Preview Review

Next Review

PayTel

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 25 ratings and
59 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
PayTel
P.O. Box 19290
Greensboro, NC 27419
1-800-729-8355 (ph)
www.paytel.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Customer Service, Immoral Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH CAROLINA -- My fiance had money on his old prepaid phone that he transferred to his new one so he could call me during his weekends. Friday afternoon he calls them, the representative is pleasant and polite, says it will be transferred in an hour. Easy enough.

Saturday morning he tries to call, it says insufficient funds. Not cool, so I call customer service. Wait time was only a minute, and I was talking to a representative; I understand that she is at an probably unpleasant job on a Saturday morning, and she has to collect the pertinent information, but she interrupted me constantly. I work customer service and graduated Kindergarten so I know how to show basic politeness to other human beings. I was upset enough to find a place to leave a review.

To her credit, she transferred the funds and it didn't take long at all. I was able to speak to my fiance and check on him. No response needed from a company that takes advantage of inmates and their families. The justice system predominately preys on black, poor, LGBT+, disabled, etc. How does it feel to cash in on that, and make a profit on people who are going broke trying to communicate with loved ones?

Company Response 01/25/2017:

We are very sorry for any mistreatment you feel you have experienced with our company and our customer service department. It is surely not our policy to offend or mistreat any customer. We continually stress the importance of treating our customers with respect and assisting them in every way possible. Our customers are extremely important to us.

We also apologize for the delay of transferring the funds and was glad to see that you was able to receive the calls shortly thereafter.

If in the future, you have additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and we will research your account and your request will be addressed the same day.
Please accept our apologies for this problem.

Best regards.
Customer Relations

Replies
Advertisement
Can't Receive My Fiancé Calls
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT MILL, SOUTH CAROLINA -- My friend had recently offered to add $20 to my account because at the time I hadn't got paid. So then I find out later that she used the father of her child cc #. The last time I spoke to my fiancé he said he would call me after he ate. Which I thought was strange because he would always call me back. When I spoke to customer service they then told me that the cardholder had called and they refunded the money back to his card because it was an unauthorized payment.

So I asked well how can I add money to my account now if I don't have the option to use a debit card anymore. I was told to use MoneyGram express and the payment should be in within 1 hour. So remind you I knew I wasn't receiving his calls anymore. The representative never mentioned to me that my number was blocked or anything. He ended up calling a friend of mine and told them he has been trying to call me and cannot. I checked my online account and seen my payment went through but I'm not receiving his calls anymore.

I DEMAND A REFUND OR MY NUMBER TO BE UNBLOCKED. I feel like I was taken advantage of and they just wanted my money. I just added this money to my account through MoneyGram! Why am I not receiving my fiance's calls?

Company Response 10/21/2016:

We apologize for the problems you experienced with our company.

To investigate your issues, please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.

Customer Relations

Replies
Call Your Governor's Office and Put These Companies Out of Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KANSAS CITY, KANSAS -- I have had my first experience with this since the last time I knew anyone in jail was when they just used the phone in the jail free and could call collect. But this long-winded recording that took my payment info was ridiculous and then it hung up on me when it was done, so I didn't get to talk to my family member. It also charged me 23.00 and when he called back it shut off after 15 minutes. Is that what they are charging for 15 minutes of conversation. People you need to call your governor's offices, when they get tired of your calls they will do something, also thinking I am going to work on a Change.org petition about this nationwide.

Company Response 07/25/2016:

We apologize for any problems you experienced with our company.

To investigate your concerns please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.
Customer Relations

Replies
Prices Are Outrageous
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

DUBLIN, GA -- I read many of the reviews before making the account. Unfortunately if you want to talk to a loved one you have no other choice but to make an account with them. I did not have a problem with the service. I heard my loved one clearly. Only problem I had was after reviewing my account I saw that they charge a whopping $5 per call (rounded up). This is ridiculous! I can imagine how rich these people are while they are exploiting the needy. What a shame. It's amazing because even if the call was $2 they would still be ridiculously rich. But money is the root of all evil.

Company Response 06/23/2016:

Sorry for any problems you have experienced with our company. If you would provide us with your name, phone number and PIN, we will provide you with a rate quote for your calls.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Thank you.

Customer Relations

Replies
Advertisement
All Or Nothing
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FLORIDA -- For the past week phone calls have been terrible. Either the phone does not register that I have answered and there is silence, or the dial pad does not connect when I accept the call. The account has funds. There shouldn't be a block. Tech support is only open on the weekends for facilities. I haven't spoken to my fiancé since last night (I got lucky) due to the phone not connecting. He's called 4 times.

Replies
Keeps Disconnecting My Calls
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PayTel keeps saying that it detected a fraudulent call and disconnects my phone calls to my husband. I work hard for my money and I would like to spend it by just having a conversation with my husband over the phone without having stupid glitches happen in almost every other phone call.

Company Response 05/08/2017:

We apologize for any frustration you experienced with our company concerning dropped calls. If you will email your name, address, phone number, and PIN to CustomerRelations@paytel.com, we will investigate this issue to determine why the calls were dropped.

The following information is in our brochure and posted on our website concerning dropped calls. Calls may be disconnected if any of the following activities occur during a call:

• Stop talking without hanging up.
• Attempts to make a 3-way call.
• Attempt to answer Call Waiting.
• Attempt to put a call on hold.
• Attempt to transfer a call.
• Use of a cordless phone (static).
• Use of a wireless phone (dropped cell tower or static).

PAY-TEL does not accept responsibility for dropped wireless phone calls.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best regards,
Customer Relations

Replies
Fix Your Services!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUMMERVILLE, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I have been putting money on my Pay Tel account for my inmate to call me with. He says that he has attempted to call me 10+ times in the last week and my phone has only rang from the jails call 2 times! When I go to answer the calls it either automatically hangs up or doesn't register that I have answered and there is complete silence on the line. If I am paying for this service and spending my hard earned money to speak to a loved one, I EXPECT the phones to actually work!

Company Response 02/14/2017:

Sorry for any problems you have experienced with our company.

If you will provide us with your phone number and PIN, we will research your issue and get back with you. You can email your information to a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Please accept our apologies for this problem.

Best regards.
Customer Relations

Replies
High Phone Calls
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

WARNER ROBINS, GEORGIA -- I have had no problem with receiving calls and talking. My complaint is the price. It is just too much for the call. We don't live that far from the jail. But the calls for 15 mins. are over $3.00. Just too pricey.

Company Response 11/21/2016:

We apologize for any problems you've experienced with our company.

To investigate your concerns and provide you with more information regarding your rates, please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.

Customer Relations

Replies
Advertisement
PayTel Blocked My Inmate's Number.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREENSBORO, OHIO -- I out money on my PayTel Friday 8-12-16 so my daughter could call me from jail. The 1st phone call today it played a message to permanently block this number. Call this number. I just put money on this thing and my daughter's number from jail is blocked? I didn't push any buttons to block it. I put in my PIN to unblock it and it won't take my PIN which I know I did not forget. This is ludicrous.

Company Response 08/15/2016:

We apologize for any problems you experienced with our company.

To investigate your concerns please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.
Customer Relations

Replies
Lousy Service. Paying for Dead Air!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREENBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- I really don't know how these people sleep at night. I can only hope that they have to suffer with a service like this as the only means to communicate with an incarcerated loved one. ALL DAY today, my girlfriend tried calling me and all I got was dead air and the lame automated system never picked up even though I was screaming at the top of my lungs "HELLO!" I don't want to hear the lame excuse that it's my cell phone because I have no issues placing or receiving calls unless it's dealing with this sorry excuse for a service.

I realized that people that are incarcerated are there for punishment but when you provide a service to speak with them that people PAY FOR, those people expect that service to be delivered. Perhaps since these people have a monopoly they can prey upon the families of inmates just to make money. They should be put out of business. I'm NOT paying to listen to dead air! I hope I win the Powerball so I can create my own company that provides such a service that isn't as horrible as this.

When I do actually get a call to go through, it drops. I don't want to hear that it's my cell phone because I have Verizon and full signal where my home is. What I want is the calls I did not get and the dropped calls refunded. Also please do not try and buffalo me that I stopped talking or switched to conference call like the last lame responses because I can assure you none of those things were happening. It really is disgusting that a so called "business" would provide such a sub par service while charging an arm and a leg for it because they are the only ones available.

Update 01/13/2016:

This is the same lame response given to EVERYBODY no matter what their issue. Want to know what your lousy service did this morning? I have a positive balance of $10 and my inmate was finally able to call me in the morning. The lame automated system picked up and gave me the usual "You have a collect call from: blah, blah, blah" and then dead air then I hear "Goodbye" and the friggin thing hangs up. There is never anyone available to take my call when I call into your pathetic company but somebody is always able to post these scripted and not applicable answers. I hate you people with every fiber of my being and saying I hope you all get colon cancer for what you are doing to people is too kind.

Company Response 01/11/2016:

We apologize for any frustration you experienced with our company concerning dropped calls or calls not connecting. If you will email your name, address, phone number, and PIN to CustomerRelations@paytel.com, we will investigate this issue to determine why the calls were dropped.

The following information is in our brochure and posted on our website concerning dropped calls. Calls may be disconnected if any of the following activities occur during a call:

• Stop talking without hanging up.
• Attempts to make a 3-way call.
• Attempt to answer Call Waiting.
• Attempt to put a call on hold.
• Attempt to transfer a call.
• Use of a cordless phone (static).
• Use of a wireless phone (dropped cell tower or static).

PAY-TEL does not accept responsibility for dropped wireless phone calls.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best regards,

Customer Service

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >