Preview Review

Next Review

Overstock.com Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Overstock Rips Consumers Off
By -

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I used to be one of Overstock.com customer service reps. and have been reading the complaints on this site concerning Overstock service. Here's the scoop: Overstock CSR's are trained to lie point blank. While I was employed with them I receive numerous complaints from angry customers that received damaged goods, wrong orders or just never got their order period and it had already been paid for. Overstock Customer Service reps work from a totally different state than the warehouse okay. At the time I was employed through them our customer centers were in Wyoming and New Mexico, the warehouse however is in Utah.

So any complaints we received had to be resolved by filing a grievance form on the computer. Not only that the orders are paid for we then place the order to the warehouse and a lot of the times that order never gets shipped out but hey Overstock has that little problem covered. When the customer calls in to complain they will tell you that yes it has been shipped and that it was UPS's fault or USPS's fault when the whole time it was never shipped. Now a grievance is filed through Overstock and that takes at least if you're lucky 72 business hours and you'll be lucky if you see your order at all.

As for the orders being shipped to the wrong address well the people at the warehouse itself most of them can't understand or read English - are you following me. A lot of times you'll get something damaged or missing a part yeah good luck getting that resolved. Long story short if you don't want to get ripped off stay away from Overstock. They lie to get your business, once they've conned you into ordering they couldn't care less about whether you get your merchandise or not. And as for their refund policies I had customers that would call me and complain that they had been waiting 6 months for a refund or exchange and had never got it.

You're better off staying away from this company. I know people who quit cause of the dishonesty of this company's business practices including myself. Let me make myself clear I am not a disgruntled ex employee by no means. I just believe that if you are going to spend your money on something you should get exactly what you ordered as seen on the site, not some cheap or damaged version of it. Nor should you be penalized, i.e. restock fees for asking for a refund cause it didn't fit or cause you received damage goods from the warehouse.

And in no way should you be lied to when you call into a call center to request as to where your order is or for a refund or anything else. You are the consumer it's your money and you have a right to be treated honestly and fairly. That is why I quit this company. Cause in my opinion if Overstock actually cared what people thought or the fact that they lose good customers everyday because of the crap they dish out, they would listen to their customers and do what they had to to make it right . However this not the case with Overstock. They need to change how they operate.

Replies
Advertisement
Ordered adjustable base bed 12/08/15 foundation arrived damaged mattress was ok.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I ordered a Serta adjustable bed on 12/08/2015. This order included 2 pcs. adjustable base and mattress. The delivery company delivered items 12/23/15. Upon opening the adjustable base it was boxed and had plastic covering, the plastic cover was not torn but we could see the tear across the top of adjustable base, it was clearly damaged. The delivery guy said I could refuse the one piece and just keep the mattress so I did that. I then called Overstock.com, talked to customer service rep. She apologized and she said she would forward the information to the warehouse dept. and they would call me on 12/24/15 if not maybe not until the following Monday 12/28/15.

I never received a call from anyone so called on 12/29/15 again. They told me that someone was working on this and I would be contacted as soon as this was resolved. I had ordered this adjustable base bed because I had recently had open heart surgery and it was difficult for me to get out of bed. I had purchased this item with Comenity Bank which is the bank Overstock uses to finance items to their customers.

I am calling every other day since 12/28/15 with no resolution. The last time I called they told me they were having problems with Serta sending me another adjustable base, at this point I have even made my first payment to Comenity Bank 1/4/2015 and I still don't have my bed. What can I do? I'm just not getting anything resolved.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- I ordered a small item from Overstock.com, though not inexpensive. They sent it via UPS (which is another horrible story in itself). When I reported it late and, according to the UPS site unaccounted for over four days, Overstock customer service via email told me that after four days they would do something about it. I took on UPS (maybe my complaint should also be about them!) which was a terrible experience. They blamed Overstock.com for not downloading a shipping manifest. True or not, I received my package by own effort.

I communicated to Overstock customer service in an email that I was a first-time customer and would not be returning and inquired about the missing shipping manifest. They sent me this self-congratulatory email response that they had taken care of the problem by looking up the shipping information.They did not respond to my complaint or question, but patted themselves on the back for no effort whatsoever on their part and then told me I could contact them in 7 days if I had not been satisfied. I see other complaints on this site are very similar to my own. Buyer beware!

Replies
Pathetic Delivery Management by Overstock
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- Order date: September 6th, 2015. Order Number: **. I ordered a coffee table (Anjin Enzo Contemporary 2-tone multi-storage coffee table) with Brand of "Furniture of America" from Overstock.com. I received the parts a week after placing the order, just to realize that there were missing parts, without which I could not even start the process of building the table. When I registered a complaint with customer care of Overstock.com, the gentleman named Kade promised that I would receive USD 50.00 as compensation and that the parts would be replaced at the earliest.

What happened next... guess what!!! I get an email mentioning that the order for missing parts for "Altra Carson End Table" has been placed and I shall hear from their customer care in 2 business days!!! So wrong parts ordered for wrong product and not a mention of the refund!!! When I called customer care again to confirm what's going on, I hear that there was no refund promised or registered in system. Also, the parts were wrongly ordered as I had guessed. They corrected it in their system (apparently.... let's see what email I receive next from Jessica) and there was NO promise for any compensation....

This is not the first time Overstock.com has messed with the delivery of parts for "Furniture of America". Just a few days earlier, my headboard that ordered from Overstock.com had parts with holes drilled in wrong places. They finally had to send replacement parts which arrived after 8 days of complaining. NEVER AGAIN any order from OVERSTOCK.COM.

Replies
Advertisement
Punitive Shipping Charges
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I looked at a slim, sliding piece of storage furniture on EBay's site; I could not find any reviews so I ordered it. THEN I found the reviews, which were of great concern to me. Within an hour after I ordered the furniture I notified them to cancel it. They proceeded to ship it and then wanted me to pay shipping charges back because I had "buyer's remorse" - despite my real reason for canceling it. It's particle board so it will cost a fortune to send back or I'm out $129.00+. I will not buy from Overstock.com anymore and you shouldn't, either.

Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I ordered a couch and the quality was horrible. It looked like craft store felt stretched over cheap pieces of pressboard. Within 2 days of receiving the couch, I requested a return. That was on August 12, 2015. For the last 3 weeks, the Overstock Customer Service has been giving me the run-around via email. I've called, I've emailed, been nice, been coaxing, been irritated, now I'm downright MAD.

This couch is sitting here taking up space. I purchased a new couch and I don't have room for it. If, by Friday, the couch is NOT picked up, it will sit in my driveway until the truck decides to show up. I will not be responsible for damages or theft nor will I be paying for the couch. I DEMAND A CREDIT! I suggest a supervisor or someone who can make decisions, contact the freight company and contact me ASAP. This is the worst customer service I've received in a long time. Shame on you Overstock!

Replies
Shipping Glitch Made Right
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

I had recently moved and updated my billing address for an order, but had failed to update my shipping address. The products I ordered shipped to the old address. I contacted Overstock.com through the chat function. The CSR explained what had happened and that the products had actually been delivered to the old address. I asked about options and we discussed several.

After realizing that there were no good options and because this was my fault, I assumed that I would have to work with the new owner of my old house to get the items. But no! Overstock went above and beyond. They re-ordered the items for me and shipped them out to my new address. This was such a delightful surprise and they really were kind through the process. I am duly impressed.

Replies
First Complaint and Big Problem Received Order in Quadruplicate
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NY, NEW YORK -- I have been very happy with Overstock.com for 10+ years. Not happy now. On 3/13/15 I tried to place an order for a dress and shoes etc. After keying "submit order" instead of the usual order confirmation and tracking information received a strange error message that told me they were having a problem and to try back later.

So, several minutes I tried again. Same error page. Later on my 4th attempt 48 hrs later I tried again after instant messaging customer service I was told to reenter my shipping address?? I did so. Since after each failed attempt to place an order, my shopping cart was empty I had to re-enter the items. I was finally successful on Sunday 3/15/15 but decided to limit my order to the one dress, omitting the other accessory items. I was tired of going through the pages selecting items! I got sent all orders! 5 duplicates dresses, double shoes, unwanted accessories! Still waiting to hear from Overstock! Sending stuff back as it arrives! Huge charge for their mistake.

Replies
Advertisement
Still Waiting for Product, but Bill Has Already Arrived!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PARROTTSVILLE, TENNESSEE -- I ordered a couch on January 23, 2015 on Overstock.com. I understood that because it was oversize, it would take some time. I followed up in early February via chat, and was advised my couch would be shipping on/about February 13, 2015. I continued to check my order status and it still continued to be "processing" (as it is as I write this review on 2/21/15). After contacting OS again about this order and indicating that if it was not shipping in 7 days I wanted to cancel, I was contacted (2/19/15) by Jasmine who advised she would be the point person on this order. On 2/20/15, I received a bill for the order.

I contacted OS and advised I would not pay a penny until the order AT LEAST shipped out of the warehouse/mfg. OS had me call 2 different numbers, neither CSR could help, and referred me back to Jasmine. At this point, I'm so angry I'm not sure what to do, but I want others to know what to expect from OS customer service!!!

Replies
Don't Buy From Overstock.com
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I bought 4 chairs from Overstock. The chairs came with no hardware. When I let them know, this was their solution: They would send me another 4 chairs, I would open the box and remove the hardware, and then I would have to repack the chairs and haul them to the post office and mail them back. When I didn't agree to this, they instead credited me a whole 20 dollars. I now have 4 useless chairs in pieces and am out the money I spent. This company is a huge rip-off, and their claims of great customer service are completely untrue.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Overstock.com Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 71 ratings and
200 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Overstock.com
6350 South 3000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
800-843-2446 (ph)
801-944-4629 (fax)
www.overstock.com
ceooffice@overstock.com
Compare Online Stores/Auctions