PayTel

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
41 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Review
Posted by on
GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- My brother is an inmate at a local jail, and we are required to use PayTel to keep in contact with him. Earlier today he attempted to call me several times, a couple of times the PayTel service would not accept when I hit "3" to accept the call, and a couple of times it did, but he was unable to hear me. I could hear him fine, but he could not hear me. I ended up having a 3 minute call and two 1 minute calls trying to get it straightened out, and never did get to talk to him. PayTel charged me for all three calls (A normal call-length is 15 minutes).

I called the customer service number, and after a 28 minute wait, I spoke with a lady I believe her name was Maria/Mary. At first she tried to tell me there were no calls for the day (Even though the website already showed me being charged three times) and then she acknowledged there were some calls. She told me that she would forward my information to the technician to review the call and see if they could refund me, and to call back in a few hours.

I called back a few hours later, and after another long wait, the phone was answered by Christina. She checked her records, and it showed that the technician determined that the calls will billable due to being able to hear the inmate (Even though he could not hear me!)

I asked to speak to a supervisor and was transferred to another lady whom I did not catch a name for. She said they were unable to refund me for the calls because the technician deemed them to be billable. Three calls for a total of 5-6 minutes, when one call is supposed to give you 15 minutes, and he admitted that I could not be heard in the calls. I was told that the problem was with my cell phone. Which is ridiculous, because after having the issues with PayTel, I called my mom (Who has dealt with PayTel before and knew what to expect from customer service) and she told me to call PayTel and go through certain options to speak with them, which I did. So my cell phone was working for those two calls (To my mom, and to PayTel customer service) but the call from the inmate was not working. That seems strangely like there could be a problem with the PayTel system.

After the supervisor was "unable" to help me, I asked to speak with their manager, whom I was informed had gone for the day (It being a few minutes after 5:00pm due to the extremely long wait times.) So I was transferred to the manager's (Debbie) voicemail, and am currently await a return phonecall to resolve this issue.

What I don't understand is how they can determine a call is billable (Let alone three of them!) if only one side can be heard. Any honest, decent company would refund the charges and not risk alienating their clients over something so wrong.
Resolution Update 12/06/2011:
I spoke with Ms. Debbie Jones this morning, and she did a little bit of digging and thought that it was odd enough to have three very short phone calls one right after the other that it should cause a red flag about there being some trouble since she noted that my usual call length was the full 15 minutes. Ms. Jones was very courteous and informed me that they would make it right, by refunding the three calls as well as putting in a service order to check the phones at the jail. Ms. Jones made sure that I did not get off the phone without having my issue resolved to my satisfaction, and I appreciate her help in the matter.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 12/05/2011:
There are always so many complaints against Paytel. Why should the families be punished by a phone service that appears to constantly rip them off.

You should contact your state department of consumer affairs. You can file a complaint on line, and they will look into it.

http://www.ncdoj.gov/Consumer/2-2-12-File-a-Complaint.aspx
Close commentsAdd reply
Don't know what to do next...No help being given
Posted by on
I have been on the phone for the last 3 hours trying to figure out how to proceed with this company. First of all I don't understand why I have to have a PayTel account. I receive collect calls from another incarcerated relative twice monthly through Global TelLink. The calls are billed directly to my AT&T bill, which is always paid on time. If I can receive calls from one facility, why not the other?

Second of all, I went onto the website to open an account. After entering my phone number I was told this number already has an account set up. I don't remember ever opening an account with Paytel. But I know if I HAD opened an account I would use one of three passwords. I tried all three passwords and none worked. So I clicked on "Forgot Password?" and was asked for my first pets name (Security Question). I entered the answer and it was incorrect. So I know I did not set up this account. At this point I can only assume that the previous owner of this number opened an account.

So I tried to call the 800 number to tell them I am the new owner of the phone number. Guess what? I have to enter the PIN number in order to reach a CSR! I don't have the PIN number because I didn't open the account...because I only recently got this number. So I can't open an account because someone who used to have this number had an account and I don't know their PIN number. ARRRGGHHH. I just want to speak to my son and know that he is alright. I pay my bills on time. Why does it have to be so difficult? And why can't I just bill it to my AT&T bill like the other facility does. The familys of inmates are being subjected to more heartache than they are already experiencing.

NOTE: My sister had a PayTel account. Prepaid $50, inmate was released over a year ago. She still has never received her refund. She finally just gave up.
Company Response 1/20/2011:
Dear Vivian F:

We sincerely apologize for any frustration you experienced with our company. After reviewing your phone number 912-427-XXXX, looks like a previous customer had this number prior to you and unfortunately we are not notified when a new customer receives the same number. We have cancelled the previous account and you are fine to receive the calls and they will be billed through your local carrier.

In regards to the PIN, you can assign the PIN of your choice at any time but no need unless you choose to prepay and deal directly with our company other than your local telephone company. But our system will not allow you to access an account without the correct PIN and because the previous customer had an account with a PIN, this created a problem for you.

We hope this will resolve your issues. If you have any other questions in the future or if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day as we handled your previous email that you sent to this address.

Best regards.

     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 01/17/2011:
It's tough being a victim. I can't imagine the heartache of being sujected to the unjust actions of this company.the best solution is to have loved ones not commit crimes so these companies don't have to exist. Other than that fantasy, ask the prison who you can talk to to resolve this issue.
Skye on 01/17/2011:
I looked up the PayTel site, and they do have options for contacting them. Hopefully this will help:

http://www.paytel.com/contactcs.php
gvf513 on 01/18/2011:
I posted this complaint late last night, and also sent an email to Paytel Customer Service regarding my complaint.

In less than 12 hours the Company had emailed me and said that my phone number had indeed belonged to another person who had a Paytel account. They have the problem resolved and I have already received my first call from my son.

I am very happy with the promptness in which my problem was resolved. The response was both timely and handled in a friendly manner. Thank You PayTel.
Close commentsAdd reply
Paytel Non Customer Service
Posted by on
I wrote an email to Paytel hoping they would have a real person contact me. I am starting to believe that there ARE NO REAL LIVE PEOPLE AT PAYTEL and that may be it is only a program running on a computer. Here is the email I sent: (then they responded,,, see their response below)(Don't miss my response to them at the end of this post, I added it on)

I WILL BE FILING COMPLAINTS WITH ANY PLACE THAT I CAN INCLUDING THE FEDERAL TELEPHONE COMMISSION AND THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AND NUMEROUS ONLINE WEBSITES. I WILL BE CONTACTING THE JAIL FACILITIES THAT USE YOUR SERVICES AND LET THEM KNOW OF YOUR SERVICES THAT YOU ARE NOT PROVIDING. I MAY ALSO LET THEM KNOW OF THE OTHER PROVIDERS THAT ARE AVAILABLE FOR THEM TO USE AND MUCH EASIER TO CONTACT AND THAT PROVIDE BETTER CUSTOMER SERVICE. IF PAYTEL PROVIDED ANY CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ALL IT WOULD AT LEAST BE BETTER THAN NONE!

I WANT TO SET UP AN ACCOUNT! I NEED TO HAVE AN ACCOUNT SET UP TODAY. I HAVE PREVIOUSLY GOT ONLINE AND TRIED TO SET UP THE ACCOUNT ONLINE NUMEROUS TIMES AND YOUR WEBSITE IS NOT WORKING TO SET UP NEW ACCOUNTS. EVERY TIME I ATTEMPT TO SET UP A NEW ACCOUNT I GET A ERROR MESSAGE FROM YOUR WEBSITE. YESTERDAY WAS NOT THE FIRST TIME I HAVE TRIED THIS. BUT I REACHED MY BREAKING POINT YESTERDAY WHEN I GOT EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED WITH YOUR WEBSITE GIVING ME ERROR MESSAGES AND I TRIED TO CONTACT CUSTOMER SERVICE (TWO WORDS THAT PAYTEL DOES NOT SEEM TO KNOW THE DEFINITION OF) AND I COULD NOT SPEAK TO A REAL PERSON NO MATTER WHICH PROMPTS I FOLLOWED, AND I TRIED THEM ALL! I FOUND THIS EMAIL ADDRESS ON A WEBSITE WHERE SOMEONE ELSE HAS POSTED A COMPLAINT AND I HOPE IT WORKS TO REACH SOMEONE. I'VE TRIED TO CONTACT YOU VIA TELEPHONE PRIOR TO YESTERDAY ALSO AND NUMEROUS TIMES. HOWEVER, YESTERDAY I WENT THROUGH ALL PROMPTS IN AN EFFORT TO SPEAK TO A REAL PERSON AND I HAVE EXHAUSTED EVERY METHOD OF COMMUNICATION YOU HAVE LISTED ON YOUR WEBSITE. YOUR COMPANY SEEMS TO BE A HOAX.

I NEED TO SET UP AN ACCOUNT TODAY SO THAT I CAN RECEIVE CALLS FROM THE COWETA COUNTY JAIL FACILITY.
MY PHONE NUMBER IS

CONTACT ME ASAP, OR I WILL BE CONTACTING THE FEDERAL TELEPHONE COMMISSION TO MAKE SURE ANOTHER COMPANY TAKES OVER THE SERVICES THAT PAYTEL IS FAILING TO PROVIDE.

SINCERELY,
AN EXTREMELY UNHAPPY NON-CUSTOMER

THEIR RESPONSE VIA EMAIL:

(Their e-mail states it is only intended for the party that it is addressed to and that I'm not allowed to copy or show it to anyone!!!) WOW! So, I will simply tell you what it said, they respond simply to tell me that their website is currently down (apparently it is always down) and to contact them at the phone number (the same number that I've already tried numerous times and cannot reach a person no matter which prompts you select!)

I then received another email telling me to use my pin# to make a payment on my account!!! They apparently didn't understand the problem, I NEVER HAD SET UP AN ACCOUNT, I needed to set up a NEW ACCOUNT! I provided them with various numbers that I pressed when their automated phone system asked for my pin# (the system asked for my pin# when I never had an account with them and never was given one so I just entered a pin thinking maybe they want me to choose a pin#, but that's not what the system said) So, in my email to them I provided them with various #s that could have been my pin# including "000000" as I was trying to "0" out for an operator. So, apparently when their system tells you to enter your pin#, it actually is meaning for you to choose a pin#. However, after you do enter a # it doesn't help you to get any further in setting up your new account. Until you eventually search for other complaints online and find the email address they have listed on here. Because their contact form on their website doesn't work either. And also, this was not a two day problem as Paytell stated. The problems I've been having with trying to set up an account with them have been going on for weeks now. I hope this post assists anyone else that have encountered the same problems as I have with this hoax company named Paytell.
Company Response 5/27/2010:
Sorry for any problems you have experienced with our company. Our phone lines have been extremely busy due to the problems we were having with our website Wednesday and this morning. The customer service representatives have been answering as many calls as possible to assist everyone.

Regrettably, the PIN situation you experienced is a Federal requirement. We are unable to assist a customer if they cannot give the PIN that had already been established. Our policy when someone forgets their PIN; the responsible party will need to fax or mail a copy of their driver’s license and copy of their most recent telephone bill showing they are the responsible party. When doing so, they will need to include the new 6 digit PIN that they wish to have as their PIN.

Once you provided the PIN in your email, the representative was able to guide you through setting up your account on our website which then allowed you to make your payment.
Again, we apologize for the problems you encountered with our company. If we can assist you further please let us know at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best Regards,
Customer Relations
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
steve101 on 05/28/2010:
Visiting hours are 1-4pm. Letters are also accepted.
catwellhollow on 12/17/2011:
I am with you! ANY options & ALL options to report this company! You may find you have already been charged, for services not received!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Rip Off
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CUMMING, GEORGIA -- I recently had a friend add $28 onto my Paytel account. My account is saying no payment was billed and now I lost money. She paid with a credit debit card and it also billed her bank account. It is showing $00.00 and shows no payment. I would like for the $28 dollars to be refunded to the account. I also had Paytel charge me twice for a phone call a couple weeks back on my first Paytel account. I am very un happy because I cannot receive call from my inmate. Please reply ASAP because nobody has helped me yet about this. Thank you.
Company Response 10/07/2014:
Dear Ms. Turner:

After investigating your complaint we determined that your account number is 678-856-XXXX.

We apologize for any problems that you may have had with Pay Tel concerning your payment not being applied to your account. After researching your issue, this transaction was declined because the address provided did not match the address on file with the credit card company, so the payment was not added to your Pay Tel account.

You mentioned in your complaint that "nobody has helped me". We received an email to csr@paytel.com on October 5th at 5:05 pm and responded back the same day at 6:53 pm explaining the problem. We received another email on October 5th also to customerrelations@paytel.com at 5:52 pm and responded back again the same day at 7:54 pm. Then you sent another email to the President of Pay Tel, same day at 5:56 pm and he responded back to you on Monday at 12:39 pm; all of which explained the same issue with your payment.

You also stated in your complaint "charge me twice for a phone call a couple weeks back". We will need the phone number for the "first Pay Tel account" you mentioned to investigate this issue. You can respond to customerrelations@paytel.com with the other phone number.

I hope this will help to clarify any issues you have with the transaction. If we can be of further assistance, please let us know.

Best regards,
Customer Relations

     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Customer Service Ever by a Supervisor
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
GRAY, GEORGIA -- Calls being disconnect and rude customer service. Refused to credit two calls but the supervisor could not explain why I was getting a message if the call had dropped. Their poorly trained supervisor informed me that their product didn't play a message. They switched over to a new system last week and I can only assume they didn't bother to educate their staff. Crystal was rude and kept talking over me to the point that I had to start raising my voice to be heard. Towards the end of the first call I ended up losing my temper and use foul language. Crystal then hung up on me which is standard in any customer service department. What is not standard is that when I called back she started yelling at me and threatened to hang up on me again. When I told her I would just call back she told me she would get me for harassment and then hung up. When I called back for a third time she let it go to her voice mail.

Also, noticed there is a complaint from 2012 also complaining about a Crystal. . What are the odds of that. Having worked in a phone business customer service department dealing with hostile customers I have to tell you that your company is in a sad state or just doesn't care if that is the norm from your supervisors. Which I'm assuming is after reading the complaints from a year ago involving the same supervisor.
Company Response 11/27/2013:
Dear Ms. Bryant:

We are very sorry for any mistreatment you feel you have experienced with our customer service supervisor. It is surely not our policy to offend or mistreat any customer. We continually stress the importance of treating our customers with respect and assisting them in every way possible. Our customers are extremely important to us.

We had a technician monitor the calls on November 25th in question and also again by a Customer Service Manager yesterday. We are unable to provide credit for these calls; as the inmate was speaking and you were gone…which means the connection on your side was gone. We are willing to allow credit for any calls that are dropped or disconnected due to faulty equipment or service on our part. But these particular calls did not fall within that category.

The following information is in our brochure and posted on our website concerning dropped calls.
Calls may be disconnected if any of the following activities occur during a call:

• Stop talking without hanging up.
• Attempts to make a 3-way call.
• Attempt to answer Call Waiting.
• Attempt to put a call on hold.
• Attempt to transfer a call.
• Use of a cordless phone (static).
• Use of a wireless phone (dropped cell
tower or static).

PAY-TEL does not accept responsibility for dropped wireless phone calls.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience, but hope this helps you understand the decision made regarding your issue.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best regards,

Customer Relations
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Tracie on 11/27/2013:
As I explained in my email to you that at this point I didn't care about the credit. Want I wanted was an explanation which your supervisor could not provide without getting rude. For your comment "We are very sorry for any mistreatment you feel you have experienced with our customer service supervisor". Any mistreatment I feel I have experienced... really.. "It is surely not our policy to offend or mistreat any customer."
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Not Receiving What I Paid For
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- In the past two days, I have deposited $80 into a PayTel account. For that $80, I have received significantly less than the amount of talk time listed on the PayTel website. I am aware of the fees involved for using this service. I accounted for those fees in the deposits I have made.

I deposited $40 the first time and received three reasonably short phone calls before I received a call from PayTel explaining that my number had been blocked until I deposited more money. Last night, I deposited another $40 (they charged an additional $3, which I expected). With that $40, I received one phone call which lasted 14 minutes, and then I received a call from PayTel explaining to me that my balance was low and I had to deposit more money.

$40 for a 14-minute phone call is so far beyond reasonable that I can't even fathom. This company offers a service, and then takes advantage of the people using it. They know how important those phone calls are, and they know we will keep depositing money in order to hear that voice at the other end of the line. There is no reason why it should cost more to place a phone call from inside a detention center than it does from outside the center. This is unreasonable, and designed to inflict even more hardship on families and friends who are already experiencing difficult times.

This is absolutely shameful business practice.
Company Response 2/7/2013:
We regret your frustration concerning the rates for your collect calls. If you will provide your phone number with area code, we will be happy to check your account to make sure you are being charged the correct rate.

We are a certificated carrier in every state where we provide service and the rates we charge are regulated in most states. In all states we charge rates that are equal or below the rates charged for the same call through the local telephone company. The cost of calls from confinement facilities are more expensive because of the increased controls required by law enforcement.

We regret your frustration and will be happy to assist you directly if you will send an e-mail with your information to customerrelations@paytel.com.

Best regards,

Customer Relations

     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Drop Calls
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WINTER HAVEN -- Hi everyone,
I just want to let everyone know about the experience I had with Paytel. My boyfriend and I were on the phone talking on Friday. He called me at 12:33pm we were talking and catching up on somethings then all of a sudden the I didn't hear him anymore. I thought he had hung up on me or worse something had happened. So, I got another phone call from him and I asked him what had happened. He said he thought I hung up on him. Anyway, we went on with our conversation and the phone did it again.

I called customer service, boy they were no help at all, not even the supervisor Crystal. Crystal said that there was no way I could get any credit. She was very rude and nasty. I asked her if it happen again she stated that I was at a loss, that there is nothing they can do about it. They were not sorry or helpful at all.

I would not refer anyone to this company and it sucks because they know that this is the only service that you can used to talk with your loved one.
Company Response 11/27/2012:
Dear Sheree K:

From your information on My 3 Cents.com, we have determined your account number to be 912-321-XXXX.

We are very sorry for any mistreatment you feel you experienced with our customer service representatives or the supervisor. It is surely not our policy to offend or mistreat any customer. We continually stress the importance of treating our customers with respect and assisting them in every way possible; that is how we stay in business. Our customers are extremely important to us.

We also apologize for the problems you experienced with our company concerning the dropped calls. But after reviewing your account, you were not charged for a call on 11/23 at 12:33 pm as you mention in your review.

If you feel you have provided us with incorrect information, you can submit any other response to CustomerRelations@paytel.com and we will investigate your issue further and get back with you.

Best regards.

Customer Relations
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Craiggirl on 11/26/2012:
I just cannot understand why PayTel is still in business and has done nothing about improveing this just shows that they care nothing about there customers.how can this company allow there employes to be so rude to there customer and not care cause they that we have no choice but to use them .it sucks they need competition so they wouldn't give poor customer service.I pray that someone would look into this so we can get some help.
At Your Service on 11/28/2012:
Good to see Paytel answering your complaint. Also good to know you weren't being charged.

Is there a particular reason you can't find another service to use? I've never heard of Paytel. They aren't around where I am.
Craiggirl on 11/29/2012:
I did get charge for both dropped calls and where my boyfriend is they only allow PayTel.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Didn't know
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I did not know that I have to call paytell to take a block off. I thought that If you had put money on the account that the block would be taken off. I have no way of looking up this information, other than a small section on a piece of a website. I just wish they had more on the site to know. I wish I could check and see if there is a block on my phone by their site. Not have to wait on the phone for someone. I have already been hung up once waiting on their line, then called back and had to tell the person NOT TO HANG UP THIS TIME. I just wish they were a little more user friendly. I hope also that I'm not taken advantage of.

Missing her husband.
Company Response 3/8/2012:
We apologize for any problems you experienced with our company.

To investigate your concerns please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.

Customer Relations
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
A whole page. on 02/18/2012:
Right here on their web site.
http://paytel.com/faq-ftc-13.html
Close commentsAdd reply
Biggest Government approved scam in history!
Posted by on
I was surprised to learn the only way to communicate with my loved one in jail was pay-tel. I went to the site, filled out ALL the information and then deposited money. I have yet to receive my first call, it hangs up in mid-message. I finally called pay-tel today & spoke with a person, turns out they had the wrong number listed.(I put in the correct#, I look it up every time) They charged my credit card 2 weeks ago. Can't wait to see how much they have charged me, for calls I didn't receive.(to the wrong#) I was told it would take 3 hrs for this change to post. I will update.....

This is such a scam, I have heard so many complaints, people feel powerless to do anything. I think half the problem is with incompetent employees. Since they are making SOOOO much money, they should spend some of it PROVIDING THE SERVICE THEY CHARGE FOR!

I saw another post about Paytel supporting politics. Isn't that a NO-NO?
If not please re-post current political person/party I would be happy to contribute any amount to put a STOP to this SCAM.......

This reminds me of the child support scam where they say they will get your back child support for the small fee of 40% of what is owed!

Very disappointed in Pay-tel. By tomorrow I will file forms on the DOJ site. Have to wait 3 hours for acct. to update.
Company Response 12/19/2011:
We apologize for any problems you experienced with our company.

To investigate your concerns please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.

Customer Relations
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 12/19/2011:
In most states you can contact your Attorney Generals office or state correctional agency and they will assist you in mediating problems with PayTel.
catwellhollow on 12/20/2011:
Cannot access acct. online, my number has now been blocked! So no calls are coming through. Just gets better & better. Will try to wait on the phone tomorrow, for customer relations.
Same problem.
PROVIDE THE SERVICE YOU CHARGE FOR!
You have had my money for weeks.
catwellhollow on 12/21/2011:
After filing several complaints today, I have received an email from Paytel saying my phone is now fine to be used. I guess we will see. I will post results.
Close commentsAdd reply
PayTel is a monopoly that overcharges and refuses to refund dropped calls
Posted by on
SALEM, VIRGINIA -- PayTel is the sole provider for phone service for Western Virginia Regional Jail. This is a monopoly without competition that is being forced on people who are very vulnerable and need to keep in contact with their loved ones. Institutions and correctional facilities like Western Virginia Regional Jail must offer an alternative to PayTel with competitive prices and services. PayTel's prices, services, and customer support are atrocious at best. This company is completely incompetent and their practices are unacceptable and frankly un-American. PayTel should not be allowed to have a monopoly on an essential phone service, period. PayTel has dropped numerous calls and has refused to refund any of them. I have already given PayTel hundreds of dollars just so I can make a local call to a loved one who is currently incarcerated, and yet they refuse to refund my dropped calls and have accused me of trying to swindle their system. I am at a loss for words. PayTel and their business practices are absolutely disgusting, it is unacceptable and un-American that we are forced to use a monopoly for such an essential service. I am tempted to contact my lawyer and provide my phone records showing that I have never once had a dropped call in my area except when using PayTel's completely unreliable service, and that PayTel has blamed me and my telephone service provider for their failure to provide adequate service and that PayTel refuses to refund my dropped calls. I will be pursuing a class action lawsuit against PayTel and will be lobbying for the implementation of an alternative, competitive telephone service provider.

I have already spoken with your (PayTel) supervisors numerous times and am now pursuing legal action.
Company Response 12/16/2011:
We apologize for any frustration you experienced with our company concerning dropped calls. If you will email your name, address, phone number, and PIN to CustomerRelations@paytel.com, we will investigate this issue to determine why the calls were dropped.

The following information is in our brochure and posted on our website concerning dropped calls. Calls may be disconnected if any of the following activities occur during a call:

• Stop talking without hanging up.
• Attempts to make a 3-way call.
• Attempt to answer Call Waiting.
• Attempt to put a call on hold.
• Attempt to transfer a call.
• Use of a cordless phone (static).
• Use of a wireless phone (dropped cell tower or static).

PAY-TEL does not accept responsibility for dropped wireless phone calls.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best regards,

Customer Service
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 12/17/2011:
Looks like PayTel is offering to resolve this. May as well take them up on it.
catwellhollow on 12/20/2011:
I may be interested is that as well monroelemon.
Still waiting to receive my first call. Deposited money 3 wks ago. Now my numbers are blocked.
E A St. Louis on 07/10/2013:
Disgusting, PayTel's reply didn't even sound sincere. More like a voice automated answering system. I'm so tired of seeing the public being taken advantage of by these jerkoff companies. It's basically extortion in most cases and they do it legally because of kickbacks to low life officials. I say get a lawyer or at least call the FCC and file a complaint. The FCC will require an explanation from them and these kind of scums hate that, and give the FCC accurate and plenty of information so that PayTel can't easily wriggle away with a bunch of lies and legal BS.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >