Preview Review

Next Review

Overstock.com Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Pathetic Delivery Management by Overstock
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- Order date: September 6th, 2015. Order Number: **. I ordered a coffee table (Anjin Enzo Contemporary 2-tone multi-storage coffee table) with Brand of "Furniture of America" from Overstock.com. I received the parts a week after placing the order, just to realize that there were missing parts, without which I could not even start the process of building the table. When I registered a complaint with customer care of Overstock.com, the gentleman named Kade promised that I would receive USD 50.00 as compensation and that the parts would be replaced at the earliest.

What happened next... guess what!!! I get an email mentioning that the order for missing parts for "Altra Carson End Table" has been placed and I shall hear from their customer care in 2 business days!!! So wrong parts ordered for wrong product and not a mention of the refund!!! When I called customer care again to confirm what's going on, I hear that there was no refund promised or registered in system. Also, the parts were wrongly ordered as I had guessed. They corrected it in their system (apparently.... let's see what email I receive next from Jessica) and there was NO promise for any compensation....

This is not the first time Overstock.com has messed with the delivery of parts for "Furniture of America". Just a few days earlier, my headboard that ordered from Overstock.com had parts with holes drilled in wrong places. They finally had to send replacement parts which arrived after 8 days of complaining. NEVER AGAIN any order from OVERSTOCK.COM.

Replies
Advertisement
Punitive Shipping Charges
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I looked at a slim, sliding piece of storage furniture on EBay's site; I could not find any reviews so I ordered it. THEN I found the reviews, which were of great concern to me. Within an hour after I ordered the furniture I notified them to cancel it. They proceeded to ship it and then wanted me to pay shipping charges back because I had "buyer's remorse" - despite my real reason for canceling it. It's particle board so it will cost a fortune to send back or I'm out $129.00+. I will not buy from Overstock.com anymore and you shouldn't, either.

Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I ordered a couch and the quality was horrible. It looked like craft store felt stretched over cheap pieces of pressboard. Within 2 days of receiving the couch, I requested a return. That was on August 12, 2015. For the last 3 weeks, the Overstock Customer Service has been giving me the run-around via email. I've called, I've emailed, been nice, been coaxing, been irritated, now I'm downright MAD.

This couch is sitting here taking up space. I purchased a new couch and I don't have room for it. If, by Friday, the couch is NOT picked up, it will sit in my driveway until the truck decides to show up. I will not be responsible for damages or theft nor will I be paying for the couch. I DEMAND A CREDIT! I suggest a supervisor or someone who can make decisions, contact the freight company and contact me ASAP. This is the worst customer service I've received in a long time. Shame on you Overstock!

Replies
Shipping Glitch Made Right
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

I had recently moved and updated my billing address for an order, but had failed to update my shipping address. The products I ordered shipped to the old address. I contacted Overstock.com through the chat function. The CSR explained what had happened and that the products had actually been delivered to the old address. I asked about options and we discussed several.

After realizing that there were no good options and because this was my fault, I assumed that I would have to work with the new owner of my old house to get the items. But no! Overstock went above and beyond. They re-ordered the items for me and shipped them out to my new address. This was such a delightful surprise and they really were kind through the process. I am duly impressed.

Replies
Advertisement
First Complaint and Big Problem Received Order in Quadruplicate
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NY, NEW YORK -- I have been very happy with Overstock.com for 10+ years. Not happy now. On 3/13/15 I tried to place an order for a dress and shoes etc. After keying "submit order" instead of the usual order confirmation and tracking information received a strange error message that told me they were having a problem and to try back later.

So, several minutes I tried again. Same error page. Later on my 4th attempt 48 hrs later I tried again after instant messaging customer service I was told to reenter my shipping address?? I did so. Since after each failed attempt to place an order, my shopping cart was empty I had to re-enter the items. I was finally successful on Sunday 3/15/15 but decided to limit my order to the one dress, omitting the other accessory items. I was tired of going through the pages selecting items! I got sent all orders! 5 duplicates dresses, double shoes, unwanted accessories! Still waiting to hear from Overstock! Sending stuff back as it arrives! Huge charge for their mistake.

Replies
Still Waiting for Product, but Bill Has Already Arrived!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PARROTTSVILLE, TENNESSEE -- I ordered a couch on January 23, 2015 on Overstock.com. I understood that because it was oversize, it would take some time. I followed up in early February via chat, and was advised my couch would be shipping on/about February 13, 2015. I continued to check my order status and it still continued to be "processing" (as it is as I write this review on 2/21/15). After contacting OS again about this order and indicating that if it was not shipping in 7 days I wanted to cancel, I was contacted (2/19/15) by Jasmine who advised she would be the point person on this order. On 2/20/15, I received a bill for the order.

I contacted OS and advised I would not pay a penny until the order AT LEAST shipped out of the warehouse/mfg. OS had me call 2 different numbers, neither CSR could help, and referred me back to Jasmine. At this point, I'm so angry I'm not sure what to do, but I want others to know what to expect from OS customer service!!!

Replies
Don't Buy From Overstock.com
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I bought 4 chairs from Overstock. The chairs came with no hardware. When I let them know, this was their solution: They would send me another 4 chairs, I would open the box and remove the hardware, and then I would have to repack the chairs and haul them to the post office and mail them back. When I didn't agree to this, they instead credited me a whole 20 dollars. I now have 4 useless chairs in pieces and am out the money I spent. This company is a huge rip-off, and their claims of great customer service are completely untrue.

Replies
Poor Customer Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I had ordered items from Overstock.com when they were new and was really happy with the quick delivery, good prices and quality of product. That has obviously changed. After not receiving any notifications on my order, I realized that instead of Gmail on my address it said Gmail. I contacted customer service to fix this and after a half hour of dealing with Theresa, who did not have a good command of the English language (she kept offering to e-mail an link to me so I could fix it), did not understand that I would not get the email!

I demanded to speak to her supervisor. I fixed the problem, but then when it came to the larger issue, of why after 12 days my rug had not arrived, he offered to put a trace on it and reorder at no additional cost to me! "Of course there would be no additional cost," I said, "It is your mistake!" This rug was supposed to take 5 to 7 days. I am not happy with Overstock.com and will not use them again.

Replies
Advertisement
Beware Return Costs!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- Beware return costs - even if overstock.com makes the mistake, you are out of pocket!! I recently ordered bed sheets from overstock.com through eBay; they shipped the wrong size. When I contacted overstock.com, the response was talk to eBay. eBay finally gave approval to return the incorrect item for refund; when I asked about the cost of shipping the incorrect item from Canada, overstock.com said it was nothing to do with them, talk to eBay! eBay told me it was not their problem, and that I had had a choice on whether or not to send the item back - no choice if I wanted any refund!!!

End result: overstock.com sent me the wrong item and I had to pay for the privilege of returning it so that could obtain a refund! Initial purchase cost $125 (refunded by eBay); return shipping $27 - my expense!! No accountability & no consequences for "bad behavior" = poor customer service!

Replies
King Size Bed Missing Part of the Bed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I ordered king size bed from Overstock.com and waited more than four weeks to receive my shipment. At the delivery day, the time of delivery supposed to be between 11am to 3pm, and I was told I will get a call 30 minutes before arrival time... no that never happened! I took time off from work 4pm. Still no call or no delivery. I called the delivery company after half hour later I was told they are running late, they will be there soon. Now 5:30 the delivery man shows up, we ask them to open the box for verification before they leave because that's what Overstock told us to do, no! They say no they don't do that, they are just here to drop off the boxes.

We signed their delivery form without knowing what's in the box... We start opening the boxes now we are missing all the screws and pins to put the bed together, the manual/instructions, and the head board of the bed. We aren't sure if we have all the pieces because we don't have a manual telling us what should be in the boxes. When I called overstock.com they told me they will get back to me in two business days. When I asked to talk to a manager I wasn't able to and when I asked to talk to the corporate I was told they don't have a phone # they only have email... 45 minutes later still no one to answer my question why I was missing part of the bed.

I went online and searched for corporate # and called the # finally someone sounded like they will help me... Boy!! I was wrong! The next day the gal called me back to tell me I should have everything and that to check all the pieces. The delivery company don't have it. Then she tells me they don't have the items I'm missing in stock any more. She said they can return everything and will give a refund! At this point I am very frustrated and upset.... I have removed my old furniture and empty my room and purchased new staff that matches this bed and she is telling they don't have the item any more.... there is nothing they can do.

At this point I don't trust anything they say I'm actually worried if they are going to pick up the staff and give me a refund. The gal told me she will call me back some time today to let me know when they will pick the staff and give a refund. I went to their website and the bed is available it is not out of stock! I'm so disappointed! Such a horrible customer service!! O.com doesn't care about customer satisfaction they just want get you off the phone and out of the way! They don't care about losing customers. I advise anyone not to make a mistake purchasing anything from them.

This is the first time in my life I am posting compliant online. I am very disgusted about the treatment I received by o.com!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Overstock.com Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 72 ratings and
201 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Overstock.com
6350 South 3000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
800-843-2446 (ph)
801-944-4629 (fax)
www.overstock.com
ceooffice@overstock.com
Compare Online Stores/Auctions