[X]

Orbitz - Page 3

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
179 Reviews & Complaints


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Cancelled Business Fare Reservation to Paris Without Notification
Posted by Bryancadams on 08/19/2013
I purchased business class tickets from Charlotte to Paris for our 10th anniversary trip for $6800--a splurge to say the least. I used Orbitz for the transaction. I purchased the tickets in May 2013 for our Sept 2013 trip--plenty of time to ensure convenient arrival/departure times and minimal layovers.
Sometime in June 2013, the return leg of our trip was cancelled without my knowledge. I received no notification of this. I only learned of this when I went to the site to review our itinerary. When I called Orbitz, I was told that, yes, the return flight reservation was cancelled, and that I would need to call British Airways to iron it out. BA, of course, told me that only Orbitz could fix this. Orbitz seemed to have little interest in correcting this major mistake. After 6 hours on the phone and talking with multiple different "supervisors", we got some new flights with very inconvenient departure times and huge layovers. No apologies. They absurdly made it seem like I was the problem, like it was somehow my fault.
The worst service of all time. No more Orbitz

     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Booked Flight Over a Year About, Orbitz Decided to Change That
Posted by Brcny0220 on 08/12/2013
MADISON, WISCONSIN -- I booked my flight to Rhode Island with a group of people over a year ago. A week to go before I travel, I got an email saying that Orbitz went through and changed my flight time, without ever contacting me. They changed it so I, just me, was getting in 8 hours later than the original booked flight. I was not stand by, so I was a little confused. Especially seeing that no one else in my party was changed. So I called, and a women in the Philippines said that it wasn't their fault it was United, in fact I never paid Orbitz, that fact differs from my receipt, and in fact I paid United directly.

Now I asked them why [snip] did I book it through you and not just through United directly and that she was wrong because I know Orbitz gets a portion of what I paid. Never the less the women told me I had to contact United.

I called United and a women in India told me that United contacted Orbitz 5 months earlier about the flight change and that it is Orbitz's fault for waiting too long, never contacting me and waited to the last minute to book me on another flight. In fact if they were prompt about it I would have gotten on a earlier flight. And seeing that it was Orbitz fault United refused to book me in any other airline, and told me to talk to Orbitz. Who said guess what... It was United's fault.

I'm amazed that this company gets by on screwing over their customers. Hopefully they go out of business.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Weedwhacked on 2013-08-12:
Do you actually believe that travel agencies can change flight times? Airlines have schedule changes about 4 times a year, (which is why booking over a year early is not a good idea). By choosing Orbitz instead of United to put yourself in more risk. When United makes a schedule change they advise all the customers that booked directly with them. Those who chose travel agencies need to get that information from the agencies as the airline doesn't have your contact information in a way that they can contract you directly.
Posted by custrelguy on 2013-08-19:
Hi, Brcny0220,
This is Robert, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com. Please use my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.
Thank you for your patience, I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Robert Woyach
Orbitz Customer Relations
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Customer Service
Posted by Dontwantemail on 08/09/2013
My price of my flight was increased in the amount of time it took me to fill out the billing information to book. When I called the customer service desk for help, I was on the phone for 45 min, talked to 4 different people, and was disconnected three time. They requested my phone number in case of a disconnection. But I never received a call back, I had to call back each time and wait on hold all over again. Nothing was ever figured out, and they could not even locate the flight I was waiting to book (even though it was sitting on the computer screen in front of me, and I had given them all of the information).
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Unclear Customer Service Rep
Posted by Bchambs11 on 07/23/2013
PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- I called Orbitz today to add one more day to my vacation which would require an additional rental car day and a change in flight. I was told that my car rental would be cancelled and rebooked for a new higher price. I said ok for that. My original cost was $607 for the whole trip then it went to $749.

The representative spoke about a $400 flight change. So to reassure what my total cost would be I asked if I would be only paying the different of $607 and $749 and she said yes. I asked twice and got attitude for asking the second time. I thought the $400 dollars was the total of my entire flight not for changing. That's why I asked multiple times if my total was only going to go up to $749.

Well the second I checked my bank account I noticed that I was charged that $400 taking me to over a $1000 on the whole trip. That's why I asked multiple times about my total. The customer service desk won't help me when I tell the situation. All I did was sit on hold the entire time. If they listen to the recording they could clearly hear me ask multiple times about my total charges and the representative clearly state that I will only be paying the $749 total. I did not want to double my charges for only one extra day on vacation.

     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Weedwhacked on 2013-07-23:
Changes in flights after they're ticketed are very expensive. You should have booked directly with the airline as it would have been easier to see the total difference. It wouldn't have been cheaper, but you would know right away what you would be charged.
Posted by Orbitz on 2013-07-25:
Hi,

My name is Charlotte, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Charlotte
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible Customer Service
Posted by Habibgomezn on 07/11/2013
I had to change my flight to a different flight with Orbitz since I purchased my tickets with them. No one knows what they are doing. I asked to speak to a supervisor and I was placed on hold for about 45 minutes waiting for a supervisor. When the supervisor picked up, she didn't even know what she was doing. She asked me the same questions over and over and did not comprehend that I needed to change my tickets.

If you can avoid booking any flights with Orbitz I would recommend it. No one knows what they are doing. Very frustrating and a waste of my time.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by custrelguy on 2013-07-18:
Hi, habibgomezn,
This is Robert, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations team. I am sorry for the disservice from Orbitz. Please forward the Orbitz Record Locator to us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com. Please use my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.
Thank you for your patience, I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Robert Woyach
Orbitz Customer Relations
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible Customer Service!
Posted by Dervish9 on 07/10/2013
Do you think that they could hire somebody from the US instead of outsourcing? They had no idea what I was talking about - It was an absolute nightmare. They couldn't understand even the simplest question. So extremely frustrating - ARRGH!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Orbitz Worldwide on 2013-07-11:
Hi,
My name is Charlotte, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, and I will be happy to assist you.
Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Charlotte
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Orbitz - Flight Time Change Without Notification
Posted by Molly.rudd on 07/10/2013
ONLINE, WASHINGTON -- I spent over 2 ½ on the phone yesterday, only to have Brian – Agent #039191 refuse to pass me on to his manager. I booked 4 tickets to Cincinnati on 3/20/2013 for a flight on 7/11/2013. I am flying with 2 children and am VERY picky about layover times. I chose the flight I did because the only non-stop to CVG is a red eye and this flight only had an hour layover and was only about an 1 ½ hours longer than the direct flight.

Apparently the airlines cancelled the first leg of our flight and moved us to a flight that left 4 hours earlier (making it nearly a 5 hour layover in Denver) on May 13, 2013 but we weren’t notified. The only e-mail we received on all 4 of our flights was for my husband’s (his was booked under a separate itinerary because he had to come home earlier than us) on May 30, 2013 and it showed the 2:36 departure (which had been canceled 2 weeks prior to that). The next notice we received from Orbitz was yesterday to prepare for your trip, and it showed the new departure time of 10:36.

Unfortunately with it only being 2 days prior to flying it did not give adequate time to take any action. If I had been notified timely I would have either canceled our flights with Frontier and booked something that had a more acceptable flight time, or made arrangements to fly a day earlier as that flight was still available then. The airlines didn’t have another flight to offer and Orbitz would not take responsibility and put me on a different flight. The only accommodation offered was a $50 voucher. I can assure you that if this is how Orbitz conducts business I will never use them again and ensure I have posted my dissatisfaction on every available social media.

I was completely shocked at how poor the customer service was. Then I started reading the reviews here and realize that this is not a one off situation.

BEWARE - ALWAYS BOOK DIRECTLY WITH THE AIRLINES!!!!!
Read Company Response
Company Response on 07/18/2013:
Hi, Molly,
This is Robert, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations team. I am sorry for the disservice from Orbitz. Please forward the Orbitz Record Locator to us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com. Please use my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.
Thank you for your patience, I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Robert Woyach
Orbitz Customer Relations
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Weedwhacked on 2013-07-10:
You want a travel agency to pay for a different flight due to an AIRLINE schedule change? When you purchased your ticket you agreed to the term that the airline can change flight times at any time they choose. It is your own responsibility to keep up-to-date on your itinerary.
Posted by molly.rudd on 2013-07-10:
It was Orbitz responsibility to update the itinerary with the change from the airlines, which they did not. I had been on-line and looked at my itinerary after the airline made the change and Orbitz was not reflecting the change. Just as the e-mail they sent on May 30th didn't reflect the new flight times (this was 17 days after the airlines made the change). I agree that if I HAD been notified of the change and chose to not do anything about it at that time it would be my own fault, or if the airline had made the closer to the travel date, it would be between me and the airline. But this was CLEARLY Orbitz' miss.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
HORRIBLE. I Am Done With Orbitz
Posted by Poetaparadise on 07/07/2013
Orbitz is horrible. I have used them for many years, but this is the end. I booked two tickets to Europe, then never received a confirmation or itinerary. I called customer service, and they couldn't find one either. So I re-booked. Then I get my Visa bill with TWO charges for $2,600! I call the airline and sure enough, I've been booked twice on the same flight. I call Orbitz and after a half an hour on hold, I'm told that I have to call back when the airline is open. Why can't they just take care of this? I ask.

Oh no, it only works when you're on the phone. This is when I slam the phone down on the representative (which I never do this kind of thing) because I am so angry. Screw you, Orbitz. I am taking my thousands of dollars of annual travel someplace else.

     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by custrelguy on 2013-07-08:
Hello,

My name is Shalon, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Shalon
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Posted by Sastia on 2013-07-10:
I experience exactly with orbitz. I was charged double with my flight and they did not notice it at all. According to them it is just one booking in their record and they said they'll fix it and I was asked to hold on the line while they call the visa card company. What nonsense is that? They promised to call back but they never did and until now there is still two bookings and one is not cancelled. I will never ever use orbitz again. The worst customer service ever!
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
"There Is Nothing We Can Do"
Posted by Dorapoo on 07/06/2013
Due to a scheduling conflict, my husband and I had to change our returning flight. Orbitz explained that there would be a $105 charge per ticket, which I understood. However, the new flight was $95 cheaper than the original flight. The customer service representative assured me that the $95 would be given to me in the form of an in-flight voucher (a voucher that could be used on food in the plane). She provided me with a phone number where I could call and receive my voucher. What I had not mentioned previously, was that she put me on hold for 30 minutes while she looked this policy up in her refund manual.

I called the number listed, and the voice on the other end stated that "Orbitz lied to you, we do not do that here."

I called Orbitz back, explaining the situation, and asking for a refund of that $95. The representative and supervisor just kept repeating, "there is nothing we can do." In the 10 minutes it took me to call the number provided, and call Orbitz back, my credit card had already been charged, and they could no longer process any fee changes to my booking...

I said, let me ask you this: if the flight was more expensive, wouldn't you charge me? Then if the flight is cheaper, you should refund me. It can't go one way and not the other.

In the end, there was nothing that Orbitz could do, except for repeat that there was nothing they could do. Their customer service was terrible and unprofessional. They have no regard for the individuals who help keep their company afloat. They're a scam.

I would never do business with them again.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Jeanna on 2013-07-07:
Hi

My name is Jeanna, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Jeanna
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Customer Service
Posted by Greenprobe5 on 06/28/2013
Don't book through Orbitz!!!!! Need to cancel a hotel reservation, which the hotel allows without penalty. Was on hold with Orbitz customer service for over 2 hours. When the Rep finally answered, claimed he couldn't hear me and promptly hung up. At the same time I was on their website trying to log in so I could cancel there. Their server wouldn't let me in. I hate you Orbitz. Never again.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Old Timer on 2013-06-28:
It's not just Orbitz. All these 3rd party travel sites are bad. Though Orbitz and Priceline are a couple of the worst for stealing peoples money.

Book direct, less grief, more help.
Posted by custrelguy on 2013-06-29:
Hello,

My name is Shalon, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Shalon
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Posted by Cristina on 2013-07-04:
Dear Orbitz traveler,

We regret to inform you that, due to limited availability, the airline was not able to confirm the flights you requested. As a result, no tickets have been issued for this trip and we have reversed any credit card charges.

OK, the airline ticket was reimbursed. Wait to see if Orbitz charges will be reimbursed too.

BUT....Looking on Orbitz website...guess what. The "cancelled" flight is still available (3 tickets left @ this price) ???

Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >