Orbitz - Page 4

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 72 ratings and
186 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
$300 Rip Off By Orbitz
Posted by on
OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- Let me recount what a NIGHTMARE it was dealing with the Orbitz customer service staff:

I originally called a sales agent to book a new flight from OKC to Washington DC (July 3-July 6) in order to use a credit I had on my account from a previous cancellation. I would normally book it through the website, but I was forced to call an agent in order to use my credit.

I spoke with a girl and I gave her all my information and told her I needed a flight from OKC-Washington DC, leaving on July 3rd and returning on July 6th. She said there would be a $130 charge per flight off my credit due to some rebooking fees from my previous cancellation and charged my credit card accordingly ($280). I was fine with this as I understood the cancellation policy. She booked my flight and charged the price difference that she found for the flights. She then notified me I would receive an email confirmation of the flight details shortly and thanked me for my business.

Minutes after I hung up the phone, I checked my email for the confirmation. Upon reviewing the information, I noticed that she had made a HUGE mistake and booked the returning flight as July 5th, as opposed to July 6th that I requested. I immediately called back and spoke with someone in customer service thinking this would be an easy mistake to correct and no harm was done. I spoke to a customer service agent and was told that there was nothing she could do and I would be charged fees to correct her mistake. I then requested to speak with a supervisor and ended up with Marcello (MTO).

Marcello opened an investigation regarding the matter and said he would call me later in the evening. Two hours later, he called me back and said he reviewed the phone call and that he understood that I requested July 6th, but that your customer service girl did not interpret it correct and booked July 5th as the return date. He then informed me that I would be charged another $150/flight ($300 total for the 2 flights I purchased) in order to change the return dates to July 6th. He offered the Orbitz fees ($30) to be taken off, but nothing else. He then tried to contact American Eagle and notify them of the booking agent’s mistake to see if you could get a refund, but informed me they were closed for the evening. I asked if he would contact them in the morning and he said the investigation has now been closed and offered no other solutions to remedy the situation.

This is outright unacceptable from Orbtiz. I have a hard time believing that they treat all their customers this way for mistakes that their own employees make. He wanted me to pay $300 for a mistake that an Orbitz booking agent made?

I have informed many friends & family members of their practices and recommended they cease doing business with Orbitz. My company also does quite a bit of business with Orbitz for travel arrangements. I have expressed to all my colleagues how disappointed I was in the Orbitz services. Needless to say, I am a very upset customer and demand that action be taken to correct this mistake immediately.

I have also filed a complaint against Orbitz with the Better Business Bureau, case #94183498
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2008-06-05:
American Eagle is operated by American Airlines. Their customer service offices are open 24/7. The Orbitz manager lied to you. Considering that you are already ticketed I would suggest that you contact American and see what they can do.
Oh.Brutha on 2008-09-28:
The Orbitz agent probably needed to speak to the American Airlines travel agent desk. They have more power than the average American agent the public can talk to. The travel agent line is not open on weekends. And, I bet this man told the agent he had flexibility in his dates in order to get a better price. The agent probably found it cheaper to return one day sooner, and is required to recapped the itinerary before they finalize the transaction. After getting the flight for much less, I bet the traveler then called in to say it was booked incorrectly, hoping Orbitz would pick up the tab, and the agent would take the hit.
Close commentsAdd reply
Orbitz Leaves Honeymooners High And Dry 11 Days Before Departure!!
Posted by on
This review is written in an attempt to appeal to consumers who may not fully understand the extent in which companies, like Orbitz, are willing and able to rip you off and leave you high and dry. My story begins 1 year ago in June 2007, just around the time I was getting married and trying to negotiate my honeymoon plans. My husband and I always wanted to go somewhere tropical, since he's from England and I'm from Chicago, so Jamaica seemed like a very logical destination. As we began our typical search we started noticing that our best financial bet would be to purchase a package deal, with airfare and hotel included.

After having several good experiences with Travelocity and Expedia we turned to them in hopes of being able to purchase a package, however, in the home stretch due to a minor price difference we ended up reserving with Orbitz--what a mistake that was!! Several days after our wedding it came to our attention that my husband would not be legally allowed to re-enter the states without authorization, which is only obtained through a lengthy and expensive process. Now armed with that information we knew we had only 2 options, either cancel our honeymoon or postpone it to the following year--which brings us to June 2008. Of course we decided to go ahead and postpone our honeymoon, to the tune of $1,900 in cancellation fees, re-booking charges, and rate changes. Our only other alternative was to cancel the honeymoon without any sort of compensation due to the short notice that we were provided. It seemed like a no brainer--pay a bit of extra money and don't lose over $3,000 (the cost of the original booking)and we still get to go to Jamaica---WRONG!!

Several days ago we were contacted by Orbitz who initially told us that there was a cancellation with our direct flight to Jamaica. After several hours of trying to straighten things out with Orbitz and our flights, it came to light that there was no problem with Air Jamaica, in actuality the problem was Orbitz--who never made the official changes to our reservations. At this point I have spent nearly 8 hours on the phone with Orbitz alone, not including the time I have been forced to spend on the phone explaining this to everyone from the resort (who believes we were a NO SHOW last year--and have charged us as such) to the whole family.

Unfortunately, we have still not resolved this issue as Orbitz has done nothing to try to fix this problem. All they were willing to do is to try to get us on another flight that would be at our expense, with the average difference costing us around $700-800. The audacity of this company is unbelievable, especially considering that we paid $1,900 last year to have the flights changed and we received confirmation of that change through an e-mail and a credit card statement.

To make matters worse Orbitz never even extended an apology, instead they choose to say "sorry for your inconvenience", isn't that the understatement of the year!!

UPDATE...
After several more agonizing hours on the phone I finally managed to get a human being on the phone that was able to extend a sincere apology to both my husband and I, however that was about all she could offer. In retrospect I wish I had tried a few other phone lines before committing into an unfair arrangement which appeared as our only option. At least what I have learned is that there are some individuals that are willing to work with the customer and abide by the laws of common decency, as well as taking into account the restrictions of their company. Unfortunately, it is the luck of the draw when it comes to how many numbers can be used to contact Orbitz's customer service reps and who you'll actually get on the other line.

I wanted to add that my husband and I have been able to re-coordinate airfare through an alternative source. Thanks to the flexibility and compassion of the resort (Couples Swept Away) that we were "booked" into we will be able to go on our honeymoon after all, as they are honoring our previous reservation. As for Orbitz, we agreed on a refund for our flight but they did not offer any other compensation for what appears to be 100% their fault. At this time we are very grateful that we have a Honeymoon to take at all but we do have every intention on following through with further investigation into what went wrong. Even just an hour ago we received an e-mail confirming our flight and our hotel and this was after many lengthy conversations with Orbitz representatives. Just out of curiosity I contacted Air Jamaica, who we were originally booked with, and they told us that we are in their system from last years reservations and they have a notation of Orbitz calling last July and canceling our flight. So what exactly was that $1,900 charge for rescheduling for, when nothing was actually rescheduled and even up till an hour ago we are still be reported as having a booked holiday through Orbitz...? The whole thing is almost incomprehensible..but at least we can now save our moaning for the beach...no thanks to Orbitz!
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2008-06-02:
I agree that Orbitz appears to have dropped the ball. While you failed to cover all of the legal issues regarding visa paperwork, you were willing to part with a substantial amount of cash to salvage the trip. By paying that, you had every reason to expect that Orbitz would address any schedule changes in a professional manner. "We apologize for any inconvenience" holds equal (no) value with "Your call is very important to us". Very helpful post. Thanks!
cherpep on 2008-06-02:
It sounds like you have all the proper documentation. Have you spoken with a lawyer? I hope you can get some resolution. I agree with Ghost, very good information, thanks for posting.
Ben There on 2008-06-03:
Why didn't you talk to a real travel agent if you were dropping several thousand dollars?
HorrifiedHoneymooner on 2008-06-05:
Ben There - Originally, we booked the whole package online--however, when changing our reservation we did speak to several live travel agents. There was no problem with our reservation until we had to cancel and re-book.
rudybjr on 2009-05-03:
Everyone needs to realize that Orbitz, Travelocity, and Expedia are travel agency websites that don't deal with customers face to face. When a mistake happens on either end, their customer service extends only to the point where they do not have to return any money whatsoever. I honestly don't know why people use them.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Review Your Itinerary Before and After
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CHICAGO, NEW YORK -- Advertised fares for flights with stopovers were $685 - the stopover happened to be appx 3.5hrs, so I opted for the $785 fare with a 2 hour layover as I had flown this leg before & chose not to put my daughter traveling alone on such an arduous journey. SOMEHOW - we were given the 3.5hr layover at the higher price. Orbitz refused to stand behind the advertised prices and explicitly said there was NO GLITCH in the system... well, the glitch is there - and I am being charged for flights I am now being told never existed - so why would I spend the extra $100??? This was my 2nd and LAST negative experience with Orbitz. There are plenty of other travel sites and apps or engines that can do a much better job...
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Sarah on 2014-02-25:
Hi,

My name is Sarah, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Sarah
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Do Not Book Flights With Orbitz
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I researched flight from Australia to Thailand on an Australian flight compare website and found Orbitz to be advertising the cheapest flights. I then provided to book these flight to then find out they were actually quoting in US dollars therefore not the cheapest flights. I only found this out when my credit card bill came in. I needed up paying over $200 aus extra. I contacted Orbitz and suggested it was not fair to advert their flights as being cheaper as they were selling their flight in US and the other companies were selling in US dollar. Therefore the comparison was not valid. They did say they didn't indicate the prices were in US but in the FAQS section you could find this information. I argued that this was not clear or transparent business practices and wanted some Compensation for the hidden costs I experienced. They refused to offer me anything. I feel ORBITZ operate dishonestly and want protect others from being RIPPED off!!!
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
PITTBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- I'm a recent college grad currently applying to medical school. I have been traveling a lot recently due to multiple interview offers. All my flights and hotels have been booked through Orbitz.

The pros of Orbitz is that their website and cell phone app is very user friendly and convenient. Their price is decent. I was pretty satisfied with their service at first. However one of the drawbacks of Orbitz is their terrible customer service. They are extremely understaffed, I had to wait for over an hour to get somebody on the line. And when I finally did get a person on the line he was rude, condescending, and straight up disrespectful. Their cancellation policy is far from the best, but this only applies to frequent travelers. I'm considering switching my traveling agency even with all the reward I saved up. The bottom line is if you are just booking a vacation and you don't plan on making any changes to your flight or using the customer service it's a pretty good website.

However, if you do are frequent fliers there are more generous reward programs, cancellation policies, and with better customer service out there.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Sarah on 2013-12-24:
Hi,

My name is Sarah, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Sarah
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
No Human Beings Home - Ever - Good Luck!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CHICAGO -- ALTHOUGH I have been using Orbitz pretty much since they've had an online site, I think I've finally had it with trying to reach a human being through customer service, any branch, any time of day, any time of the year.

Every now and again there is something that has to be done by a human being e.g. adding frequent flier # to trip that is booked but not yet flown, bereavement fares etc. They have the worst customer service, bar none. Once you GET someone, they are fine, but I have been trying for 3 days, probably 5 hours on hold, disconnected 4 times after interminable holds, UNBELIEVABLE. I have stayed with them all these years only because it's convenient to have a historical record of our family travels in one place. Every time I have to contact customer service - the same thing.

Oh, and by the way, customer service does not respond to emails either. That's it for me!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Sarah on 2013-12-24:
Hi,

My name is Sarah, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Sarah
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible, Awful, Rip Off With Terrible Customer Service.
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- Horrible, awful, shysters, rip off.. what other adjectives could I used to describe my disgust with this company?

Let's see. Made a reservation, can't get my money back. The original reservation stated a 24 hour cancel policy. Orbitz charged my card and won't give me my money back.

Let's also see.. how fun it is to sit on their customer service line in which the automated responses never work?

Perhaps my favorite is that nobody on the line SPEAKS ENGLISH.

I will NEVER use this company again as it completely does not honor the cancellation policies. I will also make sure to educate anyone I know as to why it's best to avoid this particular company when making travel plans.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
custrelguy on 2013-11-22:
Hi Tom_hertz,

My name is Lynne. I’m a member of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. I’m sorry to hear of this disappointing experience. If you’d please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and provide the Orbitz Locator/Confirmation number, I’ll be able to investigate further and address the issue.

Thank you for your patience. I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Lynne
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Orbitz Put Us Through H*ll
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
?, ILLINOIS -- I pre booked my family a trip to Orlando only to be stuck at the airport with my wonderful kids. After a while when we were told we could not retrieve our car because my bank Visa with well over enough money on it did not qualify - even with round trip tickets. Which made no sense since I have traveled and rented well over enough cars to know the requirements. Was told to call Orbitz. Long story short my kids became tired hungry and crabby after 4 hours of being put on hold I spent triple paying for a car I already paid for. You know what Orbitz said when I finally got in contact? Were sorry to hear that. No compensation offered!

Bad business tactics. Bad customer service! Read all fine print and that might not be enough to keep your trip hassle free or destroyed!
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Amazingly Bad Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WORLDWIDE -- I had an exorbitantly priced 4-leg trip (to Minnesota, Australia, LA, and home). The university I was visiting in Australia asked me to stay an extra day and changed one leg of the flight by a day, and that increased the price to $2,900. After making the first flight (to Minnesota), I found out that my husband and children's dad was hospitalized and not expected to live long. I hopped on a plane and flew back. I called Orbitz, and first they asked for proof from hospital. I was planning to get doctor's note, but my husband died the next day so I got death certificate. (That had on it the reason for admission to hospital, time of death, etc., and that time was almost exactly the same as the scheduled flight.) Orbitz then asked for marriage certificate. (Both had to be faxed not sent as scanned docs, so each time I had to leave home to send.) Then they asked for funeral home name and address. Could only accept by fax! Then they said they needed doctor's note. I told them at that point I would not send anything else -- that they needed to deal with airline. Each time I was on hold for at least 30 minutes, and each phone operator ended the call (on the day after my children's dad died) with "have a great day."

Now I have no idea whether they are doing anything about getting refund. They said 45 days. US Air said I should see it in my account already, but of course there's no refund there. I'd call, but I can't stand to be on hold for 30 minutes again.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
custrelguy on 2013-09-26:
Hi mdozier,

My name is Lynne. I’m a member of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. I’m sorry you’ve had such a difficult experience. Please understand, Orbitz, as a third party, must adhere to the airline fare rules and policy at all times. In the case of non-refundable tickets, we must appeal to the airline on behalf of the customer for an “exception” to their rules. Unfortunately, as payment for airfare was collected by the airline, any refund/credit must also be approved/processed by the Merchant/Airline holding your funds. We sincerely apologize for any miscommunication in this regard.

If you’d please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com, and include the Orbitz confirmation number, I’ll be able to investigate this refund issue for you. Thank you for reaching out. We look forward to receiving your information.

Sincerely,
Lynne
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Awful Service, Flight Change Without Notification. . .Avoid at All Costs!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PORTLAND, OREGON -- I booked a triangle flight between Portland, Albany, and Toronto about 3-4 months before my scheduled departure. When I attempted to check on online to my flight from Albany to Toronto the night prior, I noticed my departing flight had been changed from Albany to Laguardia (3-4 hours away) and I had never been notified!!! I immediately contacted Orbitz customer service and was placed on hold for 45 minutes. I finally spoke with an individual who assured me he would contact me with a resolution. I never did hear back from the customer service person. I wound up contacting Air Canada directly and my 1.5 hour direct flight between Albany and Toronto turned into a 7 hour ordeal (with layover). I then emailed Orbitz with the issue and received a generic "brush off" response. I called Orbitz back and wound up being transferred 2 times before speaking to a supervisor who stated that Orbitz was not at fault since Air Canada made the flight change. When I explained to them that I never did any direct business with Air Canada and the flight arrangements were made through Orbitz, there response was that there was nothing that could be done. They offered me a measly $75 voucher will will go to waste since I never intend on doing any business with them in the future. If you can avoid Orbitz, I urge you to use an alternative booking method with better customer service and a greater sense of responsibility.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
custrelguy on 2013-09-16:
Hi, jbtoub,
This is Robert, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations team. Please forward the Orbitz Record Locator to us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com. Please use my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.
Thank you for your patience, I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Robert Woyach
Orbitz Customer Relations
Weedwhacked on 2013-09-17:
Orbitz didn't make the schedule change, it was the airline.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >