PayTel - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
41 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
$9.95 for a Call in the Same County?!?!?!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- How can a rate be $9.95 in the same county same area code, This is not a long distance call? I checked counties clear across the state the rates are cheaper! Even out of state! Lawsuit is in order!
Company Response 6/4/2012:
We apologize for any problems you experienced with our company and the rates.

To investigate your concerns please e-mail us your phone number and PIN and we will review your account and get back with you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com. We wish to resolve your issue as soon as possible.

Best regards.

Customer Relations

     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
jktshff1 on 06/04/2012:
You are paying for the privilege of voice contact. A portion of the charge goes to the facility or local government that operates it. I would suggest sending letters.
jonthethird on 06/04/2012:
Pay Tel provides voice service to many jails, prisons, etc. The charges are negotiated with the institution and are often used to pay for monitoring equipment, possibly some money for indigent inmates supplies, etc.
Cookie crumbles. on 06/04/2012:
Might want to check this out.
http://66.194.121.171/paytelcom/rates.aspx?st=nc
Shironikka on 07/12/2014:
My phone has done the same for a whole week now. Tech support has had it oprn and i still cant answer. Why is it doing this
Close commentsAdd reply
40 Dollars 6 Phone Calls 6.85 A Phone Call?
Posted by on
NORTH CAROLINA -- It is ridiculous that for 40 dollars I could only receive 6 phone calls from an inmate in county jail when you can receive more than that when receiving calls from a prison. What the hell.

I understand that its long distance but really 6.85 a phone call y'all need to get it together cause that phone call price for one phone call from a Wake County jail is ridiculous, even if it is long distance!!!!!
Company Response 12/9/2011:
We regret your frustration concerning the rates for your collect calls. If you will provide your phone number with area code, we will be happy to check your account to make sure you are being charged the correct rate.

We are a certificated carrier in every state where we provide service and the rates we charge are regulated in most states. In all states we charge rates that are equal or below the rates charged for the same call through the local telephone company. The cost of calls from confinement facilities are more expensive because of the increased controls required by law enforcement.

We regret your frustration and will be happy to assist you directly if you will send an e-mail to customerrelations@paytel.com.

Best regards.

Customer Relations
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 03/22/2011:
You can contact the North Carolina Department of Corrections in Raleigh about this at 919-716-3700.
jktshff1 on 03/22/2011:
See the more Pay Tel reviews above.
Close commentsAdd reply
They just took my money
Posted by on
I have been trying to reach Paytel, with no luck. I have gone on the website, where I can't click on "contact us", I have called SEVERAL times, unable to reach anyone. I put an account on my debit card, and they double charged me. But, the money on the account was not doubled. It is a few days from Christmas, I am here with my two kids, while their father, my husband, is incarcerated. It is not only rough that he is away during the holidays, but don't mess with the little money I have to support us all. I want to know how I can contact this company. I just got finished reading the reviews, and they are just horrible. I never realized so many people had this many problems with this company. The bad thing is, we have no options. Please Help. T. Atkins
Company Response 12/20/2010:
We sincerely apologize for the frustration you have experienced with our company concerning your account.

If you would please email us at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and provide us with your name, phone number and PIN, we will research the account ang get back with you.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Thank you.
Customer Relations
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
tnchuck100 on 12/20/2010:
First, and most importantly, NEVER give any company your debit card number. This is exactly why not.

Second, you will probably have to close this account and change banks to stop the hemorrhaging of your money.
Close commentsAdd reply
The negative reviews are true....
Posted by on
GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- Thus far, despite this companys weak rebuttal attempts to their customers; I find everything I have read on this site to be true. Their webiste, if you are trying to establish a new account is atrocious and frustrating. Not a novice to internet and an IQ well over 100, I find the system extremely lacking and frustrating. Messages run the gambit of cc has expired, (when in fact, I know it is not expired) to the names don't match; to addresses don't match, even after trying to initiate an accnt several times, syncronizing, scrutinizing and double checking the info repeatedly.

The internet attempt to establish an accnt was a result of several failed telephone attempts. Regardless of how you approach this company, its mostly a waste of time. This being said, the population of people attempting to establish contact with those in the system are held hostage by these Oligarchy services. There is no recourse.

Paytel in response to complaints, states that if better customer service were available, the already existing USURY rates would increase? Pray tell...Paytel should not be the ones to encounter a financial loss by providing better customer service to their "customers? After all, they are the ONLY game in town and being at their mercy you can't go someplace else for better service. Like they don't know this....

IMHO, everything and anything having to do with the penal system is a financial "racket" - prisons and all ancillary related services is a stupendous growth industry taking advantage of the already dis-advantaged.

Thoroughly disgusted with a disgusting system and that includes PayTel
Company Response 6/2/2010:
We are truly sorry for any difficulty you encountered while trying to establish an account with Pay Tel.

We regularly survey our customers to learn what we are doing right and what we need to improve. Listed below are some of the results from our most recent survey and a description of how we attempt to work with customers to address their concerns.

On a daily basis our Automated Phone System at 1-800-PAY-TELL (1-800-729-8355) assists thousands of customers to open accounts and answer questions. In our recent Quality of Service Survey, 80% of our customers described their experience using our automated customer service phone system as "very helpful" or "helpful".

If the Automated Phone System does not answer someone's question, they can follow the voice prompts and reach a customer service representative from our main menu and each of the three sub-menus weekdays from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm and on Saturdays from 9:00 am to 2:00 pm. Our customer service representatives assist several hundred customers daily who patiently follow the voice prompts. In our recent Quality of Service Survey, 72% of our customers said they were "very satisfied" or "satisfied" when speaking with our customer service representatives.

Our website serves several thousand customers daily in opening accounts and answering questions. In using our website, 95% of our customers described their experience as "very helpful" or "helpful".

If someone has a question not answered on the website, there is a "Contact Us" page where people can send an email to customer service at csr@paytel.com. Hundreds of customers' emails are answered daily by our staff. Seventy percent of our customers who send an email to csr@paytel.com described their experience as "very satisfied" or "satisfied".

If a customer is dissatisfied with the assistance they receive, they can speak with a customer service representative to document their concern in an email to the Customer Relations Manager or the customers can send an email directly to customerrelations@paytel.com. All concerns are reviewed and addressed the day they are received.

If a customer is dissatisfied with the assistance they receive from our staff, they can email the president of Pay Tel directly at president@paytel.com. This email address is on the Welcome page that everyone visits when they enter Pay Tel’s website. Any emails received at president@paytel.com are investigated and resolved the day received during business hours. The president reviews all issues raised and all related responses.

We are very proud of our track record in serving our customers in a timely manner with zero formal complaints to regulatory agencies in every state we operate over our twenty-four year history. However, we are not perfect and we will make mistakes, but we are committed to addressing problems immediately when it comes to serving our customers. We continually strive to improve our service and welcome constructive suggestions.

You state in your complaint that you made numerous attempts to make a credit card payment using our Automated Phone System and our website. You indicated all of these attempted payments were declined for various reasons. I am sure you realize we make no money unless accounts are opened and calls accepted. You also should be aware all of the denials on your credit cards came from your bank based on the information you provided.

Regarding our USURY rates, you should be aware that the local collect call rate of $1.71 in North Carolina is regulated one of the lowest in the nation and significantly below the 50 state average rate of $2.93. You also need to know our long distance rates are on average half or less of our competitors. We are very aware of the captive nature of our customers and are committed to charging fair rates and treating customers fairly.

If you would like for our Customer Relations manager to investigate the problems you encountered with your account, please send an email to customerrelations@paytel.com, including your ten digit phone number and your six digit PIN.

We look forward to assisting you in opening an account.

Best regards,

Customer Relations
     
Add reply
Like I don't have enough to worry about!
Posted on
Omg! Where do I start? Maybe at the wait time! I waited 1 hr just for a representative Not to mention she was so rude. I just don't understand. Its like the company know that you need them so they will treat you like junk just because they can. And yes, I said the company because the agents represents PayTel! I don't know if you all monitor your reps but its always like this with PayTel. I am not a mean person. I don't expect the reps to be over excited to speak to me but they could at least be nice. I have never dreaded calling a company. This sucks and If I can I will not use PayTel again. I wanted to cry they were so rude. If you truly want to keep your customer happy like most companies you should work on this problem with your employees!!
Company Response 5/11/2010:
We apologize for any poor service you may have received from our Customer Service Representatives during your call to our office.

However we do wish to attempt to resolve your complaint if possible. To investigate your concerns please e-mail us your phone number and PIN with a brief statement of how we can assist you. You can send this information to CustomerRelations@paytel.com and we will get back with you.

Best regards.

Customer Relations
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 05/11/2010:
Was the agent really rude? Or were you just upset about waiting an hour on hold?
goduke on 05/11/2010:
You are absolutely correct that a customer has every right to expect the agent to be courteous and professional on the phone. Sometimes companys which have a monopoly on a service kind of forget that.
Anonymous on 05/16/2010:
Yes, she was really rude. I did not like waiting and hour but I was happy when she answer. That did not last long though because of her attitude. I use PayTel often and most times it is like that with their customer service but it was worst. You have never had a problem with customer service? What's so hard to believe. I've been treated rude to my face so what would make the phone so different. It's just the fact that it happens to often with PayTel.
catwellhollow on 12/17/2011:
It is my guess, that he reps. of PayTel, get so many complaints, they become frustrated as well. I could tell the lady I spoke with was close to irritable. She just kept saying the problem was resolved and would show in three hours.....
No excuse, I know but... IT is their responsibility to provide customer service that is helpful & polite.
Report them to Everything you can find! DOJ, etc.
Close commentsAdd reply
Rude Customer Service
Posted by on
After repeated disconnects finally got through after being on hold for 35 minutes representative was not even trying to help with putting money into my account. She was a smart ass who doesn't appreciate her customers and should be in the position of some of her customers, then the attitude may change. As much money as they make off of our friends and families, they should be thankful that they are still in business. We need more options for this kind of service.

We don't deserve to be treated like trash because we have people in jail. This company needs to be put out of business!!!!!!!
Company Response 4/5/2010:
Sorry for any problems you have experienced with our company and our customer service representative. If you would provide us with your name, address, phone number, PIN and an email address, we will research your account for further investigation and get back with you concerning your issues.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Thank you.
Customer Relations
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
catwellhollow on 12/17/2011:
AGREED! Report them to everything you can!
Close commentsAdd reply
Need help
Posted by on
NORTH CAROLINA -- My little sister had my phone and made a mistake and pushed the block button. How do I unblock these calls? I tried to ask the jail but for that I got to wait on my next statement. Is there any way I can unblock the number threw my phone account. It just seem like this service is ridiculous you can never get in contact with customer service and actually talk to a human being and I been with them for about a year and get minutes every week.

I am real frustrated and is just about to stop using Paytel writing is more easier than this system.
Company Response 10/15/2009:
Dear Ms. Barr:

Sorry for any problems you have experienced with our company. After reviewing your account we show the reason for the block on your number was due to someone pressing the number 7 on your keypad when the call came in from the inmate. We have released this block for you as a courtesy; however please be aware that the standard policy to release this type of block (which occurs by pressing the number 7) is that the customer must contact the appropriate person at the facility for approval before the block is released.

Hopefully your problem has been resolved and you can receive calls without any issue.

Best regards.
Customer Relations

     
Add reply
They are a rip off
Posted by on
This is the first time I have dealt with this company. To get a customer service representative on the phone is a miracle, and when you do they are no help at all. I have sent numerous emails to customer service and customer relations, and they responded saying " that they are showing that my number is free to accept collect calls" which would be a great response if it actually answered my question. My question is where is my money and why hasn't it posted to my account. I paid a $120 cash through money gram at 1214pm, and it is now 630pm and my money has not posted to my account as of yet. I have placed six calls to this company, and nobody can tell me where my money is. This company is a sham!!!!!!! They are truly out to get your money!!!! Glad they are local, because I will be making a trip to Greensboro to talk to someone face to face to find out where my money is. My next step is to contact five on your side (channel five news) so that everyone will know about these people
Company Response 9/18/2009:
We apologize for the frustration you have experienced with our company concerning your account and the MoneyGram payment you made on September 17th. The problem in posting your MoneyGram payment to your account was due to a failure of the payments to be transferred to Pay Tel by MoneyGram. We contacted MoneyGram and the problem was resolved by early evening September 17th. We received your payment at 7:30 pm and you received a 10 minute call at 8:27 pm.

We have record of five emails from you yesterday to csr@paytel.com and we responded to you explaining the problem MoneyGram was having. We replied back again at 7:37 pm and 7:42 pm last night explaining the problem had been corrected and the funds had been applied to your account. Then we received an email to customerrelations@paytel.com and we again replied to you explaining the problem MoneyGram had and it had been corrected.

Again we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. Our employees worked very hard to resolve the problem and communicate with all our customers during this time period.

Best regards.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
jktshff1 on 09/17/2009:
Save you and everyone else a lot of time and worthless banter.
Just click on the "more reviews" above.
catwellhollow on 12/17/2011:
Contact anyone & everyone about this company!
If enough people complain, they will be forced to finally provide the service they charge high rates for. Or GO OUT OF BUSINESS!
trmn8r on 12/17/2011:
Possibly. It is a monopoly. The complaint above is over 2 years old, and things have not improved from the description.

Contacting "anyone and everyone" is extreme. The trick is determining whom to contact that might make a difference.
Close commentsAdd reply
Very frustrated
Posted by on
I been using Paytell for a long time. I put money on my account every week. Now its saying I owe them $29 and my last conversation was August 21,2009. I know this information is incorrect I just had a conversation the 23rd and had money on my account. I been trying to contact a customer representative but all I am getting is the automated. I even tried it locally. I love there services but can't keep wasting money.

Plus if I owed money my number would be blocked within 2 hours. So its no way I owe that number. I am very upset and need help.
Company Response 8/26/2009:
Dear Ms. Barr:

Sorry for the problems you have encountered with our company concerning your account balance. We have been converting all of our internal accounting software to a new system this week. Regrettably the conversion has not gone as well as we had liked, causing some incorrect information to be released. After reviewing your account you had a credit of $2.75 on your account at that time. We are very sorry for the problems this has created for you.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Please accept our apologies for this error.

Best regards.
Customer Relations


     
Add reply
They Are Ready To Take Your Money
Posted by on
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I called in to open an account and put the charges on my debit card. The representative told me to press some other numbers to go ahead with the process once she connects me. I punched my card number and everything. Come to find out I didn't have enough funds on my card so I said I will call back at a later date. Not even a week later I call back to find out my number has a pin on it that I did not set up. Once I got through to a representative the first one told me to hold on and just hung up. The second representative informs me that I couldn't set the account up because my name isn't on the phone bill. Now just last week they were ready to take down my card number and not even inform me my name had to be on the phone bill.

This company is a fraud and they're just money hungry. Someone needs to come up with another company for people to connect with their families.
Company Response 3/20/2009:
Sorry for any problems you have experienced with our company. If you would provide us with your name, address, phone number and email address, so we can research the account for verification.

Regrettably, the PIN situation you are experiencing is a Federal requirement. We cannot discuss any account information with someone unless they have previously on their own established a PIN for security purposes so that when we speak with them we have the ability to ask them what their PIN is and thereby verifying we are talking to the person who has set up that account or owns that phone number.

When someone forgets their PIN, for security reasons we do not give out the PIN that was created when the account was set up. To change a PIN, a person will need to fax or mail a copy of their driver’s license and copy of their most recent telephone bill showing they are the responsible party. Also please include with the fax or mailed copy, a new 6 digit PIN that you wish to have as your PIN. The PIN cannot begin with a zero. Fax Number 1-800-776-8423.

In the future, if we fail to meet your needs, you can email a manager at CustomerRelations@paytel.com and your request will be addressed the same day.

Thank you.
Customer Relations
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Soaring Consumer on 03/18/2009:
Unfortunately, your best bet is to simply write letters back and forth than deal with sleaze bags like this.
Usuryquixoti on 03/25/2009:
My god, I just read the "company response" and it sounds as if they only stop short of asking you to come to their facility with a passport and a blood sample.
jktshff1 on 03/25/2009:
agree with Soaring.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >