Preview Review

Next Review

Northwest Airlines Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Northwest Lied to Us.
By -

I can't believe NWA cheat my 12 years old daughter and me. On the morning of June 17, 2007, we followed the NWA request to take the continental from Cleveland to New York, then transfer to China Eastern to Shanghai. (Our flight NW 1735 from Cleveland to Detroit was cancelled, so we couldn't transfer NW25 to Shanghai.) We asked the NWA and Continental the same question in Cleveland airport, “Do we need any ticket when we check in in China Eastern?” They gave us a same answer, “Don't worry, all of your information will be in the computer.”

However when we checked in China Eastern at 9:00pm on June 17th in New York, we were told that they weren't partners with NWA, so they needed paper tickets, at least confirmation number. We called the NWA immediately for assistance. Diana, a representative of the NWA said, “Don't blame me! I don't know.” She told us, "Take the Continental to Japan tomorrow morning 11:00am in Newark; then switch back NWA to Shanghai." We were told that, to try to find a hotel and transportation by ourselves that night, keep all the receipts and mail them back. She promised us twice, “NWA will refund the amount to you.”

Also, she promised again, “There isn't any problem when you check in Continental with the confirm number tomorrow morning 11:00am. (In fact, the Continental does need paper tickets from NWA when we checked in. We had to take air tram to another terminal to find the NWA counter to get them. We almost missed our flight again.) Finally, we checked in the hotel by Newark's airport at 2:10am on June 18 (we got up 6:00am on June 17).

In past 5 month, we haven't complained anything about (1. Our luggage was delayed for the 3 days. We had to buy another evening dress to go wedding party. 2. Me, a single woman and my daughter, 12 years old girl had to wait for airport shuttle in the dangerous downtown of New York in midnight at 1:00am). Can you image how scared we are? We sent receipts ($249.66 hotel and $44.00 shuttle) 5 times to NWA. (3 faxes, 1 mail and 1 register mail).

In the e-mail of Kate **, Customer Care of NWA on Tuesday, Sept. 4th, 2007 12:56pm (Subject: Re: CR-Complaints KMM **) to us, they thought, "When our cancellation resulted in an overnight stay, we should have made every effort to provide meal and hotel accommodations." Finally, we received a response from NWA in Dec. They refused to refund the amount to us without any reason, just $100.00 for value customer. We can't believe the NWA overthrow their promise. They cheat us. We're being a cooperative customer. However, we can't be responsible to NWA's error. It's not fair to the customer. I agree with: “Northwest = Northworst.”

Replies
Advertisement
Unfortunate Behavior at Northwest Airlines
By -

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- When you visit the Northwest Airlines website, there is an entire section dedicated to ".. thank military personnel who bravely serve our country!" http://www.nwa.com/features/militaryelite/index.html. However, this morning, they weren't represented as being at all thankful or gracious toward my brother, an active duty military specialist who completed an 18 month tour in Iraq this November. My brother was on his way home to see his adoring family for the first time since his return safely to the United States. He missed his flight to St. Louis, and was told "nothing could be done because flight insurance was not purchased."

Fact: Customers are PEOPLE. Human. We have occasional instances when we are imperfect, and need the assistance of A PERSON to lend a helping hand. I can imagine that my brother was late for a plethora of reasons... none of which he shared. He was, in fact, late. He doesn't recall an opportunity presented to purchase travel insurance, and the "Customer Care" representative did NOT offer him another flight option. In fact, he was offered nothing. They basically stated there was nothing they can do, there is nothing that can be done, and he was stranded at the airport.

Fact: We live in a time of many choices in regard to whom we choose to do business. Our money is power. We, as consumers in this capitalist country can choose to fund the operations of businesses offering services meeting - at least - our basic expectations as paying customers.

Fact: We live in a digital age, and I have the freedom of speech. I will resonate my discontent across the worldwide web with Northwest Airlines' inability to assist a client. Everyone will know what distasteful service they delivered to a soldier returning from Iraq who hasn't seen his family in over 19 months as of December 20, 2007. They offered him Nothing.

Replies
My flight from Chattanooga to Chicago
By -

WASHINGTON, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA -- So, here I am, writing a review on Northwest Airlines. I just felt I had to put in my 2 cents after reading the other comments on Northwest. I flew from Chattanooga, Tennessee, my hometown, to Chicago, to visit my uncle and aunt in late December 2006. I flew on a Saab 340 plane, a very small and noisy plane, from Chattanooga to Memphis, on 12/26 then connected to the flight from Memphis to Chicago on a DC-9, a very nice plane. The Northwest people were very nice, but the people who worked at Memphis' airport and were not affiliated with Northwest were surly and rude.

So, the flight went well and I visited my uncle and aunt. So, I was ready to fly back to Chattanooga via Memphis. It's raining outside and I dismiss it because it's not raining hard enough to disrupt flight operations at O'Hare Intl Airport. I board the plane and, guess what happened? Yep, you guessed right: there was enough rain to disrupt flight operations and the plane sat there on the tarmac for an hour and the plane took off and landed in Memphis. Due to the weather, not Northwest's fault, I missed my flight to Chattanooga and I had to wait 6 hours in Memphis.

The Northwest people didn't know how old I was. I'm 19 now, but I looked 16 or 17 to the staff, so they put me in the minors' supervision room and so I was stuck there from 2 pm to about 8:45 pm at night. Oh yeah, they gave me a discount coupon for 400 dollars as compensation for missing my flight. Unfortunately, I lost the coupon. I finally got on the plane and landed, finally home. I got home at about 10:45 pm. You know what the ironic thing is? That very day I flew home, it was New Years' Eve!

The final thing I'm going to say about this is that the experience was not bad, in my experience, because that it was not Northwest's fault. To that effect, I've purchased tickets on Northwest from Chicago to Minneapolis, where I'm going to go after visiting my uncle and aunt for Thanksgiving, and also to fly home, to Chattanooga, from Washington, DC, where I attend college now. Prices from Chicago to Minneapolis are cheap: I bought my ticket back in September and it cost 71 bucks.

From DC to Chattanooga and back via Memphis and Detroit, 303.50 bucks. So, all in all, Northwest Airlines does a hell of a job of providing customer services and relatively cheap prices to people of all abilities. I'm deaf and the airline made my experience go much smoother than I expected. Thanks, Northwest Airlines!

Replies
Non-Maintenance Of Flight Schedules And Uncomprimising Attitude Towards Consumers
By -

MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE -- Hello. I am writing my experience with regard to travel plan with Northwest Airlines. I booked international travel from Memphis-Hyderabad via Northwest/KLM with a stopover at Amsterdam. The passengers were my wife and infant son aged 8 months. The actual travel date was 08/08/2007. The flight number is NW58. On that day when we reached the airport, we came to know that the flight has been delayed till 10:30 pm. The scheduled departure for the flight was 7:20 PM. As this would cause my wife to lose her connection flight from Amsterdam To Hyderabad, we rescheduled the booking to next day i.e. 08/09/2007. The flight on 08/08/2007 was subsequently canceled.

When we reached the airport the following day, the flight (NW 58) was delayed again. We asked for alternatives and were told that we can either wait for the flight to take off at whatever time it takes off and lose the connecting flight in Amsterdam and be at the mercy of the agents at Amsterdam for our travel to Hyderabad or reschedule our travel plans. As my wife was traveling alone with an infant we decided to reschedule rather than be stuck at Amsterdam. When we contacted the airlines via telephone to rebook (that is the only option available it seems for international travel) we asked for a re-routing so that we can avoid this particular flight.

We were told in very certain terms that if we forego the bassinet seat request then only they would provide another routing. Also they told that this would be our final adjustment and they would not adjust again, and we have to travel no matter what on a flight suggested by them. As my son is an infant we could not forego the bassinet and we ended up with a reservation for 08/12/2007. As of now there is no information whether the Flight (NW 58) left on 08/09/2007.

My question is how can the airline screw up an international flight two days in a row? Also is it no obligatory on the airline to see if they can honor the passenger's request instead of saying "no" in the first place itself. Needless to say this caused mighty upsets not only for my wife but also to family members awaiting my wife and son's arrival at Hyderabad. At this moment we are not confident if the flight scheduled for 08/12/2007 would take off.

Replies
Advertisement
Northwest Is the Very Worst
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This isn't quite recent but bear with me. A few years back I went cross-country on Northwest and this was the first time I've ever flew. Halfway across the flight, I asked for some coffee. The flight attendant glared at me and look at me like I was Garbage (I never did get any coffee)! Then I was struggling with my luggage, told me to get my act together! Is this the professional service they are supposed to show their customers!? I tried calling their so-called customer service, was put on hold for over an hour then hung up on!! The only way to get even is to tell people NEVER FLY NORTHWEST!!! I HOPE THEY GO OUT OF BUSINESS!!!

Replies
Cats on flight
By -

77 W WACKER DR, CHICAGO, IL 60601, MINNESOTA -- I have not flown Northwest Airlines for some time and I had the unfortunate experience flying back from Virginia Beach, VA to Chicago, IL. On this flight was a very quiet, well behaved little terrier dog and two (I think) very noisy cats that meowed all during the two hour and twenty-six minute flight. My daughter (an adult) asked for ear plugs and the airline steward said he had none. I asked him if, when traveling with pets, the animals were to be given a sedative to help them adjust to the flight and he said he didn't know (or did not care). These cats were two rows behind us and this was definitely the flight from HELL. Those cats were very disruptive to the flight.

After we arrived in Chicago, other passengers were complaining about the cats also. One man sitting next to me said he had traveled with his dog in the past and YES, they are to be given a sedative to relax and quiet down the animals. How can an airline allow one passenger to bring these cats on the flight and disrupt the whole flight for the other passengers? I will certainly try to not to travel this airline in the future. Very inconsiderate to the needs of others.

Replies
Stolen Camera
By -

I am entering this review since it was my property stolen, though another person on the flight. I had loaned my roommate my camera for her trip to Louisiana to see her family for Christmas. She had packed everything in one backpack so she could carry it on and it would be safe, apparently not. At the gate, they took the backpack from her, telling her the plane was too small, she had to check the bag. Lo and behold, on arrival to Baton Rouge, the bag is missing.

Two days later, when the bag is found and returned to her, everything is in it, except for my Kodak C1013. The camera was a gift from Christmas the year before, and I am unable to get a receipt for it. Without proof of ownership, I doubt I will get any reimbursement for the theft, though we are attempting filing anyway. Heads up, Northwest = thieves.

Replies
Checked Baggage
By -

I work for the Federal Government and travel frequently on various airlines. I was traveling from Tampa to Nashville today and when I checked in, I was informed that my bag would have to be checked and could not be carried on the plane. This is the exact same bag that I use when traveling for the Government and I have NEVER had to check this bag.

I made the reservation on Orbitz and I feel that this is a direct result of me not using NWA as the agent. I was billed $15.00 and when I got to the gate, there were bags that were larger than mine and they were allowed to take them down the ramp. Some went on the plane while others were checked at the door of the aircraft. Piss poor customer service and rules when I know better. You are not consistent at all. I do have choices when I fly and will in the future will strive to take alternate carriers when possible.

E-mail thread about a forced baggage check on a one-way ticket bought on Orbitz. They gave me my $15 bag fee back in an electronic credit when I fly again. RIGHT, I am going to fly with you again soon. I am sadistic and love being treated like dirt. NWA is really bringing down Delta's customer service standards very quickly. Delta should have let them go belly up.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Company I Have Ever Dealt With
By -

On our flight to Honolulu, our connecting flight was late. NWA knew we were a little late but closed the gate door on us 10 minutes before the flight time. We arrived 9 minutes before and could see them close the door. They refused to let us on. They told us to take it up with Alaska because their flight was late and it was their problem. On the return flight, they did not book us in seats together despite having empty rows that they were trying to sell just before the flight. After sending in a complaint letter, they offered a pathetic $50 voucher.

Replies
Lost Baggage - Very Poor Customer Service and Rude Employees
By -

I usually don't care about services. I just look for basic mutual respect but that seems like a big ask for NWA. Unfortunately, I was stupid enough to fly with Northwest Airlines more than once even though I had issues with their services the first time as well. They have a very poor customer service in so many respects.

They lost my bags. I was very patient with them because I know this happens BUT they told me they would keep looking for my luggage but actually, they did not do anything. I had to call them several times until they realized I would like to get my luggage back (should it not be evident?) which had everything since I moved temporarily to another place for a year. Finally, after I kept calling them for several days, they said they have managed to track one of my bags.

When I asked them how come I haven't received it, they said because they were waiting for the other one to be found because they will only bring them together. The lady on the phone was arrogant and obviously couldn't understand that I had no clothes to put on and lost my textbooks for school. I know it was not her fault that my luggage was gone. Aren't these people trained to have some sympathy for their customers though? At least to sound as if they cared a little?

It seemed like I was blamed for this and I felt that it's not that they couldn't resolve my problem but they did not even want to. Their services on the flights are horrible too so I would not recommend them at all. I would rather pay double or triple but I would never fly with NWA again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Northwest Airlines Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
87 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Northwest Airlines
5101 Northwest Dr.
St. Paul, MN 55121
612-726-2331 (ph)
www.nwa.com
Compare Airline Companies