have to fight with NAB each year over this fee. According to Diana the policy won't change, and I am still consulting legal advisers and considering further action in this matter.

Company Response 10/22/2010:

October 22, 2010

Dear Merchant,

NAB works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service that you have received on your Merchant Account. In regards to the PCI fee, every merchant was advised through the monthly statement the month prior to being billed.

PCI Data Security Standard was created to offer an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data and applies to all service providers and merchants that accept credit cards regardless of size or acceptance method.

The PCI Data Security Standard was reflected in the Terms & Conditions but not the exact amount. You can refer back to Section 3. Procedures where it states, “The PCI DSS is administered and managed by the PCI SSC (www.pcisecuritystandards.org), an independent body that was created by the major payment card brands (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover and JCB.).”

If you feel that your account was incorrectly debited, or your fees have been inadequately advised, then we would need specific information in order to properly address the concerns or correct any errors. If have any questions regarding this response, please contact me at 248-283-6059.

Sincerely,
Diana

Replies
Worse than Carnies... Criminals
By -

ATHENS, OHIO -- After 9 years with NAB with very little problems I decided to switch processing companies to throw some business to my bro-in-law. This company became immediately hostile and deceptive in order to squeeze as much money out of me as possible. I asked for a copy of my contract and was mailed an illegible version. The writing was obscured and tiny. Asked for a legible version and they sent the same version. I figured I would ask the customer service reps any questions I had regarding contractual issues with closing the account. BIG MISTAKE. The reps are intentionally deceptive and lull you into thinking you are on the right track and then debit your account later.

I was told to fax my request to close, which I did... three times. Each time they claimed they never received the fax. After the third time I asked to have immediate confirmation the fax was received which was met with hostility as though I was the one being unreasonable.

Explained on 3 separate occasions over the phone that I wanted my account closed in Feb. so I would not have to pay processing fees for March. Suggested Feb. 28th and was told that would be "fine". Of course I got processing fees for March.

Was also told that I did not have to return my machine. I HAVE WRITTEN PROOF IN AN EMAIL of the conversation where the representative said not to return it. Just got a letter stating that if the machine is not returned 10 days after the letter is dated (three days from now) I'll get a $500 fee.

The letter is postmarked two days after the letter is dated. I would have been HAPPY to return their old and outdated machine. They intentionally told me not to return it in hopes that they could get another $500 out of me after it was not returned on time. I would applaud a class action suit against this crooked company. I'm sure NAB will respond with their usual automated rebuttal about how they "strive" to meet customer's needs. What a load of crap.

Company Response 04/13/2010:

April 13, 2010

Dear Merchant,
As previously advised in the correspondence for your Merchant Account 878*******958 on another website, our records indicate that there was an ownership change done the business and you signed a Merchant Account Agreement Application along with a Free Terminal Agreement with North American Bancard on or about January 19, 2007, for a term of 36 months, upon which time you agreed to all the terms and conditions contained within the Agreements for Merchant Account 878*******958.
In regards to the agreement that was sent to you for review, I do apologize that you had such a hard time reading it but this was not the original paperwork that was mailed but a scanned copy from the system. You should have received and retained a copy for your records when the ownership process took place.
The first cancellation request was received on February 4, 2010 and account was to be closed in March as cancellation process can take up to 30 business days but was not able to be closed as there was still processing on the account.
You were sent a cancellation letter that stated, “Your account will be closed within 30 days upon receipt of this signed confirmation letter. Accounts cannot be closed if there is processing activity during the month; if activity exists the request will be held until the following month.”
Our records also indicate that a call was made to our Customer Service Department on March 1, 2010 and the account was notated that it will close in April 2010 as there was still processing. A Merchant Account is not able to be closed if there is processing where deposits need to be deposited into bank account. In your case, you had transactions that were processed on February 28, 2010 and settled that went into the month of March causing the account not being able to be closed.
Section 5 Payment and Fees state, “Merchant agrees to pay and Merchant's account(s) will be charged for the discount, fees, and other charges described in this Agreement. Merchant also agrees to pay and Merchant's account(s) will be debited for all fees, arbitration fees, fines, penalties, etc. charged by the card associations or network organizations on account of Merchant's processing hereunder.”
Should you have any questions regarding this response, please have your Merchant number ready and contact me directly at 248-283-6059.

Sincerely,
Diana – Customer Service

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

North American Bancard Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 18 ratings and
101 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
North American Bancard
250 Stephenson Hwy
Troy, MI 48083
1-800-226-2273 (ph)
www.nabancard.com
Compare Financial Services