Preview Review

Next Review

PayTel

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 18 ratings and
52 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
PayTel
P.O. Box 19290
Greensboro, NC 27419
1-800-729-8355 (ph)
www.paytel.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lousy Service. Paying for Dead Air!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREENBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- I really don't know how these people sleep at night. I can only hope that they have to suffer with a service like this as the only means to communicate with an incarcerated loved one. ALL DAY today, my girlfriend tried calling me and all I got was dead air and the lame automated system never picked up even though I was screaming at the top of my lungs "HELLO!" I don't want to hear the lame excuse that it's my cell phone because I have no issues placing or receiving calls unless it's dealing with this sorry excuse for a service.

I realized that people that are incarcerated are there for punishment but when you provide a service to speak with them that people PAY FOR, those people expect that service to be delivered. Perhaps since these people have a monopoly they can prey upon the families of inmates just to make money. They should be put out of business. I'm NOT paying to listen to dead air! I hope I win the Powerball so I can create my own company that provides such a service that isn't as horrible as this.

When I do actually get a call to go through, it drops. I don't want to hear that it's my cell phone because I have Verizon and full signal where my home is. What I want is the calls I did not get and the dropped calls refunded. Also please do not try and buffalo me that I stopped talking or switched to conference call like the last lame responses because I can assure you none of those things were happening. It really is disgusting that a so called "business" would provide such a sub par service while charging an arm and a leg for it because they are the only ones available.

Update 01/13/2016:

This is the same lame response given to EVERYBODY no matter what their issue. Want to know what your lousy service did this morning? I have a positive balance of $10 and my inmate was finally able to call me in the morning. The lame automated system picked up and gave me the usual "You have a collect call from: blah, blah, blah" and then dead air then I hear "Goodbye" and the friggin thing hangs up. There is never anyone available to take my call when I call into your pathetic company but somebody is always able to post these scripted and not applicable answers. I hate you people with every fiber of my being and saying I hope you all get colon cancer for what you are doing to people is too kind.

Company Response 01/11/2016:

We apologize for any frustration you experienced with our company concerning dropped calls or calls not connecting. If you will email your name, address, phone number, and PIN to CustomerRelations@paytel.com, we will investigate this issue to determine why the calls were dropped.

The following information is in our brochure and posted on our website concerning dropped calls. Calls may be disconnected if any of the following activities occur during a call:

• Stop talking without hanging up.
• Attempts to make a 3-way call.
• Attempt to answer Call Waiting.
• Attempt to put a call on hold.
• Attempt to transfer a call.
• Use of a cordless phone (static).
• Use of a wireless phone (dropped cell tower or static).

PAY-TEL does not accept responsibility for dropped wireless phone calls.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best regards,

Customer Service

Replies
Advertisement
Call Your Governor's Office and Put These Companies Out of Business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KANSAS CITY, KANSAS -- I have had my first experience with this since the last time I knew anyone in jail was when they just used the phone in the jail free and could call collect. But this long-winded recording that took my payment info was ridiculous and then it hung up on me when it was done, so I didn't get to talk to my family member. It also charged me 23.00 and when he called back it shut off after 15 minutes. Is that what they are charging for 15 minutes of conversation. People you need to call your governor's offices, when they get tired of your calls they will do something, also thinking I am going to work on a Change.org petition about this nationwide.

Replies
Prices Are Outrageous
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

DUBLIN, GA -- I read many of the reviews before making the account. Unfortunately if you want to talk to a loved one you have no other choice but to make an account with them. I did not have a problem with the service. I heard my loved one clearly. Only problem I had was after reviewing my account I saw that they charge a whopping $5 per call (rounded up). This is ridiculous! I can imagine how rich these people are while they are exploiting the needy. What a shame. It's amazing because even if the call was $2 they would still be ridiculously rich. But money is the root of all evil.

Company Response 06/23/2016:

Sorry for any problems you have experienced with our company. If you would provide us with your name, phone number and PIN, we will provide you with a rate quote for your calls.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Thank you.

Customer Relations

Replies
Pay Tel, Don't You See All the BAD Reviews?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CUMMING GA, GEORGIA -- You would THINK by now Pay Tel would see how BAD their reviews are and CHANGE something about themselves. The company can EAT POOP and stick it where the sun don't shine! This is a CRIMINAL COMPANY STEALING PEOPLE'S MONEY. An attorney has been contacted and after seeing all the complaints. Has told me he will make it his mission to GET THESE PEOPLE THEIR MONEY BACK.

Listen Pay Tel no one uses landline phones anymore. Cellphones are 10 times more advanced now than the old landline. Should not be having so many dropped calls. If the call is dropped you should refund every one of them no questions asked. What if we dropped your calls and said, "The monies all mine." Here's an automated message to tide you over till we get you again? Not good business. STEP UP CAUSE YOU GUYS SUCKS. Have a nice ** day Pay Smell.

Company Response 04/25/2016:

We apologize for any frustration you experienced with our company concerning dropped calls. If you will email your name, address, phone number, and PIN to CustomerRelations@paytel.com, we will investigate this issue to determine why the calls were dropped.

The following information is in our brochure and posted on our website concerning dropped calls. Calls may be disconnected if any of the following activities occur during a call:

• Stop talking without hanging up.
• Attempts to make a 3-way call.
• Attempt to answer Call Waiting.
• Attempt to put a call on hold.
• Attempt to transfer a call.
• Use of a cordless phone (static).
• Use of a wireless phone (dropped cell tower or static).

PAY-TEL does not accept responsibility for dropped wireless phone calls.
In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best regards,

Customer Relations

Replies
Advertisement
Paytel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- Apparently this is a known issue with Paytel. The inmate says their name, I press 3 and it just disconnects it. Did it all day today and I spend a lot of money with this company and as other said it's not my phone because I have to push prompts to get to your reps and it works fine. It's your phones. I do my part and my loved one only gets to come out certain hours throughout the day. I'm in tears typing this because I'm so frustrated these are still human beings and they have families that miss and love them and these phone calls mean the world to us. So you guys need to do something about this like really. I spend a lot of money with you.

Company Response 03/21/2016:

We apologize for any problems you experienced with our company.

To investigate your concerns please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.

Customer Relations

Replies
Crappy Over Priced Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH CAROLINA -- With as much as this company collects per call you would think they could keep their services up and running. Whole system down all day and possibly not up till tomorrow. Too bad you can't shop around. They hold a monopoly and there's nothing you can do about it.

Company Response 02/24/2016:

We apologize for the problems you have encountered with our company concerning your account. We had technical issues yesterday, February 23, 2016. Unfortunately, this effected the website, phone system and calls from the inmates. However, the outage took longer to correct than expected.

Our website and our Automated Phone System is now providing information for your accounts.

Our phone lines have been extremely busy during this issue, the CSR's have been available and assisting as many customers as possible. We are very sorry for the problems this has created for you.

If you will provide us with your phone number, PIN, we will research your account and get back with you. You can email your information to a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Please accept our apologies for this error.

Best regards.
Customer Relations

Replies
Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CUMMING, GEORGIA -- I recently had a friend add $28 onto my Paytel account. My account is saying no payment was billed and now I lost money. She paid with a credit debit card and it also billed her bank account. It is showing $00.00 and shows no payment. I would like for the $28 dollars to be refunded to the account. I also had PayTel charge me twice for a phone call a couple weeks back on my first PayTel account. I am very unhappy because I cannot receive call from my inmate. Please reply ASAP because nobody has helped me yet about this. Thank you.

Company Response 10/07/2014:

Dear Ms. Turner:

After investigating your complaint we determined that your account number is 678-856-XXXX.

We apologize for any problems that you may have had with Pay Tel concerning your payment not being applied to your account. After researching your issue, this transaction was declined because the address provided did not match the address on file with the credit card company, so the payment was not added to your Pay Tel account.

You mentioned in your complaint that "nobody has helped me". We received an email to csr@paytel.com on October 5th at 5:05 pm and responded back the same day at 6:53 pm explaining the problem. We received another email on October 5th also to customerrelations@paytel.com at 5:52 pm and responded back again the same day at 7:54 pm. Then you sent another email to the President of Pay Tel, same day at 5:56 pm and he responded back to you on Monday at 12:39 pm; all of which explained the same issue with your payment.

You also stated in your complaint "charge me twice for a phone call a couple weeks back". We will need the phone number for the "first Pay Tel account" you mentioned to investigate this issue. You can respond to customerrelations@paytel.com with the other phone number.

I hope this will help to clarify any issues you have with the transaction. If we can be of further assistance, please let us know.

Best regards,
Customer Relations

Replies
Paytel Charging for Calls When You Can Not Hear Inmates
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILSON, NORTH CAROLINA -- When my friend call from jail at times I can't hear him or he can't hear me. We have to hang up and try the call again, each time Paytel will charge for the call. I have spoken with them about this and never get a refund. Each time he calls we talk the full time if there was not a problem with Paytel service. Why would there be calls for less than a minute just to turn around and have another call back to back until we can hear each other. I feel this is a scam. There is no other carriers so you have to pay or not be able to talk to your love one.

Company Response 04/17/2015:

We apologize for any frustration you experienced with our company concerning dropped calls. If you will email your name, address, phone number, and PIN to CustomerRelations@paytel.com, we will investigate this issue to determine why the calls were dropped.

The following information is in our brochure and posted on our website concerning dropped calls. Calls may be disconnected if any of the following activities occur during a call:

• Stop talking without hanging up.
• Attempts to make a 3-way call.
• Attempt to answer Call Waiting.
• Attempt to put a call on hold.
• Attempt to transfer a call.
• Use of a cordless phone (static).
• Use of a wireless phone (dropped cell tower or static).

PAY-TEL does not accept responsibility for dropped wireless phone calls.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best regards,

Customer Service

Replies
Advertisement
No Business Should Be Allowed to Operate Like Paytel Does!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORDELE, GEORGIA -- I just want to say it is very sad that a company that makes as much money as Paytel does won't even provide fair service to their customers. Service that we pay for in full and sometime we don't even get half of what we pay for. Almost every time I have had dropped calls, Paytel always says it's my cell phone that is dropping the calls yet I never have any problems with my calls being dropped unless I'm using Paytel. Also Paytel only considers giving you credit if it was due to their equipment being faulty which is ridiculous. Any company should at least review whatever your problem may be and resolve it if you have paid for that service and didn't get what you paid for.

For example, I paid for a 15 minute call and while I was talking I put the phone on speakerphone so I could comfort my newborn baby. Well I went to pick my phone back up and accidentally hit the end button after only 2 minutes of talking and Paytel won't even attempt to give me credit for that call just because it was my fault and because I accidentally hit end.

It's things like this that makes this company so awful. A company so rich yet so evil. If Paytel would change the way they handle their customers problems it would be a great company, but as I've seen all they want is every penny they can squeeze out of a person! Pure disgrace.

Company Response 03/23/2015:

We apologize for any frustration you experienced with our company concerning dropped calls. If you will email your name, address, phone number, and PIN to CustomerRelations@paytel.com, we will investigate this issue to determine why the calls was dropped.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best regards,

Customer Relations

Replies
Dropped Call from Automated System
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT DEFIANCE, ARIZONA -- This evening (December 8, 2014) I tried to answer two calls coming from the McKinley Adult Detention Center in Gallup, NM. The first call I received was at 8:00 PM - after hearing the name, the automated system disconnected the call even though I was saying hello multiple times. The seconded time tonight was at 10:00 PM. I answered the call, this time I heard the caller's name and the system asked me to press "1" to accept the call. Which I did... but the system just repeated itself and I again pressed "1", instead of connecting me to the caller, it again disconnected the call.

I am extremely disappointed and distress to be missing calls from a loved one. I request an immediate inquiry into this "glitch" in the system so it can be fixed. The phone number that was used was my home number which is a land line. I have dealt with other inmate phone companies in the past and they were never this difficult.

Company Response 12/12/2014:

Dear Elaine B:

From your information on My 3 Cents.com, we have determined your account numbers to be 505-488-XXXX and 928-729-XXXX.

However after reviewing your accounts, our records show you were successful in receiving the free call early the next morning from the inmate. As you may know now, you must press 3 to accept the calls, not 1. As our records also show, you have set up and prepaid on both accounts and are currently receiving the calls with no problem.

I hope this resolves your issue. In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best regards.

Customer Relations

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >