Preview Review

Next Review

PayTel - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 30 ratings and
64 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
PayTel
P.O. Box 19290
Greensboro, NC 27419
1-800-729-8355 (ph)
www.paytel.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Pay Tel, Don't You See All the BAD Reviews?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CUMMING GA, GEORGIA -- You would THINK by now Pay Tel would see how BAD their reviews are and CHANGE something about themselves. The company can EAT POOP and stick it where the sun don't shine! This is a CRIMINAL COMPANY STEALING PEOPLE'S MONEY. An attorney has been contacted and after seeing all the complaints. Has told me he will make it his mission to GET THESE PEOPLE THEIR MONEY BACK.

Listen Pay Tel no one uses landline phones anymore. Cellphones are 10 times more advanced now than the old landline. Should not be having so many dropped calls. If the call is dropped you should refund every one of them no questions asked. What if we dropped your calls and said, "The monies all mine." Here's an automated message to tide you over till we get you again? Not good business. STEP UP CAUSE YOU GUYS SUCKS. Have a nice ** day Pay Smell.

Company Response 04/25/2016:

We apologize for any frustration you experienced with our company concerning dropped calls. If you will email your name, address, phone number, and PIN to CustomerRelations@paytel.com, we will investigate this issue to determine why the calls were dropped.

The following information is in our brochure and posted on our website concerning dropped calls. Calls may be disconnected if any of the following activities occur during a call:

• Stop talking without hanging up.
• Attempts to make a 3-way call.
• Attempt to answer Call Waiting.
• Attempt to put a call on hold.
• Attempt to transfer a call.
• Use of a cordless phone (static).
• Use of a wireless phone (dropped cell tower or static).

PAY-TEL does not accept responsibility for dropped wireless phone calls.
In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best regards,

Customer Relations

Replies
Advertisement
Paytel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- Apparently this is a known issue with Paytel. The inmate says their name, I press 3 and it just disconnects it. Did it all day today and I spend a lot of money with this company and as other said it's not my phone because I have to push prompts to get to your reps and it works fine. It's your phones. I do my part and my loved one only gets to come out certain hours throughout the day. I'm in tears typing this because I'm so frustrated these are still human beings and they have families that miss and love them and these phone calls mean the world to us. So you guys need to do something about this like really. I spend a lot of money with you.

Company Response 03/21/2016:

We apologize for any problems you experienced with our company.

To investigate your concerns please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.

Customer Relations

Replies
Review
By -

GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- My brother is an inmate at a local jail, and we are required to use PayTel to keep in contact with him. Earlier today he attempted to call me several times, a couple of times the PayTel service would not accept when I hit "3" to accept the call, and a couple of times it did, but he was unable to hear me. I could hear him fine, but he could not hear me. I ended up having a 3 minute call and two 1 minute calls trying to get it straightened out, and never did get to talk to him. PayTel charged me for all three calls (a normal call-length is 15 minutes).

I called the customer service number, and after a 28 minute wait, I spoke with a lady I believe her name was **. At first she tried to tell me there were no calls for the day (even though the website already showed me being charged three times) and then she acknowledged there were some calls. She told me that she would forward my information to the technician to review the call and see if they could refund me, and to call back in a few hours.

I called back a few hours later, and after another long wait, the phone was answered by **. She checked her records, and it showed that the technician determined that the calls will billable due to being able to hear the inmate (even though he could not hear me!). I asked to speak to a supervisor and was transferred to another lady whom I did not catch a name for. She said they were unable to refund me for the calls because the technician deemed them to be billable. Three calls for a total of 5-6 minutes, when one call is supposed to give you 15 minutes, and he admitted that I could not be heard in the calls.

I was told that the problem was with my cell phone. Which is ridiculous, because after having the issues with PayTel, I called my mom (who has dealt with PayTel before and knew what to expect from customer service) and she told me to call PayTel and go through certain options to speak with them, which I did. So my cell phone was working for those two calls (to my mom, and to PayTel customer service) but the call from the inmate was not working. That seems strangely like there could be a problem with the PayTel system.

After the supervisor was "unable" to help me, I asked to speak with their manager, whom I was informed had gone for the day (it being a few minutes after 5:00 pm due to the extremely long wait times). So I was transferred to the manager's (**) voicemail, and am currently await a return phone call to resolve this issue. What I don't understand is how they can determine a call is billable (let alone three of them!) if only one side can be heard. Any honest, decent company would refund the charges and not risk alienating their clients over something so wrong.

Resolution Update 12/06/2011:

I spoke with Ms. Debbie Jones this morning, and she did a little bit of digging and thought that it was odd enough to have three very short phone calls one right after the other that it should cause a red flag about there being some trouble since she noted that my usual call length was the full 15 minutes. Ms. Jones was very courteous and informed me that they would make it right, by refunding the three calls as well as putting in a service order to check the phones at the jail. Ms. Jones made sure that I did not get off the phone without having my issue resolved to my satisfaction, and I appreciate her help in the matter.

Replies
Paytel Non Customer Service
By -

I wrote an email to PayTel hoping they would have a real person contact me. I am starting to believe that there are no real live people at PayTel and that may be it is only a program running on a computer. Here is the email I sent: I will be filing complaints with any place that I can including the Federal Telephone Commission and the Better Business Bureau and numerous online websites. I will be contacting the jail facilities that use your services and let them know of your services that you are not providing. I may also let them know of the other providers that are available for them to use and much easier to contact and that provide better customer service.

If PayTel provided any customer service at all it would at least be better than none! I want to set up an account! I need to have an account set up today. I have previously got online and tried to set up the account online numerous times and your website is not working to set up new accounts. Every time I attempt to set up a new account I get a error message from your website. Yesterday was not the first time I have tried this.

But I reached my breaking point yesterday when I got extremely frustrated with your website giving me error messages and I tried to contact customer service (two words that paytel does not seem to know the definition of). And I could not speak to a real person no matter which prompts I followed, and I tried them all! I found this email address on a website where someone else has posted a complaint and I hope it works to reach someone. I've tried to contact you via telephone prior to yesterday also and numerous times.

However, yesterday I went through all prompts in an effort to speak to a real person and I have exhausted every method of communication you have listed on your website. Your company seems to be a hoax. I need to set up an account today so that I can receive calls from the Coweta County Jail facility. My phone number is **. Contact me asap, or I will be contacting the federal telephone commission to make sure another company takes over the services that PayTel is failing to provide.

Their response via email: Their e-mail states it is only intended for the party that it is addressed to and that I'm not allowed to copy or show it to anyone!!! Wow! So, I will simply tell you what it said, they respond simply to tell me that their website is currently down (apparently it is always down) and to contact them at the phone number (the same number that I've already tried numerous times and cannot reach a person no matter which prompts you select!)

I then received another email telling me to use my pin # to make a payment on my account!!! They apparently didn't understand the problem, I never had set up an account, I needed to set up a new account! I provided them with various numbers that I pressed when their automated phone system asked for my pin # (the system asked for my pin# when I never had an account with them and never was given one so I just entered a pin thinking maybe they want me to choose a pin #, but that's not what the system said). So, in my email to them I provided them with various #s that could have been my pin # including "000000" as I was trying to "0" out for an operator.

So, apparently when their system tells you to enter your pin #, it actually is meaning for you to choose a pin #. However, after you do enter a # it doesn't help you to get any further in setting up your new account. Until you eventually search for other complaints online and find the email address they have listed on here. Because their contact form on their website doesn't work either. And also, this was not a two day problem as paytell stated. The problems I've been having with trying to set up an account with them have been going on for weeks now.

I hope this post assists anyone else that have encountered the same problems as I have with this hoax company named PayTel.

Company Response 5/27/2010:

Sorry for any problems you have experienced with our company. Our phone lines have been extremely busy due to the problems we were having with our website Wednesday and this morning. The customer service representatives have been answering as many calls as possible to assist everyone.

Regrettably, the PIN situation you experienced is a Federal requirement. We are unable to assist a customer if they cannot give the PIN that had already been established. Our policy when someone forgets their PIN; the responsible party will need to fax or mail a copy of their driver's license and copy of their most recent telephone bill showing they are the responsible party. When doing so, they will need to include the new 6 digit PIN that they wish to have as their PIN.

Once you provided the PIN in your email, the representative was able to guide you through setting up your account on our website which then allowed you to make your payment.
Again, we apologize for the problems you encountered with our company. If we can assist you further please let us know at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best Regards,
Customer Relations

Replies
Advertisement
All Or Nothing
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FLORIDA -- For the past week phone calls have been terrible. Either the phone does not register that I have answered and there is silence, or the dial pad does not connect when I accept the call. The account has funds. There shouldn't be a block. Tech support is only open on the weekends for facilities. I haven't spoken to my fiancé since last night (I got lucky) due to the phone not connecting. He's called 4 times.

Company Response 10/20/2017:

We apologize for any problems you experienced with our company and sorry for the delay in responding. If you are still experiencing this issue, please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you.

You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.
Customer Relations

Replies
Keeps Disconnecting My Calls
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PayTel keeps saying that it detected a fraudulent call and disconnects my phone calls to my husband. I work hard for my money and I would like to spend it by just having a conversation with my husband over the phone without having stupid glitches happen in almost every other phone call.

Company Response 05/08/2017:

We apologize for any frustration you experienced with our company concerning dropped calls. If you will email your name, address, phone number, and PIN to CustomerRelations@paytel.com, we will investigate this issue to determine why the calls were dropped.

The following information is in our brochure and posted on our website concerning dropped calls. Calls may be disconnected if any of the following activities occur during a call:

• Stop talking without hanging up.
• Attempts to make a 3-way call.
• Attempt to answer Call Waiting.
• Attempt to put a call on hold.
• Attempt to transfer a call.
• Use of a cordless phone (static).
• Use of a wireless phone (dropped cell tower or static).

PAY-TEL does not accept responsibility for dropped wireless phone calls.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Best regards,
Customer Relations

Replies
Fix Your Services!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUMMERVILLE, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I have been putting money on my Pay Tel account for my inmate to call me with. He says that he has attempted to call me 10+ times in the last week and my phone has only rang from the jails call 2 times! When I go to answer the calls it either automatically hangs up or doesn't register that I have answered and there is complete silence on the line. If I am paying for this service and spending my hard earned money to speak to a loved one, I EXPECT the phones to actually work!

Company Response 02/14/2017:

Sorry for any problems you have experienced with our company.

If you will provide us with your phone number and PIN, we will research your issue and get back with you. You can email your information to a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Please accept our apologies for this problem.

Best regards.
Customer Relations

Replies
High Phone Calls
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

WARNER ROBINS, GEORGIA -- I have had no problem with receiving calls and talking. My complaint is the price. It is just too much for the call. We don't live that far from the jail. But the calls for 15 mins. are over $3.00. Just too pricey.

Company Response 11/21/2016:

We apologize for any problems you've experienced with our company.

To investigate your concerns and provide you with more information regarding your rates, please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.

Customer Relations

Replies
Advertisement
PayTel Blocked My Inmate's Number.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREENSBORO, OHIO -- I out money on my PayTel Friday 8-12-16 so my daughter could call me from jail. The 1st phone call today it played a message to permanently block this number. Call this number. I just put money on this thing and my daughter's number from jail is blocked? I didn't push any buttons to block it. I put in my PIN to unblock it and it won't take my PIN which I know I did not forget. This is ludicrous.

Company Response 08/15/2016:

We apologize for any problems you experienced with our company.

To investigate your concerns please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.
Customer Relations

Replies
Crappy Over Priced Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH CAROLINA -- With as much as this company collects per call you would think they could keep their services up and running. Whole system down all day and possibly not up till tomorrow. Too bad you can't shop around. They hold a monopoly and there's nothing you can do about it.

Company Response 02/24/2016:

We apologize for the problems you have encountered with our company concerning your account. We had technical issues yesterday, February 23, 2016. Unfortunately, this effected the website, phone system and calls from the inmates. However, the outage took longer to correct than expected.

Our website and our Automated Phone System is now providing information for your accounts.

Our phone lines have been extremely busy during this issue, the CSR's have been available and assisting as many customers as possible. We are very sorry for the problems this has created for you.

If you will provide us with your phone number, PIN, we will research your account and get back with you. You can email your information to a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Please accept our apologies for this error.

Best regards.
Customer Relations

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >