Panasonic TV

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 4 ratings and
17 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Poor customer service
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
WHITING, NEW JERSEY -- Panasonic 52 inch plasma TV, after one and a half years of working started to fail. We contacted Panasonic in the beginning and was told by tech's how to reset. This procedure was accomplished twice until the TV failed completely (10 blinks). Again, Panasonic was contacted and suggested we contact a recommended repair shop for repairs. The first shop failed to get back to us though we contacted them three times. Finally we sent the TV out for repairs at another shop along with a deposit of $75, and these guys were great! They were very friendly and helped with contacting Panasonic. The shop contacted us saying the TV was fixed but required @ $500 payment. We contacted Panasonic about the amount and after a long period of time, due to Panasonic review, said because we were out of the warranty period of a year they could only reimburse $150. We were floored by their insult! After the amount of the TV, wall mount and TAXES we had over $2000 in this TV. Plus the fact we have been without this TV for almost 6 months!!! Even if they would have made the offer of splitting the cost as would any decent Company this would be resolved. The customer call center in Virginia contacted us saying that the offer was it, and if we didn't take it there was nothing else they can do. They also stated we should have bought the extended warranty! Really...! Is that because they sell a known defective TV? I'm sure someone buying a TV today should expect @10 years of service with moderate use. We have repeatedly contacted Panasonic on this issue and they fail to get back to us without using the Customer Call Center with whom we do not ever want to talk to again. We are trying to go up their ladder of administration with our displeasure within Panasonic but they seem to really protect their managers, no means of contacting anyone other than the CCC or Panasonic's general Call Center. To add insult to injury we bought another TV, same model about 3-4 months after this purchase and are expecting the same failure and lack of help from Panasonic. We will pass the word to all of our acquaintances and their contacts to beware of any Panasonic products. This might be a small action but it will grow. As tough as times are you would think that a Japanese Company would do the right thing to keep their reputation of quality a priority. WE WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER PANASONIC PRODUCT EVER!!!
Resolution Update 03/26/2012:
Decided to take the money and run. Running fast from Panasonic, once these TV's are gone we will not purchase another. Sad!!!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
DO NOT BUY Panasonic!!!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DALLAS -- I purchased a 50 inch Plasma TV from Best Buy September 24, 2011. The TV stopped working March 3, 2012. Less than 6 months! Panasonic scheduled a technician to come out on March 6th. Technician calls me two hours after he was supposed to be here to tell me that he is running behind and oh yeah, the part is on back order! I immediately called the service center and they could provide no help. I am now being told that the part may not come in for at least 3 weeks! No one knows when the part will arrive. I am past frustrated and angry. I spent a lot of money on this TV and its inoperable and of absolutely no used to me five months out!! Panasonic has lost a customer for life. Please, whatever you do, do not buy a Panasonic. Needless to say, they have be over a barrel, I am at their mercy in regards to the repair of my TV. Never again! Stick to Sony or Samsung.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Panasonic Plasma TV's are junk, don't buy
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CANTON, OHIO -- Panasonic 50 inch plasma lasted just short of 3 years. These are supposed to last 20,000 hours, what a bunch of crap. Called Panasonic and they sent out a tech to look at the TV. Says it needs several boards replaced and that this is a common problem. Estimate to fix is $625.00. Panasonic knows there's a problem with these but refuses to address the issue or help their customers. Don't buy another Panasonic TV until they get the message that they cannot put out crap and think they can get away with it.
     
Replies
Panasonic TV's are HORRIBLE - DO NOT PURCHASE
Posted by on
I purchased the Panasonic TC-P50G10 in June 2009. It worked great for about 2 months. It failed THE FIRST TIME in August 2009. While we were watching the TV screen went black/red, then almost immediately completely black. No power hits, surges, etc. All other electronic components in the house were fine. The TV was under warranty so Panasonic sent out a service technician from a locally authorized Panasonic service company to repair. Panasonic's policy is to attempt repair of the unit first, so they came out 3 times to replace various SD boards in the unit. After 3 visits, they took the TV back to their shop, and subsequently called me to let me know the unit was not repairable. Panasonic then authorized a replacement unit, which I received in early October 2009 (note my TV was out of commission for 2.5 months during this process!!!).

The 2nd unit worked until Aug 2011, when the EXACT same thing happened. One, or more of the SD boards failed AGAIN! I called Panasonic Technical Support / Customer Service (they don't have a separate customer service department), who informed me that the unit was out of warranty and I would have to pay to have it repaired. I paid $85 to have a service technician evaluate the unit, who estimated repair cost at $351 to replace 2 of the SD boards. I called Panasonic and complained loudly, and they offered to give me a $200 credit towards the repair... but I have ZERO faith that the unit will be fixed after replacing 2 SD boards after my initial experience.

I paid $1,400 for this TV and the replacement unit is not even 2 yrs old... the service technician told me that these failures are common for Panasonic TVs. Is that what $1,400 buys you these days??? A TV that breaks twice and is unusable after 2 yrs??? Unbelievable!!!

I will NEVER, EVER buy another Panasonic product.
     
Replies
2010 Panasonic plasma TV fails
Posted by on
I have a brand new Panasonic viera 58 inch 3D plasma TV. It is less than 60 days old. It stopped working and I contacted Panasonic. A repairman was sent out who took my TV as he could not fix it. I was told the part to fix the TV was back-ordered 21 days. I called and complained as it was a brand new TV. To wait another 3 weeks to get it fixed is not right. I was not satisfied with the response to I contacted the executive offices of Panasonic thinking surely someone would help me expediate the part to fix my TV. My goodness it is Christmas and my entire family is coming over and we have no TV. The person I spoke with Renard was not helpful and was short with me. He basically told me they had 30 days to repair the TV. So I spent thousands of dollars on this TV, 3D DVD and now I have nothing for the holidays. Merry Christams Panasonic. I won't ever purchase a product from your organization again. I am so so disappointed.
     
Replies
Panasonic plasma TV gone bad after 10 weeks!!!
Posted by on
I purchased a PanaSonic TCP42S2 - 42" 1080p plasma HDTV VIERA at Best Buy in Everett, WA on July 10th, 2010. I did this after considerable research (Consumer Reports, Cnet, independent reviews, neighbor bought one and liked it) and after only 10 weeks it displayed a 3 inch wide black stripe right down the middle of the screen. I called up Best Buy and was told that they could only ship it to PanaSonic (actually a PanaSonic authorized repair center as I later found out). I requested a replacement, i.e. Best Buy get a RMA number from PanaSonic so Best Buy could give me another set while shipping the original to PanaSonic but was told that couldn't be done! After a week of waiting I called PanaSonic only to be told they had no record of receiving the set. I requested PanaSonic to simply contact Best Buy to give me another set but was told they couldn't do that. I have now been waiting for two weeks for "parts to arrive to repair the set" and now appear to have an open ended repair completion date! I have nothing but dissatisfaction with Best Buy and PanaSonic both! They both have poor customer service and PanaSonic apparently, reviews not withstanding; has poor quality control or simply poor engineering. Even if I eventually get my TV back, I will expect it to simply fail again probably right after the warranty expires. DO NOT, repeat DO NOT buy at Best Buy and DO NOT buy a PanaSonic product!

A long time dissatisfied Best Buy/PanaSonic customer!
     
Replies
Lousy Customer Service
Posted by on
In mid July of 10, my PanaSonic TV stopped working....after going through all the checklists I concluded the thing needed work by a technician. I contacted PanaSonic directly and gave them a host of numbers and specifications..primarily that the problem identification feature showed 6 blinking red lights.....They advised me that they would order the necessary part and have a technician come out and install it...and not to worry because I'm under warranty since the TV was purchase on August 8th of 09. Further, that the part could take three weeks....(HUH?)...It's been over four weeks so far and still NOTHING!

I asked what kind of part they needed and amazingly they told me they didn't know..that the technician would have to advise me on that...even though they were ordering the part.

Bottom line, it is now into the fourth week and NOTHING...A week ago I called PanaSonic and was advised that the part had been shipped to the technician.. I waited three days because they said it would take that long to get there....when I called they said they hadn't received it...when I called PanaSonic back I was filled with platitudes and apologies and "I understand" and all that but still nothing....I told the customer service rep, they should either fix the TV or get me a new one...

They were supposed to call me back yesterday...NOTHING!

The warranty runs out on the 8th of August....Now I'm beginning to think the TV won't be covered because of the small print in their contracts if and when the part comes in.

I realize they probably have to order parts from Asia someplace... but this is unacceptable for a company like PanaSonic to lie, mislead and fail to provide support for their customers...next time it'll be a Sony..
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Warranty Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I bought a Panasonic 42" HD TV at Best Buy. Bought their Black Tie warranty. Before a year was up the TV had problems. When I called to have it looked at I was informed that on TVs 42" and under in home service would cost $150. Free for any other brand from 37" or up. I am a elderly single woman. I would have to pay someone to take TV off the wall. This why I purchased extended warranty. Call Panasonic and was very dissatisfied with their people located in the Caribbean!
     
Replies
Parents Panasonic LCD TV
Posted by on
GEORGIA -- My parents are retired and have a 55 inch LCD Panasonic TV and its in the shop to be repaired its only like 5 years old I am very disapointed in Panasonic and there TVs I have a Sony that has lasted longer than that I would like Panasonic to at least help my parent in buying a new one or to get the old one fixed for its going to cost about 250 dollars for that cost they could buy a new one and they are on a bugget and can't afford it iam not asking for a hand out iam asking for a companie to make things right so my parent and myself will continue to purchase Panasonic equiment thank you for your time I hope this go's to someone that cares
     
Replies
Reoccurring issue 50 inch plasma TV
Posted by on
I purchased a 50 inch plasma TV, TH50PX80U, from the local Sears store here in SC for 900 bucks, December 2008, and in February 2010 while sitting and watching the set it went black, could not power it back up, called PanaSonic, they said it was out of warranty. Took it to the service guy who said the power supply went out amongst other components associated with the power supply. Cost of the repair is 541 bucks. Would think that a set would give you more than 13 months of service. So if anyone knows of an ongoing issue with this, would be great to get the info out to the public
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >