NW Rugs

2 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Discrimination Based on Perceived Age and Income Level
Posted by on
PORTLAND, OREGON -- My wife and I recently purchased a house in the St. Johns area of Portland, OR. While on the way to Jantzen beach to look around, we decided to stop into the local NW Rugs shop to see what they carried. We are in the process of furnishing this house and rugs as well as furniture are on the top of our list. When we walked in I was of course approached by a salesman who asked how we were doing and if he could help us find something. I told him that we were simply looking around. He then pressed the issue stating that may be if we told him what we were looking for. At this point I became a little irritated at his car-salesman persistence.

I informed him that if I needed anything that I would let him know, but that we were going to look around. He said; " Actually I can't let you do that, It's store policy I can't let you walk around here by yourself". I was completely shocked at this statement, so I informed him that that was fine we would go then. I grabbed all three of the business cards on the desk as the actual salesman did not have a name-tag on for me to identify him. Albeit there were only 3 business cards so it should not be hard to narrow it down who it was. I found his response completely rude and unprofessional. If this was truly a "Store-policy" then he should have informed me why it was. The truth is that it was 20 minutes to close, and I was dressed in a t-shirt and shorts and look like I'm in my early 20's.

Or perhaps it was because my wife is Asian? Either way I have contacted the BBB of Oregon/WA and am also contacting their corporate office to inquire as to the true "Store-Policy".

Do yourself a favor, don't shop at a company that does not have the professionalism required to hire employees that have the ability to communicate correctly.

DON'T SHOP AT NW RUGS!!!!!
Resolution Update 07/30/2009:
Was called and talked to the regional manager. He apologized and clarified that it would not happen again, and that it was not store policy.
     
Read 15 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
goduke on 2009-07-30:
Or, perhaps it really is a store policy. At this point, discrimiation has been assumed. And we all know what happens when you assume.
Anonymous on 2009-07-30:
So, you're just assuming that was the case... and it may not actually *be* the case.
MRM on 2009-07-30:
Assumptions is the mother of all fu**kups.
BokiBean on 2009-07-30:
If you don't like their hard sell...move on down the road. There are other rug stores that won't be so obnoxious.
PepperElf on 2009-07-30:
how did they discriminate on your age and perceived income?

were there others walking around "just looking" or was it just you and your wife?

Heck... technically if you were the only customers there, you can also claim discrimination on race, creed, looks, sexual preference... I mean it'll have the same level of credibility as the ones listed
goduke on 2009-07-30:
Maybe they thought you were from New Jersey.
MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-07-30:
I don't see how this is discrimination on any level. Your perception doesn't make it true...it may be their policy...just shop somewhere else...boycott with your dollars!
Anonymous on 2009-07-30:
You either have ESP, or a very vivid imagination.
Trader James on 2009-07-30:
I have received an apology from the District manager, who was very professional and kind. Perhaps it was just this employee.
Crown Jules on 2009-07-30:
I think the discrimination was in your own mind. You showed up near the end of the business day and, to avoid having customers wandering the store after closing, the salesman probably just wanted to direct you to the items you might be most interested in. However, he can't really say "It's closing time, get out" so he calls it "store policy". Based on most of your review, however, it sounds like you take offense quickly and easily.
madconsumer on 2009-07-30:
you were profiled. I say contact the local news media!
Anonymous on 2009-07-30:
Who called the rug place?
Anonymous on 2009-07-30:
Mad, are you serious? This is kids play to the media. No harm, no foul and they apologized already.
BokiBean on 2009-07-30:
Uh, the complaint was resolved. That's what "Resolved" in big green letters means.
madconsumer on 2009-07-30:
oh pooki
Close commentsAdd reply
NW Rugs unfair dealings
Posted by on
WILSONVILLE, OREGON -- Charge in Dispute:

$1795 from NW Rugs, 29660 SW Town Center Loop W, Wilsonville, Or 97070. 1-503-682-7847
They have stores in: L.A., Las Vegas, and Portland , Oregon metro area. Corporate headquarters: 28610 Canwood Street, Agoura Hills, CA 91301

Wilsonville, Oregon store: 29660 SW Town Center Loop W, Wilsonville, Or 97070 503-682-7847.


5/12/04: Purchased a rug from NW Rigs. The size I wanted was not in stock so it was ordered. Salesperson: Electra Bellizzi. I asked her if I could return the rug if the colors were not right. She said yes. I asked about delivery time and she said that another store might have it in stock and that it would be sent over right away. Otherwise it would be 2-4 weeks. That VERY LEADING statement is indicative of an in stock item.

5/14/04: I called to cancel the rug as I found another one. Electra said I could not cancel it and she would not refund my money. At that point she told me that the special order could not be cancelled. I was NEVER NEVER told that. I was told I could return it. Electra said she would only give me store credit. I do not want store credit. I want my charge reversed. I do not have the rug. They refuse. Rob Miller at NW Rugs Wilsonville, Oregon was very rude and he said policy is policy and he said I was rude. Darren Piper, the manager was to call me back and he never called. Michele at NW Rugs corporate was to call me back and she never called.

I do not have the rug. I have refused delivery of the rug. The rug is not in my possession nor has it ever been. I refuse to pay for this rug.

I called UPS and indicated that delivery of the rug was refused by me. I called MC and asked how to dispute this charge. They told me to put all this in writing and when the bill came, to dispute the charge.

I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau of Washington and Oregon.
Company Response 01/25/2009:
Base on NW Rugs policy which is post it on store and write in invoice for customer to see and sign at time of purchase, and because of cost of delivery NW Rugs do not cancel, return, or exchange any order, this policy is written on invoice for customer to read and sign. sorry for any convenient.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >